Jacobs, Kirchner to face France
Adi Jacobs starts at inside centre against France while Zane Kirchner has been handed the fullback berth.
It was an open secret that Jacobs would fill the midfield void left by Jean de Villiers, but Kirchner’s inclusion was less certain, with Ruan Pienaar having played in the position in two Tests against Australia in the Tri-Nations, and coach Peter de Villiers intimating that he was being groomed to play there on the year-end tour, given Frans Steyn’s imminent departure for French club Racing Metro.
Elsewhere, Heinrich Brüssow and Schalk Burger should form a formidable flank combination, while the dynamic Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start in light of Pierre Spies’ injury.
The starting line-up boasts a total of 588 Test caps between them, while the bench boys add 180 to that figure. In a Test as close as Friday’s clash in Toulouse is expected to be, experience could well be the difference between victory and defeat.
The Springbok selectors have opted for a 5-2 bench split, with the bench the trio of, props Wian du Preez and CJ van der Linde, and hooker Adriaan Strauss will provide complete front row cover, while Pienaar’s utility value means he can fill in at 9, 10 or 15 and Wynand Olivier likely to get a run in the final quarter at centre, although he has played wing at Test level in the past.
‘The core of the match did duty during the Tri-Nations campaign and will provide us with stability going into this tough opening Test,’ De Villiers said.
‘There are a lot of experienced players in the starting 15 as well as on the bench which will be important to our continuity as well as to ensuring that we maintain our structures and play the way we want to.
‘I have full confidence in the new players who will be starting on Friday, they have shown their qualities before and we have to make sure we get the best out of them. The three newcomers are all good players in their own right. CJ is very experienced while both Adriaan and Wian have been part of the squad previously.’
Springboks - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

November 10th, 2009 at 4:58 pm
#393 WakaNathan:
Where are these places? Middle Earth?
#395 Ig:
Babes, don’t get tetchy with me.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:58 pm
He certainly didn’t own De Jongh.
But I’m pretty sure Wynand did own two or three Modern Talking albums – probably still does. That hairdo is just so brother louie louie louie.
November 10th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
#389 gunther: ….funnily enough I did not focus on the boobs!!
Lots of old wealthy leathery men and young companions!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
Pierre you FREAK!
How can you allow Pakslae to give you a bear hug unless you enjoyed it.
Now. Off to Pilates with you.
#392 Dawn: There must be some good single ‘talent’ in Cape Town!!
It is after all the coolest place in South Africa, they can’t all be tied up!!
#402 Dawn: Eish – you sound krusteeee – right home time
November 10th, 2009 at 5:03 pm
Rosebud.
#406 Ig:
Never with you.
As Whitney says … I will always love yoooooooooouuuuuuu!
(Gross!)
#392 Dawn:
plenty of single men in cpt dawn.
pity most of them are going out with other single men.
#404 Dawn:
carefull…
November 10th, 2009 at 5:04 pm
#400 pierre:
what kak.
the game was at Loftus.
now you are just making it up.
Olivier has been at the heart of every major campaign and victory in the past 4 seasons.
Part, of what is and what makes….a very good Bulls team.
#405 carol:
I don’t think so.
Hey Dawn, you have struck lucky – Mr Darcy in the form of WPTID has come to save you!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:06 pm
#409 charo: Heheheheh – Now that is politically incorrect!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:06 pm
#409 charo:
Jy klink nou amper soos die Brigadier.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
what i dont get about the european men is there total and utter lack of taste or shame.
its quite something to see a 70-year old oke in a string, where his ballas are dangling just off the ground.
not a care in the world.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
#413 carol:
As if.
I know different!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:08 pm
#411 Brigadier Van Zyl: Yep and always played his part in the Bokke games.
He is a better 12 than Adi, Adi is a better 13 than him. Adi will have the opportunity to shut us up on Friday……or not!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:09 pm
#402 katman:
nothing wrong with modern talking.
the 80’s are back in fashion.
in fact, Modern Talking played 2 concerts at the Good Hope Center in ‘88.
mostly coloured audience, bye the way.
Moffie coloured guys.
My aunt was in charge of the PR for the trip…..before you ask.
#416 cab: wtf?
#416 cab:
…or a grannies droopy tits.
yuk
November 10th, 2009 at 5:10 pm
#261 siener: couldnt have put it better myself
November 10th, 2009 at 5:11 pm
#420 Big Hit:
lol, its true, if you go the beach, its a f’ing horrific sight to behold – these wrinked old fellas wearing nothing but a g-string.
absolutely bizarre.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:12 pm
#416 cab: the older the buck,
the harder the horn……..
November 10th, 2009 at 5:13 pm
#403 carol:
belter…
#409 charo:
you sound disappointed…
#416 cab: Don’t rich, skinny old Saffas wear tiny trunks, tan the colour of stewed tea and strut about the beach too?
I am amazed?
mind u i dont even get the speedo bit, but the g-string, hell even the poofdas know how ridiculous those g-strings look, i mean the gold chains around their necks have more width to them.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:14 pm
#424 Kronung:
lol – have not heard that one before.
#68 Tacitus: I agree tac. There is a gaping hole at 12 for David to charge into, pop to Picamoles and then? I shudder. The crown prince is missing, but he’ll be there after Sarries, mark my words.
#415 Dawn:
yes, a bit hackneyed.
has baas gone off and left you to feed the labs again?
#420 Big Hit: Now come on you must have seen these guys, usually French or Italian, he doesn’t mean us!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:15 pm
#400 pierre: Pierre – was jy gesuip of Pakslae…. want daai game was op Loftus!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:17 pm
#426 carol:
yeah but whats wrong with swimming trunks? thats surely the correct attire.
these okes in g-strings always got potbellies and not much to advertise – so am not sure what the continental mindset is?
actually they seem to have a far more liberated mindset in general – those germans will get kaalgat at the drop of a hat.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:22 pm
#423 cab: no self-awareness clearly, mind you I always figured g10 was one of these older guys speedoing around
#431 carol: no I’ve never anything of that ilk, sounds like an episode of Eurotrash
November 10th, 2009 at 5:22 pm
#425 gunther:
#433 cab: Someone should tell them!!
If kaalgat is naked, the Nordic folks are also that way inclined!!
We Brits are a bit more reserved, we just get drunk and fall over on holiday!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
#434 Big Hit:
lol – poor old grantie, he gets too much stick on here.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:26 pm
#434 Big Hit: As G10 cannot defend himself I have to say he does not wear speedo’s, his blonde confirmed this when I took her to one side and asked this very question!!
Do you watch ‘Benidorm’ the look is exactly like the rich old guy on there!!
November 10th, 2009 at 5:28 pm
#359 WakaNathan: Argentinians have Spanish heritage, apart from the indiginous indian population.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:31 pm
#418 Kronung: we’ve neva seen Adi at 12 for the boks so u cant say for sure
what we can say abt WO is he’s never put up his hand when playing for the boks
he does during Super 14 but nt shown the same quality in the green and gold
November 10th, 2009 at 5:32 pm
#438 David:
so, youre telling me that ‘Maradona’ is a name of Spanish heritage ?
Of course, Argentina is principally Spanish. But you only have to cast your eye over their football teams, for starters, to realise how many Italians emigrated there after WWII.
Gabriella Sabatini sound Spanish to you ?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:35 pm
A full front row on th bench for the Boks, not bad.
I’ll place my bet on Sat morning, by the look of it the French by 10 but thier bench is weak, they should included an extra LH.
The Boks back 3 are defence suspectable.
Funy enough, the Boks’ bench of front rowers and backs looks better than the starting 1-3 and 12, 15
November 10th, 2009 at 5:36 pm
#440 WakaNathan:
Yes, but certainly nowhere near 50 to 60% of the population.
Does Diego sound italian?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:37 pm
#437 carol: grant knows I’m j/p. I don’t watch Benidorm but I have seen it flicking through the channels. Whatever keeps ‘em happy I suppose.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:42 pm
benidorm or bust…oi oi oi geyser.
yip you lot can also ruin some perfectly good coastlines.
i can picture carol and big hit walking down the beach with a swagger in their tracksuit and curly hair with a mancunian accent – ‘oi geyser’.
am i vaguely on the money?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:42 pm
#317 Puma: this is the reason i prefer to get my rugby form here than on stupid news24
bloggers provide far more insight into the games than individual writers and arent as racially motivated to comment like the losers there
it shows clear when okes like wp_ and siener can apologise to each other after heated debate
keep it up guys
proud saffa
November 10th, 2009 at 5:44 pm
#95 Puma:
The French like the Lions’ Simon Shaw will target Kirshner, the Cheetahs targeted him in their matches against the Bulls and it yield good return,
November 10th, 2009 at 5:44 pm
#441 Hondo: how can u say a back 3 with Pietersen Habana and Kirchner are suspect
combinations never get me worried as we have in habana and kirchner
pietersen’s always been solid so i’m nt feeling ur argument?
November 10th, 2009 at 5:45 pm
#446 Hondo: only time will tell i guess, he does hold his own though in the tackle situation wouldnt u say
November 10th, 2009 at 5:47 pm
#439 Papoose: I guess we’ll have to wait and see. I prefer not to be bias as I admire both talents. Mesiekind should have played 12 IMHO. Adi could have come on on 60 to prove his worth at 12.
November 10th, 2009 at 5:48 pm
#411 Brigadier Van Zyl:
I’ll take WO over Jacobs any time with a generous change