Brüssow Boks’ ‘true poison’
Marc Lievremont says Heinrich Brüssow will have to be nullified as he has added an extra dimension to the Bok side.
Brüssow has had a dream run in his first full year of Test rugby, but in Toulouse on Friday night he will continue his learning curve. It will be the first time he comes up against a physical French pack and opensider Thierry Dusautoir in a hostile atmosphere in the 37 000-capacity Stade Municipal.
The Free State opensider was set to be dropped for this Test before Pierre Spies’s tour-ending injury, but France coach Lievremont singled out the Bok No 6 ahead of any of his other team-mates as one to keep quiet if they are to claim their third successive win over the Boks.
‘They have in their armour a fatal weapon in Brüssow,’ he said. ‘He is true poison. It is the first time that the Boks have relied on such a player, a great performer on the ground.
‘Because of that, they are even more complete than ever before. And having seen their provincial games, it is a sector in which they excel. I have learned that at training they do a lot of fighting and judo. It is perhaps the key to their success in this factor.’
Brüssow was one player singled out, but the Tricolores seem obsessed with the Boks’ physicality, and Lievremont said ‘they play to hurt’.
‘With them, it’s a cultural thing. They play to do bad things. It is not provocation. Of course they have players like [Bakkies] Botha who are sometimes at the limit of the rules, but I find them more and more disciplined.
‘They don’t make any of those stupid mistakes they made in the past and which have perhaps cost them some victories.’
It is clear from their comments that the French will be looking to niggle in order to disrupt the Boks’ focus, and here Botha, Brüssow and co will have to maintain discipline.

November 11th, 2009 at 10:58 am
Fearful Dragons!
If they focus on nullifying Brussow, which I’m sure Dusautoir and harinorodquy will br doing, they will open up space for Schalk Burger to run havoc on the ground as well!
November 11th, 2009 at 10:59 am
Enough of this talking…I say bring on the “thugy”
November 11th, 2009 at 10:59 am
meant “thugby” eish!
November 11th, 2009 at 11:07 am
Of course he is!
That he was going to be dropped proves how much of a tool PdV can be.
Who is their right mind drops there best forward I mean really? It’s like dropping Vic…
November 11th, 2009 at 11:11 am
jeez could tfrench talk this up anymore …. please tell me that neither bryce lawrence or stu dickenson are reffing this…
November 11th, 2009 at 11:11 am
#4 WP_:
You really dont think PdV knows what he is doing dont you?
November 11th, 2009 at 11:12 am
So with us it is a cultural thing and we play to do bad things!!!!!!!
Never heard such nonsense..
With Burger next to Brussow they can cause havoc to the French. Now just hoping that Burger does not give away any penalties or gets 10 min in the bin. Same for Bakkies no going to the bin in this game. If any player goes to the the bin it will cost us huge with this team. All the players must be very disciplined.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:13 am
i wonder what jake makes out of all of this “boks have an extra dimension & are a totally complete side” cause it is in a way revealing of a certain limitation in his thinking, a “blind spot” if you like…hhmmm. Well thank goodness now we have a coach who is adaptable & dynamic in his rugby thinking.
Go bokke!
November 11th, 2009 at 11:13 am
I’m worried about Adi at 12.
Its not like we have Butch at 10 any more (not that Steyn is a bad defender) to cover the flyhalf/12 channel.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:14 am
Is it just me or is something being lost in translation. I can’t imagine the French are really putting it in these coarse terms.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:15 am
#8 Transformation:
I’m with you. I still wonder if Jake would have overlooked HB.
But then again, Adi at 12 worries me a bit. When last did he play 12??????
November 11th, 2009 at 11:19 am
It’s not just Brussow they need to worry about but Bismarck’s fetching abilities are just as potent.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:22 am
at training they do a lot of fighting and judo
What utter nonsense
the wobblies are the only ones we know of that fight in training
the mind games have seriously begun
November 11th, 2009 at 11:23 am
The french centre weighs 105 KG, Maa’ Nonu weighs 104 KG, I never saw Nonu run through Adi.
Defence is a collective effort and as long as the guys communicate effectively, they should be ok.
I hope Adi is not pre-occupied with this whole “Adi can’t defend” notion. His major strength is his agility and eye for the gap.
Go Adi you good thing.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:28 am
Judo?
I thought that went out together with TDK cassettes and fax machines.
We’ll see how Brussow plays up North. A few years back Spies was given a harsh introduction to the conditions and was run over a few times in the Irish game,
#10 Big Hit: I agree. “They play to do bad things” ???? WTF
#5 gunther: Worse – Wayne Barnes !!! God help us
November 11th, 2009 at 11:29 am
#5 gunther: I think it is the “Frenchman” Wayne Barnes!
#6 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: please dont entertain him, he’s been on this racially charged mode for almost two weeks now, something has really upset this dude
#13 Papoose: I know for a fact that they do sometimes get Judo instructors in to help them. Honest truth. The principles definitely works for players like Brussouw.
I am worried!
November 11th, 2009 at 11:31 am
#14 Jozi: Agreed. You are even more sheltered from One on one defending at 12….
Adi is a smart player, and i rekcon he could create some space for Mossie.
Lets hope for the best.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:32 am
#21 Staal: The fear of the unfamiliar….
Ons gaan hulle gatte skop ou maat !
November 11th, 2009 at 11:35 am
#4 WP_:
Can’t you just give it a rest? We all know by now how you feel about PdV. Your really are getting boring now.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:40 am
I have learned that at training they do a lot of fighting and judo. It is perhaps the key to their success in this factor.’
sweet lord but this is becoming surreal…perhaps they caught bakkies doing his yoga warm ups…
November 11th, 2009 at 11:42 am
#8 Transformation: To all those exclusively Pvd fans, as well as those exclusively JW fans. Grow up! If you cannot recognise that both these coaches have done a great for their country and that both these coaches have taken the SA game to new levels, you are ignorant and short sighted.
Jake White took a side that got pasted at the 2003 World Cup by England and NZ. A side with no direction and pretty much the laughing stock of world rugby. He took this side brought back fundamentals such as consistancy, having pride for the jersey, good discipline, etc. Under his coaching SA won the 3N and the World Cup. When he started coaching SA we were number 6 in the world, when he left we were number 1. He had to know something about rugby in order to achieve this. But, like all people in the world (including you self righteous bitter people who love to shoot him down) he made mistakes, made stupid comments at press conferences, had some shocking defeats and bad years as coach. But, not being able to recognise that Jake White did more for SA rugby than six four coaches before him, shows your own arrogance and ignorance. The same things you accuse him of.
The same goes for those of you who love to shoot your mouth of about PdV. Yes, he recieved the number 1 side in the world. A very settled side, but under his reign as coach the boks have beaten NZ in NZ (twice!), have beaten NZ 3 times in one year, have have won the 3N, went on an undefeated EOYT last year, started as number 1 and is still number 1. He has achieved alot which JW did not. Not being able to recognise that this man has taken SA rugby forward and that he must know something of rugby makes you ignorant and arrogant. Yes, he says stupid things, makes contruversial selections (who doesn’t!), has had some shocking defeats, etc.
SA rugby is better and where we are now (ON TOP OF THE WORLD!) because of BOTH these people and NOT in spite of them! Grow up please and give these men the honour they deserve.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:42 am
#13 Papoose:
I know that Paul Treu introduced it as part of his training methods with the sevens side. With our players being smaller than the Pacific Islanders, it teaches them to attack specific weak points at a specific angle in order to bring down a man much bigger than yourself much more easily. Just look how it improved Gio Aplon’s tackling ability.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:44 am
#9 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Feel the same with Adi at inside centre. Think that is where we could be weak. Adi is a 13 and playing out of position too. Also has not been the same player he was last year. Probably from being injured in that shoulder.
Also a bit worried with Zane at the back. Never played well in the E. Boks or the last test against the Lions. Now though he will be playing with much better players and have a lot of the Bulls players there that he is used to playing with. So maybe he will be fine.
November 11th, 2009 at 11:45 am
#17 Cheetha Champs:
#18 zimshark:
thats a worry …. he is bit of a home town ref and it doesnt get much more home town than 37,000 frenchman hopped up on cheap alchohol and gitanes…
November 11th, 2009 at 11:57 am
#17 Cheetha Champs: Wayne Barnes the ref? Not good news. Boks must just give no penalties away. Have to be very disciplined.
November 11th, 2009 at 12:19 pm
Brussouw has bested “Tackles” McCaw and George “Smeeth” already this year.
I’m banking on him making it 3 out of 3 here.
November 11th, 2009 at 12:26 pm
Someone needs to tell the selectors this obvious fact!!!
November 11th, 2009 at 12:39 pm
If Brussouw was to be dropped for this test, than who was going to replace him. Assume it was going to be Spies at 8, Burgher at 7 [to repalce Smith] so who was going to 6?
November 11th, 2009 at 12:48 pm
#20 Cheetha Champs: was referring to the fighting
who besides the wobblies do u know of were they’re fights during trainin?
November 11th, 2009 at 12:49 pm
#33 dj: kanko would have been 7 and schalk 6
November 11th, 2009 at 12:52 pm
#26 fsjakes:
if jake (thank you for everything you did) was out there in the rugby wilderness enjoying his millions & not constantly putting his boot in on everything to do with the springboks, then i would certainly not make comparisons between his thinking & that of ROBBIE DEANS & MARK LIEVREMONT and others.
this year robbie deans said
“Before the ban Burger was a mainstay of the loose trio, but Brüssow has excelled in his absence, making telling contributions to the Springboks’ recent success. He is yet to be outclassed, despite having played against two of the world’s elite opensiders in New Zeland’s Richie McCaw and Australia’s George Smith.
Australia coach Robbie Deans told keo.co.za on Thursday that Brüssow added a dimension to the Springboks that they hadn’t had before, referring to his potency at the breakdown, and the trio certainly has a more balance looked about it with the Free Stater in the mix.
and now mark lievremont says this
“Marc Lievremont says Heinrich Brüssow will have to be nullified as he has added an extra dimension to the Bok side.
‘They have in their armour a fatal weapon in Brüssow,’ he said. ‘He is true poison. It is the first time that the Boks have relied on such a player, a great performer on the ground.
‘Because of that, they are even more complete than ever before. And having seen their provincial games, it is a sector in which they excel. I have learned that at training they do a lot of fighting and judo. It is perhaps the key to their success in this factor
david pocock who with george smith nullified brussow in brisbane had this to say
David Pocock believes Heinrich Brussow should start in the Springbok No 6 jersey when Schalk Burger returns from suspension.
‘I personally think that when Brussow’s been on the field, he’s added another dimension to their game,’ Pocock told keo.co_za. ‘Having said that, Schalk has to be in a Springbok side [when he returns].’
Pocock said the pair would form an intimidating combination on the sides of the scrum, but was also complimentary of Juan Smith’s understated role in the team.
‘They are very different players: Schalk is a big ball-carrier, he’s a massive human being and he crashes into those rucks. I think Brussow has a body-shape that allows him to be a lot more accurate at the breakdown, as he’s more like George [Smith] and Phil [Waugh] – shorter and well built. Brussow gets around – he gets to a lot of breakdowns and is very busy.
‘I think it would be a pretty lethal combination,’ continued Pocock. ‘But then again I think Juan Smith offers you that lineout option. It’s pretty good to have that selection problem, having those three guys fighting for two spots in future.’
what has jake said in the same year?
“You don’t pick rugby teams based only on stats,’ White told The Sunday Times. ‘The tackle-count stats are only relevant if the opposing teams are making a similar number of tackles. Brüssow made 25 tackles against the Bulls, out of 237 tackles by the Cheetahs, which is massive. But look at the amount of defending his team was forced to do.
‘Tackles missed is a more vital stat, and if the difference is marginal, then what’s the big deal? The reality is that Schalk Burger can tackle and he has made 25 tackles in a Test before, so why are we suddenly concerned he won’t do it again?’
At the breakdown, the Cheetahs flank had forced 24 turnovers compared to Burger’s three, while the former had hit 80 rucks compared to Burger’s 52. Brüssow has conceded nine turnovers and 18 handling errors, compared to 15 and 22 respectively from Burger.
In a likely Bok loose-trio of Burger, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies the Boks would then have five lineout options – an area that is expected to be crucial in the Lions series – and here Burger edges the shorter Brüssow.
Burger has won eight set-pieces compared to Brüssow’s one and has also fielded four kick-offs to one. Burger has passed 102 times to Brüssow’s 65, as well as having more offloads – nine to seven.
These statistics for the Super 14 may point to a case for starting Brüssow against the Lions, but White is amazed this is even being contemplated.
‘Schalk is the best rugby player I’ve ever coached,’ he said. ‘The reason for that is simple — he’s the difference between winning and losing Test matches. Any guy who has that ability — a Jonah Lomu or a Jonny Wilkinson — has to be in your side.
‘That kind of player, who when he plays ensures the team is vastly better than when he doesn’t play, is special. Burger is that guy. He is the kind of player coaches can’t do without,’ said the former Bok coach.
‘Why would you want to drop a 1.93m, 49-Test veteran who’s won a junior and senior World Cup and is only 26, for a player with one Test cap in the most important series in the last decade?
‘Is dropping a player going to change the team or improve the team? If it’s the former, then why do it? If the answer is the latter, then it’s the right move.
‘Can we honestly say that at Test level dropping Schalk Burger will improve the team?’”
so please meneer, check yourself & calm down, this is rugby debate, i’m discussing rugby philosophy here not achievements. if you have a contribution to make try & formulate one. otherwise log off!
November 11th, 2009 at 12:54 pm
#26 fsjakes: this is the most impartial and correct view when comparing JW and PdV
wish more people would wake up to this view
sadly we saffas are too polarized by race and this is where alot of the posers really base they’re “Passion” on
lets move on and nt give them the airtime
November 11th, 2009 at 12:54 pm
#34 Papoose:
Rugby is a physical sport. If you dont fight during training, you are not doing it right !!!
November 11th, 2009 at 12:55 pm
#35 Cheetahboytjie:
I thought it would have been Kanko at 8 and Spies at 7 with Schalk 6. Although I can’t remember where I got it from.
November 11th, 2009 at 12:56 pm
#26 fsjakes: Well said. Hindsight is a beautiful thing. Selections get made based on team dynamics, game plans and opposition.Just because bloggers agree/disagree on team selection it should not be treated as the gospel. So a little perspective once in a while has never harmed anyone.
November 11th, 2009 at 12:57 pm
The question has to be asked WHY DROP HENRICH for the French test ? ? He is currently on top form ? Is PDivvy playing horses for courses , being experimental ? Surely on playing stats Schalk would be dropped to the bench than Brussow – or is this all mere speculation ?
November 11th, 2009 at 1:01 pm
#33 dj: The 3 loosies that stayed behind were Spies, Kanko and Burger
November 11th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
#39 David:
Tank Lanning?
November 11th, 2009 at 1:07 pm
#36 Transformation: as fsjakes said
both have made some very stupid comments
that shouldnt take away the reverence for the fat that they both moved us fwd
END OF STORY
November 11th, 2009 at 1:08 pm
#36 Transformation: Thatha Transie, babhide tyhopho ngolwimi lwakubo!!!!!
November 11th, 2009 at 1:13 pm
fact not fat
November 11th, 2009 at 1:22 pm
#43 nama1:
I don’t think so.
#41 stew:
They’d probably decided to give Kanko some game time at 8, which is why I seem to remember Spies playing at 7. It would have made sense to balance Kankos more open style with 2 big flanks.
November 11th, 2009 at 1:24 pm
#44 Papoose: asking questions on jake’s current rugby thinking is in no way meant detract from his past achievements. If mallet were to comment on the bok loose trio now, his own rugby thinking would have to be put to the test, nothing to do with the 17 consecutive tests he won as springbok coach!
We need to begin to detach sentiment from genuine rugby discussions, now THAT will be moving on!
November 11th, 2009 at 1:29 pm
#26 fsjakes: Excellent post!
#36 Transformation: You are glossing over the fact that PDV has expressed similiar sentiments regarding Schalk, professing 60% of his game plan to be build around him. And that Brussow was set to be dropped for the France test.
Jake White was/is a good coach, he has the accolades to back up that statement.
PDV is a good coach, he has the accolades to back up that statement.
I know that a large part of your anti-Jake sentiments stems from the unwillingness of a number of bloggers to recognise PDV as such. Dont let your their narrow-minded, myopic sentiments cloud yours.
November 11th, 2009 at 1:36 pm
#4 WP_: Heluim Snor really is a complete bufoon.
He is still riding on past talent and squad identification as when he makes his very own selections he tends to show how little he really knows about rugby.
Shocking stuff. We ought to win the RWC but after that, when the core leaves Helium will be left exposed and just does not have the substance to identify and coach new talent.
Hows this chop, wanting to leave Heinrich out?
Persisting with Ralepelle
Jannie dup
Rautenbach
Johnson
Ndungane
Earl Rose
Throwing the last Lions test away
When he gets it wrong against the Tigers, what does he do, chooses the players that we all KNEW should be there.
A rocket scientist old Snorrie is not.