France 20 Springboks 13
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ Test against France in Toulouse.
80 mins: The French crowd begin to applaud their team as the home team have a put in to the scrum in the dying seconds. No 8 Louis Picamoles runs the ball into touch and Barnes blows the final whistle. The French players celebrate their victory over the world champions and the Boks’ poor run on French soil continues. France win 20-13!
78 mins: France win their third penalty at scrum time as they out-scrum the Bok pack. Parra kicks the three points and puts the game beyond doubt. 20-13 to France!
75 mins: France keep the Boks pinned in their own territory, forcing the visitors to make mistakes. With five minutes remaining and despite some handling errors from the French, the Boks don’t seem to have the composure to work themselves to the other end of the field.
68 mins: Ryan Kankowski is yellow carded for a professional foul after France steal an unnecessary quick throw from JP Pietersen in their own 22. Replacement scrumhalf Morgan Parra misses the easy penalty kick, but the Boks find themselves four points behind with one player less on the field.
65 mins: Smit and Matfield express their frustration as match referee Wayne Barnes penalises the Boks regularly.
61 mins: France win another penalty at the scrum in the Boks’ 22m area. Dupuy puts the home side further ahead as he converts his fourth three-pointer. 17-13 to France!
52 mins: With the strong wind at their backs, the French have clear momentum. The Boks are left defending for most of the early exchanges after the break.
49 mins: Dupuy gets the opportunity to kick his team into the lead as the Boks are penalised at the scrum. The French No 9 successfully kicks his attempt over for the first points of the second half. 14-13 to France!
41 mins: With Steyn off, Zane Kirchner restarts for the Boks. It is, however, a nightmare kick as the ball sails into touch.
Half-time: France 11 Springboks 13
39 mins: Steyn is sin-binned for tripping Clerc as the French kick a chip through for a try opportunity. The Boks will now start with 14 men in the second stanza and have to play without Steyn’s accurate boot for 10 minutes. The situation worsens as Dupuy converts the penalty on the stroke of half-time to reduce visitor’s lead to two points. 13-11 to the Boks!
31 mins: France try! The French hit back straight after the restart. The home team break into the Boks’ 22m area. The ball is then flicked wide to an unmarked Vincent Clerc, who dives in at the corner. 13-8 to the Boks!
29 mins: Springbok try! The French are under pressure as they have a lineout 5m from their tryline. Hooker William Servat misses his jumper and Smit steals possession and bursts over for the opening try. Steyn claims the extras to extend the lead to 10 points. 13-3 to the Boks!
25 mins: The Boks work themselves into the French 22m area. Steyn sits in the pocket and slots a drop goal to put the Boks in the lead. 6-3 to the Boks!
20 mins: French flank Imanol Harinordoquy is penalised for an illegal entry at the breakdown. Steyn steps up for his first kick at goal and scores the Boks’ first points of the game. The score is level at 3-3!
17 mins: The Boks spend a good period in the French half, but poor handling and communication results in a French penalty. The home side clear the ball into the Boks’ half.
7 mins: The physical battle is clear as Bakkies Botha emerges from a ruck bleeding from the head.
5 mins: John Smit is penalised for side entry at the ruck, which gives France a penalty in a kickable position. Scrumhalf Julien Dupuy converts his first attempt at goal. 3-0 to France!
1 min: High kick off from the pivot Francois Trinh-Duc, which is claimed by Victor Matfield. Heinrich Brussow sets the first breakdown and Morne Steyn clears the ball back into French territory.
France – 15 Damien Traille, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Yann David, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 Cedric Heymans, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Imanol Harinordoquy, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (c), 5 Romain Millo-Chluski, 4 Lionel Nallet, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 William Servat, 1 Fabien Barcella.
Subs: 16 Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Sylvain Marconnet, 18 Sebastien Chabal, 19 Julien Bonnaire, 20 Morgan Parra, 21 David Marty, 22 Maxime Médard.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Danie Rossouw, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

November 13th, 2009 at 8:18 pm
go bokke!!!
November 13th, 2009 at 8:24 pm
So KEO thinks we are into easy head chopping and a cake walk…..NOT! This is France not Italy. The latter is a little further east coached by one, Mallett. I believe it is a 50-50 contest and a good game to be had. Bokke sal moet ’smart’ speel sowel as blerrie hard speel.
November 13th, 2009 at 8:25 pm
Will be interesting to see how David, Picamoles and Mermoz get on for France.
Kirchner, Jacobs and Kankowski will obviously be the points of interest from a Bok perspective.
Close game in store…
November 13th, 2009 at 8:33 pm
It depends which French team pitches today.
When the French play anything is possible – logic and current form do not count for much.
On a good day they can destroy any team in the world, on a bad day they can be dismal.
So, it can go either way, no-one really has a clue.
November 13th, 2009 at 8:39 pm
Bokke!!!!!!!!!!!!
November 13th, 2009 at 8:46 pm
tonight we see if this bok team is as hot as we think they are.
If this bok team is the top of the heap world no.1 side everyone is raving about then they should take care of this French team no sweat. If on the other hand we get exposed for all the weaknesses that we been hiding through exploiting our big bomb kick n chase game and getting away with it, we might just find that we mere mortals after all.
I reckon tonight is the litmus test, if we come through this game with front row, back row, centers and full back all contributing to a resounding comprehensive win then I reckon we might just be as good as we think we are. If alternately the French have a field day up front, through the breakdown and the mid field, then I would hasten to say time to get out of cuckoo cocoon land and get real and realise that we better look to the future and start incorporating some serious new talents fast.
November 13th, 2009 at 8:50 pm
I smell a draw coming.
November 13th, 2009 at 8:52 pm
Shite the nerves getting to me.
November 13th, 2009 at 8:57 pm
eish, chicken flattie on the braai, beers cold, but still i am nervous.
watching the 1995 semi vs france on espnc. i was at that game.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:02 pm
Not that it’s really of any interest to you guys
but Wales are playing Samoa tonight too, both teams have put out strong line-ups.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:04 pm
#9 rangerman:
Hey, our season opens on Sunday so I hope to have Jasus Llandii on the coals in 2 days time.
How is the wife and the future Ranger doing?
November 13th, 2009 at 9:04 pm
#10 Big Hit: is that game tonight?
i dont think its being televised here unfortunately.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:06 pm
95 semi France was robbed. Bevan disallowed the Benazzi try under the sticks which was legitimate and would have sent SA out the competition.
We don’t have such a great record against France., they seem to have our number, apart from Mallets team of 97 we been losing to them ever since, Jake couldn’t beat them once and tonight they up for the giant kill.
Beat these guys in Toulouse then we can start beating our breasts as world beaters. No place to hide in Toulouse, its stand and deliver time no place for mommy’s boys tonight, this is the game where men get separated from the boys.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:09 pm
#11 Robzim: howdy rob!
ag man, you serious? our season is closed now for 6 months! how much do you pay for a licence? and is it easy like here (any post office sells them).
maybe i must make a plan to come to capetown for some diving, i cant wait for 6 months!
missus is well, sitting next to me here waiting for the rain to end so the cricket can go on and the rugby to start.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:10 pm
#13 skopskiet: Benazzi was clearly short imo skoppie although it was a close run thing.
#12 rangerman: yes, kicks off 15 minutes before the France game. Don’t know why the IRB schedule these games at the same time, Italy v NZ, Scotland v Fiji and England v Argentina are on at the same time tomorrow too.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:12 pm
#13 skopskiet: not true, it was more towards the north west corner and it was no try.
but ja, it was an amazing game to be at, in the rain and mud.
lacroix joined natal after the tourney, what a player!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:13 pm
#13 skopskiet: Jake’s team beat them in SA (Pt. Elizabeth), although I think the Frogs are still uphappy about that one due to the level of violence.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:14 pm
#15 Big Hit: there must be a wife, somewhere, manipulating things
November 13th, 2009 at 9:16 pm
#18 rangerman: no doubt
November 13th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
I remember some the Springbok’s themselves proclaiming that it was touch and go the Benazzi disallowed try in the rain. Isn’t that the game Bevan got his gold watch from Luyt for services rendered towards the rainbow nations long awaited cause?
November 13th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
Bokke by 6!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:19 pm
#9 rangerman:
must have a nice big patio on your rocks penthouse.
how the other half live hey
November 13th, 2009 at 9:22 pm
it was no try skop but i will say one thing, i have only had my heart in my mouth like that a very few times in my life.
i remember the stadium silent, thinking the french had won and then all of us going mad when we found that we had won it.
what a day, i was 19 years old and at a world cup semi!!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:24 pm
#22 charo:
actually TWO big patios charo.
weber is merrily turning my chook into a meal.
life is not so bad!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:24 pm
Anybody know where you can watch the game online from USA? Usually watch on RugbyZone but its not available.Thanks
November 13th, 2009 at 9:25 pm
#14 rangerman:
Yip, 15 November is the day. We did some scuba a week or so ago on the west coast and I can tell you they are “waiting” to be collected. Fat and plentiful.
Permit is R75 per species per season, so it is cheap.
If you come to CT, you must let me know via keo. I know nice spots.
How many months for the little one?
November 13th, 2009 at 9:27 pm
#14 rangerman:
Also by the post offices.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:29 pm
I thought we drew in PE lost in Cape Town and Paris 05 and 06 against France.
Its a strange psyche the French have about manlyness, they seem to pride themselves as the tough guy that wont stand down from a showdown yet when the Germans invaded all the tough guys went underground and the rest of their army gave in without a fight. While the Germans don’t take to rugby and love poefta soccer as their sport of choice yet some French Gaul Legionaire’s do, and it was the British Bulldog spirit which was left to stand up to the bullying Nazi’s almost single handedly.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:30 pm
#26 Robzim: the peanut is scheduled to arrive on the 12th of jan so missus is no longer flying.
we are very excited i must say.
R75 is the same price as here but what depth are you diving? i will defo let you know man.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:30 pm
Here we go… less than 20 minutes left til kick-off. France. In Toulouse. This is the real test.
Come on Bokke!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:31 pm
BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:32 pm
#12 rangerman: Hi, Rangerman. kostaz.co.cc/ wales vs samoa
November 13th, 2009 at 9:33 pm
#29 rangerman: Is that peanut female or male
November 13th, 2009 at 9:33 pm
menacing haka, hehe, go samoa.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:36 pm
shocking. Wales are yellow/black almost like Hurricanes.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:37 pm
I wonder which Frenchman is gonna rock up in Toulouse tonight, the no nonsense non compromising Gaul Legionaire Messr le tough guy, or the nancy that sooner turn the other cheek and run for the bunker.
I guess its only the really tough guy legionaire’s that take to rugby in France, all the other Nancy pants play round ball instead.
Yellow card to Samoa
2nd min 3-0 Wales, Samoa already probed Welsh bones and got yellowed.
November 13th, 2009 at 9:39 pm
3-3
November 13th, 2009 at 9:39 pm
3 all
November 13th, 2009 at 9:41 pm
#32 Nils: thanks nils, hope yopu are well man.
i gotta go guys, chicken is out and smells good.
have a great evening and may the best boks win!
#29 rangerman:
It’s cool, I am sure it will go well with the peanut. I have been through it twice, fantastic experience, you will see.
The depth is approximately 3-10 meters depending on where u go. The water is of course freezing (for Durban divers) so you need at least a 5mm wetsuit – it is easy diving, if you are prepared to dive at the relatively deeper spots the Lobster are plentiful. Not much sea life though, only kelp, rock, small bamboeshaaie and Lobster.
Nearly time for the game, lets hope for the best!
Try Wales
November 13th, 2009 at 9:42 pm
#33 Blindspot: my daughter mate.
gotta go, keep well!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:43 pm
#44 rangerman: Well done! Congrats mate
November 13th, 2009 at 9:44 pm
#25 AntBW: try this, justin.tv/p2pstation_net251
November 13th, 2009 at 9:44 pm
anthem out of tune
November 13th, 2009 at 9:45 pm
who’s this drunk SOB singing the national anthem
November 13th, 2009 at 9:45 pm
I don’t think any Rastaman would have ever dreamt they would be sining Die Stem! Amazing how we have changed our world!!
November 13th, 2009 at 9:46 pm
die bra wat die anthem gesing het,het maar bra kuk gesing!