Bittersweet blow for Boks
8 Nov 2009
Chiliboy Ralepelle and Gurthro Steenkamp have been ruled out for the rest of the European tour due to injury.
Ralepelle, the South Africans’ midweek captain, left the field in the 20th minute of Friday’s game against Leicester. It’s yet to be confirmed whether the foot injury is the same that sidelined him for the back end of the Currie Cup, and he will see a specialist on his return to South Africa.
On the back of a poor performance against the Tigers at scrum time, Steenkamp also returns from England having suffered a knee injury. Jannie du Plessis is also reported to have a hand injury, but at this stage will remain with the touring party.
Cheetahs duo Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss, who should have been included on this tour ahead of Steenkamp and Ralepelle by weight of performance in the Currie Cup, will now join the Boks.
The addition of Du Preez and Strauss should bolster the South Africa XV scrum significantly, but it will be interesting to see whether the coaching staff persists with the Heinke van der Merwe tighthead move if Du Plessis’ injury is serious.
The call up should also see the Free State pair warm the bench in the upcoming Test against France. Strauss played for the Boks last season while Du Preez has trained with them before. They’d be the natural selections given their experience, but it will be interesting to see whether Peter de Villiers picks them ahead of Bandise Maku and Van der Merwe.
Maku has battled for game time at the Bulls in 2009 while Van der Merwe is coming off a serious injury and did not play for the Lions in the Currie Cup.
It makes sense to pick Strauss and Du Preez, but it also raises the question of why they weren’t selected in the first place.

213 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
8 Nov 2009, 11:18 am
#97 Sidewinder: We have different perceptions of idiocy then??
8 Nov 2009, 11:19 am
#96 Langenhoven:
Biggest Heavy Weight Champion ever (144kg, with a 13 inch advantage in reach)………murdered by a Cruiser Weight.
Incredible, Great to see.
8 Nov 2009, 11:19 am
#99 grant10: Yep… Hayes slayed Valuev… Two judges gave to him by 4 and the third called it a draw
8 Nov 2009, 11:21 am
#100 Langenhoven: No, I think we have the same definition. It’s just that you fail to realise that you’re the perfect embodiment of it.
8 Nov 2009, 11:21 am
#101 cane: and two foot taller
8 Nov 2009, 11:22 am
Gurthro smashed.
Chilli hobbled off.
Jannie smashed.
Rossouw and Bekker tried to no avail.
Potgieter tried, but was up against it.
Raubenheimer looked like the occasion was too big for him.
Johnson – gonna be a superstar.
Looks average and ill-equipped for up north when not behind a dominant pack.
Pienaar – most overrated player in SA. I’ll put him in the same boat as Rose. And Rose had a much better game than he did.
Nokwe – same strengths, same weaknesses as before. Can be effective within a certain game plan. Still has enough attributes to be in the mix.
Olivier – hmmm. I have sung his praises of late, but the guy desperately needs to step up a gear at test level. Hopefully he will when placed into a team of first-choice players.
De Jongh – was kept out of the game, but will be a star.
Ndungane – Mapoe, Mapoe, Mapoe.
Rose – see Pienaar above.
8 Nov 2009, 11:23 am
#102 Langenhoven:
The Judge giving the drawn must have had a little wagger on the side. Was there a Pakistani Judge by any chance.
8 Nov 2009, 11:23 am
The “Looks average” comment above needs Adams’ name before it.
8 Nov 2009, 11:24 am
#103 Sidewinder: You are free to think mate… but all arguments require Premise, Evidence, qualifications, warrantees..etc.. I single statement just will not do…
8 Nov 2009, 11:24 am
that is amazing….saw a excerpt where the cruiserweight was interviewed….super confident oke….reckoned he would sort the Russian no problem….damn thats good news!
Now Jannie dup to confirm he is on way home and my day will be made….
Of course a man u win will be the cherry on top.
8 Nov 2009, 11:25 am
1. Mtawarira
2. Du Plessis
3. Smit
4. Botha
5. Matfield
6. Brussow
7. Burger
8. Kankowski
9. Du Preez
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12. Jacobs (gonna be interesting to see how he handles 12)
13. Fourie
14. Pieterson
15. Kirchner
16. Du Preez
17. Strauss
18. Bekker
19. Rossouw
20. Adams (worrying)
21. Pienaar (worrying)
22. Olivier (needs to impose himself)
8 Nov 2009, 11:26 am
#105 puff: i would play Rose at 10 against Saracens…send Ruan home to go get his head right on the beach.
8 Nov 2009, 11:27 am
PDV could spring a surprise and have Pienaar on the bench as 9 cover and Rose on the bench as 10/15 cover.
Hmmm…
#105 puff:
Over the last year and a half, there seems to have a pre-occuptation in SA Rugby, of finding a place for Ruan.
Why is beyond me.
If he was good enough, Ruan would find a place for himself.
#111 grant10:
I agree.
This is who I think the 22 will be against France though…
8 Nov 2009, 11:29 am
#110 puff: If i was coach….and obviously without the saffas overseas….
I would…witrh this squad….play Dewalt Potgieter at …. Deysel at 7….Wiaan Du Preez at 3…
8 Nov 2009, 11:29 am
#106 cane: The only damage that Hayes had to his body was a hicky on the side of the neck… about the Pakistani judge.. that is racist mate.. He could have been an Afghan President.. or Saudi prince.. or george Bush
8 Nov 2009, 11:30 am
dewalt at 8
8 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
Best Try of the Weekend…….and contender for Best try of the Year.
Quade Cooper against England.
It remindeed me of Jonah for a moment or two.
8 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
#113 cane: amen!! Pity our best advices seem to come from Kiwis and Poms…here we just so damn blinkered it is scary.
8 Nov 2009, 11:33 am
#118 cane: wasnt Cooper mate!
8 Nov 2009, 11:35 am
congratulations to my black brother,haye,for slaying the russian ****!black power rules!
8 Nov 2009, 11:37 am
#115 grant10: Grant, Please explain the dynamics of the scrum to me..for real.. I plead ignorance on this one and I will accept your expertise … How much of a role does the Hooker play in pushing the scrum. Also does the TH and LH have the same value in pushing the scrum
8 Nov 2009, 11:38 am
#120 grant10:
Sorry…….Adam Ashley Cooper.
8 Nov 2009, 11:40 am
#121 Valkyrie: Racism is not cool mate… I am more particular about height and weight..Being a short **** weighing in at 90kg
8 Nov 2009, 11:41 am
need a couple more bulls to break something and 90%of the sharks contingent to be wiped out by something really contagious.
8 Nov 2009, 11:48 am
#121 Valkyrie:
Easy Sister…….easy.
Or you’ll end up in the “Sin Bin” with Lilly……..etc…
8 Nov 2009, 11:52 am
#122 Langenhoven: Bloody hell…i am a / was a flyhalf…!
But ….your 3 is the pillar….very important that your tighthead provides stability ….it is the most difficult and physically demanding roles in the front row.
The loosehead of course needs to scrum…but often the 1 is less tight than the 3 …and gets about the park more…makes more tackles…etc….like Os….
The bok problem is …in Beast and Guthro….we have not got the best scrummaging looseheads….therefore we need a very powerful tighthead….J smit is a Hooker…and struggles physically to impose himself….same as Jannie Dup…so we get onto the back foot…which has a negative effect on our loosies and half backs….it really is a cancer…spreads through the team…..
Bismarck du plessis also has his detractors as a scrummaging hooker…some knowledgeable okes reckon T Liebenberg and A Strauss the best scrummaging hookers in SA….
As i said…i am no expert…but i am not blind…i know when a front row is being ‘done’….
Perhaps some more knowledgeable bloggers around than me though….
By the way J Smit was recognised as a very good scrummaging hooker…
8 Nov 2009, 11:54 am
#105 puff:
Agree with you on almost everything.
I just don’t think AShley Johnson is gonna be a star. He had a good game, but so did Earl Rose.
But I’m truly happy to see people starting to wake up and realise how average Ruan is. When I used to be on the supersport blog a while ago everyone used to call me an idiot and a fool when I used to say that Pienaar wouldn’t even make my squad, nevermind XV. I’m glad people are starting to wake up BEFORE he starts costing us tournaments
8 Nov 2009, 11:55 am
#126 cane: I see Hayman being aggressively ‘ courted ‘ by the kiwi management…..
That scares me…
8 Nov 2009, 11:56 am
#128 rugbywriter: Reality is our front row will cost us tournaments before our backs….thats the glaring area of concern.
8 Nov 2009, 11:58 am
Shaun….the best scrummaging loosehead in SA is…when fit….Heinke V D Merwe….
Best scrummaging tighthead in SA is WP NEL…..
Our best 2 x tightheads are in Ireland….
8 Nov 2009, 11:58 am
On watching all the games over the weekend it would seem that it is important not to go wide under the new rules. You can win a game by winning scrums, mauls, loose ball and effecting penalties… The game is now about setting the position for a shot at goal. I would suggest that they downgrade tries to a two pointer and upgrade penalties and drops to 5 in keeping with their (IRB) aim to make the game more accessible to the less athletic fat okes.. Rugby oblivion is now visible… The end is nigh
8 Nov 2009, 12:00 pm
this my team I’d put out against France
W. Du Preez
J. Smit
WP Nel
B. Botha
V. Matfield
H. Brussow
S. Burger
D. Vermeulen
Fdp
M. Steyn
B. Habana
A. Jacobs
J. Fourie
L. Mapoe
R. Viljoen
H. Van der Merwe / W. Blaauw
B. Du Plessis
A. Bekker
W. Alberts / D. Potgieter
R. Pienaar
J. De Jongh
Z. Kirchner
8 Nov 2009, 12:01 pm
#129 grant10:
When he (Hayman) left for the Euro, he said he would be back in 2010 if wanted.
Come on home Carl……
Very surprised to see Chris Jack rated so highly in the CC. I thought his best days would have been behind him by now. It seems he may also have something to offer.
8 Nov 2009, 12:03 pm
#132 Langenhoven:
8 Nov 2009, 12:04 pm
#132 Langenhoven: LOL ..Classic!
#133 skopskiet: Better balanced front row than what will eventually run out….i see you a Ruan Viljoen fan…would like to see him play some Super 14 first….
Mapoein plave of JPP?
Maybe also let him do his thing at super 14 level….
And i reckon Dewalt Potgieter at 8….
8 Nov 2009, 12:07 pm
#134 cane: Jack was immense Cane….bloody wonderful to watch him at Newlands…he left a lasting impression.
For me Jack, A Williams and Hayman ….2011 ….its Kiwis for the taking….
Boks will find it a year too fat….too many aging legs….almost like Aussies of 1995…..1 year too far.
Cant see Matfield,J Smith, Bakkies, Smit making the grade….too much rugby and poor player management….
8 Nov 2009, 12:11 pm
#127 grant10: OK that confirms what I saw on FRiday…The first failure in the front three definitely came at 3 and as you said it spread like cancer… The next player to shoulder the load is LH… and the loosie behind 3, Davon Raubenheimer is immediately unsettled… I think that Jannie Dup had an attitude more than a physical problem in this game and should carry the blame for the whole fiasco… WE all know him to be a strong lad and his failure in teh scrum is a bit mystifying… I smell a rat especially since DM decided to persist with him
8 Nov 2009, 12:17 pm
#137 grant10:
Victor…. doesn’t exactly wear himself out every match he plays, he’ll be fine come 2011.
BTW….I thought he should have been the “Bok of the Year”.
Bakkies….If he can stay fit, he will have what it takes.
Smit….here you have a dilemma. Best Capt or best Hooker.
Juan…..not sure how old Juan is, but I always thought he would make a good Capt.
8 Nov 2009, 12:19 pm
#131 grant10:
I actually think CJ could be our best loosehead. Yes, that’s right, loosehead.
Nel looks imposing at 3.
I agree with the sentiment of turning Heinke into a 3. I believe he has all the attributes to dominate the game from this position.
But it is wrong to take him on a tour when he has had no game time since the start of the year. Plus converting him to 3 is a long term solution, and doesn’t fix our lack of depth in that position now.
8 Nov 2009, 12:20 pm
R. Viljoen is next best we have to F. Steyn, given correct exposure and introduced correctly he has all the makings of a class FB.
Adams did nothing wrong Friday, neither did Maku. Raubenheimer had a quiet game so did Potgieter for that matter.
Front 5 disintegrated with the Tiger’s onslaught up front and we were getting drilled at the breakdown thanks to Dickenson allowing them to encroach over the dead ball and blowing us up for similar.
Pienaar started well and then started freezing up when pressure was on, as is prone to do under duress but boy needs confidence not detractors killing his self esteem.
Rose had a blinder took every high ball and delivered a try scoring grubber weighted perfectly into the corner. Nokwe chased and harried well all game long and scored the try.
Players that were found out were Danie Roussouw, Gurthro Steenkamp, Chili Boy Ralepelle, Jannie Du Plessis, Ruan Pienaar, and Odwa Ndungane. They the ones need replacing. Though under more dominating front 5 I still believe Ruan can deliver the potential Pdv sees in him. Me too I believe he still has plenty potential in abundance just needs the confidence back that some his provincial coaches and bok’s back line coach has obliterated from his mind.
8 Nov 2009, 12:21 pm
#138 Langenhoven: It would be ridiculous to judge players outside of the tight 5 in that game….the pressures that come with a retreating and under pressure pack is a reality. It is damn tough on the back foot….as it is compounded by the opposition loosies swarming all over you as well…..
I felt for Heini Adams more than all of them….hell it must of been a nightmare begind a turbo reversing scrum!!
Raubenheimer ,Dewalt and Ashleigh Johnson were doing what they could to stem the tide….but if blame needs to be laid at anyones door it is first and foremost the front row…and the 2 locks are not immune from criticism.
But Shaun this was bound to happen sooner or later. Some bloggers here who rate there own opinions have been saying the scrums arent important …that the other facets are far more vital …etc. When i read that i kakked myself….thats a cop out of note….and the Kiwis ..aussies…poms would love that kak attitude coming from boks….
The scrums are the launchpad…must never be underestimated…..you may get away with it for a while….and that gave boks a deluded sense of security.
Well now we see the rot has set in deep….but hopefully we will man up and do what is neccessary.
Start by getting a proper scrum coach in….
And select the right props….Tough calls because it may mean a new role for J Smit….perhaps off the bench or retirement….but its the only way….cant procrastinate….
8 Nov 2009, 12:23 pm
#128 rugbywriter:
Time to change your nickname, mate.
Your logic is flawed.
You don’t think Johnson will be a star.
And your argument to support this is that Earl Rose had a good game too.
???
So what?
We’re talking about Ashley Johnson – not Rose, or any other player for that matter.
His type of game and his barrel of a physique makes him a different type of option at 8 than racehorses like Spies, Kanko and Van Niekerk.
He is more in the Willem Alberts mode and we need these types in the loosie mix.
8 Nov 2009, 12:24 pm
#139 cane: Juan only 28 but has a history of concussion problems….hope he makes it…great player.
Bakkies only plays 50 minutes so lets see….
VM …yeah…a great…and doesent hit the rucks that often …so who knows….
J Smit…make him scrum coach….retirement the best imo.
8 Nov 2009, 12:26 pm
#141 skopskiet: #142 grant10:
Well written.
8 Nov 2009, 12:26 pm
#140 puff: CJ can play 1….Heinke plays like a 3…strong and doesent get around as much as a beast or guthro so i can understand the reasoning….
What say CJ at 1….Bissy 2 and BJ at 3..?
8 Nov 2009, 12:27 pm
#144 grant10:
Disagree here though.
Smit to start at 2 with Bismark on the bench.
8 Nov 2009, 12:29 pm
Wynand did ok. The hookers did a decent job of finding their jumpers.The hilight of the weekend would have to go tp Alan wyn jones, i cant believe how he didnt get man of the match.
8 Nov 2009, 12:29 pm
#146 grant10:
Everyone rates BJ so highly, but I have yet to see him impose himself credibly at test level.
I’m just saying.
Once Heinke has had some game time at 3, I would like to see:
1. Beast
2. Smit
3. Heinke
subs:
CJ
Bismark
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All