digimag-banner

‘Bully’ Boks won’t hold back

John Smit says French accusations of thuggery won’t stop the Springboks from favouring a belligerent approach.

The Boks received a chilly welcome on Wednesday, torrential rain pelting at tired bodies and French journalists unleashing a wave of criticism from the outset.

The local media seem to have picked up where the British and Irish whingers left off, taking their cues from French coach Marc Lievremont and loose forward Imanol Harinordoquy on the subject of robust play.

Lievremont told the media earlier in the week that the Boks don’t always play within the laws, a sentiment echoed by Harinordoquy. At a welcome press conference at Toulouse’s House of Rugby, Smit and Peter de Villiers were made to feel anything but welcome. The French pressmen addressed the Boks as the Butcher Boys of world rugby, something that shocked the South African captain.

‘It caught me completely by surprise,’ Smit told keo.co.za. ‘You don’t ever hear that from the Aussie or New Zealand guys during the Tri-Nations. We play as hard as we can, and most teams respect us for it.

‘We brought that physicality into the Lions series. You need to be more physical than the other side to win a Test match, and you can see in matches where we lost, we were perhaps not as physical.’

The Boks won the second Test of that Lions series, and rather than focus on the victory, the travelling journos attacked the Boks for their over-the top belligerence. Schalk Burger was yellow carded in this fixture for what was initially believed to be eye-gouging (and later confirmed as reckless play) while Bakkies Botha was cited for a (textbook) clearance at ruck time. The Boks have always enjoyed a physical reputation, but these incidences have created a misconception.

‘We’ve never been a side to hit and kick and bite,’ said Smit, ’so I don’t think you can call us a dirty team. Bakkies wasn’t in the wrong when he cleared that ruck, and Schalk was later cleared of gouging. But I can understand how those two instances may have spurred on this idea.

‘Nevertheless, we will try to be as physical as possible this Saturday.’

Smit was involved in the planning for a November tour that will sees the Boks playing three Tests in as many weeks. They play the French on Friday, but have strangely arrived in Toulouse just two days before kickoff.

The squad trained in Johannesburg earlier this week in completely different conditions to those experienced in Toulouse. The team arrived on Wednesday and spent 30 minutes doing various stretching exercises in pelting rain and a seven-degrees temperature.

‘We decided that we wanted to spend a little more time with our families before the tour. That was one of many reasons for arriving late,’ said Smit. ‘We also wanted to be fresh for the game on Friday and felt it would be better to come up a bit later.

‘We employed the same plan when we went to Perth in the Tri-Nations, and it worked on that occasion. We believe this plan will benefit us this Friday.

Smit reiterated that he is not concerned about the conditions.

‘If you want to be playing anywhere in France at this time of year, it may as well be in the south. It’s not too cold and it probably won’t rain that hard. I remember in 2005 they were clearing snow from that pitch in Paris, so compared to that, it shouldn’t be too bad.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

223 Responses to “‘Bully’ Boks won’t hold back”

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51. SlappesReply to this comment :

Carol, i think it will be the same bunch of dirty trackers as last week. Go watch the game, Saracens have a few boks as well!

• 52. grant10Reply to this comment :

#47 Slappes: if he can leeuloop he will fit in there at blouberg…although the south easter may affect his stepping!

• 53. carolReply to this comment :

#45 scar: All the way from the West Country……we have Aussie tickets not Argie ones.
    Hope Wales at least beat the Argies!! :lol:
    Have a great time…..!!

• 54. skopskietReply to this comment :

klap klap slap slap crunch crunch smack smack skop skop, hope Barnes got hair on his teeth and eyes in the back of his head, the two dirtyiest teams on the planet going to try f.k each other up Friday night.

• 55. The BillReply to this comment :

#41 cab: See if he can run over his sternum again. For me I always had the belief if I don’t want my sternum broken, I won’t put it in the way of a 118kg marauding Sefrican

• 56. scarReply to this comment :

#50 Wezwp: I completely agree, and you have to add that the have a pretty good front row as well!

• 57. carolReply to this comment :

#49 The Bill: Have you ever stood in a ski lift with a bunch of Frenchmen early in the morning….watch what you say about the ‘bath shy’!! ;-)

• 58. grant10Reply to this comment :

and the flaming irish waiting at 82000 croke park….schalk may need a bullet proof vest……

Lekker man…luv it….

• 59. carolReply to this comment :

I You Tubed ‘Leeuloop’, I did feel a bit queasy afterwards!! Not big in England!!

• 60. scarReply to this comment :

#53 carol: All that I know is that I will have shirt that reads: “‘r Dde African” – hopefully it translates into “the South African”!

• 61. SlappesReply to this comment :

Grant, lol yeah our Robbies got the moves!

• 62. WezwpReply to this comment :

When i hear the names BAkkies, matfield, fourie du preez, morne steyn , bryan habana, schalkie, brussouw, john smit, beast, bismarck and adi. Those names leaves me with a smile on my face for friday.

• 63. grant10Reply to this comment :

Litre of water and bed….

Bloody drumming…made me far too thirsty…..

Hate to say it….Frogs by 12,,,,,

and with that ….

Outta here

• 64. cabReply to this comment :

#49 The Bill:
    yeah big whingers as well, perhaps no-one’s been able to understand them before.
    they are actually stupid, they should have just surprised the Boks like they usually do, but they’ve actually called it on, i was worried the Springboks would be laxidasical, but now they going to come out blazing.

• 65. WezwpReply to this comment :

Why were the sports teams wearing red badges over the weekend CAROL?

• 66. The BillReply to this comment :

#57 carol: Nope, can’t say I have. I normally time my first run to avoid those doing the walk of shame…

I am still pretty sure the Poms save the most soap, just as the French blokes use the most perfume!

• 67. cabReply to this comment :

Bokke by 20.

• 68. WezwpReply to this comment :

FRANCE 27 BOKKE 36

• 69. SlappesReply to this comment :

Carol, :lol: yeah he is our king of dance. Btw Grant does a mean version on the beach to impress the girls. He should maybe not do it in his speedo though.

• 70. WezwpReply to this comment :

Leonard is a real average scrumhalf. The all blacks should stick to Cowan.

• 71. carolReply to this comment :

#60 scar: That would be lost on me!!

• 72. carolReply to this comment :

#63 grant10: Night Grant….It will seem better in the morning!!

#65 Wezwp: Wes, we wear red poppies in the weeks leading up today 11th November our Rememberance Day for fallen troops in the WW1 & II and also in recent conflicts. Hence the two minutes silence observed before kick off!

• 73. UKBokSupporterReply to this comment :

#44 carol:

Should be well worth it! Great crowd expected, along with some live entertainment from Bok van Blerk and Francois Pienaar as the MC.

• 74. carolReply to this comment :

#66 The Bill: Respect- don’t know if I have EVER managed to be first on the slope!! Too busy in the shower I suppose!! ;-)

#69 Slappes: Do you think the London Keo Boys will Leoloop for me at the Barbarians game? I could always ask!! :-)

Outta Here, say Hi to Robzim if he calls!!

• 75. scarReply to this comment :

Cheers all

• 76. carolReply to this comment :

#73 UKBokSupporter: It is sounding more interesting moment by moment!! Cheers…..!!!

• 77. fantasticbarnsmellReply to this comment :

i was unaware of the fact that the French were such whingers. they’re complaining before the game has even started… disappointing.

• 78. ad_ozReply to this comment :

‘Of course, they play inside the rules, they don’t stamp on you or knee you because now if you do that it’s a yellow card or even a red card.’

This is actually what Harinordoquy said as reported by this website. Be consistent guys. Really shoddy work this.

• 79. UKBokSupporterReply to this comment :

Am I missing something here, is it true that Friday’s game won’t be shown in the UK? Can’t see Sky or BBC listing it…

• 80. jocubaReply to this comment :

Evening all…
    Anyone know a few pubs in London that will definitely be showing the game?

• 81. fantasticbarnsmellReply to this comment :

#79 UKBokSupporter: hmm that is strange. you’ve got sky so maybe check around the French channels, it know France 1 (or France 2) will be showing it.

• 82. NilsReply to this comment :

#79 UKBokSupporter: look in myp2p.eu in Friday afternoon, then you’ll see what opportunities are to watch it online.

French TV 2 will broadcast it, so probably some bars in UK with satellite dish should get it.

• 83. NilsReply to this comment :

And Frogs by 10 or so.

• 84. HondoReply to this comment :

“Talk are cheap, money buys the whisky” ~ so said PdV

• 85. HondoReply to this comment :

#78 ad_oz:
    do you have the footage of Harinordoquy punching Horwil in the face like a punch bag?
    Only happened last June

• 86. fantasticbarnsmellReply to this comment :

#85 Hondo: urghh my link got moderated. go to youtube and search for “James Horwill fight comments” and there’s a pretty decent vid of the incident.

• 87. scornReply to this comment :

@ 79. UKBokSupporter

It’s showing in Ireland (I can’t believe my luck!) on RTE 2 from 7:30pm, if that’s avaialable to you…

• 88. carolReply to this comment :

Quote from John Smit above,

“Nevertheless, we should try to be as physical as we can this Saturday”!!

What is happening on Saturday?

We need to know? :lol:

• 89. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#14 Slappes:

Bakkies got 2 weeks suspension from IRB. Upheld on appeal. And Smit and SARU fined by IRB.

Smit says ‘Bakkies did nothing wrong’….and youre telling ME to show some necessary respect ?!

arrogance, no less.

• 90. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

No wonder, when it gets supported by ‘journalism’ as supportive as this cr@p

“Schalk Burger was yellow carded in this fixture for what was INITIALLY believed to be eye-gouging (and later confirmed as reckless play) while Bakkies Botha was cited for a (TEXTBOOK) clearance at ruck time. The Boks have always enjoyed a physical reputation, but these incidences have created a MISCONCEPTION.”

Oh, it was all an accident. It never really happened. What you read about was fictional. Your own eyes deceived you. Visibility wasnt very clear that day. Look in to my eyesssssssssssssssssss.

In ONE match, Burger GOUGED in the FIRST MINUTE. Botha was SUSPENDED for FOUL PLAY.

and thats someones idea of a ‘misconception’ ???!!!!

Respect, my ***.

• 91. mbaxman93Reply to this comment :

#90 WakaNathan: waka the rest of the civilised world is in bed , u might wanna try it u’re clearly very sleepy

• 92. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#91 mbaxman93:

whats your excuse ?

• 93. SjamBokReply to this comment :

Mark my words ALL YOU KIWI SUPPORTERS. The 2011 RWC is going to be the tournament of the old Sporting Cockerel…

I reckon France will be serious contenders next RWC.

The rdomestic rugby is going from strength to strength, their team is young and quite settled, and will have lots of experience by then, and they have the biggest pool of player reserves to pull from.

It is quite surprisingthat they have not won at least one RWC before. This fact me cause them to focus a little (their main achilles heel) for teh next.

And if they can beat SA now, they will havea track record to give them confidence – a win in NZ , a win in SA, and a win at home against the RWC champs.

KEO: Put this prediction somewhere that you can find it easily – and put a few bob on the French at the tattersalls now.

• 94. vanhunksReply to this comment :

#93 SjamBok: Hey dude, chill out.

• 95. vanhunksReply to this comment :

#92 WakaNathan: Sorry Sjammie, It was actually aimed at Waka.

• 96. skopskietReply to this comment :

yes Sjambok I also noted somewhere recently that my money would be on a Nz or Sa vs France final in WC 2011 with France overdue a Wc win.

In 87 they took Nz to the wire at home with Serge Blanco and Phillipe Sella running some plays from behind their own try line. In 95 they actually beat SA in the rain in Durban semi only to be denied a certain try under the sticks by gold watch ref Bevan. And in 99 they pulled off the upset of upsets in France in the semi’s knocking out favourites Nz only to capitulate to Aus in the final.

So I reckon all things being equal its very much on the cards that their build up dictates that their luck might just be on the up n up for Wc 2011 in less than 2 years from now.

• 97. greatest13gerberReply to this comment :

#93 SjamBok:

the french are most unpredictable side in the world. Able to destroy Boks by 40pts on their day or lose by the same margin on a bad day.

its crazyy.

• 98. whateverReply to this comment :

#90 WakaNathan:

Hey doos, you need to move on from Bakkies and Schaulk! Most are tired of you constant bagging of these and other Boks. If you don’t like Saffa’s and the way we love and play our footie then log on elsewhere!

Mamparra!

• 99. DavidReply to this comment :

Beast is out of Bok side as he’s not an SA citizen.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator