CJ fated to carry front row
CJ van der Linde, Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss have been gifted a fantastic opportunity to prove their front-row worth.
Injuries have robbed Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie Du Plessis and Gurthro Steenkamp of their respective chances to shine, and as fate would have it, three players who should always have featured now find themselves in line to battle the French.
Van der Linde’s move to Leinster was met with regret, Ollie le Roux once telling this website the incumbent Boks lacked a genuine tighthead who was as mean or versatile. It was a big disappointment of Springbok legend Os du Randt that Du Preez and Strauss failed to make the initial touring squad, as the Bok coaching staff obviously didn’t view the pair as long-term prospects.
Three injuries later, and Van der Linde, Du Preez and Strauss have the opportunity to alter perception. Those in the know reckon they deserve their Bok jerseys ahead of Du Plessis, Steenkamp and Ralepelle, and after being named on the bench, the weight of Test performance should be added to what would appear a one-sided debate.
The policy preventing foreign-based players from playing for the Boks is not set in stone, and this is why Van der Linde now finds himself in the mix. If he makes a big impact on this three-Test tour, how can the coaching staff continue to ignore his obvious talents?
It’s not as easy as rocking up and performing this Friday. The World Cup-winning tighthead hasn’t played for the Boks since the 2008 Tri-Nations and questions will be asked about his ability to perform in an altered South African set-up.
What’s in Van der Linde’s favour is his experience scrumming in front of locks Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha. He also has enjoyed many games alongside Du Preez and Strauss for the Cheetahs at Super 14 and Currie Cup level.
Peter de Villiers has named the Cheetahs trio on a Bok bench that sees five forwards and two backs. These forwards should be utilised as the Boks look to maintain their intensity over an 80-minute period. If they make an impact, they need to be rewarded. If it becomes clear they will contribute to a successful World Cup defence, then they will need to be retained.
Keo.co.za has it on good authority that the French Test squad took heart from the forward capitulation at Leicester. Perhaps France don’t know that South Africa are touring with a first- and third-string side, rather than the conventional first and second, and thus expect the Bok seniors to be only marginally better than the Leicester losers.
Marc Lievremont has talked the Boks up over the past month, and his selections are geared toward a physical bout, with emphasis on the set-phases. William Servat (hooker) and Romain Millo-Chluski (lock) are powerful scrumming options while aside from a dependable second row the hosts will look to Imanol Harinordoquy as banker at the tail of the lineout.
The Boks are favourites in every department bar the scrum. They’ve been inconsistent this season, and given the amount of rugby Beast Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis and John Smit have endured in 2009, they’ll be hard pressed to deliver a strong showing.
De Villiers has his bankers on the bench. If the Boks are looking to realise the dual ambition of an unbeaten tour and squad development ahead of the World Cup, they could do worse than invest in Van der Linde, Du Preez and Strauss.
All three have the pedigree, but the proof is in the performance. A strong showing and they should become the understudies to the incumbents and not return to club and domestic obscurity when Ralepelle, Du Plessis and Steenkamp return from injury.
Heinrich Brussow and Morne Steyn usurped Schalk Burger and Ruan Pienaar respectively when both fell foul to injury. As long as Van der Linde, Du Preez and Strauss perform, they should be treated exactly the same. Through the ill-fate of three others, they now have that opportunity.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

November 11th, 2009 at 4:42 pm
Sorry if someone posted this already, but does anyone know what channel is showing the game in UK?
November 11th, 2009 at 4:43 pm
#201 umfolozi:
ESPN… Sky are a bunch of losers and would rather show some **** tennis than the world champs in action.
November 11th, 2009 at 4:44 pm
#198 Big Hit: ja…thats the dilemma….if you a RP fan that is….to me RP is a serial under deliverer…wiyth a fragile mindset…leave the oke at 9….give him a break….he sees the no 10 and starts an anxiety attack…
#199 ashley: Hi…agree 100% Ashley.
November 11th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
#203 grant10: being fair though, which game did RP underperform in for the Boks?
November 11th, 2009 at 4:47 pm
#203 grant10:
sorry that i couldnt post much yesterday … wouldve looooooooved to be here after the announcement of the team …. i gather you were in your normal happy state of nervousness?
November 11th, 2009 at 4:49 pm
#200 Vetkoek:
post 2011 ebersohn (sp)
November 11th, 2009 at 4:55 pm
Sylvain Marconnet on the French bench… massive scrummager, though I havent seen him play much since the neck injury which ruled him out of the 2007 World Cup. Is he still the same player he was back then?
I hope CJ returns to play rugby in SA next year, so he can play for the Boks in the 2011 World Cup, then people wouldn’t worry so much about John Smit at tighthead. A good 60 minutes by John on the field would be good, and he would have a quality replacement to replace him. Victor Matfield is a good enough leader to captain the Boks in the closing stages of matches.
#203 grant10:
I agree with you about Ruan having a fragile mindset. The kicks he has fluffed for the Boks are a testament to that. But then again does brilliantly when he comes on from the bench for the Boks. Maybe he will be resigned to becoming an impact player for the Boks. I also think he’ll play scrumhalf for the Sharks, with Juan Martin Hernandez being pivot for the SHarks next year. So all buttons point to him being a utility back for the Boks in the forseeable future – that’s if Kirchner performs well at fullback for the Boks.
November 11th, 2009 at 4:56 pm
#204 Big Hit: I certainly felt he was under par at 15 for Boks….and the missed penalties at 10 a huge no no for me! Seemed to lack the real ice in the veins….Justrugby has for a long time questioned his mind set….I struggle to see the huge talent some see in him…yes…he is a talented player….byt is the hype really fulfilled?
#205 ashley: Nervous as all hell Ashley…the French beating those war drums…but CJ back…so i feel a bit better….
Brain still says French by 12 though!
November 11th, 2009 at 4:57 pm
CJ and Jannie have never been awesome srummagers like say Visagie. I hope CJ’s time overseas has improved this facet of his game
November 11th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
#208 grant10:

noooooooooooooooooooooo, you peanut brain!!!
anyway
out of here
see ya!!
November 11th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
#207 Mbhubesi: Agree…Ruan a great player to have on the bench with the versatality…
I would have it the other wat around with J Smit…have him as a supersub…he covers 1…2 and 3…
Bring him on with 30 to go….
November 11th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
#208 grant10: ruan is a great talent ,mentaly fragile though
November 11th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
#209 Bok fan: ja…me too…i am sure he would have improved in Ireland.
I saw the dvd of the boks game in 2008 in Dunedin….Boks scrummed a lot better than this year…CJ was at 3….
Lets see…
November 11th, 2009 at 5:03 pm
#210 ashley: Cheers my man…chat soon!Dont be so scarce!
November 11th, 2009 at 5:04 pm
#212 bolandboy: Agree…a superb player.
November 11th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
#215 grant10: maybe see him move to a province like the bulls ,i see him at 10 ,must be said morne steyn ,a great as he is, owes half his succes to du preez …pienaar just maybe needs some sought of familiarity
November 11th, 2009 at 5:08 pm
#213 grant10:
than we did against nz this year?
no way jose….
November 11th, 2009 at 5:09 pm
just to chuck a couple ha’penny’s in here.
Pienaar started brilliantly against Lions then 2 of his spot kicks hit the uprights. Then Morne came on and slots his. So they drop Pienaar and Morne has a bum third test behind a losing pack with JS and Jan Dup propping. Pienaar gets relegated to back up boy or full back, which he isn’t, or scrum half make shift at Sharks. All this contributing to an incredible amount of self esteem oozing out his self confident psyche. Pdv still wants to prove to him and everyone that he got what it takes at Fh so he starts Fh vs Leicester and starts well. Then front row start collapsing and Pienaar’s confidence takes some more battering cause some his out of hand kicking goes awry.
Bottom line, Pienaar’s still class at a running game pivot only he got to start believing it again.
As regards front row discussions here between some Sharks supporters and others, I can guarantee you that the two people most grateful for the fact that its CJ and W. Du Preez on the bench and not J. Dup and G. Steenkamp backing them up, is actually J. Smit and Beast, cause now at least they know after they get pumped solid by Frenchie for 40 min they can go off and have a rest instead of back peddling a further 30-40 min in reverse gear.
November 11th, 2009 at 5:12 pm
On the contrary Mr Sowerby the arrogance is not in arriving so late it is in believing that Adi Jacobs is good enough to play test rugby!!! If we lose this and with Adi in the team our chances of losing increase by about 3000% the blame will lie purely and only with Puppet De Villiers and Adi Jacobs for not having the strength of character shown by Charl Langeveldt to say I refuse to play as a quota player, cos if truth be told Adi has only ever been a quota and a very poor one at that!!!
November 11th, 2009 at 5:13 pm
#216 bolandboy: stormers??
#217 gunther: 2 swallows do not a flock of birds or a summer make….personally since 1976 never seen such a consistently kak bok scrumming performance….1 st test vs B Lions and last test vs Kiwis the exception…
The norm was turbo reverse…and this Bok front row repeated the action replay in thew CC….
Slao snoek i tell ya…
Cheers G…function on…gotta go don the suit and influence people…tell them i think J Smit is a legend at 3….need there business…so gotts wear the corporste mask…
Outta here
November 11th, 2009 at 5:14 pm
#219 bluealligator: ha ha ha upset becuase youre lil mana aint in the team ??;D
November 11th, 2009 at 5:15 pm
#218 skopskiet: That all be the truth, cheers Skop!
November 11th, 2009 at 5:16 pm
#218 skopskiet: generous in giving them 40minutes.i think they will be replaced after 20minutes after having their arses melted into victor and bakkies faces!
November 11th, 2009 at 5:17 pm
#208 grant10: definitely not a 15, needs to practise his kicking
#218 skopskiet: agree skop, needs game time at 10. Hernandez there now though
#221 bolandboy: no just getting sick of a quota coach and his quota players getting the recognition for success’ achieved by ignoring the puppet and Adi is without doubt the single worst player ever to wear an international rugby jersey for any country I would rather Balie swart played at 12 on friday at least he was a rugby player
#220 grant10:perhaps
November 11th, 2009 at 5:18 pm
#220 grant10:
cheers you nutter…
November 11th, 2009 at 5:20 pm
#219 bluealligator: to be honest,charl langeveld made a big career blunder there because he was actually better than that clown of an overrated fast bowler(forgot his name).
November 11th, 2009 at 5:21 pm
#225 bluealligator: adi isnt that bad his defence is to be questioned -but on the otherhand wynand ,imo doesnt quite have the distribution ability that adi has ,wynand is a typical bull back -hard big one dymensonal -like i said earlier ,let them target adi ,bring the ball to that chanel for brussow
November 11th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
can’t wait for friday!just hope that the wp/stormer winger gets enough ball,but with the one-dimensional blue bull flyhalf it probably won’t happen.
November 11th, 2009 at 5:25 pm
#230 Valkyrie: one dymensonal
November 11th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
PdV’s front row has never had a tougher test. Make or break time for them as a unit. Kanko has never impressed me in the tight, physical match-ups and we will miss Jean’s ability to make something out of nothing. Zane is a risk, not to say anything about Adi. Burger must stay disciplined. I hope to see a few Chabal monster tackles and runs.
November 11th, 2009 at 6:42 pm
just won a motza online playing the GGs in the UK from a laptop in Aus.stoked ekse cause I had no idea what I was doing. as much analyzing you okes do this game is going to be a cracker with the “french as favourites”. ok I’m lekker dronk but BAKKIES YOU BEAUTY THIS IS YOUR GAME CHINA! ffffuck I’m so proud of the bokke at the moment…sooo much o tlak about and while we’re winning. I love red fire engines and kiff racks.swallow my ****
November 11th, 2009 at 6:46 pm
oke walks in to a shop and says, “can I have a kitkat chunky”, the lady at the shop reaches back and puts a kitkat chunky on the counter. the oke says, “I wanted a normal kitkat you fat b*tch!”
salt..pinch
November 11th, 2009 at 6:46 pm
Does anyone know what time this game starts? It is not being broadcast in the US and I want to get it on Justin.tv maybe?
November 11th, 2009 at 6:52 pm
a tip… never wash your windows with a half-brick
November 11th, 2009 at 6:54 pm
just a something for some of those that have no idea what smitty means to the bok team
and this comes from a player and he aint a shark
Select Region
FixturesResultsTest match
(Kick-off is GMT)
Friday, November 13:
Wales v Samoa (19.30)
France v SA (19.45)
Saturday, November 14:
Italy v NZ (14.00)
England v Argentina (14.30)
Scotland v Fiji (14.30)
Sunday, November 15:
Ireland v Australia (15.00)
LIVE COVERAGE
more Fixtures
TestsSaturday, November 7:
England 9-18 Australia
Wales 12-19 New Zealand
Air NZ CupFinal:
Saturday, November 7:
Canterbury 28-20 Wellington
Tour MatchFriday, Nov 6:
Leicester 22-17 SA
Currie CupFinal:
Saturday, October 31:
Blue Bulls 36-24 FS Cheetahs
LIVE COVERAGE
more Results
Newsletter
Unsubscribe
South AfricaNews | Profile | Anthem | Fixtures | Results |
Habana: ‘What Smit means to the Boks’
Wed, 11 Nov 2009 11:46
Bok flyer: Bryan Habana and his mentor Peter de Villiers
The world of rugby will only truly appreciate the value of Springbok captain John Smit once he retires.
This, along with other plaudits heaped on Smit and Bok coach Peter de Villiers come from record-breaking wing Bryan Habana in the third and final instalment of his chat with rugby365.com editor Jan de Koning.
(For Habana’s views on his much talked-about move to Cape Town, CLICK HERE, or get his thoughts on the Boks’ year-end tour by CLICKING HERE.)
Habana regards it as a privilege to have been mentored by De Villiers, while Smit he regards as a “very special person”.
“The results [of the Bok team] in itself probably say what they mean to the team,” said Habana about his coach and captain.
“For me, personally, I have had a relationship with Peter [de Villiers] since 2004, when he was my Under-21 coach and we [South Africa U21] went to Scotland,” the 26-year-old Bok flyer added.
“What I have been able to learn from Peter, not only on the field, but off it as well, the relationship I have been able to build with him over the last five years has been special.
“When I first became a Springbok [in 2004] he was one of the first guys I SMS’d; to give him a call and have a chat to him about all of it. He is a fantastic person.”
Habana feels that the Bok coach’s strong principles have also contributed to the success of the team.
“He really stands by what he believes in and that lends itself to the success of where the Springboks are at the moment,” said the new WP signing.
“I am very fortunate and privileged that he has always backed me – when he could easily have let me go or not picked me.
“I’ve been privileged to have been part of his plans and I really do owe him a lot to where I am now as a rugby player. I really am appreciative to what he has been able to lend, not only as a coach, but as a person as well.”
Habana said Smit – the captain, player and person – has been a success in every team he has been involved in.
“I don’t even know where to start with John [Smit],” he told rugby365.com.
“The world of rugby will only fully understand what John Smit has meant to the Springbok side when he hangs up his boots one day.
“I’ve been able to become a friend with John off the field as well. The other day he was on his way to Pretoria Boys [High School, Smit's alma mater] and we had about a 20 minute chat just about life.
“John is a fantastic person and the way he has been able to bring this side together is great. It is not the easiest thing to bring a Springbok side together – where you have players from different unions, players from different cultural backgrounds, different diversities, to bring them together, to form success,” added Habana.
“The way John has been able [to do that], since 2004, is probably something that not many people would have been able to do.
“He has been through four Springboks coaches [Harry Viljoen, Rudolf Straeuli, Jake White and Peter de Villiers]. Throughout his reign [as captain] he has been able to be succesful.
“The reason why he is the most capped Test captain of all time is because he has values and principles that he lends towards the success of any team that he is involved in.
“You look at the Sharks, their success – getting close to winning the Super 14, winning the Currie Cup last year.
“He is a fantastic guy off the field, probably one of the most well-spoken players you will get in world rugby.
“I definitely take my hat off to both of them [De Villiers and Smit],” Habana concluded.
* For Habana’s full bio, CLICK HERE!
November 11th, 2009 at 7:07 pm
#237 sharks_lover: love your work. smit has earned respect..and especialy from people who live their lives angry – either liking or disliking everything they see…who the sooner they realise..to accept most things just how they are …will live a richer life.
A suicide bomber runs in t a shop and yells, “you”ve all got 30 seconds to get out!!”, the tortoise at the back of the shop shouts, you C*****NT!!.
sorry still dronk
November 11th, 2009 at 7:08 pm
#236 sharks_lover:
No one has ever doubted his qualities as a leader and as a person…..he is phenomenal.
The question is purely around his technique/ability as a TH, nothing more nothing less !!
I also believe it is an unhealthy situation to have the side so dependent on one persons ability to lead the side.
JS the man….. his ability at 2, the leader and gentleman has never been disputed !!
November 11th, 2009 at 7:33 pm
#238 justrugby:
JS should rather have moved to LH tha TH. The only problem was Beast. Even before the WC Regan Hoskins reckoned that was his best position. I think the fact that he’d played TH at Claremont and we were short of a TH influenced the decision.
November 11th, 2009 at 7:53 pm
#239 David:
Spot on David !!
November 11th, 2009 at 7:58 pm
Kings lost bid.
November 11th, 2009 at 8:01 pm
#241 gray:
What a surprise.
So now SARU have got to finally make some tough decisions.
November 11th, 2009 at 8:03 pm
#241 gray: that’s no suprise…
November 11th, 2009 at 8:09 pm
True. No surprize. But would have been very good for SA rugby imo.Now there will probably be alot of infighting. SARU promised kings will play. One of the other unions will most likely have to go. Truely Sorry.
November 11th, 2009 at 8:15 pm
The French will drill the starting Boks’ front row, even the fumes loaded head of FdV suddenly realised it
And then they have Marconnet and Swerzsky on the bench.
Wayne Barens is a good technical referee imo, if the Boks scrum faltered as many expected, the bench front row will have to be hurried on, question is how soon will take place the demolition job by the French.
Another issue is that Botha is not playing more than 50 minutes and without him the Boks scrum not the same.
November 11th, 2009 at 8:20 pm
so after all this debate and consternation about achilles heels in front rows and inside centers and full backs, not to mention 8th men, what everybody going to cry about if we lose? Who’s gonna catch the chop if in spite of all the snot n trane, all the re treading of front rows, full backs, centers and 8th men, we still come a cropper, then who gonna get it in the neck.
Well your guess is as good as mind. . . Right?
November 11th, 2009 at 8:21 pm
#244 gray:
Any change will need the approval of the ANZAR Partners
And the big money sponsors
There will be a lot of 3rd world rethoric in the next few days to hear but my guess the TV sponsors will not agree to a further diluting of the competition, i.e: the Kings to replace the Cheetahs
Someone already tried it before
November 11th, 2009 at 9:09 pm
#247 Hondo:
Do you know what you’re talking about? So long as SA field their top 150 players, SARU can do whatever they like to the identity of the teams.