Keo.co.za tour diary – Week 1

A smart solution to ‘Anthemgate’, good French hospitality and why the Frogs are the most fiery rugby supporters on the planet.

Welcome to rugby country. That’s the impression you get when arriving at Toulouse’s Blagnac Airport. The coffee shop walls are decorated with famous players of yesteryear, and one of the many Stade Toulousain outlets greets you as you exit customs. The club insignia is branded on popular food franchise windows while the smaller cafes have gone as far as to put up posters of the incumbents.

The French national side only arrived in Toulouse on Thursday night, but up until a few hours before kickoff, there was no imminent feeling that the Tricolores were coming to town. After lunch on Friday, however, the Stade Toulousain outlets swapped their local posters for pictures of the same players in national colours. True to form, the French mood changed in an instant. The locals were switched on and confident. The numerous Saffas plodding along the narrow cobble-stoned roads were heckled. The locals aren’t short on pride, and they gave the green-and-gold tourists a frosty reception.

This reception was not limited to a street-side jeer. The South African embassy felt the need to employ what looked like a Rastafarian to sing Nkosi Sikelel iAfrika. The performer butchered the South African anthem horribly, prompting a reaction from the Springboks in the aftermath and The Times’ Craig Ray to dub the debacle ‘Anthemgate’. The South African media were hosted by the local tourist board on Thursday, where the SuperSport commentary team obliged with a charming rendition of the anthem. If a career in commentary doesn’t work out, Xola Ntshinga, Matthew Pearce and Bob Skinstad are just one-man short of a great Barbershop Quartet. Saru would do well to name them the official anthem-singers on future overseas tours.

How awesome was La Marseillaise? The Municipal Stadium was packed to a 37 000 capacity, but the atmosphere inside its modest walls lent it a quality akin to Rio de Janeiro’s Maracana. People talk about Les Bleus as an emotionally unpredictable rugby team, but their fans are just as volatile. Listening to that national anthem gives you goosebumps, and is probably the one true rival to Nkosi Sikelel iAfrika for the emotion it evokes. Australia and New Zealand are burdened with bland anthems, while the Poms love to sing about a monarch that needs saving. Feel privileged that we have such a great national hymn.

The one thing you have to understand about Toulouse is that it’s not Paris. It’s not as big, and although there are fewer English-speakers, their willingness to communicate is refreshing. If you’re living in London and planning a weekend get away, you could do far worse than Toulouse. The people are fantastic, and the food is something to savour. A few of us enjoyed a dinner at a restaurant similar to that on the TV series ‘Allo ‘Allo. The quintessential accordion playing in the background was a nice touch, but a fish dish that would’ve made Floyd weep was the highlight of the experience. When it comes to food, the French are perfectionists, the simplest of high street baguettes sure to satisfy those with even the most extravagant of tastes.

It’s a wonder that most of the population are able to stay so slim. Moderation seems to be a religious tenet in Toulouse, with large quantities of coffee and cigarettes compensating for their apparently secondary need to eat. And when do these people work? They’re always wandering around town in the kind of clobber that suggests they have a fashion show to get to. France’s 35-hour working week seems to be doing them a world of good. I can’t wait for the rest of the world to follow suit.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Toulouse

106 Comments

• 1.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

They stay in shape with regular practice of anthem-singing, obviously.

• 2.refugee: Reply to this comment

“Australia and New Zealand are burdened with rubbish anthems, while the Poms love to sing about a monarch that needs saving. Feel privileged that we have such a great national hymn.”
    …..This really does take parochialism to new heights.

• 3.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Well, the next time the SA president sings for someone to bring him his Mashini Wami AK47, might I suggest that it be done swiftly? There’s a certain stoner Zulu rastaman called Ras Dumisani who surely could do with a quick fusillade. The poor fellow sounded like a cow being stabbed with a spear on someone’s front lawn. Put him out of his misery asap.

• 4.malcolm: Reply to this comment

How can this arsewhole make such comments about countries anthems he is a joke.

• 5.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

O#4 malcolm: Chill out! SO WHAT if an anthem isn’t quite zingy enough to have you going out there goose-stepping or baby-raping or picking a fight with that foreign greengrocer across the road?

• 6.klippies101: Reply to this comment

what i dont understand is how france said they had worked out the bok lineout before the game how they would get in matfields way and they did . we should have worked on stopping that before the game cause i felt we were beaten by frqnce badly in the lineouts

• 7.Hondo: Reply to this comment

“The French administration felt the need to employ what looked like a Rastafarian to sing Nkosi Sikelel iAfrika.”

Mr. Cardinelli,
    FYI:
    It was the SA Embassy in Paris who appointed the so called ‘singer’!
    Please check first,

• 8.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

“Australia and New Zealand are burdened with rubbish anthems, while the Poms love to sing about a monarch that needs saving. Feel privileged that we have such a great national hymn.”

JC,you are really a clueless fool that should be sacked from ever writing again.
    I dont think i have ever heard any Kiwis knock someones National Anthem,such a shame really.
    I like your National Anthem,i like Wales the best though.
    Anyway looks like the thouands of South Africans that come to NZ to live arent here for our Anthem but to get away from South Africans such as you.

• 9.David: Reply to this comment

I assume, then, that you’ve never been at the Millenium Stadium or the old Cardiff Arms Park, when they sing “Land of My Fathers”? Goosebumps doesn’t come close to describing it.

• 10.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#9 David:
    Exactly David

I would love to go there and listen to it

• 11.David: Reply to this comment

#10 Hurricane:

The words of the Marseillaise should be rousing, it’s a gruesome call to war. Here’s the translation.

Arise children of the fatherland
    The day of glory has arrived
    Against us tyranny’s
    Bloody standard is raised
    Listen to the sound in the fields
    The howling of these fearsome soldiers
    They are coming into our midst
    To cut the throats of your sons and consorts

To arms citizens
    Form you battalions
    March, march
    Let impure blood
    Water our furrows

What do they want this horde of slaves
    Of traitors and conspiratorial kings?
    For whom these vile chains
    These long-prepared irons?
    Frenchmen, for us, ah! What outrage
    What methods must be taken?
    It is we they dare plan
    To return to the old slavery!

What! These foreign cohorts!
    They would make laws in our courts!
    What! These mercenary phalanxes
    Would cut down our warrior sons
    Good Lord! By chained hands
    Our brow would yield under the yoke
    The vile despots would have themselves be
    The masters of destiny

Tremble, tyrants and traitors
    The shame of all good men
    Tremble! Your parricidal schemes
    Will receive their just reward
    Against you we are all soldiers
    If they fall, our young heros
    France will bear new ones
    Ready to join the fight against you

Frenchmen, as magnanimous warriors
    Bear or hold back your blows
    Spare these sad victims
    Who with regret are taking up arms against us
    But not these bloody despots
    These accomplices of Bouillz
    All these tigers who pitilessly
    Are ripping open their mothers’ breasts

We shall enter into the pit
    When our elders will no longer be there
    There we shall find their ashes
    And the mark of their virtues
    We are much less jealous of surviving them
    Than of sharing their coffins
    We shall have the sublime pride
    Of avenging or joining them
    Sacred Love for the Fatherland
    Lead and support our avenging arms
    Liberty, cherished liberty
    Join the struggle with your defenders
    Under our flags, let victory
    Hasten to you virile force
    So that in death your enemies
    See your triumph and our glory!

• 12.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Cheese-eating surrender ******* can’t sing that without blushing, surely?

• 13.klippies101: Reply to this comment

the scottish anthem is the best isnt it bout beating up the poms

• 14.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Thank you Hondo, was about to say the same thing. This our blunder, not theirs. The french anthem is stirring and beautifully composed, second to probably only the russian anthem. Tackler, do you seriously have nothing better to do than wait for a new article and use the little that you know to try and insult anything that crosses your path? Don’t you have a girlfriend, job, relatives or friend to occupy your time?

• 15.Puma: Reply to this comment

Scottish Anthem is the best. Just to hear those Bagpipes gives me chills down my spine. Also the Irish Anthem. Beautiful.

That fool that sung our anthem should never be allowed to sing again. Watch how beautiful our Anthem will be sung in Ireland.

• 16.Winston: Reply to this comment

Tackles obviously feels a bit frustrated and angry after his boyfriend puts deep shots in him so he has to come here and talk rubbish.. God forbid he would speak about something useful.. Like rugby maybe,thought that was the point of this blog.

• 17.Puma: Reply to this comment

#14 Die_Valk: Valk mate, you doing well on SuperBru. Overtaken me :wink:

• 18.leerkassie: Reply to this comment

Hey Tackles.Shudup.Idiot.

• 19.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Let’s be honest: the SA anthem is surely one of the worst in the world, regardless of who sings it. What else would you expect when you combine two different songs (and three languages) into one?

• 20.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#8 Hurricane:
    Mr Cardinelli’s trying hard!

• 21.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Puma, thanks. I try and keep the finger on the pulse. By the way, if you want to build character, coach a team in any sport. Grey hair will follow. In these times where parents don’t discipline children, they are just about impossible. Murder never sounded so sweet… :) Enjoy your day, cheers.

• 22.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#11 David:
    It’s the French Revolution song, I have no idea it’s so long
    It’s back to the days of Robespier and Denton, the song was in place already when Napoleon ruled France.
    The French fought last time in 1914-1917 when their army collapsed, the Yanks saved the day for them as always.

• 23.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#15 Puma:
    Which one Puma
    The Irish sing about 2 to 3 Anthems, can’t tell which one is the cardinal Anthem

• 24.jamisz: Reply to this comment

Such bad taste to knock someone’s anthem:
    “Australia and New Zealand are burdened with rubbish anthems, while the Poms love to sing about a monarch that needs saving”

Totally uncalled for. You Sir are a true *******.

• 25.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#9 David:
    I haven’t paid attention to it until their Test against England in 2007, they brought an Opera singer girl with an astonishing voice and you could see it really fired the Welsh team, I remember seeing Gareth Thomas bangs his head against the look alike Shanklin and they went out to whack the Poms
    A moment to remember.
    I never seen a team so fired up, except maybe the Boks in 2002 against the ABs, also astonished moment.

• 26.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#19 kaksioek: 4 languages I think. Xhosa, Sotho, Afrikaans and English.

• 27.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#25 Hondo:
    I meant: “except maybe the Boks in 1992″

• 28.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#26 jonnymain:
    No Zulu?

• 29.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#23 Hondo: Irelands Call is the song they sing as their rugby anthem but it’s not the Irish national anthem. That has a name I can’t spell in Gaelic and is sung in Gaelic and they only get to sing it when they play in the Republic or Ireland so as not to offend those touchy Ulstermen!

• 30.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#28 Hondo: Not sure… thought the 2nd verse was Sotho but I could be wrong! Certainly more than 3 though!

• 31.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#22 Hondo: The French fought in WW2 but Hitler rolled them in no time. And they fought in French Indochina (Vietnam) and got rolled by Ho Chi Minh’s communists…

• 32.cab: Reply to this comment

yessus old JC can only wax lyrical, i’m not sure if its france or heaven he’s describing.

as for the anthems, get serious, god save the queen is an epic rabble-rouser, and is half the reason the pomgolan roundballung fans maraud thru these european streets like pillaging vikings when on tour.

• 33.klippies101: Reply to this comment

if u play rugby in northern ireland which still belongs to the uk and your good do u play for ireland as there no such country as northen ireland ?

• 34.David: Reply to this comment

#22 Hondo:
    It was actually written specifically for the war against the Prussians.
    Here’s the history.

The words and music were written by Claude Joseph Rouget de Lisle (1760-1836), then an officer in the French army, based in Strasbourg.

The song was originally called ‘Chant de guerre pour l’Armée du Rhin’ (‘War Song for the Army of the Rhine’). It is a pretty brutal song, urging the French to fight against the Prussian invasion that followed the revolution, and was was subsequently banned under Napoleon and for much of the 19th century, only being permanently adopted after 1879.

The song was first sung in April 1792, and reached Marseille with the troops three months later. It’s rousing theme was was an immediate success, and it was a battalion from marseille that sung the anthem in Paris later that year – hence the name Marseillaise was adopted.

• 35.cab: Reply to this comment

i thought the anthem was written well after the revolution and even the napoleonic wars, i believe it was written on the eve of the franco-prussian war when the german were on the eve of taking the city of paris, which is why i think it talks about soldiers coming into their midst.

the french actually put up a decent fight at the start of WWII, but suffered huge losses cos they were so disorganised and the german blitzkrieg went straight thru their lines. but it was over so quickly, everyone sort of remembers them as big chicken-*****. lol.

it was the americans AND english including the commonwealth countries who helped the french recapture their territories after the D-day landings, tho it was the french legion under de Gaulle who made an early sprint for paris where the germans had already deserted perhaps to try salvage some pride. The frenchies were after all collaborators after they were overrun with Vicky complicit in the sending to their deaths of countless jewish families – which was their real shame.

the big war, after WWII, which really left an impression on the french (apart from indochina) was the algerian conflict, which still arouses alot of emotion and calls of racism, etc.

• 36.David: Reply to this comment

#29 jonnymain:

Irelands call was written specifically for the Irish rugby team which is composed of players from both the Republic and Northern Ireland.

• 37.cab: Reply to this comment

flower of scotland is also quite beatiful and that really gets teh scots hackles up, this is a nation who despises the english so much their national song is more about klapping eddie longshanks, than their own country.

very amusing stuff.

• 38.David: Reply to this comment

#35 cab:

I still remember in 1961, I think it was, when Paris was filled with tanks and barbed wire, waitng to be invaded by “Les Paras”. Very tense time. The slogan in those days was “Algerie Francaise” as a lot of citizens resented the decision to give Algeria independence and backed Les Paras. France was on the verge of a civil war.

• 39.David: Reply to this comment

#37 cab:
    Yes, and yet their patron is Princess Anne. :grin:

• 40.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#33 klippies101: There’s no such country as Scotland or Wales either.

• 41.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#40 TheTackler: Or England.

• 42.cab: Reply to this comment

#38 David:
    yip u gotta be quite careful when touching on that topic with some of the froggies, still quite fresh in some their memories.

• 43.cab: Reply to this comment

#39 David:
    hehe, oh well i suppose gordon is getting some revenge.

• 44.Chabalou: Reply to this comment

Few remarks from a French point of view:
    - SA anthem is a nice one. That was a pity that this rasta gave such a poor performance;
    - I am convinced that this was not deliberate from the French admin. You would overrate the French admin if you think they are capable of doing that just to destabilize the boks before the game;
    - SA team needs to have a plan B. Their gameplan is too predictible;
    - French team did not win the RWC. They just beated the SA team at the end of a tiring season. In the same way French were beaten by the Wallabies at the end of their season;
    - Having said that, French players had only 4 days to train together due to the fact that in France, club championship has priority over the national team.
    Good luck against Ireland

• 45.cab: Reply to this comment

#44 Chabalou:
    very nice of you, but France deserved their win, they played like tigers.

• 46.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Leicester Tigers?

• 47.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#36 David: That’s what I said in essence.

• 48.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Ahhh France is a lovely place. I lived there for 3 years. Those people are all about quality of life. They do things slow….real slow.

I mean how many other countries do you know of that shut down for 2 hours everyday for lunch?

• 49.cab: Reply to this comment

well your adopted lot do still have ‘god save the queen’ as their national anthem.
    subservient as always.

• 50.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

JC should present Top Billing. He just doesn’t have that TV face though.

• 51.Kronung: Reply to this comment

#48 Yetirat: Italy as well. Do things in their own way.

• 52.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

French love to fight amongst themselves over matters libertarian. History being quite an interesting subject about all these human tribes banding together into nations then invading each others territories trying to usurp others land wealth and women. Once we go beyond this tribal urge to dominate and overrun our neighbours territory wives and cattle then we form ourselves into sporting teams and persue our inherant need to be indomitable, so we sing anthems and perform war dances in order to heighten our call to nationalist instinct to rear our emotions into defending or parading our national honor. Basically boils down to tribal instinct and the desire to identify our personality with a greater common cause for dominion over the next tribe or nation. Showing that differentiation amongst us human animals to be our call to diversity and identity. The desire to be different independent and dominant.

• 53.cab: Reply to this comment

#52 skopskiet:
    are u saying you are dissapointed the Boks did not bash em?

• 54.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

well you know how it goes with desire and disappointment, depends which aspect of my personality I’m listening to for the moment. I always reckon that nature has its own way of sorting the wheat from the chaff. If somebody is chaffing himself that he’s indomitable and beyond humility usually nature lends a hand and brings such rampant nationalist idealism back into line. To all intents and purposes, France were due the win, their preparation and desire for it perhaps greater than ours.

At end of the day who is the true victor, only he who has overcome himself.

• 55.cab: Reply to this comment

#54 skopskiet:
    oh right.
    must say tho, i think there may be more to it than patirotism or nationalism.
    there;s alot of trsdition involved, read a piece from smit books on andre venter and white who was choked up at andre’s very difficult predicament, there is alot respect and value and tradition that can’t be all bad either – very touching in fact.

• 56.Alan Shore: Reply to this comment

#52 skopskiet:

If I look at what the media say, it seems like, in the case of Joost, Steve, Gibbs, et. al. it is not only about conquering their women, but our own as well.

• 57.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#55 cab: who they really crying over really, I mean ask yourself who are all these tears for, somebody else or oneself, or who exactly?

• 58.cab: Reply to this comment

#57 skopskiet:
    yeah good question, but i do believe tho there is perhaps genuine selfless empathy, but who knows.

• 59.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Same people crying over somebody they love are cursing somebody else they hate, so wtf all this patriotic traditional fervor all about, you tell me?

• 60.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

bottom line when you strip away all this precious tribal identification, you left with yourself none else, no nation to sing anthems over, no friends or even family to take with you to the grave, as you came to this little planet to reap what you have sown, so you leave, alone, ready to reap the next crop of actions down the line. WWE trophy in the cabinet, medals round your neck, pips of valor on your lapel, or not.

• 61.Alan Shore: Reply to this comment

You know what guys, in the end it is about one little statistic only, and that is that, never ever before, in the history of the game Rugby Union, has one Nation held the titles of:

- World Cup Champions
    - Tri-Nations Champions
    - BIL Conquerors
    - Super Rugby Champions
    - IRB 7′s Champions, and
    - Ranked No 1 in the World!

Never before. South Africa did it in 2009. We should not forget that and that is more than enough for me.

EOYTs are just to boost the images of the Europeans and UK to give them some pride to continue into the next year. A little pat on the shoulder showing them we still, occasionally, think about them and put up a show for them.

Really is like Pavarotti coming out for one last, tired performance to a standing ovation at the end of another long season.

• 62.cab: Reply to this comment

ppl are just ppl, human, fallible, with individual likes and dislikes.

• 63.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Yes Alan Shore, seems this is the ultimate conquest, the thing that drives most rampant men of lustful intent. Conquer the urge to procreate or have it conquer us. As Julius Ceaser, Mark Anthony, King David, most presidents, hero’s, gods, warriors, and kings have found out. The power of womanhood way too powerful for any warrior of virtue to even vaguely contemplate conquering, not a meager chance in hell.

• 64.grant10: Reply to this comment

#61 Alan Shore: Underestimate the rise of the NH at our peril

Bloody hell i never believed the day i would see a Kiwi team get shunted about the park by the Italians….yesterday was another eye opener….

best we lose some Southern arrogance i reckon…

• 65.cab: Reply to this comment

but if you come with nothing and leave with nothing, why should what you sow follow you? this bowl is not fair. surely its designed for shitting in and then flushing clean when done.

the drive to *** is probably even more basic and is the drtive to power, whcih affects many men, there only a few winners tho and they not the nicest of folk. the meek will not inherit the earth, tho the randy might.

• 66.Alan Shore: Reply to this comment

#63 skopskiet:

One should never underestimate the roles played by Joan of Arc and Marie Antoinette in Friday night’s little revolution.

Also the fact that *** was one of the resons why the game was played so late at night. I aleays thought that *** was the reward after the war.

• 67.grant10: Reply to this comment

Another eye opener….Brussow reckons that was the toughest Test he has played in….ever!

Reckons he cant remember first couple of minutes after the kick off as he took a blow….those Frogs pitched up….watched game again yesterday…Fark me were lucky to come away with a 7 point loss….

Any news on Schalk injury or team for Saracens??

• 68.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

according to the Mayan premonition 2012 is when it all gets a nice new flushing clean.

*** or lust is the most primal instinct of all, the one urge that conditions the survival of the specie, war or dominion over others, greed, desire for more, anger, pride.. all these are the attributes of me or mine, ego in other words. So this little pantomime plays out. Each individual reaping and sowing his desires one after the next. To get through this labyrinth of human mystery perhaps the design behind it all.

We tend to attach our thinking, our desires to the effects of our conditioning, and we have very little control over the cause, so we dance, like puppets on a string, each to his own little anthem of ambition, not realizing that the dance is in reality relatively short, and the pipers tune may soon play the strain of its final fading melody.

• 69.cab: Reply to this comment

but why can’t you have your cake and eat it too so to speak?

try to be as virtuous as possible but still procreate like a randy rabbit?

• 70.cab: Reply to this comment

oh well, who knows, back to the rugby.
    wtf is going to happen v italy and ireland?
    the wee maestro is going to have to hatch a masterplan cos bokke psyche gotta be shot.

• 71.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#67 grant10: The problem is why Ausises were trying to ram the ELVs or vrsion 2.1-a revision s on al of us the nothern hemisphere concentrated on their game and told us to get lost. SA’s scrumming is pathetic, but we are not alone. All of the SH teams have scrum problems and now hopefully that we are back to playing rugby like it should be played (not like a league match) someone will have to go back to coaching how to scrum. Gary Gold is k..k as a tight phase coach, has always been and always be. Get Os back into the picture and next year no one will push around anymore irrespective of who is in the front row.

Back to basics. Let league be league and union be union.

• 72.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

on iol this morning-smith’s book:how he disagreed with pdv on team selection for third lions test,invitation to socialise after each test(a beer or two in the change-rooms)was decline by brits and irish (apparently a senior irishman wasn’t interested) and some more on the schalk and bakkies incidents.very interesting indeed!

• 73.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#70 cab: yeah adn we gonna get pushed around at scrum time … again. Please no more Barnes he is the worst ref I have ever seen, let him go back to practicing law. No idea of what obstruction is in the rucks, nor that payers have to be on their feet and not their knees to play the ball.

• 74.cab: Reply to this comment

#73 Objective 101:
    hehe…i think barnesey will come right ultimately, but he did make some very strange calls esp wrt to the playing balls of the knee thing and not releasing, suppose we had slow-mo and all, but they were all over bokke in any case. also tends to be a bit of a hometown ref which helped us in teh past but not on friday.

• 75.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

PDV better use Wiaan Du Preez, Beast is liability. Italy smashed NZ scrum from what we heard on here. Castro gonna be licking his lips again.

Play W. Du Preez, Bismarck, CJ
    Botha, Matfield, Bekker
    Brussow, Deysel, Johnson
    Hougard, Pienaar
    De Jongh, Jacobs
    Habana, Fourie at wing
    Viljoen

Bench
    Smit
    Strauss
    H.Vd Merwe
    Bekker
    Potgieter
    M.Steyn
    WO

• 76.grant10: Reply to this comment

#71 Objective 101: Amen to that!

• 77.cab: Reply to this comment

#75 skopskiet:
    nice team actually, perhaps with morne at 15 but perhaps give matfield a rest.

• 78.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

#75 skopskiet: How are we going to get away with 3 locks? :smile:

• 79.grant10: Reply to this comment

#75 skopskiet: Smashed wasnt the word….it was Boks vs Leicester all over again….that 3 from Italy …and there 1 , bloody hell skop we better be careful….Mallet has those Italians forwards playing with fire and brimstone…That Parissi fellow…The no 8…..ooohh bliksem…CLASS!

• 80.grant10: Reply to this comment

That Saracens game is the problem….some players may need to play 2 games in 4 days.

• 81.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#76 grant10: What amazes me is that if you look at schoolboy rugby and the varsity cup they play with good srums and good running adn attacking rugby. Where does the paradigm shift come from when they supposed to step up Currie Cup adn S14 rugby.

In all honesty we also we missed Spies, we missed Jean dV and Steyn. These are exceptional players adn any side without them is that much weaker. ON top of that Kanko had the worst match I have ever seen him play which makes start to ask whether he is a one day wonder boy as of late his form has not been good at all.

• 82.cab: Reply to this comment

Sykes, Nel, Alberts and Vermeulen – all should have been shoe-ins for this NH tour – esp the midweek games.

• 83.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Was touting Bekker or Matfield to start, one or the other on bench. Would leave Roussouw and Kanko and Beast out.

I watched the England Argie game so didn’t see the Ities smash the Kiwis up front.

But if Kanko comes up against Parisse and Beast against Castro, then it’ll be a long hard day at the office again.

Bekker I thought had a good stint when he came on for Bakkies blood bin. I would have left him on, he was bringing more to the game than Bakkies did. Frenchies had both Victor and Bakkies number last week.

• 84.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#75 skopskiet: You can’t be seriosu to play pienaar at no10 on his current form. I agree that on current form I would like to see Johnson rather than Kanko and I think that Burger is out for a while (finally). But you never know snor he may throw a curved bal adn play raubenheimer ahead of anyone else.

• 85.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

M.Steyn is a liability at pivot if we want any kind of momentum or attack from our backs, only time we got any go forward through the back line last week is when Morne was off and Jacobs was playing pivot, almost got some momentum going. rest of the time FdP and Morne killed every opportunity of momentum with their incessant back in the pocket boot the thing to no mans land or over the dead ball line.

Pienaar has to get the cobwebs out his head, sometime, should have been long ago, but no time like the present. M.Steyn is a match winner by one means only from a place kick, but as a commanding game maker in the mid field, we are as stagnant as a bunch of oxen at a dried up water hole.

I’d change both FdP and Steyn at SH and FH, half our non existent back line presence stems exactly from there, nowhere else.

Little Pretorius would get that backline motoring far better than FDP anyday of the week.

• 86.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

#5 TheTackler: #12 TheTackler: etc, etc

Hahaaaa! Tackler, good to see you are still going strong, keep it up big guy. Surely no blog has been blessed with so many priceless gems from the pen of one man. If Keo is not paying you then he is indeed fortunate.

• 87.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

OK am out now

so long

• 88.Kronung: Reply to this comment

Ag pleaaase!!!!

Scrum getting manhandled, breakdowns and line outs tenuous on the night, terrible wind, a French team at their best and suddenly Morne is a liability and FdP not good enough.

Go figure.

Game is on 205 at 14:00.

• 89.Shakes: Reply to this comment

Afternoon guys, bloody glad to have my computer back after it was struck by lightning. My general thoughts on the game:
    FDP and MS both had shockers and I would give them both 3s. The tactical kicking especially poor. Frontrow woes once more, PDV please get Os involved. So many m issed tackles by so many. Our continued lack of presence at the breakdown is cause for concern i.e. the problem is not the ball carrier but the support that follows. I thought AJ was defensively solid at 12 and did good work when MS was binned. Kanko is not up to this level.

PDV must NOW be bold and make the changes for 2011, cos this team won’t make it that far. Show Father Time the respect he deserves.
    The changes will automatically also result in the gameplan being tweaked a bit.

So far after the first 2 games it is clear that up north the scrum is still utilised as an attacking platfrom and the contest on the ground is intense but it must be said not always legal (imho).

In the end the score flattered us a wee bit.

• 90.grant10: Reply to this comment

#81 Objective 101: ja….those are top class players we are missing…perhaps a fundamental mindset change is required by our adminisarators….i knopw a complex issue the overseas saffas….but a cap of say 5 players or something?

Okes get emotive about the issue….bottom line is it would be great to choose from the entire talent pool….apparently 74 saffas plying there trade overseas….i can think of a few i wouldnt mind having closter to the squad.

• 91.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#8 Hurricane:

#13 klippies101:

You guys do realise that not only rugby-playing nations have national anthems?

Ours has 5 languages in it, can’t believe not many south africans this. Shocking.

Too many different languages and compositions to be fluent, unfortunately.

#14 Die_Valk:

The have had some of the most talented composers in history, so it is an unfair advantage. :)

• 92.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#90 grant10:

I refuse to get worked up about something that has little to no chance of ever changing.

I will, however, always support our national team. Being ‘proudly suth african’ by supporting and watching the football is like listening to country-music though.

You playing SuperBru?

• 93.grant10: Reply to this comment

#92 Die_Valk: No….always seem to bet with the heart as opposed to the head….did nail a R690.00 pool bet at the pub on the Bok ..France game….would of gladly lost the money for a Bok win though….i see you top of thr pops there in superbtu??

• 94.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Hierdie is ‘n ware man, mense soos die is die het die afrikaner se ware beeld gemaak. Legende.

Extract from ‘Captain in the Cauldron’ by John Smit.
    Andre Venter was a guy who set an intimidating example. In the week before I wore the Bok No2 jersey for the first time – the 37-33 win against Argentina in November 2000 – I shared a hotel room with him in Buenos Aires.

Courtesy Simnikiwe Xabanisa, Sunday Times

I was terrified. I was still wet behind the ears and he was a highly respected senior Springbok. I was awestruck.

Andre made me train in the gym with him and nearly killed me. He was unbelievably strong.

At night when we’d go back to our room, he would have a can of Coke next to his bed with a Bible. I’d get into bed and the TV would be on, but at exactly 9pm he would tell me to switch it off and put the main light out. He would then read out aloud to me from the Bible. After the reading he would say a prayer, open his Coke, drink half of it, and fall asleep by 9:30pm. Every night was exactly the same.

I was a 22-year-old soutie living the dream in Durban and while I wouldn’t say I was off the rails, it was quite a culture shock to interact with this colossus of a man, this Bok legend with such strong moral fibre. That’s just how he lived his life.

I had experienced a taste of his discipline earlier that season at a team-building evening where the drinks were flowing. Andre wasn’t a big drinker, but he would have the odd beer, and here I was with party boys Robbie Kempson and Robbie Fleck charging me up. We were going flat out when Venter pulled me aside.

“Soutie, wat drink jy (what are you drinking)?” he asked.

“Vodka, lime and lemonade,” I replied.

“As jy rugby wil speel, drink jy net bier (if you want to play rugby, you must only drink beer), no hard tack. OK?!”

I nodded respectfully and immediately switched to beer.

In Jake White’s time as Springbok coach, Andre was the guest at our jersey presentation on two occasions, in 2004 and 2007.

The first occasion was hugely emotional. Andre had been struck down with a rare, debilitating muscle disease and arrived at our Bloemfontein hotel in a wheelchair.

It was the most humbling experience of our careers because we all saw Andre as the lion, the ultimate Bok warrior, and none more so than Jake. For Jake, Andre epitomised everything good about a Bok: big, strong, skilful, honest, and hard-working, with the fearless, no-nonsense attitude of a true soldier.

That jersey presentation was the most emotional one I’ve ever attended. Jake, as usual, introduced the guest, but could barely get a word out, and the tears were flowing.

He was struggling to contain his emotions, as were the players, because Andre was a hero who had trained harder than any Springbok before him and conquered everyone in front of him. I could see it was tough for Jake, but Andre just smiled at him every now and again and said: “Moenie (don’t) worry nie, Jake.” It was incredibly moving.

I’m not surprised Jake got so choked up because he’s one of the most passionate about Springbok rugby I’ve ever met. He holds a high regard for the old-school values that have made the Boks such a force: tradition, honesty, loyalty, patriotism and hard work.

Andre Venter epitomised all these qualities.

• 95.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#93 grant10:

Yeah, but it’s not a huge group. Just more than 30. I am 250th on the global leaderboard though.

• 96.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#94 Die_Valk:

Error at the beginning.

• 97.grant10: Reply to this comment

#94 Die_Valk: A Venter is a Legend…..one of the hardest men to play the game…..great Bok.

• 98.grant10: Reply to this comment

#95 Die_Valk: Well you up against some knowledgeable guys in that group….so well done.

• 99.grant10: Reply to this comment

cricket time….go Proteas!

• 100.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#98 grant10:

I’d rather have the 700 bucks. :)

Buy myself a new motherboard or something.

700 gig drive, but only 3 gig ram and a joke of a graphics card. Only 1024 meg memory. Can barely play Crysis.

Anyway I’m off for a bit of a rest. Cheers

• 101.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#99 grant10:

With Kallis there I’ll always be confident, absolute legend of the game. I’d have him pencilled in first when picking a current world team. The term all-rounder does him a disservice.

• 102.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

when is john smits book gonna be released?? is it out yet? no chance in hell im buying joost’s bollocks.

• 103.David: Reply to this comment

#102 wp_boytjie:
    It was scheduled for release as soon as Fridays match ended.

• 104.husky: Reply to this comment

Chabalou & CAB,

Good to see some sense amongst all the paniek machanics like Skoppie and Gwant10 who want to rush untried youngsters into the squad. The Boks could do with some reincarnations of Andre Venter that’s for sure but much more important to get good coaches (100% Objective 101). Then let Naas, Danie G, even Paulse and Aswin W to pass on their experience.

We also need different game plams, desperately. Sure, Willem Alberts or Ashley Johnston might have been a better No. 8 than Kanko, who stood out by making points scoring mistakes (losing the ball in contact). But overall his game was not that bad, seriaaasly. SA need to relaise that our players are not bigger or harder than our opposition any more. We need to be better and smarter; all round. JS is not bad at how to play the ref but for someone like Barnes a team needs special tactics (Bakkies to stand on his foot?). No, not really but protect the ball better (when will we learn that in a game like that, the forwards need to hunt as a pack) and kick for the corners rather than those up and unders (Morne gave up after one attempt failed). SARU needs to pressure refs who make mistakes on one side only. We need a back up at flyhalf who can stand his ground like Butch (maybe Bosman?). I think Ruan could have come on for FdP. I like F Hougaard. I think Rosy would have gone home in pieces. Baptism of fire for M Steyn, we missed F Steyn although Kirch did not disgrace himself. Percy (or Stefan T) to coach him on positional play (do you think Stefan T might have gone slightly better?).

The Boks lost by 7 points and how did they stuff up there attacking lineout 5m from the French line! Coaching, coaching coaching, not throwing in more new players, just build a squad of 30 to 40 who know the plans and tactics. Sounds a lot but for this type of tour there should be no passengers.

• 105.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#104 husky:

If there is a cancer in one’s body surely the ‘sensible’ thing to do is to get it removed. The body might take a while to heal, but will in time become stronger than before.

Our front row is the cancer and it’s been spreading.

Of course you don’t throw the young guns to the lions, but get them in there quick. That’s what we saying.

• 106.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

#105 Die_Valk:

we’re

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.