‘Tricolores will target Adi’s channel’
Brent Russell believes Marc Lievremont has a ‘plan up his sleeve’ to dominate the Springbok backs, but is unsure whether this will reap rewards.
Lievremont has opted for a sizable backline for Friday’s Test, with players such as flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, centre Yann David, wing Cedric Heymans and No 15 Damien Traille all abrasive individuals.
Russell, who plays for Clermont in the Top 14, says all of these are form selections, and where in doubt, Lievremont has opted for eight Toulouse players to play in front of their home crowd. The one surprise may be No 13 David, who was selected ahead of David Marty, who was expected to start alongside Perpignan team-mate Maxime Mermoz.
Lievremont and backs coach Emile N’Tamack made no secret of their plan to attack the Bok ‘weakness’ and to try dominate the gain-line in the mid-field, and Russell agreed.
‘Mermoz and Marty would’ve been my choice of centres as they are a combination, but Lievremont must have some sort of plan up his sleeve,’ Russell told keo.co.za. ‘Many of the French backs are getting bigger, but these guys are also on-form.
‘They know the game will be won up-front, and then they’ll try to use their forward and back runners to get over the advantage line – they’ll definietly look to attack Adi’s channel.
‘They know our pack is our strength and they’ll target the backline as a possible weaklink. I don’t know if it will pay dividends though.’
The selection of Biarritz No 12 Traille at fullback ahead of Maxime Medard points to France trying to nullify Morne Steyn and Fourie du Preez’s kicking games.
‘Traille was a surprise for me but he’s a big guy who can counter well. He’s got the height so he’s solid, his hands are good and he has a big kicking game,’ said Russell.
The former Bok back was not surprised Frederic Michalak has been left out of their 22, while he’s expecting his Clermont team-mates Julien Bonnaire and scrumhalf Morgan Parra to make an impact off the bench late in the game.
‘Parra does the basics well, but for me Bonnaire is one of the best loosies in the game. He’s mobile and very quick, while he has over 40 caps. They’ll definitely bring him on, he’s very good,’ said Russell.
The French players, management and now media have all labelled the Boks brutish, but having been in France for a year, Russell says this is the French way to get themselves motivated for matches that matter.
‘I’ve noticed the French like to work themselves into a craze, a frenzy almost for big games. They’re using this as their way to psyche themselves up, by making it a massive build-up. They’re passionate people and they’ll be telling themselves the only way to win this is to match the Boks physically.
‘It’s a very strong side they’ve picked, and it will be tough in Toulouse, where these Boks haven’t played before.
‘That French changing room before kick-off will also be something else.’
By Grant Ball

November 12th, 2009 at 10:14 am
#47 stew:
The problem with Russel was that for every 2 great things he did he cancelled it out with 10 bad things, amazing how people remember the couple of moments of brilliance but forget all the diabolical errors.
On these standards earl rose should be a mega star
November 12th, 2009 at 10:16 am
I dont think the french will chuck it the centres, I reckon they will take on the Bok forwards in the tight and tight-loose. There are some tired Boks and we are missing Juan who is the silent hard man. Also Spies has upped his physicality this year. Shalk is good but too loose sometimes,Kanko I am afraid will not get dirty enough.
Maybe later if the Boks bolster their tight5 then it will be channel 1 and 2.
Hoping the Boks have thought this one out as they have two very major games France and Ireland left this year.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:17 am
Adi will be fine in this game. He always plays well for Snorretjie, player of the season in 2008
November 12th, 2009 at 10:22 am
51 justrugby
bullsh1t mate. absolute rubbish. He was far more consistent than rose is. He made the off mistake but he created far, far more opportunities and chances than he made mistake.
Wow you have a poor memory
November 12th, 2009 at 10:23 am
#51 justrugby: The next week the Kiwis put 50 past us at Loftus!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:29 am
#41 justrugby: Yip, Agree with you there JR. I say Boks by 7.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:31 am
Personally i would rather have B Russell at 10 than RP…mr Fragile Kop himself!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:33 am
#53 Oubaas2009: Not the same player this year. That shoulder injury has stopped him playing well this year. Saw a pic of him too on one of the sites and he is all strapped up in that shoulder. So lets see how he goes. He is also playing out of position.
Adi’s defence not that good either.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:34 am
#54 WP_:
By the way what posistion do you think russel couldv’e/ should play for the Boks.
Also why do you think he could never hold down a Provincial spot or get a club start in the UK ??
He is just to limited a player !!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:35 am
#57 grant10:
That’s a debate for another day, quite frankly i would rather have you playing at 10 than those two !!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:36 am
#56 Puma:
Hi Puma, I have a gut feeling kanko and Adi are going to have massive games !!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:37 am
#57 grant10: Come now my friend, stop insulting Ruan. Not fair mate. You been calling him lots of names here of late. Not Ruans fault he has been messed about in all positions. I feel for the guy.
You called him a fruitcake the other day too. He does not deserve it. Trying his best out there. I know he is not playing well but just leave him in one postion the whole year and that talent he has will come through. Keep him playing a SH.
Waka yesterday made sense about what he said about Ruan. Playing 9, 10, 15 just will never work and it is sooooooooooooo unfair on a player. Just like Fransie was messed about. He signed for Metro before he got selected for FB for the Boks otherwise I think he may never have. Huge loss.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:42 am
#61 justrugby: Howzit mate, Hope you well.
Ja, I really, really hope so. Adi was brilliant last year. The problem was that shoulder injury that kept him back. He has a great eye for the gap and there is where he can be a dangerous player. I am hoping for the Adi of 2008 on Friday.
Kanko I feel with Burger and Brussow next to him should play well. Was always a great player but not enough time with the Boks always a fringe player then you just never get anywhere like that. Hope he has a blinder too.
November 12th, 2009 at 10:54 am
#60 justrugby: LOL….Classic…only stirring…i know those 2 not your favorites!!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:56 am
#62 Puma: LOL…you right…i am only kidding…RP one of my favorites…at 9!!
I agree…let him play at 9…JR and i been saying that from the beginning!
November 12th, 2009 at 10:59 am
Just rugby
Brent always got a raw deal because of his size. He was always solid at wing and fullback. Also he was very effective coming on in the last 20 at flyhalf too.
Remember the game against Argentina in 2003, he came on with about 15 mins to go. We were trailing but about 11. He set up a try, scored one and we ended up winning by 1 by a late Louis Skoen penalty. We looked like losing the whole 2nd half.
He was an amazing player, not appreciated by the majority.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:00 am
#62 Puma: Yep I feel nothing but sympathy for Pienaar. He wants to play 9 and he’s bloody good at it so please play him there and leave it.
If you are forced to do a job that you don’t want to do it stands to reason that you will not perform to the best of your abilities. He needs to play 9 for the Sharks next season and settle back into that position.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:03 am
Come Grant dont be rude!
Seriously tho I agree with Puma.
Cant blame the oke, he’s talented but he dont wanna play no football at 10. Why is snor forcing him!
He must stay at 9 now. Even there tho, I reckon he’ll have a fight on his hands to keep Francois Hougaard from taking his place on the bench.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:05 am
#65 grant10: #63 Puma:
If Ruan is to stay in the Bok set up he needs to contend for the No9 berth, this is where he is comfortable and as a result the confidence will come.
It is debatable wheteher he is currently the next best SH to FDUP but has the potential to be.
I’m just wondering in the back of my mind if Ruan would not be better off moving to another Province in order to relaunch his career.
I’m not saying he is not happy or loyal to the Sharks but I just believe it could be the tonic that he needs .
And no I am not saying he should come to Province !!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:05 am
#68 WP_: No…i was rude…sorry…i like RP…at 9…i have been very vociferous about not shunting RParound….as has JR….we called this mess from day 1 !!!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:06 am
#69 justrugby: LOL…RP at Stormers??
Luv it!!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:09 am
#65 grant10: No problems then Grant. Ruan is a scrummie was a damn fine one too until he got messed about. Really feel for him. If he was kept playing there he would be our backup for FdP but now he has lost even a bit of pace there. Hoping after next year playing SH for the Sharks the whole season he is back upto it. I think he will be. To play all positions you can never master any of them.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:11 am
#72 Puma: yes….you know how i feel about playing okes out of position…makes me mad!!
Hope the plan to move Heinke to 3 is also shelved now that CJ back in the mix!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:12 am
#68 WP_:
Maybe it is time Ruan needs to man up to the situation and refuse to play anywhere else but 9, take responsibiity for his carreer , even if it means for a while that he will not be in the Bok setup ??
November 12th, 2009 at 11:13 am
I know you two have, I remember. I’ve agreed all the way.
PdV should have taken JL Potties to play 10 for the dirt trackers imo. Now Ruan will have to play there again against Saracens. Only other option in Meyer Bosman
November 12th, 2009 at 11:15 am
#69 justrugby: hehehe. Now, now JR, Ruan not going to WP..
You are 100% he has to play scrummie that is where he has played the better rugby not at FH or FB.
Think he will be the Sharks number one scrummie next year and after playing there for a whole season again we will see that talent come back. Hoping. Otherwise he has been messed up good. Feel for him like I did for Fransie been pushed into all positions until finally getting the FB position which he should have had since last year. He would still be playing rugby in this country. Huge loss. May I add JdV is a huge loss too but he has only signed one year so he will be back.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:15 am
#74 justrugby: Yes…as he did with Sharks….
November 12th, 2009 at 11:16 am
#75 WP_: Agree boet …I would have taken that JLP as well…
November 12th, 2009 at 11:17 am
‘That French changing room before kick-off will also be something else.’
I reckon the Bok changeroom might be something else too – but of course when the big hits come in, is when it will count.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:18 am
#76 Puma: Frans Steyn is….for me….the biggest loss Bok rugby has ever had….i simply cannot believe that we somehow let this kid go…
A bloody national disaster!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:20 am
#66 WP_:
What you say is all true , the bottom line is he was/is to limited, ie, not a complete enough footballer to demand a staring place, and yes size did play a role, defensively sides were always going to target him.
His boot waas erratic,and sometimes just plain awful !!
But at times pure genius, but more boxes not ticked than ticked with Brent , pity.
A little guy like Joe Pietersen has shown that although small if you have an allround game you can be successsful !!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:20 am
#79 cab: LOL…i love your beligerent attitude Cab….you should be handing out the bok jerseys tomorrow!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:21 am
#81 justrugby: You are correct….if Brent stayed playing 7 s he would have rewrotten all the records!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:22 am
#75 justrugby:
Agreed mate! I think he should sit down with PdV and tell him he wants to compete for the 9 jersey with FdP…
I think Plum has seen that he plays he best rugby at 9 so he’ll be playing there in next season’s S14, like he did in the CC. Hopefully!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:23 am
RP made it clear to the Sharks he only wanted to be considered as a 9 in future.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:28 am
#80 grant10: The biggest disaster ever. Only 22 how could we have lost Fransie at that age? A disgrace really. Sharks or any other union should have tried at all costs to keep him.
Wont be in the wc 2011 either as he has signed a 3 year contract.
I also blame the agents. They must make a huge load out of getting player like that to sign.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:30 am
#85 grant10: Well Plum has listened and he played there when he came back from Bok duty. He actually kicked not bad then either at posts. Maybe pressure a little less than playing for the Boks.
Just don’t think he should have the pressure of kicking at posts just play scrummie. Hernandez can take those kicks almost blind folded.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:32 am
#86 Puma: Ja….broke my heart that news….WC and CC winner …and getting better and better…was playing great at 12 for sharks at super14 before ruans injury…then fantastic at 15…nailing the kiwis with unprecedented goal kicking….
I really hope there are ways and means of getting this talent back into the Bok mix….
well, the french have won 5, drawn one out of the last 8 encounters with the Boks, should be an absolute cracker of a game…
Justrugby and Grant.
Yes I agree Brent did have defensive deficiencies but was brilliant for the rest I think anyway. Oh well, I just think he could have got more chances to prove himself. When he did get chances he often took them.
I’ve also wished he would just come back and just play 7’s. As you said he’d would have broken records.
Anyway, apparently he’s doing well for Clermont
November 12th, 2009 at 11:33 am
#87 Puma: Sharks will have to look at there backline depth for next year super 14….with Frans away it is going to be a challenge!
November 12th, 2009 at 11:36 am
#73 grant10: Heinke must stick to playing LH. Was brilliant there before he got that injury. Will be again. We have WP.Nel coming through too.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:39 am
Cheers fella’s!
Catch you guys around.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:40 am
#91 grant10: HUGE challenge. We need centres though. Just keep thinking of M. Jourbert. Don’t think he is even 30 yet. Heard he is playing brilliant rugby at the moment up north.
Stefan getting on a bit now. Will play another season then think that will be it. DAMN Sharks should have pulled out all the stops to keep Fransie. Look there was a sponsor that helped get Matfield back to the Bulls. There must have been someone to sponsor Fransie and keep him here.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:41 am
#93 WP_: Cheers WP. Catch up later mate.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:41 am
#90 WP_: ja…i liked him a bit more than JR….!LOL
November 12th, 2009 at 11:44 am
#92 Puma: agree 100%…and that Buys lion…#93 WP_: Cheers boet#94 Puma: M Joubert….yes…sharks may lose Waylon …going to be interesting to see our final super 14 squads…
November 12th, 2009 at 11:45 am
#91 grant10: Heard and now this could be a rumour, that Butch might be back in Jan. He still owns a house in the estate I live in, so you never know. Then with those bad knees!! Not so sure if he has another season in him. Butch could shift to centre easy. Done it before but not if he is going to be injured for most of the season with those knees.
Have to start to look at the youngsters coming through the U21’s. That is the future I think. Well always is. Otherwise look who is playing in the NH that want to come home before the wc 2011.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:48 am
#97 grant10: I actually cant wait to see who we have signed. Or have not. Not sure when we Shark supporters will know.
We have a rubbish draw next year. So it will be very tough. Then we did travel well this year but we had not lost some of our players yet.
Waylon was great in 2007 then after the injury not the same player or never got enough game time to get back to where he was.
Think if he gets game time at the Lions he could get back to where he was in 2007.
November 12th, 2009 at 11:55 am
#98 Puma: #99 Puma: Butch will be a great acquisition…especially with RP at 9….Hernandez can also play 15 and 12….i think Butch is a fantastic 10…also 1 of my favorites.
Anyway…off to the airport, cheers Puma.