Jacobs, Kirchner to face France
Adi Jacobs starts at inside centre against France while Zane Kirchner has been handed the fullback berth.
It was an open secret that Jacobs would fill the midfield void left by Jean de Villiers, but Kirchner’s inclusion was less certain, with Ruan Pienaar having played in the position in two Tests against Australia in the Tri-Nations, and coach Peter de Villiers intimating that he was being groomed to play there on the year-end tour, given Frans Steyn’s imminent departure for French club Racing Metro.
Elsewhere, Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger should form a formidable flank combination, while the dynamic Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start in light of Pierre Spies’ injury.
The starting line-up boasts a total of 588 Test caps between them, while the bench boys add 180 to that figure. In a Test as close as Friday’s clash in Toulouse is expected to be, experience could well be the difference between victory and defeat.
The Springbok selectors have opted for a 5-2 bench split, with the bench the trio of, props Wian du Preez and CJ van der Linde, and hooker Adriaan Strauss will provide complete front row cover, while Pienaar’s utility value means he can fill in at 9, 10 or 15 and Wynand Olivier likely to get a run in the final quarter at centre, although he has played wing at Test level in the past.
‘The core of the match did duty during the Tri-Nations campaign and will provide us with stability going into this tough opening Test,’ De Villiers said.
‘There are a lot of experienced players in the starting 15 as well as on the bench which will be important to our continuity as well as to ensuring that we maintain our structures and play the way we want to.
‘I have full confidence in the new players who will be starting on Friday, they have shown their qualities before and we have to make sure we get the best out of them. The three newcomers are all good players in their own right. CJ is very experienced while both Adriaan and Wian have been part of the squad previously.’
Springboks - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

November 10th, 2009 at 12:47 pm
Roseless ??
November 10th, 2009 at 12:48 pm
Very Strong looking Team.
Lets not ***** about here………If France can beat this lot of DRAGONS…they deserve it.
November 10th, 2009 at 12:49 pm
No Johnson Either ?
No Wynand ?
I’m scared now . Very very scared. Forwards are solid everyone can see that but backs could be fragile .
November 10th, 2009 at 12:50 pm
Top team, should win.
#1 rugbygenius: crazy isn’t it, he’s at least as good as Kirchner
Well good luck to the Boks. WO should have started the French have a monster at inside centre that weighs 105kg. Phew!! now worried about our centre channel.
I would have had Deysel on the bench too. Danie never impressed me much on Saturday. Then he can cover 8 and 4. Also he does play better in a better team.
#2 cane: Hayi sorry I forgot the DRAGONS thing . Whats this DRAGONS about anyway ??
well good luck to them, kanko better be ready to step up big time, cos this is not a game for the faint-hearted.
take the bull by the horns as was done in the perth test, go out there and be prepared to muller them for the fitst 30 mins, if the french still with them, got to keep it up the whole way and outgrit them.
November 10th, 2009 at 12:51 pm
man, kirchner and jacobs no match for frans steyn and jdv
November 10th, 2009 at 12:54 pm
#8 shebeen:
Why? – because they black???
November 10th, 2009 at 12:54 pm
Ja, just replace Adi Jacobs and this team is good.
The bench is pretty white, I assume PdV is telling the politicians “ja, they were injuuuuured… I can’t do anything about iiit”
November 10th, 2009 at 12:55 pm
As long as Olivier doesn’t need to cover wing.
Aplon smoked him in the CC.
I agree: Kanko, Jacobs and Kirchner must have big games.
I wonder if our entire front row will be replaced and Big Vic will see out the remainder of the game as captain?
Boks bench looking a lot better for the last twenty…I suppose Ruan comes on for Fourie..?
Solid team,big solid bench. good opportunity for Kanko! tight five really need to deliver. apparently the frogs have selected big and strong midfield, adi must get nice and low! I think Zane is better option that Ruan at 15, more physical.
Not convinced by the bench at all and there are not even “quotas” to blame in the mix. Just show the gap between the test team and the second in line. And then we say we have depth.
Anyway, this is the best PdV can do under the circumstances. Here’s hoping for the best.
Apart from Adi at centre I wonder if the “dark side” will be pleased with the team?
November 10th, 2009 at 12:56 pm
An excellent team. Only worry is at what stage of the game Schalk will get his yellow card.
good team, can’t be too many complaints.
Funny what the odd mercenary da$h and an injury can do to a lineup. Its still a formidable team with the real strength in the pack, but it just doesnt look so unbeatable with the Kirchners, Kankos and Jacobs (bec he’s out of position) there.
Kirchner looks reasonable in a Blues guernsey but he’s no Frans.
Kanko looks good on a dry warm fast track, but in heavier colder NH conditions ?
Adi is an excellent 13, quick on his feet, but a crash-tackling no12 he is not.
All to play for. Will be a magnificent match. Possibly (if France play to their potential) the best 2 sides in the World goin’ toe2toe.
November 10th, 2009 at 12:58 pm
#1 rugbygenius:
yes we are lucky…
imagine that losers against a french backline with no player under 95kg
he will look like the little child be is in a WWE ring!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:01 pm
15 Zane Kirchner – Going to miss F steyn here with his hugh boot. Not sure Zane is the man, but can’t really suggest anyone else for now
14 JP Pietersen – Personaly I do not like him as a player, he is a bit lazy and weak on defence in my oppinion. Saying that, he did have a good game in the cc semie. For now, don’t have any better to replace him, on tour anyway. Maybe that Free State Cheetha that was left at home.
13 Jaque Fourie – No problem
12 Adi Jacobs – Jacobs is off form, not the 2008 player Olivier would have been my choice here.
11 Bryan Habana – No problem
10 Morné Steyn – No problem
9 Fourie du Preez – No problem
8 Ryan Kankowski – Mmmmm .. not to sure, but lets see what he can do. Form has been up and down this year.
7 Schalk Burger – No problem
6 Heinrich Brüssow – No problem .. was PdeV seriously thinking of leaving him out?
5 Victor Matfield – no problem
4 Bakkies Botha – No problem
3 John Smit – How long must he still be carried because of his “captancey”? Time to put him to pasture, not a TH.
2 Bismarck du Plessis – No problem
1 Beast Mtawarira – Beast has been off form, lets hope his back.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier. – Bench looks OK
Conserned that some players might be ‘ring rusty’ and other perhapse ‘tired’
You never know which side will pitch .. hope for a good game, and a bok win.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:01 pm
Why is Pienaar there? Surely there must be someone with more confidence available?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:02 pm
#9 ruffle:
they are not black! and no they are just not as good as the other 2 mentioned
Why bring race into the matter, are you green?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:02 pm
#8 shebeen: Agree. Not at all. Going to miss those two.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:03 pm
#18 groenie: I’m not sure. Yes these French are looking big but this style of match would have been right up Roses street.
Best of luck to Zane though . I hope he can withstand the pressue.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:03 pm
#17 WakaNathan:
The french lost by 20m against England in the 6 nations-no way they in the top 2.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:04 pm
#9 ruffle: DONT even start mate!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
It appears the drawback of having such solid continuity in the first 15 is that the back-ups don’t get enough game time at test level.
This is something the Bok brainstrust need to take into account when they plan for next year.
I say rest some key players in 2010 and play second-choice players at test level more often.
It may effect the outcome of a few games, but it’s crucial to build PROPER depth before 2011.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
Plus it gives the front-line players some much needed rest.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:06 pm
Lekker team, think the Frenchies are gonna get a lesson on Friday. We can grind it out or throw it around with this team. Shebeen, JDV and FS made their choices and new they would not get picked so the coach went for his next best…
November 10th, 2009 at 1:07 pm
#17 WakaNathan: Adi been out of form for a long time now. Worried about him at 12. Going to miss JdV and Zane at FB not too sure about him. The best we have at the moment but damn are we going to miss Fransie at the back.
Kanko can play some very good rugga just has not had enough game time at this level. Just mostly been a fringe player this year. He has some good players around him and he does play well when there is a good fetcher in the side.
I thought that Deysel should have made this team ahead of Bekker who I don’t rate much. Especially that he come on for Bakkie after 60min. Bekker is not a 4.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:08 pm
#9 ruffle:
You are a COMPLETE moron.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:09 pm
#21 groenie:
thanks for your opinion. Considering the “bok supporter” are questionong the starting 2 boks i just wondered what he was thinking. In any case IN MY OPINION frans steyn is a walking disaster, while jacobs has proven himself. never had a bad game for the boks defensively and if he had please enlighten me. And by the way, Nonu is bigger and heavier than the french centre and jacobs stood up to him.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:10 pm
#30 deanseg:
and what does that make you.
#28 Kritik:
who is Shebeen?
if you mean January isn’t it papsak?
HOW good will Zane be under the high ball and pressure from those big French centres ?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:11 pm
The best team we can select at this stage.
This team should be good enough to beat the Frogs,but the “newbees” has to step-up.Those being Kirchner,Jacobs@12,Kanko.
The French never has an off day against us,so we can expect them 2 come hard at us.
I still believe that the loss on Friday should motivate us to work on the scrums,breakdown etc…so I think we’ll win by less than 7.
I just hope Kanko is tough enough for test rugby.
#23 rugbygenius:
Rose?
you back on the good stuff again genius?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:14 pm
#31 ruffle:
that is why Jacobs it starting, no problem in that. I think it would have been better to play him at 13 and jaque at 12 but they will shift their channels i think on attack, jaque to run the ball up and jacobs to feed the line, he is one of the best in doing just that.
#37 cab: No sir. Just saying our options yes. Zane is good . I say let him have his turn . But if he’s rubbish this weekend – maybe we should look elsewhere . Look to a rosier future.
#8 shebeen:
Can’t you guys give it a rest regarding Steyn and JdV? Those guys made their decisions knowing the consequences. They were willing to live with it. Why don’t you lot, who keep punting for their selection, do the same?
Just support the team selected by the coach, please.
#23 rugbygenius:
Rose?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:15 pm
I think the Bok front row will feel like they have yet another point to prove.
More so now that the politicians went after Beast.
Plus Burger also might feel he has a lot to prove after some people have been questioning his right to be there (crazy if you ask me).
Also Bekker and Daniesaurus should be burning after Friday night.
Hopefully they will come on in the second half with guns blazing.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:15 pm
#40 nama1:
Like CJ…
November 10th, 2009 at 1:16 pm
#41 SharkMarine: Just an option sir. I feel a bench place ahead of Ruan would be good. He played a better game than Ruan I think we all agree ? But thats a minor point. Our forwards will dominate .
November 10th, 2009 at 1:18 pm
Good Luck to the Bokke!!
Bit worried about Kirchner… Big game to start for the real Boks… but really hope he pulls a huge frog outta the bag and surprises everyone!!!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:18 pm
I don’t see what all the fuss is about losing Frans. Apart from his kicking he added very little else in his time at 15. Sure, he’ll develop into a great player, but based on his performances to date it’s not such a massive gap to fill.
My major worry is Kanko, who I reckon is going to have his confidence shaken by some extremely “robust” french forwards.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:19 pm
My concern with this team is the two passengers in the forward pack, Matfield and Kanko. We need a collective effort from the whole pack if want to get the upper hand and gain momentum.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:22 pm
What’s the fuss about Zane? You know every time he gets the ball he’ll kick a useless up and under, and the French don’t have the kicking game to really test him.
Jacobs is an issue. Punching above his weight already, and now he’s out of position as well. Lovely channel to attack that now, 9-10-12 hence the inclusion of Yann David.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:23 pm
i’m backing adi to come good during this tour. this is a guy who’s payed good rugby for the last 8 or 9 years and should be in his best years now – he’s only 29. he’s had a rough run of form, but he’s a good rugby player who’s being unfairly criticised by a lot of people with short memories. he will need to be good to keep wynand on the bench though, because wynand’s had a great year and would be a good option too.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:24 pm
#46 David: I agree with your sentiments about Frans. He has not impress me at all in the fullback position and has added very little to our backline play.
I believe/hope Adi will do well. He’s not a crash-ball 12, but he can take gaps that even Jean couldn’t. If he can put Jaque into space who knows what can happen. He’s not been in the greatest of form this year, but let’s see what he can do.
JPP and Habana should be fine.
I’m much more worried about Zane & Kanko. For Zane it’s obviously all new and even though he’s been in the squad for ages, Kanko has had very little time on the field.
Can the Bulls half-back duo keep their amazing form for a few more games this late in this year’s gruelling season? I really hope so since they have no clear replacements in the squad. Pienaar has lost all his confidence and Adams is very green.
I’m interested to see what Schalk can do at 7 and whether he can do it without being carded. Brüssow has barely set a foot wrong in a green jersey and I hope he’ll keep it up.
Vic & Bakkies have also played loads of rugby this year, so I hope they can keep it up.
I’m a bit worried for Beast, Bismarck & Smit. They’ve had a very long and hard season. It showed in the semi’s of the CC when the Cheetahs front-row manhandled them. The full front row on the bench is a good idea.
The rest of the bench are solid backups, but none of them can really be used as impact players.
#24 ruffle:
I know this is BH’s One Great Theory to Rule Them All, but it has a tendency to bite you on the @ss.
On your analysis, if Boks lose against the team that lost to hopeless 6N mid-table Engl, then doesnt that mean that Boks tumble to just above Azerbaijan in the World Rankings ?
A bit worried about Wynand Olivier on the bench… If Adi gets replaced he may have to ruffle his hair..!!
Adi to have a big one!!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:26 pm
#32 ruffle:
For one thing, not a racist, apparently unlike you.
If someone voices an opinion saying two players are not good enough, an opinion that is completely objective, regardless of whether those players are of colour or not, that gives you absolutely no right to make ridiculous presumptions. ” Why? – because they black??? ”
Sad, really.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:26 pm
This is potent team, ladies and gents. I think we’re about to see a masterclass in the wonderful art of frog squishing.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:27 pm
#46 David: uhm….his kicking David….uhm….ja……50m penalties….uhm…ja…..no loss then
kanko will be fine. he plays huge forwards every week in the cc and s14.
#47 John1976: ah my good friend john, stirring up the masses with his cutting insights. matfield’s a ‘passenger’, but you forget to mention how bismark lacks physicality and how brussouw’s tiny work rate is a huge problem for us.
Looking forward to the clash between the Incredible Hulk and the Caveman!!
Heard Marvel Comics scouts will be at the match!!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:28 pm
bah humbug ^&*(%$
Incredible Schalk… and The Caveman!!
#43 bryce_in_oz:
CJ was included because PdV do not feel that the remaining TH’s in SA are up to it at this stage. He always said that he would look at overseas based players if there is not one in SA who can do the job for him. CJ fits that view at this point because PdV would be foolish to call up WP Nel, for example, to play against France, Ireland and Italy at this stage.
He obviously also feel that in Kirchner and Pienaar (for Steyn) and Adi and WO (for JdV) he has adequate cover. So why call them up?
Game to be won upfront – all going to be down to technique and wther the French are intimidated or not.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:29 pm
#52 WakaNathan: they lost to Ireland too and only sneaked past Wales. Your problem is you rate only everyone against the ABs, that’s even an even worse way of doing things especially since they’re a pretty ordinary outfit this year.
Begs the question:
WHY THE HELL WAS BANDISE MAKU PICKED? other than to satisfy transformation targets?
I said this would happen when the team was picked. If the back up got injured, the real second string players would be called up i.e Adriaan Strauss and leave the quota in the stands, watching. Maku
#62 Big Hit: they lost to Australia as well. Top 2 my foot.
watch schalla cruch him, mad eyes and all, bosh.
in fact, i reckon schalk’s face will light up like a xmas tree if the caveman is going to try carry the ball up.
yoh yoh yoh, i cant wait, what a strange time and day, friday.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:30 pm
KANKOWSKI you BEAUTY!
Silence all the critics,show them what a unique and talented player you are!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:30 pm
That Matfield’s an arrogant one…
Has anyone noticed how, whenever he leaps for the ball… he looks down his nose at the opposition…
November 10th, 2009 at 1:31 pm
The usual favourites in the team, I see, but clearly an insurance policy as a bench. I predict swift appearances for Olivier, Rossouw, van der linde and wian du preez.
Strange that Strauss leapfrogged straight into the squad, hey…
November 10th, 2009 at 1:31 pm
#63 WP_: Sometimes selection has a lot more to do with long term plans than actual game time on a tour. Perhaps the coaching staff would like to bring guys they consider talented into the Springbok fold when they’re young to learn the culture, get some tips from the senior players – lessons they can take back to the CC and S14 next year and mature into a better players
November 10th, 2009 at 1:33 pm
#63 WP_: exactly. if you’re going to pick a young black player to give him exposure in the dirt-tracker games, and to try to develop his game, then at least be honest about your agenda. don’t try to tell us all that he’s the third best hooker in south africa and is there purely for that reason, then gobble up your words as soon as there’s an injury. i think guys like maku and chilli need regular starting rugby far more than they need a bok tour for their development, but i’d have a lot more time for questionable decisions if the selectors and coaches were at least transparent about their motivations.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:34 pm
#47 John1976:
Agree. If those two want to shine in open play instead of mixing it in the tight phases, we’ll get klapped. Same go for Bekker and CJ if they get on the park.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:34 pm
This is the best Pdivvy and Co can do with the available squad. Execept for perhaps Olivier starting in place of Jacobs, and although I’d prefer Hougaard or Viljoen on the bench instead of Pienaar because of his incredible lack of confidence, he does have the Bok experience. Same goes for Johnson/Deysel instead of Rossouw.
Other than those minor things, best team possible is out, and I’ll be 110% behind them. Come on Bokke! Teach those Frogs a lesson!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:35 pm
oh and perhaps rest the big guns in the last 15…
November 10th, 2009 at 1:35 pm
strauss will still be around for 7 years. Why not just develop him for the future?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:36 pm
#67 ufo:
arrogant basterd.
in fact this whole team is made up of them.
heres hoping there is one frog survivor left to tell the tale to the rest….warning like.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:37 pm
That bench would k@k off in the Tri-Nations, lucklily it suits the heavy NH fields just fine:).
Would love to see F Hougaard on the bench. Hy skrik vir niks!
If things really go pear-shaped, can Andries play flank? Although I’m sure Strauss can
#63 WP_: Maku was picked to gain experience and only play in the midweek games…this should actually make you understand better the plan the coaches had. Davind and Transie have also offered as much on the reasons the team was picked. All you see is colour…tsk tsk
not a fan of Adi & Zane – however I hope they both play well – they can make those 2 berths their own
Good luck bokke – hope Wian du Preez gets his 1st cap !
#63 WP_: I thought the idea was to pick some young players that PdV saw some potential in, so that they could get some experience in the midweek games. You know, the way it was done in the old days.
Or are players like Riaan Viljoen also quotas?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:38 pm
70 tough
Yeah i agree with that. Maku needs more first choice starting rugby games before he should be considered for the Boks. Strauss deserved to be there ahead of him. Liebenberg too.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:39 pm
Jacobs has hardly played average rugby let a lone good rugby for 8 or 9 years, maybe at vodacom cup level. His best moments were last years Tri-Nations.
Why not play combinations like the french have, when new guys come in. Steyn/Olivier have played together alot at 10/12?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:39 pm
#65 cab: What time is the kick-off?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:40 pm
#29 Puma:
Actually Im a fan of Adi and think he’s a far more dangerous 13 than Fourie. Fourie is a better finisher and defender, but I dont think he plays in his wings very well, doesnt create space for them & FB like Adi does. Which is a sin when you have wingers like Habana and JPP. A crime ! If anything I would swap em around as Fourie has a style well suited to a strong 12 in the Jamie Roberts mould, which would create a similar combo to Roberts-BOD, Fourie punching holes for the threequarters. But I agree that Adi’s confidence has been knocked after his shoulder probs and the French have picked a large physical backline so will be targetting Jacobs defence down that channel. Could get interesting, and early too.
Youre most definitely going to miss Frans but more for the long-range kicking than anything. Besides his strong kicking and defence, he wasnt adding anything in attack really. But Kirchner to me looks quite average and rather over-obsessed with the garryowen. But arent all teams now.
Kanko doesnt strike me as being strong or tough enough to really flourish on heavier NH tracks when theres a bit of frost about. Obviously he’s very talented but I suspect Harindorguy will eat him for breakfast whereas if PdV had been able to call on Big Joe, well….
Bekker needs as much gametime as he can get so that must be the reasoning. These young tight-fwds simply need more miles on the speedo. Deysel didnt really impress me but he does seem to offer variety more coming off the bench and actually Frances bench looks considerably stronger than Boks, more game-changers there.
Still a very strong Bok team, but hairline fractures appearing. Will be interesting to see if the old boys in the pack escape from a northern Autumn unscathed.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:40 pm
Johnson , Deysel and Hougard to get their first cap against Italy . . . .. .
November 10th, 2009 at 1:41 pm
#81 bunce: Thought combinations were 9/10, 12/13 or does it change whichever way suits an argument? I am really just asking cos I might be really wrong with what I thought were combos..
November 10th, 2009 at 1:42 pm
i am 100% behind the bok team and really cant complain about the selections.
wynand olivier doesnt really impress me all that much to be honest and adi may have a cracker with Mossie (the premier center in world rugby) running off him.
this team is selected on merit i think we can all agree. as it should be.
transformation or quotas are, i have decided, a complete farce and racist in the extreme.
thankfully we have none of that kind of codswallop going on at national level.
i would also just like to say that JS didnt take part in the game against leicester so i am unsure as to why his name has been mentioned over 12,000 times by just 3 bloggers over the last 4 days.
love makes you do strange things i guess.
#84 SamM:
With you there.
#87 boktoinfinityandbeyond:
de Jongh as well.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:43 pm
#81 bunce: Trinh-Duc plays for Montpellier, Mermoz for Perpignan and Yann David for Toulouse, they’re in a similar boat.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:44 pm
#82 katman:
think k/o is 22H00 french time (20:00 SA time)
seems a bit late – strange.
Surely the idea was to pick the BEST young players, proven at CC level who are realistic options for future Boks. Not beach warmers at their provinces.
Riaan Viljoen a quota? Sorry do you know the definition of a quota mate? But still I dont think he deserved to be there. Joe Pieterson is better
Surely the idea was to pick the BEST young players, proven at CC level who are realistic options for future Boks. Not bench warmers at their provinces.
Riaan Viljoen a quota? Sorry do you know the definition of a quota mate? But still I dont think he deserved to be there. Joe Pieterson is better
#84 SamM:
Let’s concentrate on France first, if you don’t mind.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:45 pm
#90 cab:
French time is only one hour different from SA isn’t it?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:46 pm
#46 David: David, Frans Steyn is a huge loss at FB. Not only those monster kicks. No one gets past him easy. Defence is great and it takes about 4 to bring him down.
Don’t think Zane is in the same level. Not yet.
Well like someone said above no use going on about Fransie he is not there.
For now Zane is the best we have so he deserves his place. then I also like J. Pietersen from WP. But none of those are a Fransie 60m kicks no player in world rugby can do that at the moment.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:46 pm
#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond:
Kickoff at 21:45 SA time.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:47 pm
#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond:
yeah something wrong there, i need a nap.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:48 pm
#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond: Yes. In winter time. Summer time we on the same time.
Why are they playing this game so late?
#90 cab: Cheers. Suits me better. I’ve got my mom visiting for the weekend. Normal daytime or early evening kick-off would have made things tricksy as she probably wouldn’t want to sit through the game with me
#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond: yep
#96 boktoinfinityandbeyond: Even better.
Adi will get eaten on Saturday unfortunately. He’s been shocking all season, unlike last season, and has shown no form whatsoever to merit his selection in the team.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:49 pm
#62 Big Hit:
That would not be consistent with me ranking SA & France as the best 2 teams in the World at the moment, BH (see #17). And if I was slave to the World Rankings, then I would just hide behind that, no ?
With France I factor in their inconsistency but weight their performance against the Top 5 teams.
Thats just me tho. Unfortunately you have historical prejudices, blind pessimism in 1 eye and that bottle-thick cataract impairing the vision in the other to contend with before issuing your own Rankings.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:49 pm
#99 katman:
lol, oh well at least its your mom and not your mother-in law.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:50 pm
#98 Puma: #100 Sharksgirl: Thanks.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:52 pm
Positives about this team
J Smit ,Beast and Bissy will know the comfort zone is gone….seriously powerful and gifted front row sitting on the bench,waiting to pounce for teat starting spots….
Kanko will know this is his opportunity….extremely gifted and if he mixes it well in this physical game he would have ‘arrived’ well and truly!
I always felt Adi would make a more natural 12 than 13…he is a clever player….more adept at putting players into gaps as being a deadly finisher.
Schalk Burger too knows he needs to raise his game and will also see this tour as a redemption opportunity. With Juan Smith and Deysel ….Potgieter breathing down his neck he will throw the kitchen sink.
Ruan Pienaar provides versatile cover…i just hope he regains confidence…..because seriously if it was a 4….3 …split and F Hougaard was in as 9 cover i would have gone with Earl Rose….who is certainly in a better frame of mind and better form at 10 and 15 than Ruan.
No real loose forward cover but Danie can do his tight looesforward role if push comes to shove.
Kirchner is a superb player…having JPP and Habana around him i am confident he will shine.
Really is great to ghave the 2 x cheetahs and CJ back….
November 10th, 2009 at 1:53 pm
i think KO is at 21h15 sa time or have i got the crossing over time…uh…crossed.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:53 pm
#86 rangerman: Howzit Ranger, Your last paragraph…….
Had a good laugh there. You are so right mate.
About Adi he is playing out of position so a bit worried about him. Also has not had a good season this year. The French inside centre is a monster. Weighs 105kg.
Not at all worried about our scrum. We have enough good replacements on the bench. A whole front row on the bench
So some should be really happy with that.
November 10th, 2009 at 1:54 pm
I havent seen Adi put a player into a gap in years. But i’m waiting in anticipation to see this so called “play making ability” that frankly is non existent
November 10th, 2009 at 1:57 pm
Is the kick off time not 22h00 our time? Think it is.
#107 rangerman: Ranger kick off is 21.45pm. Very late not sure why the play their rugby so late in France. Probably for tv who knows.
#91 WP_: I know the definition of a quota. Do you know the definition of irony … mate?
I was trying to point out that the whole quota thing is a joke. When a black player that you don’t rate gets selected then he’s immediately a quota. If an undeserving white player gets selected … well, that’s just one of those things.
PdV has shown time and again that, while his ideas are sometimes pretty strange, his choices seem to be motivated by rugby much much more than politics. One of his goals is transformation, but as far as I could see he’s never compromised the strength of the test team to score political points.
The funniest thing is when, some people complain about a white player being picked ahead of a more deserving black player (e.g. when Zane was left out earlier in the year) and then 10 minutes they then complain about quotas when a black player gets selected ahead of a white one.
Forget about quotas … please
November 10th, 2009 at 1:58 pm
only god can help us with jacobs at 12, hopefully steyn will throw skip passes to fourie and schalk cover his channel in d!! seeing the true peter de villiers !!!!
November 10th, 2009 at 1:58 pm
#106 grant10: earl rose is in better form at 10 and 15 than ruan?
based on what grant? 1 game?
seriously mate, i think that statement reeks of white guilt but i may be wrong i suppose.
hows things hanging in camps bay btw?
November 10th, 2009 at 1:59 pm
#106 grant10:
nah i reckon old waka is right about the centre positioning, they should swap with adi being better at putting away the outside backs and fourie punching holes with his straight-running. Adi will need to step up on defense, they cant get over the adv line, which is eactly what they are going to be trying to do since they saw how successful jamie roberts was at it for the BIL – BUT they have not factored scalla into account – that 105kg frenchie centre going to be hit in the tackle like never before.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:00 pm
#110 WP_: hehehe. Howzit WP. Not sure anymore. We all got the starting time here about 15min out. Think you right. Probably the 9.45pm allows for 15min of chat rugby first before the game. So kick off will probably be 10.pm.
Probably to allow for the French who eat dinner late
who knows why it is so late.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:02 pm
siener
Mate, the point is, quota’s were created and enforced by some idiot politicians to do just that, put more black players in the team. Targets were set and everything.
So certain black players who normally wouldnt make the team if it was picked on merit are generally thought of as quota players.
While I agree that there are plenty of white players that should not be in the current squad they just arent quota’s just poor picks by the coach.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:03 pm
#115 cab: That is what I have probably said many times here Cabbie. Think we a little weak there with Adi starting at inside centre. With that monster of a French player 105km of him at inside centre. They going to target us there. Have no doubt. Burger will have to cover there too.
#108 Puma:
there are so many reasons to be happy this week. i mean, we are playing the french! this is not an everyday game like aus and nz have sadly become.
this is contrasting styles, devil may care french flair and passion.
i am a happy man.
our glorious captain will hopefully lead us to ANOTHER great victory in 2009. he sure is a great man that JS, he can do anything he puts his mind to
#114 rangerman: I am in Clifton …All cool here…kak weather though…
Ruan looks like he needs to spend some time on the beach here in Clifton…chill a bit….get a huge 9 tattooed on his forehead so the coaches stop throwing the oke the wrong jersey!!
White guilt….i am a Saffa boet….only you okes talk in terms of race…i refuse…
November 10th, 2009 at 2:04 pm
Our biggest problem would be if brussouw gets injured in the first few min, then we gona get eaten at the breakdown by Dessutoir, no real cover for him on the bench and Schalks been practicing whole week at 7, so lets hope brussouw plays whole game. That and Adi stopping that monster 21 yr old
November 10th, 2009 at 2:04 pm
Jacobs has BMT… watch him bring it on in buckets…
Think he maybe felt a little demotivated knowing JdV was first choice 12…
Now that JdV’s gone… Adi will find his mojo and step up big time…
November 10th, 2009 at 2:05 pm
This is a good Bok team based on the players that are “available” for selection..got a bit lucky with CJ maybe.
At the end of the day all these guys know how to play rugby and have done so successfully. Adi can tackle…Kanko can hit rucks and malls…Zane was the form fullback (bar Oom Stefan) from SA in S14 and CC – i think he has a future if he doesnt get a big head! The only problem is when the subs get introduced as we all know the Boks only play for 60min and if we aren’y winning by then we aren’t gonna win! Our subs dont have the required impact and the players that dont get subbed dont seem to be able to last the full 80min..is it a fitness/conditioning thing?
So provided the front row pulls finger like they can the Boks should have the upper hand for the first 60min..after that I hope the French are tired cos we usually are!!
November 10th, 2009 at 2:06 pm
#118 Puma:
thing about Jacobs is he can actually reall open defenses up on attack, but he tends to slide on tackles, which is not good for 12. olivier and fourie put their man back in the tackle, but if adi can work some magic at 12, who knows.
I trust the maestro here, it feels like one of his masterstrokes.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:06 pm
#115 cab: LOL…Schalk will be frothing at the mouth…i expect a big one from him….
Just avoid the ill discipline…i reckon first 15 minutes gonna be war
November 10th, 2009 at 2:07 pm
#117 WP_:
SARU don’t have quotas or even “targets”. They haven’t had them for years now.
But for people like you it will ALWAYS be:
Black player I don’t like get’s selected = quota
White player I don’t like get’s selected = poor pick
Do you see the problem?
November 10th, 2009 at 2:08 pm
#106 grant10: Grant we did win everything this year with our starting front row. Lions Series and beat ABs 3 times Oz twice. Have some faith.
We also have a front row on the bench. Hope that keeps you happy now
It will be our centre channel they going to target. Adi no 12 he is a 13 and really how is he going to bring down a 105kg player? Burger going to have to do double play there and Kanko
November 10th, 2009 at 2:08 pm
#102 WP_: I hope he gets murdered so De Villiers can stop with this **** now.
I honestly hope he gets murdered because its the only time the coaches seem to sit up and take any notice.
I would have included Jean Deysel and Danie and dropped Becker (not that Becker wasnt any good on Friday, but we have a beefier lock option in the form of Danie. Its fairly debatable but either way I reckon one lock for cover is more than enough.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:09 pm
#126 siener: and where does a poor quota pick fit in
Adi gona score a intercept try
jus watc
#120 grant10:
answer the question then grant, how do you base rose’s form as better than ruans?
are you seriously suggesting putting earl on the bench in place of a 34 cap veteran against the french…in france?
this cannot be man, surely?
p.s. maybe schalk can take ruan to the beach by your place?
November 10th, 2009 at 2:10 pm
perhaps on defence J Fourie will stand at 12…..but i have faith in Adi….
Sharks and WP players will be well rested…as are the majority of the bench players….
Its the Bulls contingent that may be a bit moeg…
November 10th, 2009 at 2:10 pm
#124 cab: Adi better at 13 Cabbie. Just worried about Adi’s form. Has not been in good form for a long time now. Then France have that huge centre. Huge worry there. I would have started with WO really for this game.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:11 pm
#9 ruffle: Why always bring colour into it???
Get the chip off your shoulder!!!
#132 grant10: How much rest did the Bulls get after the CC? I have no idea. I hope they all got at least a week off.
#128 Slumtown:
Roussow is a lemon. Accept it, move on. PdV knows that Matfield/Bakkies may not last til 2011 as a combo. Thats why its imperative to dedicate to the development of someone who can step in, hence Bekker.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:12 pm
#116 Puma:
actually its is so they can get their after work drinkies in they usually have dinner after the game…to eat supper in france early is regarded as a form of retardation…
November 10th, 2009 at 2:12 pm
#127 Puma: Ja….i am happy that we have Wiaan and Cj on the bench…A Strauss also a good scrummaging hooker….
It will be an acid test for the bok front row….and i look forward to see them handling well….
But i am relieved to know that the backup is there if required….
November 10th, 2009 at 2:13 pm
#129 Slumtown:
The point I’m trying to make is so simple, yet some people seem to have such a hard time grasping it
#133 Puma:
not sure i agree with adi being out of form, adi made some magnificent linebreaks in the CC, i probably would have gone for olivier too, i,e, the more conservative option especially with the new fullback kirchner who looked a bit flakey against the BIL, but adi is best on attack, however he needs to nail his man in the tackle on defense.
#127 Puma:
Im pleased to hearing you preaching to ‘have some faith’ there, Puma. It seemed you had lost it entirely on about the 30min mark at Leicester this week…
November 10th, 2009 at 2:14 pm
#124 cab: well then we may see mossie and adi lining up differently on attack and defense cab?
not a bad option.
i like adi’s kicking game at 12 i must say as he has even played 10 for the sharks.
#128 Slumtown: I too would have had Deysel on the bench. Danie can cover 8 and 4. Bekker really not a back up to Bakkies. He comes on for Bakkies after 60min and then our scrum goes back too. Would rather have had Deysel on the bench.
What happens if Burger gets injured? Deysel is a perfect 7 to replace Burger and fetches well too. With him and Brussow they would never get our ball.
Hi all
Just my quick thoughts.
Nice side !!! I like the fact that we have a massive bench. Finally div using Ruaan for his worth – covering 5 backline positions !!
I like 5 monsterous forwards on the bench.
I would bring on Du preez and CJ with 20 to play and move smit to hooker. Watch those frogs croak in the scrum then
BOKKE BOKKE BOKKE !!!
November 10th, 2009 at 2:15 pm
#131 rangerman: Earl played some fine rubby last couple of CC matches against Sharks and WP…he and Ruan both ‘confidence’ players and Ruan seems to be low on juice at the moment.
I rate Run very highly …as you know….just concerned at his head space.
Ja….Schalk and my beach…dont go there!LOL
#109 WP_: So you haven’t watch any rugby for a long time?
If Wian du Preez takes to the field on Friday, Grey College will join Paul Roos Gim in second place as the school with the most capped Springboks – 33 – and one behind leaders Bishops with 34.
Paul Roos however have Francois Hougaardt as a prospect!
Jacobs is a good player, but I would rather switch them and play Fourie at 12. The type of rugby we play means we need a big strong guy at 12, and Jacobs runs good support lines. Use Fourie to break through the tackle and offload to a supporting Jacobs.
Kirchner didn’t impress me in his other bok games, but then, he always played in a weakend team with no experience at the wings.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:16 pm
There is only one real problem i see in this side and that is Adi playing ahead of WO.
I like Adi’s attacking ability and his prowess off the bench in the last 20 mins but against that french centre pairing, watch out.
All this talk of Kanko maybe being too soft for international rugby is completely unfounded. The only thing that is to his disavantage and might affect his play is the fact that he has had soo little game time since the S14.
The fact that they are playing in the NH means squat. They are playing in mild and temperate Toulouse, which has a balmy year round average temperature of 20C and lower average rainfall than Durban. So all this talk of them playing in the freezing mud is hogwash.
Basically, barring a complete weather anomaly, it’ll be like playing on a slightly cooler Durban winter evening.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:16 pm
Stop being a chop. There were those rules and regulations in the past therefore their legacy still remains.
Stop being an idiot and face the reality, a white player cannot be a quota because this does just not make sense in terms of the past. Use your brain! A white player can be a quota in soccer on the other hand.
Ok enough now, I’m not going to continue this conversation with you. Enough now.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:17 pm
#135 Puma: Just a week i think Puma…may be tough on Bakkies, VM in particular.
But Frogs are being big mouthed so i am sure Bulls will lift it!
#29 Puma: Nor is Deysel a replacement lock!! Deysel 191 cm, is surely to short to cover at lock!!!
#141 WakaNathan: Never had faith with that team from the time I saw who was in it Waka. They left our best at home. Not good that. I am a believer of ALWAYS playing your best. Try out the development players in some other games not when they are supposed to be called Boks. Never. Should have organized them games with some NH clubs on their own at some other stage or let them play the likes of Namibia and Portugal that sort of thing not as our best Dirt Trackers. They never were.
i have been so busy that i havent had time to post in ages, but i must say i was dissapointed with our developement teams performance last week.
that said, i think we all have a far clearer picture of where our 3rd tier of players are at and that is a good thing imo.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:18 pm
#128 Slumtown: Are you really wanting one of Sa’s players to be murdered on the field just so that you can prove a point? Why not also wish that SA loose continuously so that PdV can be fired.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:18 pm
#136 WakaNathan: I´m not arguing – he has his days… but he provided SA with a seriosuly good try saving tackle in the World Cup and has scored a fair amount of hard tries since … so to call him a lemon is a bit harsh, but yep he underperforms sometimes.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:19 pm
#152 Cheetah 4 Eva: I know he is not a lock. Talking about if Burger gets injured then we would have a great replacement with Deysel. Tough as they come.
Danie can cover 4 and 8.
Bekker is no 4.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:20 pm
#147 Hier kom groot k..: College, college, college !!!!!!
Moenie worry nie – Grey sal in 3 jaar ver voor loop met manne soos Steggman, Oosthuizen, Ebersohn wat nog gaan Bok speel.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:22 pm
#154 rangerman: Should always have taken our 2nd best. Felt for the players that played great rugby this year and should have been rewarded to play in that Dirt Tracker side. Just to sit at home and watch on tv. Ag, felt so mad about that. Wasted opportunity there really to see what our 2nd best could do. I have no doubt they would have won that game.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:23 pm
#144 Cheetha Champs: i like your enthusiasm and applaud the positive sentiment.
in fact, it is a damn fine bok side.
#145 grant10: i am speechless that you would replace ruan with rose though?
#123 My50cents:
My 2c for your 50…
Joe Pieterson was by far rthe most consistent fullback through the CC… also adds a very dynamic attacking option joining the line… very unlucky not to be picked…
#128 Slumtown:
WTF dude…?? little OTT there… Did Adi date your daughter or something…?
Hier kom ‘n ding , ek dink ons gaan hard aarde toe kom. Hoop maar vir die beste.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:24 pm
#143 Puma: Agreed, thats why I reckoned Danie instead of Becker (something Whakantan cant understand… he can cover lock, flank and eighthman. I suppose Becker could too but Danie has experience there and has more strength for the scrums.
Deysel would be essential if we lose Burger or Brussouw to injury… well time will tell how it goes.
Good looking team except for Adi starting, as a sub I wouldnt have had any issues with him but if he costs us points on Fri I´m gonna spit friggin snakes. PDV and his infinite wisdom.
Reckon Jacobs has more of a passing game than Meisiekind… Would be lovely to see a bit more of Mossie in the game…
Lost count how many times JF was open and ghosted through a gap the size of the Groot Karoo, only to have JdV smothered ball and all…
#151 grant10: Not a lot of rest that. They will be feeling tired. Boks leave tonight. At least it is almost on our time zone going North. Only a hour different but the weather!!!! Not good up there after leaving hot sunny weather here and hard fields.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:25 pm
#145 grant10: Couldnt agree more. He is definitely more of a liabilty at the moment, but hey who knows. Earl has been playing well I have to admit.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:26 pm
Why is everybody going on about this “monster” french center. Most centers are around 100 to 105 kg these days.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:26 pm
This Fench Team is not going to be easy to beat, especially at home.
I must say I’m a little bit worried about this game. On top of this the Springboks are not used to playing games late on Friday nights, it’s going to feel very strange for them. Then there’s going to be the bitter cold and very partisan crowds to contend with.
Good luck boys you are going to need it!
November 10th, 2009 at 2:27 pm
#120 grant10: I don’t know about that man, wouldn’t you get a bit upset if he went to the beach? Even a rumour of poor old Schalkie getting a few rays had you jumping.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:28 pm
#91 WP_: riaan viljoen shouldn’t be there, he is a groot quota! Ruan probably had 4 average games this season & the rest were ****, he has a big quota on his forehead, we won’t speak of earl, juan de jongh, A johnson deserve to be there! Hargreaves = quota!
November 10th, 2009 at 2:28 pm
#163 Slumtown: Agree would have had Adi on the bench and WO to start. Especially that M. Steyn and FdP are Bulls players they would slot in very well there.
Danie a better replacement for Bakkies. Bekker more a 5. Danie can play 8 too. Not so sure about Bekker there. Huge pity Deysel never made the bench. Very strong oke and that is what we will need if Burger gets injured.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:29 pm
Grant get off the pills son!
Rose ahead of Ruan?
Dont let one performance fool you! Earl has shown nothing in his last 4 years of playing pro rugby that he can be anything like consistent. I reckon he’ll have a shocker next time out.
does anybody knw how much jaque fourie weighs? he could be about 100kg no?
#149 John Galt: thank you for the info regarding weather in toulouse.
just shows how the NH “heavy track” that “kanko is too light for” is utter bs.
he played damn well against wales in wales in 2007.
#159 Puma: but what would we have learnt puma? the lack of prep time was for me a bit more of a concern as those lads didnt have the time to gel and show what they could really do.
but losses by midweek teams are not unheard of and in fact were fairly common when real tours were taking place. add professionalism in and you would expect rich clubs to be even stronger.
i think the disrespect shown to NH rugby by many saffas is a real problem and only enhances the perception of us as arrogant south africans.
i say well done leicester. those chaps will tell their grandkids about that game.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:30 pm
#160 rangerman: Why??
They very similar in many respects when Ruan is forced to play 10 or 15?
I know Earl is a bit erratic…seems Ruan much the same….I can see what PDV sees in Earl….regretfully Earl needs to get more consistent.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:30 pm
#168 iceman: Very late start but so was the world cup final. It started at 9pm. The start here is 10pm. Not sure why the heck they play their rugby so late?
November 10th, 2009 at 2:31 pm
#155 John1976: Yep I wnat to see someone who is a weak link go and if that means loosing a game then so be it. I´d prefer it if we won but it seems its the only way anything sinks into numbskull De Villier´s head. Look at what happened after Leicester. Now all of a sudden we have players who should have been there in the first place. Doesnt want to pick an obviously better Morne Stey until Pienaar gets injured and keeps yakking on about how Pienaar is the number 1 till he cant avoid the facts anymore. Wont pick an obviously excellent Brussouw till Burger gets injured and now where´s Burger at? 7! So yeah Adi should have stayed at 13 or warmed the bench if he wants to persist with him and the only way he will realise that is to get it RAMMED down his wiry throat.
Enjoy watching the horror on Friday mate. Remember. Mark my words.
#46 David: Good grief Frans Steyn won the test in NZ single handed with those kicks. Even the ABs agreed ….. I do concur with you re Kanko, he hasnt delivered for a very long time and if he cant cook here then we need to look at Alberts or Vermulen as cover.
With VM and Kanko playing Bakkies and Shalk will have to hit the rucks even harder.
I agree transie. Guthro also = quota
#38 groenie:
Jacobs is at 12 because he is more creative than Jaque.
He has probably not been at his best this year but he hasn’t had a bad game for the Boks.
During the B&I Lions series he was average and probably missed a tackle or two but he is the one player in the backline who can create space for those around him.
Besides, Wynand Olivier is useless and doesn’t pass.
It’s a good bench and the side will be strengthened when Jacobs comes off for Olivier – but not playing Steyn at FB is an atrocious stupidity which will cost us this Test; in fact it is amoral not to play the this priceless talent we have: those three penalties from 55m won us the Test in NZ and the Tri-Nations; under his first up-an-under Steyn caught it single-handedly forced the Kiwi forwards 6 yards backwards: he is that strong. I am so angry about this travesty I can hardly speak.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:32 pm
#150 WP_: That’s OK … I don’t want to continue the conversation either. You clearly don’t have the mental capacity to understand the point I’m trying to make. You’re probably some quota for the mentally handicapped that keo has.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:35 pm
Jacobs will be just fine. He’s more suited to 12 then 13 anyway. Only change I’d make is Deysel for Roussouw on bench. If Burger or Kanko or Brussow gets injured then the breakdown becomes French territory totally.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:35 pm
#170 Transformation: deep breath, calm down transie.
you bleddy quota blogger.
personally, i think JdV, awesome as he is, is one of the most selfish centres i have ever watched.
i cant actually count the number of times he has squandered opportunities to put other players away, and gone himself, wasting try scoring moves at will.
waka mentioned JF as the culprit for why our wings dont get put away more often but i would lay that squarely on JdV rather.
lets see if adi at 12 gives the wings more opportunity.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:36 pm
#169 Big Hit: LOL….Ja…beach is fine….just not when your team playing 6 km s down the road!
November 10th, 2009 at 2:36 pm
#172 WP_:
I have been reading your comments of late and have come to the conclusion that you are a bit…how can I put it?? VERKRAMPED!!
There I said it!!
November 10th, 2009 at 2:37 pm
#174 rangerman: Ranger if we took our best 2nd side we would have learned more or be more prepared for WC. We never know who will be injured or retire next year.
Some of those players probably will never play again. Think it ruined their careers that. NH clubs especially Tigers are very good rugby sides they have plenty internationals in their sides. I would like to have seen. Vermeulen, A. Strauss, W.du Preez, WP. Nel, Vermeulen, Mapoe, Alberts and Deysel to start there. J. Pietersen too. We missed the boat there.
The development players should get games maybe organize games for them against some clubs over there. More often but not with our touring Boks our Dirt Trackers have to be our very 2nd best side. That is the way it was when I grew up and should still be like that.
Yip, Well done to the Tigers. They beat the World Champions. That is what they are saying but they never. That hurts and that is the reason we should never just throw our Bok name away like that. Play the best always.
#158 Cheetha Champs: when did you matriculate ? when the occasion demands !
#175 grant10: mate, if you have to ask, then i am not going to explain it to you.
#172 WP_: LOL….Ruan not exactly MR CONSISTENCY either??
November 10th, 2009 at 2:38 pm
#187 Puma: Sorry put Vermeulens name twice there.
Adams too is 30 now. Would have taken Vermaak or Kockott.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:38 pm
#161 ufo: Joe Pieterson can run with the ball and kick a bit…tackling is a very different story…just ask Lionel Mapoe!
The Bok team id like to see..with overseas players included:
15- Zane Kirchner (
14- Bryan Habana (Mapoe should be given a chance tho)
13 – Jacque Fourie (Juan De Jong needs good game time tho)
12 – Frans Steyn/JDV (Steyn u ask..just think what Mauger did to the Boks over the years.
11- JP Pieterson/F Hougaard (Both these guys need game time)
10 – Mr Steyn (JL Potgieter should have a chance cos everyone else has)
9 – F Du Preez (Pienaar must compete for a place here)
8 – P Spies (A Johnson should get more time tho)
7- J Smith/Kanko to fight it out (Deysel needs a chance)
6- Brussouw (Stegman needs a chance as well)
5 – Matfield (Bekker/Hargreaves need more time as both looked decent on fri)
4 – oom Bakkies (Sykes needs a chance as does Danie Rossouw)
3- J Smit needs to front up (
2- Bismark (Maku looked okay but Libenberg needs a chance,never rated Strauss)
1 – Heinke needs game time (Beast needs a rest)
As with all selections there will be some unlucky players…ag shame
November 10th, 2009 at 2:39 pm
#183 skopskiet: Ons sal sien Meneer Skoppie. Agree on Deysel. Its going to be a cracker of a game.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:40 pm
#182 siener: LOL…Thats a classic…the funny things that come out on this blog is priceless…
November 10th, 2009 at 2:41 pm
#187 Puma: seriously puma, i think it is a good exercise to blood up and coming guys.
when else can you do it against international quality sides and not have your job on the line?
jake did it in the tri nations and that pissed me off far more!
November 10th, 2009 at 2:42 pm
#181 J.B. Cowper: Amen. Me too.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:43 pm
#177 Slumtown: Will a good performance (MOTM) by Adi have any impact on your current stance? If the centres combine effectively and create the chances for the outside backs will you give Adi and JF the accolades that he deserve? Furthermore will you want them to continue their partnership against Italy and Ireland if it they performed the way I have outlined above.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:43 pm
Decent squad….pity my crown prince not there….
Maybe against Italy…
November 10th, 2009 at 2:44 pm
siener
Do us all a favour and shut up. You are not the brightest around by a long shot and you only embarrass yourself when you type something.
Clearly you brain struggles to function so rather save yourself the trouble and go lie down.
You have no point to what you are saying and you clearly cannot grasp rudimentary concepts.
So rather hush little kid.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:45 pm
Wynand doesnt exactly set the world alight at 12…….I agree with jacobs starting ahead of Wynand……… i would pick bosman ahead of him if it was up to me………..I also think chilli boy first need to prove himself at provincial level before he gets selected for the boks……… Just listening to ths kak this guy on kyk net is talking, ashley was the only positive in the leicester game along with earl, how dare he critisize johnson.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:46 pm
Jacobs 100 times the creative and perhaps even defensive center that Olivier is. Anyone a quota in this team is Olivier. De Villiers has it spot on. He has the selection spot on. If anyone can unlock France defence is Jacobs not Olivier. And he won’t shirk any tackles either. Olivier has had plenty opportunity at international level and never produced squat, not once. He’s an Ok S14 player, but a mediocre international one. Jacobs on the other hand steps it up at international level. The problem child will be Kirchner, if he’d had more game time Viljoen would be my bet at FB.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:47 pm
#184 rangerman:
I suggest you watch Wynand Olivier when he plays again.
He NEVER passes (unless there’s a touch judge/assistant ref on the sideline)
November 10th, 2009 at 2:48 pm
#195 rangerman: I know but what about those players names that I mentioned? They deserved it MORE. Most of them have never played for the Boks or 2nd side either. They put up their hands this year and should have been rewarded. Mapoe with how could they have left him out?
Not saying don’t give the development players a go at comp outside of SA. Yes we must, but not in a tour as they are then known as the Boks which they are not.
Get them some games with the NH clubs bring them here or let the development players travel over there on a separate tour. Call them SA 15 development players or just SA 15 something like that, but get them some game time too. Just not as our 2nd side. Now Tigers forever will say they beat the Springboks World Champions and we all know they never. Those players are leaving tonight for Paris.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:50 pm
#200 Wezwp: Johnson was great given the tight 5 was nowhere. I also thought that Hougard had an impact
November 10th, 2009 at 2:51 pm
Wynand played kak against the lions and he played kak against leicester. He is a kak international player.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:51 pm
wpw
You can think whatever you like I think you’re racist and prejudiced with a chip on your shoulder
I on the other hand just call things as I see them. Simple as that.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:53 pm
#182 siener: No need to insult people.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:54 pm
Jacobs was k@k in the game against the cheetahs- the scary thing is we haven’t got a decent replacement for JdV – maybe Ebersohn in about a years time . .rather have jacobs than meisiekind though . .
I’m glad Adi is starting .
Now we can see once and for all whether he is in fact creative? Or if he has defensive frailities? Or if he is worth his spot in the side?
I cant wait
#197 John1976: I would .. as long as he was consistent with that kind of performance over a number of matches. All I want to see is the guy tackling. He needs to speak to Gio Aplon. That little guy put in some huge hits on people like Pierre Spies, etc against the Bulls. Its do-able… its a matter of technique and willingness to do it. So let see. But I dont have faith in him.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:55 pm
#170 Transformation:
hargreaves is a former junior bok capt, like chili.
but i agree. him, raubenheimer, maku, heinke and chili should not have gone on this tour.
young, established s14 guys should have gone.
just like in the old days when tour groups were assembled.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:55 pm
I just love it when racists call others racist. That just takes the cake. Ha what beautiful irony.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:56 pm
Throw BJ and Juandre Kruger into the mix and 2011 perhaps not far fetched…
Itss getting better….CJ a huge boost….F Stey and JDV will be back in SA i reckon…BJ has already said he will be back in time to contend as well…..
Just gotta nurse Bakkies ,Juan and VM through….
Bobs your aunt.
let me remind everyone out there of a little fact that they seem to have forgotten about Wynand Olivier: he’s bad. real bad.
SAM u shudv watched kyknet 15MINS AGO. THS ONE CALLER WAS TALKING A WHOLE LOT OF **** ABOUT ASHLEY. THE BULLS BLACK CONTINGENT SICKENS ME AS WELL. I THNK THEY DELIBERATELY CHOOSE CRAPPY MEDIOCRE TALENT. THEY SHOULD HAVE THE BEST TO KP THE REGULARS ON THEIR TOES. WHEN ARE THESE KYK NET VIEWERS GNA LUK PAst colour.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:59 pm
Funny that skop. I see it all the time on this site.
November 10th, 2009 at 2:59 pm
#201 skopskiet: Olivier hasnt really been ready in the past. His current Super 14 form and Currie Cup form is steps ahead of where he was. He has made some huge tackles this year. He has also scored some brilliant scything tries. If that cant be acknowledged then you obviosuly dont want to hear it. Mark my words, Jacosb going to be replaced for leaking points and Olivier will come on and score a try. Or at least pretend to. hehe
November 10th, 2009 at 3:00 pm
WP what have you been smoking. skopskiet i agree with you. i dnt knw what hes baseing his allegations on. if anything wp is the racist imo.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:01 pm
#215 Wezwp: watch Johnson play against Italy. The NH suits him – he should have been on the bench rather than Rossouw who is way past his sellby date
November 10th, 2009 at 3:02 pm
#176 Puma: Where is BH? If France is like Italy, the game starts so late because most people would still be working at 20:00! I know in Italy they work from 8:00 to 13:00 then go home for lunch and siesta and resume work at 16:00 till 20:00.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:02 pm
im so disappointed. PETER GRANT SHOULDV BN THERE INSTEAD OF WYNAND. DAMN THESE KYK NET CALLERS ARE CRAZY.LOL
November 10th, 2009 at 3:04 pm
#214 AndrewBK: Are you talking about kind of bad refered to in the Micheal Jackson song or the bad that just mean plain ****?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:06 pm
Wezwp
So now i’m the racist? how so?
So now if one criticises a coloured player that makes him a racist? Oh please man!
So that mean’s that skop and wpw are racists for criticising WO
We going to go round the rosemary bush again.
The only players that let the dirt tracker team down were not Hargreaves nor Johnson nor Adams nor De Jongh nor Rose nor Nokwe nor Deysel nor Potgieter nor Maku.
The players that lost the game against Leicester were all seasoned Bokkie boys with plenty caps under their belts like Steenkamp, Ralepelle, Du Plessis, Roussouw, Bekker ,Pienaar and Ndungane, even Olivier was in that side and let the big Tuilagi waltz through time and again.
Anyone that shouldn’t be in that side that capitulated to the Tigers were the fancy pants Sharks and Bulls front line 2nd in line front row and 2nd row options that couldn’t cut it against a club side, not the quota whipping boys. Only so called quota who had an indifferent game was Raubenheimer perhaps.
LEICESTER 2ND TEAM MY ***. That leicest team was very close to being their best side. That polynesian guy was a monster.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:09 pm
Adi is going to be in for a long afternoon defensively… I hope he’s up to it for his sake and ours.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:09 pm
#222 John1976: lol, the latter
November 10th, 2009 at 3:10 pm
Ok wp YOU NT A RACIST. until further notice. Just remember big brother watching you. I dnt care care if you critisize guthro, raubenheimer, chilliboy, cos they are k@k. But just leave jacobs, kirchner,habs, jp alone.
#142 rangerman:
yes perhaps you right and the lineup differently on attack and defense, but they might choose to stick to the positons that everyone used to. actually the bolter i would have selected at 12 is juan de jong, tho that goes against my experience requirement – this bugger is very hungry and tackles like a demon.
Leicester were missing about 12 players.
First team my ***
November 10th, 2009 at 3:11 pm
#192 My50cents:
that was one tackle… he’s been very good otherwise the whole season… did you watch the WP/Bulls semi…?
If you’re gonna can guys because of one mistake or even the odd mistake here or there… you’re gonna have no-one in your team…
Problem is you’re just looking at the errors of one player and not the rest…
I would rather rate players by their abilities and consistent performances over a period of time… instead of ‘fault judging’… very negative method…
November 10th, 2009 at 3:13 pm
#220 Sharksgirl: It could be that SG. I lived in Holland for 5 years and I know the North of Europe don’t have any siesta, but the South may do. I know that Spain do and Italy and Greece so probably France to do.
You looking forward to the game?
Anymore news on any signings for the Sharks for next year?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:13 pm
The bokke in the leicester game just thought they could pitch up and win the game but they actually cost us the game. I say send them all home with jannie, guthro and chilli.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:14 pm
This debate, by lack of a more applicable word, really is nothing more than schadenfreude mixed up with a good dosis of bad old South African rugby supporter ignorance.
Who else on this lovely earth of ours should PdV have selected on Fullback other than Zane Kirchner. Frans Steyn made his choice so live with it. He will be back for WC 2011. Same with Jean de Villiers. Accept it. Joe Pietersen? Gio Aplon? Grandpa Stefan Terblanche? Defy all arguments about experience and select Riaan Viljoen? Get real and accept that Zane is the man for now. And he will step up come Friday evening.
Furthermore, think back to the glorious tries the Boks scored last year and think about how many of those with Adi running in the inside centre channel distributing the ball with his creative flair and vision. Or do you want Wynand to pass our hard-earned ball to the touch judges? Juan de Jong will step into the 12 shoes from next year onwards and he will be a superstar. For now, Adi is the man.
Schadenfreude.
It can only be schadenfreude. And ignorance.
#163 Slumtown: Deysel is not up to Vermulen in my books, Vermulen has an awareness on the field like Juan and Skinstad of old … Deysel is neither as good a line out option or as mobile either. Sorry
#207 Puma: Sorry … it’s just very frustrating to try and talk to someone that doesn’t even attempt to understand your point.
I shouldn’t get angry though – One’s own prejudices are always the hardest to see (and I of course include myself in this).
Anyway … back to rugby: I think this is a very strong team. I’m fairly confident that Adi will do well and I hope Kanko and Zane also perform.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:15 pm
If that 12 guys were considered leicesters best then maybe just maybe they screwed up their selections of their 15 best like the boks.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:16 pm
you…you…you…racist! racist racist racist!
ag please man people. can all the racist ****.
does anyone actually give a toss?
and so what if someone is a racist and you call him a racist?
what do you do? drive his racism underground where it cannot be engaged or debated?
NO.
just talk the issue out. all of us are products of nature and nurture.
no matter how much you try and convince everyone you are squeaky clean, everyone has some elements of intolerance hard wired.
feckin racists!
even Olivier was in that side and let the big Tuilagi waltz through time and again.
jeez do you even watch the games…
Wezwp
Lol wez
Are you joking?
I have never criticized Habana or JP, legends those two are!
AND before the Lions series, on this site, I said that Zane should be the first choice AHEAD of Steyn after his brilliant S14.
Sure Fransie proved himself a great 15 but still.
Jacobs I have a problem with, he’s isnt the best option at 12 by a long shot. He’s overrated. I’d rather have Peter Grant or Meyer Bosman at 12 for the Boks.
But that’s my opinion, I call it like a see it, but i am not a racist.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:17 pm
#229 cab: he is not ready cab, one for the future foreshore though.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:17 pm
in fairness to Olivier, he like jacobs has been in very good form, yes he did go thru a period where he had the greatest offload to a linesmen that modern rugby has ever seen, but he is still a quality centre, and if u dont believe the bulls, listen to the real footballers like Todd Louden and tricky eddie who will tell you all about his ability.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:19 pm
#241 rangerman:
yes you are probably more sensible, but i just think de jong could have been a wildcard in an otherwise settled team, got searing acceleration and an eye for a gap like the legend, i.e. fleckie.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:21 pm
#232 Puma: Puma must say it felt much better than the way we do things here, after the siesta you are revitalised and ready to work, unlike here where most are starting to lag by 14:00.
Yes really looking forward to this game! I feel we will win, but it will be tough!
The Sharks have gone extremely silent. Could be very good sign or maybe not? Irritates me though, I wish we had an incling of what our squad looks like for S14. But knowing Oom Rudi, we will probably only know once the squad runs on the field. Sharks Lover mentioned last week an article in the Daily news that mentioned that there had been a management reshuffle at Sharks, but I couldn’t get hold of the paper, so have no idea. Just hope we are getting a decent backline coach.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:22 pm
#242 cab: wynand is great defensively but i still dont see him as creative enough cab.
de jongh and eberson, south africas got talent….
November 10th, 2009 at 3:23 pm
Wynand is way to one dimensional to take on the french. He shouldv played for straelie, where the game plan will suit him. Theres no place for him in pdv sqaud. its only a matter of time before they kick him out and make place for de jong, grant, and jdv when he makes his comeback with fs for 2011. GREAT TO SEE CJ BAck though im glad they made him the exception.
#202 wpw: EXACTLY! Never ever passes. He is extremely one dimensional and while I’m not going to sit here and make as if he is a bad player because he isn’t, but he is far too one dimensional to be a international centre.
#238 rangerman:
thank you
bare foot guru..
November 10th, 2009 at 3:25 pm
#246 Wezwp:
yeah but what is PdV’s gameplan?
is it the kick n chase, the 1-D moerhom ou doos stuff or the offload?
defintely an enigma wrapped inside an enigma.
very complex man.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:25 pm
#248 gunther: pleasure racist
November 10th, 2009 at 3:26 pm
#206 WP_:
With regards to your comment about white players being quotas in the Bafana side… white players were NOT excluded from selection during Apartheid!
There were many white players who played for the top teams as well as the national side.
Hell we even had more white coaches to coach the National side than black coaches!!!
You really need to do your homework before making statements!!!
November 10th, 2009 at 3:29 pm
What is better, someone who seldom passes or someone who passes to the opposition?
I’m rather not have someone passing to his opponent
November 10th, 2009 at 3:29 pm
Good selection. I would have maybe opted for Ashley Johnson or Dewald on the bench instead of Wiaan or Strauss. Smit could cover 1 and 2 and CJ has a few caps at 1 as well.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:31 pm
251 wpw
It was A JOKE.
Clearly it went straight over your head.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:32 pm
#216 WP_:
He was referring to you!!!
On a lighter note what did you guys make of Wales performance against the blacks? I think it was awesome and they couldv sneaked it had that intercept resulted in a try. With that performance they should make it hard for any team to beat them here on in. The stand outs for me were james hook at fullback, cooper at scrumhalf, alan wynn jones, jamie roberts. Andy powell and shane williams.
And while I’m now in this site and on a roll, a word of advice to PdV as well.
Divvy, now that we see a bench for the first time in years without January and Chilli, can we please keep it that way? Please!
Hougaardt should from now on be backup to Du Preez. And it won’t be a problem “colour-wise” because you will have guys like Cecil Africa, Earl Lewis, that Freestate Fullback that was in that horrific car accident – Wilton Pietersen, Juan de Jongh, Morgan Newman, Lionel Mapoe, Burton Francis, Elgar Watts, Ricardo Croy, etc. coming through in the next two years.
Also forget about Chilli and Maku. Let them find themselves at provincial level first. Look at the loosies for a bit more colour – Ashley Johnson, Jona Mokoena, Mpho Mboyiso and the likes. Johnson, in any case, is your Bok captain for after 2011!
November 10th, 2009 at 3:34 pm
you forgot to mention siya kolisi.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:35 pm
The big lock should have backed himself! Would have got very close!
Blacks looked vulnerable.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:36 pm
………….JOE PIETERSON IS THE BEST FULLBACK IN THIS COUNTRY.
#223 WP_: That is a good point.
I’d like to wipe the slate clean and start from scratch. I don’t want to attack you – I’m trying to make a point. You can disagree with the point – all I care about is that you understand it.
White players should be able to criticize black players and vice versa. In fact, race should not be a factor.
The problem comes in that so many times when people criticize black players they seemingly can’t help but bring up politics and quotas. This is unfair to the players. Criticize the player for playing badly and criticize the coach for making **** picks – there is no need to bring quotas and political arguments into the discussion.
Imagine the following – every time a white player gets picked ahead of a black player people blame the “stupid Dutchmen” that are still pulling the strings in SA rugby. Every time the coach picks a white player that people don’t agree with they immediately say that the coach is just trying to make the backward Afrikaner rugby watching public happy.
I’m sure you agree that that would be unfair and (while not openly racist) prejudiced against whites.
Shouting quota every time when you don’t rate a black player (like you did in post 63) is exactly equivalent to this.
Dont forget Nizaam Carr!
November 10th, 2009 at 3:37 pm
#254 WP_:
Sure it was…
November 10th, 2009 at 3:37 pm
#257 Alan Shore: personally, i think the best captain after 2011 will be…well, exactly that, the BEST CAPTAIN.
lets take the example set for us by jacob moroga and choose greed as a manner of unmasking the racists in our midst, which is to say, however, that inconcievably, the captain after 2011 could be a white man!
or not.
who gives a **** (barring politicians with small dicks of course).
November 10th, 2009 at 3:38 pm
#260 Wezwp:
:puke:
November 10th, 2009 at 3:38 pm
The all blacks are there for the taking. The french should actually start as favourites against them.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:39 pm
#244 Sharksgirl: I never got the paper that day too. Really cant wait to see who will be signed for the Sharks. Seems a long time to wait. Hope the waiting is good news
Not sure about the Boks this weekend against France. They have some really good players. Then of course we do to only our players are at the end of the season and dead on their feet I feel. Well the Bull Boks are, they must be really tired.
Would have felt a lot better knowing that JdV and Fransie was in that team. Also Deysel should have made the bench.
Hoping we win it and then just need to beat Ireland and we have done them all this year. We will be Italy have no doubt.
Did you live in Italy? Love that place. Toured there a few times. Beautiful in parts and reminds me in some parts of Champans Peak in Cape Town some of the drives. Great food there too.
No I would not like to work shifts like they do with the siesta thing. Then you have to work until 8pm. Nah, would not like that. In Spain they eat at 10pm at night!!! I would be out my mind starving by then
Do you speak Italian SG?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:39 pm
2011……. hel dis nog lank….
nog so 2 S14 titels virrrie Bulls voor daaaaaaaaaai tyd …
November 10th, 2009 at 3:41 pm
That spoilt bishops boy will never be a bok. bishops had a crappy season anyway.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:42 pm
#264 rangerman:
I agree with you, it is just that Johnson captain each and every WP age group team from u/13 to u/19.
He was the first non-white captain of Paarl Gimnasium.
He played bot SA u/19 and u/21,
He captained the Southern Spears at age 19.
The man is not only being groomed for it, it is in his genes.
#261 siener:
Well said bru!!
De Jongh is knocking on the door real hard, same with Mapoe, those two are ready for the step up, same as Viljoen, and the young props, Buys, Blaauw, Nel, Du Preez.
I would throw Mapoe and Viljoen and De Jongh in the deep end and I bet you they swim just fine far better than some the seasoned pro’s.
Yes was Olivier that let Tuilagi waltz through and was De Jongh that had to bring him down couple times.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:43 pm
#266 Wezwp: Never count out the ABs the world cup is still a long time away. They will have players all coming back to NZ next year. ABs going to be a lot stronger than they are now.
French is their bogey team though. So who knows. If France beat ABs in the pool game then ABs and Boks don’t meet in the semi. If ABs beat France then their pool games then think for sure it will be a Bok/AB semi like it is scheduled to be.
WPW ARE YOU NOT A WP SUPPorter? you should stand behind wp players regardless of colour especially if the player deserves to be there,joe better than viljoen imo.
#268 Staal:
bloubul dragons?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:45 pm
#261 siener
I agree with you on that mate. It is most definately on the players as they dont pick themselves.
If undeserving players are picked it is the selectors and coaches fault. Not the players.
I’m not in the habit of using the word quota anyway, it is a dated word. Although sometimes you get the impression that some players are picked not only on their rugby ability! But that’s a discussion for another day. We just got into a stupid argument about it.
I apologise if I offended you in any way mate.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:46 pm
DOES ANYONE KNOW IF CARL HAYMANN OR KELLEHER COMING BACK TO NZ?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:48 pm
#261 siener: that sounds fair but then surely we should have no more of butana the crapheads comments sullying our wonderfully clean air and we should have an end to all references to “attempts to transform sa rugby”.
its bullshit and in fact, its transformation is logic for fools and the lazy.
cream rises to the top. and since the laws, that aimed to stop one segment of the talented rising to the top, have been repealed, there is no further need to “transform” anything.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:48 pm
#267 Puma: Puma, I was born in Italy. I moved to SA when I was 10, and I go back regularly. I speack Italian fluently, and I read and write it too as I did my Grade 1 to grade 3 (inclusive) in Italy. I love Italy, the country is beautiful, and the people extremely friendly (except those in Milan and Turin) but I am a historian by heart so the side of Italy which draws me the most is the History in Italy, walking in Rome knowing that Julius Ceasar walked those streets. Going to St Paul’s cathedral and seeing St. Paul’s chains, the Collosseum, but the most beautiful for me is Renneissance Italy – Florence and Pisa and then lets not forget Venice. I come from the Island of Sardinia.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:49 pm
this place (ghana) is so funny.
have’nt received a bill for my home telephone for 4 months now.
this last weekend, found it cut off with an almost unintelligible recording saying something about not paying the account.
and the govt telecom company is bankrupt!
who would have guessed?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:50 pm
#256 Wezwp: Was a good game but when I saw that intercept really thought Wales were going to get that try.
That Welsh player just never had any gas he was soooooooooooooooooooooo slow and he had a huge advantage in front of the players behind and still got caught by the AB players. Probably would have ended in a draw then.
Anyhow both those countries I support as they are real rugby lovers like we are. But I have always supported the All Blacks when they are not playing the Boks so was pleased ABs won.
Good game and a magnificent stadium.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:51 pm
#280 charo: perhaps you should have asked for a bill when you didn’t receive one, unless you thought you were getting it for free?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:51 pm
It was in fact.
Why will Carr never be a Bok? Come on now, dont start with ridiculous stereotypes!
“Spoil Bishops boy” Are you joking
November 10th, 2009 at 3:52 pm
#280 charo:
No wonder they are bankrupt.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:53 pm
#270 Alan Shore: Too early to say…
Remember Chiliboy captained just about every age group team he’s ever played for. He was captain when the U/19 Boks won the WC in 2005 and when the U/21 Boks came second the following year.
He captained the Boks in a midweek game shortly after he turned 20, but from there it’s pretty much been all downhill. I think partially because SA rugby didn’t groom him and let him mature properly before they threw him in at the deep end.
There have been other examples as well – Ngobani Bobo springs to mind
Johnson has a lot of potential and I hope he makes it, but only time will tell.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:53 pm
#270 Alan Shore: fair enough.
this is news to me and i am only wary of the whole captaincy succession issue splitting the boks like it did the anc
#277 Wezwp: hayman is getting on but kelleher is just beating up drunks and passing his sell by date.
the whole “return of the light brigade to nz for 2011″ is a bit of a myth i think.
besides those two, and kelleher is borderline, who else do they get back?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:54 pm
#275 cab: sorry Cab … dit het uigeglip!
November 10th, 2009 at 3:55 pm
#279 Sharksgirl: I would love to have lived there for a bit. Love the place. Love Rome has such history. Went to all those places you mention.
I first toured there when I was 28 in a camper..hahaha. Went every where in this old camper that only went about 60km per hour
But living in Holland went down there quite a few times. Great people great food. Love the place. Also like a huge part of France. Used to do a lot of snow skiing there.
#279 Sharksgirl:
yep italy sounds like a great country, all mammas boys, but they sure can scrum, castrogiavani like a big panda mauled our okies. the game against italy i believe changed venue, was going to go down, but never heard of the place it moved to, they moved it for a roundball match, disgraceful.
#284 Puma: Hello Mr.SuperBru leader!!
Can you give me any tips for the weekend?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:56 pm
#276 WP_: Apologies from my side as well.
One should always keep in mind that the one big reason why discussions here become so heated is because of how much people here love the game and how seriously they take it.
November 10th, 2009 at 3:56 pm
#287 Staal:
Hoe gaan dit Mnr Staal?
November 10th, 2009 at 3:57 pm
#280 charo: Hi Charo, sounds like you have the right attitude for surviving in that country!!
How is it in your world?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:00 pm
#292 Fern: Hey – en hier’s jy nou??????
Lyk dinge daar met jou Shark team? Sorry maar dis die eerste keer lat ons praat na die semi’s.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:02 pm
#289 cab: Yes Cab that is the one failing in Italy, round ball will always take precendence
Where have they moved it to? I thought they had moved it to San Siro because they had it sold out there!
Mallet was complaining that he wanted it to remain in Rome! San Siro would have been a great venue, but it is home to two of the Italina soccer giants Inter and AC so it makes a whole lot of sense that they would have moved it if there it clashed with a soccer match. Any Idea where its being held now?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:03 pm
#253 Oubaas2009: agree
this is the time to blood in the johnstons and pottie’s in our squad
maybe they’ll start against Italy
#294 Staal:
Dis net n rugby game,ek het meer belangriker en drukkender dinge in my lewe.
#285 siener:
Agree. It is just that I also believe that Ashley has tremendous potential. Also as a leader. It is just scary to see that not even your so-called mainstraim rugby journalists know about Ashley’s history. And they don’t even try to research it! One of them (won’t mention names) even reported last week that Ashley surfaced this year at the Griffons and that he was a retreaded hooker!
#290 carol:
Just pure luck there Carol. All guess work. Probably fall off the pace soon. Not really good with predicting the score. So surprised that I am on top but it wont last
How you Carol?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:04 pm
#282 AndrewBK:
can i safely assume that you have never ventured further north than pofadder on this continent?
#295 Sharksgirl: Yeah I heard that Castrogiovanni was a monster, but geepes didn’t realise just how much so! Pity his looks also closely resemble those of a monster – he looks like a hobo
291 siener
Agreed. It is very close to our, and many South Africans hearts. Which is a great thing but people do get worked up.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:05 pm
#251 wpw: So… do you blame the current players for things happening 20-40 years ago?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:06 pm
#295 Sharksgirl:
thats interesting about the stadium, yip have hear of the san siro, can’t remember the name of the place they moving it too. is it in the north of italy that they like their rugby, we had a few okes that played over there, haas, AJ and that pumas flyhalf who was actually damn good – think aj married an italian tannie.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:07 pm
I’m disappointed in Ruan and Danie being there.
After last week….!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:07 pm
#299 Puma: Enjoy your success….you seem to have a knack!
I have a cold and am feeling a bit sorry for myself!!
Thought a bit of blogging would take my mind off my coughing!!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:08 pm
#297 Fern: Ja-naa. Ek twyfel nie daaraan nie…….
#257 Alan Shore: i like ur thinking
the spotlight has been put too much on chilli and maku and they need to show what they got at super 14 and currie cup
lots of potential
but as we saw with our “springbok” sharks forwards getting pummeled by cheetahs front row, always put in ur best cos there’s plenty of talent brewing under
okes shouldnt become complacent
#304 cab: aj venter?
he married a saffa athlete. jenna warlock or somesuch.
#307 Staal: Ja-nee
November 10th, 2009 at 4:09 pm
Where in the world is the most wine produced, italy or france?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:09 pm
#293 carol:
getting a bit hot now. 4 hrs on a golf course is intense endurance.
but a few cold beers afterwards sorts that out
November 10th, 2009 at 4:10 pm
I have a theory around all the contentious selections being raised, particularly those of Rose, Raubenheimer,Maku and Chilliboy. Based on the nature of the tour, which involves midweek games against club sides, Div was of the opinion that he could learn more from putting 3rd/4th rated players in the squad thereby exposing them to a slightly more intense level of competition than what they are used to. So in essence, if they don’t front up in the midweek games, they obviously have some deficiencies and need more experience or have hit the ceiling of their abilities. Taking a truly second best team would have meant winning those games you are expected to win and confirming what was initially suspected. Next year will be a huge year in terms of building towards the world cup and where your true backup players for the world cup will be seen. So it would be better to expose those players to the rigors of the incoming tours and possible tri-nations, which would give a truer indication of the next player in line.
#307 Staal:
Ek dink volgende jaar gaan ons ekonomie weer lekker begin boom.Dinge gaan gebeur.
Guthro and Jannie were poor too
A glass of pinotage will do.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:11 pm
#291 siener: Nice post there siener and WP post to you 276. Good on both of you. Good to see that on this blog.
Most people here never apologize. It always takes a big person to do that and respect to both of you.
You are right siener we all get so heated on here because we love this game with huge, huge passion.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:11 pm
#311 Wezwp: this year it was a tossup between nz and australia for second place.
as whine producers they are amateurs when compared with the crew from the homes of the BIL’s.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:12 pm
#309 rangerman:
oh right, perhaps thinking of someone else, time for nap again.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:12 pm
Jannie was always gna b exposed. hes bn living in hes brothers shadow for most of the time.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:13 pm
#314 Fern: hierdie is n rugby blog…..
#314 Fern: I think so too Fern. How you been mate? Have not seen you here for a long time.
#313 pompies2: David has the same theory and i agree with it.
we learnt a lot from that leicester game.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:15 pm
#309 rangerman:
springbok lifesaver from pirates…i think
November 10th, 2009 at 4:15 pm
#314 Fern: Ou maat ek hoop jy’s reg.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:16 pm
#306 carol: I will enjoy being on top for now. Next week it will change. Japan and Canada? Have to think about that…..hehehe.
Your weather must not be good that side either Carol. Blogging with help..hehe.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:16 pm
#312 charo: I understand that rehydration is ‘vital’ after a punnishing game of golf!!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:17 pm
#304 cab: Yes Rugby is only played in the North of Italy, does not reach further south than Florence. That is why its strange that the National team is based in Rome. I guess Mallet likes the life in Rome better than the North
AJs 1st wife was Italian, and he stated in an interview lately that he still prefers Italian food
#325 Staal: Maar Fern, my kop sê jy is nie.
#314 Fern: How is the plodding coming along comrade?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:18 pm
#312 charo: Sounds good there Charo.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:18 pm
#272 skopskiet:
how on earth is de jong knocking on the door of test match selection with only a handful of CC games under his belt.
It is unlikely that he will even make the Stormers lineup.
In the biggest game of the WP’s CC season…..Olivier owned him. I would be quite surprised if he goes on to greater things. Mapoe on the other hand, he’ll become a very good player.
The Boks should win this game with the amount of talent and experience that they have. Only real concerns are the fatigue ones. Oh, and Jacobs defending at 12.If the French start getting clean set piece ball, Jacobs can wave good bye to his international career.
Can anyone actually remember the last time Jacobs played at 12?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:19 pm
#309 rangerman: His first wife was Italian, the pretty blonde is his second wife. Ranger catch up with the times
November 10th, 2009 at 4:19 pm
ITS FREAKN WINTER HERE IN THE CAPE……..BRRRRRR…..GIV ME SOME CHICKEN SOUP.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:20 pm
Thats me out of here.
Cheers all. Hope you get better Carol.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:21 pm
WYNAND DID NT OWN ANYBODY.OH PLEASE. DE JONG ACTUALLY HAD THE BETTER OF HIM. WYAND CUDNT CATCH HIM
November 10th, 2009 at 4:22 pm
#326 Puma: I don’t know about Japan v Canada, it is Saracens v Springboks I am more worried about!! Heheheheh.
Their dismal result v Leicester has made me a bit hesitant!!
#324 charo: thats her. she is a triathlete i think.
#332 Brigadier Van Zyl: i think comparing juan de jongh to wynand is a little unfair man.
juan will get better with experience whereas wynand has NEVER shone in a bok jersey.
#335 Puma: Cheers Puma, till later!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:23 pm
#332 Brigadier Van Zyl: All i can remember of ADI is how he let Potgieter through in the CC semi in Durbs……. i mean he made zilts attemp to gather the ball……
Cheers Pottie… en gone is n semi final!
ADI was toe op 12!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:24 pm
#336 Wezwp: understand what you saying but honestly – give the kid more time before we write him up.
#334 Wezwp: My Cape Town correspondent said it was winter again in Cape Town and she had just seen Percy Montgomery in Camps Bay.
Who is holding Morn’s kicking ‘thingie’ on this EYOT?
#333 Sharksgirl: ag, i dont really follow the wives sharksgirl
in fact, the fact that i know about aj’s wife means that i must go for immediate “re-education” at the pub with my mates.
touch rugby night tonight so i will build up a thirst first.
#335 Puma: cheers man.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:25 pm
#328 Sharksgirl:
nick mallett has it right, spent a few years in france and won the championship with stade francais and now in italy – think the food and wine and ppl would be very nice – pity rugby not more widely followed. Florence and Venice have always appealed to me, somewhere a little more quiet than rome – you also got all those great lakes up north. Been told down south is a gaurded secret and a bit poorer but in some ways nicer – sardinia got a helluva nice climate year round not so?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:26 pm
What gives here.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:26 pm
#311 Wezwp: Good point? I don’t know, anyone?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:28 pm
Cheers Puma boet.
WO did own Newman, that’s for sure.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:28 pm
#345 Dawn: Good question.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:29 pm
#343 rangerman:
November 10th, 2009 at 4:29 pm
#344 cab: Sardinia – that’s like calling the place Snoekville.
Or Baberfontein.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:31 pm
#343 rangerman:
ja, AJ was great tho, probably should have got more caps for the Boks.
He was surely a Sharks legend, tho another freestate boytjie originally.
do you okes have any of your own, you now plundering deysel and alberts too?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:31 pm
#346 Sharksgirl:
france ….
November 10th, 2009 at 4:32 pm
#348 katman:
Good day baas
According to the Ministerial Handbook, you have been paying me slave wages for 20 years.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:33 pm
#350 katman:
lol – Barbelfontein or Katvisstad.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:33 pm
#336 Wezwp:
he got owned.
quick player, big heart but doubt he’ll unseat Jaque Fourie at 13 or Grant at 12.
up against big defences, his little side step shimmy got him nowhere.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:34 pm
#345 Dawn: Hi Dawn…long time, how are you doing?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:34 pm
Cheers to all and sundry. Catch some of you around.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:35 pm
Good squad. We should win comfortably. My only concern is the front row. I still wake up in a cold sweat remembering how the Sharks (i.e. Springbok) front row got their sphincters torn wide open by the Cheetahs. Luckily two of those same three Cheetahs front-rowers are on the bench, in the event of an emergency!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:38 pm
#201 skopskiet:
hallelujah there Skoppie, I too believe Jacobs is way way better than WO. Should be at 13 tho, presumably they will swap around on D & A.
Centre/13 is there to create space and put the 11/14/15 away. As an opposition fan, Im more likely to draw breath when Jacobs has ball in hand than WO or Fourie. For 1 good reason, its an absolute travesty that the SA lineup currently incl’s 1 of the very best wingers ever in Habana but he’s so rarely used. I think Jacobs is the man to do that.
#163 Slumtown:
‘understanding’ is alot different than ‘agreeing’.
#156 Slumtown:
OK, lemon is a bit harsh. But youre giving eg’s of over 2yrs ago now and I havent seenn enough dynamism from him since. He was fairly average coming off the pine vs ABs this year tho.
#225 Wezwp:
Leicester 2nd team my hairy poephole. The pack had 1 guy who was winged in from Leicester Jnr clubs, not even on Leicester Tigers books. Furthermore they lost 9 players to the Engl squad and something like 8 squad members were injured. Leicesters injury list in 2009, alone, has been a by-word for extensive.
Leave it at Leciester C and even then youre being generous.
#256 Wezwp:
Wales ‘could have sneaked it’ ?!
delusional statement if I ever saw it, are you a British journo ?
1stly, the most they could have hoped for was a Draw.
2ndly, they were atleast 20pts off looking the ABs in the eye. Conrad scored, which would have opened the floodgates. By good fortune and refereeing incompetenece, the Boyos were given a slim margin as solace when a good whupping would have been a better indicator.
#266 Wezwp:
Perhaps you should get them out of the road as an opponent first before you start making any grandiose statements about anyone elses prospects. The Boks gamewinner in Hamilton is now playing for a Parisien team and unavailable unless you werent aware. Lets see how they fare without him.
#273 Puma:
You guys talking rather too much about France vs ABs. I think the French would rather like to know that, I sense an overriding undercurrent mood of confidence coming from Toulouse.
#279 Sharksgirl:
I holiday near Stintino, Sardinia, every Spring with my family. What part of the island you from ?
#289 cab:
Lets not forget that Castro is really an Argie. I think 50-60% of Argentinians have Italian heritage.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:39 pm
#344 cab: The South Of Italy is definitely poorer than the North, but the people are friendlier and the countryside more beautiful! Naples is a mess politically (ruled by the Mafia) and organisationally but the people are dynamic and the countryside magnificent, with places like Amalfi, Sorrento, Isle of Capri. The Lazio is also beautiful!
Sardinia is also really worth a visit, up North of Sardinia “La Costa Smeralda”; Porto Cervo are majour tourist hangouts mostly owened by the Agha Khan, and luxury yachts everywhere. Cannavaro parcks his yacht there when he is not on it
Further South where I come from is “wilder” if you could say that. But we have long white beaches, and when you stand in the sea the water is so clear you can see your feet. The climate is compared to mainland Italy Milder, a bit like Durban where the winters are a lot warmer than the Mainland.
#350 katman: What the hell do you mean Snoekville!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:40 pm
#355 Brigadier Van Zyl: Funny, I didn’t see De Jongh get “owned” by Meisiekind either. Maybe you Tshwaneerders have a different concept of “ownership” from the rest of the country.
De Jongh definitely won’t unseat Jaque from the Super 14 starting line-up. He’s easily good enough to unseat Grant though – which isn’t saying a great deal, however.
#353 Dawn: I’ve done nothing wrong. It’s all approved by the guidelines set out in the Handbook. And R1200 a month is not to be scoffed at. Plus left-over cooking wine. Plus two PEP housecoats a year. Plus R500 bail that one time.
No, you’ve got it easy.
#357 WP_:
And what’s wrong with the rest of us?
#356 carol:
Good thanks, just in need of TLC, and an island holiday!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:42 pm
#362 katman:
The mathematics of the oppressor.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:43 pm
#361 pierre:
owned.
good and proper.
I’m sure Grant is kakking himself.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:44 pm
#359 WakaNathan: Beautifull! Been there! I come from Cagliari.
#362 katman:
According to the Handbook I am entitled to 75% of the value of your house for washing those labbies for 5 years.
#365 Brigadier Van Zyl: You can keep saying “owned” till your *** bleeds, but that still won’t make it true.
As a Bull.
I sure do hope DeJong plays at 12 for Province.
Hell, didn’t he butcher 2 clear opportunities in that semi?
#363 Dawn: You should try Barbados, it is beyond awesome.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:45 pm
#359 WakaNathan:
Goodness.
Nothing for me?
I feel so misuse/misbruik!
November 10th, 2009 at 4:45 pm
#368 pierre:
beautiful, is that byron?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
#368 pierre: The only thing WO “owns” is a few S14 and Cc medals…
mmm, bleeding asses?
nice.
exactly what you get in CT.
owned.
sliced and diced.
watched the final on the telly.
#363 Dawn: If you go to Sardinia avoid the yacht club bit up north, too many facelifts and white jeans!!
Further South is much better!
Hope you find some TLC……give the lads a ring and meet up to watch the next Bok fixture!
#369 Brigadier Van Zyl:
Meneer
Do you post in full dress uniform?
November 10th, 2009 at 4:48 pm
#375 carol:
The lads all have new girlfriends.
#377 Dawn: watchit
farking motherfarking smilies
this my weapon this my gun,
this one’s for killing and this one is for fun.
…full metal jacket
November 10th, 2009 at 4:49 pm
#369 Brigadier Van Zyl: Well on that topic, didn’t Meisiekind butcher… oh no, wait, I forgot. The Bulls didn’t create a single opportunity for anyone to butcher. They just relied on their pal Mark Lawrence, who likes to blow for a living, to see them through to the final.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:50 pm
#375 carol: From a girl that comes from the South of Sardinia have to agree with you! Thank you! Have you been there Carol?
Anywhay – dis nou die Bokke wat speel.
Sal hul support tot ek nie meer n Tv kan sien of **** nie!
!
…only in WP do the most ordinary players masquerade as superstars.
keep it up.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:51 pm
#377 Dawn: Nooo. I meant Robzim, Skop, Grant, Justrugby and Tassies!!
Unless it is them that all have new girlfriends!!
#380 pierre: some bitterness there.
None of the aforegoing is to be interpreted as disrepect for Meisiekind, by the way. In the absence of JdV, he is clearly SA’s best inside centre. But that doesn’t change the fact that your contention that he “owned” De Jongh in the CC semi is ridiculous.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:52 pm
#380 pierre:
the Bulls have butchered many teams this past 6 years.
the best one still being 75-14.
followed closely by the 60 odd number in the S14 final
with 3rd place being the 40 nil number(also against youknowwho)
November 10th, 2009 at 4:53 pm
#385 Staal: You could say that, buddy. You wouldn’t be wrong
November 10th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
#375 carol:
I never saw any white jeans …. did see lots of boobs though…
#378 Ig:
What must I watch?
#387 Brigadier Van Zyl: All true, I’m sad to say. But that’s not relevant to whether Meisiekind “owned” De Jongh.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:56 pm
#384 carol:
Sigh
Gentlemen they surely are but I would KILL for some single men.
#366 Sharksgirl:
Ive holidayed in nearby Villasimius a couple of times too. Cagliari is fun. Enjoy Algerho too, has become very fashionable and hip in last few years. And incredible seafood !
#379 Brigadier Van Zyl:
plaguerised.
that silly saying has been in the sandf for yonks…earlier than 1971 anyway
#392 pierre: Meisiekind – the only thing he owns is his mother – other than that he is particulary average player in a good bulls team.
#391 Dawn: Never mind
November 10th, 2009 at 4:57 pm
#361 pierre: We definitely have a different concept of how a trophy cabinet should look, us Tshwaners.
#381 Sharksgirl: Yes, had a lovely time there. Wouldn’t rush back to the “Posh End” too souless for me!!
Also love Corfu and Corsica. Sicily next on my ‘Island’ list!!
#387 Brigadier Van Zyl:
What do you mean by “owned”?
Does it involve bleeding asses?
#380 pierre:
more than a little I would say..
#387 Brigadier Van Zyl: By the way, I remember the 75-14 match very well. I was at Newlands that day. Afterwards I ran into most of the Bulls team at the Opium night club in Green Point. At some point I found myself standing next to Pakslae at the bar, and I congratulated him on his performance. I got the distinct impression that he was too pissed to speak, but he lifted me up off the floor and gave me a bear hug.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:58 pm
#393 WakaNathan:
Where are these places? Middle Earth?
#395 Ig:
Babes, don’t get tetchy with me.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:58 pm
He certainly didn’t own De Jongh.
But I’m pretty sure Wynand did own two or three Modern Talking albums – probably still does. That hairdo is just so brother louie louie louie.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
#389 gunther: ….funnily enough I did not focus on the boobs!!
Lots of old wealthy leathery men and young companions!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
Pierre you FREAK!
How can you allow Pakslae to give you a bear hug unless you enjoyed it.
Now. Off to Pilates with you.
#392 Dawn: There must be some good single ‘talent’ in Cape Town!!
It is after all the coolest place in South Africa, they can’t all be tied up!!
#402 Dawn: Eish – you sound krusteeee – right home time
November 10th, 2009 at 5:03 pm
Rosebud.
#406 Ig:
Never with you.
As Whitney says … I will always love yoooooooooouuuuuuu!
(Gross!)
#392 Dawn:
plenty of single men in cpt dawn.
pity most of them are going out with other single men.
#404 Dawn:
carefull…
November 10th, 2009 at 5:04 pm
#400 pierre:
what kak.
the game was at Loftus.
now you are just making it up.
Olivier has been at the heart of every major campaign and victory in the past 4 seasons.
Part, of what is and what makes….a very good Bulls team.
#405 carol:
I don’t think so.
Hey Dawn, you have struck lucky – Mr Darcy in the form of WPTID has come to save you!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:06 pm
#409 charo: Heheheheh – Now that is politically incorrect!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:06 pm
#409 charo:
Jy klink nou amper soos die Brigadier.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
what i dont get about the european men is there total and utter lack of taste or shame.
its quite something to see a 70-year old oke in a string, where his ballas are dangling just off the ground.
not a care in the world.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
#413 carol:
As if.
I know different!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:08 pm
#411 Brigadier Van Zyl: Yep and always played his part in the Bokke games.
He is a better 12 than Adi, Adi is a better 13 than him. Adi will have the opportunity to shut us up on Friday……or not!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:09 pm
#402 katman:
nothing wrong with modern talking.
the 80’s are back in fashion.
in fact, Modern Talking played 2 concerts at the Good Hope Center in ‘88.
mostly coloured audience, bye the way.
Moffie coloured guys.
My aunt was in charge of the PR for the trip…..before you ask.
#416 cab: wtf?
#416 cab:
…or a grannies droopy tits.
yuk
November 10th, 2009 at 5:10 pm
#261 siener: couldnt have put it better myself
November 10th, 2009 at 5:11 pm
#420 Big Hit:
lol, its true, if you go the beach, its a f’ing horrific sight to behold – these wrinked old fellas wearing nothing but a g-string.
absolutely bizarre.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:12 pm
#416 cab: the older the buck,
the harder the horn……..
November 10th, 2009 at 5:13 pm
#403 carol:
belter…
#409 charo:
you sound disappointed…
#416 cab: Don’t rich, skinny old Saffas wear tiny trunks, tan the colour of stewed tea and strut about the beach too?
I am amazed?
mind u i dont even get the speedo bit, but the g-string, hell even the poofdas know how ridiculous those g-strings look, i mean the gold chains around their necks have more width to them.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:14 pm
#424 Kronung:
lol – have not heard that one before.
#68 Tacitus: I agree tac. There is a gaping hole at 12 for David to charge into, pop to Picamoles and then? I shudder. The crown prince is missing, but he’ll be there after Sarries, mark my words.
#415 Dawn:
yes, a bit hackneyed.
has baas gone off and left you to feed the labs again?
#420 Big Hit: Now come on you must have seen these guys, usually French or Italian, he doesn’t mean us!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:15 pm
#400 pierre: Pierre – was jy gesuip of Pakslae…. want daai game was op Loftus!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:17 pm
#426 carol:
yeah but whats wrong with swimming trunks? thats surely the correct attire.
these okes in g-strings always got potbellies and not much to advertise – so am not sure what the continental mindset is?
actually they seem to have a far more liberated mindset in general – those germans will get kaalgat at the drop of a hat.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:22 pm
#423 cab: no self-awareness clearly, mind you I always figured g10 was one of these older guys speedoing around
#431 carol: no I’ve never anything of that ilk, sounds like an episode of Eurotrash
November 10th, 2009 at 5:22 pm
#425 gunther:
#433 cab: Someone should tell them!!
If kaalgat is naked, the Nordic folks are also that way inclined!!
We Brits are a bit more reserved, we just get drunk and fall over on holiday!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
#434 Big Hit:
lol – poor old grantie, he gets too much stick on here.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:26 pm
#434 Big Hit: As G10 cannot defend himself I have to say he does not wear speedo’s, his blonde confirmed this when I took her to one side and asked this very question!!
Do you watch ‘Benidorm’ the look is exactly like the rich old guy on there!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:28 pm
#359 WakaNathan: Argentinians have Spanish heritage, apart from the indiginous indian population.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:31 pm
#418 Kronung: we’ve neva seen Adi at 12 for the boks so u cant say for sure
what we can say abt WO is he’s never put up his hand when playing for the boks
he does during Super 14 but nt shown the same quality in the green and gold
November 10th, 2009 at 5:32 pm
#438 David:
so, youre telling me that ‘Maradona’ is a name of Spanish heritage ?
Of course, Argentina is principally Spanish. But you only have to cast your eye over their football teams, for starters, to realise how many Italians emigrated there after WWII.
Gabriella Sabatini sound Spanish to you ?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:35 pm
A full front row on th bench for the Boks, not bad.
I’ll place my bet on Sat morning, by the look of it the French by 10 but thier bench is weak, they should included an extra LH.
The Boks back 3 are defence suspectable.
Funy enough, the Boks’ bench of front rowers and backs looks better than the starting 1-3 and 12, 15
November 10th, 2009 at 5:36 pm
#440 WakaNathan:
Yes, but certainly nowhere near 50 to 60% of the population.
Does Diego sound italian?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:37 pm
#437 carol: grant knows I’m j/p. I don’t watch Benidorm but I have seen it flicking through the channels. Whatever keeps ‘em happy I suppose.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:42 pm
benidorm or bust…oi oi oi geyser.
yip you lot can also ruin some perfectly good coastlines.
i can picture carol and big hit walking down the beach with a swagger in their tracksuit and curly hair with a mancunian accent – ‘oi geyser’.
am i vaguely on the money?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:42 pm
#317 Puma: this is the reason i prefer to get my rugby form here than on stupid news24
bloggers provide far more insight into the games than individual writers and arent as racially motivated to comment like the losers there
it shows clear when okes like wp_ and siener can apologise to each other after heated debate
keep it up guys
proud saffa
November 10th, 2009 at 5:44 pm
#95 Puma:
The French like the Lions’ Simon Shaw will target Kirshner, the Cheetahs targeted him in their matches against the Bulls and it yield good return,
November 10th, 2009 at 5:44 pm
#441 Hondo: how can u say a back 3 with Pietersen Habana and Kirchner are suspect
combinations never get me worried as we have in habana and kirchner
pietersen’s always been solid so i’m nt feeling ur argument?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:45 pm
#446 Hondo: only time will tell i guess, he does hold his own though in the tackle situation wouldnt u say
November 10th, 2009 at 5:47 pm
#439 Papoose: I guess we’ll have to wait and see. I prefer not to be bias as I admire both talents. Mesiekind should have played 12 IMHO. Adi could have come on on 60 to prove his worth at 12.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:48 pm
#411 Brigadier Van Zyl:
I’ll take WO over Jacobs any time with a generous change
November 10th, 2009 at 5:53 pm
#446 Hondo: Simon Shaw? I must have missed his tactical kicking
#444 cab: lol, that’s a chavtacular image, Brits abroad do us no favours sadly
November 10th, 2009 at 5:57 pm
#451 Big Hit:
just hamming it up, i’m not anti-chav, fantastic value. probably seen one to many harry enfield skits, he is bladdy funny, the range of british caricatures is helluva amusing.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:58 pm
#447 Papoose:
Best is to compare,
In the past, there were Joost, Honiball, Muller/Mulder, Snyman and Tereblanch among the backs against the ABs in 1998
when The Boks’ back line that hardly was breached once.
All are great defender, 11 years later Tereblanche’s still a good tackler
With FdD and Styen it’s already a soft middle, add Jacobs and Kirshner and it’s a non tackling middle, a cake waiting for the frogs.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:58 pm
Mesiekind made it into the Boks because of his phenomenal talent.
He then went seriously off the boil.
He rectified this and forced himself back into the team.
He deserves to be there and playing, not relegated to the bench.
November 10th, 2009 at 6:00 pm
#452 cab: he’s got a good saffa one too, you seen it?
November 10th, 2009 at 6:02 pm
#455 Big Hit:
that is one of the funniest things i have ever seen
he’s actually got two of them, pik the dom gym oke and the uncooth pharmacist.
they had to take me to ER i was laughing so much.
November 10th, 2009 at 6:03 pm
#451 Big Hit:
Watch the 3rd Lions’ Test
The high ball kicking was by S Jones, Shaw was pouncing Kirshner on a split second late tackle in what looked a well planned move.
They tried it on Ndungane too but he dropped the 2 high balls,,,,
November 10th, 2009 at 6:07 pm
#457 Hondo:
The ball must have gone straight up in the air if Shaw managed to make ground from behind the kicker to reach the receiver.
November 10th, 2009 at 6:09 pm
#454 Kronung:
I think he was injured the whole of 2008, he played well in 2005-2007 though.
His record of try/Test is better than most centres bar Dannie Gerber
November 10th, 2009 at 6:10 pm
Is it just me or am I suddenly sensing the teensy weensiest bit of trepidation amongst the bunch of mister know-it-alls that have been raving about Adi and Kanko and their other jellybaby favourites. Not so certain now? We are going to bleed on Saturday, and we will continue to bleed until we stop self-destructing by picking limited individuals and hasbeens and wannabes.
November 10th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
#458 David:
David, What are you talking about?
It was an Up and Under by S Jones aimed at the isolated Kirshner, Shaw’s hit was marginally late and thus not penalised, Kirshner was totalled for the next 2 months.
Didn’t you watch the 3rd Test at JHB?
November 10th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
#456 cab: lol, I’ve never seen pik the dom gym oke
will youtube it but the uncooth pharmacist is hilarious
#457 Hondo: I’m impressed by your attention to detail
#458 David: it’s the Boks we’re talking about, of course it went straight up in the air
November 10th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
#442 David:
Lets agree to call it a Draw then – our friends at Wiki tell us that the Ethnic split is 87% ‘European’ (mostly Italian, then Spanish).
The President may be interested in the new Bok lineup for Toulouse, her name is ‘Cristina Kirchner’.
The Supreme Court Justice is ‘Ricardo Lorenzetti’ which Im picking did not originate in Zaragosa.
November 10th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
#462 Big Hit: oops, it was the Lions :blush:
November 10th, 2009 at 6:17 pm
#460,
The pie is in the oven already…
Le Humble pie
November 10th, 2009 at 6:21 pm
#462 Big Hit:
can’t afford not to in my profession
#458 David:
David,
Kirshner was isolated at the RIGHT back corner, being a left footer he ran across to open up his line clearing angle, the Lions anticipated it and he paid the price
A better fullback would have kicked to the LEFT touch line, allowed the Boks a right hand line out.
See my point?
November 10th, 2009 at 6:23 pm
To me parity in the scrums, and the defense of the flyhalf’s and inside center’s channels is paramount to our success. We will fail if the aforementioned falls apart.
Go the Springbokke
November 10th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
#460 catleya: I am not so worried about bleeding on Saturday. It’s Friday evening that worries me….
November 10th, 2009 at 6:37 pm
#461 Hondo:
No, I couldn’t watch it, thank goodness. I just can’t imagine Shaw covering that much ground.
November 10th, 2009 at 6:43 pm
#463 WakaNathan:
I checked as well, and you’re quite right. 60% of immigants are of Italian descent. Amazing.
November 10th, 2009 at 7:01 pm
#469 David:
You better believe it!
Just to show how slow Kirshner is
Shaw is deceptively fast, considering his age 35 it’s amazing,
November 10th, 2009 at 7:08 pm
#467 Die_Valk: They think were are facing a “toad in the hole”, but it will end up le humble pie as you say. There was this massive backlash about the frontrows which led to the bench being beefed up, but I believe we are arrogant to think we are gonna run around with *** abandon against this French team. Our team selection smacks of this, with Adi at 12 “because he can put Mossie away”kamtag, and “mister-runaround-man-Kanko-can’t-control-the-ball-behind-a-retreating-scrum” prima donna.
Worst of all we pick “worldcup wonder oupa Danie” to cover for him. What the hell. Guys, we are missing the trick here. We don’t need more runners. We need tacklers- guys who can tackle and get up and tackle and get up and tackle, etc etc. the whole game long. We can’t have Brussow doing the tackling- he has to attack some of the tackle balls, and to do this he needs to stay on his feet. Schalla is good for a couple of tackles, but he is a far cry from the guy he was a couple of seasons ago.
And to add insult to injury, you guys are baying for a blown-up ********-with-a-puncturehole-in-the-arse with a **** around like a balloon playing style with no respect for structure, and Bigfoot’s cousin Leadfoot bekruip-my-van-agter-en-tackle-my Deysel, to be included on the bench as cover. These guys have promise, but have a long way to go defensively before they can even think of trying to step up.
I am so convinced we are heading down south to Perth in Toulouse that I solemnly promise to never show my face on Keo again if I am wrong.
November 10th, 2009 at 7:08 pm
#468 Kronung:
November 10th, 2009 at 7:11 pm
#468 Kronung: Friday evening will just be the start my friend- it is the bleeding of the heart and soul the next morning that is the worst.
November 10th, 2009 at 7:31 pm
#471 Hondo:
I’ve never considered Kirchner as being slow. He probably didn’t believe that Shaw was able to move that fast and took his time. A fatal mistake of judgement, I agree.
November 10th, 2009 at 7:32 pm
#184 rangerman: me, a quota blogger? ha ha ha
November 10th, 2009 at 7:36 pm
#470 David:
They couldnt get out of Italy after WWII quick enough.
November 10th, 2009 at 7:40 pm
#470 David:
treat yourself to watching ‘The Motorcycle Diaries’ one day. Excellent movie about a young Med-school student, Che Guevera, and his mate who decide to travel the length of Sth America on an old motorbike. They start in Buenos Aires, and a bit of the Italian ethnicity comes out there.
Good movie, breathtaking scenery. And reminds you how carefree life was when you when in your 20’s……*sigh*
November 10th, 2009 at 7:58 pm
This French game is one i am really looking forward to….the frequency of the tri nations and super 14 has …imo…almost resulted in overkill…..
Have a sneaking suspicion this may be a bridge too far for a Bok team that must be running on empty….
Of course i am thrilled that PDV has seen fit to call in a scrum specialist as well as recall CJ VD Linde. Also Wiaan du Preez and the scrummaging hooker A Strauss on the bench with CJ implys that despite PDVS assertions to the contrary the Bok Management realise that the scrum is an area of concern. How long till Wiaan and CJ are 1 st choices?
I am sure the Kiwis and Aussies will be dissapointed to see the Boks are fixing the problems…..unlike Jake, who fell for the spin of not playing a fetcher ,i believe PDV is a quick learner and will ruthlessly do whatever is required.
Heart says Boks…brain says France by 12…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:06 pm
#478 grant10:
you can now follow barney on twitter it will soothe your troubled soul…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:07 pm
#479 gunther: LOL….no thanks….
How you G?
November 10th, 2009 at 8:12 pm
#480 grant10:
wet and cold but business is good and I am looking forward to the rugger…. I reckon if we put serious pressure on their ten we will prevail…he is over the pienaar persuasion in that he blows hot and cold and they have nothing on the bench…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:16 pm
#481 gunther: Ja…weathers been horrible….glad business is good! Also picked up on my side…hope 2010 will be a lot better.
I dont know much about the french….so will adapt a wait and see….They do seem to be rattling the sabres a fair bit….may all get a bit out of hand i reckon.
November 10th, 2009 at 8:19 pm
#479 gunther: What you have to realise Gunther ’some’ of us struggle to blog let alone twitter….G10 and I would probably not even be able to log on!! Heheheheh
Grant, tell me you are still a computer numpty like me!!
Actually I did try to twitter but got lost somehow!!
Have heard that David LLoyd (Bumble) Cricket…does a great twitter! I’m buggered if I can find out how to do it tho!!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:20 pm
#482 grant10:
in the words of ollie le roux it will be a war out there….
November 10th, 2009 at 8:21 pm
#483 carol:
grant will love it …. he loves the inside scoop…also victor ..he is (unwittingly) hilarious…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:23 pm
#485 gunther: Are you telling me that Victor Matfield has a twitter?
November 10th, 2009 at 8:25 pm
the blonde does all the twittering,skyping ,etc ad naiseum…its getting impossible to get laid these days…technology ,politics and business pickingh up is leading to a rather monastic type existence.
Going to La Med Fri night to watch the boks….
Just rugby…speak to your lady…lets go through ….grab a chow and a beer or 2??
November 10th, 2009 at 8:25 pm
#486 carol:
it is legendary…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:27 pm
#487 grant10: I seem to remember ‘rationing’ when the book was being written!!
You did make a lot of tea though, kept your mind off other nocturnal activities!! lol
November 10th, 2009 at 8:28 pm
#488 gunther: I have to find out how this twitter works…..
Victors thoughts would be enlightening…..
“Shall I shave today…..Nahhhhh”
November 10th, 2009 at 8:29 pm
apparently even gary gold the scrum coach tweets…sharkgirl follows him religiously…grant get with the program buddy, you know you love “breaking news” twitter will put you ahead of the rest
November 10th, 2009 at 8:30 pm
#487 grant10:
don’t eat at la med if you want to still be alive to watch the rugger rather grab a burger at caprice…. trust me I worked at La med long time ago….
November 10th, 2009 at 8:32 pm
twitter is for twits.
November 10th, 2009 at 8:32 pm
#491 Transformation:
lol…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:34 pm
#489 carol: permanent rations now….blondes prioritys…job…dog….big gap….G10….
#491 Transformation: Blonde follows Bob…skinstad that is …not Mugabe.
#492 gunther: i go to La Med quite often….have only had pizzas there…Caprice is cool but dammit it gets ultra packed…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:35 pm
#493 WakaNathan:
is that a t-shirt?
November 10th, 2009 at 8:36 pm
#494 gunther: La Med about a 5 minute walk from my spot….so thats cool…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:37 pm
#491 Transformation: I am going with the blonde to some or other do where Aaron Mokoena is 1 of the guest speakers
November 10th, 2009 at 8:38 pm
#493 WakaNathan: Hey, I have just found Victor and have seen he likes Chinese food and will miss the sun for the next 3 weeks in Europe!!
He was wondering who the Sharks, WP and Lions fans were following on the eve of the Currie Cup final!
Have I struck gold?
Nahhhhhh…..his style needs some polishing.
Get Soda Joe to write for him!!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:40 pm
#495 grant10: It’s tough in Clifton!!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:41 pm
#500 carol: yes….horrible job living here…but someones gotta do it…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:43 pm
Grant, John Smit twitters too…just started!!
I could get into this stuff!!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:46 pm
#502 carol: tell him G10 says he must go back to hooker or retire….
Just dont give \him my address…he is bigger than me!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:47 pm
#498 grant10: good, ask him to stop being a foooking liability…that guy has cost us too many penalties!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:49 pm
#503 grant10:
I have already told him about you…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:49 pm
#504 Transformation: Looking forward to meeting him….really hope Parreira can do the business….are you glad Bennis back??
November 10th, 2009 at 8:50 pm
#503 grant10:
He is not bigger than you. Only fatter.
#505 gunther: Bugger…
#501 grant10: My heart bleeds for you…..
As for Smitty he would probably prefer to play hooker – how does he convince PDV tho?
Your address is safe with me,unless they send Percy over to charm it out of me!!
Montyfan saw him (Percy) in Camps Bay today, why is he not over here touring with the team?
November 10th, 2009 at 8:52 pm
#507 Robzim: Hahahahah – Hi Rob, he will need the extra inslulation for touring up here!!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:52 pm
#507 Robzim: LOL….well i am still kak scared of him!!!
He gets a version of my comments i am knackered….especially being an ex flyhalf who actually knows diddly squat about the front row!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:53 pm
#508 grant10: Do your ‘Doe Eye’ look, he will be putty!!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:53 pm
#459 Hondo:
“His record of try/Test is better than most centres bar Dannie Gerber”
How many tries has Meisiekind scored in his 24 tests, Hondo?
November 10th, 2009 at 8:54 pm
#510 carol:
Hi Carol,
I guess Bakkies does not twitter
It sounds a bit ***
November 10th, 2009 at 8:55 pm
#509 carol:
actually it was his decision to move…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:56 pm
#509 carol: He is on ‘leave’….i will look out for him and Tasmin….hope there stuff sorted.
November 10th, 2009 at 8:56 pm
#508 grant10:
he will be lookng for a fly half past his prime with a dodgy knee and a disobedient dog and a suck in speedo…
November 10th, 2009 at 8:57 pm
#507 Robzim:
oi, behave – he is still the bok captain
my wife, daughter and her fiance are leaving tomorrow to see the rest of the family in cpt.
what’s the weather likely to be?
clearing, i hope
November 10th, 2009 at 8:57 pm
#512 carol: screw that…i will outrun the fatty over 100m…after that i am in serious trouble….achilles and all!!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:59 pm
#517 gunther: speedo with the package enhancer….dodgy achilles…knees in great shape….you got me mixed up with Puma!
November 10th, 2009 at 8:59 pm
#514 Robzim: Went to look for Bakkies and all that came up was some You Tube clips, Bakkies Botha elbows Phil Waugh and Bakkies Botha injures Adam Jones!!! Sort of a theme running there!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:00 pm
#515 gunther: Was it?
November 10th, 2009 at 9:01 pm
sipping on Old Brown Sherry….blonde twittering with J Smit…pictures of Boks on plane…cool stuff!
Old Brown is strange stuff….a couple of glasses and warm and fuzzy….yummy!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:02 pm
#518 charo:
Hi,
Unfortunately still a lot of rain tomorrow with 100% cloud cover. Then lighter rain on Thursday clearing by Friday.
Just joking about John.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:03 pm
#516 grant10: Give Percy my love, say Carol from The Cotswolds WILL meet him some day!
Your kneees are in danger with all those steps up and down to the Clifton Beaches!! Boy, that was hard work!!
I have heard a tennis ball is the usual speedo accessory!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:09 pm
#525 carol: The stairs are a challenge….but does keep me strong….do a half hour walk a day religiously tpo Camps Bay and back….but still struggle with the burning achilles….my son came 2 nd in a major Mountain race….was interviewed and will be on tv again….he is doing really well for someone who is not a pro…
November 10th, 2009 at 9:12 pm
Blonde reckons she is gonna ask PDV to play CJ at 3 permanently….reckons she never seen me so excited before when i heard he was in the squad!!LOL
November 10th, 2009 at 9:16 pm
#527 grant10:
I guess if she can convince him to get Botha the Prop back as well it will be the cherry on the cake for u.
Friday will be very tough – I am happy with the Bok team though including the bench.
Is your son doing trial running?
November 10th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
#528 Robzim:
trial should read trail
November 10th, 2009 at 9:19 pm
#524 Robzim:
thanks mate.
they will be there for a week so will probably experience 4 seasons in that time.
js…i know you’re joking..but the lad has but on too much bulk for my liking. shudder to think what he will look like 10 years after giving up sport
November 10th, 2009 at 9:19 pm
OK guys, looks like I can leave a message on John Smits twitter, what should I say to him about the France match?
November 10th, 2009 at 9:21 pm
#528 Robzim: Yes Rob…trail running…he really is quite the athlete….i was never into distance running at all….his mom is a determined German Blonde so thats probably the genes…i was all football and rugby….he runs in mountains for 6 bloody hours….
Being a young single 25 year old he does run the risk of having to change running clubs every few monthe….far too popular he is i am afraid…perhaps his mothers genes there as well!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:22 pm
#526 grant10: Can you get achilles injuries fixed?
Your son was born to run I would say, he has very long legs!!
Blonde will only see you MORE excited when BJ ‘comes home’ too!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:23 pm
#528 Robzim:
i hear a lot about bj being our saviour.
can’t for the life of me think why.
bj had a troubled career as a 3 – in s14 and for the boks.
many bloggers, ok mostly bulls, crucified him.
to me, he was adequate, but a little liable to give away penalties.
dodgy binding…a la wikus blaauw
November 10th, 2009 at 9:24 pm
#531 carol: tell him to scrum like a real tighthead…!
No…wish them well from the keo nightowls…#528 Robzim: Rob…yes…i like the team too…and honestly believe the better front row is on the bench…so at least we covered in case of implosion!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:25 pm
#530 charo:
I remember seeing a picture of him in a bicycling magazine a while ago – standing next to a MTB dressed up in cycling clothes.
Well, all I can say he is not going to challenge Lance Armstrong on the uphills but coming down he should build up one hell of a momentum.
Anyway, his rugby achievements are just about second to none.
#533 carol:
this is getting out of control now
#533 carol: If Bj is selected i will expect a b…..no…too much sherry!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:27 pm
Waka is right twitter is for twits, when do these rugby players like Victor and John get to still twitter away on Twitter. I doubt WP Nel spends any time twittering away on his Pc. Talking kak on keo is bad enough imagine still twittering away on twitter also. No wonder we get done cv the breakdown. I wonder if Harinorduquy or Chabal spend any time on Twitter too.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:28 pm
#534 charo: Ja…CJ too actually…but i still reckon they a better option than the skipper…
I know guys get upset but i reckon old Smitty is the ideal bench player now…can cover all 3 front row spots without being the best in any of them.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:29 pm
#532 grant10:
Lucky guy – I guess if he runs away from them he does not always go flat out
November 10th, 2009 at 9:29 pm
#535 grant10: Bwahahha I’m not going to be rude to him!!
#536 Robzim: Rob, you are on fire tonight….was he in lycra?
#537 charo: Yes see Grant on 538 I may have to get some of this sherry it has a great effect!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:30 pm
#539 skopskiet: Oh hello to our ‘Lillte Ray of Sunshine’.
Howzit Skop?
Do you have a message for John?
November 10th, 2009 at 9:31 pm
Just hope CJ doesn’t drop you and got pummelled in the scrums G10, seeing that he didn’t play that much rugby the last few weeks.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:32 pm
#539 skopskiet:
LoL,
I guess if u ask Os du Randt about a twitter he would probably think it is a spare part of a tractor or something.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:33 pm
I reckon that ex french 3 had that scrum doing loads of live scrums today…..
Just lucky CJ was not there….that B front row would have destroyed that A teams confidence….pushed them onto the Wanderers golf club …..
November 10th, 2009 at 9:34 pm
#541 Robzim: he has his hands full….dont know whether to be proud or worried!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:36 pm
#544 nama1: ja…it is a concern hey….like Heinke…never easy to walk straight back in and handle…..okes will crucify me if that happens!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:37 pm
I have been trying to find out what the deal with ‘Joost’ is, seems he also likes b… j… and cocaine!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:39 pm
#542 carol:
On fire, I wish – in fact I think I might still suffer from hypothermia.
Yip, full Lycra with short white socks and cycling shoes with cleats.
btw Amanda is very disappointed to hear that the French hooker Dimitri Szarzewski is only on the bench. To her he is just about what Percy is to you.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:41 pm
#549 carol: Most okes dont like cocaine….get me an oke that dont like a ….and i will get you a very strange oke!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:44 pm
Got a do on tomorrow nite with a firm of attorneys…and we doing like a drumming session??
Some place in the city…snacks…booze and drumming!!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:45 pm
tell John if they don’t win Friday they should just carry on twittering and don’t bother coming back to sunny SA just keep on twittering instead.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:46 pm
If Pienaar’s going to be a fixture on the Bok bench from now, I think a 5-2 bench split is the way to go for the Boks from now. He will play at scrumhalf for the SHarks at the S14 right? Now Danie and Bekker can both be on the bench, while a loosehead and tighthead can also be there!
Adi Jacobs and Fourie at centre need to outrun the French centres, to cancel the possibilities of being dominated. But I back Jaque Fourie to keep Yann David on the backfoot.
Ecstatic over CJ, Wian and Adriaan being on the bench. Will C be a Bok option next year? Because I doubt Gurthro and Heinke will be in the mix anytime soon. And I wish we’d get a fullback with an X-factor! Kirchner is solid, but he won’t frighten other teams. Looking forward to Louis Ludik making a claim for the Bok number 15 jersey next year!
But I think if the Boks are in their usual peak condition, they will outlast the French, whom I predict will tire as the match progresses. The key will be to get early points against them and the odd drop goal from Morne, because they are an emotional bunch, the French.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:48 pm
#553 skopskiet:
smittie will surprise you friday night.
the bok front row have had fuggal guidance from any expert – just tried to find their own way.
de villiers’ short sharp session will help hugely.
now, pdv, get a permanent scrumming coach – please.
the elv’s are gone.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:49 pm
Then I’m very normal
November 10th, 2009 at 9:50 pm
#554 Mbhubesi: ja…cool post…hope CJ comes back asap…
November 10th, 2009 at 9:50 pm
#556 Die_Valk: LOL…good on you mate!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:52 pm
#555 charo: Yes…i hope so…and you right there….we simply have to have a scrum expert on hand….should of appointed 1 at start of season already….
Os…Proudfoot or even the Frenchie….well worth it ..
November 10th, 2009 at 9:54 pm
#553 skopskiet: hi skopskiet, i know that jake is in france already on irb duties & other winning ways consulting work. He should be tweeting some information about the weather conditions in toulouse to john, victor and fourie and maybe a game plan seeing that kanko has been included in the team.
November 10th, 2009 at 9:56 pm
#550 Robzim: I may have to check Demitri out!!
Are cleats on cycling shoes a good or bad thing btw?
Have you been boating again today, hence the hypothermia!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:58 pm
#551 grant10: You make me laugh!!
Anyway enjoy the drumming…sounds very tribal!! Don’t get too carried away!!
November 10th, 2009 at 9:58 pm
damn…i posted on wrong thread now…bloody sherry…
Repost…Rob…skop…tassies reckons we do a get together for the Irish or italian test….what say you gents….?
November 10th, 2009 at 10:02 pm
#562 carol: I will do a U2 impersonation….make Bono proud!!
Will be a jorl i reckon.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:06 pm
Shaun Sowerby reckons he would have given Bok cap back …in order to have qualified for France….see superrugby arcticle those interested
November 10th, 2009 at 10:08 pm
#564 grant10: Do the drum bit from ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’!!
John has not replied to my ‘tweet’, I may resign from Twitter!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:09 pm
SA A beat england by 4 wickets in 20 20 match tonight.
Gonna be a tough series!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:10 pm
#561 carol:
Cleats are essential but it makes you walk funny unless you are Italian or called Lance.
I do not like these Aussie jokes
#563 grant10:
It will be cool, just let me know.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:10 pm
#566 carol: My thoughts exactly!!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:12 pm
#568 Robzim: Will do….Tassies enjoys the Hout Bay Yacht club…but bloody far for you!
May need to find a spot in the middlre…firemans arms always cool….but plenty of time…
Croke park….82000 Irish….big screen…a few Guiness…my sort of day!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:17 pm
ok Grant can try do a Italy or Ireland test get together.
Yes Charo I think getting P. De Villiers prop in was a bit of a master stroke to get some kop into the front row technique so I’m expecting some rigting in our front 5 Friday. However I’m also expecting our back row to get some surprises from messrs Dusetoir, Harinorduquy and Picamoles with Bonnaire and Chabal coming off the bench.
Its going to be a mammoth war, and if we want to come away victorious then we can’t give an inch the first half hour because if they get away early will be tough coming back. We have to take the game from the front on the front foot and never let off the gas otherwise if they sniff any blood or weakness will be tickets from there.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:20 pm
#571 skopskiet: cool
November 10th, 2009 at 10:22 pm
#570 grant10:
HTB yacht club or any other place is fine, no problem.
As long as they also sell normal beer – I struggle with the black stuff
I wonder where is that crazy dude called Slappes.
Fawk – he caught you badly the one night with Sharkey
November 10th, 2009 at 10:24 pm
i remember the 97 test…Boks came out blazing….Frogs folded….
Frogs atre talking a big game…i reckon throw the kitchen sink in first few exchanges…they blinhk…we win…
If we sit back ….ooohhh hell!!!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:26 pm
Harinorduquy and Chabal and Nallet esp are looking for a war of note. We think Bakkies and Schalk are the enforcers, well watch out for those 3 plus the rest. Bismark better keep his cool, there going to be some major cockerel feathers flying about the place. Some big centers to contend with and a big kicking full back. Yup anybody that thought Nz in Nz is the real McCoy well I reckon this could be bigger.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:27 pm
#573 Robzim: Cool….will chat with Tassies…ja..Slappes a bad oke…SL wanted to moer me for a week!! LOL
HBYC is very cool…cheap club prices and all sorts of booze….didnt sell Windhoek though but tassies the main man there so i am sure he will make a plan for me!!
And they got a cool big screen!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:28 pm
#568 Robzim: Thought you would appreciate those!
Now I understand the cleat issue, thanks!
Hout Bay sounds best, can I come?
November 10th, 2009 at 10:29 pm
#574 grant10:
With the Frogs you never know – it just depends what mood they are in on the day.
If they are on, no one can beat them (ask the AB’s)
If the are off, even Scotland or Samoa stands a chance.
I try not to worry too much about it.
#496 gunther:
no, but ‘twitter starts with a twit’ could be.
#574 grant10: When did the Boks last win in France btw?
November 10th, 2009 at 10:30 pm
We bear Frogs and Irish away must go down as most succesful year in history of rugby….better than 95 and 2007…no doubts…
Statue of PDV in bronze in front of Loftus…Bloem…Tank and Newlands…
November 10th, 2009 at 10:31 pm
#580 carol: 1997
November 10th, 2009 at 10:32 pm
#539 skopskiet:
In 1.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:33 pm
#582 grant10: Yikes!!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:34 pm
#578 Robzim: ja…who knows who pitches with those okes….gut says a bridge too far…
November 10th, 2009 at 10:35 pm
#575 skopskiet:
Fair play to Skoppie for predicting the Bok loss against the Tigers.
I drove all the way to Leicester in the bloody rain to watch us get hammered in every department! What a sorry lot they were..
#581 grant10: bear is beat!
#581 grant10:
Yip, a statue would just be fine.
There must also be a facility where you can plug in headphones to listen to recordings of his “pearls of wisdom” while you admire the statue.
Especially at Loftus…
yeah that 97 test with Pieter Roussouw having a blinder was almost the zenith point of that Mallet champion team. Frenchies didn’t know what hit them. And their crowd really appreciated the class they were shown that night. This time however I don’t see the Tricoloures capitulating like this, can be sure they’ll be up for a fight from the beginning, but if we catch them early and put some doubt in their minds we can take them. If they get wind in their sails it will be a long evening for sure. All depends on opening exchanges, how our front row handles tight and our back row handle the break downs will set the stage, plus our mid field defense holding their big charging centers or Kirchner dealing with the bombs.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:36 pm
#586 Yetirat: LOL…bummer !
November 10th, 2009 at 10:36 pm
#588 Robzim: LOL
November 10th, 2009 at 10:38 pm
#580 carol:
last Millenium.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
#513 nama1:
tries/Tests
JF 27/50
DG: 19/24
‘The Legend’ Fleck :10/31
M Joubert: 9/30
Barry: 3/32
Jacobs: 7/28
JdV: 18/58
Fourie came on as a sub on 14 times out of 50, where Gerber never experienced that, in terms of try per Test minutes he is the closest to Gerber!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
Boks mustnt blink….cant go back an inch in the scrum….if we get a shove on those frogs will start doubting…gotta make them doubt …
Okay chaps and ladies….things to do…see you all….
CJ is back…this okes a happy camper…albeit a bit pi ssed!!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:41 pm
#577 carol:
You are more than welcome.
Hout Bay is a cool place – they even have their own republic.
There is also a guy in the harbour that allows you to ride on his tame giant seal.
For a small fee he even takes photo’s.
Your friends in England will be so impressed – “Carol on a wild African seal”
It is genuine – there is really such a guy – they call him Bertie the seal man
November 10th, 2009 at 10:42 pm
#594 grant10:
Cheers Grant, I might also have a light headache tomorrow.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:51 pm
#586 Yetirat: Hope you got a good curry after!!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:52 pm
#592 WakaNathan: That sounds really bad!!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:52 pm
#590 grant10:
It was most distressing.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:53 pm
#594 grant10: Night Grant….remember a pint of water before your head hits the pillow, think of the drumming with a headache!!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:54 pm
#595 Robzim: Seal riding!!
They would be impressed!
November 10th, 2009 at 10:54 pm
#597 carol:
I didn’t have time to eat I was too busy getting grief from all the Poms I’d been tee’ing up for a thumping the entire week…
I do have a lot of love for the curries in this place though. I never stray too far from our local Balti Hut.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:56 pm
there going to be cockerell feathers flying all over the show, cos the boks are going to get stuck into them. dont matter what they do, i tink Bokke going to clean their coupe.
November 10th, 2009 at 10:59 pm
#601 carol:
It is a Southern Elephant seal (Mirounga leoline I think) – they can be dangerous but the one in HtB harbour is docile and tame.
Carol, I am just kidding, although there is really such a seal and a guy who claims to be a seal handler. You cannot ride on it, only touch it and get your photo taken with it.
These are wild animals and I think it is pathetic that the authorities are turning a blind eye on what is happening in that harbour.
Humans should never interfere with wild animals.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:01 pm
so if we read it right
D G only one with almost a 1/1 ratio
J F 1/2
Fleck 1/3
Joubert 1/3
Jdv 1/3
Jacobs 1/4
Barry 1/10
Now I wonder who provided most assists
Also how many did F. Steyn get and how many did W. Olivier get?
November 10th, 2009 at 11:04 pm
#602 Yetirat: Must have been quite distressing!!
Where are you in Britain?
#604 Robzim: I know the dolphin handling centres are rather under scurutiny in the States!
Why do dying people often want to swim with dolphins? Interesting……!!
November 10th, 2009 at 11:06 pm
I’m outta here – Thanks for your company guys, I will tell you if John Smit replies to my ‘Tweet’.
(Bet you can hardly wait Skop)?
November 10th, 2009 at 11:09 pm
#607 carol:
Cheers Carol,
Tell him he must stick to a rugby-brook.
Lycra is too revealing.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:12 pm
Bravo een Bravo een, kom in?
November 10th, 2009 at 11:14 pm
Robzim , I would touch a dolphin and even a seal at a push. But the only great white I would touch is a dead one.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:15 pm
#605 skopskiet:
Gerber played in the amateur era – defences were not as organised and it was easier to score tries.
In the modern era 1/1 is unheard of.
He was probably still the best attacking centre we ever had.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:17 pm
#606 carol:
I am trapped in the arsehole of England…..Northampton.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:17 pm
#610 Slappes:
Howzit man, Yip those Sharkeys are dangerous – you must be careful.
I had a chat to Grant about it a bit earlier tonight
November 10th, 2009 at 11:18 pm
can say something that if we take care of this French team then we’ve achieved something. Perhaps almost on par with taking Nz in Nz or better, because these guys are riding high at the moment. Probably best team in Europe and right up with Nz, Sa, Aus in the class stakes. I reckon this era of French rugby is getting close to epitome of their ability. They took Nz in Nz earlier this year just like us.
We beat France on Friday I’ll be pretty surprised, and then every Pdv doubter can take his hat off to him. Because then not only will Pdv have done more than any coach before in a clean sheet Eoyt 2008. Tri nations win 5 from 6 in 2009. Br Lions tour win. No.1 Irb ranking. Wins in Nz 2008 and 2009 – but also he would have beaten France away which hasn’t been done since Mallet in 1997. Paint it any way you like but if we beat France on Friday in Toulouse then Pdv would have qualified himself as a coach that knows how to win.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:21 pm
Robzim, yeah but Grant apparently becomes a seal after too much sherry.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
So here is my take on the team selection and things that we will have to keep a look out for – There will be the battle up front that is going to be fundamental in the outcome of the match. I have seen that a hard battle upfront certainly have an effect on the way a team dominates and controls the match. France have one of the biggest front five combinations in world rugby at the moment. We must see if South Africa can stand up to the task that have been set by these players.
And More
November 10th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
PdV already done himself proud, but Bokke going to stuff em regardless imo.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:27 pm
on the udda hand, if we slip up and lose which under circumstances is very highly possible and even perhaps could be construed as probable the way this showdown is panning out. No matter how well we play. If we lose Friday, the butcher knives will be out in search of a slagting, boy oh boy, can bet your last raking dollar on it.
No place to hide Friday night, knife edge stuff, one slip and its ballas off, guillotine at the ready.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:31 pm
#545 Robzim:
atually os is on twitter too…
November 10th, 2009 at 11:32 pm
Skop, agree. Our pack better pitch up cause thats what the french always target. Watch the french defence lines, theyre always offside.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:35 pm
#611 Robzim:
Habanas strike rate not too shabby then: 35 tries in 54.
About 1/1.5
I know he’s a wing, but still.
Gunther, OS twittering? Nooit.
i can see it now, the frogs are going to come out dam busters and the bokke are going to bust them, beast going to blow a hole thru them and cause the first bit of panic at african strength, then burger going to iron out some unsuspectuing chabal or bigboy centre like they never knew existed, then it might get nasty when their cockerells start to flair – in which case bakkies, bismarck, rossouw and cj will end the nights activities with murder on the dancefloor, the bokke remix.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:39 pm
Jong its gonna be one moerse oorlog Friday night. Who’s the ref he better carry a set of cuffs on his belt and a six shooter in his holster besides his whistle in his mouth, he’s gonna need them.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:41 pm
there going to be shouts of:
‘merde’ and ‘putain’!
their might even be a few:
’sacre bleus’ and ‘zut alors’
but alors it will rain french tears in toulouse.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:43 pm
Pakslae gaan die paddas opv_k ! Daniesorous just loves those heavy fields.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:43 pm
maybe Barnesey?
November 10th, 2009 at 11:44 pm
#593 Hondo:
I think you may be confused. Meisiekind and JF are not the same person.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:46 pm
Os twittering god verdompt wtf this world coming to, may as well get ready for Armageddon or Mayan premanition 2012 earth shift on its axis, we about to hit the wall.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:51 pm
Skop,
yeah the worlds gonna end. Os computer picked up a virus and he scrubbed the hard drive with dettol.
November 10th, 2009 at 11:58 pm
Nooit if Os is twittering then I give up. Hands up, No Mas, get me the fok outa here. Asb!
November 11th, 2009 at 12:18 am
#603 cab: Cab I don’t think that we will win this one. Just don’t. Bench is good, but Adi is going to have a helluva time handling a 105 kg angry kid with a point to prove. Then our bench looks light. Although Ryan could play wing with ease and Bekker plays in the backline a lot too.
November 11th, 2009 at 12:20 am
#614 skopskiet: aye.
November 11th, 2009 at 12:22 am
#618 skopskiet: I dunno. 3N & B&IL seems enough success in one year?
But if Adi plays badly or outclassed that will be used against PdV.
November 11th, 2009 at 7:29 am
#397 carol: Hi Carol have never been to Corsica or Sicily, its on my list of places to go to, we are hoping to go in June next year. We whant to go via UK – being dying to see England Ireland and Scotland, but when we came the last time, all we saw was Heathrow a short tour of London and Harrods, before we noticed my sister had chicken pox and we had to flee before we got quarantined in London paying with pounds which we couldn’t afford. Never forgiven her to this day!
November 11th, 2009 at 7:31 am
#539 skopskiet: you’re not going to believe this skoppie, but unless it’s an impersonator, caveman is in fact on twitter
November 11th, 2009 at 7:41 am
#393 WakaNathan: Wakanathan, if you have been to Villa Simius, we may even have bumped into each other
My aunt owns a holiday home at Capo Boy, which is just before Villa Simius, so we go to Villa Simius for entertainment and Gelato
November 11th, 2009 at 7:44 am
#637 Sharksgirl: Sorry Wakanathan was also meant to add, I haven’t been to Alghero since I was a teenager, but I have heard from my cousins that it is now the in-place in Sardinia!
November 11th, 2009 at 7:53 am
#605 skopskiet:
Skops.
WO 0/24
F Styen: 5/36
But that might not be fair toward Fran, he mostly played at FB or wing, not at centre
Gerber is phenomenal, because his test flyhalf was not renown for passing the ball, but Jaques Fourie comes the nearest in recent decades to Gerber.
November 11th, 2009 at 8:01 am
#632 SodaJoe:
Adi will do the Adi: fake tackles,
I’ll be surprised if the Frogs will not target him, Kirshner and the damn slow Pietersen with a behind the back kicks
The bench is great, question is how far the Boks’ starting XV will get behind before the bench takes over?
November 11th, 2009 at 8:02 am
#491 Transformation: I do not Twitter, not that advanced
The Gary Gold thing was shown to me by a friend. There I have admited it!
November 11th, 2009 at 8:24 am
I think Adi will do just fine. He is not quite in JdV’s league but I think most of the worries over his defence are unfounded. If the Boks get good quick turnover ball he could be just the man with his eye for the gap. I agree he should be ahead of WO at this stage as WO has been consistent but seems to lack that X factor that an international centre should have. The real battle will be up front. Whoever dominates there will take it. My biggest concern in the forwards bench. If PdV keeps JS on for the whole game, moving him to hooker later on, as he seems to enjoy, will Strauss be a wasted sub?
November 11th, 2009 at 9:03 am
#614 skopskiet: Amen
November 11th, 2009 at 9:34 am
#432 Staal: Ja you’re right. It was actually the game where the Bulls had to beat the Stormers by some big margin – 32 points I think? – it Newlands in order to make the Super 14 play-offs. And they did it by 33 points.
November 11th, 2009 at 12:35 pm
#637 Sharksgirl:
ah yes, its a fine spot. And I might say that the gelati there are buonissimo. But not as good as the almond-milk granita in Sicily = perfecto !
November 11th, 2009 at 4:11 pm
CAB – I applaud your optimism but i think the Boks won’t beat the Frogs this Friday. We have seen the second stringers in action and thus far they haven’t shone. When the Boks are unsettled from their usual 22 they always never play well. However i still think it is good to get the fringe players involved now, sooner rather than later.
I hope Adi gets replaced ASAP with Olivier then we may have a chance. Also the fullback doesn’t promote confidence at all, i would prefer Jantjies there and he is not very good either.
The Frenchie backline is big and fast, i just can’t see this Bok backline being able to keep up.