Sowerby questions tardy arrival
11 Nov 2009
Toulouse-based Shaun Sowerby says the Springboks’ decision to arrive two days before kickoff amounts to ‘arrogance’.
The first-choice Bok XV has been training in Gauteng since the 37-man squad congregated on 2 November, and will only touch down in Toulouse on Wednesday. According to the Bok schedule, the match 22 will do some stretching exercises on Wednesday afternoon, followed by the Captain’s Run on Thursday.
South Africa haven’t won a Test against France since 2006, and haven’t beat the Tricolores in their own country since 1997. They travel to Europe on the back of an arduous season that saw them capture a series win over the British & Irish Lions as well as the Tri Nations crown. It’s been a prosperous year, but a taxing one, and Sowerby is right to question their preparation ahead of what’s to be the true barometer of physical prowess.
‘The conditions are going to be massively influential,’ the Toulouse stalwart told keo.co.za. ‘It’s a surprise that South Africa are only getting here on Wednesday afternoon. It’s a helluva risky if you ask me. I don’t want to say they’re disrespecting the French, but it’s kind of arrogant.
‘It sends the message that South Africa back themselves to win even though they are only going to be in the country 48 hours before kickoff.’
Sowerby earned his only Test cap in 2002 against Samoa before deciding to further his career in France. He represented the mighty Stade Francais from 2004 to 2007 before joining Toulouse, a club rich in rugby tradition. Situated in a region often called the hotbed of French rugby, Toulouse is a difficult venue to visit. For a group of players who’ve endured nine months of top-flight rugby, it’s a massive ask.
‘I’ve played in the South African competitions and toured Europe with the junior and A sides,’ remarked Sowerby. ‘I know how tough it is to finish your season and then come over to Europe to play these teams. The French have prepared well as the Six Nations is right around the corner. I don’t think the southern hemisphere teams are so well prepared for what lies in wait.
‘The Boks are the world champions and are comfortably the best team in the world. That’s indisputable, but they are playing away from home at a small ground. The conditions are difficult and they are at the end of their season.
‘It’s going to come down to desire. The Boks will need to want this more than the French. They will need to be at their very best both physically and mentally to beat the French on Friday.’
Toulouse has seen rain and overcast conditions since the beginning of the week; conditions that are expected to continue through to Friday. It’s going to be wet, but the Boks will need to ensure they’re burning white-hot.
France’s rugby pages have been inundated with images of the Springboks. Photographs of Bryan Habana and Schalk Burger have accompanied headlines that include the words “champions du monde”. The world champions are going to be on show, and there’s a great sense of anticipation as kickoff draws close.
France coach Marc Lievremont has spoken about the Boks’ brand of physicality, a theme that was picked up by loose forward Imanol Harinordoquy on Tuesday. The Biarritz flanker will start at No 7 alongside captain Thierry Dusatoir and No 8 Louis Picamoles. As a man who knows these players’ strengths intimately, Sowerby says the Boks are in for the scrap of the year.
‘I don’t think you have to be too intelligent to know that South Africa’s major strength is their physicality. Pre- and post the 2003 World Cup, South Africa lacked that element, but ever since it’s become a trademark. I know a lot of my French mates have been impressed with the physicality in the Currie Cup final, and the Boks will obviously take that to another level. Needless to say the team that wins the physical aspect will win the contest.
‘I play with Picamoles and Dusatoir at Toulouse, so I know what they’re capable of, and Harinordoquy has been a great player for France over the past six or seven years. It’s a pity Fulgence Ouedraogo is injured, as the Boks will fancy their chances with Heinrich Brüssow in the mix. That will be important when it comes to the battle at the breakdown, but there is also the set-pieces to consider where Harinordoquy will be a factor.
‘Picamoles is great in terms of breaking from the back of the scrum and providing the French with good go-forward ball, but Harinordoquy will provide balance to that back row and be the focal point at the lineout. Dusatoir is the tighter player, but expect to see Harinordoquy getting through plenty of work at the breakdown and at the lineout.’
The Boks are without Pierre Spies and Juan Smith, two of their best loose forwards, because of injury. Sowerby, however, believes South Africa boast a good back-row balance with Heinrich Brüssow starting alongside Burger, and expects Ryan Kankowski to benefit from their hard work at the ruck.
‘Every No 8 would love to play behind guys like Burger and Brüssow who both play to the ball. They will free up Kankowski to play looser.’
Sowerby said he enjoyed watching the Boks when they played at the 2007 World Cup in France, and will relish the opportunity to watch them live this Friday. As far as a return to the South African scene is concerned, Sowerby will play out his career in France.
The 31-year-old is presently enjoying a break from rugby with no Toulouse fixtures scheduled until late November.
‘I’m fine where I am, I’ll be here for the next two-and-a-half years and then I probably won’t play again. The French have a bad reputation for being rude perhaps in places like Paris, but here in the south, there’s a more laid-back vibe where folks are a lot more friendly. It’s a great place to live and it’s a great place to play rugby.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

121 Comments
10 Nov 2009, 17:11 pm
We are not arrogant Dragons. We are winners!
10 Nov 2009, 17:13 pm
That is what the Aussies said before the Perth…
10 Nov 2009, 17:17 pm
I dont see what arrogance got to do with it.
10 Nov 2009, 17:19 pm
But what is troubling imo…. we are without Juan and Spies!
We will miss those 2 erg!!!!
10 Nov 2009, 17:19 pm
The mind games have started.
10 Nov 2009, 17:20 pm
They Shouldv left earlier but lets see what happens.
10 Nov 2009, 17:27 pm
no, should be fine. let the boks soak up the high altitude air for as long as possible.
Good to hear A South African perspective from France though. The hype that this game is creating is phenomenal. should be a cracker
10 Nov 2009, 17:37 pm
this guy has done really well, it is a great place to play out your career.
10 Nov 2009, 17:48 pm
What a load of ****! It is to shorten the tour. There is no point in staying the whole week there. Anyhow this is an experieced Bok team that has won a world cup in France they know the conditions pretty well.
10 Nov 2009, 18:06 pm
#4 Staal: Schalk for Juan and Kanko for Spies ? Juan especially only started getting his level of form later in the year so I wont be too worried.
10 Nov 2009, 18:20 pm
Yes Sowerby that is what they said when we arrived late in Hamilton as well.
Fact is, PDV is listening to his players and what they want, and they are the ones who gets the results on the park.
10 Nov 2009, 18:31 pm
Who gives a **** when they arrive and where the prepare? Why is it arrogant to arrive 2 days before a test?
10 Nov 2009, 18:32 pm
JC – the South West of France IS RUGBY COUNTRY, it is religion there.
10 Nov 2009, 18:40 pm
sowerby has no clue about pdv’s tactics. journalist: why aren’t the boks in toulouse pdv? pdv: “there’s nothing in toulouse!”
10 Nov 2009, 18:50 pm
I think it is fair comment by Shaun – good article – nice to get this perspective from a person that actually lives there and who has played a bit of rugby under the local conditions.
10 Nov 2009, 18:57 pm
#15 Robzim: i fail to see the arrogant part in all of this robzim?, i mean there’s a precedent now of the match in hamilton
10 Nov 2009, 18:59 pm
#14 Transformation:
except for airbus….and we’re not talking to them….
10 Nov 2009, 19:00 pm
this from stuff.co.nz
“Steve Hansen said he will not be representing Carter at the hearing, which comes at the start of preparations for the weekend’s test against Italy at the sold-out San Siro, but the former policeman and assistant coach chose his words carefully when he spoke to reporters soon after the team’s arrival in Milan on Sunday evening (Monday NZ time).
“We don’t have a view at the moment,” said Hansen who travelled with Carter to London. “Obviously we’re in the system, and we all know how the system works. So we’ll go there and I’m sure we’ll get a fair hearing and hopefully get the result we would like.”
Beyond that Hansen wasn’t biting on Carter’s high shot that saw the classy No 10, who was named player of the match after another faultless kicking display, booed for the final 10 minutes by the Millennium faithful.
Hansed admitted to being “a wee bit” surprised that the incident had gone to a hearing, saying he’d “seen plenty of them before”. He wouldn’t say whether he felt the Six Nations citing commissioner had been “pressured” into the decision or whether Carter might be made a high-profile example in a crusade against foul play.”
10 Nov 2009, 19:02 pm
I can see why it might be perceived as arrogant…personally I blame the senior players….
totsobe on fire for sa …
10 Nov 2009, 19:03 pm
sorry posted on wrong thread…
10 Nov 2009, 19:11 pm
#14 Transformation: You obviously haven’t been to Toulouse.
10 Nov 2009, 19:22 pm
#16 Transformation:
Yeah well, perhaps not arrogant, but personally I think it is still risky despite what happened at Hamilton.
btw. Benny seemed to have lost a kilo or two
10 Nov 2009, 19:45 pm
Not arrogant, its how SA teams are dealing with the travel. It seems that the 2nd week is the real problem anyway and Italy is in week 2, so I reckon its a good strategy. So far it has been succesful. Anyway Shaun has been too far from SA. But you have to the love the French, so passionate. They dig us and we dig them. Expect a big game. 50:50.
10 Nov 2009, 19:58 pm
Clever move by the Boks to go late. I personally don’t have any problems with it. Actually it will be to their advantage. Will still have the high altitude conditioning which gives them that extra in the lungs and legs to out last the French. Altitude conditioning only will last a week and a bit so to have it against a very good French side. Spot on.
GO WELL OUR “BUTCHER BOKS”
10 Nov 2009, 20:04 pm
#23 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): do you like the team and bench?
10 Nov 2009, 20:05 pm
#22 Robzim: what, benni lose weight? you’re a funny guy!
10 Nov 2009, 20:07 pm
#21 fish out of water: nope, sowerby says it’s laid_back.
10 Nov 2009, 20:08 pm
#26 Transformation:
he was sucking it in ask grant he has honed that technique from umerous hours spent on the white sands of clifton….
10 Nov 2009, 20:10 pm
“there’s nothing in Toulouse”? There’s been some daft posts here, but that gets first prize by some distance. You have obviously never set foot in that enchanting country.
10 Nov 2009, 20:16 pm
#26 Transformation:
Yip, by walking to the fast beat of the rap coming through the headphones of his IPod who seems to be permanently on these days.
10 Nov 2009, 20:21 pm
#28 gunther: lol…the clifton lifeguard!
10 Nov 2009, 20:21 pm
#28 gunther: LOL
10 Nov 2009, 20:22 pm
is there such a thing as a “suck in” speedo….
10 Nov 2009, 20:24 pm
#29 Die_Valk: you’re the imbecile! that’s what pdv said about hamilton, cleatly it went over your head vark!
10 Nov 2009, 20:26 pm
#33 gunther: if there is i am in the market!!LOL
10 Nov 2009, 20:28 pm
#35 grant10:
do you wan the “package enhancer” its an optional extra…
10 Nov 2009, 20:30 pm
Omw the “there’s nothing in Toulouse” comment is a reference to the comment pdv made about Hamilton. Any learned adult on this blog will know that southern France is a tourist mecca. Please read between the lines 8o
10 Nov 2009, 20:31 pm
#36 gunther: Absolutely….can i send you my credit card details??
10 Nov 2009, 20:33 pm
#37 Partizan: thanks dude, it’s kinda hard with some of the think headed okes on this blog…eish, that was malema-esque by die vark…
10 Nov 2009, 20:34 pm
He didn’t say it was arrogance, he said it could be seen as arrogance. I really rate Sowerby as a player and a person. Shame he never got another chance with the Boks. Always held out hope he’d come back to the Sharks, a la Terblanche.
10 Nov 2009, 20:44 pm
atually having been to toulouse on several occasions I must say its not the best of towns in the south of france not by a long shot….
10 Nov 2009, 20:45 pm
#27 Transformation: It is laid back but it isn’t Hickville.
10 Nov 2009, 21:45 pm
#42 fish out of water: lol…
10 Nov 2009, 21:51 pm
Trans,
My bad, read it on the phone so it was all scrambled. I apologise.
No need to resort to insults, it’s a bit low-life.
10 Nov 2009, 21:52 pm
You know, they say rugby tours are like eggs cooking.
If you leave too early the egg becomes to runny ?
If you leave too late the egg becomes too hard yes ?
You have to leave at the right time for a delicious egg.
The SA coaching is the best in the world. They are leaving at exactly the right time. WHo is a better rugby man ?
Sowerby or PDV ? How many trinations did ol’ Sowerby win huh ?
He’s just wanting attention !
10 Nov 2009, 21:53 pm
PdV sure knows how to wind people up. We just need duck-tape for Pieter Helium…
10 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
Rob…Skop….we must watch one of the italian or Irish tests at a pub ….Tassies is keen….he looks forward to it….?
10 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
#46 Die_Valk: PDv has better ideas than every other coach in the world . Who is better ?
10 Nov 2009, 21:59 pm
#47 grant10: I like watching rugby in pubs !
10 Nov 2009, 22:03 pm
#49 rugbygenius: Ja…i get a bit animated though!
10 Nov 2009, 22:06 pm
#50 grant10: ME ALSO !
10 Nov 2009, 22:06 pm
#45 rugbygenius:
silly comment.
you misread the quote
10 Nov 2009, 22:07 pm
#44 Die_Valk: no sweat my dude…don’t get churlish now, that was just a bit “friendly fire” from my side nothing to worry about…i don’t pay attention to bheki cele.
10 Nov 2009, 22:09 pm
#52 charo: Huh ??
10 Nov 2009, 22:10 pm
#52 charo: What I am saying is that it is not arrogant . Its the right time to go because PDV is right !
10 Nov 2009, 22:15 pm
#46 Die_Valk: you’re right, remember the presser after the 2nd lions test, sherbert! All the journos were breathing fire after he told them he is not interested in their jobs but he is happy to know they have an interest in his!
And that he is bound by a system of rules unlike them that can write about anything they want.
I sure miss the old pdv with the parables & obscure metaphors!
10 Nov 2009, 22:18 pm
#55 rugbygenius:
no, just the last part about how many trophies
10 Nov 2009, 22:19 pm
#57 charo:
actually, the rest of the post was good – just spoilt by the last lines.
moenie worry nie boet
10 Nov 2009, 22:20 pm
#48,
Your logic makes Archimedes seem like a Bulls supporter.
10 Nov 2009, 22:21 pm
#56,
I think they were obscure even to himself.
10 Nov 2009, 22:28 pm
I’m predicting a shock loss by the Boks for this one…
10 Nov 2009, 22:28 pm
#57 charo: I was meaning to say that PDv is more of a rugby hero than this Sowerby man can ever hope to be.
10 Nov 2009, 23:42 pm
#62 rugbygenius: i agree
11 Nov 2009, 00:06 am
#63 fantasticbarnsmell: Thank you sir for agreement.
11 Nov 2009, 00:23 am
#62 rugbygenius: lets not denigrate Sowerby further, he wasn’t being disrespectful in the article.
was a good oke. played hard and fair (and probably still does)
11 Nov 2009, 00:48 am
#65 ali: um he called them arrogant, that’s pretty disrespectful isn’t it?
11 Nov 2009, 01:04 am
#65 ali: How can he come from nowehere and call our bokkes ‘arrogant’? No he must keep such comments to himself. I dont see why he has been given a chance to speak to the press anyway .
11 Nov 2009, 08:03 am
and these are reasons pointing to the fact that we wont be prepared for them weather wise and will probaly still not beat since way back when
11 Nov 2009, 08:57 am
sour be Shaun…!!
11 Nov 2009, 09:00 am
He has a point though. The climate has always been the Bok’s Achilles heel; you’d think they’d want to spend more time there getting used to the conditions and wet, heavy fields. Ultimately the playing surface might have them rethink their strategy; no use going there with a strategy based on the fields of SA
11 Nov 2009, 09:05 am
“South Africa haven’t won a Test against France since 2006, and haven’t beat the Tricolores in their own country since 1997.”
No, JC, South Africa haven’t won a Test vs France since 2005.
2005-11-25 Stade de France Paris 20-26
2006-06-24 Newlands Cape Town 26-36
11 Nov 2009, 09:25 am
rugbygenius …ek weet nie…vir my lyk pdv p&*( dom … kyk hoe het hy laas vrydag gelyk … nee wat my bra
11 Nov 2009, 09:27 am
Shaun is Sour. Remember the Kiwi’s moaning regarding Hamilton and we not staying there, and then got on their arse!!!! Sour P*es
11 Nov 2009, 09:28 am
#72 Julius:
ek verstaan nie BRA
care to explain?
11 Nov 2009, 10:07 am
#73 wp_boytjie: Sour pies suck…
11 Nov 2009, 10:45 am
The boks did the same thing in the first away test against Auz and it worked well, the boys were fresh from altitude. Good idea i reckon.
11 Nov 2009, 11:08 am
#56 Transformation: I actually do miss the old PDV, myabe he might just pull a rat out of the hat on this tour
11 Nov 2009, 11:30 am
Certainly won’t be any jetlag. What’s he on about?
11 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
Seems like many are just negative in what PDV does, but when it comes to the positve results, the assistant coaches and senior players get’s the praises…As the Word states, no prophet are acknowledge in his own land…Amen
11 Nov 2009, 11:39 am
#71 Nils: Not to mention the 32-23 loss to the French at Ellis Park in 2001. They showed that last night on ESPN Classic. Not happy viewing on the eve of our big game. Merceron took us apart.
11 Nov 2009, 11:42 am
What gives here
11 Nov 2009, 11:43 am
Ja and Joost was in that game. I didn’t recognise him at first with his dignity intact.
It was kinda sad to see Venter in perfect health. What an nergetic player he was.
How young was John Smurf.
11 Nov 2009, 11:43 am
#71 Nils: yes, we lost 26-20. so we haven’t won in France since 1997.
11 Nov 2009, 11:48 am
#82 Predawn: And the much maligned Eddie Andrews did far better against a potent French front row than our Larry, Darryl and Darryl did last Friday against Leicester B.
Also, tales of Japie Mulder’s “fearsome tackling” clearly grew in stature since he actually played. He was piss poor.
11 Nov 2009, 11:50 am
#80 katman:
Baas het nou DSTV gekry.
11 Nov 2009, 11:51 am
#84 katman:
Yep there was some real blasts from the past. Mr Krige pulled off some brilliant tackles I noticed.
So how do we all think our imitation Boks will do against Saracens?
11 Nov 2009, 11:53 am
#85 Dawn: Ja, vandat ek jou gefire het is daar nou weer geld in die huis.
11 Nov 2009, 11:57 am
#87 katman:
Ai tog.
Die abuse wat ek kry.
11 Nov 2009, 12:03 pm
#80 katman: I was there at Ellis Park to see that game. Not happy that night can tell you. Was the first time I saw Boks lose at Ellis Park then again this year when we played a Under Strength side to the Lions there.
11 Nov 2009, 12:14 pm
we should not take sowerby too seriously.strange chaps those durban boys.look at kp and that aussie rugby fella(can’t even remember his name).looks like ****-talking is the national sport down there in dirtbin!…just ask puma and sharkslover.
11 Nov 2009, 12:20 pm
#90 Valkyrie: Return to your Laager and stay there please instead of invading our beaches and space every holiday and then calling our city derogatory names! Not like the North is any cleaner, recently been to Pretoria and JHB both very dismal looking places
11 Nov 2009, 12:20 pm
#77 XhosaKid:
hi mate.
without trying to be picky, the term is “pull a rabbit out the hat”.
as in the old magicians with their top hats.
only trying to help
11 Nov 2009, 12:23 pm
#91 Sharksgirl:
the bloke is a narrow minded simpleton – don’t feed him and he will sulk off somewhere else.
11 Nov 2009, 12:24 pm
#91 Sharksgirl: Lager ? I thought it be Brandy. “bruin wyn” , Branna.
11 Nov 2009, 12:24 pm
#93 charo: Yes Charo, you are quite right! Sorry I even entertained his post.
11 Nov 2009, 12:25 pm
#94 wp_boytjie:
11 Nov 2009, 12:29 pm
#91 Sharksgirl: why so agressive “tannie”?
11 Nov 2009, 12:32 pm
#97 Valkyrie: Because oom I am a proud KZNer and do not take kindly to anyone denigrating my Province/City! Every town has their idiots, the rest of us should not be tarred by the same brush
11 Nov 2009, 12:38 pm
#91 Sharksgirl:
ignore him….
11 Nov 2009, 12:42 pm
some sensitive dirtbinners on here this morning!i understand they have major problems down there with nothing working there as well as having to deal with the highest aids-rate in south africa,corruption and murder rumours regarding there world cup stadium…dark days indeed for dirtbin!
11 Nov 2009, 12:44 pm
#98 Sharksgirl:
Hello Italian/Durbanite
With those Italian genes and living in Durban you doing very well.
11 Nov 2009, 12:48 pm
#101 Puma:
My genes come through loud and clear Puma don’t they! And I am short, so the temper is quick to rise
11 Nov 2009, 12:52 pm
#102 Sharksgirl: hehehe. Yip, You Italians have a temper but great people.
Don’t take that guy serious. He just trolls here most of the time to stir. Blogging now under another nick. Was banned here. Probably get banned again soon. He is from the Cape not Pretoria or Joburg.
11 Nov 2009, 12:56 pm
#103 Puma: I don’t know how a beautiful city like CT breeds these trolls
But then there are also guys like Grant, David, WPTID and more that I am sure I have missed, that return my good impression of the WC
You see Boyd is back as backline coach for the Sharks, not that we had great success last S14.
11 Nov 2009, 13:03 pm
#104 Sharksgirl: Cape is really beautiful. He lets that part of our country down really. Now that I have fed him he will come at me like he normally does
Yip, Was hoping for someone else.
When are they going to release the new signings.
11 Nov 2009, 13:07 pm
#105 Puma: Soon I hope!!!! The NZ have announced their teams! Wish ours would could be released soon!
11 Nov 2009, 13:09 pm
i wish we could post pictures on this site…however i suspect there would be bans dished out like never before.
11 Nov 2009, 13:17 pm
#106 Sharksgirl: Who is in the NZ team ?
11 Nov 2009, 13:21 pm
#108 stew: Typing too fast for my brain again
What I meant is that NZ have announced their S14 teams!
11 Nov 2009, 13:22 pm
#106 Sharksgirl: Hope we hear before Christmas?
Keeping us in suspense here
11 Nov 2009, 13:24 pm
#110 Puma: You know Oom Rudi loves all this cloack and dagger stough!
11 Nov 2009, 13:26 pm
#104 Sharksgirl: unlike you i really do believe how a dirty,aids-infested city can breeds trolls like you!
11 Nov 2009, 13:32 pm
#111 Sharksgirl: I know. Hope he does let us know the team before Santa gets here.
hehehehe.
11 Nov 2009, 13:34 pm
#92 charo: You missed the point….
11 Nov 2009, 13:38 pm
#114 XhosaKid:
read it again.
ahaaa…gotcha….very sharp
11 Nov 2009, 13:45 pm
#112 Valkyrie:
have you looked in the mirror lately? any way had a good laugh thank you!
11 Nov 2009, 13:49 pm
#116 Sharksgirl: you are welcome “tannie”.
11 Nov 2009, 13:57 pm
Sharksgirl, whats with you and the Cape Town girls, the other day you had one, with his white friends from Rondebosch, giving you beans about Deysel (who you hadnt mentioned) and today you have other challenges.?
11 Nov 2009, 14:02 pm
#118 BobZimmerman: All in a day’s blogging
11 Nov 2009, 14:06 pm
why are guys always caught speeding on the n3 doing 200km per hour and more?… because they can’t get out of dirtbin and leave the stain behind as quickly as possible.hehehe
12 Nov 2009, 14:38 pm
#100 Valkyrie:
Fully. As a Dirtbinner myself I can concure..it’s a syph place of note. Even Hillcrest is a cesspit of taxis and filthy roadside informal traders. 15 years ago Dirtbin was the place to be. Now it’s the place to avoid.