‘Bully’ Boks won’t hold back

John Smit says French accusations of thuggery won’t stop the Springboks from favouring a belligerent approach.

The Boks received a chilly welcome on Wednesday, torrential rain pelting at tired bodies and French journalists unleashing a wave of criticism from the outset.

The local media seem to have picked up where the British and Irish whingers left off, taking their cues from French coach Marc Lievremont and loose forward Imanol Harinordoquy on the subject of robust play.

Lievremont told the media earlier in the week that the Boks don’t always play within the laws, a sentiment echoed by Harinordoquy. At a welcome press conference at Toulouse’s House of Rugby, Smit and Peter de Villiers were made to feel anything but welcome. The French pressmen addressed the Boks as the Butcher Boys of world rugby, something that shocked the South African captain.

‘It caught me completely by surprise,’ Smit told keo.co.za. ‘You don’t ever hear that from the Aussie or New Zealand guys during the Tri-Nations. We play as hard as we can, and most teams respect us for it.

‘We brought that physicality into the Lions series. You need to be more physical than the other side to win a Test match, and you can see in matches where we lost, we were perhaps not as physical.’

The Boks won the second Test of that Lions series, and rather than focus on the victory, the travelling journos attacked the Boks for their over-the top belligerence. Schalk Burger was yellow carded in this fixture for what was initially believed to be eye-gouging (and later confirmed as reckless play) while Bakkies Botha was cited for a (textbook) clearance at ruck time. The Boks have always enjoyed a physical reputation, but these incidences have created a misconception.

‘We’ve never been a side to hit and kick and bite,’ said Smit, ‘so I don’t think you can call us a dirty team. Bakkies wasn’t in the wrong when he cleared that ruck, and Schalk was later cleared of gouging. But I can understand how those two instances may have spurred on this idea.

‘Nevertheless, we will try to be as physical as possible this Saturday.’

Smit was involved in the planning for a November tour that will sees the Boks playing three Tests in as many weeks. They play the French on Friday, but have strangely arrived in Toulouse just two days before kickoff.

The squad trained in Johannesburg earlier this week in completely different conditions to those experienced in Toulouse. The team arrived on Wednesday and spent 30 minutes doing various stretching exercises in pelting rain and a seven-degrees temperature.

‘We decided that we wanted to spend a little more time with our families before the tour. That was one of many reasons for arriving late,’ said Smit. ‘We also wanted to be fresh for the game on Friday and felt it would be better to come up a bit later.

‘We employed the same plan when we went to Perth in the Tri-Nations, and it worked on that occasion. We believe this plan will benefit us this Friday.

Smit reiterated that he is not concerned about the conditions.

‘If you want to be playing anywhere in France at this time of year, it may as well be in the south. It’s not too cold and it probably won’t rain that hard. I remember in 2005 they were clearing snow from that pitch in Paris, so compared to that, it shouldn’t be too bad.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

223 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.allycat: Reply to this comment

Dragons gonna bully the french!!

• 2.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

Tell the frogs to look in the book. who is number 1 in the world ?

Bunch of soft *****

• 3.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Go Bokke ! :mrgreen:

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

these french journalists are lucky they get pdv now that he has mellowed out, he would’ve given them hell if it was last year, they’re would’ve been seeking the counsel of voltaire to decipher his sayings.

• 5.ossewa: Reply to this comment

#2 Zulushark: agree 100%.

They need to put on their tutus and go for ballet lessons!!!

• 6.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#5 ossewa:

Once famous oke said “The tallest tree always catchs the wind”.

I actually think the frogs are scared and the media are trying to phsyc their players up to front up

• 7.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Bully Bok’s gonna get klapped from Toulouse into next week. Groot klap coming unless Frogs klap themselves.

Looks like its shaping up into a physical intimidation psyche out. So maybe Frenchies take their eyes off the ball and try play the man in which case it will work to our favor then we probably beat them. If on the other hand they concentrate on their strengths and creativity and run those big loosie’s and centers straight at our defence line, they could cause havoc.

This possibly one of the better Bok sides in history but its also a top notch French outfit, so the Battle of Toulouse is going to by one almighty showdown Friday night.

• 8.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#7 skopskiet: for once in ur life show some patriotism!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 9.cab: Reply to this comment

Bokke going to klap these frogs, dont matter what they do.
    Their worst mistake was the pre-match stone throwing, the Bokke are going to be up for this.

• 10.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

Hang on a minute…….so now its the Boks accusing the French of thuggery in return to allegations from the French right ?

and the Boks are now taking the Moral Pedestal, right ?

“We’ve never been a side to hit and kick and bite,’ said Smit, ’so I don’t think you can call us a dirty team. Bakkies wasn’t in the wrong when he cleared that ruck, and Schalk was later cleared of gouging. But I can understand how those two instances may have spurred on this idea. Nevertheless, we will try to be as physical as possible this Saturday.”

Is there no end to this duplicity ?!

disgraceful arrogance.

• 11.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

French will prob want to play very quickly and do unusual things.

Boks concentration will have to be 100% for 85 min.

The introduction of a Morne Steyn into the Bok setup helps a lot. He plays, albeit in a lesser way, a similar role to what Carter played for Kiwis.

They apply the pressure and he slots the penalties.

Im asking for a 100% team effort from the Boks.

• 12.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Froggies made the error of insinuating thuggery and heaping insult, now its a war, a gauntlet of the battle of the brave.

In the psychological stakes its standing at adv SA. Froggies shot themselves in the foot with the media psyche out, wrong call Messr Harinordoquy, now you gonna have to live up to your bravado.

Battle of Toulouse battle lines been drawn. Hope Kanko got the balls for it. Brussow, Schalk, Bakkies, Bismark gonna be chomping at the bit.

• 13.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Patriotism, ha, what these poor fakers know about patriotism I wonder, anything at all?

False illusions of grandeur that they know plenty about, but patriotism not too much at all.

• 14.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Waka, your ABs lost to both the boks and the french. Please show the necessary respect on this thread.

• 15.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Bravo een, Bravo een, kom in oor!

• 16.cab: Reply to this comment

dont care about patriotism, but i want the Bokke to win and think they are going to and have said as much, without vascillating on the fence with ifs and buts and psycholigical nuts.

• 17.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

charlie alpha bravo twee. . oor

• 18.grant10: Reply to this comment

just moer then boks…bloody big mouthed frogs pissing me off !

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#14 Slappes: wakanathan & “respect” don’t go together like grant10 & jsmit is a tighthead…forget it…

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

#19 Transformation: J Smit not a tightheads ***!!

• 21.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Stuur Bravo twee!

• 22.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Frogs will target Zane Kirchener but he will be solid.

It will be different for Zane who played in dirt trackers and the time when 10 changes were made.

He now walks into an established setup and once they start kicking in he will fit in smoothly.

• 23.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

well I’m reasonably neutral in this issue, let the team that deserves the victory go out and claim it. It usually boils down to commitment and intent. If every effort is directed with sincerity and honor, usually the universe rewards accordingly.

He who put his best foot forward to all intents and purposes reap’s his intended reward. Go prince valiant, fortune usually favors the brave.

• 24.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Matfield to rule the air in Toulouse……

• 25.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Transie :lol: , hiyas Grant!

• 26.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

The bok front row as it stands with beast, smit and bissie will boss the frenchies.

• 27.grant10: Reply to this comment

#25 Slappes: hi boet…i am pissed off with these Frenchies man….the whole week crying like girls….back at the ranch these buggers the vuil gattest of the whole lot….

Just hope we learned to scrum a bit….or we gonna get on our moer

• 28.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

BLOODY WELSH SHOWED THE ALL BLACKS NO RESPECT DURING THE HAKA.

• 29.grant10: Reply to this comment

#26 Wezwp: LOL….ja…and goldilocks married poppa bear!

• 30.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Grant, btw Clifton aint got nothing on Blouberg when it comes to celebs. Robbie Wessels has moved in.

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

#28 Wezwp: screw the kiwis man….they show us no respect ever!

• 32.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Whatever happened isaac ross? shame he shouldv joined the all blacks on tour.

• 33.carol: Reply to this comment

#28 Wezwp: I was there, what did I miss??
    Why should they anyway?? ;-)

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

#30 Slappes: can he play tighthead??

• 35.carol: Reply to this comment

#31 grant10: Snap!! :lol:

• 36.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

The psycho see saw swings between honor and bravado. Its such a fine line between those two impostors that its only when focussed on the task at hand that the gladiator can hone his anger and aggression towards his goal.

Now its all about focus, if they going to focus on the man and the bully factor or the proposed thuggery, then their focus is lost, if they keep their minds fixed on the task at hand, on the ball, cross the try line or slot the goals, thats all thats gonna count at the final whistle, not who out muscled or out bullied who.

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

my hands are black and blue from moering a drum….oke says its great for frustration….so i thought of that wally ratel msiur brussow and moered the **** out the drum!!

• 38.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

ADI
    will gluide through their defense like a hot knife through butter. Just watch on friday night grant, our front row will destroy them.

• 39.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Grant, yeah the frogs are digging their own grave. Boks just neutralise their pack and Morne will do the rest.

• 40.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

We all know smit cant last the 80mins though. With cj back in the fold we should be ok in that department.

• 41.cab: Reply to this comment

bakkies must hone his klap on harindokay, end of.
    poepalle.

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

#38 Wezwp: Adi will be fine….not sure about the front row…lets rather wait and hope for the best…pap snoek scrummers…

#39 Slappes: yeah …agree

• 43.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

The southern hemisphere will make it a clean sweep of victories against these european whingers.

• 44.carol: Reply to this comment

#39 Slappes: Who will be left standing for the Sarries match?
    Looks like I have a mate who wants to make it a girls ‘Nite Out’ at Wembley on Tuesday!!
    Don’t really want to watch just ‘Dirt Trackers’ tho (no offence)!!! :lol:

• 45.scar: Reply to this comment

#33 carol: And I will be there for the Argentina game!

• 46.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Poor England…… Will they ever reach the standards of 2003..

• 47.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Grant, :lol: dont think Robbie can scrum but he can do a mean leeuloop.

• 48.scar: Reply to this comment

#37 grant10: maybe you should try the other (softer) side!! :lol:

• 49.The Bill: Reply to this comment

This is just a step further away from the traditional French rugby. They used to avoid the trash talk of rugby, leaving if for their bath shy cousins accross the channel. They also used to play unpredictable rugby, sometimes woeful, sometimes sublime.

They now are talking like the Welsh & playing crashball rugby like the poms. They have a couple of good backs that will be good on a counter attack, but not champagne rugby, they are now a route 1 team from phase play.

At least they don’t veil their talking, they have almost invited the boks to a brawl with all this talk.

For me, I would rather say all this stuff after the game. Look at the Welsh, they were too busy kicking 7 bells out of the AB aura last Saturday & the 15 players danced passed them again.

The eyes should always remain on the prize.

• 50.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

I still maintain. Alan wynn Jones, gareth cooper, james hook and shane williams are world class. Why they replacing peel with cooper i dnt knw. ……..And o yes jamie roberts, that man oozes class.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.