Learning from Leicester lesson
9 Nov 2009
Intensity will be the watchword as the Springboks prepare to erase the Welford Road capitulation with a robust showing against France.
Bok skipper John Smit used the word liberally on the 2008 tour of the UK, and the recent debacle against Leicester would serve as a timely reminder that intensity is king on the heavier fields of Europe.
The Tigers went into the fixture as underdogs despite the SA XV’s lack of experience, but always looked the hungrier side at the collisions. After dominating at the tackle point, they had the kicking game needed to pin South Africa deep in their own territory.
It’s no exaggeration when I employ a cliche to contrast the Springboks and their midweek alter-egos. The Cheese got served last Friday, but we should expect a better showing from the Chalk when they play in Toulouse.
The Springboks have the best second-row and halfback pairing on the planet, and, as France coach Marc Lievremont pointed out recently, they are the most physical team in world rugby. They need to take this compliment to heart in preparation for Les Tricolores this Friday. They’ll need ever bit of grit and determination to deny the proud Frenchmen, who will also be anticipating a forward assault.
There has been concern over the fitness of top players like Fourie du Preez and Victor Matfield, who’ve endured a helluva lot of rugby in 2009. Smit, Bakkies Botha and Bismarck du Plessis have also been over-utilised, and Bryan Habana could also have done with a rest ahead of a busy 2010 season.
It’s a pointless debate with these players already picked and primed for a taxing European tour, but every player would do well to know this could be one of the tougher Tests in 2009. Playing at the end of their rugby season, the Boks will need to operate at an optimal level of intensity.
The SA XV lacked that intensity against Leicester and they were duly punished. There were other aspects that cost the tourists, namely the poor scrumming effort, wayward tactical kicking and suspect decision-making, but it was concerning to see a South African team beaten by a club side at the breakdown.
Australia also battled in the initial stages in their match against England on Saturday. The Poms turned the Wallabies over in promising positions because the visitors failed to protect the ball-carrier. When they adjusted in the second period, they prospered, and were thus able to play the game at a more familiar tempo.
Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger are expected to start on the flanks against France, while Ryan Kankowski will fill in for the injured Pierre Spies. Brüssow and Burger worked well in tandem at the back end of the Tri-Nations, but it will be interesting to see how they respond to Friday’s challenge. Plenty will be expected from Kankowski in a ball-carrying capacity.
Nobody outbullies the Bulls when they bring their trademark physicality to the party, but as seen in this year’s Super 14, when the Bulls don’t front at the collisions, they are beatable. The lowly Highlanders outmuscled the Bulls in the league stage, and perhaps it served as a good reminder that physical dominance is something you need to work for in every single encounter.
Smit said it at the beginning of the 2008 tour; intensity is the team watchword when touring the northern hemisphere. The midweek side may be forgiven for not knowing this due to a lack of experience, but their failure should serve as a reminder to Smit’s men that nothing less than the Boks’ uncompromising brand will do in Toulouse.
It’s a tough ask at the end of a long season, and it’s fair to say that should the Boks return from their three-Test tour undefeated, they will have achieved more than just a 3-0 result.
By Jon Cardinelli

248 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
9 Nov 2009, 11:03 am
#148 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Boet….we never gonna agree…so whats the use….
Cheers now…
Sorry for losing my temper.
9 Nov 2009, 11:07 am
#145 justrugby: So would you start HVDM, Bissie, WP Nel on this tour instead of Beast, Bissie, Smit? Drop our captain after a stellar year. Et tu Brutus?
What’s going on here, is Grant10 a schizo? One minute he’s decent the next he’s shouting his mouth off… Weird Monday.
Anyway, it seems the simple fact is we have our strongest front row players on tour. So lets see how we go in the test match with our first choice, before we start bleating off about it all. Although the French fields and weight under foot will no doubt be different to the Leicester ground…
#152 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): theres the sentimentality again…
9 Nov 2009, 11:09 am
#153 Mutant: Ja…sorry about that….Ratel Pisses me off a lot….but i need to behave.Apologies
9 Nov 2009, 11:10 am
the problem were the only experienced guys dropping us.
You must stop with this racist labbeling of players of colour as kwotas.
The tight five was the more ex[perienced and they did not perform.
9 Nov 2009, 11:11 am
#154 grant10: Logic Grant. The guy has just lead us to one of our best years and Justrugby wants to drop him? For an uncapped greenhorn. That’s not logical. take anger and pride out of your argument and re-look at your and justrugby front-row selections to start against France. I’m much more confident in our current combo.
9 Nov 2009, 11:11 am
#150 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Depth at TH and 10 giving me sleeples nights.
I mentioned my TH in my last post, don’t let the age factor be an issue, at TH if you have the technique and strength you will be ok, Nel has both, Smitty has the strength for sure but due to his body type his tequnique is not good and without the combination of technique and strength you will at times be found wanting !!
9 Nov 2009, 11:14 am
#145 justrugby: JS started as a TH, fact. Beast is one of the best LH in the world, fact (whether he used to be a loosie or not)
I agree we need to learn to not have JS on the field at all times, but we’ve also seen how bad it is when he is off – we lose matches we should win. Another leader needs to step up but at this moment in time Smit needs to be on the field, simple. Perhaps hooker is better for him, but with who at 3? This is the first time CJ has been given a route in. I’m not convinced Nel is ready for a NH EOY Springbok Tour as the starting TH.
9 Nov 2009, 11:15 am
Horses for courses in front row will be the way forward….for eg…if that bloody aussie at loosehead dont play Smit!!
9 Nov 2009, 11:15 am
#158 justrugby: Still don’t agree with dropping our captain for a youngster who hasn’t even played regular S14, sorry if that makes me an imbecile.
9 Nov 2009, 11:17 am
Agree.
I all our tests this year, we were not once overpowered..
Why do we keep on wanting to create problems for ourselves.
Cobus Visagie and Os said that your TH matures at 28
9 Nov 2009, 11:20 am
#19 Cheetha Champs:
Best post I’ve read regarding the match on Friday.
#27 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
How many chances must WO get before we realise that he is not of international quality? If I’m not mistaken he already had about 30 odd chances. Don’t you think that’s enough? A good CC and Super rugby player yes, but an international he’s not.
It’s time to realise that he and Jannie Dup just don’t cut it as internationals.
#42 grant10:
Don’t agree that a precedent has been set. PdV always said that he would look at overseas players if he feel there is no one in SA who can do the job. Remember Butch James, last year?
#79 TheTackler: At the beginning of the year you led 42-30. We cut your lead by a full 25% in one year. Watch this space.
9 Nov 2009, 11:22 am
#160 grant10: Yes Robinson does seem to have the upper hand over Smit. But again, how much of that is ref’s interpretation – it was only really one game that the Aussies dominated us…And we can’t really keep dropping our captain every odd test.
9 Nov 2009, 11:25 am
#161 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
No you have an opinion which is great and it stimulates debate……..but as I have said before there needs to be life after JS !!!
Maybe you need to answer the question I posed , if JS receives a carreer ending injury tomorrow, what happens then ??
9 Nov 2009, 11:29 am
#158 justrugby:
When JS was moved to TH, there were no obvious THs in contention in SA, other than JduP. The fact that WP has come to the fore in the CC is no justification for dropping the captain.
9 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
#165 justrugby: Then we pick the Greenhorn and you have your wish. Why do you think PdV wants Heinke able to play TH? Cause we have none in the country, yet you want to drop JS for…….. Nobody.
9 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
France:
15-Damien Traille, 14-Vincent Clerc, 13-Yann David, 12-Maxime Mermoz, 11-Cedric Heymans, 10-Francois Trinh-Duc, 9-Julien Dupuy, 8-Louis Picamoles, 7-Imanol Harinordoquy, 6-Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5-Romain Millo-Chluski, 4-Lionel Nallet, 3-Nicolas Mas, 2-William Servat, 1-Fabien Barcella
Replacements: 16-Dimitri Szarzewski, 17-Sylvain Marconnet, 18-Sebastien Chabal, 19-Julien Bonnaire, 20-Morgan Parra, 21-David Marty, 22-Maxime Medard
9 Nov 2009, 11:33 am
French centre’s have 6 caps between them. And Traille is a centre playing at Full Back. I smell a victory. JF to calve them up, if the pack gets a look in.
9 Nov 2009, 11:33 am
#137 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): hahha
u r hilarious dude
funny thing is they say sarcasm is the lowest form of wit
9 Nov 2009, 11:34 am
Grant you need to chill and tolerate other people’s views…thats the point of this blog surely….you seem to think that your view is the only one worth listening to..
9 Nov 2009, 11:37 am
#166 David: Exactly, thankfully sense prevails somewhere on this blog.
9 Nov 2009, 11:40 am
#170 Papoose: “hahha
u r hilarious dude funny thing is they say sarcasm is the lowest form of wit”
Are you tuning me, whilst being sarcastic yourself? A rare kind of hypocrite you are.
9 Nov 2009, 11:43 am
people also tend to forget that the sharks front row was the best sa front row on show during the super 14…
9 Nov 2009, 11:45 am
#167 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
We will go round in circles on this debate, one thing you can be sure of is when JS runs on and he has a No3 on his back Grant 10 and myself are 100% behind him and if we could be in that scrum to help him, we would be !!!
9 Nov 2009, 11:46 am
#166 David: Have to agree here. Nel is a one season wonder so far. Hopefully he pushes on next year and becomes a high quality TH.
#171 gunther: He has apologised somewhere down the line.
#170 Papoose: Is this serious? Or is Pa being a po@s?
9 Nov 2009, 11:50 am
#171 gunther: ja…sorry G…apologies
9 Nov 2009, 11:52 am
#175 justrugby: Grant 10 and Justrugby
Name the games when JS got dominated at tighthead? Yes, he has been bullied a few times but the ref plays a big part.
Even Os got mocked a few times in his career. Remember that? Short tightheads dominating him? Ring any bells?
The only oke I have never seen get mocked is Piet Bester!
9 Nov 2009, 11:54 am
#178 Oubaas2009: Yeah, go Oubaas!!
9 Nov 2009, 11:56 am
Hey guys
What do you think of the following team for the boks on friday:
15. Kirchner
14. Pietersen
13. Fourie
12. Olivier
11. Habana
10. Steyn
9. Du Preez
8. Kankovski
7. Bismark (He is fast enough for northern hemosphere rugby at flank)
6. Brussouw
5. Matfield
4. Bakkies
3. CJ
2. Smit
1. Beast
Subs:
16. Strauss
17. Wian du Preez
18. Bekker
19. Rossouw
20. Burger
21. Pienaar
22. Jacobs
I think this pack will murder the french….
9 Nov 2009, 11:56 am
I hope Piet Bester makes a comeback! He would teach the Freestate frontrow some disipline.
9 Nov 2009, 12:00 pm
#178 Oubaas2009:
Oubaas the problem is the front row in it’s entirety !!
Beast not the strongest , Bissy has been criticised for being to upright (I cannot say if this is tue or not, I am no specialist), JS not a specialist TH and technique is questionable.
So collectively as a front row they struggle.
But as others see it they do not struggle, therfore for the sake of boring bloggers i will from my side put this to rest now !!
9 Nov 2009, 12:02 pm
#178 Oubaas2009: lets leave this now….its tired!
9 Nov 2009, 12:04 pm
#180 Cheetahboytjie: What you smoking? Bismark on the flank? Its time to pass the dubie bro, you’ve had your turn
9 Nov 2009, 12:05 pm
#178 Oubaas2009: Sharks versus Cheetahs – CC semi final 2009
9 Nov 2009, 12:06 pm
#184 Oubaas2009: agree!!
9 Nov 2009, 12:06 pm
#181 Oubaas2009: I wish another Piet would come back to teach Jonathan Kaplan a f*cking lesson
9 Nov 2009, 12:08 pm
#184 Oubaas2009: Pack it, stack it, fire it up, come along, and take a hit from the bong with Cheetahboytie!
I do think the bench is going to be a 5-2 split though, maybe with a whole new front row on the bench. Might be tempted to play Danie at 8 though. Never let us down there and not sure Kanko will be suited to the tighter NH games, and heavier fields. Although he deserves and extended chance…
9 Nov 2009, 12:09 pm
#183 grant10:
amen lets rather tlak about whether kanko is going to cut the mustrd at 8….
9 Nov 2009, 12:09 pm
French named their side; very strong unit
15-Damien Traille, 14-Vincent Clerc, 13-Yann David, 12-Maxime Mermoz, 11-Cedric Heymans, 10-Francois Trinh-Duc, 9-Julien Dupuy, 8-Louis Picamoles, 7-Imanol Harinordoquy, 6-Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5-Romain Millo-Chluski, 4-Lionel Nallet, 3-Nicolas Mas, 2-William Servat, 1-Fabien Barcella
Replacements: 16-Dimitri Szarzewski, 17-Sylvain Marconnet, 18-Sebastien Chabal, 19-Julien Bonnaire, 20-Morgan Parra, 21-David Marty, 22-Maxime Medard
9 Nov 2009, 12:10 pm
#178 Oubaas2009: #182 justrugby: Schalk Britz critised bissie. Pot calling kettle black.
9 Nov 2009, 12:11 pm
The Bokke are the team who better be prepared for a forward assault of note.
The french enjoy the physical stuff, their top 14 is an incredibly physical competition, just ask victor matfield and john smit.
the key here is intensity and sustained intensity, the english beat the french regularly because while the french come out with alot of passion and fire, it will take a sustained intense effort to put them down.
9 Nov 2009, 12:13 pm
#188 Mutant: Hee hee.
Bok Bench:
Strauss
CJ
Bekker
Danie
Deysel
Ruan
WO
9 Nov 2009, 12:14 pm
#47 Cheetah 4 Eva: don’t talk bullshit.the all blacks build up their nice cushion when the boks reserved one position for window dressing purposes…chester williams used to fill that one position in the beginning.the blacks time after time smashed your so-called blue-eyed superior afrikaaner boys,don’t blame quotas for your own kuk.
9 Nov 2009, 12:15 pm
#188 Mutant: please no! danie’s hands are not good enough.He is a good runner and tough as nails. Seeing as that the scrum is probably going to go backwards, i think we need a player there who can better handle it. my loose trio.
6. Brussouw
7. Danie
8. Schalk
9 Nov 2009, 12:16 pm
#192 cab: Yes, agreed. The French probably play their rugby a lot closer to SA’s style that most other International teams. Good hard passionate forward play with moments of sheer flair and brilliance from their backlines.
SA though will have to go into the game with the mindset that this game is 80 minutes; absolutely no chance of sitting back if they’ve built any sort of lead.
9 Nov 2009, 12:17 pm
#194 Valkyrie: Oh live in the present. Look before isolation Boks dominated you, then we needed a few years to catch-up (still beat you when it mattered) and now after years back in international rugby, things are returning to normal and the boks are back on top.
9 Nov 2009, 12:21 pm
15-Zane Kirchner,14-JP Pietersen,13-Jacque Fourie,12-Adi Jacobs,11-Bryan Habana,10-Morne Steyn,9-Fourie Du Preez,8-Ryan Kankowski,7-Schalk Burger,6-Heindrich Brussow,5-Victor Matfield,4-Bakkies Botha,3-John Smit,2-Bismarck Du Plessis,1-Tendai Mtawira
Replacements: 16-Andries Strauss,17-CJ Van der Linde,18-Ashley Johnson,19-Danie Rossouw,20-Dewald Potgeiter 21-Ruan Pienaar,22-Wynand Olivier
Ruan covers 9,10 and 15.
Wynand covers 12,13
Jacque Fourie moves to wing if 11 or 14 injured
CJ can cover 1 and 3 (played test loosehead against England a few years ago or JS covers 1.)
Strauss covers 2 or JS
Ashley covers 8
Danie covers 4/5
Dewald covers 6/7
9 Nov 2009, 12:21 pm
#195 bored@work: Yes, I like that loose trio too for the NH. I don’t think our pack will be going backwards though. Who is the ref on Friday night?
9 Nov 2009, 12:22 pm
#196 Richie_7:
agree with alot of that…if that is the team at 190, they seem to have gone for a tough backrow and have correctly picked nallet.
Bokke have more grit, but will need to reach deep down for it, frenchies will be up for this one. if bokke come to toulouse for the cassoulet and tannies, they get gatte handed to them.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All