Brüssow Boks’ ‘true poison’

Marc Lievremont says Heinrich Brüssow will have to be nullified as he has added an extra dimension to the Bok side.

Brüssow has had a dream run in his first full year of Test rugby, but in Toulouse on Friday night he will continue his learning curve. It will be the first time he comes up against a physical French pack and opensider Thierry Dusautoir in a hostile atmosphere in the 37 000-capacity Stade Municipal.

The Free State opensider was set to be dropped for this Test before Pierre Spies’s tour-ending injury, but France coach Lievremont singled out the Bok No 6 ahead of any of his other team-mates as one to keep quiet if they are to claim their third successive win over the Boks.

‘They have in their armour a fatal weapon in Brüssow,’ he said. ‘He is true poison. It is the first time that the Boks have relied on such a player, a great performer on the ground.

‘Because of that, they are even more complete than ever before. And having seen their provincial games, it is a sector in which they excel. I have learned that at training they do a lot of fighting and judo. It is perhaps the key to their success in this factor.’

Brüssow was one player singled out, but the Tricolores seem obsessed with the Boks’ physicality, and Lievremont said ‘they play to hurt’.

‘With them, it’s a cultural thing. They play to do bad things. It is not provocation. Of course they have players like [Bakkies] Botha who are sometimes at the limit of the rules, but I find them more and more disciplined.

‘They don’t make any of those stupid mistakes they made in the past and which have perhaps cost them some victories.’

It is clear from their comments that the French will be looking to niggle in order to disrupt the Boks’ focus, and here Botha, Brüssow and co will have to maintain discipline.

414 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#349,

Don’t start, he has his period. :)

• 352.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#348 gunther: njalo nje

#347 Transformation: hey quota blogger, hoesit?

• 353.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#347 Transformation: #1 “If they focus on nullifying Brussow, which I’m sure Dusautoir and harinorodquy will br doing, they will open up space for Schalk Burger to run havoc on the ground as well!”

What does that have to do with your first post: ““i wonder what jake makes out of all of this “boks have an extra dimension & are a totally complete side” cause it is in a way revealing of a certain limitation in his thinking, a “blind spot” if you like…hhmmm. Well thank goodness now we have a coach who is adaptable & dynamic in his rugby thinking.”

Explain the logic?

• 354.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

By the look of the Bokke – France poll quite a lot of people will have a bad weekend on Superbru.

Fearsome Frogs by 11

• 355.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#346 rangerman: Why call us racists? What have anyone said taday that was racist?

• 356.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#350 Die_Valk: THE GREATEST.

simple really.

• 357.gunther: Reply to this comment

#352 rangerman:

bonsoir … how is the dodgy meat business when am I getting my “trade samples”….

• 358.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

SEABASS!!!!

• 359.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#355 fsjakes: i take it back you bunch of crackers.

it comes from a context you were clearly not here for.

• 360.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#356,

We all live in our own worlds I guess.

Frik du Preez as far as South Africa goes.

• 361.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#357 gunther: at dinner with the in laws.

animals are my friends.

they taste good too.

• 362.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#359 rangerman: Sorry man, did mean to snap. Have just been trying to reason with Transformation the whole day. Made me a bit on the edge.

• 363.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#360 Die_Valk: no.

good man Oom Frik.

but he couldnt scrum like JS.

i am off racists, cheers!

• 364.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

“Didn’t mean to snap”

• 365.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#349 fsjakes: when did you put me in a box?

“First of all, my post was not just directed at you (although, you are one of the people who love to shoot down JW more than alot of other people)”

“Stop thinking across racial lines (which frankly, you seem to do just as much as aany other).”

• 366.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#352 rangerman: what’s up rangerman, you’ve been scarce here since the sharks capitulated. have you paid to fix the Kaizer Chiefs bus?

• 367.gunther: Reply to this comment

#355 fsjakes:

chill there pilgrim…the rsnger is talking with his large tongue in his small cheek…..

• 368.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#366 Transformation: #367 gunther: you guys are two top chaps.

my skoonpa wants to moer me, must go.

• 369.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#363,

I hope your joking. If not, you’ll get a reality check on Friday. Os is also one of the greats. 13 years in international rugby as a front rower is unheard of.

• 370.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#351 Die_Valk: howzit valkie…

• 371.David: Reply to this comment

#369 Die_Valk:
    Yeah, those Free Staters never did know when to give up. :lol:

• 372.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#353 fsjakes: the first line of the article. jeepers…

• 373.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Hey Trans.

#371,

Don’t get me started. Vrystaat!

• 374.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#372 Transformation: Transformation, its been fun. I hope that the box that I put you in doesn’t get to small. I will go back to school and learn to “comprehend the written word.” You still haven’t ansewerd any of my questions either.

• 375.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#372 Transformation: Transformation, its been fun. Hope that box I put you in doesn’t get to small.

• 376.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#375 fsjakes: interesting nic… explain?

• 377.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#374 fsjakes: cheers fsjakes…u must never! :D

• 378.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#376 SpringbokSarah: fs – free state, the team I support appart from boks. jakes – my high school nick name.

• 379.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#378 fsjakes: and #377 Transformation: Gents, come on, both of you guys respect both coaches , WTF is this, you would swear you okes are at Gaza Strip.

Both men, JW & PDV have done a great job for the Boks, one was a stubborn bugger, the other shows willingness to adapt, and neither of these traits are wrong, it just depends when are they applied.

• 380.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#379 XhosaKid: We’ve burried the hachet. Moved on.

• 381.David: Reply to this comment

#374 fsjakes:
    Just have anotherb go at spelling “philosophy”, you almost got there at the second attempt. :grin:

• 382.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#381 David: I’ll do that and then you try “anotherb”…

• 383.David: Reply to this comment

#382 fsjakes:
    That was a typo, not a spelling error, as you well know. :roll:

• 384.David: Reply to this comment

#383 David:
    The point is, just calm down.

• 385.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#384 David: Why are you on my case now? Calm down from what?

• 386.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#384 David: You made a joke, I actually made one back… I know it was a typo, but in light of your comment, not a good time to make a typo. Therefore, my reply…

• 387.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#379 XhosaKid: lol @ gaza strip. Hey ngqawa if i say nelson mandela seems to have a blindspot for the current anc administration, i don’t expect you to be jumping up & trying to paint me as ungrateful & trying to remind me that rholihlahla spent 27yrs in jail instead of examining whether i have a point or not in my observation…feel me? :D

Otherwise atheni na lama-french ethethela phezulu kangaka nje?

• 388.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

i can’t believe ad jacobs is playing, he was useless in EA Rugby 2007 and equally hopeless in real life.

• 389.David: Reply to this comment

#385 fsjakes:
    You and Transie have been going on about “you said, I said” for over 3 hrs now. This is an open blog and it’s become boring for the rest of us. There have always been differences of opinion here regarding Jake and PdeV and we’ve come to accept it.
    I realise that you think Transie might be a bit sensitive, but just read Hondos comments on the other thread about PdeV and quotas, and you’ll realise why.

• 390.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#389 David: David, I actually never disagreed with him about any rugby matters. I did however take offense to the way he implied that I am stupid and can’t formulate an arguement, especially after I didn’t even attack him or said anything nasty about him initially.

I agree. It is boring! have been going on for way to long. But, he doesn’t want to stop. Read 387.

Sorry that we bored you!

• 391.David: Reply to this comment

#387 Transformation:
    Give it a break, pleeeease. :grin:

• 392.David: Reply to this comment

#386 fsjakes:
    Sorry, you did. I reckon the red wine is interfering with my sense of humour. :roll:

• 393.grant10: Reply to this comment

transie and jakes like 2 novice attorneys going at it for the 1 st time….

Almost as bad as my J Smit cant scrum tirade!!

And by the way…just for the record…he cant!

• 394.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#393 grant10: What’t the verdict your honour?

• 395.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#393 grant10: #391 David: nah man, i just had to go in on fsjakes…i could tell he is soft. Otherwise i’m cooler that freddie jackson eating ice cream in a snow storm.

hey grant, i don’t sense any nervousness in your posts, are you underestimating the french?

• 396.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#395 Transformation: Insults, insults, insults…

• 397.grant10: Reply to this comment

#394 fsjakes: PDV a better coach by a country roll…you scrapped from the roll…

• 398.grant10: Reply to this comment

#395 Transformation: we will lose by 12…cant see us mentally getting there….nervous as all hell boet…but full of red wine…that helps.

• 399.grant10: Reply to this comment

#397 grant10: country mile….you struck from roll…sorry…lots of red wine…

But i cant stand jake…so dont mind me…

• 400.David: Reply to this comment

#399 grant10:
    Had a good evening then, I presume? :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.