digimag-banner

France to feel forward backlash

The Springboks have taken the failure of their midweek counterparts personally and aim to restore set-piece pride in Friday’s Test.

The dirt-trackers were humiliated in their loss to Leicester last week, a woeful breakdown performance only overshadowed by a worrying capitulation at scrum time.

The Boks have called for reinforcements with CJ van der Linde, Adriaan Strauss, and Wian du Preez replacing the injured Jannie du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Gurthro Steenkamp. These players are better options at the set-piece, but John Smit said it’s up to the first-string players to set the tone early on.
‘The responsibility does lie with our pack in this match,’ the Bok captain told keo.co.za. ‘We got off to a bad start in Leicester last Friday which is not good for the brand. We do take that personally, whether it’s the midweek side or not, the Springbok badge is taking a knock.’

The South African scrum has come in for heavy criticism in recent months, and there are also questions concerning the endurance of Smit, Beast Mtawarira and Bismarck du Plessis as the starting front row. These three players have played plenty of rugby in 2009, but need to produce one of their strongest performances against a powerful French scrum this Friday.

Smit remains confident in his ability as a tighthead and the competence of the starting eight as a unit. Former France prop Pieter de Villiers has been working with the Bok scrum this week, but Smit says the retired front-rower has only made subtle changes to their approach.

‘He hasn’t come into the set-up and handed us all the secrets of France’s scrum, it’s more about tightening things up and tying up a few loose ends,’ said Smit.

Having Van der Linde, Strauss and Du Preez join the squad at this late stage may seem disruptive, but Smit pointed out the value in the veteran. Van der Linde’s experience will help the youngsters, and scrumming in front of Bakkies Botha won’t hurt either.

‘CJ’s been around the block a few times so it hasn’t taken him long to adjust. We threw him into the lineout mix on Wednesday and not a lot has changed over the past year. He’s an experienced player and a phenomenal asset to have for a tour like this,’ Smit said.

‘Wian and Adriaan are a bit nervous, but that is where they’ll turn to the senior okes in the pack. We have to support them in any way we can.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

56 Responses to “France to feel forward backlash”

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1. grant10Reply to this comment :

go bokke!

• 2. skopskietReply to this comment :

bit of a master stroke getting Pieter De Villiers in to read them the finer nuances of French cordonbleau scrum techniques. Yep its facing up into an almighty ego stand off see who blinks first. Bakkies and Schalk and Bismark and Brussow gonna relish the challenge, just hope Kanko and Kirchner don’t cry off.

• 3. grant10Reply to this comment :

Breaking news….Melbourne get the 15 th Franchise….bloody kissing cousins gagged us again!

• 4. YetiratReply to this comment :

Can anyone tell me what this French team have done recently that has gained them such an almighty status?

The last time I saw them play was in the RWC where they got spanked at home twice, including the tournament opener by Argentina inbetween some individual brilliance by Michalak?

• 5. fantasticbarnsmellReply to this comment :

#4 Yetirat: they beat the AB’s in NZ. that’s about it really.

• 6. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

France beat SA in their most recent encounter.

And they beat them on SA soil.

• 7. fantasticbarnsmellReply to this comment :

#6 TheTackler: ya but that was like over 3 years ago

• 8. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

“Selections across styles, eras and continents are a subjective business, and prone to patriotic leanings.

If this All Black team continues to rely on two magnificent players to save their bacon, and the South African juggernaut and its little ball-snaffler Heinrich Brussow continue to bloom, Carter is likely to finish his career without a World Cup triumph.

That would be used against any claim that he is the finest first five-eighths ever. Winning is everything, and the four-yearly tournament now overshadows everything else”

(#7 fantasticbarnsmell: Chris Rattue: NZ Herald) It’s been TWELVE years since last SA could beat France on FRENCH soil…)

• 9. captain fantailReply to this comment :

ah the sound of ineviability….
    I hear some nervous chatterings in the matrix and two black cats appearing twice in the same place….
    I think this tour for the Boks will open the truth clam fully!!!

• 10. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#4 Yetirat:
    #5 fantasticbarnsmell:

how does

Boks vs Tricolors

Played 6

Won 1

grab you ?

• 11. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#8 TheTackler:

12 years ???!!!!!!!

and they say France is NZs nemesis – ha !

• 12. fantasticbarnsmellReply to this comment :

#8 TheTackler:
    #10 WakaNathan:

oh dear it seems you guys are having difficulty with comprehension. let’s look at the question again shall we:

“Can anyone tell me what this French team have done recently that has gained them such an almighty status?

lets close in on the real important part in case you’re still not getting it:

“…what this French team have done recently…”

are we getting it now?

• 13. SjamBokReply to this comment :

#9 captain fantail: The one where the AB’s are awful?

• 14. SjamBokReply to this comment :

#9 captain fantail: so then Kapitan Flufftail – IF we beat them convincingly, will you finally admit the truth as well?

• 15. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

Indeed. Teichman’s Boks put a huge 50 past the French in Paris in 1997. That was their very last win on French soil.

In their last head-to-head encounter — on SA soil (Newlands, 2006) — the Boks lost 36-26 as the Froggies casually breezed in with 4 tries against Smit’s team. (Which included Matfield, Fourie du Preez, Habana, Os, Percy, Wynand O, Os, Smittie, Danie Rossouw, Big Joe… so, quite a decent line-up and not a B team)

• 16. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

How “recent” does “recent” have to be? 48 hours ago?

You simply don’t get any more “recent” than your very most recent encounter, played either home or away.

And in SA versus France, that home encounter for the Boks went the way of France.

Now, if we then change the rules to count only the tests on French soil, that most recent last encounter went to France too.

That’s as recent as it gets in the head-to-head clashes.

Good enough?

• 17. greatest13gerberReply to this comment :

the frogss are soo unpredictablee.

But I wager they will edge us at scrumtime. Marconnet on bench is good move. I seriously question John Smit consistency at 3. He as a player is a weeklink. As a captain, a strength. Reminds me of Francios Piennarr. Great captain, average player.

• 18. whateverReply to this comment :

#10 WakaNathan:

How does:

played 6
    won 1

Grab you??

Doooooooooooooooos

• 19. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

Of course the Frogs are unpredictable. If they bring along their “A” game, they can — and HAVE whipped the Boks both home and away. Recently. Very recently.

And they’ve reliably shot the all-conquering All Blacks out of more than one RWC knock-out match.

They’re serial eye-gougers and bag-snatchers and jaw-breakers and thoroughly disreputable dirty dans.

But they’re very dangerous. But only if they bring their top A-game.

They’re very, very dangerous if their A-game happens.

If you’re smug, you’re stupid.

• 20. HondoReply to this comment :

#19 TheTackler:
    They beat the ABs in NZ last June, last I checked

• 21. DavidReply to this comment :

Beast is out of the Bok side as he’s not an SA citizen.

• 22. DavidReply to this comment :

Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira is out of the Springbok team because he is not a South African national – even though he has already played 15 Tests in the green and gold.

The SA Rugby Union (Saru) had recently asked sport minister Makhenkesi Stofile to help expedite the Zimbabwe-born prop’s South African citizenship, but in a statement on Wednesday night Stofile’s ministry accused the union of poor administration.

“This request to have the Minister use his position to have the process of securing permanent residence and subsequently, citizenship expedited ahead of the year end tour in Europe, has exposed our sport administrators’ clear disrespect or lack of understanding of our laws,” the ministry said.

“Talented as he is, Tendai, like all foreign nationals plying their trade in South Africa, is bound by the laws of this country. The migration laws of our country are clear on issues relating to permanent residence and citizenship. We expect our sport administrators to understand and respect legislation that regulate their business. None of the athletes, sport codes, or federations can be bigger than the country.”

Mtawarira, who is in France with the Bok team, was one of the stars of the side that beat the touring British Lions earlier this year.

“While Tendai is a live wire on the field of play, the question is whether it is, in the first place, justifiable to say he has scarce skills – the rationale that would have enabled him to obtain the current work permit. If we go the route our rugby administrators are requesting us to take, and facilitate the fast-tracking of Tendai’s citizenship, what would this say to all rugby players in our country? We cannot as a
    government department responsible for sport and recreation in this country, afford to insult our players like this.

“The principle here is clear: Only citizens of our country can play for our National team, irrespective of the sport code. Therefore, no foreign national can play for any of our national teams, no matter how
    outstanding they may be. If any player in any code is to become a South African citizen, this has to be done within the legal framework of our country.”

• 23. grant10Reply to this comment :

#22 David:What the hell….is this for real….?

And now what??

• 24. grant10Reply to this comment :

Bloody hell….Beast gone …the disruption reaching critical proportions now!

• 25. DavidReply to this comment :

#23 grant10:
    Yeah, from the Timeslive website. So either Wian or CJ will start unless they fly in a replacement.

• 26. grant10Reply to this comment :

#25 David: Cant seem to pick it up anywhere else…..the odds increasing daily….squad will either be galvanised or broken by this …

• 27. StaalReply to this comment :

Waaaaaaaaaat?

• 28. grant10Reply to this comment :

#25 David: How reliable is this David?

• 29. StaalReply to this comment :

Kannie waar weesie…..

ek weet dit was n issue maar soos ek verstaan is dit nou uitgesort!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 30. grant10Reply to this comment :

#29 Staal: Ja….i also thought so!

• 31. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#22 David: Wasn’t this sorted out before the Boks left for FRance, and Beast was allowed to leave with the team. This news broke on the weekend already, and it was reported that it had all been sorted out and Beast was allowed to be included in the Boks side? When has all this changed?

• 32. DavidReply to this comment :

#31 Sharksgirl:
    If you read the article, it says that Beast is already in France. Apparently this all happened last night.

• 33. grant10Reply to this comment :

Hell…i know i have been critical of Beasts scrumming but this is taking matters a bit far!!

I wonder if it will effect his Sharks career at all…

• 34. PapooseReply to this comment :

I cant find this news anywhere else either, think some1’s stuffing around with us

• 35. grant10Reply to this comment :

#32 David: Ja….statement issued last nite….got my lady looking into it ….bloody interference coming now….watch this space re Southern Kings…we aint seen nothing yet!

• 36. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#35 grant10: Where did you find it?

• 37. DavidReply to this comment :

#34 Papoose:
    I couldn’t either, so I don’t know how reliable the Timesalive article is. I assume they (David Isaacs) got confirmation before they published, as it’s the lead story on the site.

• 38. PapooseReply to this comment :

Just heard on 5fm news section that Beast is still going to play on friday, the words quoted above are correct , however he is still going to play. Must be disruptive all this talk

• 39. DavidReply to this comment :

#36 Sharksgirl:
    Check timesalive dot co dot za.

• 40. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#33 grant10: I doubt it will affect his Sharks carreer, he has a working permit, and he can work in SA, like the time before he became eligible for Bok. What a blow to such a great guy! and to the Boks! What I am wishing on those clowns in government is really not very nice!

• 41. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#39 David: Thank you David! Will go now, I just hope Papoose is right though :(

• 42. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

Now this :#@$ work has banned that site :evil: This Beddy Govt :evil:

• 43. DavidReply to this comment :

#42 Sharksgirl:
    Sorry, that should be “timeslive” not alive.

• 44. HondoReply to this comment :

#26 grant10:

Own Correspondent
    November 10 2009 at 05:43PM
    Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira has been cleared to tour with the Springbok squad following discussions between the South African Rugby Union (Saru) and the Sports Ministry.

Saru was alerted to clauses in the National Sport & Recreation Amendment Act, 2007, which needed to be completed before Zimbabwean-born Mtawarira’s place in the end-of-year tour squad could be confirmed.

“We are delighted with the news after discovering this problem during the week,” said Saru president Oregan Hoskins.

“The government has been very helpful in expediting the completion of the necessary protocols and we’re all relieved that Beast will be available for selection for the Springboks against France in Toulouse on Friday.”
    The protocol revolved around clause 6(3) of the National Sport and Recreation Amendment Act of 2007, which requires an explanation to the Minister of Sport for the selection of non-South African nationals. – Sapa

• 45. DunxReply to this comment :

I also want to know when did this suddenly appear as Beast has played overseas last yr and in the trinations now all of a sudden it is a problem?but what does the official squad look like havent they announced yet?

• 46. DavidReply to this comment :

#44 Hondo:
    Something isn’t right with that explaination. The relevent section applies to clubs etc. How can a non- South African national represent the country?

• 47. HondoReply to this comment :

No one will take from me that fun, watching the Frogs front row doing to the Beast what they did to Ettiene Fynn in 2001 and to Eddi Andrews in 2006, namely shoving their kops into their p#$@&

• 48. DavidReply to this comment :

#47 Hondo:
    And what do all three have in common? You’re one twisted imitation Bok supporter.

• 49. HondoReply to this comment :

#46 David:
    What about Adrian Garvey? **** Muir?? John Allen??? Steve Atherton???
    All owned Zim or British passports, I see no issue here, Rohdesian residents such as Any McDonals or Robertson played for the Boks before

• 50. HondoReply to this comment :

#48 David:
    Merit selection only or you are whacked
    Did you watch last Friday game? degrading the Boks’ concept was the password then

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator