Melbourne clinches S15 spot
11 Nov 2009
Melbourne has beaten the Southern Kings in the race for a Super Rugby franchise.
An Expert Determination Panel was asked by the Sanzar Executive Committee to decide on the location of the 15th Super Rugby team. The Experts were former World Cup-winning captain David Kirk and retired New Zealand High Court Judge, the Hon Barry Paterson QC.
In a statement, Sanzar said the key reasons for the Experts selecting Melbourne over the the Southern Kings from South Africa, were:
· The Experts commented that both applicants were able to point to excellent infrastructure support, and both provided sound business plans and financial forecasts, with the support of their National Unions, guaranteeing financial viability.
· The Southern Kings proposal was more advanced with regard to business and financial planning and organization structure and governance. The Southern Kings were also able to point to a strong rugby tradition, a large playing base and presented a stronger case than Melbourne as to their rugby readiness.
· These strengths of the Southern King’s Application did not, however, offset the benefits in geographical location and commercial value to Sanzar (both of which criteria the Experts were asked to place considerable weight on) that the Melbourne Application was able to deliver.
· The 15th Super Rugby team will play in the Australian Conference under the new Super Rugby competition format from 2011. This means they will play both home and away against the other four Australian Conference teams. As a result the Southern Kings would be required to make two crossings of the Indian Ocean in a season. The local derby aspect of matches in Australia, an important issue for generating attendances and broadcasting value, would also have been diluted and it would not have been possible to schedule at least two matches in each country each weekend. In addition having the team resident in South Africa introduces additional costs to SANZAR of around NZ$720,000 per annum.
· The Melbourne Application provided considerably greater commercial benefit to SANZAR than the Southern Kings Application. Evidence was provided that revenue from the sale of broadcasting rights to Australasian broadcasters would be reduced by US$15-20m over the course of a five year agreement should the 15th team be resident in South Africa, with little or no commensurate rise in the value of South African broadcasting revenue.

148 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
11 Nov 2009, 20:12 pm
Crock of **** dragons..
11 Nov 2009, 20:20 pm
#1 Winston: co-sign…
11 Nov 2009, 20:27 pm
Okay, so now we’ll see Saffas turning on Saffas again, one trying to kill-off the other. Whoever’s going to end last of the SA S14 teams will be forced out to make place for the Kings.
11 Nov 2009, 20:30 pm
Count your blessings — diluting the shallow talent pool in either country will surely turn all the other, fairly-potent, franchises into also-rans. Melbourne isn’t rugby union territory — in fact, it’s hardly even Rugby League territory. It’s all about Aussie Rules there.
11 Nov 2009, 20:34 pm
No kidding.
According to PdV I’m just a 15 year old girl who knows nothing about rugby and even I saw that one coming.
11 Nov 2009, 20:39 pm
As per usual our friends in New Zealand and Australia screw us over.. But people wonder why we always complain that there is a conspiracy against us.
11 Nov 2009, 20:39 pm
Why are the full stops at the beginning of each paragraph?
11 Nov 2009, 20:41 pm
Yawn. Was this ever going to end any differently? We lost the fight when we agreed to the conferences…..
I guess it’s the GOLDEN CATS all over again….
11 Nov 2009, 20:41 pm
Well, if you asked a neutral observer they would say it makes sense.
The trick will be how SARU manage the spears / kings / E Cape.
11 Nov 2009, 20:43 pm
Phu$K what a mission to get my password sorted out after a few months away (only 110.
Anyway, money rules again, stuff the development of rugby……and don’t even think that having a franchise in M/bourne will help the poos aussies. All that will happen is that all the fringe players from the other unions will move
11 Nov 2009, 20:58 pm
Fair enough, now it’s 5 each. The only problem is now the bloody aussies will try to snatch more and more saffas to fill up their teams. The last place saffa team must play the Kings in a play off in my opinion.
Hey Sarah
Did PdV actually say that to you? Or do you just not like him for another reason?
11 Nov 2009, 21:02 pm
#7 SpringbokSarah: Bless you child, those are bullet points.
11 Nov 2009, 21:04 pm
How independant is a “SANZAR independant pannel” when everyone on the pannel hails from NZ?
I agree, this was a forgone conclusion long ago.
I also agree that it is a blessing in disguise for SA, but only if they can find a way of dealing with the Kings in a sensible manner.
11 Nov 2009, 21:07 pm
As for the ruling, well, it’s about as surprising as the fact that the ANC won the last election.
Fifteen franchises divided by three nations equals five franchises each.
How many franchises do we have? Five.
How many franchises do the Kiwis have? Five.
I think you can see where I’m going here.
But if you don’t (perhaps you’re a bit slow, maybe even Daddy Watson slow):
Which conference is the 15th franchise competing in?
That’s right.
11 Nov 2009, 21:09 pm
Knew Melbourne would get it, no surprise there. 5 each now. Just don’t think they have enough players for another team. Good luck to them anyhow. Just don’t come and scout and take our players.
11 Nov 2009, 21:09 pm
Duh
11 Nov 2009, 21:15 pm
I only have one question: Now what?
11 Nov 2009, 21:15 pm
Kockett
vermulen
liebenberg
sykes
Joe P
11 Nov 2009, 21:20 pm
#6 Winston:
#13 fsjakes:
Where exactly do they breed guys like you, is it like a factory underground that spits em out like Uruk-hai ?
11 Nov 2009, 21:24 pm
from hereon the kinds just have to be included in the Currie Cup premier division. guarenteed.
still think that for super 14 freestate and kings should conglomerate, esp. since cheetahs struggle for depth. home base can be decided on which team ends furtherst on the cc log..
just a thought. either way something is gonna have to be done.
11 Nov 2009, 21:24 pm
#6 Winston:
Did you honestly expect the Kings to get it? The team is to play in the Australian conference, so it makes the most sense. Why should Aussie give up a team so SARU can satisfy the politicians?
The only way for the Kings to get in is to drop another SA team.
I can’t belive people actually feel screwed over by this, there was not going to be any other result.
11 Nov 2009, 21:28 pm
#6 Winston: How did you work that out you wanker? Paranoia in the extreme, watch out or the enemy will start taking away other average performing super teams
11 Nov 2009, 21:35 pm
With platoffs looming, we will definitly see the Lions being relegated. Bye bye Lions!!!
11 Nov 2009, 21:39 pm
Well the Melbourne franchise is anyway gonna become the 6th South African franchise… all the okes who don’t get recognised by Pdivvy will voetsek… Say it ain’t so…
11 Nov 2009, 21:45 pm
Geez Waster,ur really hard core hurling abuse on cyber space.. Amazing. It just never ceases to amaze me how South Africa always seem to get the short end of the stick with Sanzar but I suppose I am imagining it along with all the other people on this site that think that as well.
11 Nov 2009, 21:51 pm
we should of told these kissing cousins to get stuffed a long time ago….bloody Charles Dempsey screwed us with the football WC and we being taken it ever since….
Stuff these okes man…move to the N H …dont need these wan kers!
What an opportunity missed to broaden the game….ag io am so befok now!
Biko would be ashamed!
11 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
Grant you’re not being logical. The concept of an SA team playing in a Autralian conference is just dof.
11 Nov 2009, 21:58 pm
I will give you this. Charles Dempsey did fk us over. But he took as much heat from his fellow country men as from us. But he was censured by the highest levels of goverment SMS his sport.
11 Nov 2009, 21:59 pm
#27 SodaJoe: Well Marinos and Hoskins are bloody fools then…we set up again by these sods…
Must be playoffs then….because as night follows day the Kings gonna get a spot.
Pasop lions…all over rover?
11 Nov 2009, 21:59 pm
Fkn iPhones.
11 Nov 2009, 22:00 pm
#28 SodaJoe: Dont trust them…never have…the Japies e mail the clincher for me….
And J Marshall…may he rot in hell….
11 Nov 2009, 22:01 pm
Grant may be slow on phone. We all well know that our admin are incompetent.
This may well see a promo rekegation concept. But remind where Stormers finished in S14 last year vs Lions?
11 Nov 2009, 22:02 pm
#26 grant10: Dare I ask how was the drumming?
I am on Facebook trying to lure a mate of mine to come to watch the Boks at Wembley on Tuesday, she is keen but has a full diary that needs tweaking!! I need to deliver a killer line that will make her come with me!!
Stumped at present……After the Leicester performance!! Lol
11 Nov 2009, 22:02 pm
#19 WakaNathan: WakaNathan, please explain what in my post caused such a reaction in you?
1. I don’t think NZ’s can be impartial when it comes to deciding between SA and Aus. Therefore my comment that it was a foregone conclusion. That most people expected it to go this way. Why be insulting towards me?
2. I do believe it is a blessing in disguise for SA rugby. It will dilute the Australien player pool even more – good for us. And I don’t think that the Kings are up to S14 level yet – theferoe good that they are not there yet.
3. SA rugby’s track record regarding the Kings isn’t good. Hopefully they will use the time they have to build the Kings franchise and a way to introduce them to S14 level that will suit the Cheetahs and Lions.
Now, why so insulting towards me? What on earth did I say that warranted your insult?
11 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
#32 SodaJoe: Hi to our resident peacemaker and common sense guru!!
11 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
Bobby Skinstad made his own bed. Don’t blame JM.
Narrowing your world view is still narrow minded. Nothing wrong with Aussies or Kiwis.
11 Nov 2009, 22:07 pm
Hello Duck. I am at Austin airport. Just another airport. But it’s hot here. Although Minne is stll nicer weather than yours!
11 Nov 2009, 22:07 pm
How did we get screwed? If anyone genuinely believed that we should get a franchise in the Australian conference, should come back to reality.
We must either combine the Bulls and LIons, or as Ali said, the Cheetahs and Kings.
11 Nov 2009, 22:09 pm
good imo why would we want another franchise when 3 out of our 5 arnt even producing goods in s14 year in and out …all square.stuff nz and auz anyway
11 Nov 2009, 22:09 pm
Jake your knowlege of the relationship between Kiwis & Aussies may be enhanced through watching Flight o the Conchords.
11 Nov 2009, 22:10 pm
Dave there are other options.
11 Nov 2009, 22:12 pm
I am going to go. This phone blogging is a pain in the arse.
See you through the window.
11 Nov 2009, 22:14 pm
bottom sa team relegated…Kings in…about time we started transforming properly ….take the game to the people…Stormers can be relegated for all i care…
11 Nov 2009, 22:15 pm
#25 Winston: Sorry didn’t mean to be quite as abrupt as that. But seriously what is 15 divided by three? And what would be the advantage to NZ to have another Australian team instead of a south african team? Think you are barking up the wrong tree
11 Nov 2009, 22:17 pm
#42 SodaJoe:
You’re supposed to hold it in your hand.
11 Nov 2009, 22:49 pm
the team was due to play in the Australian conference and oh golly what a surprise it’s an Australian team.
11 Nov 2009, 22:49 pm
I’m tired of people pushing transformation down our throats! come on man. It’s a gradual and eventual process not a rapid one.
Come on man, look what it did to the Boks so called B team!
Nai man. Nxa!
11 Nov 2009, 22:50 pm
ditch the Lions i reckon, they’re a Bad Team anyway.
11 Nov 2009, 22:57 pm
It was expected, I just cannot understand why it was necessary to expand this format anyway. Ok, if bringing in team from Pacific or Argentina, or whatever, except NZ (5 is enough), Aus (4 is more than enough), SA (5 is enough, besides you can bet 2 SA teams will be in the bottom 3, so why bother).
11 Nov 2009, 22:57 pm
#47 WP_:
What “B” team? It was the regular Bok squad players that let us down. Anyway, I’m off to bed. ‘Night all.
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All