CJ back for Boks

Peter de Villiers has been forced to compromise on his stance of not picking up overseas-based-players by calling up prop CJ van der Linde as a replacement for the injured Jannie du Plessis.

Du Plessis has withdrawn from the European tour with a hand injury sustained against Leicester on Friday. Van der Linde, who plays for Leinster in Ireland, last played for the Springboks in 2008, but has since been overlooked after opting to continue his career outside of the country.

The Free Stater is a solid, experienced scrummager who’ll add great value in a facet of play that is likely to be the talking point ahead of the Test against France on Friday.

‘It’s fantastic that we’re able to call on a player with CJ’s experience to join the squad,’ said Bok coach De Villiers.

‘With such a tight schedule it is also helpful to be able to bring in someone who has been part of the group before, knows the systems and will settle in quickly. CJ is also a specialist tighthead who will provide the type of cover we will need.

‘It is unfortunate that we have lost three players so early in the tour but that is part of the game and we have to be able to manage such setbacks.’

Du Plessis’ injury means that the entire starting front row who were decimated at scrum time against the Tigers have been forced to return home, with hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle and prop Gurthrö Steenkamp suffering with foot and knee knocks respectively.

Van der Linde will travel to France on Wednesday where the rest of the squad, arriving from Johannesburg and London, will converge in Toulouse. The other two replacements Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss will join the squad in Johannesburg on Sunday.

249 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.AndrewBK: Reply to this comment

first it was the Lions, next it was the Tri-Nations and now you deny Peter a third time before the cockerel of France crows.

• 152.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

these club teams are no walk overs. We seem to forget Munster took the full strength Ab’s to the wire. Connaught gave our Wc 2007 team a fright. Leicester had some seasoned international professionals in the side like Mauger, the front row, Tuilagi, the scrum half and the full back.

I’m not suggesting it was a well selected side we played. But it was a development side needing exposure. It was a gamble that didn’t come off and thankfully it happened early on the tour so the remedial action can take place. Int touring sides have lost to club sides before playing first choice selections. We can be glad it was not Smit and Beast exposed by that Leicester front row because what would you guys had said then if Smitty and Beast were destroyed by that 2nd grade club side.
    I stand by De Villiers stance that development players are not given proper opportunity in our domestic competitions. He was at fault under estimating the Nh club rugby strength but so was JW before being big bok before playing Ireland and losing. . Twice.
    The development players like Adams, Viljoen, Johnson, Hargreaves I still stand behind. Its the rest of the old staid setup that needs an overhaul. I’m afraid for Smit and Beast next. Because they would have been drilled just as badly as Gurthro and J. Dup.

• 153.Mustard: Reply to this comment

this was obviously last resort by divvy, it does set a precedent though going forward, i wonder if he’l change hes stance on foreign based players, say for instance adi gets injured or flops as badly as Jdp, would he call on Jdv, we’l wait and see

• 154.grant10: Reply to this comment

#130 cab: LOL

#131 Mustard: YIP

• 155.cab: Reply to this comment

#148 JL1:
    interesting, shows what it means to the french.
    yessus i might have problems accepting a loss after this great year.

Come on, skopgat Bokke, one more asb.

• 156.grant10: Reply to this comment

#145 Kronung: YES…but he is French and knows those players well i suppose…so should help.

• 157.JL1: Reply to this comment

#155 cab: We must win, I am also going to Ireland and need a Croke Park win, I have not had a win in France against the French or Ireland in Ireland so please let it be this time

• 158.Puma: Reply to this comment

#152 skopskiet: Waka says that was not a full strength ABs side. I agree with him they had already lost about 16 players to NH before the Tri-Nations last year. So it was not their full strength side. ABs still trying to recover from losing so many of their players to NH last year.

• 159.Puma: Reply to this comment

#158 Puma: Sorry meant to say Not a full strength Ab side that played Munster last year.

• 160.Kronung: Reply to this comment

Bokke can no longer afford the luxury of Barney for his skipper talents alone.

• 161.Puma: Reply to this comment

#157 JL1: Lucky you going to Croke Park. Enjoy it.

We just seem to struggle agains the French in France. Need to beat them and Ireland then we finish on a high this year.

• 162.cab: Reply to this comment

#157 JL1:
    yes that would be bladdy great, i just hope they can hold together, they normally buggered by this time, and its been even heavier this year.

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

#149 cab: been watching and studying religiously since 1976…agree we not great at scrumming….but really cab this year the weakness has been glaringly obvious…despite the wonderful season….

We cannot say its always been like that so lets live with it….

We have to try and get parity….the professional era we cant rely on our backs and lineouts only….

My whole debate has been lets see where and how we can improve…thats all…

• 164.cab: Reply to this comment

#163 grant10:
    i say keep smittie where he is, who knows, maybe he shows all u doubting thomases a thing or two one more time?

• 165.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

CJ hasn’t had a lot of rugby in truth, don’t think he’s played a full game. Can’t wait to see the France forward line-up, unlike NZ and Aus they have the forwards to make it a war, if they select them.

• 166.grant10: Reply to this comment

#160 Kronung: amen….

• 167.Kronung: Reply to this comment

#164 cab: “who knows maybe” is the part that worries me………..

• 168.Mustard: Reply to this comment

after watching fridays game again, iv noticed one thing about the breakdown, NH sides commit much more players to the breakdown, and on heavier fields a fetcher wouldnt be as effective if he doesnt have some help. Thats why im pleased burger is playing with brussouw, and they both should play towards the ball not brussouw alone, and bakkies should keep hitting those dam rucks like hes life depends on it, otherwise dussetoir (sp?) gona gives huge headaches

• 169.JL1: Reply to this comment

#162 cab: Same as the ABs the eoyt take it out of the players, should send Emerging Boks

England and Wales have always send second stringers and then they get clapped and claim that they are developing players

Yet they still never win

• 170.grant10: Reply to this comment

#164 cab: i just dont believe its possible cab….it would be fantastic…but the odds are stacked against him….I sincerely believe he should revert to 2….or bench.

• 171.grant10: Reply to this comment

#165 Big Hit: That does my nerves no good!!

Hi Bh…xmas come early for me my man!!

• 172.Puma: Reply to this comment

#164 cab: :D

#168 Mustard: Agree there. Hope that Deysel is on the bench. He does a lot of fetching for the Sharks. He and Brussow would work well together too. Though pleased that Burger is playing at 7 we need some real hard men out there. Deysel is a good back up if Burger gets injured.

• 173.grant10: Reply to this comment

#168 Mustard: yea….gotta commit to the rucks…no showboating….someone please tell kanko!!

• 174.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#133 JL1: since when is development here Bs. It is incumbent on Pdv as national coach to ensure that development takes place. Some you guys sitting up there in your cushie European hidy holes don’t seem to realise the reality on the ground. We have to try keep on winning but we have to promote development also. If Cc and S14 coaches are too bang to do it then Pdv has to take it on the chin and do it instead.
    I stand behind him 100% in this cause even if such 2nd grade two face supporters who run for the hills first chance they get or want lily white boer and brandewyn teams representing their country like Puma or WP or yourself or whoever the cap fits don’t.
    Its still a prerequisite on the mandate to develop players from all over the demographics of the country so the Cc coaches better get to grips with the program and get down to it else we could face what nobody wants and that is a sliding scale of standards forced upon the situation.

• 175.Kronung: Reply to this comment

#172 Puma: Deysel seems to be getting pinged once to often in kickable positions?

• 176.grant10: Reply to this comment

i see Dan Carter been cited for high tackle…never saw the game so cant comment.

• 177.Mustard: Reply to this comment

grant10, id play danie at 8 instead of kanko, but thats a whole otha debate

• 178.Kronung: Reply to this comment

#177 Mustard: Yep, spot on. Might give Skopskiet a hernia, but the right call none the less.

• 179.grant10: Reply to this comment

About the developmentand transformation….would be great if we could get the Southern Kings a franchise…..then ‘force’ the franchises that are keeping the Makus, Chilliboys, Roses, Floors,etc to release those players for the duration of the super 14 to the Kings….it is a huge dilemma having these okes sitting on the bench all the time. I see Lions doing a deal for Maku….

Mametsa…tiger Mangweni also good players who just dont get to play!!

There are enough players…problem is the actual game time.

• 180.Kronung: Reply to this comment

#178 Kronung: Kanko is an impact player, bring him on at 60-minutes.

• 181.Puma: Reply to this comment

#175 Kronung: I would still have him on the bench. One of the better players on Friday night. Made a bit of a difference when he came on.

Think they will have Danie on the bench though. Or maybe to start instead of Kanko. Have to see the selections. Not sure when that will be released.

They only leave tomorrow night. I know Kobus on the chat show tonight had a problem with that. I don’t at all. Think it is a brilliant idea. They will still have the altitude conditioning in them this weekend. That will give them more lung and leg power, wont tire as easy. Then by the following week it will be lost but at least will have it for the French game.

• 182.JL1: Reply to this comment

#174 skopskiet: Did he sign up for a transformation team or a winning team?

Development is taking place, you just go down to Craven week and see how many players are getting opportunities,after that is where there is a breakdown. How many players have the discipline to keep going after that. Tybilika (spelling) Owen Nkumane, Lawrence Sephaka etc etc etc etc etc etc where did they all go to

All the coaches in the S14 give players a chance- Raubenheimer for example will not get a look in at the Cheetahs S14, WHY because they have half a dozen better players in those position than him, so why pick him then for a national side

Mapoe is there (in the Cheetahs team) on his ability, but NO!! Piet reckons he knows what he has in him and will not select him

Where were the players that played for the Emerging Boks

This man has not a plan but reacts on instinct due to losses and injuries and that is about all

• 183.grant10: Reply to this comment

#177 Mustard: If wet perhaps….i would understand your reasoning….

Personally i rate Dewalt Potgieter highly….he would be my 8 before Kanko if its an attritional war…which i believe it will be.

• 184.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

#176 grant10: Not much in it. Should have been a penalty. Can’t remember if one was given. Linesman may have told Joubert afterwards, as he missed it at the time. Really can’t remember. But not really worth a card. It was accidental.

• 185.JL1: Reply to this comment

#179 grant10: and you could say that about many white players warming benches in SA-Kockott is one surely he could also be developed the same as Heinie Adams? Or does he need a tan, a frizz and a tease in his hair?

• 186.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

anyone ahead of Kanko but preferably not Danie. Dusetoir and his musketeers will have both Kanko or D. Roussouw for breakfast unfortunately. Might have to resort to a Brussow Deysel Burger combination if all else fails.

• 187.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Kanko deserves his shot. A couple of seasons back he had an awesome Super 14 and the Kiwis were raving about him. I know this is Test rugby in the north, but give him a shot. Burger is no number 8.

• 188.JL1: Reply to this comment

#186 skopskiet: ja-nee, Kanko needs more mielie pap before he could stand up and be counted

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

#176 grant10: He did do a high tackle. Let see what happens.

If it was the high tackle I am thinking about, damn those Welsh must have shown it over about 30 times :lol: They just kept on going on why the ref missed it and said that would have changed the game and they could have won. Oh bugger, had to have a laugh. The ref was way out of sight of it.

Also that run away try near the end. That welsh guy was just sooooooooooooooooooooooo slow otherwise should have gone over for a try and he also had no back up. Was way in front but got caught by a AB player.

Jeepers they can moan up north :D

• 190.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Also, Danie has never let the Boks down at number 8 in the NH. Haven’t watched the Leicester game yet, but am about to. Reserve judgment on him until then.

• 191.ali: Reply to this comment

#174 skopskiet: the problem is that development from the top-down is not sustainable; the transformation only lasts as long as the player, which in international rugby amounts to on average about 5 years.

Bottom-up grassroots development is the only way to initiate any meaningful representation, because the focus is on long-lived infrastructure rather than picking a few individuals each year

• 192.Puma: Reply to this comment

#187 kaksioek: Agree give Kanko a chance. He did play great in that game end of year against the Welsh. Scored a try too.

• 193.Puma: Reply to this comment

#192 Puma: Was end of 2007

• 194.JL1: Reply to this comment

#174 skopskiet: This was the Emerging Boks Squad v BIL:

Jacques Botes, Jean Deysel, Wian du Preez, Werner Kruger, Patrick Cilliers, Tiaan Liebenberg, Bandisa Maku, Dewald Potgieter (c), Wilhelm Steenkamp, Steven Sykes, Franco van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen, Heini Adams, Bjorn Basson, Willem de Waal, Zane Kirchner, Danwel Demas, Morgan Newman, Earl Rose, Deon van Rensburg, Jano Vermaak, Luzuko Vulindlu.

So why are they not there combined with the experience??

• 195.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

#192 Puma: Of course, you’re also a Sharks supporter, aren’t you? ;-)

• 196.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#164 cab: grant thinks Leicester were providing some divine intervention for the Springbok team :)

#171 grant10: evening grant, I wouldn’t worry, they’re French so their selection will probably be wacky and not even consider the opposition. No one understands the frogs and they don’t understand us, that’s why they call them unpredictable

• 197.grant10: Reply to this comment

No fighting with me now chaps…but here is my team for French test if i am coach….
    [ fark i am heading for the trench as i type! ]
    15 Kirchner
    14 JPP
    13 J FOURIE
    12 ADI
    11 HABANA
    10 M STEYN
    9 FDP
    8 DEWALT POTGIETER
    7 SCHALK
    6 BRUSSOW
    5 MATFIELD
    4 BAKKIES
    3 CJ
    2 J SMIT
    1 WIAAN DU PREEZ
    16 BEAST
    17 D ROSSOW
    18 BISMARCK
    19 J DEYSEL
    20 kanko
    21 r pienaar
    22 w olivier

Bring it on frogs!

Bring it on Frogs

• 198.Kronung: Reply to this comment

#190 kaksioek: I say again good call with Kanko on at 60.

Brussouw, Burger, Danie – not to be taken lightly.

• 199.Puma: Reply to this comment

#182 JL1: Well said JL1 agree with your post there.

• 200.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

‘It is unfortunate that we have lost three players so early in the tour but that is part of the game and we have to be able to manage such setbacks.’

Actually no it is not ‘unfortunate’ as chilliboy was already injured and should never have played. And the other two were out of their depth and badly coached.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.