CJ back for Boks
8 Nov 2009
Peter de Villiers has been forced to compromise on his stance of not picking up overseas-based-players by calling up prop CJ van der Linde as a replacement for the injured Jannie du Plessis.
Du Plessis has withdrawn from the European tour with a hand injury sustained against Leicester on Friday. Van der Linde, who plays for Leinster in Ireland, last played for the Springboks in 2008, but has since been overlooked after opting to continue his career outside of the country.
The Free Stater is a solid, experienced scrummager who’ll add great value in a facet of play that is likely to be the talking point ahead of the Test against France on Friday.
‘It’s fantastic that we’re able to call on a player with CJ’s experience to join the squad,’ said Bok coach De Villiers.
‘With such a tight schedule it is also helpful to be able to bring in someone who has been part of the group before, knows the systems and will settle in quickly. CJ is also a specialist tighthead who will provide the type of cover we will need.
‘It is unfortunate that we have lost three players so early in the tour but that is part of the game and we have to be able to manage such setbacks.’
Du Plessis’ injury means that the entire starting front row who were decimated at scrum time against the Tigers have been forced to return home, with hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle and prop Gurthrö Steenkamp suffering with foot and knee knocks respectively.
Van der Linde will travel to France on Wednesday where the rest of the squad, arriving from Johannesburg and London, will converge in Toulouse. The other two replacements Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss will join the squad in Johannesburg on Sunday.

249 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All
8 Nov 2009, 18:56 pm
this is intense.
8 Nov 2009, 18:56 pm
woo hoo getting better n better Grant10 gonna have a coronary attack when he sees this.
Jannie gone ow how good can it get. Now let Odwa get a hammie and call up Mapoe and we ready to cook with some gas again.
8 Nov 2009, 18:58 pm
it is strange how injuries keep seeming to work in our favour.
8 Nov 2009, 19:04 pm
Bloody hell….about time….best news ever man!!
Now we starting to bring in the real manne!!!
Fark i am over the moon now!!!
Gonna pop a beer…..
8 Nov 2009, 19:04 pm
thank f’ck.
now its starting to look like a decent Bok touring squad with CJ and Deysel.
8 Nov 2009, 19:05 pm
#4 grant10: saw that coming. think everyone’s smiling.
8 Nov 2009, 19:07 pm
Good Call PDV! Maybe BJ will be next!
8 Nov 2009, 19:09 pm
Divine Providence or a little shake of the wiggle wand stick, whichever way Pdv sees the light ain’t no sweat. At least the man knows when to back down and admit he’s starring down the barrel, he’s pride ain’t as un bending as some other twits who would go down 49-0 without a fight.
8 Nov 2009, 19:10 pm
NOW WE’RE TALKING!!!
Du Preez, Strauss & v.d. Linde would have given that Leister pack a moerse klap; no question!!! Makes a mockery of Piet Helium’s selections in the 1st place!
8 Nov 2009, 19:12 pm
hey PdV grew a braincell! Congrats!
Now grow 2 more and get Jean and Luke in the side
8 Nov 2009, 19:13 pm
Jannie should have signed for WP; the fact that he’s not getting game time isn’t helping his development as a tighthead one bit!!!
8 Nov 2009, 19:14 pm
So, if he called up CJ, then he can call up Frans Steyn and Jean De Villiers.
8 Nov 2009, 19:14 pm
So the entire front row gone home battered and bruised !!!!
That’s what happens when you take knives to a gun fight !!!!!
8 Nov 2009, 19:16 pm
#11 Limerick-Bok: I think WP’s bought enough for this year
8 Nov 2009, 19:16 pm
Forget luke. We have a wealth of looseforwards in the country. Great news about CJ. If BJ, JdV and FS also get selected how great would the Bok squad be then!
8 Nov 2009, 19:17 pm
I can sleep easy tonight.. Its about time we get some power back into the Bok scrum. Plus this dragon can cover loose head and tight head..
Cmon Boks….take the quantum leap….embrace the professional era….call F Steyn, J DE Villiers and BJ….
Sommer now man!!
Why wait…we will be unbeatable if we cross the Rubicon….only fear fear itself boys…..we must lead …not follow…perhaps the Leicester win was divine bloody intervention….
GO BOKKE….Lets get Luke there too!!!
#13 justrugby: LOL
8 Nov 2009, 19:18 pm
#11 Limerick-Bok: no thanks…we want to compete here in Cape Town!!
8 Nov 2009, 19:19 pm
Smitty next and Odwa, get Mapoe on board to back up Habana or JPP.
Smitty should play 2 only, we still short a proper TH.
8 Nov 2009, 19:19 pm
It was more like water pistols to a gun fight..
8 Nov 2009, 19:20 pm
Anyone know, honestly, how CJ’s been playing?
8 Nov 2009, 19:21 pm
crossing the rubicon…was that caesar or die groot krokodil?
bugger the rubicon, revert to ou doos rugby style quicksmart, dont mean you have to also raise the KKK flag
8 Nov 2009, 19:22 pm
#12 A_Poc: **** I forgot about Steyn
#15 Partizan: You can’t not pick the Absa Currie Cup player of the year, the player who scored 11 tries behind a so called light 5
8 Nov 2009, 19:23 pm
#23 cab: Screw the KKK…and all that think like them!
8 Nov 2009, 19:23 pm
#24 SpringbokSarah:
Hehe. Steyn would be my second choice after Brussow if I had to pick the team.
8 Nov 2009, 19:25 pm
#22 ad_oz: Only just back for Leinster after a long injury…Big Hit gives me a weekly report but havent seen him today….no doubt licking his wounds after poms 2 nd half capitulation!
#25 grant10:
dont confuse the kkk with the rugby pack style, its the blend that is necessary, the bokke packs of old were formidable for a reason.
#26 A_Poc: Heinrich? Isn’t he already with the Boks?
8 Nov 2009, 19:26 pm
Kiwis and aussies will be wary now….they no longer fooling us into believing fetchers and scrums are superfulous!
8 Nov 2009, 19:28 pm
#30 grant10:
watch Burger against the french, you will see who the master is.
8 Nov 2009, 19:28 pm
#28 cab: Agree….some good old fashioned afrikaans beef in the tight 5…all for that ….
8 Nov 2009, 19:29 pm
Fate smiles on the Bok supporters
8 Nov 2009, 19:30 pm
#32 grant10:
yes the souties are absolutely kak, especially the WP ones.
8 Nov 2009, 19:31 pm
#31 cab: Burger at 7 will be a very important part of the strategy….Schalk will be refreshed and raring to go….he needs to step up big time cab…we will need a vintage fire and brimstone effort from schalk the weekend….
I will be behind him 100%….that i promise you, remember my criticism of Smit and schalk had everything to do with a belief that they are playing out of position…
8 Nov 2009, 19:31 pm
#29 SpringbokSarah:
I meant that if I were to pick the Bok team from scratch that I would start with Brussow and then Steyn. Based on your comment that you forgot about Steyn.
8 Nov 2009, 19:32 pm
#34 cab: LOL….Those souties pushed the bulls and sharks about a few times this season…..
Next super 14 will be great…outta here
A happy man
Cheers …
8 Nov 2009, 19:37 pm
So does this open the door for overseas players P Div, or is this an isolated case of wrong selections in the first place ?
8 Nov 2009, 19:42 pm
Didier Drogba just got a few studs to his chest and he goes down like the grim reaper just called his name. These round ball prima donna’s should get 40 min of rugby thrown at them then they’ll know what some studs in the chest feel like.
Chelsea just scored from set piece free kick. 1-0 Blues
8 Nov 2009, 19:43 pm
#36 A_Poc: oh lol ok
8 Nov 2009, 19:44 pm
#10 SpringbokSarah: Luke!
8 Nov 2009, 19:44 pm
Great, now off your high horse and bring in Frans and Jean
8 Nov 2009, 19:45 pm
Grant10 is going to have an org@sm when he reads this. lol.
But on a serious note, great news this
8 Nov 2009, 19:47 pm
Again De villiers needs an injury to force him to pick the best player.
Showing his ineptitude for spotting talent! sigh.
8 Nov 2009, 19:53 pm
f.ak anyone who should get off their high horses are these high horse poepol palooka supporters who can’t appreciate a coach that recognizes his folly and rectifies it. Its these other twat twits that lose to Ireland and France and record losses to Aussie that were inept in recognizing their own failures. Just like the bunch of second grade supporters that lick their dumb *** losing ways back sides.
8 Nov 2009, 19:55 pm
#41 scar: what? How many awards does he have to win before he gets in
8 Nov 2009, 19:57 pm
Well that’s interesting.
Personally I would have taken WP Nel ahead of CJ. But I would take Skopskiet to play 3 ahead of Jannie Poep.
That Leicester front row did us a big favor – in terms of personnel & approach.
Be interesting to see the Bok 22. Be nice to have a decent bench for a change. Have both Wian & CJ on the bench. I hope not to see Maku & CJ (who can cover both sides).
8 Nov 2009, 19:59 pm
I am sure Oddjob’s hammie is buggered and he needs to fly home too. Bring in Mapoe.
8 Nov 2009, 19:59 pm
#47 SodaJoe: rofl
8 Nov 2009, 20:00 pm
#48 SodaJoe: Who’s Oddjob?
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All