Jacobs, Kirchner to face France

Adi Jacobs starts at inside centre against France while Zane Kirchner has been handed the fullback berth.

It was an open secret that Jacobs would fill the midfield void left by Jean de Villiers, but Kirchner’s inclusion was less certain, with Ruan Pienaar having played in the position in two Tests against Australia in the Tri-Nations, and coach Peter de Villiers intimating that he was being groomed to play there on the year-end tour, given Frans Steyn’s imminent departure for French club Racing Metro.

Elsewhere, Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger should form a formidable flank combination, while the dynamic Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start in light of Pierre Spies’ injury.

The starting line-up boasts a total of 588 Test caps between them, while the bench boys add 180 to that figure. In a Test as close as Friday’s clash in Toulouse is expected to be, experience could well be the difference between victory and defeat.

The Springbok selectors have opted for a 5-2 bench split, with the bench the trio of, props Wian du Preez and CJ van der Linde, and hooker Adriaan Strauss will provide complete front row cover, while Pienaar’s utility value means he can fill in at 9, 10 or 15 and Wynand Olivier likely to get a run in the final quarter at centre, although he has played wing at Test level in the past.

‘The core of the match did duty during the Tri-Nations campaign and will provide us with stability going into this tough opening Test,’ De Villiers said.

‘There are a lot of experienced players in the starting 15 as well as on the bench which will be important to our continuity as well as to ensuring that we maintain our structures and play the way we want to.

‘I have full confidence in the new players who will be starting on Friday, they have shown their qualities before and we have to make sure we get the best out of them. The three newcomers are all good players in their own right. CJ is very experienced while both Adriaan and Wian have been part of the squad previously.’

Springboks - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

647 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 51.siener: Reply to this comment

I believe/hope Adi will do well. He’s not a crash-ball 12, but he can take gaps that even Jean couldn’t. If he can put Jaque into space who knows what can happen. He’s not been in the greatest of form this year, but let’s see what he can do.

JPP and Habana should be fine.

I’m much more worried about Zane & Kanko. For Zane it’s obviously all new and even though he’s been in the squad for ages, Kanko has had very little time on the field.

Can the Bulls half-back duo keep their amazing form for a few more games this late in this year’s gruelling season? I really hope so since they have no clear replacements in the squad. Pienaar has lost all his confidence and Adams is very green.

I’m interested to see what Schalk can do at 7 and whether he can do it without being carded. Brüssow has barely set a foot wrong in a green jersey and I hope he’ll keep it up.

Vic & Bakkies have also played loads of rugby this year, so I hope they can keep it up.

I’m a bit worried for Beast, Bismarck & Smit. They’ve had a very long and hard season. It showed in the semi’s of the CC when the Cheetahs front-row manhandled them. The full front row on the bench is a good idea.

The rest of the bench are solid backups, but none of them can really be used as impact players.

• 52.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#24 ruffle:

I know this is BH’s One Great Theory to Rule Them All, but it has a tendency to bite you on the @ss.

On your analysis, if Boks lose against the team that lost to hopeless 6N mid-table Engl, then doesnt that mean that Boks tumble to just above Azerbaijan in the World Rankings ?

• 53.ufo: Reply to this comment

A bit worried about Wynand Olivier on the bench… If Adi gets replaced he may have to ruffle his hair..!!

:shock:

Adi to have a big one!!

• 54.deanseg: Reply to this comment

#32 ruffle:

For one thing, not a racist, apparently unlike you.

If someone voices an opinion saying two players are not good enough, an opinion that is completely objective, regardless of whether those players are of colour or not, that gives you absolutely no right to make ridiculous presumptions. ” Why? – because they black??? ”

Sad, really.

• 55.katman: Reply to this comment

This is potent team, ladies and gents. I think we’re about to see a masterclass in the wonderful art of frog squishing.

• 56.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#46 David: uhm….his kicking David….uhm….ja……50m penalties….uhm…ja…..no loss then :lol:

kanko will be fine. he plays huge forwards every week in the cc and s14.

• 57.toughnrumble: Reply to this comment

#47 John1976: ah my good friend john, stirring up the masses with his cutting insights. matfield’s a ‘passenger’, but you forget to mention how bismark lacks physicality and how brussouw’s tiny work rate is a huge problem for us.

• 58.ufo: Reply to this comment

Looking forward to the clash between the Incredible Hulk and the Caveman!!

Heard Marvel Comics scouts will be at the match!! :twisted:

• 59.ufo: Reply to this comment

bah humbug ^&*(%$

Incredible Schalk… and The Caveman!!

• 60.nama1: Reply to this comment

#43 bryce_in_oz:
    CJ was included because PdV do not feel that the remaining TH’s in SA are up to it at this stage. He always said that he would look at overseas based players if there is not one in SA who can do the job for him. CJ fits that view at this point because PdV would be foolish to call up WP Nel, for example, to play against France, Ireland and Italy at this stage.

He obviously also feel that in Kirchner and Pienaar (for Steyn) and Adi and WO (for JdV) he has adequate cover. So why call them up?

• 61.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Game to be won upfront – all going to be down to technique and wther the French are intimidated or not.

• 62.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#52 WakaNathan: they lost to Ireland too and only sneaked past Wales. Your problem is you rate only everyone against the ABs, that’s even an even worse way of doing things especially since they’re a pretty ordinary outfit this year.

• 63.WP_: Reply to this comment

Begs the question:

WHY THE HELL WAS BANDISE MAKU PICKED? other than to satisfy transformation targets?

I said this would happen when the team was picked. If the back up got injured, the real second string players would be called up i.e Adriaan Strauss and leave the quota in the stands, watching. Maku

• 64.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#62 Big Hit: they lost to Australia as well. Top 2 my foot.

• 65.cab: Reply to this comment

watch schalla cruch him, mad eyes and all, bosh.
    in fact, i reckon schalk’s face will light up like a xmas tree if the caveman is going to try carry the ball up.

yoh yoh yoh, i cant wait, what a strange time and day, friday.

• 66.usualsuspect: Reply to this comment

KANKOWSKI you BEAUTY!
    Silence all the critics,show them what a unique and talented player you are!

• 67.ufo: Reply to this comment

That Matfield’s an arrogant one…

Has anyone noticed how, whenever he leaps for the ball… he looks down his nose at the opposition… :lol:

• 68.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The usual favourites in the team, I see, but clearly an insurance policy as a bench. I predict swift appearances for Olivier, Rossouw, van der linde and wian du preez.

Strange that Strauss leapfrogged straight into the squad, hey…

• 69.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

#63 WP_: Sometimes selection has a lot more to do with long term plans than actual game time on a tour. Perhaps the coaching staff would like to bring guys they consider talented into the Springbok fold when they’re young to learn the culture, get some tips from the senior players – lessons they can take back to the CC and S14 next year and mature into a better players

• 70.toughnrumble: Reply to this comment

#63 WP_: exactly. if you’re going to pick a young black player to give him exposure in the dirt-tracker games, and to try to develop his game, then at least be honest about your agenda. don’t try to tell us all that he’s the third best hooker in south africa and is there purely for that reason, then gobble up your words as soon as there’s an injury. i think guys like maku and chilli need regular starting rugby far more than they need a bok tour for their development, but i’d have a lot more time for questionable decisions if the selectors and coaches were at least transparent about their motivations.

• 71.nama1: Reply to this comment

#47 John1976:
    Agree. If those two want to shine in open play instead of mixing it in the tight phases, we’ll get klapped. Same go for Bekker and CJ if they get on the park.

• 72.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

This is the best Pdivvy and Co can do with the available squad. Execept for perhaps Olivier starting in place of Jacobs, and although I’d prefer Hougaard or Viljoen on the bench instead of Pienaar because of his incredible lack of confidence, he does have the Bok experience. Same goes for Johnson/Deysel instead of Rossouw.
    Other than those minor things, best team possible is out, and I’ll be 110% behind them. Come on Bokke! Teach those Frogs a lesson!

• 73.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

oh and perhaps rest the big guns in the last 15…

• 74.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

strauss will still be around for 7 years. Why not just develop him for the future?

• 75.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#67 ufo: :lol: arrogant basterd.

in fact this whole team is made up of them.

heres hoping there is one frog survivor left to tell the tale to the rest….warning like.

• 76.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

That bench would k@k off in the Tri-Nations, lucklily it suits the heavy NH fields just fine:).

Would love to see F Hougaard on the bench. Hy skrik vir niks!

If things really go pear-shaped, can Andries play flank? Although I’m sure Strauss can

• 77.Kritik: Reply to this comment

#63 WP_: Maku was picked to gain experience and only play in the midweek games…this should actually make you understand better the plan the coaches had. Davind and Transie have also offered as much on the reasons the team was picked. All you see is colour…tsk tsk

• 78.SamM: Reply to this comment

not a fan of Adi & Zane – however I hope they both play well – they can make those 2 berths their own

Good luck bokke – hope Wian du Preez gets his 1st cap !

• 79.siener: Reply to this comment

#63 WP_: I thought the idea was to pick some young players that PdV saw some potential in, so that they could get some experience in the midweek games. You know, the way it was done in the old days.

Or are players like Riaan Viljoen also quotas?

• 80.WP_: Reply to this comment

70 tough

Yeah i agree with that. Maku needs more first choice starting rugby games before he should be considered for the Boks. Strauss deserved to be there ahead of him. Liebenberg too.

• 81.bunce: Reply to this comment

Jacobs has hardly played average rugby let a lone good rugby for 8 or 9 years, maybe at vodacom cup level. His best moments were last years Tri-Nations.

Why not play combinations like the french have, when new guys come in. Steyn/Olivier have played together alot at 10/12?

• 82.katman: Reply to this comment

#65 cab: What time is the kick-off?

• 83.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#29 Puma:

Actually Im a fan of Adi and think he’s a far more dangerous 13 than Fourie. Fourie is a better finisher and defender, but I dont think he plays in his wings very well, doesnt create space for them & FB like Adi does. Which is a sin when you have wingers like Habana and JPP. A crime ! If anything I would swap em around as Fourie has a style well suited to a strong 12 in the Jamie Roberts mould, which would create a similar combo to Roberts-BOD, Fourie punching holes for the threequarters. But I agree that Adi’s confidence has been knocked after his shoulder probs and the French have picked a large physical backline so will be targetting Jacobs defence down that channel. Could get interesting, and early too.

Youre most definitely going to miss Frans but more for the long-range kicking than anything. Besides his strong kicking and defence, he wasnt adding anything in attack really. But Kirchner to me looks quite average and rather over-obsessed with the garryowen. But arent all teams now.

Kanko doesnt strike me as being strong or tough enough to really flourish on heavier NH tracks when theres a bit of frost about. Obviously he’s very talented but I suspect Harindorguy will eat him for breakfast whereas if PdV had been able to call on Big Joe, well….

Bekker needs as much gametime as he can get so that must be the reasoning. These young tight-fwds simply need more miles on the speedo. Deysel didnt really impress me but he does seem to offer variety more coming off the bench and actually Frances bench looks considerably stronger than Boks, more game-changers there.

Still a very strong Bok team, but hairline fractures appearing. Will be interesting to see if the old boys in the pack escape from a northern Autumn unscathed.

• 84.SamM: Reply to this comment

Johnson , Deysel and Hougard to get their first cap against Italy . . . .. .

• 85.Kritik: Reply to this comment

#81 bunce: Thought combinations were 9/10, 12/13 or does it change whichever way suits an argument? I am really just asking cos I might be really wrong with what I thought were combos..

• 86.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i am 100% behind the bok team and really cant complain about the selections.

wynand olivier doesnt really impress me all that much to be honest and adi may have a cracker with Mossie (the premier center in world rugby) running off him.

this team is selected on merit i think we can all agree. as it should be.

transformation or quotas are, i have decided, a complete farce and racist in the extreme.

thankfully we have none of that kind of codswallop going on at national level.

i would also just like to say that JS didnt take part in the game against leicester so i am unsure as to why his name has been mentioned over 12,000 times by just 3 bloggers over the last 4 days.

love makes you do strange things i guess.

• 87.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

#84 SamM:
    With you there.

• 88.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

#87 boktoinfinityandbeyond:
    de Jongh as well.

• 89.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#81 bunce: Trinh-Duc plays for Montpellier, Mermoz for Perpignan and Yann David for Toulouse, they’re in a similar boat.

• 90.cab: Reply to this comment

#82 katman:
    think k/o is 22H00 french time (20:00 SA time)
    seems a bit late – strange.

• 91.WP_: Reply to this comment

Surely the idea was to pick the BEST young players, proven at CC level who are realistic options for future Boks. Not beach warmers at their provinces.

Riaan Viljoen a quota? Sorry do you know the definition of a quota mate? But still I dont think he deserved to be there. Joe Pieterson is better

• 92.WP_: Reply to this comment

Surely the idea was to pick the BEST young players, proven at CC level who are realistic options for future Boks. Not bench warmers at their provinces.

Riaan Viljoen a quota? Sorry do you know the definition of a quota mate? But still I dont think he deserved to be there. Joe Pieterson is better

• 93.nama1: Reply to this comment

#84 SamM:
    Let’s concentrate on France first, if you don’t mind.

• 94.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

#90 cab:
    French time is only one hour different from SA isn’t it?

• 95.Puma: Reply to this comment

#46 David: David, Frans Steyn is a huge loss at FB. Not only those monster kicks. No one gets past him easy. Defence is great and it takes about 4 to bring him down.

Don’t think Zane is in the same level. Not yet.

Well like someone said above no use going on about Fransie he is not there.

For now Zane is the best we have so he deserves his place. then I also like J. Pietersen from WP. But none of those are a Fransie 60m kicks no player in world rugby can do that at the moment.

• 96.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond:
    Kickoff at 21:45 SA time.

• 97.cab: Reply to this comment

#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond:
    yeah something wrong there, i need a nap.

• 98.Puma: Reply to this comment

#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond: Yes. In winter time. Summer time we on the same time.

Why are they playing this game so late?

• 99.katman: Reply to this comment

#90 cab: Cheers. Suits me better. I’ve got my mom visiting for the weekend. Normal daytime or early evening kick-off would have made things tricksy as she probably wouldn’t want to sit through the game with me :)

• 100.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#94 boktoinfinityandbeyond: yep

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.