digimag-banner

Jacobs, Kirchner to face France

Adi Jacobs starts at inside centre against France while Zane Kirchner has been handed the fullback berth.

It was an open secret that Jacobs would fill the midfield void left by Jean de Villiers, but Kirchner’s inclusion was less certain, with Ruan Pienaar having played in the position in two Tests against Australia in the Tri-Nations, and coach Peter de Villiers intimating that he was being groomed to play there on the year-end tour, given Frans Steyn’s imminent departure for French club Racing Metro.

Elsewhere, Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger should form a formidable flank combination, while the dynamic Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start in light of Pierre Spies’ injury.

The starting line-up boasts a total of 588 Test caps between them, while the bench boys add 180 to that figure. In a Test as close as Friday’s clash in Toulouse is expected to be, experience could well be the difference between victory and defeat.

The Springbok selectors have opted for a 5-2 bench split, with the bench the trio of, props Wian du Preez and CJ van der Linde, and hooker Adriaan Strauss will provide complete front row cover, while Pienaar’s utility value means he can fill in at 9, 10 or 15 and Wynand Olivier likely to get a run in the final quarter at centre, although he has played wing at Test level in the past.

‘The core of the match did duty during the Tri-Nations campaign and will provide us with stability going into this tough opening Test,’ De Villiers said.

‘There are a lot of experienced players in the starting 15 as well as on the bench which will be important to our continuity as well as to ensuring that we maintain our structures and play the way we want to.

‘I have full confidence in the new players who will be starting on Friday, they have shown their qualities before and we have to make sure we get the best out of them. The three newcomers are all good players in their own right. CJ is very experienced while both Adriaan and Wian have been part of the squad previously.’

Springboks - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

647 Responses to “Jacobs, Kirchner to face France”

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 » Show All

• 351. cabReply to this comment :

#343 rangerman:
    ja, AJ was great tho, probably should have got more caps for the Boks.
    He was surely a Sharks legend, tho another freestate boytjie originally.
    do you okes have any of your own, you now plundering deysel and alberts too?

• 352. guntherReply to this comment :

#346 Sharksgirl:

france ….

• 353. DawnReply to this comment :

#348 katman:

Good day baas

According to the Ministerial Handbook, you have been paying me slave wages for 20 years.

• 354. cabReply to this comment :

#350 katman:
    lol – Barbelfontein or Katvisstad.

• 355. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

#336 Wezwp:

he got owned.

quick player, big heart but doubt he’ll unseat Jaque Fourie at 13 or Grant at 12.

up against big defences, his little side step shimmy got him nowhere.

• 356. carolReply to this comment :

#345 Dawn: Hi Dawn…long time, how are you doing?

• 357. WP_Reply to this comment :

Cheers to all and sundry. Catch some of you around.

• 358. pierreReply to this comment :

Good squad. We should win comfortably. My only concern is the front row. I still wake up in a cold sweat remembering how the Sharks (i.e. Springbok) front row got their sphincters torn wide open by the Cheetahs. Luckily two of those same three Cheetahs front-rowers are on the bench, in the event of an emergency!

• 359. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#201 skopskiet:

hallelujah there Skoppie, I too believe Jacobs is way way better than WO. Should be at 13 tho, presumably they will swap around on D & A.

Centre/13 is there to create space and put the 11/14/15 away. As an opposition fan, Im more likely to draw breath when Jacobs has ball in hand than WO or Fourie. For 1 good reason, its an absolute travesty that the SA lineup currently incl’s 1 of the very best wingers ever in Habana but he’s so rarely used. I think Jacobs is the man to do that.

#163 Slumtown:

‘understanding’ is alot different than ‘agreeing’.

#156 Slumtown:

OK, lemon is a bit harsh. But youre giving eg’s of over 2yrs ago now and I havent seenn enough dynamism from him since. He was fairly average coming off the pine vs ABs this year tho.

#225 Wezwp:

Leicester 2nd team my hairy poephole. The pack had 1 guy who was winged in from Leicester Jnr clubs, not even on Leicester Tigers books. Furthermore they lost 9 players to the Engl squad and something like 8 squad members were injured. Leicesters injury list in 2009, alone, has been a by-word for extensive.

Leave it at Leciester C and even then youre being generous.

#256 Wezwp:

Wales ‘could have sneaked it’ ?!

delusional statement if I ever saw it, are you a British journo ?

1stly, the most they could have hoped for was a Draw.

2ndly, they were atleast 20pts off looking the ABs in the eye. Conrad scored, which would have opened the floodgates. By good fortune and refereeing incompetenece, the Boyos were given a slim margin as solace when a good whupping would have been a better indicator.

#266 Wezwp:

Perhaps you should get them out of the road as an opponent first before you start making any grandiose statements about anyone elses prospects. The Boks gamewinner in Hamilton is now playing for a Parisien team and unavailable unless you werent aware. Lets see how they fare without him.

#273 Puma:

You guys talking rather too much about France vs ABs. I think the French would rather like to know that, I sense an overriding undercurrent mood of confidence coming from Toulouse.

#279 Sharksgirl:

I holiday near Stintino, Sardinia, every Spring with my family. What part of the island you from ?

#289 cab:

Lets not forget that Castro is really an Argie. I think 50-60% of Argentinians have Italian heritage.

• 360. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#344 cab: The South Of Italy is definitely poorer than the North, but the people are friendlier and the countryside more beautiful! Naples is a mess politically (ruled by the Mafia) and organisationally but the people are dynamic and the countryside magnificent, with places like Amalfi, Sorrento, Isle of Capri. The Lazio is also beautiful!

Sardinia is also really worth a visit, up North of Sardinia “La Costa Smeralda”; Porto Cervo are majour tourist hangouts mostly owened by the Agha Khan, and luxury yachts everywhere. Cannavaro parcks his yacht there when he is not on it :) Further South where I come from is “wilder” if you could say that. But we have long white beaches, and when you stand in the sea the water is so clear you can see your feet. The climate is compared to mainland Italy Milder, a bit like Durban where the winters are a lot warmer than the Mainland.

#350 katman: What the hell do you mean Snoekville! :evil: :)

• 361. pierreReply to this comment :

#355 Brigadier Van Zyl: Funny, I didn’t see De Jongh get “owned” by Meisiekind either. Maybe you Tshwaneerders have a different concept of “ownership” from the rest of the country.

De Jongh definitely won’t unseat Jaque from the Super 14 starting line-up. He’s easily good enough to unseat Grant though – which isn’t saying a great deal, however.

• 362. katmanReply to this comment :

#353 Dawn: I’ve done nothing wrong. It’s all approved by the guidelines set out in the Handbook. And R1200 a month is not to be scoffed at. Plus left-over cooking wine. Plus two PEP housecoats a year. Plus R500 bail that one time.

No, you’ve got it easy.

• 363. DawnReply to this comment :

#357 WP_:

And what’s wrong with the rest of us?

#356 carol:

Good thanks, just in need of TLC, and an island holiday!

• 364. DawnReply to this comment :

#362 katman:

The mathematics of the oppressor.

• 365. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

#361 pierre:

owned.
    good and proper.

I’m sure Grant is kakking himself.

• 366. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#359 WakaNathan: Beautifull! Been there! I come from Cagliari.

• 367. DawnReply to this comment :

#362 katman:

According to the Handbook I am entitled to 75% of the value of your house for washing those labbies for 5 years.

• 368. pierreReply to this comment :

#365 Brigadier Van Zyl: You can keep saying “owned” till your *** bleeds, but that still won’t make it true.

• 369. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

As a Bull.

I sure do hope DeJong plays at 12 for Province.

Hell, didn’t he butcher 2 clear opportunities in that semi?

• 370. pierreReply to this comment :

#363 Dawn: You should try Barbados, it is beyond awesome.

• 371. DawnReply to this comment :

#359 WakaNathan:

Goodness.

Nothing for me?

I feel so misuse/misbruik!

• 372. cabReply to this comment :

#368 pierre:
    beautiful, is that byron?

• 373. StaalReply to this comment :

#368 pierre: The only thing WO “owns” is a few S14 and Cc medals… :lol:

• 374. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

mmm, bleeding asses?

nice.

exactly what you get in CT.

owned.
    sliced and diced.
    watched the final on the telly.

• 375. carolReply to this comment :

#363 Dawn: If you go to Sardinia avoid the yacht club bit up north, too many facelifts and white jeans!!
    Further South is much better!
    Hope you find some TLC……give the lads a ring and meet up to watch the next Bok fixture! :-)

• 376. DawnReply to this comment :

#369 Brigadier Van Zyl:

Meneer

Do you post in full dress uniform?

• 377. DawnReply to this comment :

#375 carol:

The lads all have new girlfriends.

• 378. IgReply to this comment :

#377 Dawn: watchit :lol:

farking motherfarking smilies

• 379. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

this my weapon this my gun,
    this one’s for killing and this one is for fun.

…full metal jacket

• 380. pierreReply to this comment :

#369 Brigadier Van Zyl: Well on that topic, didn’t Meisiekind butcher… oh no, wait, I forgot. The Bulls didn’t create a single opportunity for anyone to butcher. They just relied on their pal Mark Lawrence, who likes to blow for a living, to see them through to the final.

• 381. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#375 carol: From a girl that comes from the South of Sardinia have to agree with you! Thank you! Have you been there Carol?

• 382. StaalReply to this comment :

Anywhay – dis nou die Bokke wat speel.

Sal hul support tot ek nie meer n Tv kan sien of **** nie! :lol: !

• 383. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

…only in WP do the most ordinary players masquerade as superstars.

keep it up.

• 384. carolReply to this comment :

#377 Dawn: Nooo. I meant Robzim, Skop, Grant, Justrugby and Tassies!!
    Unless it is them that all have new girlfriends!! :shock:

• 385. StaalReply to this comment :

#380 pierre: some bitterness there. :lol:

• 386. pierreReply to this comment :

None of the aforegoing is to be interpreted as disrepect for Meisiekind, by the way. In the absence of JdV, he is clearly SA’s best inside centre. But that doesn’t change the fact that your contention that he “owned” De Jongh in the CC semi is ridiculous.

• 387. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

#380 pierre:

the Bulls have butchered many teams this past 6 years.

the best one still being 75-14.
    followed closely by the 60 odd number in the S14 final
    with 3rd place being the 40 nil number(also against youknowwho)

• 388. pierreReply to this comment :

#385 Staal: You could say that, buddy. You wouldn’t be wrong ;-)

• 389. guntherReply to this comment :

#375 carol:

I never saw any white jeans …. did see lots of boobs though…

• 390. DawnReply to this comment :

#378 Ig:

What must I watch?

• 391. pierreReply to this comment :

#387 Brigadier Van Zyl: All true, I’m sad to say. But that’s not relevant to whether Meisiekind “owned” De Jongh.

• 392. DawnReply to this comment :

#384 carol:

Sigh

Gentlemen they surely are but I would KILL for some single men.

• 393. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#366 Sharksgirl:

Ive holidayed in nearby Villasimius a couple of times too. Cagliari is fun. Enjoy Algerho too, has become very fashionable and hip in last few years. And incredible seafood !

• 394. charoReply to this comment :

#379 Brigadier Van Zyl:

plaguerised.
    that silly saying has been in the sandf for yonks…earlier than 1971 anyway

• 395. IgReply to this comment :

#392 pierre: Meisiekind – the only thing he owns is his mother – other than that he is particulary average player in a good bulls team.

#391 Dawn: Never mind

• 396. KronungReply to this comment :

#361 pierre: We definitely have a different concept of how a trophy cabinet should look, us Tshwaners.

• 397. carolReply to this comment :

#381 Sharksgirl: Yes, had a lovely time there. Wouldn’t rush back to the “Posh End” too souless for me!!
    Also love Corfu and Corsica. Sicily next on my ‘Island’ list!!

• 398. DawnReply to this comment :

#387 Brigadier Van Zyl:

What do you mean by “owned”?

Does it involve bleeding asses?

• 399. guntherReply to this comment :

#380 pierre:

more than a little I would say..

• 400. pierreReply to this comment :

#387 Brigadier Van Zyl: By the way, I remember the 75-14 match very well. I was at Newlands that day. Afterwards I ran into most of the Bulls team at the Opium night club in Green Point. At some point I found myself standing next to Pakslae at the bar, and I congratulated him on his performance. I got the distinct impression that he was too pissed to speak, but he lifted me up off the floor and gave me a bear hug.

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 » Show All

About the author

Ryan has written 2932 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator