CJ back for Boks
8 Nov 2009
Peter de Villiers has been forced to compromise on his stance of not picking up overseas-based-players by calling up prop CJ van der Linde as a replacement for the injured Jannie du Plessis.
Du Plessis has withdrawn from the European tour with a hand injury sustained against Leicester on Friday. Van der Linde, who plays for Leinster in Ireland, last played for the Springboks in 2008, but has since been overlooked after opting to continue his career outside of the country.
The Free Stater is a solid, experienced scrummager who’ll add great value in a facet of play that is likely to be the talking point ahead of the Test against France on Friday.
‘It’s fantastic that we’re able to call on a player with CJ’s experience to join the squad,’ said Bok coach De Villiers.
‘With such a tight schedule it is also helpful to be able to bring in someone who has been part of the group before, knows the systems and will settle in quickly. CJ is also a specialist tighthead who will provide the type of cover we will need.
‘It is unfortunate that we have lost three players so early in the tour but that is part of the game and we have to be able to manage such setbacks.’
Du Plessis’ injury means that the entire starting front row who were decimated at scrum time against the Tigers have been forced to return home, with hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle and prop Gurthrö Steenkamp suffering with foot and knee knocks respectively.
Van der Linde will travel to France on Wednesday where the rest of the squad, arriving from Johannesburg and London, will converge in Toulouse. The other two replacements Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss will join the squad in Johannesburg on Sunday.

249 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
8 Nov 2009, 20:03 pm
#50 SpringbokSarah: Odwa. Who I actually like, but his form is horrible right now.
8 Nov 2009, 20:04 pm
this is almost the best news of the day.
Heyeneke Meyer reported to be returning to the Bulls as Director of Rugby.
Please sweet Mary, recruit CJ to the Bulls ASAP. Also Mapoe as a replacement for Habana.
#45 skopskiet:
But when Jake recognized his folly….as you put it. He got Eddie in and won the world cup.
But for this you actually critisize him?
Is that not bizarre on your part.
Incidently, CJ is also a Jake White Bok.
8 Nov 2009, 20:05 pm
Very good news. Finally some good selections. CJ can play LH and TH so he covers both positions
Do feel for WP. Nel though who had a oustanding CC season.
Now PLEASE PdV select JdV and Frans Steyn.
Then we are well selected for the tests.
8 Nov 2009, 20:06 pm
#51 SodaJoe: oh right shame man… but hey you can’t keep a good man down… he’ll be back
8 Nov 2009, 20:06 pm
If he had a functioning brain he would never made such stupid and naive picks in the first place.
You can go on all you like about how we’re bad supporters blah, blah blah.
But We, as supporters expect the best players to be picked to form the best team. We do not appreciate quota selections and for the coach to pick certain players ahead of more deserving others just to make the squad’s representation more colourful.
Sad but true. But not good enough!
8 Nov 2009, 20:07 pm
#52 Brigadier Van Zyl: You skelm you
You get HM back and want the best in Mapoe and CJ. Rather let them come to the Sharks
8 Nov 2009, 20:07 pm
and with that I am out
cheers guys
8 Nov 2009, 20:08 pm
#55 WP_: Hello WP. Well said mate. 100% behind you there.
8 Nov 2009, 20:09 pm
#39 skopskiet:
footballers sometimes play 3 times in a week.
Ralepele plays 3 times a season.
8 Nov 2009, 20:09 pm
I would still like to have WP Nel there
CJ has always had a suspect bind
8 Nov 2009, 20:10 pm
#53 Puma: I am pretty worried about Adi at 12. Morne needs to be protected and we don’t need him to have to make too many Johnny Wilkinson tackles, and Adi doesn’t need his shoulder permanently buggered. 6 & 8 going to have to make some very big tackles, and hoepfully our scrum is not going backwards.
I would have CJ and Beast on the bench. Smit, Biz, Wian. (Not going to happen I know – but would work better). CJ very quick for a huge man.
Move Smit to hooker – and blitz them with pace and power from CJ & Beast in the last 30.
#57 SpringbokSarah: Bye bye Sarah.
100% for John Smit as captain, tighthead, and player.
100% for Schalk Burger as world class flanker.
Just thought I’d piss off a few WP serial posters here
8 Nov 2009, 20:11 pm
#60 JL1: I agree.
8 Nov 2009, 20:13 pm
Howsit Puma
Yeah it’s sad that had to be said but it happens alright. And it was shown up on Friday night.
It’s quite ironic how these 3 front rowers who have been called up are much better players than those sent home injured. Injuries force de villiers to make decent picks!
8 Nov 2009, 20:14 pm
this could potentially lead up to a second piece of great news: could CJ’s selection not maybe be an indication that he has plans on returning to SA? it was reported that he was keen to return about 6 months ago in any case.
8 Nov 2009, 20:15 pm
perhaps this is another stunningly crafty ploy by the Maestro, before he unveils the big guns on saturday.
#63 Lions Soutie
Agree mate
#59 Brigadier Van Zyl: He plays?
I have seen him once in 2007 I think play
PDV and his selectors destroyed many young players in this Tigers game. I am sure that many will not play for SA ever again or for their provinces.
8 Nov 2009, 20:17 pm
#64 SodaJoe: He slips th ebind and gifts 3 pointers to the opposition, same as BJ.
I reckon Cheetahs frontrow with Os are the form guys followed by Province with Matthew Proudfoot
8 Nov 2009, 20:18 pm
Chilliboy should just retire, he’s just wasting time playing a few games a season then getting injured again and again
8 Nov 2009, 20:20 pm
Die voorry van Vrydagaand en hulle ondersteuning was baie duidelik nie opgewasse vir hulle taak nie, om watter rede ookal, en dit is dus nie ‘n verrassing dat aldrie seergekry het nie.
8 Nov 2009, 20:20 pm
#61 SodaJoe: Joe, That is what I said to G10. Move John back to Hooker and leave Bissie on the bench.
Adi for me is not at test level this year. Not the same player as last year. Should have selected JdV and F. Steyn. With W.du Preez and CJ there too we would be a brilliant side. Would have no worries at all.
Now still worried with Adi at centre they going to run through that channel for sure.
Also with Fransie big boot they would not just be kicking it down to us. Not too sure with Zane at FB but we don’t have many to choose from except J. Pietersen from WP. I would not even have thought about it but called JdV and F. Steyn back to play in this tour.
8 Nov 2009, 20:21 pm
#69 JL1: Chili’s role as head Bok cheerleader has done his career and body irreparable harm. He should have been getting fit, playing rugby, honing his craft and experience.
Now he’s toast. I can’t see any S14 franchise taking him bar the Bulls. And Maku will eat his lunch there.
I feel for Guthro – one of my favorite players – great in the loose and all heart, but he may not resurrect himself from this either.
Jannie – needs to further his medical career now.
Bekker – for once and for all needs to watch Victor Matfield and just do that.
Odwa – go and have a rest come back for a great S14.
8 Nov 2009, 20:22 pm
#70 JL1: 100% agree. I am not a huge fan of either BJ (penalty machine) or CJ (has he actually played this year?)
8 Nov 2009, 20:24 pm
#69 JL1: Very true and that is what they said on “All Out Rugby” tonight. Kobus was furious with the selections and G. Wright.
8 Nov 2009, 20:25 pm
#75 SodaJoe: Should have given WP Nel a chance. Been outstanding for the Cheetahs.
#74 SodaJoe: You are right, many provinces will not select these guys again and I do not see any foreign teams wanting to sign them up
Transformation is killing some of these players, Jannie had the chance to move but declined
Guthro will not be in the Bulls starting line up once they get a better prop on board, and I am sorry to say Raubenheimer will be remembered for his great photography work
WP both you and Puma go on like a bunch of two faced twats with nappy rash. You got such inherent disdain for this coach its down right open sighted and blatant. So far this coach has surpassed anything any other twat twit white coach has done before yet first chance you *** wiggle wanks get you on his case like a bunch of moffo’s.
Other twat twits lost more than they won on Eoyt’s, never beat France once, record losses to Aus and Eng and Nz. Yet you suck up to their ballas like you got twinkle eyed star dust in your eyes. This coach wins the tri nations, and Br Lions, and Nz twice away and you still gaan aan like the two faced jaundiced quack’s you are.
He was intent on providing some development of players that were being sidelined by the provincial franchises and its about time somebody did. Now he takes remedial action in situations that are palpably obviously necessary and you crucify him still. Whereas another twat twit white coach would never back down on his idiocy and rather go down 49-0 instead. Punk *** palooka 2nd grade half wit supporters like you he can well do without.
8 Nov 2009, 20:26 pm
CJ is a very good pick, he’s not a monster scrummer, but he;s held his own versus the top SA packs and knows how to win on these EOY tours, he is also a collosus in the tightloose when hungry.
8 Nov 2009, 20:27 pm
#67 cab: Howzit Cabbie,
I think the Maestro is a little worried after the silly selections on Friday Night.
8 Nov 2009, 20:29 pm
#79 skopskiet: Skop I have seen 49-0 now for about the 2 thousand time. YAWN.
Did you watch All Out Rugby tonight? Well Kobus and Wright think the same as the whole country that means me and WP and yes you guessed all of South Africa but not you though
8 Nov 2009, 20:30 pm
Thank goodness! This is the happiest news I’ve received today, after Man U’s loss to Chelsea! Smit will really feel the pressure to perform as a tighthead, which I’m sure he will do; and suddenly WIan du Preez, Adriaan Strauss and CJ van der Linde are the back-up front row. That improves our scrum ability dramatically
8 Nov 2009, 20:32 pm
#81 Puma:
long as they keep winning the tests is what counts.
bout time the provinces gave these youngsters like ralapelle and maku a shot, it needs to be balanced, but the signing of gary botha and conversion of kuhn to hooker shows teams like the bulls are just into window-dressing so the national coach has no choice, its all arse about face.
8 Nov 2009, 20:37 pm
#84 cab: G10 says its confirmed that Maku and Murray are going to the Lions. So Maku will get to start there and then after S14 think we will have a great player in him. For this tour no, just a little undercooked. After getting plenty game time at the Lions he will be a far better player have no doubt. He has great talent. So does Chili just so injury prone I feel for him. Needs more game time too.
8 Nov 2009, 20:37 pm
Jannie Dup, Gurthro Steenkamp and Chili Boy Ralepelle were all JW bok’s, all touted as second in line behind Os, Bj or Cj before Smit moved to Th.
Wp Nel, Blaauw, Du Preez, Buys, Oosterhuizen, have so far only phone in the Cc against fellow provincial opposition. None of them have fared either in S14 or internationals yet. Still they are probably better than the front line player that were held inn esteem like Smit, Jannie Dup, Beast, Gurthro before.
Now all these side winding couch potato coaches are telling everyone its the national coaches fault that no front row props are developed. If we threw Blaauw or Du Preez in against Leicester you reckon they wouldn’t have been chewed up by the Italian just as bad, let alone Beast or Gurthro or Smit the hero.
Jannie Dup was never an option ever. This should have been realized long time back. Neither Smit at 3. So if he can’t cut it at 3 then its time for him to hang up his boots because he’s not no.1 hooker neither.
8 Nov 2009, 20:38 pm
WP Nel is a good prospect…but he is very young…give him a super 14 before a Test i reckon….
CJ and BJ may have limitations….but i defy anyone who tells me Smit a better bet at 3…thats just downright idiocy and preposterous.
8 Nov 2009, 20:39 pm
phone – shone
8 Nov 2009, 20:40 pm
or whats even worse, the other couch potatoes who pick a new frontrow to replace the world cup winning Boks who have been there and done that against everyone including the BILS and ABs, instead they tear down the very heralded players that have taken the boks to these illustrious heights.
those leicester forwards must be having on hell of laugh right now!
they fcuked up our whole front row all the way to sickbeds. I hope cj is up to the task, he can also be a penalty liability!
#79 skopskiet: You call the Leicester fiasco “development”? Don’t be ridiculous. None of the young players were “developed” by that experience. If anything, they’ve had their confidence shattered. PdV is destroying careers because he overestimates the ability of some players and underestimates the strength of the opposition. He is an extremely infantile coach who allows success to go to his head, and is tripped up by his own arrogance.
8 Nov 2009, 20:41 pm
#76 Puma: I do not get to see any of the SA rugby programs here in the UK, it is a pity because Sky is just rubbish when it comes to rugby
#83 Mbhubesi: It does and good news. Just feel for WP. Nel he has played superb rugby and maybe should have got a call before CJ. Then CJ can play LH and TH and playing over in NH so probably that got him the selection.
Must say I like the way PDV changes his mind. Why have one if you can’t change it.
8 Nov 2009, 20:44 pm
In fact even Wickus Blaauw as well…give him a full super 14 first…At least Wiaan du preez is 27 years old and a real haardebaard…A Strauss is a real leader and has played for boks too….
Personally i would feel more comfortable with BJ or CJ at 3 than a novice rookie….give the young props like wp…wickus ,Buys and Coenie next year at super 14 to see there worth i reckon…
8 Nov 2009, 20:45 pm
#86 skopskiet: Somehow evertiem our srum gets mauled, Bekker seems to be the lock behind the frontrow
Time to start asking questions about the whole pack and their technique
PDV selected many favourites who did get game time at their provinces but will not get much in the future after Friday night
Ashley Johnson played no S14 and he looked OK to me
#89 cab: 2007 WC Front row was????
2 Smit
3 CJ
1 OS
#92 JL1: I would miss them. Pity you don’t get to see them and what they have to say. Kobus and Wright were just furious with the selections. Especially Kobus saying now that Tigers think they have beaten the Springbok World Champs. Which they never but it will go down in history like that. We here all have our pride.
They all said it was selections that cost us and all said that we should always select the best to tour. Something I had gone on and on about on Friday night here and some just had to have a go at me because of that. Think most of SA felt like me and a few here that were posting on Friday night. The ones that called in felt just the same.
Now I do wish they could select JdV and F. Steyn too. Then we all set and ready.
8 Nov 2009, 20:46 pm
#91 Sidewinder: He did publicly say that not NH side will be able to hold their own against the SH sides
Tigers must be a SH side
8 Nov 2009, 20:47 pm
there’s another reason that team was on a hiding too nothing, other than they had not played before and had 9 new caps, half of those selected have not played 80mins of first class rugby in the last 6 months.
Ralapalle, Dup, Rossouw and Becker have mostly been on the bench. Raubenheimer and Johnson have not even played S14 let alone test matches.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All