‘Tricolores will target Adi’s channel’
Brent Russell believes Marc Lievremont has a ‘plan up his sleeve’ to dominate the Springbok backs, but is unsure whether this will reap rewards.
Lievremont has opted for a sizable backline for Friday’s Test, with players such as flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, centre Yann David, wing Cedric Heymans and No 15 Damien Traille all abrasive individuals.
Russell, who plays for Clermont in the Top 14, says all of these are form selections, and where in doubt, Lievremont has opted for eight Toulouse players to play in front of their home crowd. The one surprise may be No 13 David, who was selected ahead of David Marty, who was expected to start alongside Perpignan team-mate Maxime Mermoz.
Lievremont and backs coach Emile N’Tamack made no secret of their plan to attack the Bok ‘weakness’ and to try dominate the gain-line in the mid-field, and Russell agreed.
‘Mermoz and Marty would’ve been my choice of centres as they are a combination, but Lievremont must have some sort of plan up his sleeve,’ Russell told keo.co.za. ‘Many of the French backs are getting bigger, but these guys are also on-form.
‘They know the game will be won up-front, and then they’ll try to use their forward and back runners to get over the advantage line – they’ll definietly look to attack Adi’s channel.
‘They know our pack is our strength and they’ll target the backline as a possible weaklink. I don’t know if it will pay dividends though.’
The selection of Biarritz No 12 Traille at fullback ahead of Maxime Medard points to France trying to nullify Morne Steyn and Fourie du Preez’s kicking games.
‘Traille was a surprise for me but he’s a big guy who can counter well. He’s got the height so he’s solid, his hands are good and he has a big kicking game,’ said Russell.
The former Bok back was not surprised Frederic Michalak has been left out of their 22, while he’s expecting his Clermont team-mates Julien Bonnaire and scrumhalf Morgan Parra to make an impact off the bench late in the game.
‘Parra does the basics well, but for me Bonnaire is one of the best loosies in the game. He’s mobile and very quick, while he has over 40 caps. They’ll definitely bring him on, he’s very good,’ said Russell.
The French players, management and now media have all labelled the Boks brutish, but having been in France for a year, Russell says this is the French way to get themselves motivated for matches that matter.
‘I’ve noticed the French like to work themselves into a craze, a frenzy almost for big games. They’re using this as their way to psyche themselves up, by making it a massive build-up. They’re passionate people and they’ll be telling themselves the only way to win this is to match the Boks physically.
‘It’s a very strong side they’ve picked, and it will be tough in Toulouse, where these Boks haven’t played before.
‘That French changing room before kick-off will also be something else.’
By Grant Ball

November 12th, 2009 at 8:04 am
O Bloed… hope for the best cause i don’t rate this Dragon!
November 12th, 2009 at 8:10 am
What a waste,Brent is probably the most creative back we have produced since re admission. But Jake was more obsessed with size than skills and speed unfortunately as much as I liked Jake.
November 12th, 2009 at 8:10 am
‘Traille was a surprise for me but he’s a big fullback who can counter well. He’s got the height so he’s solid, his hands are good and he has a big kicking game,’ said Russell.
Well Russell rates him but surpised he’s in the team!
says a lot of midgets opinion….
don’t wanna diss the guy – just didn’t understand his way of thinking….
November 12th, 2009 at 8:13 am
well it is expected for that to happen and i believe that they will penetrate that area often unless the loosies patrol as cover but you cant expect that too happen the whole game
November 12th, 2009 at 8:16 am
#3 Staal: It’s a surprise because they’ve selected him out of his favoured position
November 12th, 2009 at 8:19 am
#5 Grant: yip understood that- just thought he rates him as a “big fullback who can counter well.”
my bad then.
November 12th, 2009 at 8:20 am
#5 Grant: dammit…that nick is gonna get us all confused!
November 12th, 2009 at 8:22 am
The 10/12 combination is a worry. Steyn and Jacobs aren’t the best in defence. With Brussouw on the openside and Kanko at 8 it just compounds this. Who is going to cover the arses of the inside backs from 1st phase? Schalk is on the wrong side, unless he packs down at openside on defence. Many things to think about there.
November 12th, 2009 at 8:23 am
#7 grant10:
and here it starts again…
November 12th, 2009 at 8:27 am
Tired Boks + Turnstile Jacobs = Trouble.
November 12th, 2009 at 8:31 am
#10 Katsesnor:
Turnstile……..
November 12th, 2009 at 8:33 am
Ah whatever, all this “targeting jacobs” nonsense makes me laugh. Adi has more caps than this so called giant centre and he’s stood up to real quality centres from NZ and Aus over the last 2 years. He was virtually the backlines engine in 2008 and admittedly had a dip in form earlier this year like many other seasoned Boks have in the past (habana, burger, pietersen to name a few). The french aren’t showing him any respect and we all know that Adi performs best when he’s under scrutiny in the media so all this rubbish about targeting him goes down fine with me. Size ain’t everything, just look at that joke of a 2m tall wing that was made to look like a baffoon by pint sized will genia last weekend
Kanko and Jacobs. Must man the ***K up in this game!!! We will need to be at our physical best.
Adi’s defence always reminds me of Bulls centre Pretorius…..
Eish … and he cant catch a dog inna phonebooth!
well… let’s give russell his due… he knows what he’s talking about… if anyone, he really knows all about being targetted defensively…
what’s with these saffa players in France being so windgat??
November 12th, 2009 at 8:41 am
#15 ufo: The media ask them questions because they are Saffas and the Boks are playing France this week. What are they supposed to do? Ignore them?
November 12th, 2009 at 8:45 am
#16 jonnymain:
of course not Jonny… but a bit of promoting their national side would be nice…
Don’t you think?
Seems they’re all keen to put the boot into the Bok… You may find that acceptable… I don’t…
November 12th, 2009 at 8:49 am
#16 jonnymain:
you won’t see NZ or Aussie players in France slagging off their own national sides…
November 12th, 2009 at 8:55 am
#18 ufo: I don’t see where Russell is slagging off the Boks at all. Am I missing something?
November 12th, 2009 at 8:59 am
On defense, play Burger at Openside, with Brussow at 8, or vice versa, but do agree that Kanko needs to make something happen, but this isn’t my biggest concern. 3 is. I hope that John can hold his own come scrumtime. If not, we have lost the game, unless they give away a ton of penalties.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:02 am
#19 jonnymain:
er ja..! It’s the whole slant of the thing…
What I’m saying is it would be great if Brent Russell said… he believes the Boks have a plan up their sleeves… and even if France pick Superman and Batman as their centres.. the Boks will have a way of dealing with them…
I know it’s fashionable and many fans like to knock the Boks and expect the worst… but supporters – of who I would think Russell is as an ex-Bok – would be, and would be seen to be… 100 percent behind the Boks…
November 12th, 2009 at 9:08 am
#20 WP-Stormers-SA: I’ve had a thought about that and I would keep Brussouw on the openside otherwise you lose that ball-stealing ability that he has even from first phase. If he’s caught on the blind he won’t be first to the breakdown. He needs to tackle like a man possessed though!
November 12th, 2009 at 9:09 am
Even if they do target the jacobs , steyn chanel and get past they will get clobbered by schalk running the defence line – they may do it once but after Schalk has had his way they will think again.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:10 am
#21 – ufo, everyone knows to target Adi in the centres. His defense is suspect.
#21 ufo: OK I agree, but please bear in mind that this isn’t the full transcript of his conversation. For all we know he may have gone on to say he thinks the Boks will klap the Frenchies by 50 points!
#18 ufo:
That’s probably because they’re hoping to back and play for their national side. Most of our guys are there because they weren’t selected.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:21 am
Completely off topic but i wish sebastien chabal was in the french 22 seeing as it’s gonna be a physical battle. What a sight it would be to behold the battle played out between him and Bakkies
November 12th, 2009 at 9:22 am
After much thought and deliberation ….i think the french may take this Test.
Main reasone….
The absence of both Spies and Juan Smith has weakened the Boks tail lineout considerably. Schalk and Kankowski are not as proficient at the tail ….Juan Smith excels there and Spies has come on in leaps and bounds…..Harinodiquy may cause problems there.
Front row will come under intense scrutiny….will be viewed as achilles heel of boks….hopefully parity will be achieved. If not….a long night!
Adi and Jacobs are a new combo….again the French have signalled there intentions of busting it up through the channel….with that quick tail line out ball not easy to get the loosies across …so Adi a…MS and JF are going to need to ensure there communication and 1 st time tackling is 100% on song.
Kirchner will need to be rock solid….i have faith in him….
F Steyn and JDV absence will be felt….
On the positive side Smit reckons fatigue not an issue….i agree to an extent….but the Bulls players may be the most tired….and they take up 5 of the 15 spots….
Also J Fourie has hardly played….and didnt train with the Lions…hope he is not rusty.
Kanko , Adi Schalk need big games….
France by 12….
November 12th, 2009 at 9:25 am
#24 fish out of water:
the point is… as an ex-Bok Russell should be talking the Boks… and Adi up…
FFS…. Russell’s defence still is suspect… but when he played for the Boks everyone glossed over his defensive frailties and waxed lyrical about his attacking qualities… well Adi’s defense is better than Russell’s ever was… Just think it’s a bit rich coming from Russell…
#25 jonnymain:
fair point…
#26 David:
Yeah David… but you’ll never hear an ex-AB saying anything other than the ABs are the best and are gonna win… and the ex-Aussies too…
whether they’ve retired, been dropped or still want to play again…
November 12th, 2009 at 9:26 am
#28 grant10: You are always pessimistic about the Boks chances, but I agree 100% with everything you say except the result and the bit about Kirchner (not sure he is up to test standard)
Wouldn’t like to call the game myself, if pushed I’d say Boks by 3. Too much BMT for the French.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:32 am
No matter what I THINK will happen… I’ll always go with what I WANT to happen…
Boks to win… don’t care by how much… one point will do me just fine…!
Cheers guys gotta work…
November 12th, 2009 at 9:39 am
#30 jonnymain: Not pessimist or optimist….just trying to be objective
November 12th, 2009 at 9:40 am
#29 ufo: Have you ever heard of Warren Gatland?
Stop talking kak and crying like a little girl.
Russell faced IMMENSE criticism of his defence when he was picked for the Boks, which wasn’t very often because of his small size and concerns OVER HIS DEFENCE.
Russell is not criticising the Boks, merely stating what he understands the strategy of the French is:
‘They know our pack is our strength and they’ll target the backline as a possible weak link. I don’t know if it will pay dividends though.’
Did you get that last bit?
November 12th, 2009 at 9:41 am
As if we never knew that here. Been saying all week it wont be our scrums to worry about but the centre channel especially where Adi will be playing.
Now only if we had a big oke like Fransie there. NO problems even JdV that was superb all year. Going to be tough.
Think we are smart though and will work out a plan for that. Hoping as their center is a monster. Adi’s defence is not that great.
Burger you will have to cover 7 and 12…hehehe.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:45 am
#30 jonnymain: Adi channel is the biggest worry. Saying it all week and YES Zane too. Never impressed when he played with the E. Boks or that last test against the Lions.
Going to miss Fransie huge I think.
Then Zane has plenty Bulls in that side that he has played with all season, so who knows he may have a far better game than he done in the E. Boks and Lions. HOPING.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:47 am
#31 ufo:
Good atitude..hehehe. Think if we all went with what we want then Boks would never lose..haha. Like it though.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:47 am
#33 kaksioek:
don’t be dof kaksi…
heard of Wales…?
Gatland is coaching Wales so of course he’s gonna shout for Wales over NZ now…
November 12th, 2009 at 9:49 am
#29 ufo:
“and the ex-Aussies too…”
Doesn’t Campese count?
November 12th, 2009 at 9:50 am
#36 Puma:
yeah Puma…
Of course I know it’s gonna be a tough game and we’ve got our problems… but I’m a SUPPORTER through thick and thin… good and bad…
anyway really gotta go now…
Everyone enjoy the game tomorrow…
Go Bokke!!
November 12th, 2009 at 9:50 am
we need more anti-Adi article, i can’t get enough of them, more more!!
November 12th, 2009 at 9:51 am
#28 grant10:
Don’t aree on all aspects, we have a superior lineout, Schalk and Kanko certainly no mugs in the lineouts, actually the Boks throw to Schalk quite a lot.
Our locks should get the upperhand and if parity obtained in the scrums should allow Popeye to dominate the loose ball situation.
FDUP and Steyn far better halfback combo than the French and between the 2 of them will control the tactic and pace of the game.
French centres a bit inexoperienced, they will be all fire and brimstone but hardly anything that should unduly worry us.
Defensively if it is a problem in Adi’s channel we can bring WO on which could stop the bleeding, I think Adi will step up in this game !!
The French centres will also have their hand s full with Adi and Jaque should we get front foot ball, how good are they defensively ??
We have in Habs and JP two of the best defensive wingers in world rugby, and are just as lethal attacking.
Think Boks experience and winning culture will see the Boks home and break the French drought, Boks by 6 !!
November 12th, 2009 at 9:52 am
#29 ufo: sorry but i differ from you…..
Russell’s defence is not suspect….
It’s non existent!
November 12th, 2009 at 9:52 am
‘Russel, he came out of the ground’ – Gordon Bray . Had a soft-spot for shorter players, called Robinson the Zip-Zip man.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:55 am
Watch ESPN classias now if you can. It’ll remind you how good Brent was.
They’re showing his last test for the Boks v France in 06. Russell was superb, so creative, quick and clever in his play.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:57 am
#44 WP_: Agreed. There was no one to match Russell on attack.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:58 am
#35 Puma: I really think people are putting too much emphasis on the Jacobs /Steyn channel – Schalk will be running cover defence so if they do get through i expect a big hit from Schalk with HB cleaning for the turnover.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:59 am
#45 kaksioek: The game he played against Aus was his best game – i think he came on as a sub , and set up Matfields try.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:02 am
#41 justrugby: From your lips to the rugby gods ears!!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:10 am
The French were always giant killers, be it the AB’s or the Boks and they mostly did it with courage, passion and flair. In the David vs Goliath story they were David, but lately they’ve been trying to reverse the roles. They want to be Goliath as their selections of bigger players shows, culminating with the new 105kg centre David (ironic), and they see little Adi as their target. Do they not know the outcome of that story?
November 12th, 2009 at 10:12 am
#47 stew: at newlands… i was there …he came on in 2 nd minute for Jaco vd westhuisen…
November 12th, 2009 at 10:14 am
#47 stew:
The problem with Russel was that for every 2 great things he did he cancelled it out with 10 bad things, amazing how people remember the couple of moments of brilliance but forget all the diabolical errors.
On these standards earl rose should be a mega star
November 12th, 2009 at 10:16 am
I dont think the french will chuck it the centres, I reckon they will take on the Bok forwards in the tight and tight-loose. There are some tired Boks and we are missing Juan who is the silent hard man. Also Spies has upped his physicality this year. Shalk is good but too loose sometimes,Kanko I am afraid will not get dirty enough.
Maybe later if the Boks bolster their tight5 then it will be channel 1 and 2.
Hoping the Boks have thought this one out as they have two very major games France and Ireland left this year.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:17 am
Adi will be fine in this game. He always plays well for Snorretjie, player of the season in 2008
November 12th, 2009 at 10:22 am
51 justrugby
bullsh1t mate. absolute rubbish. He was far more consistent than rose is. He made the off mistake but he created far, far more opportunities and chances than he made mistake.
Wow you have a poor memory
November 12th, 2009 at 10:23 am
#51 justrugby: The next week the Kiwis put 50 past us at Loftus!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:29 am
#41 justrugby: Yip, Agree with you there JR. I say Boks by 7.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:31 am
Personally i would rather have B Russell at 10 than RP…mr Fragile Kop himself!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:33 am
#53 Oubaas2009: Not the same player this year. That shoulder injury has stopped him playing well this year. Saw a pic of him too on one of the sites and he is all strapped up in that shoulder. So lets see how he goes. He is also playing out of position.
Adi’s defence not that good either.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:34 am
#54 WP_:
By the way what posistion do you think russel couldv’e/ should play for the Boks.
Also why do you think he could never hold down a Provincial spot or get a club start in the UK ??
He is just to limited a player !!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:35 am
#57 grant10:
That’s a debate for another day, quite frankly i would rather have you playing at 10 than those two !!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:36 am
#56 Puma:
Hi Puma, I have a gut feeling kanko and Adi are going to have massive games !!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:37 am
#57 grant10: Come now my friend, stop insulting Ruan. Not fair mate. You been calling him lots of names here of late. Not Ruans fault he has been messed about in all positions. I feel for the guy.
You called him a fruitcake the other day too. He does not deserve it. Trying his best out there. I know he is not playing well but just leave him in one postion the whole year and that talent he has will come through. Keep him playing a SH.
Waka yesterday made sense about what he said about Ruan. Playing 9, 10, 15 just will never work and it is sooooooooooooo unfair on a player. Just like Fransie was messed about. He signed for Metro before he got selected for FB for the Boks otherwise I think he may never have. Huge loss.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:42 am
#61 justrugby: Howzit mate, Hope you well.
Ja, I really, really hope so. Adi was brilliant last year. The problem was that shoulder injury that kept him back. He has a great eye for the gap and there is where he can be a dangerous player. I am hoping for the Adi of 2008 on Friday.
Kanko I feel with Burger and Brussow next to him should play well. Was always a great player but not enough time with the Boks always a fringe player then you just never get anywhere like that. Hope he has a blinder too.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:54 am
#60 justrugby: LOL….Classic…only stirring…i know those 2 not your favorites!!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:56 am
#62 Puma: LOL…you right…i am only kidding…RP one of my favorites…at 9!!
I agree…let him play at 9…JR and i been saying that from the beginning!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:59 am
Just rugby
Brent always got a raw deal because of his size. He was always solid at wing and fullback. Also he was very effective coming on in the last 20 at flyhalf too.
Remember the game against Argentina in 2003, he came on with about 15 mins to go. We were trailing but about 11. He set up a try, scored one and we ended up winning by 1 by a late Louis Skoen penalty. We looked like losing the whole 2nd half.
He was an amazing player, not appreciated by the majority.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:00 am
#62 Puma: Yep I feel nothing but sympathy for Pienaar. He wants to play 9 and he’s bloody good at it so please play him there and leave it.
If you are forced to do a job that you don’t want to do it stands to reason that you will not perform to the best of your abilities. He needs to play 9 for the Sharks next season and settle back into that position.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:03 am
Come Grant dont be rude!
Seriously tho I agree with Puma.
Cant blame the oke, he’s talented but he dont wanna play no football at 10. Why is snor forcing him!
He must stay at 9 now. Even there tho, I reckon he’ll have a fight on his hands to keep Francois Hougaard from taking his place on the bench.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:05 am
#65 grant10: #63 Puma:
If Ruan is to stay in the Bok set up he needs to contend for the No9 berth, this is where he is comfortable and as a result the confidence will come.
It is debatable wheteher he is currently the next best SH to FDUP but has the potential to be.
I’m just wondering in the back of my mind if Ruan would not be better off moving to another Province in order to relaunch his career.
I’m not saying he is not happy or loyal to the Sharks but I just believe it could be the tonic that he needs .
And no I am not saying he should come to Province !!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:05 am
#68 WP_: No…i was rude…sorry…i like RP…at 9…i have been very vociferous about not shunting RParound….as has JR….we called this mess from day 1 !!!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:06 am
#69 justrugby: LOL…RP at Stormers??
Luv it!!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:09 am
#65 grant10: No problems then Grant. Ruan is a scrummie was a damn fine one too until he got messed about. Really feel for him. If he was kept playing there he would be our backup for FdP but now he has lost even a bit of pace there. Hoping after next year playing SH for the Sharks the whole season he is back upto it. I think he will be. To play all positions you can never master any of them.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:11 am
#72 Puma: yes….you know how i feel about playing okes out of position…makes me mad!!
Hope the plan to move Heinke to 3 is also shelved now that CJ back in the mix!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:12 am
#68 WP_:
Maybe it is time Ruan needs to man up to the situation and refuse to play anywhere else but 9, take responsibiity for his carreer , even if it means for a while that he will not be in the Bok setup ??
November 12th, 2009 at 11:13 am
I know you two have, I remember. I’ve agreed all the way.
PdV should have taken JL Potties to play 10 for the dirt trackers imo. Now Ruan will have to play there again against Saracens. Only other option in Meyer Bosman
November 12th, 2009 at 11:15 am
#69 justrugby: hehehe. Now, now JR, Ruan not going to WP..
You are 100% he has to play scrummie that is where he has played the better rugby not at FH or FB.
Think he will be the Sharks number one scrummie next year and after playing there for a whole season again we will see that talent come back. Hoping. Otherwise he has been messed up good. Feel for him like I did for Fransie been pushed into all positions until finally getting the FB position which he should have had since last year. He would still be playing rugby in this country. Huge loss. May I add JdV is a huge loss too but he has only signed one year so he will be back.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:15 am
#74 justrugby: Yes…as he did with Sharks….
November 12th, 2009 at 11:16 am
#75 WP_: Agree boet …I would have taken that JLP as well…
November 12th, 2009 at 11:17 am
‘That French changing room before kick-off will also be something else.’
I reckon the Bok changeroom might be something else too – but of course when the big hits come in, is when it will count.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:18 am
#76 Puma: Frans Steyn is….for me….the biggest loss Bok rugby has ever had….i simply cannot believe that we somehow let this kid go…
A bloody national disaster!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:20 am
#66 WP_:
What you say is all true , the bottom line is he was/is to limited, ie, not a complete enough footballer to demand a staring place, and yes size did play a role, defensively sides were always going to target him.
His boot waas erratic,and sometimes just plain awful !!
But at times pure genius, but more boxes not ticked than ticked with Brent , pity.
A little guy like Joe Pietersen has shown that although small if you have an allround game you can be successsful !!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:20 am
#79 cab: LOL…i love your beligerent attitude Cab….you should be handing out the bok jerseys tomorrow!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:21 am
#81 justrugby: You are correct….if Brent stayed playing 7 s he would have rewrotten all the records!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:22 am
#75 justrugby:
Agreed mate! I think he should sit down with PdV and tell him he wants to compete for the 9 jersey with FdP…
I think Plum has seen that he plays he best rugby at 9 so he’ll be playing there in next season’s S14, like he did in the CC. Hopefully!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:23 am
RP made it clear to the Sharks he only wanted to be considered as a 9 in future.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:28 am
#80 grant10: The biggest disaster ever. Only 22 how could we have lost Fransie at that age? A disgrace really. Sharks or any other union should have tried at all costs to keep him.
Wont be in the wc 2011 either as he has signed a 3 year contract.
I also blame the agents. They must make a huge load out of getting player like that to sign.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:30 am
#85 grant10: Well Plum has listened and he played there when he came back from Bok duty. He actually kicked not bad then either at posts. Maybe pressure a little less than playing for the Boks.
Just don’t think he should have the pressure of kicking at posts just play scrummie. Hernandez can take those kicks almost blind folded.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:32 am
#86 Puma: Ja….broke my heart that news….WC and CC winner …and getting better and better…was playing great at 12 for sharks at super14 before ruans injury…then fantastic at 15…nailing the kiwis with unprecedented goal kicking….
I really hope there are ways and means of getting this talent back into the Bok mix….
well, the french have won 5, drawn one out of the last 8 encounters with the Boks, should be an absolute cracker of a game…
Justrugby and Grant.
Yes I agree Brent did have defensive deficiencies but was brilliant for the rest I think anyway. Oh well, I just think he could have got more chances to prove himself. When he did get chances he often took them.
I’ve also wished he would just come back and just play 7’s. As you said he’d would have broken records.
Anyway, apparently he’s doing well for Clermont
November 12th, 2009 at 11:33 am
#87 Puma: Sharks will have to look at there backline depth for next year super 14….with Frans away it is going to be a challenge!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:36 am
#73 grant10: Heinke must stick to playing LH. Was brilliant there before he got that injury. Will be again. We have WP.Nel coming through too.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:39 am
Cheers fella’s!
Catch you guys around.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:40 am
#91 grant10: HUGE challenge. We need centres though. Just keep thinking of M. Jourbert. Don’t think he is even 30 yet. Heard he is playing brilliant rugby at the moment up north.
Stefan getting on a bit now. Will play another season then think that will be it. DAMN Sharks should have pulled out all the stops to keep Fransie. Look there was a sponsor that helped get Matfield back to the Bulls. There must have been someone to sponsor Fransie and keep him here.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:41 am
#93 WP_: Cheers WP. Catch up later mate.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:41 am
#90 WP_: ja…i liked him a bit more than JR….!LOL
November 12th, 2009 at 11:44 am
#92 Puma: agree 100%…and that Buys lion…#93 WP_: Cheers boet#94 Puma: M Joubert….yes…sharks may lose Waylon …going to be interesting to see our final super 14 squads…
November 12th, 2009 at 11:45 am
#91 grant10: Heard and now this could be a rumour, that Butch might be back in Jan. He still owns a house in the estate I live in, so you never know. Then with those bad knees!! Not so sure if he has another season in him. Butch could shift to centre easy. Done it before but not if he is going to be injured for most of the season with those knees.
Have to start to look at the youngsters coming through the U21’s. That is the future I think. Well always is. Otherwise look who is playing in the NH that want to come home before the wc 2011.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:48 am
#97 grant10: I actually cant wait to see who we have signed. Or have not. Not sure when we Shark supporters will know.
We have a rubbish draw next year. So it will be very tough. Then we did travel well this year but we had not lost some of our players yet.
Waylon was great in 2007 then after the injury not the same player or never got enough game time to get back to where he was.
Think if he gets game time at the Lions he could get back to where he was in 2007.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:55 am
#98 Puma: #99 Puma: Butch will be a great acquisition…especially with RP at 9….Hernandez can also play 15 and 12….i think Butch is a fantastic 10…also 1 of my favorites.
Anyway…off to the airport, cheers Puma.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:59 am
#100 grant10: Cheers Grant. I am going to a meeting in about a hour so will blog until then.
November 12th, 2009 at 12:40 pm
The most physical French Centre is Juajion (spell) from Toulouse, age must count against him but if physicallity is the criterion,,,
I doubt you need him against Adi Jacobs though, David Fritz, or any rejected centre will do as well
I wrote before that with FdP, Styen, Jacobs and Kirshner the Boks midfield defence became SOFT!
November 12th, 2009 at 12:54 pm
Ruan could be an excellent flyhalf . He played superbly in autumn test last year and in Lions tests.,You should listen to British commentators ( likes of Stuart Barnes, Euan Evans, Wil Greenwood ) after the first Lions test – they were just delighted with Ruan. And this is not that he doesn’t want to play there but he obviously doesn’t trust Helium anymore and doesn’t care to play well there.He just gave up .
This is all coaches fault. You can’t say a player that he is the number 1 in a position nad then drop him after a short term injury inspite of doing nothing wrong and let him know that he has no chance to regain the shirt ( if kicking at poles is the only measure of your ability as a flyhaf and it has been recently told by PDV!)In addition they threw him to Tigers to be eaten alive as it was obvious that the game would be a disaster for everybody involved.
I suspect that poor Ruan just hates Helium now, especially after all these comments of Tiger Woods in one line with Earl Rose. I am sure he would like not to be on the tour at all . especially when there is no Fransie Steyn. With whom does Ruan share a room now?
In this way the most talented player in SA ( according to Jake White!) is being waisted.
I am sure that if Jake selected Ruan as his man he would stick to him and keep faith in him. But you must set the rules to do that
November 12th, 2009 at 1:27 pm
Jauzion I think.
November 12th, 2009 at 1:42 pm
#104 WP_:
Yes, go figure French
A great centre: strong, fast, great hands, impressed with is partnership with Traille for years
November 12th, 2009 at 4:00 pm
This is a significant concern, I think: two smaller players in the 10-12 channels. Brings into question again PDV’s coaching and selection skills.
The French have two inexperienced centers, so I hope we target them. I expect we will.
November 12th, 2009 at 4:13 pm
#34 Puma:
“…even JdV that was superb all year.”
Come on. JdV was only superb in the last test vs the AB’s. In all of the others he was just average to good.
November 12th, 2009 at 9:09 pm
Gee fellows i think jaque fourie should be a worried man saw some clips of this yan david earlier he predominantly likes takin his opposite number on on the outside or just runs straight through them he is seriously quick and super strong. i doubt he will cut in much with burger lurking on the inside channel.Adi has to just watch out for their eight and fifteen on the second phase.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:26 pm
The way to counter a big backline is top make them wary of rushing up on defence. A chip kick or a grubber through to make them turn (slowly) right at the beginnning of teh game will destroy their confidence on defence and make them hesitate.
Keep varying the option taking, so that they never know what to expect. But whatever you do, do it properly and risk free.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:31 pm
Ya, but lets see these big lumbering fools keep up with Adi’s footwork.
If this is the game they want to play, we might need to use Adi’s skills.
Will be lots of work for everyone concerned, but we need to make use of the ball we have.