digimag-banner

Saru angered at anthem

Oregan Hoskins has been in contact with the FFR regarding Friday night’s singing of the national anthem.

France manager Jo Maso told the media the South African embassy organised that reggae singer Ras Dumisani would sing the South African anthem in Toulouse, but Saru president Hoskins has written to the FFR expressing his unhappiness.

‘As a union we were shocked and horrified by the rendition of the anthem and I contacted the French Federation on Saturday morning to express our very grave concerns,’ Hoskins said in a statement. ‘The performance of the anthem is a treasured part of any rugby international and we take great pains in this country in the selection and rehearsal of artists to ensure that we appropriately honour all anthems.

‘Something went seriously awry in Toulouse and the upshot was that offence has been caused not just to the Springboks and Saru but to South Africans in general.

‘I congratulate France on their victory in the Test match, but look forward to their response on this important issue.’

Shoyab Casoo of the South African embassy in France denied Maso’s claims and told Die Rapport that the embassy had given a list of singers to the FFR as requested, but had not chosen a particular one.

‘We just gave them the names of people we’re aware of,’ said Casoo. ‘We didn’t know how well these people could sing.’

146 Responses to “Saru angered at anthem”

• 1. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

Blame your own embassy. They advised the FFR.

• 2. comaReply to this comment :

No comment

• 3. kaksioekReply to this comment :

Tickle me timbers! The kak is about to hit the fan.

• 4. Breakdown BoyReply to this comment :

I hate the French, they are a rugby nation that has to use all their dirty tricks to win a match. An they must be the most opinionated and arrogant nation in world rugby excluding the English). We played ****, but so did the ref and the French public and FFR.

• 5. BlindspotReply to this comment :

#1 TheTackler: “Your Embassy” I take it you are not a South African.

• 6. DwisReply to this comment :

He definately had a joint and took a drag on fridaynight before he sang.

• 8. katmanReply to this comment :

#5 Blindspot: No, he is in perpetual transit. Like a Darfur refugee, he is stuck between countries that he has either forsaken, or don’t want him.

• 9. StaalReply to this comment :

Eish!

Gaan kyk die ding op youtube…..

Eish….

• 11. DawnReply to this comment :

#1 TheTackler:

You really are a miserable old sod.

• 12. katmanReply to this comment :

#9 Staal: Dis fkken erg. En die twee gestremde drommers langs hom moet teruggaan na klei potjies en gras matjies maak.

• 13. flankaReply to this comment :

FFR has to take some responsibility alongside the embassy. The embassy provided a LIST of artists…what prompted the FFR to select this fool, and then prior to the game surely rehearsal must have been conducted to ensure the performer was up to scratch. and what was the point in having bongo players whose drums couldnt even be heard. No, we can blame the embassy but the FFR, as hosts to the boks, should have done their own homework to make sure the performer was suitable

• 14. flankaReply to this comment :

For example, if the Boks had never been to Toulouse and somebody in south africa recommended they stay in a particular hotel in (which unbeknown to them is a rundown roach infested shack of a backpackers), wouldnt the hosts take responsibility to rescue the situation and ensure their hosts are diverted to 5 star accomodation. A normal host wouldnt just stand by and say “well, your embassy recommended the backpackers so we’ll take you there”

• 15. GorillaReply to this comment :

#1 TheTackler:

Tackler you Pilchard. He was actually called in by the French Rugby brass who were putting the gloss on the match – Not the “SA Embassy” – Once again your dismal grasp on the facts is clouding your already jaundiced view to life in general.

• 16. kaksioekReply to this comment :

#11 Dawn: Why? He speaks the truth.

• 17. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

#15 Gorilla:

Actually I also read it was the embassy

• 18. katmanReply to this comment :

Have Julius Malema and Floyd Shivambu released a joint statement yet, in which they lament the racist treatment dished out to Ras Dumisani? Because I think it’s CRIMINAL that a black man – a peaceful black man with genuine dreads and believable empathy for his suffering brethren – can be ridiculed by a colonialist media machine with clear, rightwing motives. I call on Julius to call on the ANCYL to call on the youth to call on South Africa to boycott all non-reggae music for a week so that we can bring the racist DA, SABC and Internet to its knees. And we must give Ras Dumisani R60 000 (we can use the R60 000 we were going to give Caster Semenya, because after her You photo shoot and Guardian interview she must have money).

• 19. SonitoReply to this comment :

Anyhow, I cant wait for the return game in South Africa. I think the French can expect a rather warm reception.

• 20. katmanReply to this comment :

#19 Sonito: Yep. We’re going to let Patricia Lewis sing their anthem.

Perhaps as a duet along with Thys die Bosveldklong.

• 21. jonnymainReply to this comment :

Of course the French must take their share of the blame, but is it really that important at the end of the day? What happens immediately after the amateur Pavarottis have belted out their anthem is what international rugby is all about. This is just a smokescreen to deflect the media from the real issues.

• 22. SonitoReply to this comment :

#11 Dawn:

That he is! It must be horrible to live your life as a bitter old man. All his comments are actuallt quite embarrassing and childish. Can you imagine living your life where the greatest joy in your life is waiting for the sprinboks to loose and then ragging boks fans. I sort of feel sorry for him. Tackler, my advice to you is too find a Girl Friend.

• 23. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

ok, someone send me a Youtube link

• 24. BoutsReply to this comment :

#17 chch – welcome back Laulala: Did you read the article above? The embassy said they were asked for a list of artists that they know of. As Oregan says, it is the job of the French Union to determine if the singer would do justice to a visiting nation.

This was outright an insult on South Africa.

• 25. BoutsReply to this comment :

#22 chch – welcome back Laulala: Don’t you know how to use the search function?

• 26. SonitoReply to this comment :

To be fair, the aussies have been butchering our Anthem for years.

• 27. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

#23 Bouts: ok

#24 Bouts:
    You must be new here, I thought that someone else could do it for a change.

• 28. SonitoReply to this comment :

#19 katman:

Yeah maybe with some grade 1 on triangles as a backup band.

• 29. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

Our anthem is bollocks to start with, the versus are so meaningless that lines can be sung in any order. Everyone only knows the first 3 or 4 versus too

• 30. jonnymainReply to this comment :

#22 chch – welcome back Laulala: apend the following to the youtube homepage: watch?v=beg0-kMN3fM

Hilarious! By the time he reaches Die Stem it really does fall apart!

• 31. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

#28 chch – welcome back Laulala:

Actually before half of it became Maori our anthem was complete shite

• 32. kevin wReply to this comment :

The embassy gets asked to recommend and their response is … “we just gave a list of names, we didn’t know well they could sing”

And these are our representatives around the world. Thank goodness a replacement team doctor or physio wasn’t required last minute. “Bok ends up paralysed, embassy says they never bothered to check his credentials”

• 33. ufoReply to this comment :

once again all the anti-South Africa brigade (residents or foreigners) jump on the bandwagon cause here’s ANOTHER lekker excuse to dis OUR country…

anyone who thinks this is not a big deal just answer me this…

how badly would you be blasting SARU if we put up such an incompetent to sing God Save the Queen during the Lions tour…?? Or The NZ and Aus anthems during the 3N…??

You would have been calling for heads to roll because South Africa had embarrassed out guests and ourselves on the world stage… We’d never have heard the end of it…!!

So why was it okay for the Frogs to dish this **** up to us…?
    “The SA Embassy provided a list…” is no excuse…
    Who ever puts on a singing performance without a sound-check or dress rehearsal…???

Well done Oregan for taking this up…

It was a disgrace and I found it deeply offensive…

• 34. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

#29 jonnymain:

wow, that seemed intentional, you just can’t sing that badly trying not to

• 35. mbaxman93Reply to this comment :

#1 TheTackler: is times like these when you really need to shut up man

• 36. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

#32 ufo:

Actually, I would not be too worried.

But I do see the point about your anthem

• 37. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

#32 ufo:
    and I don’t think that many would be calling for heads to roll

• 38. kevin wReply to this comment :

#32 ufo: Who would you recommend they ask for a candidate, if not the South African embassy?

Why hasn’t our embassy provided the list? They probably checked the credentials on the list and he came out tops.

It seems the French have stuck to their story, yet the singer and the embassy have changed their tunes.

• 39. mbaxman93Reply to this comment :

#32 ufo: imagine if this had happened to god save the queen . half of SARU would probably be fired by now

• 40. ufoReply to this comment :

#35 chch – welcome back Laulala:

C’mon Chch… you guys get upset if people ‘disrespect’ the Haka…!! Generalising I know… maybe you weren’tbut a helluva lot of Kiwis were…

BTW… I don’t count you as a saffa hater… I’m talking about fools like Tackler and his ilk…

• 41. kevin wReply to this comment :

This is another Caster Semenya … there will be a whole lot of mud slinging. And then it will emerge that a highly paid representative or department representing South Africa was incompetent.

• 42. pietskeadeReply to this comment :

#1 TheTackler: Your embassy too..

• 43. ufoReply to this comment :

#36 chch – welcome back Laulala:

of course they would… these bigots and “When We’s” look for any excuse to dis South Africa and SA Rugby… and go on about “When We” were in charge in the good old days…

#37 kevin w:

get real… the FFR asks for a list… our Embassy provides one… Do you expect our diplomats should hold sound checks and dress-rehearsals on behalf of the FFR… Don’t be stupid…

The FFR got the list.. THEY should have made the effort to listen to the candidates and pick the most appropriate one…

• 44. ufoReply to this comment :

#38 mbaxman93:

exactly… even if they weren’t people would be screaming for them to be…

• 45. jonnymainReply to this comment :

#32 ufo: God Save the Queen is only sung when playing England, but I get your point. Most people, me included, will admit that it was disrespectful but not worthy of the coverage it continues to get. Watch it again and try not to laugh this time. Habs looked like he was about to burst out laughing on the spot!

• 46. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

#39 ufo:

The Haka is a different story but our national anthem is not sung with the passion of yours

• 47. chch – welcome back LaulalaReply to this comment :

If our Anthem was new and I read those words I would laugh. Not as lame as the glorifying war US **** thing but still lame

• 48. kevin wReply to this comment :

#42 ufo: how many south african artists do you reckon are performing in France? I’d love to see the list.

how many people at the FFR speak English, Afrikaans, Xhosa etc. as first languages?

I’d be careful who you call a stupid bigot, young Julius!

• 49. SonitoReply to this comment :

#41 ufo:

Just ignore idiots like Tackler. Most of the time its just idiots who have immigrated and are trying find any reason to justify their decision.

• 50. SidewinderReply to this comment :

Surely the SA embassy was asked to compose a list of “suitable artists”? If that is the case, the French would assume that only those with musical credentials were chosen, not any old busker from the street corner. It wasn’t really their place to second-guess the musical tastes of the SA ambassador.

The blame lies more with the embassy, since, in spite of being the “King of Reggae” in SA, Dumisani clearly wasn’t a suitable candidate to sing the anthem and should never had been added to the list.

• 51. CheetahboytjieReply to this comment :

I have the solution…

The Boks should take some-one with them to sing the anthem every time they play abraud. The bala brothers, jannie moolman, bok van blerk, steve… any one that we all know can sing.

• 52. kevin wReply to this comment :

#49 Sidewinder: Wow … someone who can think clearly!

• 53. ufoReply to this comment :

#46 kevin w:

I am careful about who I call stupid… and very seldom do it… Hence… your name on the list…

Look English is the language of the IRB so don’t come with some BS about the FFR not speaking English…

#47 Sonito: Spot on bud…

#48 Sidewinder: All embassies around the world have registers of their citizens working/living in those countries… if the FFR wants a list of singers in Toulouse some admin person will print a list from the database and send it through… It’s up the the FFR to pick a suitable candidate.

It is not diplomatic or politick for the Embassy to promote anyone in particular over the rest… so they would simply hand over a list and the FFR should have done their homework and chosen the most suitable singer..

• 54. katmanReply to this comment :

They should have asked Supersport’s Xola Ntshinga and Matthew Pearce to sing the anthem. After their Requiem rendition on last week’s Boot ‘n All, no one can doubt their ability. And they were right there on Friday.

• 55. ufoReply to this comment :

#46 kevin w:

and BTW… you don’t have to know the language to hear if someone is singing in tune or has forgotten the words…

that’s why music is so international…

• 56. fish out of waterReply to this comment :

typical government trying to pass the buck.

• 57. nama1Reply to this comment :

#21 Sonito:
    He actually has a harem.

Miss. Palm and her five daughters.

• 58. kevin wReply to this comment :

#54 ufo: You grasping at straws mate. You gonna get Castered just like Julius amnd the liars at ASA!

Embassy provided the list … they are the representatives of South Africa in France.

• 59. SidewinderReply to this comment :

#51 ufo: If all the embassy had to do was access a database, I’m sure the French Immigration Office could have done it themselves. The French policy of allowing embassies to choose their own list of artists is supposed to be an act of courtesy to the visiting team. It’s an act of courtesy because it allows the embassy significant say in who sings their national anthem. It’s simple really. The embassy was asked to provide a list of suitable artists. The embassy responded by providing a list of suitable artists except for one tone-deaf and stoned rastaman.

• 60. ufoReply to this comment :

#56 kevin w:

you’re a joke dude… me grasping at straws…???

What the hell do Caster Semenye, Julius Melema or ASA have to do with this thread…? You’ve brought them up… and you’re talking about grasping at straws…

I called you a fool…

you keep proving it…

• 61. ufoReply to this comment :

#56 kevin w:

you’re a joke dude… me grasping at straws…???

What the heck do Caster, Julius or ASA have to do with this thread…? You’ve brought them up… and you’re talking about grasping at straws…

I called you a fool…

you keep proving it…

• 62. ufoReply to this comment :

#57 Sidewinder:

so the Embassy must pay for a studio, get all the candidates in… get a group of diplomats to take a day off work and go and lilsten tot hem all sing to hear if they actually can sing in tune and know the words of the anthem…?

Sheesh dude… get real…

The the FFR organiser’s job… They must have a had a sound check… Why didn’t they can the man there and then…? Why did they let it go to the actual match and anthem…???

• 63. ufoReply to this comment :

#60 ufo:

That’s the FFR organiser’s job…

• 64. katmanReply to this comment :

While this Anthemgate is a huge scandal and embarrassment for us, I might just have a plan for spinning it in our favour. I’m going to suggest that we turn all future stadium anthem performances into comedy routines. It must become our “signature” – a way at poking fun at the so-serious nationalism displayed by other countries. My suggestion for the Italy game is Casper De Vries. And for Ireland we should try and get Manto Tshabalala-Msimang.

• 65. nama1Reply to this comment :

#32 ufo:
    Agree.

I’m trying to look at it in another way. Maybe Ras did us a favour. It seems as if most bloggers, who I presume are passionate rugby lovers, took offence to his rendition of the anthem. Hopefully they will now try and show him how it should be sung next year when we play at home again.

Perhaps we will see the stands full of, mostly white mind you, spectators singing ALL THE VERSES of the anthem UIT VOLLE BORS

• 66. kevin wReply to this comment :

#59 ufo: It was everybody but ASA’s fault until the truth came out.

I’ll draw you pictures next time.

• 67. SonitoReply to this comment :

#56 kevin w:

At the end of the day it was the French rugby unions job to organise a singer of the national athemn not the SA embassy. So there is no passing the buck here. Even if the Sa embassy gave them a list of the worst singers in the world it is still the French rugby unions job to make sure the person is up to the job.

Do you not interview and do background checks on people before hiring somebody for a job?

• 68. Golden BoyReply to this comment :

#49 Cheetahboytjie: not one of those u mentioned can actually sing….but I get your point.

• 69. SidewinderReply to this comment :

#59 ufo: You fail to understand that Dumisani is already an established artist who has released albums. The problem is that reggae doesn’t lend itself to the singing of national anthems, especially if the anthem requires any vocal range to speak of. The embassy should have realised this before recommending Dumisani.

And who knows what happened at the sound-check. It’s quite possible that Dumisani only had to sing the opening lines of Nkosi and never got to the high notes of Die Stem. And even if he had, what should the FFR have done about it – start a diplomatic row by telling the embassy that their choice is rubbish and should be replaced?

• 70. ufoReply to this comment :

#63 nama1:

Perhaps we will… but don’t hold your breath…

was going to say earlier… the guys who saw nothing wrong with it obviously don’t know the words or tune themselves… and obviously never sing it a rugby match either…

• 71. kevin wReply to this comment :

It’s like the Americans putting Marilyn Manson on a recommended list; then blaming the host country for picking him.

• 72. SidewinderReply to this comment :

#62 nama1: If it will help drown out Ras Dumisani’s voice, I will certainly sing it “uit volle bors”.

• 73. ufoReply to this comment :

#67 Sidewinder:

so you’re saying that as an established recording artist some diplomat in France should have assumed and made the call that the Rasta Brother can’t sing…??? On what basis could they have made such a decision?

Come on, it’s got nothing to do with reggae… Do you think Lucky Dube (RIP) would have butchered our anthem like that…? He would have blown the socks off everyone in the crowd…!

• 74. ufoReply to this comment :

#69 kevin w:

even Marilyn Manson sings in tune and I can assure you he would know the words…

whatever genre of music they come from American artists take their anthem extremely seriously and sing it as it should be sung…

• 75. SidewinderReply to this comment :

#70 ufo: I think we’re being side-tracked here. The point is that PdV, Hoskins and Saru begin to mouth off before they ascertain the facts. That’s just as embarrassing as the rendition of the anthem. Face it, we’re at least partly to blame for the fiasco, and no amount of anger and indignation is going to change that. Such knee-jerk reactions are fast becoming part of the South African syndrome.

• 76. kevin wReply to this comment :

#72 ufo: The point is that an effective embassy would not risk embarrassing their country by suggesting the WRONG artist.

• 77. DawnReply to this comment :

Ras rocks!

• 78. kevin wReply to this comment :

And i’ll say it again … where is the list?

• 79. oodlesReply to this comment :

#71 ufo: At lease we all have heard of Marilyn Manson (class act actually).

Think a lot of fuss over nothing.

In my opinion the best solution is to get rid of singers leading the anthem. A band playing each respective countries anthem, the players can belt out their lungs and the crowd can join in. I’m sick of the tempo of anthems being messed with to be honest, all for some artist’ largese of a song.

• 80. SonitoReply to this comment :

If the French Rugby Union actually gave a dam they would of issued an appology after the game. They could of even stated that SA embassy recommended that person but it was still there resposibility to enusre that the athemns were performed to the correct standard.

• 81. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#74 Dawn: Hahahahahahaha! You’re killing me with the Ras thing.

Hi there Dawn. Howe are you. It’s good to be back. You must tell me all the skinner that has been going on here on the blog. I see some new names.

There is a nice balance. It’s good to see.

• 82. ufoReply to this comment :

#73 Sidewinder:

Sorry bud… can’t see why we’re to blame… but can agree to disagree with you on this one…

Such knee-jerk reactions have for some time been part of the anti-SA syndrome too… People are very quick to jump on any bandwagon that shows SA in a bad light…

But you are right… knee-jerk reactions from the left or the right knee :wink: don’t advance the debate…

• 83. ufoReply to this comment :

#77 oodles:

and a very intelligent guy…

the only person on the planet who in the search for solutions in the aftermath Columbine suggested that they actually talk to the kids…

• 84. kevin wReply to this comment :

#77 oodles: Yes he is a class act; but clearly you fail to see why his band would cause an uproar and not be recommended by the US embassy.

• 85. DawnReply to this comment :

#78 rossoneri:

Whodat.

Skinner on this blog needs 12 pages!

Sigh.

One bad Ras damages the image of the whole movement.

• 86. kevin wReply to this comment :

#81 ufo: you are priceless man!

• 87. DawnReply to this comment :

Uit die blou van ons hemel.

• 88. ufoReply to this comment :

#74 kevin w:

kevin you’re missing the point… It’s not up to a suit (or dress) in an embassy to decide who is or is not a good singer… Those things are never left up to personal opinion… it’s up to the requestor to choose the most appropriate candidate…

they don’t have a musical attache who is up on all musical genres from classical to beat box…

• 89. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#82 Dawn: True. And 12 pages is too much, even for me.

Did Ras really sing so bad? I missed the anthems on Friday, but heard the SA players faces were priceless.

• 90. DonBillyReply to this comment :

The singer was too stoned to decently sing. Don’t pay the artists in advance…

• 91. oodlesReply to this comment :

#81 kevin w: Kevie you not on da same page mon. France played SA not USA. Also I never said Manson or his band. I inferred he is known (I have never heard of your rastaman).

He was funny ;)

• 92. ufoReply to this comment :

#83 Dawn:

Hey Dawn… :grin:

You’re obviously talking about De Wet Ras coaching kicking in Australia!! :lol:

• 93. DawnReply to this comment :

#86 rossoneri:

Like I said elsewhere …

Ras is lucky the anthem ended when it did cos Schalk Burger was within an inch of moering him to death.

• 94. ufoReply to this comment :

What was funny, was Schalk turning around surreptitiously… to not be too obvious… to check out who the hell had sung the anthem…

• 95. kevin wReply to this comment :

Cool … I concede.

The elected South African representatives in a foreign country could in no way have ensured the correct person was chosen to sing the country’s national anthem.

Please let me never lose my passport in France; i’ll probably be sent to some backyard criminal because they never checked his credentials.

• 96. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#87 DonBilly: I just saw what happened on Friday with the anthem on Youtube.

I think you’re right. He does look stoned. But despite that. It’s clear that he cannot sing at all.

• 97. caneReply to this comment :

#90 Dawn:

Imagine the Headline………..

“Schulk Eye-Gougers Singer, 34 seconds before Kickoff.”

• 98. BeastReply to this comment :

Funny, the “Zolkop” and his “Jjommas” are getting a lot of stick (as they should, it was shocking), but our performance was even worse. It was a mistake to choose all the big-guns. We should have rested them all and allowed all the fringe players to go and proof themselves.

• 99. katmanReply to this comment :

#77 oodles: I agree – no more artist interpretations of national anthems. I’m sick of so-called recording artists treating the national anthem like the preliminary rounds of Germiston’s Got Talent. Trying to outdo and impress with vocal contortions and tempo flexibility like a poor man’s Mariah Carey on heat.

The best anthems are the ones where people can comfortably keep up with the melody, range and tempo, and therefore feel comfortable in belting it out. Just think “Land Of Our Fathers” in a packed Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. Why would you want anything other than that? The real gooseflesh element is added by the people, not by some wannabe diva with a point to prove. Or some ****** rasta, fresh from the bong.

• 100. DawnReply to this comment :

#95 Beast:

Ras lost that game for us.

• 101. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#94 cane: LoL! Some of those players looked like they wanted to pack out laughing.

What is killing me is that Ras aparently said his feelings are hurt that everyone didn’t love his version.

• 102. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#97 Dawn: Ras is a powerful man.

• 103. DawnReply to this comment :

#93 rossoneri:

Are you Italian?

• 104. DawnReply to this comment :

#96 katman:

What is the bong?

• 105. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#95 Beast: “Zolkop” and “tjommas”! Hahahahaha. priceless.

• 106. BeastReply to this comment :

#97 Dawn: I blame the Tooth Fairy for ensisting on playing frontrow “Bring on the magic”!

• 107. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#100 Dawn: Not at all. I just like AC Milan. You have not figured it out yet Dawn? I’ll mail you then.

• 108. Mike BrassReply to this comment :

All those blaming the Embassy are missing the point. The Embassy merely provides a list of known singers in the country. It is up to the host country to vet those singers and ensure they sing to the appropriate standard and form.

Imagine the outcry if the reverse was done in SA. Would you be blaming the foreign embassy or SARU? I thought so – SARU.

So quit whinging and moaning. The blame lies squarely with the French authorities in this instance.

• 109. kevin wReply to this comment :

#106 Mike Brass: Yes, but would the British Embassy provide Gary Glitter’s name to sing if England was playing?????

Don’t forget it is also an opportunity for the embassy to promote a South African.

• 110. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

I think this has become very funny.

The boks did this to the wallabies a couple of years ago. They did not have a singer for “Australia fair” but had one for their own anthem.

Is this what they call Karma. All this hot air from SARU is just them saying “I am not the one”

• 111. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

#105 Mike Brass:

So does the host nation give the singers singing lessons if they are not up to scratch.

You dont find useless singers and forward them to France…unless if one is useless themselves.

Its the embassys fault they the ones who forwarded them the names who should or might know the words. What the heck has France got to do with knowing the words to a multi lingual anthem.

PLease!!

The french can hardly speak english much like a boermeisie from bloemfontein!!

• 112. caneReply to this comment :

How is it France’s fault, the Saffa selected to sing the Anthem was stoned?

Ease up on the Froggies Okes.

A bit like the Casters saga, everyone elses fault.

• 113. flankaReply to this comment :

#107 wallabie.: would rather have not had a singer than ras

• 114. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

#105 Mike Brass:

Noone else would complain. Everyone else is professional for one everyone else wont foward a stoned rastafarin…secondly nobody else will blame the anthem singer for their loss.

Just in RSA!!!

• 115. flankaReply to this comment :

#111 wallabie.: you’re confabulating…making content up with no basis…who is blaming the loss on the anthem?????????? it’s just too juicy a story for you to resist creating a lie

• 116. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

#18 Sonito:

Its not like RSA has not done to others!!

• 117. SonitoReply to this comment :

#113 wallabie.:

We would never stoop that low.

• 118. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

#112 flanka:

Speak to your one and only Matfield and Naasty Botha.
    “the anthem affected our performance”.

To leave it to the French to decide on who sings a multi-lingual anthem when they can hardly speak more than one language themselves is just too poor.

• 119. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

#114 Sonito:

Is it because RSA is really low and cant get lower????

• 120. danebReply to this comment :

ras for president , c’mon guys the guy gave his best , f*ucked up , said sorry . maybe he’ll do better nxt time ..

• 121. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

#117 daneb:

Give him another chance!!

• 122. rossoneriReply to this comment :

#117 daneb: I have enourmous respect for our National Anthem, and really Ras messed it up big time.

But the truth is there is nothing we can do about it now. Have a laugh, (because it really was kinda funny if you have a sense of humour), move on, and make sure it doesn’t happen again.

Ras must be told the truth about his singing. Hurt feelings or no.

• 123. SonitoReply to this comment :

Do yourselves a favour and go check out cape talks website. Ras sings the anthem again live on air. He is terrible.

• 124. DawnReply to this comment :

#118 wallabie.:

Disappear.

You weren’t around for yonks.

What the hell you doing here today.

• 125. comaReply to this comment :

BWHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!

Just watch it three times over again, its bloooody funny, it’s ****** hilarious, hehe, lol, one of the funniest things i’ve seen in years!!!

Missed it on Friday night, only tuned in five minutes after kick-off, after struggling with the decoder at the party I was attending, man, was that funny *****, hehe.

Hell, did no-one listen to this oak before-hand? How did he get it right to end up on that spot? That was his biggest gig and final hoora, all in one night, man this oak is a legend.

Hahaaaaa, I just ripped myself another arsehole.

• 126. DrexelReply to this comment :

Naas Botha blames defeat on badly sung anthem. :)
    What a crybaby

• 127. SonitoReply to this comment :

#117 wallabie.:

No Wallas, its because we love and respect Australians too much! 8:

• 128. SheriffReply to this comment :

Hulle moes daai so-called rastafarian se oë toegeslaan het.

Is hy mal in sy daggakop?

• 129. diggerReply to this comment :

Truth be told it all kinder took me by surprise. I wasn’t sure if the guys was serious or not and by the time he was halfway through I didn’t know what to feel. I felt slightly annoyed but today I want to say thank you Ras Dumisani for making us laugh. Rugby is a just sport and this was a right royal &*^% up. Today though I have just been cracking up everytime Ras has been interviewed on different radio stations and sung again and again and again! How can one be angry at the man, after all rastafarian is peace!

Thanks Ras, you united us as a nation. For once we are not at each others’ throats blaming players, coach, transformation for the loss. For once we lost and I have still managed to laugh heartily. Thanks Ras.

• 130. SheriffReply to this comment :

#126 digger:

You’re right, it was so diabolically strange that one did not know whether to cry or laugh.

But then we needed to remind ourselves what the occasion is/was.

Intl rugby.

Digger. There have been huge embarrassments in SA rugby. This one is right up there. This is how black politics work in SA: think of anything k*k- ok then mention this to the anc – then sit back and wait for them to praise it.

Zim people are probably one of most politically correct nations on the face of the earth; and look where it got them.
    Political correctness is the way of cowards and slaves.

• 131. diggerReply to this comment :

#127 Sheriff:
    I hear you man, but I sometimes feel we are so angry and self righteous in this country whilst both sides do have a point. The extremists seem to reign. Anyway amongst all of this emerges Ras Dumisani who is unfazed, doesn’t make any excuses, says sorry but still sings away … for once we are all united in condemning his singing, but I gotta admire what I can only describe as his sense of being. Isn’t it nice that this thread didn’t have the word quota, racist. Once again thanks Ras, tomorrow we resume the blame game, today though we laughed.

• 132. SheriffReply to this comment :

#128 digger:

Let Ras Dumisani sing the anthem during the 2010 WC.

Lets remind the world just how primitive we can be.

Im gonna quote a gentleman by the name of Prince Charles Windsor: “Let’s commit to EXCELLENCE, and forget about elitism”

Im tired of this sick sense of whats right and wrong. Julius Malema has built NUTHIN’ not even a shack, yet wants to be the leading voice in this country about whats right and wrong.

Your president then come out and affirm that. I mean…

• 133. charoReply to this comment :

seems to me dumisani has too much family money and …clearly…insufficient talent.
    any rich kid can go off to paris and try his luck at being a star…if the $$$$ pay for the studios.
    and his drummers are simply leeches …no other option in life other than begging on the street corner

• 134. SheriffReply to this comment :

#130 charo:

I can assure you that closer investigation will reveal that he is related to some or other anc politician.

This is freaky. I typed this 1st par and then checked out the article on news24 dot com.

“Ras Dumisani is connected by blood to KZN royalty.”

Is that royalty for you?

The other tragedy of course is that the French Rugby Union obviously paid him (in euros) for his efforts.

Lost Generation 1: Those without education
    Lost Generation 2: The white racists who will not change
    Lost Generation 3: anc and those who think like them

• 135. SheriffReply to this comment :

Take it easy fellas.

• 136. charoReply to this comment :

#131 Sheriff:

exactly.

spoiled “previously disadvantaged” brat.

• 137. diggerReply to this comment :

#129 Sheriff:
    Well it seems you just wont let it go so here goes. Has anyone ever told the Jews to get over it and move on with the genocide? The answer is no, so why is it that white people in SA feel they can just tell the black population that they should just move on. If you ask me why Malema is doing so well, it is because moderate black people like Mandela extended a hand of reconciliation and all they got is return was, look its all over lets just get on with it. Lets all hang onto the loot we own and from now on lets pretend the past never happened.

If the white population showed some remorse and were proactive in showing their sincerity in building one nation then Malema would never had a chance. Instead, you get white people whining because little Johnny could not get a place to study medicine at UCT. You conveniently forget that little Johnny was afforded all the comforts he needed to study. Whilst on the other hand Mandla’s whose mother is a domestic worker firstly had to catch one of those dreaded taxis (which in your opinion should be banned) to school every morning, there were no working labs, his teachers had Bantu education. Looking into the future should Mandla and his family condemned into a life of being maids and gardeners. Likewise is it fair for Johnny to have his dreams of being s doctor dashed. How about they swop places for a while and then make a judgement after each one has walked a mile in the others. If more white people spoke more local languages, if more of them bothered to find out about the culture of black people and if more stopped telling the people to get over it.

Look I am moderate black person and am big fan of the Mandela way and empowering people. Yes the ANC government has let us down, but must we as a people follow the example the by Malema. I think not, but as long as white people continue to snub the moderates, the extremists like Malema will have a field day. See why I loved Ras Dumisani, dude was just funny.

• 138. charoReply to this comment :

#134 digger:

you seem to miss the point of comparison.
    if “little johnny” had grown up in some 1st world country, he would have a similar lifestyle without being compared with the poor black kid.

he would not be seen as “advantaged”

i live and work in a black african country.
    it is harder for a kid here to get a medical education than it is in sa.
    mostly there is no power, clean water or basic transport infrastructure.

so…stop whinging, you have inherited the most advanced country on the continent.

be thankful and stop demanding the whites apologise.

• 139. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

If you loathe the zonked Zuluboy Ras Dumisani, you’re definitely a Rasist.

• 140. HondoReply to this comment :

#105 Mike Brass:
    Doesn’t seemed that the French Rugby Union will bother to drag itself into the debate and rightly so.
    When the SA Embassy compiled a list of singers and handed it to the host country, it means S. African government officials MADE A RECOMMENDATION of COMPETETNT SINGERS FOR THE OCCASION!
    You may not heard of such an ethics before so I absolve you

• 141. diggerReply to this comment :

#135 charo:
    And you my friend get prepared for a Malema presidency. Look I don’t want Malema to be a president as much as you do, but I put what I think is a reasonable arguement and you tell me to stop whinging without pointing out where exactly I whinge. You do point out though that little Johnny deserves to have a lifestyle befitting someone in a first world country, whilst living in a country where at least a third of the population live in conditions similar to third world countries. How do you propose to change all of this … besides telling the natives to get over it.

• 142. charoReply to this comment :

#138 digger:

gm digger.
    what precisely do you expect the white populace to do further?

they have handed over political power
    left a strong infrastucture
    pay exhorbitant taxes (for little return)

africans have been in control for 15 years yet you still want the whities to do something about the dire situation.
    i feel as bad as you for the plight of the majority of south africans.
    but, to say the whities deserve malema is stretching it.
    the majority of whites, indians and coloureds simply want to get on with their lives and improve conditions for their families – for this they do not deserve to be threatened with a malema govt.
    do yourself a favour, buy an airticket to your average african country, spend a week there, and then come and tell me how badly africans in sa have it.

• 143. diggerReply to this comment :

#139 charo:
    Let me put it differently, I don’t believe America under Obama is more peaceful than under George Bush. America will continue to push for American interests. The difference is in the manner in which Obama addresses people. Heck we even loved Bill Clinton as he sent several bombing missions into the Middle East.

So ask yourself, the manner in which Bush behaved made it easy for the extremists to recruit suicide bombers just like the whole, I am doing you a favour so get on with it attitude our white population favours makes it easy for Malema to become popular. If you read what I was saying you would have seen that I do not support Malema, I can see why others do.

I am actually from Africa as they say here. So I am well aware of the plight of black people on the rest of the continent. I am also well aware how corrupt governments have continuously looted their countries. When everything is looted and nothing else is left, the next target will be the white owned farms/businesses/mines. It is as much in your interests as in mine to ensure that this does not happen. For you, you need to show the masses that the white population has the interests of the country at heart. More white people speaking fluent Xhosa, more white people actually paying a visit to a black township, school and seeing how the other side live. Sitting back and saying, get on with it, you are better than your black brothers in Africa is akin to putting your head in the sand and hoping that in 20 years AIDS kills of half the population.

• 144. charoReply to this comment :

#140 digger:

we could discuss the semantics until the cows come home.

you are saying whities should engage more with blacks.

i am saying the sa govt should worry less about shiny bmws and range rovers and fat bank accounts and actually do something about service delivery.

it is my guess that the average township resident is currently more pissed off with the anc than the “indifferent” whitie

• 145. diggerReply to this comment :

#141 charo:
    You hit he nail on the head. The average township resident is more pissed of with the ANC for now. That leaves the ANC with one option, pass the blame onto someone else. No one makes a easier target than the whitie who inflicted Apartheid on the blacks. You and I know better but I am in the minority of black people. The signs are there, it is a war of the hearts to put it simply. The whites need just to show more compassion and it will be that much harder for the Malema’s to have such an impact.

• 146. charoReply to this comment :

#142 digger:

the problem with whities showing more compassion and engaging more at township level is the obvious one of crime.
    the example of the young clinical psychologist killed recently in alex makes whities even more nervous of entering these areas.

anyway, nice discussing this with you.

have a hectic week and need to get off this blog.

About the author

Grant has written 1933 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator