‘BOD deserves Player of Year’
21 Nov 2009
Shane Williams believes Brian O’Driscoll should get the IRB Player of the Year award ahead of Fourie du Preez.
The nominees were annnounced on Monday, and yet again there were some surprises. Williams himself was a shock winner in 2008 and couldn’t even start for the Lions in South Africa in the first two Tests this year, but predictably backed his northern hemisphere compatriot to claim the accolade.
‘I’ve seen the shortlist, there are some great names on it,’ said Williams. ‘I’m sure with everything he has achieved this year, it may go to Brian. It would be nice. He’s a good friend of mine, and he certainly deserves it.
‘With winning the Grand Slam [Ireland] and the Heineken Cup [Leinster] and having a great Lions tour, and scoring on the weekend against Australia, he’s back to his best really,’ said Williams, forgetting Du Preez won the Lions series with the Boks, the Tri-Nations, and was instrumental for the Bulls in their Super 14 and Currie Cup triumphs.
‘He has worked hard to get there and he would deserve the accolade,’ added Williams.
The other nominees are Tom Croft, Jamie Heaslip, Matt Giteau, Rich McCaw and Frans Steyn. The nomination of players such as Steyn, Croft (who has been dropped by lowly England) and Heaslip – who was quiet in the Lions series until the third Test against a weakened Bok side – shows how flawed the process is and by the end of the November internationals it wouldn’t be surprising if O’Driscoll edges Du Preez.
The announcement will be made next weekend.

109 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
21 Nov 2009, 10:10 am
who cares what williams says.
21 Nov 2009, 10:13 am
shut up midget!
21 Nov 2009, 10:13 am
LOL….Who cares….?
The credibility of these awards were tarnished a long time ago….
For me Brussow should have been a nominee as well…
21 Nov 2009, 10:20 am
Fourie de Preez surely deserves this more than anyone else. A geat Super 14, outstanding Tri-Nations, helping the Bulls win the Currie Cup and winning the SA Player of the year award.
21 Nov 2009, 10:25 am
from one overrated star studded celebrity to another give it to Tom Hanks or Brad Pitt. These things should be reserved for hollywood. Who the hell cares who’s got their glitsy star embedded in the IRB sidewalk. Most certainly not I, neither Fdp nor Bod deserve it anyway couple overrated prima donna’s the both of them.
21 Nov 2009, 10:27 am
#5 skopskiet:
you dont get away with it that easy, Skop. OK, we know who you think it isNT, then who should it be ?
21 Nov 2009, 10:27 am
#2 Transformation: you try and catch that midget??
21 Nov 2009, 10:28 am
#6 WakaNathan: Brussow
21 Nov 2009, 10:46 am
The favourites for the IRB Player of the Year, from most to least, are as follows:
Brian O’Driscoll
Jamie Heaslip
Tom Croft
Richie McCaw
Matt Giteau
Fourie du Preez
Francois Steyn
Come on, chaps, let’s have a look at the IRB’s composition, shall we?
21 Nov 2009, 10:50 am
#9 WP Till I Die: How did any Saffas get on the list? Didn’t they see the Cricket equivalent? Achievement is not to taken into consideration. They remembered that with Morne Steyn. How come they forgot with the others?
21 Nov 2009, 10:50 am
#7 grant10: i don’t catch midgets, nokwe or habs can do that for me!
21 Nov 2009, 10:51 am
The single player that changed the way the Boks approach the entire game of rugby…..and added a complete new dimension…..is Brussow…..
He ….in my mind….has been the catalyst for our success….
Now if only we can only farken scrum
21 Nov 2009, 10:52 am
#7 grant10: better yet jpp, he smashed 7 different shades of **** out of the midget! Lol
21 Nov 2009, 10:53 am
#11 Transformation: LOL…that oke can play….left Habana for dead a few times!!!
Great talent that ‘midget’ as you call him….
Brussow should be there….best fetcher bar none on the planet.
21 Nov 2009, 10:53 am
#8 grant10:
1stly, Ive already said FdP
2ndly, Brussow has had a good debut year. But dont confuse the impact he has had for Boks – finally selecting a ‘fetcher’, and thereby significantly adding greater balance to Bok pack/team – to being the outstanding player on the Planet. He’s a tidy player but was not the outstanding player in more than 1 or 2 matches.
21 Nov 2009, 10:54 am
#13 Transformation: best tackle of that season….will never forget it!
Step…step….EINA!!!!
21 Nov 2009, 10:56 am
#15 WakaNathan: Showed up every other fetcher he played against…Aussies, French, Lions, Kiwis, Currie Cup…super 14….
And revoluionised the way the Boks play….for me the best player in the world in 2009….
21 Nov 2009, 11:01 am
#16 grant10: HA HA HA HA now you’re killing me…”step….step….EINA!!!!!” that was sublime…
Eish, i have to prepare to go to a wedding with the Rossoneri let me get to it…
21 Nov 2009, 11:02 am
#18 Transformation: off to the beach…enjoy boet…regards to R …
21 Nov 2009, 11:04 am
#5 skopskiet: Still a serotonin deficient twat you are ou poefskop?
Time to up the medicine.
21 Nov 2009, 11:09 am
Only one player to win this award. Fourie du Preez. Won a S14 medal, Lions Series medal, Tri-Nations medal and a Currie Cup medal.
Been the best scrummin in the world for some time now.
Shane Williams hardly deserved it last year. Should have gone to R. McCaw.
Good luck to FdP. If he does not get it there is just no justice in these awards.
21 Nov 2009, 11:10 am
meant scrummie.
21 Nov 2009, 11:10 am
Will the awards be decided before or after next weeks match against Ireland. In my opinion that will probably be the decider of the team of the year award and probably player of year award as well..
21 Nov 2009, 11:16 am
#23 steeve: Think it is after the Ireland game. Even if we lose there. We have won far more than they have this year.
Boks have won Tri-Nations and a Lions Series. FdP being part of those wins and his team won S14 and CC to of the toughest competitions in world rugby.
FdP to win no matter if Boks lose to Ireland.
21 Nov 2009, 11:17 am
to meant two
21 Nov 2009, 11:29 am
#21 Puma: There is no justice in these awards… Politics and croneyism > Achievement.
FdP should win it, but I’m not holding my breath.
21 Nov 2009, 11:36 am
what nonsense
21 Nov 2009, 11:38 am
Shane Williams and BOD are complete ***** of the year. Aholes deluxe the both of them
21 Nov 2009, 11:39 am
#26 SimiJan: FdP is the only player there that deserves to win it. Then like you say there is no justice in those rewards. R. McCaw was twice the player S. Williams was last year and he never got the reward.
So let us see. It would be a disgrace if FdP did not win it. If Boks don’t win team of the year and PdV coach of the year. Winning a Lions Series and a Tri-Nations is far tougher than winning anything in world rugby. Especially the Tri-Nations as we have to play each other 3 times. ABs and Wallabies and Boks are top 3 in world rugby. It does not get tougher than that to play each other 3 times and win that tourney.
21 Nov 2009, 11:50 am
#29 Puma: Since when is the world fair mate?
21 Nov 2009, 11:51 am
#30 goyougoodthing2: Never just hoping it is this time. Wont hold my breath though.
21 Nov 2009, 11:55 am
#31 Puma: The thing about Northern hemisphere rugby is that it comes out of the Private School thing, as it does in SA, but the Private School thing in the UK produces a higher ratio of Knobheads per class than SA.
The result? A bunch of ***** keeping the theme of Knobism alive and well in NH rugby.
21 Nov 2009, 12:03 pm
I reckon FdP and BOD are just about equal. Fourie was certainly the best 9 in the world, but BOD was also the best 13 and both had a massive influence on their teams. It’ll all boil down to the most memorable moments in the judges minds, I reckon.
21 Nov 2009, 12:05 pm
#32 goyougoodthing2:
I doubt whether the Scots, Irish, Welsh and French would agree with you about the private school thing.
21 Nov 2009, 12:06 pm
#33 David: Lions 1 Boks 2 David. That is where they met, that was the result, give the spoils to the winner.
21 Nov 2009, 12:07 pm
#34 David: England mate, private school thing, look at the way they behave, like spoilt children.
21 Nov 2009, 12:08 pm
#34 David: Sorry should have restricted my comments to England and the LIONS
21 Nov 2009, 12:10 pm
BOD is a legend of the game and without doubt one of the best centres of all time. I doubt the same could be said of FDP. I actually think that SA should have tried him at 10. His scrumhlf play is limited by his lack of speed (quick service) and tendency to kick most ball away. He actually stifles any backline. His performance against France showed up his limitations. Mind you when you play most of your rugby behind a Bulls pack that dominate you should at least look like a million dollars. I know this view is not a popular one but is exactly how I see him.
21 Nov 2009, 12:11 pm
#38 Shakes: The thing about BOD is that he may be a legend, but he sure knows it too! ****!
21 Nov 2009, 12:15 pm
#35 goyougoodthing2:
And if Ireland beat the Boks? 2 all. Besides it goes to the player not the team.
21 Nov 2009, 12:17 pm
#40 David: Yep, don’t get me wrong, I think BOD is okay, I just think FDP is better. That said, real player of the year is missing from the list… one Brussow!
21 Nov 2009, 12:20 pm
#38 Shakes: Unto each his own, but i completely and utterly disagree. He has never loooked better than behind the supposed pathetic Bok pack. His kicking is the best in the world, and fits the game plan. When he runs, he is lightning. Ask the Aussies this year and the English in 07. On defence he is a rock. Again, ask Will Ginea on his test debut.
IMHO – Fourie du Preez is a legend. He is the best 9 in world rugby by a country mile, and an incredibly talented footballer. He has an amazing pass, and often makes Morne Steyn look great.
21 Nov 2009, 12:21 pm
why shane? the lions lost bra! look at fdp’s year. unless this is some consolation prize
21 Nov 2009, 12:27 pm
What alot of ‘Sour Grapes’ this morning…..
Don’t tell me you are all getting nervous about Boks v Italy….
21 Nov 2009, 12:30 pm
#42 Cheetha Champs: reminds me of his quick penalty try when he ran over 4 forwards .and his quick thinking in the super 14 final and his genius in the currie cup final
best player in the world period!!
21 Nov 2009, 12:32 pm
#42 Cheetha Champs: If I sum up what you said it is best kicking 9 in the world then I agree. If we continue our woes in the frontrow and at the breakdown believe me we are in big **** for not having a scrumhalf that gets rid of the ball quickly. FDP almost always think about what to do for a few seconds behind the ruck. So far by that time we are rucked (phucked) off the ball. An example was vs France last week where he had a shocker. We conceded so much possession with penalties and turnovers yet he virtually kicked the scraps that we had away. I have said during the 3N already that we need an alternative to FDP cos vs France he should have been pulled off early in the 2nd half.
21 Nov 2009, 12:33 pm
#17 grant10:
‘revolutionised how Boks play’ has clearly influenced you. But he didnt ‘outplay’ all his opposites. He was nowhere vs Aussies in Brisbane, Smith took spoils there. And in 3 Tests vs ABs, only starred at Bloem vs McCaw. He was persona non grata in Hamilton in that 2ndH.
But I would certainly say he is Newcomer of the Year tho.
21 Nov 2009, 12:47 pm
I’d make Paddy Obrien player of the year if he promised to quit as head of refs
21 Nov 2009, 12:50 pm
#6 WakaNathan: Skopskiet would give it to Chiliboy Rallepelle for playing half of the first half of the losing game on tour against Lecester.
21 Nov 2009, 12:51 pm
#47 WakaNathan: No…he was better than MC Caw this year…and G Smith….and the French…and the B Lions…
And put JW assertion that a fetcher is superfulous to the sword….
Imo….the man!
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All