Rankings carrot for Dragons

Wales will move from eighth to fourth in the IRB world rankings if they beat the All Blacks convincingly in Cardiff on Saturday.

Click here for the latest rankings

The Welsh, though, have not beaten New Zealand since 1953, the All Blacks having won 20 Tests in a row, the most recent a 29-9 success at the Millennium Stadium last year.

The closest Wales have come to victory in this time are two one-point losses in 2004 and 1978, but if they can break this losing streak they will climb a minimum of two places to sixth in the rankings. However, they could climb as high as fourth, providing that they were to beat New Zealand by more than 15 points and England condemn Australia to a seventh defeat of 2009 by a similar margin at Twickenham.

In this instance, New Zealand would see their ranking fall by over two points – leaving them four behind the No 1-ranked Boks – and Australia drop two places to equal their lowest ever position of fifth.

Australia’s slide would see Ireland rise to third for the first time in three years and Wales to fourth. It would also leave the Wallabies sitting less than three tenths above England in sixth.

England will climb one place in victory, regardless of the winning margin, with a positive result for Wales also resulting in two place falls for France and Argentina to seventh and eighth respectively.

Wales could actually climb a place to seventh in the rankings even in defeat, with a third Australian victory in four visits to Twickenham leading to a one place fall for England to eighth.

New Zealand can close to within a point of the Springboks with another emphatic victory – six of their last seven in Cardiff have all been by a minimum of 20 points – and even a similar win by Australia will still leave them trailing the All Blacks by more than four points.

Source: irb.com

160 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#44 Jozi: Ah ok – fair point Jozi and maybe I did misunderstand your post.

They do play more enteprising rugby than most NH teams (exception of France and Wales probably?)

And you make a VERY good point about SARU messing up more than SANZAR- hahaha a very good one :)

I dont think its gatkruiping at all – your reasons are purely rugby, while some of our reasons are not – so probably have the right viewpoint :)
    A lot of the older Saffas support the ABs too because of the Cavalier tours and that kind of thing I think – the NZ govt spent $8 million protecting the Boks and the games on the “flourbomb” tour, so there is a debt there they feel in way.

And most of us are taught when we are laaities to respect/admire/support the ABs by our dads and Uncles who lived through the bad old days, so it is expected that a lot of Saffas feel that way.

Sorry my cuz, dont want to cause any stress – we are all entitled to support who we want of course :)

Thankfully we have the mighty Boks to support hey? :)
    Enjoy it bro

• 52.cane: Reply to this comment

#47 grant10:

I agree Blazey was a Dog.

81 was no picnic.

• 53.grant10: Reply to this comment

#49 cane: I rest my case!

• 54.grant10: Reply to this comment

#52 cane:Yeah ….tough times.

• 55.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#46 grant10: Eish I didnt even know THAT story! That one sounds much better than the fiction Cane was trying to feed me in #30 cane :)

• 56.grant10: Reply to this comment

#51 bokfan1: Correct…we can all support who we like….except me…mention J Smit as a kak 3 and its back to the trnch and bunker!!

• 57.grant10: Reply to this comment

#49 cane: #50 WakaNathan: Sorry…Charles Dempsey the Anti ******

• 58.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#53 grant10: Case rested and won. Court adjourned

#56 grant10: Hahahaha you better start running dude :)

• 59.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#49 cane:

Put brain immediately in to reverse there Cane.

Blazey was NZ Football Chairman who voted agin SA as Football WC Host 100yrs ago or so (G10s gripe). He got the job at the time for being most-British candidate by default, back in the days when there were about 17 soccer players in NZ.

• 60.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#57 grant10:

correct, Charles Demsey. I fell for that curveball too.

Sorry Cane !

• 61.charo: Reply to this comment

#43 WakaNathan:

wonder how the other 7% voted?

this whole nh/sh thingy was started by stephen jones of the times if i remember correctly.
    it was him, around 2002/2003, who was going on about the england style of rugby versus the powderpuff aus and kiwi styles.
    made worse a few years later when the elv’s were seen as a sh thing to soften hard forward play.

• 62.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#61 charo:

7% – ‘too close to call/Draw’

• 63.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#51 bokfan1: Ok my man we’re cool….now GO BOKKE!!! I won’t say more than that. :D

• 64.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#57 grant10:

you’d struggle to understand a word the ‘Kiwi’ Dempsey spoke, unless you were familiar with broad-Glaswegian drrrrrrawl. Despite dying in NZ last year at age 87yrs, he still lived most of his life in Scotland. If he ever came on Sports News in NZ, noone could understand him. No wonder he got the post as NZ Soccer Fed Chairman as the token-Brit.

Hence the KP analogy.

So, G10, I hope youve based your AB-allergy on firmer foundations that a dimwitted Glaswegian with an association-by-marriage role with a minor NZ sport.

• 65.cane: Reply to this comment

#61 charo:

When a man has to feel proud of his Hemisphere………..things are getting tough.

• 66.grant10: Reply to this comment

#64 WakaNathan: also a case of being around when Bob Skinstads ‘injury ‘ occurred….no..scars too deep…i like you fellows…will never support you lot though….

Especially that wanker Justin Marshall..

• 67.katman: Reply to this comment

#65 cane: I can tell you have no pride in your hemisphere. The army can sort a man like you out.

• 68.charo: Reply to this comment

#62 WakaNathan:

hmmmm…can’t accuse the taffs of being negative then.

actually, like the welsh – only part of uk where football is not the biggest sport.
    watched a few games at millenium (wales/japan 1999rwc and wales/boks 2007). they really put on a show with the choirs and the paasion is palpable.
    dangerous thing is all those those pubs so close by.

• 69.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#66 grant10:

Which would be to agree on that 1 point a hearty Yes.

I call your Bob Skinstad and raise you an Andy Dalton.

• 70.charo: Reply to this comment

#65 cane:

comes from being a welsh born english supporter 8)

• 71.grant10: Reply to this comment

#69 WakaNathan: exactly….another despicable act….so lets stop this Southerrn hospitality charade and be honest….nothing gives me greater satisfaction than beating…or watching someone else …beat the kiwis….

• 72.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#65 cane:

Hemisphere loyalty; thats the best rugby logic I never heard.

• 73.cane: Reply to this comment

#64 WakaNathan:

Charlie Dempsey was still a great Soccer man.

And he carried the Votes of not only NZ, ………but of Fiji, Vanuatu, PNG, The Solomons, Samoa, and the entire Oceania Conference.

And before he cast his final vote……. he consulted with each and every National Association……And they were unanimous…………. Democracy it is called I think.

Something some people are not quite used to yet.

• 74.katman: Reply to this comment

#72 WakaNathan: Hemisphere loyalty comes after continent loyalty. But you guys wouldn’t know. You don’t have one.

Or are you part of Australia?

• 75.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#71 grant10:

and to whom do we refer to as supporting this ‘Southern Hospitality Charade’ ?

BonFan1 seems to be getting his nappies in a twist about it but then he probably also gets no less as passionate about his Dora the Explorer stories.

• 76.cane: Reply to this comment

Charlie……….if there was ever a greater Soccer Man anywhere.
    I have not met Him.

Why do some of you Saffas think everything should be Yours by Rite.

• 77.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#66 grant10: Byron Kelleher also dude – he grates my gherkin

• 78.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#74 katman:

oh God, just when you thought nothing was more pathetic than ‘Hemsiphere loyalty’ along comes the Apocolypse of Useless Loyalty Grandaddys in

‘Continent Loyalty’.

Hey, lets all join hands and give Planet Earth a Big Hug – we’re gonna need it when the Mars XV rock on up next week.

• 79.grant10: Reply to this comment

#73 cane: Hypocrisy and treason….he abstained…the bloody old fool!!!

Spin it whatever way you like…it is not forgotten…
    And never will be forgiven.

• 80.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#74 katman: Hahahaha, sore point

• 81.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#76 cane:

that is the clincher right there, Cane.

You can sign off now, your work here is done.

• 82.cane: Reply to this comment

#67 katman:

The Army would have loved to have gotten there hands on me.

Peace and Love………….don’t exactly go with…………….. Kill or be killed.

• 83.grant10: Reply to this comment

#75 WakaNathan: LOL…..glad we understand the rivalry…..if we cant beat you lot….may anyone else do the job….

Hope Poms and Wales do the business tomorrow…..

• 84.katman: Reply to this comment

#78 WakaNathan: You talk a big talk, but it’s depressing to see how you lot sidle up to Australia for a sense of belonging when the Pacific isolation gets too much.

• 85.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#70 charo: Are you really? Man thats a dangerous life for a Welshman to lead!

#71 grant10: Ive grown to love you man ;-)

• 86.grant10: Reply to this comment

Roll on 2011….

Choke time!!

• 87.grant10: Reply to this comment

#85 bokfan1: LOL…careful now….i may ruin the friendship with my J Smit cant scrum for toffee stance!!

• 88.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#83 grant10:

y’see, thats where we take the fork in the road.

You can talk about ‘treason & hypocricy’ all you like, but ‘support’ and ‘Poms’ in the same sentence is not the path I choose. Unless theyre playing Australia.

• 89.charo: Reply to this comment

#73 cane:

talking of perfect democracies, i see all is not rosey in your part of the world with that maori party fella calling the whities racist….lol…for citicism about his little jaunt to paris 8)

• 90.grant10: Reply to this comment

#88 WakaNathan: On a serious note i see Carter may be out …Gatland reckons he is out…

• 91.grant10: Reply to this comment

#88 WakaNathan: Dont like the poms either actually….Kiwis…then Aussies…then Poms ….

Boks, Irish and Argies….and whoever plays kiwis….

• 92.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#84 katman:

No, thats just your pathetic little answer to any Question that you dont like the sound of. As Cane succinctly said, unless its ‘SAs by Rite’, then there is always a convenient fallback option to help explain it all away.

NZ & Aus in collusion in anything is just naive and ignorant.

• 93.cane: Reply to this comment

#84 katman:

Don’t you start with the Bull-**** Katman.

The Difference between an Ozzie and a Jappie …………..not a great deal.

• 94.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#93 cane: Jappie? Is that slang for a Japanese person?

• 95.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#90 grant10:

Gatland said that last night. Something based on Leonards selection for combination with the Duck.

Word from my spies in ABs HQ is that DC is training as we speak, the Capts Run.

• 96.katman: Reply to this comment

#92 WakaNathan: Come on, we’re all well-informed world citizens here. And we all know that NZ is basically the “channel islands” of Australia. Without the offshore tax benefits, of course. You can’t try and spin it any other way.

• 97.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#94 bokfan1:

tell us, Bokfan1, what is your name slang for ?

Answers on the back of a postcard please.

• 98.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#73 cane: LOL
    #74 katman: LOL
    #76 cane: Anyone who says no to the humble requests of Madiba is a tosser in my book.
    #78 WakaNathan: LOL
    #84 katman: LOL

My ribs are sore.

• 99.cane: Reply to this comment

#94 bokfan1:

No it’s the Christian name of Jappie Mulder.
    A Springbok Centre of a few year back.

A Kiddie Fiddler.

• 100.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#96 katman:

Niether can you old boy, naive & ignorant.

And, to prove a point, NZ does have a Trust law that gives it a tax-break advantage – a clear disticntion – for corporate transactions, let alone those available to indivduals (Capital Gains on private property), over Australia.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.