digimag-banner

Jacobs, Kirchner to face France

Adi Jacobs starts at inside centre against France while Zane Kirchner has been handed the fullback berth.

It was an open secret that Jacobs would fill the midfield void left by Jean de Villiers, but Kirchner’s inclusion was less certain, with Ruan Pienaar having played in the position in two Tests against Australia in the Tri-Nations, and coach Peter de Villiers intimating that he was being groomed to play there on the year-end tour, given Frans Steyn’s imminent departure for French club Racing Metro.

Elsewhere, Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger should form a formidable flank combination, while the dynamic Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start in light of Pierre Spies’ injury.

The starting line-up boasts a total of 588 Test caps between them, while the bench boys add 180 to that figure. In a Test as close as Friday’s clash in Toulouse is expected to be, experience could well be the difference between victory and defeat.

The Springbok selectors have opted for a 5-2 bench split, with the bench the trio of, props Wian du Preez and CJ van der Linde, and hooker Adriaan Strauss will provide complete front row cover, while Pienaar’s utility value means he can fill in at 9, 10 or 15 and Wynand Olivier likely to get a run in the final quarter at centre, although he has played wing at Test level in the past.

‘The core of the match did duty during the Tri-Nations campaign and will provide us with stability going into this tough opening Test,’ De Villiers said.

‘There are a lot of experienced players in the starting 15 as well as on the bench which will be important to our continuity as well as to ensuring that we maintain our structures and play the way we want to.

‘I have full confidence in the new players who will be starting on Friday, they have shown their qualities before and we have to make sure we get the best out of them. The three newcomers are all good players in their own right. CJ is very experienced while both Adriaan and Wian have been part of the squad previously.’

Springboks - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

647 Responses to “Jacobs, Kirchner to face France”

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1213 » Show All

• 301. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#295 Sharksgirl: Yeah I heard that Castrogiovanni was a monster, but geepes didn’t realise just how much so! Pity his looks also closely resemble those of a monster – he looks like a hobo :???:

• 302. WP_Reply to this comment :

291 siener

Agreed. It is very close to our, and many South Africans hearts. Which is a great thing but people do get worked up. ;)

• 303. BoutsReply to this comment :

#251 wpw: So… do you blame the current players for things happening 20-40 years ago?

• 304. cabReply to this comment :

#295 Sharksgirl:
    thats interesting about the stadium, yip have hear of the san siro, can’t remember the name of the place they moving it too. is it in the north of italy that they like their rugby, we had a few okes that played over there, haas, AJ and that pumas flyhalf who was actually damn good – think aj married an italian tannie.

• 305. BoutsReply to this comment :

I’m disappointed in Ruan and Danie being there. :( After last week….!

• 306. carolReply to this comment :

#299 Puma: Enjoy your success….you seem to have a knack!

I have a cold and am feeling a bit sorry for myself!! :lol:
    Thought a bit of blogging would take my mind off my coughing!! :-(

• 307. StaalReply to this comment :

#297 Fern: Ja-naa. Ek twyfel nie daaraan nie…….

• 308. PapooseReply to this comment :

#257 Alan Shore: i like ur thinking
    the spotlight has been put too much on chilli and maku and they need to show what they got at super 14 and currie cup
    lots of potential
    but as we saw with our “springbok” sharks forwards getting pummeled by cheetahs front row, always put in ur best cos there’s plenty of talent brewing under
    okes shouldnt become complacent

• 309. rangermanReply to this comment :

#304 cab: aj venter?

he married a saffa athlete. jenna warlock or somesuch.

• 311. WezwpReply to this comment :

Where in the world is the most wine produced, italy or france?

• 312. charoReply to this comment :

#293 carol:

getting a bit hot now. 4 hrs on a golf course is intense endurance.
    but a few cold beers afterwards sorts that out 8)

• 313. pompies2Reply to this comment :

I have a theory around all the contentious selections being raised, particularly those of Rose, Raubenheimer,Maku and Chilliboy. Based on the nature of the tour, which involves midweek games against club sides, Div was of the opinion that he could learn more from putting 3rd/4th rated players in the squad thereby exposing them to a slightly more intense level of competition than what they are used to. So in essence, if they don’t front up in the midweek games, they obviously have some deficiencies and need more experience or have hit the ceiling of their abilities. Taking a truly second best team would have meant winning those games you are expected to win and confirming what was initially suspected. Next year will be a huge year in terms of building towards the world cup and where your true backup players for the world cup will be seen. So it would be better to expose those players to the rigors of the incoming tours and possible tri-nations, which would give a truer indication of the next player in line.

• 314. FernReply to this comment :

#307 Staal:
    Ek dink volgende jaar gaan ons ekonomie weer lekker begin boom.Dinge gaan gebeur.

• 315. WP_Reply to this comment :

Guthro and Jannie were poor too

• 316. WezwpReply to this comment :

A glass of pinotage will do.

• 317. PumaReply to this comment :

#291 siener: Nice post there siener and WP post to you 276. Good on both of you. Good to see that on this blog.

Most people here never apologize. It always takes a big person to do that and respect to both of you.

You are right siener we all get so heated on here because we love this game with huge, huge passion.

• 318. rangermanReply to this comment :

#311 Wezwp: this year it was a tossup between nz and australia for second place.

as whine producers they are amateurs when compared with the crew from the homes of the BIL’s.

• 319. cabReply to this comment :

#309 rangerman:
    oh right, perhaps thinking of someone else, time for nap again.

• 320. WezwpReply to this comment :

Jannie was always gna b exposed. hes bn living in hes brothers shadow for most of the time.

• 321. StaalReply to this comment :

#314 Fern: hierdie is n rugby blog….. :lol: :lol:

• 322. PumaReply to this comment :

#314 Fern: I think so too Fern. How you been mate? Have not seen you here for a long time.

• 323. rangermanReply to this comment :

#313 pompies2: David has the same theory and i agree with it.

we learnt a lot from that leicester game.

• 324. charoReply to this comment :

#309 rangerman:

springbok lifesaver from pirates…i think

• 325. StaalReply to this comment :

#314 Fern: Ou maat ek hoop jy’s reg.

• 326. PumaReply to this comment :

#306 carol: I will enjoy being on top for now. Next week it will change. Japan and Canada? Have to think about that…..hehehe.

Your weather must not be good that side either Carol. Blogging with help..hehe.

• 327. carolReply to this comment :

#312 charo: I understand that rehydration is ‘vital’ after a punnishing game of golf!! :lol:

• 328. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#304 cab: Yes Rugby is only played in the North of Italy, does not reach further south than Florence. That is why its strange that the National team is based in Rome. I guess Mallet likes the life in Rome better than the North :) AJs 1st wife was Italian, and he stated in an interview lately that he still prefers Italian food :)

• 329. StaalReply to this comment :

#325 Staal: Maar Fern, my kop sê jy is nie.

• 330. carolReply to this comment :

#314 Fern: How is the plodding coming along comrade?

• 331. PumaReply to this comment :

#312 charo: Sounds good there Charo.

• 332. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

#272 skopskiet:

how on earth is de jong knocking on the door of test match selection with only a handful of CC games under his belt.

It is unlikely that he will even make the Stormers lineup.

In the biggest game of the WP’s CC season…..Olivier owned him. I would be quite surprised if he goes on to greater things. Mapoe on the other hand, he’ll become a very good player.

The Boks should win this game with the amount of talent and experience that they have. Only real concerns are the fatigue ones. Oh, and Jacobs defending at 12.If the French start getting clean set piece ball, Jacobs can wave good bye to his international career.

Can anyone actually remember the last time Jacobs played at 12?

• 333. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#309 rangerman: His first wife was Italian, the pretty blonde is his second wife. Ranger catch up with the times :)

• 334. WezwpReply to this comment :

ITS FREAKN WINTER HERE IN THE CAPE……..BRRRRRR…..GIV ME SOME CHICKEN SOUP.

• 335. PumaReply to this comment :

Thats me out of here.

Cheers all. Hope you get better Carol.

• 336. WezwpReply to this comment :

WYNAND DID NT OWN ANYBODY.OH PLEASE. DE JONG ACTUALLY HAD THE BETTER OF HIM. WYAND CUDNT CATCH HIM

• 337. carolReply to this comment :

#326 Puma: I don’t know about Japan v Canada, it is Saracens v Springboks I am more worried about!! Heheheheh.
    Their dismal result v Leicester has made me a bit hesitant!! :-)

• 338. rangermanReply to this comment :

#324 charo: thats her. she is a triathlete i think.

#332 Brigadier Van Zyl: i think comparing juan de jongh to wynand is a little unfair man.

juan will get better with experience whereas wynand has NEVER shone in a bok jersey.

• 339. carolReply to this comment :

#335 Puma: Cheers Puma, till later!

• 340. StaalReply to this comment :

#332 Brigadier Van Zyl: All i can remember of ADI is how he let Potgieter through in the CC semi in Durbs……. i mean he made zilts attemp to gather the ball……

Cheers Pottie… en gone is n semi final! :shock:

ADI was toe op 12!

• 341. StaalReply to this comment :

#336 Wezwp: understand what you saying but honestly – give the kid more time before we write him up.

• 342. carolReply to this comment :

#334 Wezwp: My Cape Town correspondent said it was winter again in Cape Town and she had just seen Percy Montgomery in Camps Bay.

Who is holding Morn’s kicking ‘thingie’ on this EYOT?

• 343. rangermanReply to this comment :

#333 Sharksgirl: ag, i dont really follow the wives sharksgirl :lol:

in fact, the fact that i know about aj’s wife means that i must go for immediate “re-education” at the pub with my mates.

touch rugby night tonight so i will build up a thirst first.

#335 Puma: cheers man.

• 344. cabReply to this comment :

#328 Sharksgirl:
    nick mallett has it right, spent a few years in france and won the championship with stade francais and now in italy – think the food and wine and ppl would be very nice – pity rugby not more widely followed. Florence and Venice have always appealed to me, somewhere a little more quiet than rome – you also got all those great lakes up north. Been told down south is a gaurded secret and a bit poorer but in some ways nicer – sardinia got a helluva nice climate year round not so?

• 345. DawnReply to this comment :

What gives here.

• 346. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#311 Wezwp: Good point? I don’t know, anyone?

• 347. WP_Reply to this comment :

Cheers Puma boet.

WO did own Newman, that’s for sure.

• 348. katmanReply to this comment :

#345 Dawn: Good question.

• 350. katmanReply to this comment :

#344 cab: Sardinia – that’s like calling the place Snoekville.

Or Baberfontein.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1213 » Show All

About the author

Ryan has written 2932 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator