Jacobs, Kirchner to face France

Adi Jacobs starts at inside centre against France while Zane Kirchner has been handed the fullback berth.

It was an open secret that Jacobs would fill the midfield void left by Jean de Villiers, but Kirchner’s inclusion was less certain, with Ruan Pienaar having played in the position in two Tests against Australia in the Tri-Nations, and coach Peter de Villiers intimating that he was being groomed to play there on the year-end tour, given Frans Steyn’s imminent departure for French club Racing Metro.

Elsewhere, Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger should form a formidable flank combination, while the dynamic Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start in light of Pierre Spies’ injury.

The starting line-up boasts a total of 588 Test caps between them, while the bench boys add 180 to that figure. In a Test as close as Friday’s clash in Toulouse is expected to be, experience could well be the difference between victory and defeat.

The Springbok selectors have opted for a 5-2 bench split, with the bench the trio of, props Wian du Preez and CJ van der Linde, and hooker Adriaan Strauss will provide complete front row cover, while Pienaar’s utility value means he can fill in at 9, 10 or 15 and Wynand Olivier likely to get a run in the final quarter at centre, although he has played wing at Test level in the past.

‘The core of the match did duty during the Tri-Nations campaign and will provide us with stability going into this tough opening Test,’ De Villiers said.

‘There are a lot of experienced players in the starting 15 as well as on the bench which will be important to our continuity as well as to ensuring that we maintain our structures and play the way we want to.

‘I have full confidence in the new players who will be starting on Friday, they have shown their qualities before and we have to make sure we get the best out of them. The three newcomers are all good players in their own right. CJ is very experienced while both Adriaan and Wian have been part of the squad previously.’

Springboks - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

647 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 201.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Jacobs 100 times the creative and perhaps even defensive center that Olivier is. Anyone a quota in this team is Olivier. De Villiers has it spot on. He has the selection spot on. If anyone can unlock France defence is Jacobs not Olivier. And he won’t shirk any tackles either. Olivier has had plenty opportunity at international level and never produced squat, not once. He’s an Ok S14 player, but a mediocre international one. Jacobs on the other hand steps it up at international level. The problem child will be Kirchner, if he’d had more game time Viljoen would be my bet at FB.

• 202.wpw: Reply to this comment

#184 rangerman:

I suggest you watch Wynand Olivier when he plays again.

He NEVER passes (unless there’s a touch judge/assistant ref on the sideline) :twisted:

• 203.Puma: Reply to this comment

#195 rangerman: I know but what about those players names that I mentioned? They deserved it MORE. Most of them have never played for the Boks or 2nd side either. They put up their hands this year and should have been rewarded. Mapoe with how could they have left him out?

Not saying don’t give the development players a go at comp outside of SA. Yes we must, but not in a tour as they are then known as the Boks which they are not.

Get them some games with the NH clubs bring them here or let the development players travel over there on a separate tour. Call them SA 15 development players or just SA 15 something like that, but get them some game time too. Just not as our 2nd side. Now Tigers forever will say they beat the Springboks World Champions and we all know they never. Those players are leaving tonight for Paris.

• 204.SamM: Reply to this comment

#200 Wezwp: Johnson was great given the tight 5 was nowhere. I also thought that Hougard had an impact

• 205.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Wynand played kak against the lions and he played kak against leicester. He is a kak international player.

• 206.WP_: Reply to this comment

wpw

You can think whatever you like I think you’re racist and prejudiced with a chip on your shoulder

I on the other hand just call things as I see them. Simple as that.

• 207.Puma: Reply to this comment

#182 siener: No need to insult people.

• 208.SamM: Reply to this comment

Jacobs was k@k in the game against the cheetahs- the scary thing is we haven’t got a decent replacement for JdV – maybe Ebersohn in about a years time . .rather have jacobs than meisiekind though . .

• 209.WP_: Reply to this comment

I’m glad Adi is starting .

Now we can see once and for all whether he is in fact creative? Or if he has defensive frailities? Or if he is worth his spot in the side?

I cant wait

• 210.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#197 John1976: I would .. as long as he was consistent with that kind of performance over a number of matches. All I want to see is the guy tackling. He needs to speak to Gio Aplon. That little guy put in some huge hits on people like Pierre Spies, etc against the Bulls. Its do-able… its a matter of technique and willingness to do it. So let see. But I dont have faith in him.

• 211.charo: Reply to this comment

#170 Transformation:

hargreaves is a former junior bok capt, like chili.

but i agree. him, raubenheimer, maku, heinke and chili should not have gone on this tour.
    young, established s14 guys should have gone.
    just like in the old days when tour groups were assembled.

• 212.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I just love it when racists call others racist. That just takes the cake. Ha what beautiful irony.

• 213.grant10: Reply to this comment

Throw BJ and Juandre Kruger into the mix and 2011 perhaps not far fetched…

Itss getting better….CJ a huge boost….F Stey and JDV will be back in SA i reckon…BJ has already said he will be back in time to contend as well…..

Just gotta nurse Bakkies ,Juan and VM through….

Bobs your aunt.

• 214.AndrewBK: Reply to this comment

let me remind everyone out there of a little fact that they seem to have forgotten about Wynand Olivier: he’s bad. real bad.

• 215.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

SAM u shudv watched kyknet 15MINS AGO. THS ONE CALLER WAS TALKING A WHOLE LOT OF **** ABOUT ASHLEY. THE BULLS BLACK CONTINGENT SICKENS ME AS WELL. I THNK THEY DELIBERATELY CHOOSE CRAPPY MEDIOCRE TALENT. THEY SHOULD HAVE THE BEST TO KP THE REGULARS ON THEIR TOES. WHEN ARE THESE KYK NET VIEWERS GNA LUK PAst colour.

• 216.WP_: Reply to this comment

Funny that skop. I see it all the time on this site.

• 217.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#201 skopskiet: Olivier hasnt really been ready in the past. His current Super 14 form and Currie Cup form is steps ahead of where he was. He has made some huge tackles this year. He has also scored some brilliant scything tries. If that cant be acknowledged then you obviosuly dont want to hear it. Mark my words, Jacosb going to be replaced for leaking points and Olivier will come on and score a try. Or at least pretend to. hehe

• 218.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

WP what have you been smoking. skopskiet i agree with you. i dnt knw what hes baseing his allegations on. if anything wp is the racist imo.

• 219.SamM: Reply to this comment

#215 Wezwp: watch Johnson play against Italy. The NH suits him – he should have been on the bench rather than Rossouw who is way past his sellby date

• 220.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#176 Puma: Where is BH? If France is like Italy, the game starts so late because most people would still be working at 20:00! I know in Italy they work from 8:00 to 13:00 then go home for lunch and siesta and resume work at 16:00 till 20:00.

• 221.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

im so disappointed. PETER GRANT SHOULDV BN THERE INSTEAD OF WYNAND. DAMN THESE KYK NET CALLERS ARE CRAZY.LOL

• 222.John1976: Reply to this comment

#214 AndrewBK: Are you talking about kind of bad refered to in the Micheal Jackson song or the bad that just mean plain ****?

• 223.WP_: Reply to this comment

Wezwp

So now i’m the racist? how so?

So now if one criticises a coloured player that makes him a racist? Oh please man!

So that mean’s that skop and wpw are racists for criticising WO

• 224.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

We going to go round the rosemary bush again.

The only players that let the dirt tracker team down were not Hargreaves nor Johnson nor Adams nor De Jongh nor Rose nor Nokwe nor Deysel nor Potgieter nor Maku.

The players that lost the game against Leicester were all seasoned Bokkie boys with plenty caps under their belts like Steenkamp, Ralepelle, Du Plessis, Roussouw, Bekker ,Pienaar and Ndungane, even Olivier was in that side and let the big Tuilagi waltz through time and again.

Anyone that shouldn’t be in that side that capitulated to the Tigers were the fancy pants Sharks and Bulls front line 2nd in line front row and 2nd row options that couldn’t cut it against a club side, not the quota whipping boys. Only so called quota who had an indifferent game was Raubenheimer perhaps.

• 225.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

LEICESTER 2ND TEAM MY ***. That leicest team was very close to being their best side. That polynesian guy was a monster.

• 226.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Adi is going to be in for a long afternoon defensively… I hope he’s up to it for his sake and ours.

• 227.AndrewBK: Reply to this comment

#222 John1976: lol, the latter

• 228.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Ok wp YOU NT A RACIST. until further notice. Just remember big brother watching you. I dnt care care if you critisize guthro, raubenheimer, chilliboy, cos they are k@k. But just leave jacobs, kirchner,habs, jp alone.

• 229.cab: Reply to this comment

#142 rangerman:
    yes perhaps you right and the lineup differently on attack and defense, but they might choose to stick to the positons that everyone used to. actually the bolter i would have selected at 12 is juan de jong, tho that goes against my experience requirement – this bugger is very hungry and tackles like a demon.

• 230.WP_: Reply to this comment

Leicester were missing about 12 players.

First team my ***

• 231.ufo: Reply to this comment

#192 My50cents:

that was one tackle… he’s been very good otherwise the whole season… did you watch the WP/Bulls semi…?

If you’re gonna can guys because of one mistake or even the odd mistake here or there… you’re gonna have no-one in your team…

Problem is you’re just looking at the errors of one player and not the rest…

I would rather rate players by their abilities and consistent performances over a period of time… instead of ‘fault judging’… very negative method…

• 232.Puma: Reply to this comment

#220 Sharksgirl: It could be that SG. I lived in Holland for 5 years and I know the North of Europe don’t have any siesta, but the South may do. I know that Spain do and Italy and Greece so probably France to do.

You looking forward to the game?

Anymore news on any signings for the Sharks for next year?

• 233.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

The bokke in the leicester game just thought they could pitch up and win the game but they actually cost us the game. I say send them all home with jannie, guthro and chilli.

• 234.Alan Shore: Reply to this comment

This debate, by lack of a more applicable word, really is nothing more than schadenfreude mixed up with a good dosis of bad old South African rugby supporter ignorance.

Who else on this lovely earth of ours should PdV have selected on Fullback other than Zane Kirchner. Frans Steyn made his choice so live with it. He will be back for WC 2011. Same with Jean de Villiers. Accept it. Joe Pietersen? Gio Aplon? Grandpa Stefan Terblanche? Defy all arguments about experience and select Riaan Viljoen? Get real and accept that Zane is the man for now. And he will step up come Friday evening.

Furthermore, think back to the glorious tries the Boks scored last year and think about how many of those with Adi running in the inside centre channel distributing the ball with his creative flair and vision. Or do you want Wynand to pass our hard-earned ball to the touch judges? Juan de Jong will step into the 12 shoes from next year onwards and he will be a superstar. For now, Adi is the man.

Schadenfreude.

It can only be schadenfreude. And ignorance.

• 235.bananas: Reply to this comment

#163 Slumtown: Deysel is not up to Vermulen in my books, Vermulen has an awareness on the field like Juan and Skinstad of old … Deysel is neither as good a line out option or as mobile either. Sorry

• 236.siener: Reply to this comment

#207 Puma: Sorry … it’s just very frustrating to try and talk to someone that doesn’t even attempt to understand your point.

I shouldn’t get angry though – One’s own prejudices are always the hardest to see (and I of course include myself in this).

Anyway … back to rugby: I think this is a very strong team. I’m fairly confident that Adi will do well and I hope Kanko and Zane also perform.

• 237.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

If that 12 guys were considered leicesters best then maybe just maybe they screwed up their selections of their 15 best like the boks.

• 238.rangerman: Reply to this comment

you…you…you…racist! racist racist racist!

ag please man people. can all the racist ****.

does anyone actually give a toss?

and so what if someone is a racist and you call him a racist?

what do you do? drive his racism underground where it cannot be engaged or debated?

NO.

just talk the issue out. all of us are products of nature and nurture.

no matter how much you try and convince everyone you are squeaky clean, everyone has some elements of intolerance hard wired.

feckin racists! :lol:

• 239.gunther: Reply to this comment

even Olivier was in that side and let the big Tuilagi waltz through time and again.

jeez do you even watch the games…

• 240.WP_: Reply to this comment

Wezwp

Lol wez
    Are you joking?

I have never criticized Habana or JP, legends those two are!

AND before the Lions series, on this site, I said that Zane should be the first choice AHEAD of Steyn after his brilliant S14.

Sure Fransie proved himself a great 15 but still.

Jacobs I have a problem with, he’s isnt the best option at 12 by a long shot. He’s overrated. I’d rather have Peter Grant or Meyer Bosman at 12 for the Boks.

But that’s my opinion, I call it like a see it, but i am not a racist.

• 241.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#229 cab: he is not ready cab, one for the future foreshore though.

• 242.cab: Reply to this comment

in fairness to Olivier, he like jacobs has been in very good form, yes he did go thru a period where he had the greatest offload to a linesmen that modern rugby has ever seen, but he is still a quality centre, and if u dont believe the bulls, listen to the real footballers like Todd Louden and tricky eddie who will tell you all about his ability.

• 243.cab: Reply to this comment

#241 rangerman:
    yes you are probably more sensible, but i just think de jong could have been a wildcard in an otherwise settled team, got searing acceleration and an eye for a gap like the legend, i.e. fleckie.

• 244.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#232 Puma: Puma must say it felt much better than the way we do things here, after the siesta you are revitalised and ready to work, unlike here where most are starting to lag by 14:00.

Yes really looking forward to this game! I feel we will win, but it will be tough!

The Sharks have gone extremely silent. Could be very good sign or maybe not? Irritates me though, I wish we had an incling of what our squad looks like for S14. But knowing Oom Rudi, we will probably only know once the squad runs on the field. Sharks Lover mentioned last week an article in the Daily news that mentioned that there had been a management reshuffle at Sharks, but I couldn’t get hold of the paper, so have no idea. Just hope we are getting a decent backline coach.

• 245.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#242 cab: wynand is great defensively but i still dont see him as creative enough cab.

de jongh and eberson, south africas got talent….

• 246.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Wynand is way to one dimensional to take on the french. He shouldv played for straelie, where the game plan will suit him. Theres no place for him in pdv sqaud. its only a matter of time before they kick him out and make place for de jong, grant, and jdv when he makes his comeback with fs for 2011. GREAT TO SEE CJ BAck though im glad they made him the exception.

• 247.fran1807: Reply to this comment

#202 wpw: EXACTLY! Never ever passes. He is extremely one dimensional and while I’m not going to sit here and make as if he is a bad player because he isn’t, but he is far too one dimensional to be a international centre.

• 248.gunther: Reply to this comment

#238 rangerman:

thank you

bare foot guru..

• 249.cab: Reply to this comment

#246 Wezwp:
    yeah but what is PdV’s gameplan?
    is it the kick n chase, the 1-D moerhom ou doos stuff or the offload?

defintely an enigma wrapped inside an enigma.
    very complex man.

• 250.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#248 gunther: pleasure racist :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.