digimag-banner

Jacobs, Kirchner to face France

Adi Jacobs starts at inside centre against France while Zane Kirchner has been handed the fullback berth.

It was an open secret that Jacobs would fill the midfield void left by Jean de Villiers, but Kirchner’s inclusion was less certain, with Ruan Pienaar having played in the position in two Tests against Australia in the Tri-Nations, and coach Peter de Villiers intimating that he was being groomed to play there on the year-end tour, given Frans Steyn’s imminent departure for French club Racing Metro.

Elsewhere, Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger should form a formidable flank combination, while the dynamic Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start in light of Pierre Spies’ injury.

The starting line-up boasts a total of 588 Test caps between them, while the bench boys add 180 to that figure. In a Test as close as Friday’s clash in Toulouse is expected to be, experience could well be the difference between victory and defeat.

The Springbok selectors have opted for a 5-2 bench split, with the bench the trio of, props Wian du Preez and CJ van der Linde, and hooker Adriaan Strauss will provide complete front row cover, while Pienaar’s utility value means he can fill in at 9, 10 or 15 and Wynand Olivier likely to get a run in the final quarter at centre, although he has played wing at Test level in the past.

‘The core of the match did duty during the Tri-Nations campaign and will provide us with stability going into this tough opening Test,’ De Villiers said.

‘There are a lot of experienced players in the starting 15 as well as on the bench which will be important to our continuity as well as to ensuring that we maintain our structures and play the way we want to.

‘I have full confidence in the new players who will be starting on Friday, they have shown their qualities before and we have to make sure we get the best out of them. The three newcomers are all good players in their own right. CJ is very experienced while both Adriaan and Wian have been part of the squad previously.’

Springboks - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

647 Responses to “Jacobs, Kirchner to face France”

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 2. caneReply to this comment :

Very Strong looking Team.

Lets not ***** about here………If France can beat this lot of DRAGONS…they deserve it.

• 3. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

No Johnson Either ?

No Wynand ?

I’m scared now . Very very scared. Forwards are solid everyone can see that but backs could be fragile .

• 4. Big HitReply to this comment :

Top team, should win.

#1 rugbygenius: crazy isn’t it, he’s at least as good as Kirchner :)

• 5. PumaReply to this comment :

Well good luck to the Boks. WO should have started the French have a monster at inside centre that weighs 105kg. Phew!! now worried about our centre channel.

I would have had Deysel on the bench too. Danie never impressed me much on Saturday. Then he can cover 8 and 4. Also he does play better in a better team.

• 6. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

#2 cane: Hayi sorry I forgot the DRAGONS thing . Whats this DRAGONS about anyway ??

• 7. cabReply to this comment :

well good luck to them, kanko better be ready to step up big time, cos this is not a game for the faint-hearted.

take the bull by the horns as was done in the perth test, go out there and be prepared to muller them for the fitst 30 mins, if the french still with them, got to keep it up the whole way and outgrit them.

• 8. shebeenReply to this comment :

man, kirchner and jacobs no match for frans steyn and jdv

• 9. ruffleReply to this comment :

#8 shebeen:
    Why? – because they black???

• 10. Kobus KittyReply to this comment :

Ja, just replace Adi Jacobs and this team is good.

The bench is pretty white, I assume PdV is telling the politicians “ja, they were injuuuuured… I can’t do anything about iiit”

• 11. puffReply to this comment :

As long as Olivier doesn’t need to cover wing.
    Aplon smoked him in the CC.
    I agree: Kanko, Jacobs and Kirchner must have big games.
    I wonder if our entire front row will be replaced and Big Vic will see out the remainder of the game as captain?

• 12. Storm outta hellReply to this comment :

Boks bench looking a lot better for the last twenty…I suppose Ruan comes on for Fourie..?

• 13. 2centsworthReply to this comment :

Solid team,big solid bench. good opportunity for Kanko! tight five really need to deliver. apparently the frogs have selected big and strong midfield, adi must get nice and low! I think Zane is better option that Ruan at 15, more physical.

• 14. nama1Reply to this comment :

Not convinced by the bench at all and there are not even “quotas” to blame in the mix. Just show the gap between the test team and the second in line. And then we say we have depth.

Anyway, this is the best PdV can do under the circumstances. Here’s hoping for the best.

Apart from Adi at centre I wonder if the “dark side” will be pleased with the team?

• 15. ruffleReply to this comment :

An excellent team. Only worry is at what stage of the game Schalk will get his yellow card.

• 16. AndrewBKReply to this comment :

good team, can’t be too many complaints.

• 17. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

Funny what the odd mercenary da$h and an injury can do to a lineup. Its still a formidable team with the real strength in the pack, but it just doesnt look so unbeatable with the Kirchners, Kankos and Jacobs (bec he’s out of position) there.

Kirchner looks reasonable in a Blues guernsey but he’s no Frans.

Kanko looks good on a dry warm fast track, but in heavier colder NH conditions ?

Adi is an excellent 13, quick on his feet, but a crash-tackling no12 he is not.

All to play for. Will be a magnificent match. Possibly (if France play to their potential) the best 2 sides in the World goin’ toe2toe.

• 18. groenieReply to this comment :

#1 rugbygenius:

yes we are lucky…

imagine that losers against a french backline with no player under 95kg

he will look like the little child be is in a WWE ring!

• 19. PawsReply to this comment :

15 Zane Kirchner – Going to miss F steyn here with his hugh boot. Not sure Zane is the man, but can’t really suggest anyone else for now

14 JP Pietersen – Personaly I do not like him as a player, he is a bit lazy and weak on defence in my oppinion. Saying that, he did have a good game in the cc semie. For now, don’t have any better to replace him, on tour anyway. Maybe that Free State Cheetha that was left at home.

13 Jaque Fourie – No problem

12 Adi Jacobs – Jacobs is off form, not the 2008 player Olivier would have been my choice here.

11 Bryan Habana – No problem

10 Morné Steyn – No problem

9 Fourie du Preez – No problem

8 Ryan Kankowski – Mmmmm .. not to sure, but lets see what he can do. Form has been up and down this year.

7 Schalk Burger – No problem

6 Heinrich Brüssow – No problem .. was PdeV seriously thinking of leaving him out?

5 Victor Matfield – no problem

4 Bakkies Botha – No problem

3 John Smit – How long must he still be carried because of his “captancey”? Time to put him to pasture, not a TH.

2 Bismarck du Plessis – No problem

1 Beast Mtawarira – Beast has been off form, lets hope his back.

Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier. – Bench looks OK

Conserned that some players might be ‘ring rusty’ and other perhapse ‘tired’

You never know which side will pitch .. hope for a good game, and a bok win.

• 20. Kobus KittyReply to this comment :

Why is Pienaar there? Surely there must be someone with more confidence available?

• 21. groenieReply to this comment :

#9 ruffle:

they are not black! and no they are just not as good as the other 2 mentioned

Why bring race into the matter, are you green?

• 22. PumaReply to this comment :

#8 shebeen: Agree. Not at all. Going to miss those two.

• 23. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

#18 groenie: I’m not sure. Yes these French are looking big but this style of match would have been right up Roses street.
    Best of luck to Zane though . I hope he can withstand the pressue.

• 24. ruffleReply to this comment :

#17 WakaNathan:
    The french lost by 20m against England in the 6 nations-no way they in the top 2.

• 25. PapooseReply to this comment :

#9 ruffle: DONT even start mate!

• 26. puffReply to this comment :

It appears the drawback of having such solid continuity in the first 15 is that the back-ups don’t get enough game time at test level.
    This is something the Bok brainstrust need to take into account when they plan for next year.
    I say rest some key players in 2010 and play second-choice players at test level more often.
    It may effect the outcome of a few games, but it’s crucial to build PROPER depth before 2011.

• 27. puffReply to this comment :

Plus it gives the front-line players some much needed rest.

• 28. KritikReply to this comment :

Lekker team, think the Frenchies are gonna get a lesson on Friday. We can grind it out or throw it around with this team. Shebeen, JDV and FS made their choices and new they would not get picked so the coach went for his next best…

• 29. PumaReply to this comment :

#17 WakaNathan: Adi been out of form for a long time now. Worried about him at 12. Going to miss JdV and Zane at FB not too sure about him. The best we have at the moment but damn are we going to miss Fransie at the back.

Kanko can play some very good rugga just has not had enough game time at this level. Just mostly been a fringe player this year. He has some good players around him and he does play well when there is a good fetcher in the side.

I thought that Deysel should have made this team ahead of Bekker who I don’t rate much. Especially that he come on for Bakkie after 60min. Bekker is not a 4.

• 30. deansegReply to this comment :

#9 ruffle:

You are a COMPLETE moron.

• 31. ruffleReply to this comment :

#21 groenie:
    thanks for your opinion. Considering the “bok supporter” are questionong the starting 2 boks i just wondered what he was thinking. In any case IN MY OPINION frans steyn is a walking disaster, while jacobs has proven himself. never had a bad game for the boks defensively and if he had please enlighten me. And by the way, Nonu is bigger and heavier than the french centre and jacobs stood up to him.

• 32. ruffleReply to this comment :

#30 deanseg:
    and what does that make you.

• 33. groenieReply to this comment :

#28 Kritik:
    who is Shebeen?

if you mean January isn’t it papsak?

• 34. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

HOW good will Zane be under the high ball and pressure from those big French centres ?

• 35. jakesfourieReply to this comment :

The best team we can select at this stage.
    This team should be good enough to beat the Frogs,but the “newbees” has to step-up.Those being Kirchner,Jacobs@12,Kanko.
    The French never has an off day against us,so we can expect them 2 come hard at us.
    I still believe that the loss on Friday should motivate us to work on the scrums,breakdown etc…so I think we’ll win by less than 7.

• 36. SonitoReply to this comment :

I just hope Kanko is tough enough for test rugby.

• 37. cabReply to this comment :

#23 rugbygenius:
    Rose?
    you back on the good stuff again genius?

• 38. groenieReply to this comment :

#31 ruffle:

that is why Jacobs it starting, no problem in that. I think it would have been better to play him at 13 and jaque at 12 but they will shift their channels i think on attack, jaque to run the ball up and jacobs to feed the line, he is one of the best in doing just that.

• 39. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

#37 cab: No sir. Just saying our options yes. Zane is good . I say let him have his turn . But if he’s rubbish this weekend – maybe we should look elsewhere . Look to a rosier future.

• 40. nama1Reply to this comment :

#8 shebeen:
    Can’t you guys give it a rest regarding Steyn and JdV? Those guys made their decisions knowing the consequences. They were willing to live with it. Why don’t you lot, who keep punting for their selection, do the same?

Just support the team selected by the coach, please.

• 42. puffReply to this comment :

I think the Bok front row will feel like they have yet another point to prove.
    More so now that the politicians went after Beast.
    Plus Burger also might feel he has a lot to prove after some people have been questioning his right to be there (crazy if you ask me).
    Also Bekker and Daniesaurus should be burning after Friday night.
    Hopefully they will come on in the second half with guns blazing.

• 43. bryce_in_ozReply to this comment :

#40 nama1:

Like CJ…

• 44. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

#41 SharkMarine: Just an option sir. I feel a bench place ahead of Ruan would be good. He played a better game than Ruan I think we all agree ? But thats a minor point. Our forwards will dominate .

• 45. ufoReply to this comment :

Good Luck to the Bokke!!

Bit worried about Kirchner… Big game to start for the real Boks… but really hope he pulls a huge frog outta the bag and surprises everyone!!!

• 46. DavidReply to this comment :

I don’t see what all the fuss is about losing Frans. Apart from his kicking he added very little else in his time at 15. Sure, he’ll develop into a great player, but based on his performances to date it’s not such a massive gap to fill.
    My major worry is Kanko, who I reckon is going to have his confidence shaken by some extremely “robust” french forwards.

• 47. John1976Reply to this comment :

My concern with this team is the two passengers in the forward pack, Matfield and Kanko. We need a collective effort from the whole pack if want to get the upper hand and gain momentum.

• 48. ad_ozReply to this comment :

What’s the fuss about Zane? You know every time he gets the ball he’ll kick a useless up and under, and the French don’t have the kicking game to really test him.

Jacobs is an issue. Punching above his weight already, and now he’s out of position as well. Lovely channel to attack that now, 9-10-12 hence the inclusion of Yann David.

• 49. toughnrumbleReply to this comment :

i’m backing adi to come good during this tour. this is a guy who’s payed good rugby for the last 8 or 9 years and should be in his best years now – he’s only 29. he’s had a rough run of form, but he’s a good rugby player who’s being unfairly criticised by a lot of people with short memories. he will need to be good to keep wynand on the bench though, because wynand’s had a great year and would be a good option too.

• 50. John1976Reply to this comment :

#46 David: I agree with your sentiments about Frans. He has not impress me at all in the fullback position and has added very little to our backline play.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

About the author

Ryan has written 2932 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator