‘Bakkies is our trump card’
12 Nov 2009
Victor Matfield believes the Springboks’ uncompromising physicality is typically inspired through the performances of Bakkies Botha.
The most prominent theme in the build up to Friday’s Test between France and South Africa is the physical nature of the bout. The French play hard, but do they have the men capable of standing toe-to-toe with Botha?
It’s no rhetorical question. Speaking to keo.co.za, Matfield obliged with an answer.
‘Bakkies is the most physical player in world rugby. Nobody can hit a ruck like he can. I mean, even when he does it perfectly legally [in that second Test against the British & Irish Lions] they question it. He brings the hard edge that the Boks certainly need.
‘I enjoy playing with Bakkies. He does the hard graft which allows me to focus on other aspects. We’ve probably got another two years left as a combination, so we have to make that count.’
Matfield certainly doesn’t expect the Boks to have everything their own way at Toulouse’s Municipal Stadium. Marc Lievremont’s team selections indicate France are looking to match the Boks’ physicality, and they could be dangerous at the set-pieces.
‘They’ve selected three big loosies which gives them a lot of lineout options, and they’re a very proud scrumming side,’ remarked Matfield. For a veteran on the wrong side of 30, he admitted preparation is everything when you’re looking to retain an X-factor that sets you above the rest.
‘The older you get, the harder you have to work. You also have to make sure you stay ahead of everyone else.’
Botha said the Boks are up for this encounter, brushing aside suggestions of burnout and a lack of hunger as he would swat away an attempted tackle by a halfback. The Boks are certain to put on a show.
‘To beat France and Ireland would really be the cherry on the cake for us, it would cap a great year and maybe the best year in the history of the Springboks,’ Botha said.
‘If we can beat France, that should get the wheel rolling for the next two Tests against Italy and Ireland, so it is a very important game.’
Bok captain John Smit told this website on Wednesday he was surprised with the French stance on the Boks’ unique brand of physicality. They’ve also raised questions about the legality of the Boks’ approach, but these are questions Matfield doesn’t feel the need to answer.
‘It’s more important to focus on our own game and not get caught up in what the opposition or local media are saying. We’ve enjoyed some good preparation this week, and now all that matters is that we put that into practice. The 80 minutes on the field is all that matters.
‘I don’t think the weather will play much of a role either. The heavy rain on Wednesday was unexpected, as we thought the south of France wouldn’t be as bad as the north. It’s cleared up now, but it doesn’t matter. We are a team that will adjust whether it’s wet or dry. The game plan will only change slightly.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

35 Comments
12 Nov 2009, 16:27 pm
yes, but Bakkies is not a 1-man band, he will need the physical support of ALL his pack, the Boks need to put their bodies on the line for this one, and that includes Victor’s good looks.
12 Nov 2009, 16:34 pm
You’re right CAB but Bakkies … oh that man is special!
12 Nov 2009, 16:35 pm
#1 in the world Physical Dragons
12 Nov 2009, 16:36 pm
#1 cab: You beat me Cab… but you forgot the dragons
12 Nov 2009, 17:01 pm
Oom Bakkies…
God help the boy who one day tries to take little Ms. Bakkies out on a date…
12 Nov 2009, 17:10 pm
#5 greenbok: hahaha. That is a very scary propostion for some lad.
12 Nov 2009, 17:29 pm
Lekker Bakkies. Hiers op nog ten minste twee jaar van jou Afrikaner Aggressie.
Wow, I can scarcely remember a game with the hype that this one’s got. Should be fantastic.
12 Nov 2009, 18:34 pm
Not really a trump card, everyone knows what they are going to get from him! And they are not looking forward to it!
12 Nov 2009, 18:40 pm
Its not rocket science. Bakkies puts his body on the line and always gives 110%. Can’t go wrong with that
12 Nov 2009, 18:46 pm
Go Bakkies. Pleased he is in the Bok side and not the French
12 Nov 2009, 19:21 pm
For the first 45-50 minutes
And then what?
12 Nov 2009, 19:25 pm
#1 cab:
If Bakkie will prop the Beast side, he may not even last 50 minutes, take it into account!
Add Brussouw and Kanko not the most powerful scrummers and then do the Maths, I dare say Matfield also will be tested at the scrums
12 Nov 2009, 19:30 pm
#2 J.B. Cowper:
yep very special, like a wee angel.
#4 bokfan1:
hehe, bakkies is a dragon, goes without saying
#12 Hondo:
yip you got a point there and making me nervous, am hoping they been working on the scrum the whole week and big surprise.
12 Nov 2009, 20:13 pm
“it’s not rock science” – frans ludeke. Go Bakkies!!!! wink & blow kisses to Chabal while you’re @ it. Just don’t get sin-binned!
12 Nov 2009, 20:50 pm
If they do beat France & Ireland it WILL be the best year in the history of the Springboks.
Big if.
12 Nov 2009, 20:51 pm
#14,
LMAO
I usually say that the english-speaking people who make fun of others should try and speak afrikaans, but that is just so funny!
12 Nov 2009, 20:54 pm
#14 Transformation: But he is a very hard man.
12 Nov 2009, 20:59 pm
#15,
Results-wise I agree, but we have never reached the heights of the 97/98 Bokke in terms of playmaking.
I’d kill for some proper back-line play, watching the Top 14 highlights make me depressed. Just like the Cheetahs brought in Os for their scrums our franchises should invest in (proper) back-line coaches. We have the players.
12 Nov 2009, 21:00 pm
makes me
12 Nov 2009, 21:02 pm
#18 Die_Valk: I agree. But only when Lem was at 10. JdB was hardly a “playmaker”.
12 Nov 2009, 21:04 pm
#19 Die_Valk: By the way the little arrow thingies return the posts. Unless you are on a phone.
12 Nov 2009, 21:13 pm
Why does nt this guy ever get selected for the world player of the year. In my opinion i think he deserves it more than fourie dup or would it be sending the wrong image about rugby:)
12 Nov 2009, 21:33 pm
Bakkies sal hul bliksem!
12 Nov 2009, 21:37 pm
#17 SodaJoe:hi cooldrinkjoe, how’s minnesota? are you a timberwolves fan? I used to like that team back in the ’90s when it had stephon marbury & kevin garnett, they played a very care-free & exciting brand of basketball
#16 Die_Valk: hey valkie, i packed out laughing the first time i heard of it myself…Xhosakid loves that quote!
12 Nov 2009, 21:49 pm
The Sports ministry has released a second statement, this time on Thursday evening. Here it is:
Thursday, 12 November 2009
MEDIA RELEASE
To: News Editors & Sport Editors
For Immediate Release
Subject: Mr. Tendai “The Beast” Mtawarira
The problems encountered by Mr Mtawarira with his Zimbabwe passport, have exposed a dangerous situation. A situation where sport administrators clearly do not know South African Laws or simply do not respect our Laws.
We must state up front our admiration for the gifted Zimbabwean prop forward. He is a live wire on the Rugby field. But just like he must obey the rules of Rugby on the field, he must comply with the Laws of South Africa in life here on our land, like all of us.
According to the President as well as the CEO of the SARU, “The Beast” IS NOT A CITIZEN of South Africa. He does not even have a permit for permanent residence in South Africa. The CEO of The Sharks corroborates these facts and makes the interesting remarks: “There has never been any issue about his nationality.”
The issue here is NOT HIS Nationality. It is his citizenship. He has never applied for a South African citizenship or passport. Of course he would not get a passport if he was not our citizen. This is the law that all citizens in all countries respect. What is wrong with some of our Compatriots? No sport can be bigger than South Africa!
The officials of the SARU even inform us that Mr. Mtawarira “is currently on an exceptional skills visa (work permit).” If such a work permit was issued on the basis of his skills as a prop forward, the concept “scarce skills” was vulgarised. The Sharks or any Provincial Unit or Professional Club may motivate for the issuing of a work permit for a limited number of foreign players or administrators. Such application must be accompanied by a COMPELLING motivation.
Most important still, sports leaders should be the first to understand why NATIONAL TEAMS cannot play foreigners, no matter how outstanding they may be. Morné Steyn cannot represent New Zealand, Dan Carter cannot represent Wales, Wayne Rooney cannot play for Bafana Bafana. The list goes on.
Federations, Provinces and Clubs are more than welcome to approach us for advice on these issues. To simply rely on slipping through the legal framework (as the CEO of the Sharks seems to be doing) is very dangerous and negligent. Let us take our country more seriously. Only citizens of a country may represent that country.
Issued by Ministry: Sport & Recreation S.A
12 Nov 2009, 22:28 pm
Bakkies can sneeze with his eyes open!!
If you have five dollars and Bakkies has five dollars, Bakkies has more money than you.
Bakkies does not sleep. He waits.
Bakkies can do a wheelie on a unicycle.
Bakkies is not hung like a horse… horses are hung like Bakkies
12 Nov 2009, 23:41 pm
#25 David: I bet he wouldn’t tell Tendai that face to face.
13 Nov 2009, 00:49 am
Bakkies is a unique player in todays ranks. He is the perfect partner to matfield. and its probably safe to say (without the rare dirty stuff) every test team prays for a hardman like bakkies to show up on their potential provincial radars.
our pack definitely loses a big advantage when he is off the field, and this is of concern for 2011.
wrt Beast’s citizenship. this is going to coem crashing down around Beast. pdv might as well let the man go home and sort this out without disturbing the squad. rules are rules. they have got to be followed.
as hard as it is to believe
, nz still honours the residency requirements for all players. yep i think we all assume they know how to fastrack citizenship process once the mandatory residence period is satisfied, but at least they follow the rules.
beast needs to get his **** sorted so he can build and prepare for 2011.
13 Nov 2009, 00:58 am
#22 k.camron: Very true! Bakkies is so underated. And so is Juan Smith. Two massive players in the mould of the British legend Richard Hill…
13 Nov 2009, 01:44 am
Do ANY yarpies still remember the “Take a Chance” radio comedy series done by Michael Meyer and Darryl Jooste?
It featured rip-offs of that great cricket commentator, Charles Fortune (transformed into “Charles Teller”, but with all the plummy vowels) and the poncy cultural broadcaster Colin du Plessis (as “Colin Jubilee”)
Also some great characters like Miems Meiring, Wouter Marais and Gert Ockert. Plus the gardener Philemon and the evil, sinister “The Manager” and Sunita Rabinowitz, the blingy Jewish kugel…
And those priceless fake “adverts” for pick-up trucks…
“Botha’s… Botha’s… Botha’s batter-proof bakkies…”
If not, you’re missing A LOT!
Whenever I see Bakkies batterproof Botha I just crack up laughing.
13 Nov 2009, 04:16 am
Bakkies is a legend, his work rate and physicality is fantastic. Probably would have won more man of the match awards if he did not foul. Just hope he keeps his elbows to himsef and glad he is a BOK.
13 Nov 2009, 08:55 am
I believe that our biggest trump card for this match is our reserve frontrow sitting on the bench. I firmly believe that they could make the crucial differnce at the end of the day.
13 Nov 2009, 09:12 am
#30 TheTackler: Missing home??
13 Nov 2009, 14:34 pm
#18 Die_Valk:
Its highly unlikely when we have Morne”The Boot”Steyn as a flyhalf!
13 Nov 2009, 14:52 pm
#26 Limbocraft:
Bakkies walked into a pub with Mr T!The pub exploded as it could not take so much awesomeness in one room!
Bakkies does not wear a condom. Because there is no such thing as protection from Bakkies Botha.
Some people wear Superman pyjamas. Superman wears Bakkies Botha pyjamas.
Bakkies Botha doesn’t breathe, he holds air hostage.
They once made a Bakkies Botha toilet paper, but it wouldn’t take **** from anybody.