‘Bully’ Boks won’t hold back
John Smit says French accusations of thuggery won’t stop the Springboks from favouring a belligerent approach.
The Boks received a chilly welcome on Wednesday, torrential rain pelting at tired bodies and French journalists unleashing a wave of criticism from the outset.
The local media seem to have picked up where the British and Irish whingers left off, taking their cues from French coach Marc Lievremont and loose forward Imanol Harinordoquy on the subject of robust play.
Lievremont told the media earlier in the week that the Boks don’t always play within the laws, a sentiment echoed by Harinordoquy. At a welcome press conference at Toulouse’s House of Rugby, Smit and Peter de Villiers were made to feel anything but welcome. The French pressmen addressed the Boks as the Butcher Boys of world rugby, something that shocked the South African captain.
‘It caught me completely by surprise,’ Smit told keo.co.za. ‘You don’t ever hear that from the Aussie or New Zealand guys during the Tri-Nations. We play as hard as we can, and most teams respect us for it.
‘We brought that physicality into the Lions series. You need to be more physical than the other side to win a Test match, and you can see in matches where we lost, we were perhaps not as physical.’
The Boks won the second Test of that Lions series, and rather than focus on the victory, the travelling journos attacked the Boks for their over-the top belligerence. Schalk Burger was yellow carded in this fixture for what was initially believed to be eye-gouging (and later confirmed as reckless play) while Bakkies Botha was cited for a (textbook) clearance at ruck time. The Boks have always enjoyed a physical reputation, but these incidences have created a misconception.
‘We’ve never been a side to hit and kick and bite,’ said Smit, ’so I don’t think you can call us a dirty team. Bakkies wasn’t in the wrong when he cleared that ruck, and Schalk was later cleared of gouging. But I can understand how those two instances may have spurred on this idea.
‘Nevertheless, we will try to be as physical as possible this Saturday.’
Smit was involved in the planning for a November tour that will sees the Boks playing three Tests in as many weeks. They play the French on Friday, but have strangely arrived in Toulouse just two days before kickoff.
The squad trained in Johannesburg earlier this week in completely different conditions to those experienced in Toulouse. The team arrived on Wednesday and spent 30 minutes doing various stretching exercises in pelting rain and a seven-degrees temperature.
‘We decided that we wanted to spend a little more time with our families before the tour. That was one of many reasons for arriving late,’ said Smit. ‘We also wanted to be fresh for the game on Friday and felt it would be better to come up a bit later.
‘We employed the same plan when we went to Perth in the Tri-Nations, and it worked on that occasion. We believe this plan will benefit us this Friday.
Smit reiterated that he is not concerned about the conditions.
‘If you want to be playing anywhere in France at this time of year, it may as well be in the south. It’s not too cold and it probably won’t rain that hard. I remember in 2005 they were clearing snow from that pitch in Paris, so compared to that, it shouldn’t be too bad.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

November 12th, 2009 at 7:07 am
#99 David: David…where you reading this?
November 12th, 2009 at 7:32 am
Thank goodness the French media is giving the boks some motivation.
November 12th, 2009 at 7:34 am
#97 greatest13gerber:
The record doesn’t support your thesis, I can see where the cliché came from
most of the tests between the Frogs and the Boks decided by 5-11 points, only in 1997 the Boks won by more than 40 points.
November 12th, 2009 at 7:37 am
#101 grant10:
It was a hoax circulated in SA last week
November 12th, 2009 at 7:41 am
#104 Hondo:
check out the timesalive website.
November 12th, 2009 at 7:53 am
Sorry “timeslive”.
November 12th, 2009 at 7:54 am
Well coming from the French this is a bit rich as they are arguably the dirtiest team historically in world rugby! Should be tasty!
November 12th, 2009 at 7:57 am
#106 David:
Read this:
Own Correspondent
November 10 2009 at 05:43PM
Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira has been cleared to tour with the Springbok squad following discussions between the South African Rugby Union (Saru) and the Sports Ministry.
Saru was alerted to clauses in the National Sport & Recreation Amendment Act, 2007, which needed to be completed before Zimbabwean-born Mtawarira’s place in the end-of-year tour squad could be confirmed.
“We are delighted with the news after discovering this problem during the week,” said Saru president Oregan Hoskins.
“The government has been very helpful in expediting the completion of the necessary protocols and we’re all relieved that Beast will be available for selection for the Springboks against France in Toulouse on Friday.”
The protocol revolved around clause 6(3) of the National Sport and Recreation Amendment Act of 2007, which requires an explanation to the Minister of Sport for the selection of non-South African nationals. – Sapa
November 12th, 2009 at 8:01 am
It’s certainly there on The Times (SA) website…
November 12th, 2009 at 8:02 am
Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira is out of the Springbok team because he is not a South African national – even though he has already played 15 Tests in the green and gold.
The SA Rugby Union (Saru) had recently asked sport minister Makhenkesi Stofile to help expedite the Zimbabwe-born prop’s South African citizenship, but in a statement on Wednesday night Stofile’s ministry accused the union of poor administration.
“This request to have the Minister use his position to have the process of securing permanent residence and subsequently, citizenship expedited ahead of the year end tour in Europe, has exposed our sport administrators’ clear disrespect or lack of understanding of our laws,” the ministry said.
“Talented as he is, Tendai, like all foreign nationals plying their trade in South Africa, is bound by the laws of this country. The migration laws of our country are clear on issues relating to permanent residence and citizenship. We expect our sport administrators to understand and respect legislation that regulate their business. None of the athletes, sport codes, or federations can be bigger than the country.”
Mtawarira, who is in France with the Bok team, was one of the stars of the side that beat the touring British Lions earlier this year.
“While Tendai is a live wire on the field of play, the question is whether it is, in the first place, justifiable to say he has scarce skills – the rationale that would have enabled him to obtain the current work permit. If we go the route our rugby administrators are requesting us to take, and facilitate the fast-tracking of Tendai’s citizenship, what would this say to all rugby players in our country? We cannot as a
government department responsible for sport and recreation in this country, afford to insult our players like this.
“The principle here is clear: Only citizens of our country can play for our National team, irrespective of the sport code. Therefore, no foreign national can play for any of our national teams, no matter how
outstanding they may be. If any player in any code is to become a South African citizen, this has to be done within the legal framework of our country.
“Federations, provinces and clubs, are more than welcome to approach us for advice on similar issues, instead of trying to slip a player through the legal framework.”
November 12th, 2009 at 8:09 am
these are just mind games as the french are going to come full frontal at us
November 12th, 2009 at 8:32 am
First Bully Boys for the Bulls now Bully Boks… I think you need to come up with better adjectives…
November 12th, 2009 at 8:45 am
I can’t remember when last I was so amped to give these soft-**** pansy-assed crybaby frogs an ***-whipping that they’ll remember. It’s so undignified for a rugby team (and it’s media) to whinge like teenage girls bitching about boyfriend-stealers prior to a test match. It’s not what men do. You’ll NEVER see a Bok player, coach etc. behave like this. It’s just so self-castrating. I cringe for them. And for what Bakkies has planned.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:00 am
#113 katman: Whilst I’m laughing at your first sentence, I can’t agree that the Boks have never used the media to whinge about the opposition. It’s a tactic used to draw the refs attention to the oppositions strengths so he analyses them more closely. Like Richie McCaw at the breakdown or George Smith, or the illegal scrumming of other nations. I’ve heard Bok representatives mention these things in the build up to games before.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:05 am
#114 jonnymain: True, but for me there’s a real difference between pointing out technicalities of law infringements and having a good old cry about how badly someone might hurt them.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:13 am
#115 katman: The French aren’t afraid of the rough stuff. It’s just to draw attention to the physical strengths of the Bok gameplan. No other side has the same physicality as the Boks, which is why you don’t hear the Boks whingeing about being beaten up by the opposition!
November 12th, 2009 at 9:19 am
#110 ufo:
that is a blog entry on timeslive – not a news report
November 12th, 2009 at 9:21 am
Jon Smit should have just thanked the frogs for complementing his team and moved on. Since when has being physical been a bad thing in rugby.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:25 am
#117 charo:
It was written by a journalist, though.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:40 am
I love the “textbook” comment about Bakkies rucking style – go big man
November 12th, 2009 at 9:46 am
“Lievremont told the media earlier in the weak that the Boks”
JC – weak???
November 12th, 2009 at 9:53 am
#10 WakaNathan: Pot calling the kettle black??
Seem to recall thrre AB players being banned for foul play, and that’s just in the last two matches, and that’s not counting the incidents where AB players should have been cited, but were strangely mollycoddled!!
No probs, it makes us stronger!!
Go Bokke, play to your strengths, and score big tomorow!!
November 12th, 2009 at 9:57 am
waka
I normally dont get involved in this ‘who’s got the biggest d*ck ‘ contest which is permanently on the go here on site, but I must ask you.
What exactly is your problem, why do you continually cling to the odd stupid/idiotic comment from a bok fan, repeating it over and over and over ad nauseum?
Surely you realize that every country has these types, its the human condition. Have a lil peek into Silverfern for a few more examples.
It just makes you look like you are jealous of the bok success of late.
Maybe I’m wrong, so thats why I’m asking, please enlighten me.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:03 am
#116 jonnymain: Agree 100%
Now they calling us Butcher Boks/Our culture is to play to hurt!! They are really sounding like a bunch of cry babies there. French are physical too. Maybe trying to get on the refs side or something.
Go get em Bokke.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:09 am
#110 ufo: Now what is this all about again? Thought that it had all been sorted. That what I heard on SABC or do they just always get it wrong?
He has lived in this country for over 4 years. Also Beasts Parents live in Durban. He bought them a house.
He has paid tax here on his earnings too. They are just looking again to make trouble. Government should keep out of our sport.
How come in other countries you just live there 3 years and are allowed to play for a team? That rule applies for all countries. Ag, we have to live with this nonsense day in day out in this country. Many getting fed up and will leave. It is not just in sport but everything else.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:11 am
#117 charo: Thanks Charo, Thought it had been sorted out. Then thought no man, they starting nonsense again. Phew!! pleased it is fine. Go the BEAST. Love seeing him play.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:31 am
Has Tendai ‘The Beast’ Mtawarira got the boot?
Nov 12, 2009 9:10 AM | By Staff reporter
Although prop Tendai ‘The Beast’ Mtawarira has been named in the Springbok team to face France on Friday night, a statement by the Ministry of Sport indicates that Mtawarira is still ineligible to play in the green and gold.
Zimbabwean-born Mtawarira has already played 19 Tests in the green and gold and was a key player in the Springboks’ historic series victory over the British and Irish Lions.
Times LIVE has been unable to get comment from the SA Rugby Union or any further comment from the Ministry of Sport and Recreation.
The Springboks play France in Toulouse on Friday night (kick-off: 9.45pm SA time).
Read the media statement released by the Ministry of Sport and Recreation regarding Tendai “The Beast” Mtawarira’s inclusion in the Springbok rugby team and decide for yourself (key paragraphs underlined for emphasis).
SUBJECT: MINISTRY OF SPORT & RECREATION COMMENT ON TENDAI MTAWARIRA’s INCLUSION IN THE SOUTH AFRICAN RUGBY TEAM
1. SA Rugby has requested the Minister of Sport & Recreation SA, Rev Dr Makhenkesi Stofile to intervene in securing South African citizenship for Tendai “The Beast” Mtawarira, a Zimbabwean national, who plays professional rugby in South Africa.
2. This request to have the Minister use his position to have the process of securing permanent residence and subsequently, citizenship expedited ahead of the year end tour in Europe, has exposed our Sport administrators’ clear disrespect or lack of understanding of our laws.
3. Talented as he is, Tendai, like all foreign nationals plying their trade in South Africa, is bound by the laws of this country. The migration laws of our country are clear on issues relating to permanent residence and citizenship. We expect our sport administrators to understand and respect legislation that regulate their business. None of the athletes, sport codes, or Federations can be bigger than the country.
4. While Tendai is a live wire on the field of play, the question is whether it is, in the first place, justifiable to say he has scarce skills – the rationale that would have enabled him to obtain the current work permit. If we go the route our Rugby administrators are requesting us to take, and facilitate the fastracking of Tendai’s citizenship, what would this say to all rugby players in our country? We cannot as a Government Department responsible for sport and recreation in this country, afford to insult our players like this.
5. The principle here is clear: Only citizens of our country can play for our National team, irrespective of the sport code. Therefore, no foreign national can play for any of our national teams, no matter how outstanding they may be. If any player in any code is to become a South African citizen, this has to be done within the legal framework of our country.
6. Federations, Provinces and clubs, are more than welcome to approach us for advice on similar issues, instead of trying to slip a player through the legal framework.
Issued by: Sport and Recreation SA
November 12th, 2009 at 10:32 am
Sounds like its still up in the air. Best Wian start warming up!
SARU should just pull Beast out of the test until this is finalised. Let the team focus on the French and not all this.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:34 am
#125 Puma: you don’t think the government can actually run the country, they cause all this oher kak so draw attention away from the fact that they are all useless at running the country, keeping the economy decent etc etc
Perhaps Stofile doesn’t want to help the Beast because he doesn’t have an ANC supporters card.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:35 am
#127 Oubaas2009:
So the ministry is so worried about Tendai’s citizenship etc, but there are literally millions of illegal immigrants in RSA at the moment, taking work away from locals and contributing to crime.
What really is their agenda here?
November 12th, 2009 at 10:56 am
#98 whatever:
I like Safas but I dont like you.
#113 katman:
No, never never never. The Boks dont whinge, they armband.
Pull the other one, it plays Jingle Bells.
#122 Cheetah 4 Eva:
Oh, and where is the bit where the AB Capt or Management have complained about those bannings ? Where is the bit where they wear armbands on to the field in protest ? Where is the AB Capt denying any foul play occurred, saying that Sivi/Woodcock/DC “werent in the wrong” ?
arrogance supreme from Smit.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:19 am
#131 WakaNathan:
arrogance supreme from Smit.
Your opinion only, as worthless as any other’s.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:45 am
The french have made a mistake here. There is one thing with John, dont ever accuse the team of something they are not, it will only motivate them to play even harder.
I remember our opening game in the world cup against England. I think it was in Monties book in fact. The English press accused the boks of underhanded play and reports of “pinching” in rucks
This pissed John off so much that he told the team about these romers in the change room before the game. He then told them to show the poms how to play rugby, use brut force and show no mercy.
The boks sure did, gave them a 36 .0 leason that night.
Go Butcher Boys, show them why we are number 1.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:48 am
#133 Fidget: best game i ever saw…loved it!!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:49 am
Arrogance or not, Smit sure put a lovely hit on Thorne in the 3N.
haha
November 12th, 2009 at 12:01 pm
#134 grant10: Yeah, me too. Will never forget that night. I was at BOK Town, montecasono. The atmosphere was brilliant and then i played black Jack until 3am afterwards and won a few grand.
What a night
November 12th, 2009 at 12:05 pm
#135 cab: I remember that, was a scracker hit.
I just wish he would go back to Hooker though, the scrum has gone into a spiral and they just cant seem to get it right. I dont know if you guys have noticed but when Bakkies goes off the field, the scrums really go to ****. Something need to change.
November 12th, 2009 at 12:11 pm
#137 Fidget: And drop Bismark?
November 12th, 2009 at 12:38 pm
#132 Stawm:
Maybe I was under the mistaken impression that blogging is all about having an opinion and expressing it ?
If I pointed out each 1 I disagreed with, Id be here all day.
November 12th, 2009 at 12:39 pm
#135 cab:
Reuben ?
November 12th, 2009 at 12:53 pm
#132 Stawm: As worthless as yours too?
November 12th, 2009 at 12:54 pm
Dis you watch the game, if you did are you telling me Bakkies deserved to be banned?
November 12th, 2009 at 12:55 pm
#135 cab: Waited a full year for his revenge after getting his fat @rse dumped the year before by the very same Thorne
November 12th, 2009 at 12:55 pm
Dis = Did
November 12th, 2009 at 12:57 pm
#89 WakaNathan: Lets try again.
Did you watch the game, if you did are you telling me Bakkies deserved to be banned?
November 12th, 2009 at 1:00 pm
#145 who cares: F*ck sakes, let it go already. The whole world has moved on and you still feel done in! It’s over, ask Bakkies
November 12th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
#146 Richie_7: Was my messge directed at you, or is WN your bum-chum.
November 12th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
#143 Richie_7:
you still living in the jacaranda city…
the last few months must have been tough for you…
November 12th, 2009 at 1:06 pm
I know about Bissi and that is why management have stuck to their guns and give Smit a chance to sort things out. (me thinks anyway)They are stuck between a rock and a hard place. All it takes though is for the boks to be penalised heavily in one game and lose, things will then change, even if someone must go.
November 12th, 2009 at 1:07 pm
#147 who cares: “Who Cares” – clearly YOU do!