SA to blame for ‘anthemgate’
15 Nov 2009
According to Jo Maso the South African embassy chose the singer of South Africa’s national anthem in Toulouse on Friday night.
‘Every time we welcome a foreign side, we ask the embassy to propose people for the national anthems,’ said French team manager Maso.
‘It’s the South African Embassy that put forward this man and we respected their choice.’
Durban local Ras Dumisani, who now records out of Paris, sang the anthem and was astounded when told players and coach Peter de Villiers were unhappy at his performance, saying ‘everyone at the stadium told me I sang well, even after the match’.
‘The Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika has been my tune since a baby’ he added. ‘How can I not know the words?
‘There are four languages: Zulu, Sesotho, Afrikaans, English. It’s just four bars, always saying the same thing.’
‘I am the biggest reggae man in South Africa and the Springboks are my team.
‘Everyone has their own tastes and you can’t always account for that but most people find my music so beautiful.’

58 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
15 Nov 2009, 10:17 am
I just knew we would be responsible for this….
I send the singer a message on Facebook saying he sucked. This was his reply:
“My brethren that was big politics Not that I couldn’t sing didn’t have the sound on my microphone That put me out The French Anthem have full volume Even the Springbok things was not easy for them with penalties RastafarI is love”
15 Nov 2009, 10:31 am
The deployed cadres in Paris must be redeployed to Siberia.
15 Nov 2009, 10:35 am
#1 Grrrr….I’m a Lion!: Hahaha… dude that is classic!
15 Nov 2009, 10:35 am
ja that oke must be ashamed he has embarrased his country with that poor attempt as singing his singing is worse than my spelling
hell they might as well get clyde rathbone to sing it next time
15 Nov 2009, 10:40 am
Hehe
True to his chosen lifestyle,
This hyperbole isn’t going to faze him one tiny bit.
Storm in a teacup.
To be honest I would like to hear him sing it again in better surroundings.
15 Nov 2009, 10:42 am
It’s gone from funny to hysterical.
This would never have happened 15 years ago when the South Africans had a clue how to organise and lead.
Philemon will never learn.
15 Nov 2009, 10:45 am
why no get johhny gleg to sing it or claire johnson they would have been lekker but no they got johhny rotten instead
15 Nov 2009, 10:45 am
or even p.j powers
15 Nov 2009, 10:46 am
and why didn’t the genius who wrote this article aproach the SA embassy for a comment? cause from what i heard from this mornings news report, the SA embassy gave the french “a recomendation list” of all the SA artists who are living or when in France at the time.
15 Nov 2009, 10:47 am
#1 Grrrr….I’m a Lion!: hahahahahahahahahhahahaHAHAHAHAHHA….ive been cracking up for the last 5 minutes…….you can’t help but laugh at what happened guys, ridiculously hilarious
15 Nov 2009, 10:54 am
Oh it`s true.
Our Government can`t even organise a piss-up in a brewery.
F@#$%ng Pathetic.
15 Nov 2009, 10:57 am
#1 Grrrr….I’m a Lion!: I am still pissing myself over that white dude on the Bongo maa` n.
15 Nov 2009, 11:08 am
Carry on like this,
Oke might qualify for VIP protection one of these days.
Another 300k per month.
15 Nov 2009, 11:09 am
Trust our government to embarrass the entire nation!!!
15 Nov 2009, 11:09 am
#13 Kronung: add in the costs of a bullet-proof mercedes, one converted taxi driver…
15 Nov 2009, 11:12 am
If there ever was a quota singer and his band..
15 Nov 2009, 11:26 am
#13 Kronung: Nobody could possibly shoot Ras Dumisani. He’s so high he’s way out of range.
15 Nov 2009, 11:29 am
#17 TheTackler: Deben Poison??
15 Nov 2009, 11:37 am
Never saw this Rasta mon do the Nkosi sikelele, arrived late, but am sure he gave it his heart n soul. What he get wrong, the words or the melody? Am sure even if it was a little unconventional must have been stirring nevertheless, even if it weren’t in the direction most true patriots like such stirring to go.
15 Nov 2009, 11:49 am
15 Nov 2009, 12:01 pm
anyway, to blame him for taking a bit out of wind of Bok sails (as Big Vic said) looks weird. If anything, that should have motiveted them to wash out embarrassment in the hosts blood or something like that.
15 Nov 2009, 12:09 pm
ja schalk look so pissed off u can see it on youtube
i saw the game but missed the start so i had to check this anthem joke on youtube
15 Nov 2009, 12:16 pm
Durban-born reggae singer Ras Dumisani says he sang “beautifully” while all of us were cringing in front of our tellies .
But then again, everything is relative and they say beauty is in the eye of the beer holder. All my friends who were holding beers in their hands waiting for the game to start disagree though. They say they had beers but still saw no beauty in Ras Dumisani’s reggae rendition of the national anthem.
No official word has been forthcoming, but word from my conections in France is that rumour has it that Ras Dumisani was suggested by the South African embassy there.
If this is true, then me thinks that office should now officially be called the South African EMBARRASSY in France.
Be that as it may, the French organisers are not off the hook. You can’t tell me they never heard of something called rehearsals. In their language they have words like répétition, pratique, préparation, which I am sure mean rehearsal, practice and preparation respectively.
That dude can’t sing, period. So I don’t think that he was able to sing a day, a week or a month before the crucial game on Friday.
Ras Dumisani’s profile on Music.org.za says he comes from a musical family. If they all sang like that, I am sure they didn’t have neighbours.
Here is the profile:
ALEXIUS “Ras” Dumisani was born and raised in Durban, in Kwazulu Natal. His father, of royal descent from Mtunzini, met his mother in Durban.
He grew up in a Christian home and took part in school and Sunday choirs at the early age. In his wild and unruly youth, Ras Dumisani discovered that he had remarkable talent and started playing Bongo drums. At the time he was also interested in a career as a football player.He decided to choose music,rather then sport, as he came from a musical background.
His father was a singer and used to compete with Ladysmith Black Mambazo, who were friends and neighbours of the family. Ras joined a group called Oneness, Love and Music. It soon became evident that he was a leader rather than a follower which led him to forming his own band called Afrikhaya. Then Ras Dumisani performed on percussions and lead vocals. With very limited opportunities in Durban, Ras moved his group to Johannesbourg.
There he discovered that local promoters were not ready for the rythm and the political lyrics of his reggae music. A rather nasty encounter with a producer finally convinced him to spread his wings overseas.Ras Dumisani, the Zulu man, took his passion for reggae music and his love for life and people with him to Israel, US, Europe (London, Holland, Germany, Portugal, Switzerland), West Africa and finally to France.
Ja nee!
They should organise Kamp Staaldraad, just for him and the French organisers.
15 Nov 2009, 12:26 pm
#23 kaksioek: totally agree , think straeuli wouldnt mind rounding up his army friends for one last hoorah
15 Nov 2009, 12:28 pm
This is part of what makes being a Bok fan so special. Not for us the ordinary humdrum quiet life of other rugby followers. No siree Bob. From Staaldraad to armbands to quotas to players being ineligible after 19 test matches to Bob Hope as coach to movies with Morgan Freeman to Southern Kings to Luke Watson to Geo Cronje to Unlucky Dube and along the way a couple of World Cups. Wouldn’t swap it for anything. Viva la Bokkke.
15 Nov 2009, 12:31 pm
On U Tube is a few clips of this dude performing with his band.
While not exactly in the Bob Marley/Peter Tosh league he is certainly not that bad.
Maybe it was stage fright, who knows? – at least he managed to hit the right note on a few occasions, it could have been much worse.
15 Nov 2009, 12:33 pm
Well, what do you expect on Friday the 13th? A horror show, of course!
15 Nov 2009, 12:35 pm
#24 mbaxman93: By the way, that was an article by Abdul Milazi from Times Live.
15 Nov 2009, 12:35 pm
#22 klippies101:
Yeah, Schalk was totally confused, mind you he is most of the times confused anyway.
Bismark du Plessis handled it the best – he just closed his eyes, focussed, and sung along as good as he could.
The clip certainly is entertaining though.
15 Nov 2009, 12:43 pm
A good lesson in focus. Just like the armbands, if you allow your focus to be dissipated by something quite outside your control then you don’t have too much control over your own focus. Bok’s should have just handled the anthem thing in their stride, some like Brussow were laughing, Schalk was quite taken aback at the humiliation, Others tried their best to sing along. Bismark remained passionate and sang within his own heart rendition throughout. Victor was disturbed, John Smit tried his best to keep his focus intact.
Shouldn’t let something like that unsettle one to such extent, it probably had far more effect at end of day than it should have.
15 Nov 2009, 12:45 pm
ja sucks schalk got hurt i really felt the boks were missing
juan smith big time he is great in those phyiscal battles
15 Nov 2009, 12:55 pm
#30 skopskiet: habana and brussow looked like they were about to laugh
15 Nov 2009, 13:30 pm
Ras Dumisani ia Tackler’s father…
15 Nov 2009, 13:34 pm
#19 skopskiet:
#30 skopskiet: I thought you said you didn’t see it?
Interesting…
15 Nov 2009, 13:48 pm
lol well done pearl rose
15 Nov 2009, 13:53 pm
nice to blame people without hearing their side of the story.well,i guess, what do you expect from a wannabe journalist like grant.
15 Nov 2009, 16:24 pm
Great stuff. Was really beginning to get my hate for the French back on, and it was our fault? Think this is why John Smit was unavailable for comment at the time of the last article, because he didn’t want to pass judgement till he knew who was at fault… PdV’s tongue was faster than his brain, as usual.
Notwithstanding, Imanol Harinordugay is pure, unadulterated, thugby scum.
15 Nov 2009, 16:42 pm
#34 Bagel: Hehe. Bowled – middle wicket. Nice one Bagel.
As for the performance; beauty is in the eye of the beholder. We are a diverse nation – who then determines what is right and what is wrong.
Leave the man be. This was his biggest crowd. And he loves rugby and the Bokke.
15 Nov 2009, 17:06 pm
Where is the accountability?
Yesterday Keo co za published here on this very blog the following:
“The French rolled out a trio of reggae stars to sing Nkosi Sikelel iAfrika, and what followed was a complete mockery of South Africa’s national anthem”
Today it is:
“According to Jo Maso the South African embassy chose the singer of South Africa’s national anthem in Toulouse on Friday night”
I think Keo needs to appologise, in the first place, that rag tag clown who ‘sang’ the Antem is no Johnny Clegg, what was the criterion governing his selection?
(I think I know,,,,)
15 Nov 2009, 17:15 pm
#37 SimiJan:
Watch the French Test against the Wallabies in June this year
One forward Picalomo was holding the head of James Horwill while Harinordugay was punching Horwill’s face into a mince.
It’s not the brutality here, it’s the cynical execution they practice, remember that guy Basten who broke Stuart Abbott leg?
Both got away with it, like Bakkie maiming A. Jones in the 2nd B&I Lions Test
15 Nov 2009, 17:21 pm
I’m the type of person who will tell the queen to shut up when our anthem comes on,i can sing our anthem backwards… But i stood up, put my hand over my heart heard the drunk rusta had no idea where he was and started laughing
15 Nov 2009, 17:23 pm
I wonder if this oke has heard of sarcasm?
15 Nov 2009, 17:29 pm
#30 skopskiet:
What lesson Skop?
It’s all a show, rest assure there are officials in place monitoring the faces of the wit boks one by one during the anthem singing and taking notes to ensure ‘compliance’
The REAL question is will that village fool PdV be held accounable for his faulse accusations of the French FFR?
I think he will NOT!
15 Nov 2009, 17:38 pm
#23 kaksioek:
Everything is relativistic said Einstein
I guess that applied to singing a National Anthem and the word ‘dignity’ too?
15 Nov 2009, 18:30 pm
#40 Hondo: True. I’d love to see the cause of Bakkies’ bleeding head and Victor’s eye injury. We play hard, they played dirty.
Did anyone else notice the French player, I forget who it was, trying some football antics? He was getting up after a ruck and grabbed Habana’s leg, pulled it into his head in an attempt to make it look like Habana kicked him. Surprised Barnes didn’t fall for it.
Still not sure about Steyn’s yellow card though…
Any idea on the penalty count?
15 Nov 2009, 18:32 pm
#45 SimiJan: 14….5…France
15 Nov 2009, 18:41 pm
#46 grant10: Thanks, thought it was a little more disproportionate than that…
15 Nov 2009, 19:39 pm
#45 SimiJan:
Dead right, Only dirty Boks toughies I ever seen were Adri Geldenhuis and James Dalton!
Bakkie is a brut force and a border case on occasions but no way near the French, their ex hooker Azam from Gloucester just been banned for 20 weeks in total last 6 months!
Penalty counts doesn’t tell you the story because when the Beast was penalised for unbinding or holding on the ball that doesn’t mean he played dirty!
15 Nov 2009, 19:40 pm
#46 grant10:
Wow!
15 Nov 2009, 20:14 pm
#19 skopskiet:
You need to be locked up for a year and be forced to listen to Chopin, Mozart, Vivaldi, Saint-Saens and Wagner.
I am aware of the fact most people do not appreciate classical music with today’s pop-culture, but at least you’ll know what music sounds like when a genius is behind it.
I know it has been proven that their ‘medicine’ slows the brain, yesterday was the first time I saw that for myself though.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All