PdV to blame for Leicester disgrace
7 Nov 2009
Peter de Villiers must take responsibility for his poor selections and the embarrassment that followed in Leicester on Friday.
It’s all good and well lauding De Villiers when his first-choice side steamroll opponents, but now when an opportunity presents itself to mould an inexperienced group, he and his fellow coaching staff looked out of their depth.
The Springbok ‘second-choice’ XV were annihilated by a club side without at least 16 of their regulars, also not helping their synergy. The Bok coaching staff will point to the lack of preparation time, but in that situation the common sense option is to pick combinations at provincial level. De Villiers ignored this, and the result was a disorganised showing in all facets that led to the South Africans being out-muscled.
While De Villiers stated this tour was about gauging his next best, his refusal to pick form players from the Currie Cup has now left him with more questions than answers.
This team were led out to be exposed by stupid selections and from numbers 1 to 22 there are few success stories from Welford Road.
De Villiers stated in the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine how his technical knowledge of the scrum is the best in the Bok camp. But if that was the case, he would’ve known before this match that Gurthro Steenkamp would’ve repeatedly unbound and taken his head out of the scrum, resulting in penalty after penalty. Instead of choosing Wian du Preez – who is now heading to Munster – and the rest of the Cheetahs front-row as a unit, they were all watching this debacle on TV.
That Chiliboy Ralepelle – the Bulls’ second-choice hooker – had the opportunity to lead his country after not being fit to take part in a Currie Cup final six days earlier is ludicrous. It wasn’t surprising he limped off after 20 minutes, and he should be on the next plane home. Jannie du Plessis’ days in the Bok set-up should also be numbered as he failed to produce any leadership or grunt required. How Heinke van der Merwe was suppose to perform after not playing in six months is a mystery, and one shudders at the thought of him having to play tighthead on this tour.
Danie Rossouw was a frustrated figure with the lack of leadership, and while he tried all night, it wasn’t enough. Andries Bekker also toiled throughout, but in a disorganised side, it was very difficult. That the Sharks’ fourth-choice lock Alistair Hargreaves came on to try and resurrect matters said it all. Even against 20-year-old rookies, Hargreaves was out of his depth and he would have benefited more from an Isaac Ross-course in bulking up over the summer.
Ashley Johnson and Jean Deysel were the standout loosies, but how Davon Raubenheimer was considered ahead of Duane Vermeulen, Francois Louw and Willem Alberts is beyond me.
Heini Adams, another who can’t start for his province, struggled behind a pack being shunted around. His tactical kicking was woeful, and Sarel Pretorius would’ve been a better option.
Ruan Pienaar did nothing to show he is anything close to an international flyhalf. Worst of all was his temperament, panicked decisions characterising his play. But what can you expect when the last time he played in the 10 jersey was on 25 July? De Villiers and Dick Muir’s obsession with versatility over specialists seems to be slowly but surely ruining what was a promising career.
Wynand Olivier, Juan de Jongh, Jongi Nokwe and Earl Rose all soldiered on with little quality ball, but Odwa Ndungane delivered a disinterested performance. Ndungane’s final minute knock-on capped off why Lionel Mapoe should have been in his place on tour.
The technical short-comings, especially at the breakdown, were disappointing, but what was even more worrying was the lack of commitment and desperation shown by some in a Bok jersey.
Victories over Ireland and France were the main aims of this tour, but just as important was judging the depth of South African rugby. De Villiers should now realise that the out-of-form third-tier players who weren’t good enough before, still aren’t good enough. What a waste of an opportunity to ignore those who deserved a chance to tour.
Leicester now have the Bok scalp as theirs. However, records won’t state it was a woeful Bok side, many of whom shouldn’t have been there. For that, De Villiers and his selectors must take the blame.
By Grant Ball

394 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All
7 Nov 2009, 13:57 pm
#298 grant10: and that shark fron-row will be sliding on their back sides next week from cape town to cairo at full speed
7 Nov 2009, 13:57 pm
300. grant10 :
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
7 Nov 2009, 13:58 pm
#281 sharks_lover:
A couple of points you’ve missed. Dickenson is SH ref, so he has no excuses for allowing the carnage that was the breakdown last night.
Martyn Williams has been the best 7 (6) in Britain for the last few years as was Betson for France. Both classic fetchers. Neil Back also provided the Englad pack with that extra dimension that was missing, even though Woodward tried his best to ignore it.
7 Nov 2009, 14:00 pm
I see we are caning smittie and he hasn’t even left sa yet…embraboer really ….
7 Nov 2009, 14:01 pm
#301 Valkyrie: and in next years super 14! Then they cry me a farken river….what happened? Why is kanko sa kak…Jaque Botes is poor…locks cant scrum….
But mention there kak front row and they go all defensive….yippee for beast and smitty…best props…!
Fark me …best in reverse gear yes!!
7 Nov 2009, 14:04 pm
#304 gunther: not caning smittie at 2 though….its blind fools that think international tightheads can sommer just be converted!!
Bunch of brainless morons….this is not chess man….
Even italians gonna moer us…watch!
7 Nov 2009, 14:08 pm
When Big Hiit says scrums are secondary….you think he means it?
When Deans and Henry say what a great opensider schalk is you think they mean it?
They lull us into a fools paradise….a great scrummaging tighthead and fetcher are simply non negotiables….yes…we got away with it for a while…..
But the bubble bursting….
We need to respect the scrums as a hugely critical part of the game….we havent….
And we will pay the price.
7 Nov 2009, 14:08 pm
#300 grant10: very funny boys we have on keo.las night i just gave credit to earl rose’s,and i am not a big fan of his, last two games in the currie cup and last night’s game then sodajoe got a hissy-fit accusing me of not knowing anything about rugby.if you don’t agree with these boys then you are always an idiot,it’s only their opinions that counts.
7 Nov 2009, 14:10 pm
#267 JL1: pienaar’s shoddy tactical kicking had nothing do with a reversing scrum, liecester’s first try came from a k@k kick by him straight to the winger when there was acres of spaces either side of ambrosini, that exposed our backline to a counter-attack! His crappy option taking was just nonsensical boet, stop making excuses!
#263 Tbozknows: oh here we go again with this tbozknowz apologist! Have you heard anyone apologising here on behalf of any race for the **** ups of jannie du plessis, ruan & others? you are black, fine. You support the springboks, fine. But please don’t come here and apologise for being black, grow some balls man! Ffs
have you ever heard anyone apologising for being white when the springboks got pomped 49-0?
I’ve said this to you before, sort out your inferiority complex mate! Do it.
7 Nov 2009, 14:10 pm
#308 Valkyrie: I always MAKE mine count (Opinion that is) LOL
7 Nov 2009, 14:15 pm
I have a problem with this excuse that black players do not make it because of the lack of opportunities at school level blah, blah, blah. The fact is that a very small percentage of rugby players (including whites) actually have the opportunity to go to the so-called super rugby schools. It`s true that these schools do provide the bulk of players for Craven Week and that many others lose out because they are not in the “right schools.” This should however not deter a good rugby player from following his dream after school. The player with the necessary qualities and determination will make his way through the club system and make it to the top level notwithstanding his background. If you are good enough, you will eventually make it.
7 Nov 2009, 14:15 pm
#309 Transformation: lol.dont be so hard on tboz
7 Nov 2009, 14:16 pm
#308 Valkyrie: Truth is Earl was bloody good last nite…and personally i would play him at 10 before the sulking fruit cake that is Ruan Pienaar….he so patently doesent want the 10 jersey!!
PDV needs to leave him be at 9….
And the okes are too sentimental…like little ladies with wet brookies …dont ever mention scrums….its not importane…as long as we win its fine to turbo reverse….
Kak man…fix the bloody problem …before we get our arses kicked in a quarter final of WC….then watch how these gutless morons turn on J Smit and PDV!!
7 Nov 2009, 14:17 pm
The waves will still break on the beaches tomorrow.
7 Nov 2009, 14:19 pm
#311 Springbokvel: They will make it unless the system has ceiling and categorises people… and when those who make critical choices do it with their racist baggage
7 Nov 2009, 14:21 pm
These same J Smit supporters will cut the oke to pieces if we fail at WC 2011…WATCH!
He needs to play from bench…or retire…
Jannie dup…forget …its over
Guthro…same…cant scrum…out of the team…
Dont choose players if they cant perform there primary functions….
Ruan at 10…do me a favour!!! Forget!
Man we better grow some balls….this little boetie club gonna fark us up….PDV …Take control now…cut the deadwood….once and for all!
7 Nov 2009, 14:22 pm
problem starts and ends up front. Fix that and everything else would come together. We now staring a similar situation unfolding in the A Team. Who is going to pack down at Th and Lh against France Js and Beast or Gurthro with Jannie and Heinke in the wings. So expect more of the same.
Potgieter, Raubenheimer, Johnson, Adams, Pienaar, WO, De Jongh, Nokwe and Rose were all undone because front 5 could not cut it. Simple as that.
Basic problem is fix the front row and make necessary adjustments behind but front row is where the malaise starts and ends.
I’m not ready to chuck out the experimentation I think its necessary except you have to start with a formidable platform which is a front 5 that can stand their ground in any situation. Our 1st 15 going to come up against the identical problem with Js and Beast and Gurthro packing down up front.
These are the players that could or should represent the team as the back up 2nd stringers and many played last night except behind a front row that was annihilated. Simple solution fix the front 3 and the rest fix themselves
W. Du Preez / W. Blaauw / H. Vd Merwe
Liebenberg / Maku / Strauss
WP Nel / Buys
Breedt / Van Zyl / Roussouw
Bekker / Hargreaves
Potgieter / louw
Deysel / Raubenheimer
Vermeulen / Alberts
Adams / Pretorius
J.L. Potgieter / Grant / Pienaar
Le Grange / WO
De Jongh / Jacobs
Nokwe / Basson
Mapoe / Juries
Viljoen / Rose
Still persevere with development get new players in but do it off a solid fundamental foundation of strongest front 5.
7 Nov 2009, 14:23 pm
#314 cane: lol.i mean we can only take the example of nz,not winning a world cup in over 20 years but the country is still standing and considerd to be the safest and best to live in according to the united nations.
7 Nov 2009, 14:26 pm
Got to go … no slandering me while I am away… c u later
7 Nov 2009, 14:26 pm
How we let all our props go overseas i dont know….bloody disgrace….
Beast will also need to up his scrumming ability….or he can go with big boet smitty!!
Those frogs gonna go at that pap snoek Bok front row like salivating Rottweilers….best our boys be training…or the kak coming …again…
Of course i hear the excuses already…boys are tired….half injured…locks arent helping in scrums….Kanko too light….
Never the slap gat props fault in SA….they immune from criticism….
Poor Kirchner probably be blamed for kak scrum next!
7 Nov 2009, 14:27 pm
Oh Poepolpiet,
italy loves you.
Maybe we all wrong and
poepolpiet has taken a europeen bung.
That explains the selection.
The Poepolpiet’s retirement fund XV .
7 Nov 2009, 14:27 pm
grant i think even people that are not on the blog have heard your cries about the scrum now, is there anything you picked up about the game my dear friend? I don’t want you to come across as a whiner. You’ve made you point absolutely clear.
What did you think of our loosies @ the breakdown? Did dewalt impress you?
7 Nov 2009, 14:29 pm
#315 Langenhoven:
Sad if true. Can`t really see an outstanding player losing out if he plays for a top premier club. Maybe they should chose their clubs better.
7 Nov 2009, 14:32 pm
Skopskiet,
******,i thought you would’ve cut your wrists
by now.
So how is your adopted country
dealing with their choking problem ,boet?
The ones who come into my shop
leave as soon as i utter choke or world cup.
7 Nov 2009, 14:33 pm
#317 skopskiet: exactly skop….everyone being blamed except the front 5 …thats where the kak is….big time…been saying this since day 1 this year,,,,but victories plaster over the cracks….and the blind dont actually want to see!
7 Nov 2009, 14:34 pm
Oh dear. Well I know that Div had pressure to select a few POC on this tour, hence the 37 man squad. Must be hard to please 2 masters.
If anything, last night proves that it’s not about colour only, it’s about very odd selections.
Pienaar continued his downward spiral, he is self-destructing at every turn. Clearly he isn’t a 10, and the fact the the brains trust at Bok HQ thinks he is a worry. Chilli, well he’s useless isn’t he?
Where is Kuun? The poor guy is a legend compared to the Chillydog.
Ashley J stood up last night, good to see that! Jannie Dup is as soft as he’s ever been and the other Hooker, well a joke. I’m surprised Johnson didn’t get moved to cover hooker. Backs never got the ball so hard to comment on them. For once Rose did something good and then disappeared and continued to play out of position. Danie Roussouw is weak at scrum time, like Bekker.
All in all the ‘tight’ 5 were an absolute joke. Thing is, the Boks tight has been getting worse and worse for some time, perhaps it’s a combo of the wrong players (Smit included) and Gary Glitter the worst forwards coach in the history of SA rugby.
Div can hide behind **** on this one, fair enough, **** is about as useless a coach as you could ever want anyway, but really, they are all to blame.
The sad thing is, there are about 200 players in SA better than the lot of em last night, some I saw playing this morning for the DPHS under 11 team.
7 Nov 2009, 14:34 pm
i want to look at this very objectively from shark supporters point of view.who do we blame for the scrums?after the current front-row we have bakkies,matfield,smit,burger,spies and recently brussouw packing behind them and now we are talking about the best and meanest locks and loosies in the sa game and in the majority of the games that i have watched the bok scrum was piss-poor seriously going backwards at times.shark supporters wants us to believe that you need all eight to push in a forward direction but how is that possible when the front-row is transformed into marshmallows and getting their necks twisted in all directions.?
7 Nov 2009, 14:37 pm
#322 Transformation: how the hell can the loosies withstand anything in turbo reverse??
Thats the issue…others harhly judged….but what the hell can they actually do if platform is so poor!!!!
Fark me i get so frustrated transie…but okay…will tone it down…these okes like SL and Ratel Brussow make me woes boet…blame everyone except the piss poor props…sorry o am carrying on…but this is a crsis and i saw it coming and it is pissing me off!
7 Nov 2009, 14:39 pm
**** Muir is a b-club coach.
Poepolpiet is not even that.
Without the hardebaarde to tell
him what to do,
he is lost.
How do you want anyone to win off that.
7 Nov 2009, 14:39 pm
#326 goyougoodthing2: LOL
7 Nov 2009, 14:40 pm
dag se Duiwel
Ek sien jy het die koel al klaar in die geweer gelaai en gemik op De Villiers se kop.
Die probleempie rus met die voorry.
Skop daai swak Sharks en Bulle se stutte se gatte uit die span uit en dan staan ons n kans.
7 Nov 2009, 14:42 pm
#329 Duiwel: yep
7 Nov 2009, 14:43 pm
As for Piennar ,
wow,
its a toss-up between him and gaffie
who has got the quicker confidence-drain
after the anthem.
haven’t seen courage dissapear like that
since the germans occupied France.
No i lie,
when SA got dicked by Lesotho.
7 Nov 2009, 14:44 pm
the only time u see tacticus on this site is wen the boks lose
7 Nov 2009, 14:44 pm
hoesit Duiwel. Which adopted country you speaking of? I gone nowhere, right here still watching the ships roll in and watch em roll away again, sitting on the dock of my bay watching the tide roll away.
7 Nov 2009, 14:45 pm
With all the whining about “quotas” etc, what most people are missing is that, apart from Maku, this tight 5 is made up of the regular locks and props that have been in the squad as bench backups for the last couple of years, and they were the ones that got monstered.
Thst’s the really scary bit.
7 Nov 2009, 14:46 pm
off to watch the aussies and poms…at least those okes can scrum.
Outta here
7 Nov 2009, 14:47 pm
ruan can only count to 9….when he gets to 10…he has an anxiety attack.
7 Nov 2009, 14:51 pm
I looked forward to this game for weeks and the Bok ‘B’ team
served up garbage.
This ‘B’ team is an affirmitave action team
Adams is hopeless
Sillyboy Rapelle can’t make it through the first 10 minutes,
the poor chap was born injured
The other clowns in the front row were pathetic.
The selectors are a joke and the joke is on us
7 Nov 2009, 14:51 pm
SS,
man ek dink die probleem is dieper.
Ons hele stelsel is onstabiel.
Ons voorry is hondkak.
Grant10 is reg,
dis n probleem since oom os se dae
en die 123 manne skiet almal oorsee.
Jannie is n klein club speler,
die anner is nie eers daar nie.
Chilli is n marketing prop.
Poepolpiet is n marketing prop.
**** muir is n b-club coached
picked because he winds the political lobby
up less tan the valies.
So good news?
Ja,if Nicks boys want a scalp
its there for the taking.
I believe Poepolpiet had earned the right
to make his call
based on results.
Now its time to pay the devil ,boet.
7 Nov 2009, 14:53 pm
i still dont understand how the 2nd and 3rd choice bulls hookers found themselves in bok jerseys its hilarious
7 Nov 2009, 14:54 pm
Soory SS,
crossed wires,
thought you relocated to Aus.
my mistake.
7 Nov 2009, 14:54 pm
#298 grant10: yes grant thats because you do not look at the whole picture , like i said boet selectinve readin and watching is not good
open both eyes ,
7 Nov 2009, 14:55 pm
and Ruuan Pienaar is the most overrated rugby player
in the history of South Africa but PV loves him
7 Nov 2009, 14:57 pm
the big question is ,is the 1st team bok backline going to struggle like the dirt tracker ?its bad enough we got adi at 12 ,he doesnt have the defence of JDv or WO and he’ll have tht irish hero BOd running at him all day
7 Nov 2009, 14:57 pm
they f’ak’d up Pienaar’s head collectively between them they F’ak’d him up bad. Poor sod to come back now and fix that disillusioned head of his up will take a mammoth task of undoing and re programming. He’s nowhere bad as a fly half, could have been great but I been warning that they creating another Gaffie du Toit out of him, and so they have.
**** Muir is a doos. He should go to G Lions and stay there. Get a proper back line coach and a proper front row man like Os or Proudfoot or Visagie in and get rid of these designer type coaches like Gold and Muir. Collectively they are f.ng things up beyond repair.
7 Nov 2009, 15:00 pm
#346 skopskiet: amen to that….i remember you said they gonna ruin Ruan…now they done it skop….the oke may never recover…
7 Nov 2009, 15:00 pm
#345 mbaxman93: dont worry about adi…worry about that kak scrum!
7 Nov 2009, 15:01 pm
The Bok side chooses itself, PVD was born lucky.
Right colour at the right time.
Fate had to intervene against the Lions with back
to back injuries to get Brussow on the field.
Fate had to intervene to get Steyn in the side
after 2010 who is gonna switch off the lights?
7 Nov 2009, 15:03 pm
based on the form of last night’s performance only, the reserve list against France should look like a bit like this:
16: Maku (chilli’s injury pending)
17 Du Plessis (although uncontested scrums would be a safer bet)
18: Bekker (rossouw subbed early, but will probably be included to help the front row, maybe even subbing victor)
19: Johnson (took his opportunity, and a ball carrier will be needed with Kankowski and Brussouw starting)
20: Hougard (although probably pienaar covering 9&10)
21: Olivier
22: Rose (best performer of back 3)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All