digimag-banner

France braced for ‘butcher’ Boks

France loose forward Imanol Harinordoquy regards the Springboks as the ultimate test of physicality.

Friday’s Test in Toulouse is likely to be marked by an almighty battle between two burly sets of forwards and by brutal collisions with little regard for personal well-being. The victor of that duel will contribute significantly to giving their side the ascendency.

The French media have seemingly become fixated on the physicality of the Springboks, with former France captain Lucien Mias offering his thoughts on the contest, saying, ‘In a sport of sacrifice, the Springboks have decided once and for all to be the butcher rather than the lamb.’

Asked for his reaction to the comment, Harinordoquy said, ‘Yes, you could say they are butchers but I can assure you we are not going to be the lambs on Friday.’

He continued with his forthright assessment. ‘South Africa are world champions, they are the best team in the world but they also are the nastiest and most physical team in the world. A team that is always trying to hurt,’ he noted.

‘Of course, they play inside the rules, they don’t stamp on you or knee you because now if you do that it’s a yellow card or even a red card.

‘Our sport is changing but the fundamentals are the same. A rugby game, and particularly a game against the Springboks, is above all a fight between two packs of forwards.’

The 29-year-old intimated that they weren’t expecting the Springboks to play expansively, but rather to try and achieve victory through the pragmatic approach which has brought them success in 2009.

‘They don’t play a very sophisticated game but they always try to break their opponents defence, they are very strong in the tackle, and in the rucks, their line-out is superb and they are hefty in the physical duels,’ he said.

‘We beat them last time we met but it was in 2006 [36-26 in Cape Town] and they were rebuilding their team. Friday’s Test will be another story, winning the World Cup has given them a lot of confidence and they can hammer any team in the world.

‘To match them, we’ll have to be very strong on the fundamentals of the game, do simple things but do them well even if sometimes it’s the most difficult. I’m sure we can do it but we’ll have to be at our best and play with a lot of solidarity.’

50 Responses to “France braced for ‘butcher’ Boks”

• 1. PissAntReply to this comment :

We might (and should) win the battle (the 3 tests), but ultimately we will lose the war (the actual purpose of this tour – to build back up depth).

• 2. PissAntReply to this comment :

De Villiers and Co got this tour wrong.

• 3. nyerembeReply to this comment :

Boks forever!! If we can call up CJ why not FRANS STEYN?

• 4. PissAntReply to this comment :

#3 nyerembe:

Cause we do not have a crisis at 15.

Kirchner and Viljoen is there

• 5. Lions_SoutieReply to this comment :

‘they were in a rebuilding phase’. Ouch, I thought we had a pretty strong team back then!

• 6. BokpootReply to this comment :

#4 PissAnt:

Not a crisis, but no experience.

• 7. ThaiCheetahReply to this comment :

#4 PissAnt: I’m not all to pleased with having those 2 as our fullbacks… I still just don’t rate Kirchner, he is just average. And don’t think Viljoen is ready to make the step up yet…

Would’ve preferred to have Steyn there any day of the week…

Any way, not nice for Imanol to call us nasty!!! Just because we play hard intense rugby does not mean we are out to hurt people, we are there to win a game, and if that means dominating the other team to such an extent that they get injured then so be it…

• 8. ufoReply to this comment :

“former France captain Lucien Mias” is a half-wit…

Which rugby side from international to junior school chooses to be the lambs in a game… idiot…

I’m worried about Kirchner at 15… Don’t believe he is as solid as he needs to be under the high ball, defence or positional play… If he is selected expect them to give him a hard time… Viljoen may be better but to test any yoiung newby against the creative running French is a huge ask…

Is it a crisis… I hope not… Hope Kirchner rises to the occassion… but his two games so far suggest otherwise… let’s wait and see on Friday…

• 9. PissAntReply to this comment :

#6 Bokpoot: #7 ThaiCheetah:

I did not say I agree with the selections.

But I do agree with the policy of not selecting overseas based players unless there is a crisis.

• 10. PissAntReply to this comment :

I am not expert of front rows, but from comments and reviews I read, CJ is not all that hot up in Europe.

• 11. skopskietReply to this comment :

can’t see us taking this team easily. I call it French forwards will dominate ours even in the loose and their mid field stronger than ours. Only area we stronger is at 2nd row.
    Here’s the time of reckoning, forget the lucky packet 3N and Br Lions wins, here’s the real deal France at home, nowhere to hide, especially up front.

• 12. HondoReply to this comment :

#11 skopskiet:
    He came back from a long lay off 3 weeks ago
    I would say he isn’t the same player he was last year against the ABs, but he will hold his own against Maas and Marconnet
    Something the Beast will not,,,

• 13. DawnReply to this comment :

No Province, no victory.

Das all I gotta say.

• 14. HondoReply to this comment :

#10 PissAnt:
    Read my posting #12, it was intended for you

• 15. skopskietReply to this comment :

I would have played

W. Du Preez
    Bismark
    WP Nel
    Botha
    Matfield
    Brussow
    Burger
    Vermeulen
    Fdp
    Steyn
    Habana
    De Jongh
    Fourie
    Mapoe
    Viljoen

Beast
    Liebenberg
    W. Blaauw
    Bekker
    Deysel
    Pienaar
    JPP

• 16. skopskietReply to this comment :

correction
    Bench

CJ/ Buys
    Liebenberg
    Blaauw
    Bekker
    Deysel
    Pienaar
    JPP

• 17. HondoReply to this comment :

#15 skopskiet:
    Now we are talking
    Who is that Vijon guy, whome does he play for?
    Mapoe gets my approval, as for the Beast let me tel you this:
    Against the French and the Argis, he will put himself at tisk with his non binding (mal)practice!

• 18. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

Frenchies (not exactly renowned for fighting shy of the old dodgy eye-gouge or nibble or bag-snatch) see the Boks as dirtier than what they are.

That’s the perception.

NOT a good look.

• 19. DawnReply to this comment :

#18 TheTackler:

Ag twak man.

The French are a good look.

Ask me.

I know.

• 20. HondoReply to this comment :

#16 skopskiet:
    Much better!
    A sound, knowledgeable selection that can be used as a basis for debate

• 21. skopskietReply to this comment :

Viljoen is Griquas FB
    Another F. Steyn with a long range boot and a solid tackle, and some attack ability into the line, best 15 we have next to Steyn by far.

• 22. skopskietReply to this comment :

thank you Hondo nice to see we sometimes do read or think from the same page, even though I still champion the need for development in areas where most people still tend to shy away from.

• 23. Big HitReply to this comment :

#18 TheTackler: he also said they play within the rules.

‘Of course, they play inside the rules’

• 24. usualsuspectReply to this comment :

#10 PissAnt:

” forget the lucky packet 3N and Br Lions wins”

Lucky Packet…….?Now how did you come to that smart conclusion…?

• 25. ThaiCheetahReply to this comment :

#15 skopskiet: Bliksem, who would’ve thought i would ever agree with you about a team selection…

But that is a pretty damn strong team, only concern for me is still fullback and i would change Liebenberg for Strauss…And i hate Wicus Blaauw…One of the worst attitudes i’ve seen on a pitch for a long long time…

Other than that, awesome team…

• 26. ThaiCheetahReply to this comment :

#13 Dawn: Which province you talking about? ;)

• 27. HondoReply to this comment :

#21 skopskiet:
    I think I know him
    Didn’t he use to play for the East Rand’s Falcons/Valkes?

• 28. Jake_WhiteReply to this comment :

Why dont we take a Bok B squad along to play some matches not as the Springboks but as South Africa A. new guys can feature there. Instead we let them play in Bok jerseys and ultimately to avoid losing we have to play the best team we have. No new guys are going to make it that way.

Select a Bok B team, take them on tour andd let them play Leicester et al.

• 29. HondoReply to this comment :

#22 skopskiet:
    This a pro game now, it’s no longer the Vrsity grads game, every team and coach are taking advantage of any smaller scrap they can.
    Now, selecting guys with no physique, no stamina, with a suspectable bone structure and generally speaking merely passangers causes me seeing red
    Bring on 15 Mapoes any time, that’s great, you could see at first glance he is there to play rugby whatever it takes!

• 30. My50centsReply to this comment :

This match has a feeling of that Aussie game when the Boks havign won easily the week before suddenly found oout that you cant just pitch up and expect a to win a test match…well maybe against Namibia but thats not the point.
    The French are also under pressure to win after not having a great tour of NZ/OZ earlier in the year. Add that to the fact that their season is at the midway stage so their players should be hitting their peek at this time…ever wondered why NH teams suck when the tour south but then seem to be great during Oct/Nov and World Cups. The Bok players are fatigued..but at the end of the day money talks and nobody is gonna sit out if they can earn a pay cheque!
    Ill support the Boks any day of the week..even the Dirty SA Trackers..but smart money says the fresher and hungrier French will take this one..unless they have a brain explosion..which is not uncommon to the French!

• 31. cabReply to this comment :

#18 TheTackler:
    yeah exactly, the french have no problem with a klap from behind.
    in fact, its their traditional martial art.
    dirty dragons.

• 32. katmanReply to this comment :

The French are dirty on so many levels. Some of them go six or seven days without a shower. How the fck they got let into the EU is beyond me.

• 33. nama1Reply to this comment :

One thing for sure, if VM, Kankowski and CJ/Bekker (if/when they get on) think they can hang around in the back line, the forwards will get klapped. This is a game where all 8 forwards must be willing to put their bodies on the line in all aspects of forward play.

• 34. Storm outta hellReply to this comment :

Dunno what all the fuss is about…only really Bakkies and Schalk that may go in with a bit more intensity than lesser mortals….the Rugby world seem intent on making Boks the bad boys of rugga…maybe a ploy to influence the refs…probably something the AB’s cooked up…like Suzie’s cooking skills :question:

• 35. Storm outta hellReply to this comment :

#31 katman: Yep…and that includes shagging six or seven little french ****** for the duration :lol:

• 36. katmanReply to this comment :

#34 Storm outta hell: As long as they hit the shower in between, that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

• 37. BALLER canREADYReply to this comment :

#21 skopskiet: I agree that Viljoen is the next best thing to steyn.He’s a specialist FB who ticks all the right boxes, except colour of his skin unfortunately.
    Hopefully he can prove his worth and force the jersey to be his own the way morne did the 10 jersey.

• 38. BeastReply to this comment :

Don’t know what the debate is about. Kirsch has proven that he can handle the big games. Did brilliantly in the S14. Had a fair game against the Lions, despite the disruption of the team. Didn’t let the Bulls down in the CC final. He is seldom out of place or under presure. My only criticism realy is that he is not all that great at protecting the ball in the tackle, but then again, can’t think of a lot of guys who are. Viljoen, despite all his claimed tallent, was not able to settle and secure a game for Griekwas, when they needed to. It all comes down to BMT. Another guy who can’t deal with BMT is Ruan Pienaar. Hope someone does not develop a brain **** and puts him at 15.

• 39. caneReply to this comment :

The Republic of Eye-Gougers …..Vs ……Scrotum Twisters.

Should be fun 8)

• 40. katmanReply to this comment :

#38 cane: As long as the Aussie hole pluggers are kept far away…

• 41. AtreidesReply to this comment :

I think given the amount of rugby we’ve played this year, plus some key injuries and JDV & F. Steyn gone, this will be the hardest test we will play this year….if the guys can’t raise themselves one or two more times, we’re gonna lose to France & Ireland…that said, if they can bring their A-game intensity we should have the measure of both.

• 42. PumaReply to this comment :

Now we the “Butcher Boks” :lol:

Give it to em Bokke

• 43. Storm outta hellReply to this comment :

#40 Atreides: Yep…the Irish have promised retribution for the loss of the B&I Lions tour,so they’ll be giving it their all @ Croke park…the war ain’t over…

• 44. frenchiebokfanReply to this comment :

#31 katman: The French actually founded the EU. Ever heard of Jean Monet and Maurice Schumann ? Maybe you ought to spend less time in showers playing soap games and more time in a library.

• 45. cabReply to this comment :

#43 frenchiebokfan:
    who the f’ck are they? are they painters?

• 46. katmanReply to this comment :

#43 frenchiebokfan: Can’t say I know Monet, unless you’re talking about that painter dude. However, Marius Schoeman I do know. Bit of a journeyman in the 15 man code, but a great 7’s Bok.

• 47. frenchiebokfanReply to this comment :

Not bad, Cab and Kat ;-)

• 48. cabReply to this comment :

#46 frenchiebokfan:
    so you think the frenchies gonna win?

• 49. frenchiebokfanReply to this comment :

I hope not (believe it or not, I support the Boks vs the French). But last time the Boks had a test-match against France (in France) at this time of the year, they seemed out of form and lacked motivation, so I only believe in a close victory for the Boks.

• 50. cabReply to this comment :

#48 frenchiebokfan:
    yeah, should be close, french rugby also very strong at the moment, they going to win 6n this year. structures are good and the top 14 is of an incredibly high standard with all the money flooding in. the british premiership was like this when they produced their 2002/3 team.

About the author

Ryan has written 2932 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator