Bulls’ Boks for BaaBaas
The Bulls’ Springbok trio of Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez have been selected for the Barbarians to face the All Blacks.
They will be joined by the Australia duo of Matt Giteau and Rocky Elsom as well as Wales’ Jamie Roberts and Andy Powell. The match is scheduled 5 December at Twickenham.
All Blacks winger Joe Rokocoko will swap his black jumper for the famous white and black hoops as he lines up against his team-mates.

November 20th, 2009 at 7:52 am
habana is a WP dragon dimwit!
November 20th, 2009 at 7:55 am
There is always space for ice cream, even after a heavy meal.
In this case there is always space for pounds, fatigue and all the other excuses go out the window
November 20th, 2009 at 7:58 am
We’re so fatigued… there’s too much rugby in the year…
but hey…! Some extra cash is enough to srping-clean the cobwebs…!!
November 20th, 2009 at 8:06 am
Everyone has been complaining about fatique then the guys who need the rest the most opt in for another match a week before super 14 training starts – I dont get it…
November 20th, 2009 at 8:06 am
So much for the ‘too many games’ theory.
November 20th, 2009 at 8:10 am
if vicky’s got enough energy to play the baabaas game, they should make him play the full 80 against italy.
November 20th, 2009 at 8:11 am
#6 the peanut gallery: actually, no. bekker is playing better than him at the moment.
November 20th, 2009 at 8:16 am
#4 steeve: Completely correct – fatigue must really not be an excuse now
November 20th, 2009 at 8:22 am
They’re mos tired. What now? Money?
November 20th, 2009 at 8:23 am
The 3 guys that need a rest the most.
When I saw the 3 names in the headline I thought it was going to say they had been sent home due to fatigue
November 20th, 2009 at 8:31 am
but this happens virtually every year… we’re too tired to take the EOY tour seriously…
but then they play a baabaas game or an exhibition game which is usually tagged on at the last minute and not part of the original planning…
thing is… when players are selected for the Boks they become our elite players… and if science tells us that rugby players can only play 23 to 28 games a year… then the Boks calandar should be used to fill up their playing slots FIRST… so if there are 10 or so tests a year the provinces and franchises should only be allowed to use their elite players in 13 to 18 games… and they must work their player resources to achieve this…
otherwise, what is the point of having elite players if they are not up to play in the elite games (Tests)…????
November 20th, 2009 at 8:59 am
#11 ufo:
Very true. Maybe it doesn’t even have to happen every year. Just when S.A.rugby know that the team have a tough, busy schedule, and/or when their is a important series or tournement aproaching.
November 20th, 2009 at 9:00 am
#12 BASH!:
There=Their
November 20th, 2009 at 9:24 am
#11 ufo: I agree with all the posts here, if we have 10 or 12 elite players contracted to the Springboks then that should be the priority. If a player needs game time then they should be loaned back to their / a franchise to get the necessary time on the park. This is nonsense though that all the bleating has been about player burn out but the players are able to play another game against the All Blacks – shows where the players priorities lie though so why should we as the public accept the kind of performance we watched last Friday night?
November 20th, 2009 at 9:27 am
Ridiculous and short-sighted of these guys to play this game.
Shouldnt have been allowed unless they were guarenteed a few games off at the start of the S14.
November 20th, 2009 at 9:52 am
#9 Staal: Money takes the tiredness away everytime.
November 20th, 2009 at 10:16 am
#11 ufo: Well said. With that figure the provinces would have something to work from and should get heavily fined if a Bok player is used for more than say 15 games
November 20th, 2009 at 10:30 am
yes they are tired and need a rest, but this is just a glorified practice run with some extra cash on offer. As long as they don’t get injured, all will be fine.
November 20th, 2009 at 12:33 pm
What would pee me off even more is if they perform better for the BaaBaas than for the Boks!!!
November 20th, 2009 at 1:30 pm
#4 steeve:
The only guys proclaiming ‘fatigue’ are the ones that havent won on tour yet. Its a fairly simple correlation.
November 20th, 2009 at 1:32 pm
Why is it only the Boks that get to complain about fatigue?
Smit, Beast, Bissie and a host of the Sharks contingent didnt play from the CC semi fall out (including the other teams layers). Only players that might have a right to complain are Bakkies, FdP, Matfield, Brussouw and Steyn . The rest need to stop lying and you supporters need to stop making these excuses; you lost to France, it happens. Now here’s hoping you smoke Italy
November 20th, 2009 at 1:37 pm
Can someone please explain to me why the Baabaas’ are playing the All Blacks? Is it because the ABs are currently ranked number 1?
November 20th, 2009 at 1:38 pm
#22 Shane_Echardt: Probably arranged before last week, I imagine.
November 20th, 2009 at 1:42 pm
Great timing! Even though our Bokke deserve a break, it would’ve been great to see the Bokke play the Baabaas’!
November 20th, 2009 at 1:46 pm
#21 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: I LOVE THIS. “You need to stop lying”. I haven’t heard any of these guys say a word on the subject.
November 20th, 2009 at 2:10 pm
Ryan you need to face facts, Bryan has moved. So it’s 2 Bulls and a Stormer
November 20th, 2009 at 2:12 pm
#21 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter:
Lets not forget that there was also a 2 week break betw CC Semi and the Final, and then another 2 weeks after that Final before Test vs France in Toulouse.
That means that the ‘fatigue’ principal is being applied to a limited set of players who had 1 match in 4 weeks. And the remainder of the squad had even longer.
Fatigue my @rrrrrrrrrse.
November 20th, 2009 at 2:16 pm
#27 WakaNathan: Just how did your arse get so fatigued?
November 20th, 2009 at 2:44 pm
My Dream (Baa Baas) Team would be something like this:
1 .Martin Castrogiovani.(It)
2. Bismark.(SA)
3. Reagan (England).
4. Victor.(SA)
5. Connell (Ire).
6. The Cave Man (Fr)
7. Luke, son of Checky. (SA).
8. Parisee (It).
9. Genia (oz)
10. Nacewa (Fiji).
11. Lote (oz)
12. Gits (Oz)
13. Brian O’D (Ireland)
14. Hababananna (SA)
15. Byrne (Wales).
November 20th, 2009 at 10:16 pm
Playing for the BaaBaa’s is often a once in a lifetime opportunity for the top internationsl players. Playing for the BaaBaa’s against the AB’s or Bok’s is probably even more of an experience.
Even without the money, I suspect most top players would choose the unique chance to line up (on the same team) with some of their best opponents from other countries rather than play a CC match etc. Imagine McCaw, Burger, and Smith as your loose trio for instance. I am sure they would love to play together for a game instead of bashing each other.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:29 am
#29 cane:
Why would you play a hooker at prop?
November 21st, 2009 at 1:52 pm
Hooker and prop for the Baa-Baas? Okes that can scrum and get around still ( or at least give a decent offload ). For me, hooker would be Tafana Polata-Nau of Oz. Loosehead would be Argentinian veteran Rancero. Tighthead? Castrogiovanni. Very potent medicine, this bunch. On the bench, Gethin Jenkins of Wales who can pack both sides. And Frog benchman, Swarzeyski.
November 21st, 2009 at 2:07 pm
… and then my Baa-Baas team would be:
Mils Miliaina: Maxine Medard. Jean de Villiers. Matt Gitau. Cedric Heymans: Dan Carter. Will Genia: Rodrigo Rancero. Tafana Polata Nau. Mario Castrogiovanni: Bakkies Botha. Victor Matfield: Thierry Dusatour. Sergio Parisse. Ritchie McCaw.
Bench:
Gethin Jenkins. Christian Swarzeyski. Sebastien Chabal. George Smith.
Ruan Pienaar. Juan Martin Hernandez. Brian O’Driscoll.
Bakkies would be captain, Caveman would be vice captain. Their job would be to klap any Baa Baa who kicked more than twice, or any forward found loitering with misguided intent in the backline.