Italy 10 Springboks 32
Keo.co.zo brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ second European Tour Test in Udine.
Final score: Italy 10 Springboks 32
79 mins: The Boks run their last attack of the game as the ball is passed out wide to JP Pietersen. The wing puts a chip through, but his grubber goes into touch and the referee blows the final whistle. The Boks look relieved after returrning to winning ways. The Boks win 32-10!
73 mins: Springbok try! From a 22m lineout, Du Preez finds a hole in Italy’s defensive line after fooling the home side with a dummy. 5m from the line, the No 9 offloads the ball to replacement centre Wynand Olivier on his outside and he dives over for the Boks’ fourth try. Ruan Pienaar adds the two points. 32-10 to the Boks!
71 mins: With the front row of BJ Botha, Smit and Beast on the field, the Boks win their first battle at the scrum as the Italians are driven back and penalised.
64 mins: Steyn restores the Boks’ 15-point lead by kicking his second penalty. 25-10 to the Boks!
58 mins: John Smit is penalised at the breakdown after competing for the ball off his feet. This allows Gower to kick Italy’s first points of the second stanza. 22-10 to the Boks!
52 mins: Springbok try! Good continuity and hands from the Boks creates a try-scoring opportunity. Danie Rossouw offloads to Fourie, who passes to Habana and the wing cuts inside. He then passes the ball to the unmarked Fourie Du Preez and the scrumhalf makes good run to the try line to beat the Italian’s cover defence. Steyn kicks the conversion over. 22-7 to the Boks!
48 mins: The Boks’ forwards are penalised at the scrum once again as the Italians clearly have the upper hand, but McLean’s woes with the boot continues and the No 15 puts his attempt wide. Italy would have been ahead if they had a more accurate kicker.
46 mins: Italy’s ill-discipline at the breakdown gives Steyn an opportunity to kick the first points of the second half. The pivot slots the penalty and adds three points to the Boks’ score. 15-7 to the Boks!
42 mins: There’s early worries for the Boks as Italy steal the visitor’s put in to the scrum. Italy’s dominance at the scrum continues as the Boks concede a free kick in their second attempt a few minutes later.
Half-time: Italy 7 Springboks 12
39 mins: The Boks get a penalty on the stroke of half-time. Steyn kicks a good attempt but the pivots fails to hit the target. This proves to be the last action of the first stanza.
37 mins: The Boks lack composure in attack as they drop the ball behind on two consecutive backline moves. This sees Italy steal momentum and results in a penalty awarded to the home side. Fullback Luke McLean, however, misses his first attempt and lets the visitors off the hook.
32 mins: Italy try! From a lineout in the Boks’ 22, the Italians gain a few metres towards the try line. The home side then pass the ball through the backline and good interplay in the midfield sees centre Gonzalo Garcia cut the Boks’ defence and scores underneath the goal posts. Craig Gower slots the conversion. 12-7 to the Boks!
25 mins: The Italians spark an attack and break into the Boks’ 22. Italy find themselves 5m from the Boks’ try line, but master poacher Heinrich Brussow makes a crucial steal and Steyn manages to clear the ball.
22 mins: The Boks’ pack held their own in the first scrum in the 20th minute, but are out-scrummed and penalised in the second two minutes later. The home crowd roar as they see the Italians dominate the Bok heavies.
14 mins: Springbok try! The Boks steal possession and set up a counter attack. The ball is passed through the hands to Habana, who draws in two defenders on the sideline and puts Jaque Fourie into a gap. The centre touches down under the posts and Steyn adds the extras. 12-0 to the Boks!
5 mins: Springbok try! Ryan Kankowski beats one defender and makes a good step to penetrate the Italy’s defence. The flank then offloads to Bryan Habana and the speedster puts on the gas and has a clear run for the first try in the corner. 5-0 to the Boks!
3 mins: The Boks have the chance to score the first points of the match as the Italians are penalised for a late challenge, but Steyn’s attempt hits the post.
1 min: It’s a good, high kickoff from Morne Steyn and the Italians let it bounce. Once the ball is recovered by the home side, the Boks’ manage to force Italy out into touch on the 22m line.
Italy – 15 Luke McLean, 14 Matteo Pratichetti, 13 Alberto Sgarbi, 12 Gonzalo Garcia, 11 Mirco Bergamasco, 10 Craig Gower, 9 Simon Picone; 8 Sergio Parisse (c), 7 Alessandro Zanni, 6 Simone Favaro, 5 Quintin Geldenhuys, 4 Carlo Antonio Del Fava, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Fabio Ongaro, 1 Salvatore Perugini.
Subs: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Ignacio Rouyet, 18 Antonio Pavanello, 19 Josh Sole, 20 Mauro Bergamasco, 21 Tito Tebaldi, 22 Gonzalo Canale.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Adi Jacobs, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Danie Rossouw, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Subs: 16 Beast Mtawarira , 17 BJ Botha, 18 Victor Matfield, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier.

November 21st, 2009 at 2:46 pm
Are Leicester above Italy in the IRB rankings?
November 21st, 2009 at 2:46 pm
Bokke (ranked 2) vs Azzurri (ranked 12). Bokke should have an easy win! But then Saracens and Leicester are ranked about 158th. Go Bokke!!!
November 21st, 2009 at 2:49 pm
#2 Senga:
Who is number 1 then?
November 21st, 2009 at 2:50 pm
All Blacks but only just.
1(2) NEW ZEALAND 90.52
2(1) SOUTH AFRICA 89.97
November 21st, 2009 at 2:50 pm
I must say that this side looks much better than the AB side that played Italy last week
November 21st, 2009 at 2:51 pm
#4 Senga:
Party due to the French game then
November 21st, 2009 at 2:53 pm
#6 chch – welcome back Laulala: Yip. Hope Bokke have the same luck against Italy that the AB’s had with the now famous Aussie ref and all…
November 21st, 2009 at 2:58 pm
#7 Senga:
The team above should beat them easily.
The other reason for the rankings drop is that the world cup double rankings points are drifting into the past
November 21st, 2009 at 2:59 pm
Pity this game clashes with the AB/ENG game this afternoon. Remote control switching between the biltong eating and beer drinking the only option.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:00 pm
If s.africa wins, do we go top of irb again?
November 21st, 2009 at 3:02 pm
Paddy O’Brien has done SA an immense favour with his castigation of Stuey Dickensian.
Italy’s only weapon, was/is, there scrum.
With Official Scrutiny it will be rendered ordinary.
Boks by 25+…………(mind you, I’m usually wrong on these matters).
November 21st, 2009 at 3:03 pm
France/AB’s in Marseille on 28 Nov should settle the rankings. Put my money on the AB’s.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:05 pm
#10 ad_oz:
Not for long ad_oz.
Once NZ kick England into touch…………hey presto……..Boks back to number two.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:08 pm
#13 cane:
What time is the replay tomorrow morning?
November 21st, 2009 at 3:10 pm
#13 cane: Jonathan Kaplan is the ref.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:11 pm
This is Italy for goodness sake, we should be putting 50 past these okes, just as they would expect to beat our soccer team 4 zip. Its just the way it is, finnish n klaar
November 21st, 2009 at 3:15 pm
CAN WE PLEASE NOT MENTION SOCCER TODAY……
PLEASE……
November 21st, 2009 at 3:15 pm
#16 Mustard:
I am finding it amusing that the Boks are worried. This does not look like a Bok b side
November 21st, 2009 at 3:16 pm
#17 Just Another Paddy:
Did you see the France football game then?
November 21st, 2009 at 3:18 pm
Absent JdV and F.Steyn, and Matfield/Smith/Spies, this is our best team, currently. Strauss is a dynamo. Wian is better than the over-hyped illegal immigrant Beast. Bekker ain’t bad. Zane is strong. Morne must kick tactically better.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:20 pm
#17 Just Another Paddy: Thierry Henry the new hand of god lol, ag no worries budy **** hapens, no point crying over spilt milk
November 21st, 2009 at 3:22 pm
“Did you see the France football game then?”
Is that a joke….I’ve been trying to avoid it for three days….
Honestly lads I wouldn’t wish the feeling of seeing the first replay of that cheat catching the ball on my own worst enemy….
….The depths of despair….
Incidentally I forgot you guys were hosting the world cup. It would have been great to show you guys our supporters. I think you misinterpreted us on the Lions tour with all the Poms….
November 21st, 2009 at 3:23 pm
#18 chch – welcome back Laulala: few guys missing ofcoz, but a springbok side is a springbok side, there should be no excuses. The midweek side was exactly that, they shouldv been called the Emerging Boks and not tarnished the Springbok name
November 21st, 2009 at 3:25 pm
#22 Just Another Paddy:
Sorry, but you called it soccer.
New Zealand qualified last week (sorry), it was a huge game here. First time I have really seen that much football support in NZ. Much bigger than 1982.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:26 pm
#23 Mustard:
The ABs beat them last week with a far lesser side
ok, only just
November 21st, 2009 at 3:26 pm
#22 Just Another Paddy: He has publicly apologised and said it was a mistake on his part….then when on to say ‘im not the ref so dont blame me’
November 21st, 2009 at 3:29 pm
#26 Mustard:
haha, typical Arsenal player
November 21st, 2009 at 3:29 pm
#25 chch – welcome back Laulala: Ya true. But that said the azzuri have ipmroved alot under Mallet, no more pasta eating poofs in the pack, top notch coach wish he was still in Sa
November 21st, 2009 at 3:30 pm
“He has publicly apologised and said it was a mistake on his part….then when on to say ‘im not the ref so dont blame me’”
I’ve never been the fairest player myself, in fact I would consider myself a total diver….
However to run away celebrating like he did, knowing he robbed us of the experience of a lifetime was just a kick in the teeth….
Now he’s patronising us with this “I’m not the ref” rubbish. I wish he would just keep it shut and let us try get over it…..
November 21st, 2009 at 3:32 pm
#22 Just Another Paddy: That game should have been replayed. Sorry to see Ireland put out like that. Unfair and a disgrace to France.
When the Lions toured here I had a great time with many of the Irish supporters after the first Test at the Tank. Next to where I sat were mostly just Irish supporters. They were all great fun.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:33 pm
Can’t wait for Ras to sing the Anthem
November 21st, 2009 at 3:34 pm
#29 Just Another Paddy: Agree he should jus shut it, but the media probably hounding now for a comment so he prob thought he has too say something. Im sur if he could do it over he wouldt have handled the ball, things happen so quickly paddy
November 21st, 2009 at 3:35 pm
#31 Charlie: I bet it will be sung beautiful in Italy. Ras has be retired…
November 21st, 2009 at 3:35 pm
#30 Puma: Hey Puma, whats your score prediction boet
November 21st, 2009 at 3:37 pm
#34 Mustard: hehehe. Forgot going back to look now.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:39 pm
#34 Mustard: On SuperBru I said 18 to Boks.
Think we could win by more. Just have a good feeling for the game today. Hoping mate.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:40 pm
#32 Mustard:
No, that was intentional. Your brain works fast when things are happening quickly and he knew what he was doing
November 21st, 2009 at 3:43 pm
The scrums will be interesting tonight with the referee being “wise” to boring in. The Bokke have a bone to pick with the Italian prop and I hope he survives.
He got away with murder against the Bokke and the MIB.
SH rules!!
#36 Puma: Im thinking Boks by 22, final score 40-18. But im hoping we put 50 past the pasta boys, will build momentum for the Irish game. If theres one game we cant lose its against the irish..il neva hear the end of it
#6 chch – welcome back Laulala: Dude, the French game is the only reason. The Boks beat the ABs three times in a row this year, remember? And it’s got nothing to do with the World Cup points.
The Boks have been awful on this tour. AWFUL. But that doesn’t detract from what they did earlier this year.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:44 pm
#29 Just Another Paddy:
It’s a Third world practice wake up!
The Telegraph once paid a tribute to Henri when he left Arsenal, they said he is an ASSET because he scores 60% of his goals illegaly and gets away with it, so Arsenal will not be the force they were unless bringing on another astute cheater!
Drogba’s in the same league, now you realise the disregard for soccer in SA?
November 21st, 2009 at 3:45 pm
who’s watching the Italian stream of this game? the Italian presenter is a betty of note.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:47 pm
#11 cane: The only side O’Brien did a favour was the ABs. Quite laughable really. He has lost all credibility as a result.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:48 pm
#40 kaksioek:
It has got something to do with the WC points as even if the ABs and the Boks got the same results the Bok rank index would fall faster as WC games slipped into the past.
The French game is most of the reason
November 21st, 2009 at 3:49 pm
#42 AndrewBK:
you on justin?
November 21st, 2009 at 3:51 pm
Dum dum dum!!! Looking forward to this! GO BOKKE!!!!
November 21st, 2009 at 3:51 pm
#36 Puma:
Not un thinkable
I put the Boks for a 7-14 margins, but if Styen will pass the ball and FdP will stop his endless Box kicking they well might win with a 20+ margin
November 21st, 2009 at 3:52 pm
Cheers guys enjoy the game, off to watc the rugga
November 21st, 2009 at 3:52 pm
#39 Mustard: Sounds about right to me Mustard. Also hoping for a good score and that will give us good confidence for next week.
Most of all no injuries. For me I would have liked Deysel to start and get some game time there at 7 with the Boks. Think he is a better 7 that Danie. Danie better to cover for 8 or 4.
Just hope Deysel gets some game time today though.
Go Bokke.
Going to watch the start now. Better not mess our anthem this time
November 21st, 2009 at 3:53 pm
#48 Mustard: Cheers Mustard.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:53 pm
#45 chch – welcome back Laulala: yep… it went off for a bit, but it’s back on now
November 21st, 2009 at 3:54 pm
Hmmm… the NZ soccer team is also more highly ranked than the SA one these days, in spite of their recent head-to-head defeat.
November 21st, 2009 at 3:54 pm
“now you realise the disregard for soccer in SA?”
I play soccer and rugger and there’s no denying the difference in ethics in the two. However soccer is still a great sport and to claim cheating is as widespread as that is completely over the top….
Gamesmanship, yes, but not cheating.
I can’t remember everyone being so down before. I mean our economy is in bits anyway and I suppose this could have been an escape from reality.
Let’s just hope we give your boys the once over next week and the Guinness might be that bit sweeter…..
November 21st, 2009 at 3:56 pm
Come on bokke. Go and conquer the mighty Roman Empire!
November 21st, 2009 at 3:57 pm
#51 AndrewBK:
what channel?
November 21st, 2009 at 3:59 pm
#55 chch – welcome back Laulala:
calciolink (dot) altervista (dot) org (forward slash) streamerone (underscore) myp2p (dot) html
November 21st, 2009 at 4:01 pm
#56 AndrewBK:
Thanks. No sound?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:01 pm
#53 Just Another Paddy:
I see there was a health report out the other day, that showed that Guinness isn’t as good for you as claimed. So now you’ll just have to come clean and admit that you only drink it to get pissed.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:02 pm
Is it bizarre anthem month or something?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:04 pm
#51 AndrewBK: What’s the URL?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:05 pm
#59 The Dude:
No mistake singing it this time. No Singer
Just the band playing.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:05 pm
#57 chch – welcome back Laulala: i’ve just lost the feed, i have nothing now
November 21st, 2009 at 4:06 pm
Hope Mesiekind gets a run at 12, early.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:08 pm
Bekker turns it over, Parisse comes away with it
November 21st, 2009 at 4:08 pm
Why is it cutting off the scoreboard top left?
Are my settings wrong?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:09 pm
FDP taken late, silly from Italy. Steyn pen.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:10 pm
missed!
November 21st, 2009 at 4:11 pm
Physiotherapist is gorgeous.
JustinTV is always stopping my feed saying we’ve reached the maximum number of viewers. oh well that sucks. anyone using anything different?
try Habana from Kanko break
November 21st, 2009 at 4:12 pm
adi doing his magic…
November 21st, 2009 at 4:12 pm
Now that’s more like it from Kankowski.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:13 pm
that was a great try, the boks seem to be willing to run today
November 21st, 2009 at 4:14 pm
Come on Keo minions. Update the score already.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:16 pm
Conditions are much better for this match than against France, say what you like but they played a massive role last week. Boks just aren’t used to playing on slow wet pitches
November 21st, 2009 at 4:19 pm
Kirchner is rubbish.
Kankowsky is going to be as good as Ritchie, if his body holds up. Much of the improvement this year is because of him, and of course the Dirty Brothers.
what a great try, much more positive rugby today, no knocking on .. good to see
November 21st, 2009 at 4:20 pm
Anyone got a good link?
I am a bit late.
#76 kaksioek: Why? Just made that try……..
Commentator said pre-match J Fourie had scored against every nation he’s played against. This is his first Test against Italy. Guess what? He’s just scored.
Bokke 12 – Azzurri 0 after 13 mins
November 21st, 2009 at 4:21 pm
Boks on fire…spreading the ball…and running with purpose. Welcome back boks!
November 21st, 2009 at 4:22 pm
#76 kaksioek: wait until Hougaard comes on, then you will see rubbish!!!
November 21st, 2009 at 4:22 pm
#80 Kronung: Passing a ball isn’t making a try. I was talking about how he lost the ball before that and before that chipped the defence and out the ball out. I’m just not impressed. Solid for the Bulls, but hasn’t got up to speed at Test level yet.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:24 pm
Anybody knows the link for live streaming of the game?
#70 Big Hit: Paste your link bud. I am struggling a bit.
#84 Pearl Rose: Hougaard is a very skillful player. It’s not his fault he has been played in the backline for the Bulls and then asked to play scrumhalf at Test level.
#79 SodaJoe:
Ajones sport
November 21st, 2009 at 4:25 pm
First scrum? Let’s see what happens.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:25 pm
#85 kaksioek: What about that deft litte punt he just made. Gained maninge meters.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:26 pm
#88, Hougaard will retire FduPreez one day, that kid is brilliant, you’re talking nonsense Pearl Rose
#87 SodaJoe: justin.tv/streamerone_34/
#60 Werner
#86 kwas
calciolink (dot) altervista (dot) org (forward slash) streamerone (underscore) myp2p (dot) html
this link works in some countries. not for me cause it keeps cutting out about that maximum users thing. hope this works for you…
November 21st, 2009 at 4:27 pm
First scrum … collapses. Italy going forwad.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:27 pm
Boks get the ball out second time, but still messy.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:28 pm
But Deysel should be on the field, has done NOTHING over the past 3 years to be in the team. Deysel is ten times the player he is at 7
Second scrum, Italy make big metres and get a penalty.
Strauss shedding blood, happened to a lot of Boks this tour
November 21st, 2009 at 4:29 pm
Eish. Surely not going to be pushed around by the Eyties?
I was talking about Rossouw ,
****…they walked with us on the second scrum…COME ON COACHES…fix the scrum!!!
#93 Big Hit: Thanks, Biggles. That link works a treat.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:30 pm
#91 Kronung: Ok, rubbish is too harsh. Just wish F Steyn was there.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:31 pm
#103 kwas: no probs, if you write popout at the end you can get it in a small window and watch Eng/NZ at the same time
November 21st, 2009 at 4:31 pm
Better scrum from Boks, but Italian scrumhalf screwed it up.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:32 pm
#104 kaksioek: For sure. Fully agree.
Try-saving steal by Brüssow. What a legend.
nearly a try to Italy, Parisse did his favourite trick flipping the inside ball from a scrum
November 21st, 2009 at 4:35 pm
#92 Pirlet BEL: #88 kaksioek: that’s not what we saw against saracens!!!
November 21st, 2009 at 4:37 pm
Adi bounces off in the tackle.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:38 pm
Boks slipping tackle…Italy getting some good go forward ball.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:38 pm
#105 Big Hit: What is the link for Eng/AB game then?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:39 pm
My Italians quite kak.
But I tell you waht Parisse is very good.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:40 pm
#113 kwas: justin.tv/twomint#
November 21st, 2009 at 4:41 pm
Good try Italy.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:41 pm
#111 Kronung: These Italian commentators laughed their backsides off when the Italian ran over Adi.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:42 pm
Try Italy…MASSIVE ovstruction by the 10 running into our defenders…terrible reffing.
Very good try, but fok 10/12 defensive channel really exploited. Tackle guys.
Nice try.
Adi and Mossie get it wrong. Glaring at each other on the field.
Sa 12 – IT 7
November 21st, 2009 at 4:43 pm
Looking at it again Adi did not cover his channel.
so why did they get that line out then?
#118 Wolf: …add to that …terrible defence by our boys…and Italy with all the momentum over the last 10 – 15 minutes…and it all started from the scrum.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:44 pm
#115 Big Hit: You are like the book of knowledge. AB/Eng stream much better quality (and better quality rugby).
#115 Big Hit:
Cheers Big Hit
#122 Kronung: Absolutely agree…at first look I thought their 10 ran into ADI…not so…Adi missed his target. Really missing De Villiers out there….calm head….leadership and all that.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:46 pm
#122 Kronung: aye
November 21st, 2009 at 4:46 pm
honestly, I never usually say this, but the reffing is shockingly bad, he’s just blowing to please the crowd here
November 21st, 2009 at 4:47 pm
Very poor hands guys. And now they almost come 2 points away from us.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:47 pm
Very poor miss. Almost Ruan Pienaar in quality.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:48 pm
#119 SodaJoe:
Don’t kid yourself
Adi is having a shocker
and john Smit is nowhere in general play.. he’s the most useless prop around, his workrate is pathetic.
Brussow forces penalty.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:49 pm
#132 Hondo: about what?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:50 pm
Fok now the Assasin misses AGAIN.
#129 Pirlet BEL:
You need to look at the replay at slo mo, you cannot say it when watching the Test alive
When all is said and done nice to see Italy competitive.
Good for rugby as a whole.
Also shows what a wily coach can do. These guys play all over the show, come together and give AB’s and Boks a run for their money.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:51 pm
#136 SodaJoe:
Styen and Jacobs (10-12) tackling
Adi had the best view of the Italian try in the stadium. The oke ran RIGHT PAST him.
come on man
#134 Pirlet BEL: Actually Pirlet, thats just not true. John has a high workrate and is an adequate prop (and great leader). I think he is just knackered.
#139 Kronung: well said. They look international quality, particularly forwards – Parisse is as good as you get.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:52 pm
#139 Kronung:
wait for the 2nd half
#125 kwas: #126 NZINCHINA: no probs guys, enjoy
Steyn cant kick this Mitre ball.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:53 pm
#140 Hondo: I called the channel not the player.
You should see my feed, Italian commentary and blurry.
#141 WP_:
If you haven’t realised what Jacobs’s defence is all about by now,,,,,
What has happened to M Steyn’s kicking? Having said that, Carter missed a sitter against England.
anyone have a link for streaming in the US?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:54 pm
#145 Big Hit: Can you watch 2 streams at once?
November 21st, 2009 at 4:56 pm
#148 Hondo: And although Adi misses his tackle (his responsibility – Morne’s cover defence also non- existent).
Unfortunately.
I also don’t get a boner when a Springbok player misses a tackle.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:57 pm
#150 ad_oz: justin.tv/streamerone_34/
I hope your Italians good, and your spectacles high quality.
But it’s better than nothing.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:58 pm
#148 Hondo:
It’s called ‘Drift Defence’ one drifts in the direction of play. It was M. Steyn’s tackle and he fluffed it. QED
November 21st, 2009 at 4:59 pm
#140 Hondo: That was Adi’s mistake. Not Morne’s. No way.
November 21st, 2009 at 4:59 pm
#153 SodaJoe: TY
November 21st, 2009 at 5:00 pm
#149 kaksioek:
It’s easy to come on as a sub and make a mark. Much more difficult when everyone is depending on you from the start. M. Steyn is a very one dimensional player. Not the answer to the boks problems.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:01 pm
#155 Kronung:
No, Morne’s mistake without doubt.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:01 pm
#154 Osama – bin OCO: Howzit Bedouin.
The 10/12 channel is the first attacking channel, both those okes fkn missed their tackle(s).
November 21st, 2009 at 5:02 pm
#154 Osama – bin OCO: it was Adi’s tackle
#156 ad_oz: You’re very welcome. Where do you live?
#154 Osama – bin OCO:
It was both players’ fault. Jacobs should have clearly seen that Jacque Fourie had the first ball carrier covered, but he converged on the same player anyway. Morne Steyn did not drift properly. Between the two of them, the try should have been prevented.
#154 Osama – bin OCO: No it was not. Mossie had his guy covered, Adi tried to help him instead of covering his channel.
To get there Steyn would have needed wings not drift!!!!! Also if Morne had committed and they took the ball inwards who would have tackled.
Adi fluffed, so what. Great player and he is human.
#160 AndrewBK: Both. But who cares. 7 points against us.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:03 pm
#162 coherence: Aye.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:04 pm
#164 SodaJoe: good point
November 21st, 2009 at 5:05 pm
Please, will PDV put SMit out of his misery and put on BJ botha at tight head.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:07 pm
The Diamond Brussow excellent per usual, annoying the fk out of the Italians.
Much better rugby.
I would like to see Bekker contest the lineout.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:08 pm
SA 15 – IT 7
November 21st, 2009 at 5:08 pm
#167 Pirlet BEL: I would like to see BJ and Mesiekind get a run. Not “because of” but simply to access.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:09 pm
Habanero also having a poor game.
Looks like he wants to be in a Spaghetti Western movie.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:12 pm
That might be one of the most embarrassing things I have seen happen to a Bok pack ever.
Eish, bad, very bad.
Springboks pack? Embarassing stuff?
damn, our scrum was chowed
This match is ridic! Worst quality of rugby I’ve seen in ages! lol
This guy makes Ruan look like Morne Steyn.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:13 pm
Just what we need to powerhouse locks behind our front row.
Fok.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:13 pm
I don’t think John Smit has enough leadership skills to compensate for his lack of ability. He was never clearly the best 2 in South Africa, and he’s definitely not the best tighthead. At some point you just have to start selecting the best players.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:14 pm
A good wake up call this.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:16 pm
SA 22 – IT 7
November 21st, 2009 at 5:17 pm
Brilliant. Oom Danie take a bow. Fourie terrific.
hands from Danie!!
I’m shellshocked, it is the first f*cking time I’ve ever seen Rossouw do something positive in a bok jersey.. Now please can we just take him off anyway
It’s a good thing Adi Jacobs wasn’t involved in that move.
#179 coherence: aye
November 21st, 2009 at 5:18 pm
#179, the boks don’t need his leadership skills, the bulls do very well without them, and they cream everyone.
another great turnover from Brussouw
#6 again. Guy not only wins ball, but penalties.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:19 pm
Brilliant work from Danie!
Great stuff then from JF and HABS (PROOOVINCE) then a good finish from FdP.
Shuts the Danie doubters up
November 21st, 2009 at 5:21 pm
Get John off the field before he gets hurt.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:22 pm
This nr 10 of Italy is USELESS!!! He looks petrified and every kick is straight to the Boks. lol
Dont get me wrong, I support the Boks, but if we play like this next week, we will get trashed.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:22 pm
another great example of SMit’s **** cleaing out..
November 21st, 2009 at 5:23 pm
and then he gives away a dumb penalty, great stuff smitty…
November 21st, 2009 at 5:23 pm
Get BJ and WO on. Give them a chance
November 21st, 2009 at 5:24 pm
SA 22 – IT 10
November 21st, 2009 at 5:26 pm
morne’s tactical kicking is k@k!
November 21st, 2009 at 5:27 pm
Ok go and score now.
Please bring on BJ.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:28 pm
The Italian Beast back on. Great, fills me with joy.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:29 pm
Interesting that Italy quickly substitutes the prop. Do they know something PdV doesn’t?
November 21st, 2009 at 5:30 pm
SA 25 – IT 10
November 21st, 2009 at 5:31 pm
all of a sudden, miracle, the scrum is stable, what a surprise
November 21st, 2009 at 5:32 pm
Bok scrum looked quite good there. Bj, Smit, Beast.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:32 pm
Best front row we’ve had all year!
November 21st, 2009 at 5:33 pm
Oh well, England 6-6 New Zealand. Here’s hoping for an upset.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:33 pm
bismark must be on the bench in future!
November 21st, 2009 at 5:34 pm
SA scrum is actuallyy now shoving the Italy scrum up its ***
November 21st, 2009 at 5:34 pm
Yeah baby. Nice scrum Bokke.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:35 pm
Should have left Strauss on to see what happens.
Barney lucky.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:35 pm
Wyanand for all his hair is not shy of dirty work. Tackles, defends, gets involved in the maul.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:36 pm
that just shows you mustn’t believe some of the BS sometimes, now Castrogiovanni looks rubbish
November 21st, 2009 at 5:36 pm
And his name is BJ Botha.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:37 pm
If BJ botha had been there all along and Smit or Bismarck at hooker we wouldn’t have lost against the French.
amazing. loving this front row
JPP’s smile was priceless.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:38 pm
Hows your mother Mr. Castrogiovanni, hehe!!!
We HAVE TO play this front row against Ireland. We’ll smash them backwards
Nice try Olivier.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:39 pm
SA 32 – IT 10
Well oiled……
All the way from John Smit to Mesiekind.
Nice!
Fabulous Fourie. Man, the guys the best scrummie we’ve ever had.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:40 pm
Smit anything but lucky. ****** powerful at 2.
Ah that’s what happens when you have a good player at 12! Well done WO!
Olivier light years ahead of Jacobs. Sad to see how politics still the cancer of our sport.
du Preez’ try really, but good support
Did it take WO 26 test to get his 1st test try, gifted and forward pass
November 21st, 2009 at 5:41 pm
FdP man of the match.
Nogal in the 72nd minute of the game.
Skopskiet’s worst nightmare.
Gotta love it.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:41 pm
Smit anything but lucky. Bloody powerful at 2.
AH! That’s what happens when you have a good player at 12! Well done WO!
November 21st, 2009 at 5:42 pm
Oeps now it’s Mossie.
Lucky break for Skoppie,
Bad news for his pharmacist.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:43 pm
Who’s playing Blind side flank? I can’t see.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:44 pm
If you deny that WO is miles ahead of Jacobs you either no little about rugby or you let your racist predujices and blind hope take over.
Nuff said
November 21st, 2009 at 5:44 pm
bRussow forces penalty again.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:47 pm
#229 WP_: Mesiekind had played the better rugby this year. But has Adi done anything wrong. Does he deserve to be dropped?
November 21st, 2009 at 5:48 pm
Well done Boks.
FdP brilliant, and thank you thank you BJ Botha
November 21st, 2009 at 5:50 pm
Blacks 16 to 6.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:50 pm
#231 Kronung: Did you just watch the Italian match? How many tackles did Adi miss? How many defensive bloopers in the midfield? Wake up, please.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:51 pm
Kronung
That’s debatable… Adi hasnt been bad, he’s been ok on attack and his defence poor at times but ok in general.
Point is, the better player is on the bench. Surely that’s not right?
November 21st, 2009 at 5:51 pm
#231 Kronung: i’m usually an Adi supporter but today he was bad
November 21st, 2009 at 5:52 pm
Thanks Boks. Thanks Italy.
Fair enough game, good company here on Keo.
Over to the other big one.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:54 pm
#234 kwas: Yes I did. Judging from your comment I probably paid more attention as well.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:54 pm
good win superb from bj …. castro will be smoking a smaller cigar tonight…
fourie du preez not bad either…
November 21st, 2009 at 5:56 pm
Jaque Fourie and Habana were superb! FdP also!
Zane very solid. Smit at home at 2. Must play BJ, Smit and Beast against Ireland.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:56 pm
#236 AndrewBK: Not a good day indeed. I recall two missed tackles, bounced off once, one hard high pass and very few yards made ball in hand.
Still to drop him is another thing. Need to back our players.
Very happy about the front row though?
November 21st, 2009 at 5:57 pm
#238 Kronung: Why don’t you return to this site after the official player ratings and we will chat again, infidel.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:58 pm
#240 WP_: If I may steal Soda’s phrase…… Aye on all counts.
November 21st, 2009 at 5:59 pm
Beast, Smit, BJ…..have we finally got it worked out?
November 21st, 2009 at 6:00 pm
#242 kwas: I’ll be here, I will be looking out for you.
In the meantime read #241.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:01 pm
good to also see beast not taking a step back to castrogiovanni
#184 Pirlet BEL: Your comment re Danie: I assume you did not watch the RWC final against England…
244 Kronung
Thank you sir. M Steyn has been strangely off colour last two weeks…
November 21st, 2009 at 6:02 pm
#244 flanka: I think so. Bismarck has done NOTHING this year to warrant selection ahead of Smit at 2.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:03 pm
Congratulations, finally a win! Cheers!
November 21st, 2009 at 6:05 pm
Drop Bismark thats the simple answer all other problems solved.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:06 pm
Agree skoppie, It HAS to be done!
November 21st, 2009 at 6:14 pm
#251 skopskiet: that’ll be one less yellowcard waiting to happen
November 21st, 2009 at 6:15 pm
#248 WP_:
his kicking today was very poor…in italy they use a different ball to everybody else who knows?
#247 Uil:
danie looks a much better player at 8 he is lost at seven…
November 21st, 2009 at 6:17 pm
#251 skopskiet:
the linouts looked better than they have in a while with mit throwing in fast front foot ball from the end of the lineout for the backs…
November 21st, 2009 at 6:17 pm
I said it before and I will again. Smit is a number 2. Our scrums are more solid when he is in the middle. He is just a better scrumager that Bismark. I like Bismark, but he has been of his game lately. Let’s see what happens in the future.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:18 pm
And seems BJ is the missing link even Beast coming on late is the right way round fresh Beast is far more effective against tiring tight head after Du Preez and Smit do the early business. Liebenberg at 2 first half would be even better than Strauss.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:20 pm
Danie had a moment of magic releasing Jaque Fourie down the wing.
Great skills from the big guy. Decent performance from him.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:22 pm
258 skop
Agreed with all of that. Bismarck gives away too many penalties for my liking, or has done recently, and we certainly didnt miss him today whatsoever.
I’d have him on the bench next week…
November 21st, 2009 at 6:23 pm
Those straight direct throws of Smit to Roussouw at back of line out is whats been missing. Led direct to WO try easy as pie Fdp gets quick ball off Roussouw beats inside backs off load to WO at centre and its a 1. 2. 3 easy as pie try.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:27 pm
#260 skopskiet: I though Victor fed the ball to FdP?
November 21st, 2009 at 6:46 pm
WC 2011 22.
F.Steyn
JP.Pieterson
J.Fourie
W.Olivier
B.Habana
M.Steyn
F.du Preez
P.Spies
J.Smith
H.Brussouw
V.Matfield
B.Botha
BJ.Botha
J.Smit
B.Marateriwa
B.du Plessis
W.du Preez
D.Rossouw
S.Burger or J.Deysel
R.Pienaar
J.de Jongh
L.Mapoe
I assume that J.de Villiers wont be playing, if he is, he will be 12.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:50 pm
well, i guess we know who is still the best scrummaging TH in the country.
BJ is perfect for NH conditions, he is the rock around which the boks built their scrum when they broke their duck at twickenham in 2006, with cj playing LH.
Well JW always reckon Smit should have kept playing 2.
I just cannot see how one can leave Bismarck out.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:51 pm
castro def got one over wian, but when deysel, bj and beast came on, i dont think castro gone back like that in ages.
for godsake, no more kankowsi, play deysel against ireland.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:54 pm
I was supprised that FdP didn’t get Man of Match award. J.Fourie did play well, so thats ok! 2 world class players, best in their positions.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:55 pm
Gunther…cab….rangerman….shatks lover….
Grant 10 rests his case your honour…..
Lets see if there are honorable men who will admit that a decent proper 3 makes the difference.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:55 pm
#264 cab: Agree, Deysel much better choise than Kanko. Johnson would also be a better choise.
November 21st, 2009 at 6:56 pm
choice, not choise!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:00 pm
#266 grant10:
grant10 go rest your case already, the scrum has been an obvious problem for ages and its not only a decent TH, of which the only one is playing in the NH, its the fact that italy get an 8-man shove on everutime while kanko and brussow are heads up and out.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:03 pm
#269 cab: Cab…..a simple i was wrong and Smit has and never will be a 2 woould be the answer….
Seems you lack a bit of grace my man??
November 21st, 2009 at 7:03 pm
A 3 i mean….Heavens he must never wear the 3 shirt again!!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:08 pm
So they faked an injury to their reserve tight head when Beast and BJ came on so that they could get Castro back on, next thing Castro is going backward at 50 mph and taking a cheap chirp at Beast who obviously weren’t very impressed, must a been some bit of something not so kosher said betwixt and between all the back peddling he was doing.
BJ made all the difference no two ways about it, and with Smits weight adv at 2, with two stocky powerful props either side, thats exactly what you want, none of these tall fat ungainly front rankers.
BJ’s solidity and Beast on the other end is the way to go, next best is WP Nel and Blaauw or Vd Merwe.
But real problem is Bismark or Strauss in the middle, exactly what Visagie was hinting at. Have 2 powerful props and a strong scrummaging low down hooking package at 2, ala Smit or Liebenberg, and problem solved, no more turbo reverse.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:09 pm
#269 cab: Cant see the weakness in Smit can you?
Hell i am not sure what more it will take ….
Bloody good hooker…thats the way to go…..
Or do you prefer turbo reverse scrums?
November 21st, 2009 at 7:09 pm
Grant!
JS must be 2 till WC 2011! Bissie can be on the bench, impact player role I think. He gives away WAY too many penalties imo.
John is a great hooker… Average 3
November 21st, 2009 at 7:10 pm
#272 skopskiet: Thank Heavens a man with vision….hell…seems me some okes cant see Fall even if its right in front of there eyes!!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:12 pm
#274 WP_: Average 3 ,,,,,are you blind….he is not a 3 at all…..useless wannabee 3 …fark boet….2 or bench or retirement…
November 21st, 2009 at 7:13 pm
G’Day all!
Smit should play, no doubt. Bismark off the bench.
Beast
Smit
Botha
What did you guys think of Wian?
November 21st, 2009 at 7:15 pm
#270 grant10:
there is no need for it, i simply have never bought into your short-sighted approach, and i still believe it is wrong.
What you miss here, is that PdV has a policy whereby he normally does not select NH players, and this is why i thought BJ was out of the running, he is clearly SA best TH and i certainly dont need you to tell me that, in fact you never have. My problem is that other than BJ, there is no-one who i think is that much better than Smit and so to get Bismarck into the tight 5 it was not a bad compromise, which saw SA have probably the best year since the pro era began.
comprende?
Love the okes out the woodwork….not such a bloody treasonable traitor anymore….thank heavens….
VINDICATION…
Long road to freedom i tell you…
BJ you BEAUTY!!
272 skop
Agreed on all counts! Hopefully PdV sees what we do! Bismarck is a weak scrummager!
276 grant
I’m not blind boet, but even a blind man could see that JS’s best position, by bloody miles!
JS poor at 3 but what happens if you want to bring on Bissie from the bench in the last 20? legitimate question…
November 21st, 2009 at 7:16 pm
#278 cab: Smit is and never has been a 3….
Verstaan??
November 21st, 2009 at 7:17 pm
#280 WP_: Then ….if you have to have Smit on the field [ which i disagree with ] move Smit to 1….
Please Rugby Gods never to 3 again….
Please!!!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:18 pm
#273 grant10:
lol…now he’s a bladdy good hooker is he?
hell you were calling for his retirment just last week, telling us that it is the ‘honorable’ thing to do, that he was apparently an honrable man and would do the honorable things and all that other honorable horsemanue you spewed…but then a few days later you blew cold again and called him a dishonrable so and so for his book and what an awful twatty-watty he was.
now please, clear it up, once and for all, what are you trying to say?
also what happens if BJ gets done in the scrums against ireland?
reemeber this conversation.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:19 pm
Wian had a solid if unspectacular debut.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:19 pm
#281 grant10:
how would you know grant?
you dont know the first f’ckin thing about forward play.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:21 pm
Grant…
How, in your opinion, is 1 different to 3. I’d love to find out…
Smit MUST stay on for the whole 80 in big games. Remember the first test against the Lions. Nuff said.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:22 pm
#283 cab: Smit to 2….and he needs to compete there and show he is the best…
Smit never ever never farken ever to 3….unrealistic ask of him….surely you now accept that….
Tightheads….horses for courses….Wp Nel….CJ and BJ….
Heinke….beast and Wiaan at 1….
Never ever Smit at 3…never!
Verstaan??
November 21st, 2009 at 7:22 pm
#284 WP_: Thought so 2. But that is fine, not many props fire from the word go. Think he should be back-up for Beast though. Guthro went off the boil.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:23 pm
#286 WP_: Massive difference….ask Os….!!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:24 pm
Fact is that we need Smit on the field for 80 in big games. His best position is 2, and he can cover for 3. Bismark on the bench.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:25 pm
Cab….seems you lack the balls to admit when you wrong….
I was wrong at F Steyn at 10
You were wrong with Brussow at
And Smit
You will never fromnt up
You a bit of a wally i reckon….
Anyway…cheers
Nite out
The beer will be sweet…a bok win and a point proven….
November 21st, 2009 at 7:26 pm
#289 grant10: Think what he meant was that it would be equally difficult to expect a hooker to play 1 or 3. We all know there is a big difference between 1 and 3.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:26 pm
#287 grant10:
tell me something, have you ever actually played in the pack?
i mean i know you a flyhalf and all, but ****** why is it the backs have always got the biggest yappers about frontrow play when they know absolutely sweet f;all about it?
November 21st, 2009 at 7:27 pm
289 Johan Fourie
Agree with that, he survived well at international level in his debut. That’s encouraging… Guthro is over the hill in my opinion, he has regressed big time…
290 Grant10
Os knows there is, I know there is. I’m asking if YOU know if there is, seeing that your seem to think that you are the all knowing scrum guru all of a sudden?
#291 grant10: Sometimes one needs to be humble. We are all “right” sometimes.
#291 grant10:
yeah and you need to reel your head back in.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:28 pm
Bismark gotta get dropped, Liebenberg a better option at reserve 2 all the way round. Bismark is another loosie not a great front row forward.
Start Du Preez, Liebenberg, Smit, finish Blaauw/Heinke, Smit, Beast, thats if BJ not available.
Or get Heinke/Blaauw up to scratch and start Heinke, Smit, WP Nel and finish, Beast, Smit, Nel/Buys
November 21st, 2009 at 7:29 pm
I’m out! Much better Bokke.
#290 Johan Fourie: Barney’s value as a captain is overstated.
In the professional era every player knows what to do.
Cappies job is to influence the ref, make calls on kicks or scrums and little else. If anything his ability to get the team from plan A to plan B is suspect.
Off the field it is a different matter, there he shines as a captain.
Fact is we can’t afford the big guy any more, even at 2.
#285 cab: AMEN AND I REST MY CASE UR HONOUR
bwaaaaaahahahahaaaaaaaaa
cabby too funny boet
see again they say smitty is poor when it was wian getting his head shoved into bumland
3 or 2 smitty syands his man , yes like you cabby bro we all agree smitty is a better hooker, and like you i agree with BJ playing up north and out of the running smitty was the obvious choice
and if only f steyn and jdiv will be chosen we will be back into winning ways
November 21st, 2009 at 7:32 pm
#299 Kronung: Disagree. Smit is a vital part of the team, just like Victor and Fdp. You need those 3 on the field.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:33 pm
Exactly, it is equally as hard for a 2 to convert to 1 or 3. Simple
November 21st, 2009 at 7:34 pm
Is this the Real Johann Fourie, the sub 4 minute miler, 3.36 1500 mtr. man or just his namesake?
November 21st, 2009 at 7:36 pm
#303 skopskiet: No, just his namesake! I do the mile in sub 15!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:36 pm
#301 Johan Fourie: Possibly. Just think the role of Captain is over-emphasized and we really do need a mobile 2 in the modern game.
But I am no authority, just my humble opinion.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:37 pm
#302 WP_: Yip. It is like expecting Bakkies to play 11 or 14. Not a big difference.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:38 pm
No Smit would be more comfortable at 1 than at 3, go ahead ask him, even Os wouldn’t convert to 3 even if you offered him a Ferrari to do so. When Jake switched him from hooker to prop to accomodate Bismark it was always to 1, never to 3. Big difference, very few front rankers can handle TH, maybe a mere handful on the planet, even Heinke crumbled at 3. Smit must go to 2, or at worst scenario 1, but we still short a proper TH. WP Nel and K.Buys the only two with their hands remotely being held up.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:39 pm
Me too since the army (some time back) I think my mile time gone down to around 15 min too
#305 Kronung: Understand your point of view. I just think that we need certain players in the Big games. Just like NZ need McCaw and Carter, we need Smit, Matfield, and FdP.
OK out adios.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:41 pm
#307 skopskiet: Who is Buys? Big future for WP Nel…I hope!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:41 pm
#307 skopskiet:
Now that is a more valid and interesting observation.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:42 pm
Night all!
November 21st, 2009 at 7:46 pm
#279 grant10:
take a deep breath, i certainly will not call you a traitor for criticising Smit, so lets cut the old political crusade in the bud right there. if you feel you are vindicated, good for you, go cut yourself a piece of cake.
i dont mind if you call me an ou doos and all either. but just because you have an opinion, that is all it is, an opinion – there are others who do not agree with it. i am one of those.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:47 pm
ya maybe slighty easier to shift to 1… but not easy in general, to be fair.
Cheers Johan
November 21st, 2009 at 7:49 pm
GO SCOTLAND! You buggers. 3-0 to the aussies after 27 mins atm
November 21st, 2009 at 7:50 pm
3 all
November 21st, 2009 at 7:53 pm
#299 Kronung:
ask the coach what they think we will let divvie choose the team thank you very much…
#266 grant10: \
already done if you look….bj was awesome…
by the way how good was smittie at 2… great…
now wind your neck in….
November 21st, 2009 at 7:53 pm
#316 WP_:
Feel the same. GO SCOTLAND.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:55 pm
#318 gunther: Smitty was brilliant at hooker. Went back to that position and it was easy peasy like a Duck takes to Water. Our Captain was great there. Good on you Smitty. Played 80min too. Bugger the rest that always want to diss him.
November 21st, 2009 at 7:57 pm
#286 WP_: Well said. Smitty has to stay on for 80min. We need our captain. Some can never see that though.
November 21st, 2009 at 8:02 pm
#320 Puma:
the scrum was also improved by moving danie to 8, i am sorry but kank was poor… he wasn’t even binding properly and his head was up most of the time….
November 21st, 2009 at 8:05 pm
BOD? player of da player?is it April already?
November 21st, 2009 at 8:05 pm
#266 grant10: Yes Grant, Smitty was great at hooker but be honourable too and admit he is the best captain ever and we NEED him for WC 2001. NOT Luke like you say mate. Smitty is our best captain and he played for 80min. Smitty is a yster mate. Does anything for the team a true team person. Everything for the team our captain.
Also a scrum is made of 8 players not 5. Our loosies until Deysel came on were letting the scrum down. Also think it was WdP where the weakness came from too. Beast made a difference too and Bj.
How was DEYSEL. Brilliant. Think he has cemented a place now in the Bok squad too.
November 21st, 2009 at 8:08 pm
#322 gunther: Yip, Just said that in my post 266. DEYSEL. Being saying for a long, long time he deserved a spot in the Boks side. Made all the difference. Great fetcher, carries the ball up strong and his defence is brilliant. Has to start against Ireland.
Very pleased for him getting his first cap. About bloody time too.
November 21st, 2009 at 8:11 pm
#322 gunther: Brussow as brilliant as he is his head also came up at times in the scrum.
It all went so well when John went to hooker, BJ, Beast and Deysel came on. Superb. That is how we must start next week.
Said Danie is better 8 than blindside. Deysel can fetch well too.
Now cant wait for the game against Ireland next week.
November 21st, 2009 at 8:28 pm
Smit and BJ will be good options at 10 next season for Boks. I expect Smit to start most of the games at 3 and move to hooker after 60 mins
November 21st, 2009 at 8:31 pm
#327 Big Hit: @ 3 not 10 wtf lol
November 21st, 2009 at 8:37 pm
#327 Big Hit: hiyas BH my friend , hope you are doing well
unfortunately some in here just have no idea to the value of smitty as player and captain
that man is made of pure greatness , and is a massive pillar to bok rugby
November 21st, 2009 at 8:45 pm
#329 sharks_lover: absolutely, I think some overlook the front row’s contribution in the tightloose, as cab has pointed out it’s the Bok’s best ever season in the pro era with the Sharks front row, Bulls second row and Cheetahs back row. They should keep to that pattern.
November 21st, 2009 at 8:48 pm
#329 sharks_lover: Sharky well said. Agree 100%. Smitty there until 2011 make no mistake. He will be there even if he player hooker where he played very well.
Also not only Smitty’s problem in the scrum when he was at TH. The loosies at that time were not doing their bit and I think the weakness in the front row was from WdP.
Maybe next week. BJ at TH. John at Hooker and Beast at LH.
Dysel has to start at blindside he was superb when he came on.
November 21st, 2009 at 10:11 pm
#328 Big Hit:
I’m not sur bj has the kicking game for a 10…
November 22nd, 2009 at 7:15 am
#324 Puma: Smits captaincy has never been questioned by me…..niether has his continued spot in the Bok team as a hooker. It is his absolute useless scrumming at 3 that has been a concern, and yesterday provided 100% proof of what i have been advocating for a very long time.
Smit at 2….never ever again at 3…thats my position.
He and Bissy can alternate or rotate …whatever….but the Boks must not screw around at tighthead….it is the cancer !!!
And we dont have to either….WP Nel, Buys are 2 up and coming prospects…..
And in CJ and BJ we have 2 specialists more than capable of adding value.
I have always been an advocate of horses for courses Puma…..and have said that true Smit fans would realise that if Smit is to get to WC 2011….it has to be from the 2 spot…never 3.
Boks cannot afford or tolerate the disaster that was our set scrum until BJ came on and Smit shifted….look at the massive difference!!!The entire Bok team fizzed!!
November 22nd, 2009 at 7:23 am
#331 Puma: And Puma…..the fact i am critical of Smit at 3 has nothing to do with respect….i am stating what i am seeing.
I watched the game witl loads of fans yesterday….every scrum there was an outcry!!! Some okes saying Smit must retire, etc…..
I told the 1 fan it wasnt smits fault as he is forced to play out of position….i dont ‘ blame’ Smit….
I blame the fools that made him go to 3 in the beginning!
It was a move doomed to fail…and now has….Smit to 2….or international retirement ….this is and remains my mantra.
Never want to see a non specialist in that 3 jersey again.
Not even a powerful loosehead like Heinke could do the job at 3, yet we expected Smit to do it??
Cmon…doesent take a genius to realise its a huge mess up in the making.
November 22nd, 2009 at 8:37 am
some news….CJ also fit for next week….wonder what the team will be…
And FDP may be out with a hand injury.
November 22nd, 2009 at 8:42 am
#334 grant10: it hasn’t failed though grant, he was solid for most games this year and it’s SA’s most successful season in the pro-era.
Sharks front row/Bulls second row/Cheetahs backrow has worked well, SA have dominated every other pack except at scrum time where they’ve normally had parity.
What’s the situation on Beast btw, is he going to continue to be allowed to play?
November 22nd, 2009 at 9:28 am
#336 Big Hit: BH…you will never convince me that the move to 3 of smit has been a success….the price we have paid has been immense,,,we are the laughing stock of rugby world with that scrum….absolute shocker that you dont see this….really BH….its a damn shame that we have allowed ourselves to get screwed over scrum tim#e.
Absolute dismal scrumming with smit at 3…far too often.
We wont allow it to continue, PDV has seem the light!
After the transformation in the scrum yesterday i pray that i never have to witness the sight of J Smit at 3 ever again…
November 22nd, 2009 at 9:39 am
#337 grant10: far from a laughing stock, the Bok scrum isn’t even viewed as weak outside SA. You got a winning team g10, enjoy it.
November 22nd, 2009 at 9:46 am
#338 Big Hit: WPity you dont read Afrikaans….the Rugby talk website where the Bulls fans have there site are furious about the scrums and up in arms that smit must never play 3 again…..Tighthead is adamant that we have failed the Bok standards and respect for the scrum for the last 12 months, and i 100% agree.
I am not cared about the boks being a winning team…i am cared about building a team to win in 2011….that Bok scrum has been a disgrace…an absolute abortion….i could not even watch at times yesterday…i was appalled…
PDV ,Muitr and Gold have been shocking in allowing such rot to set in to such a huge fundamental part of the game….disgraceful.
But the changes are imminent. Even the 3 wise men cant be that blind….
I see 90 % of bloggers agree on the poll agree…smit to 2…or bench…ot international retirement….
No ifs or buts….the rot must stop….now!!!
November 22nd, 2009 at 10:04 am
#339 grant10:
just as an aside tighthead said on keo that Sheridan wasn’t a good scrummaging prop before he dominated every SA side on the Lions tour.
The SA scrum hasn’t been strong for a long time as Jones rightly pointed out in his article last week, they have long been getting along with parity and no more yet somehow retained the global reputation for strong scrummaging based on previous generations.
What this South African scrum has however is three players who can make up for any deficiency at scrum time with outstanding displays in the loose which have contributed hugely to the Boks most successful season ever. If you change with the front row make-up you might well find you lose that success too.
The thing about test rugby is that it’s not won on paper, what looks good in theory or on keo’s site often doesn’t work out in practice. The Bok coaches have found something which works in practice, eight players who can (and have) dominate(d) the world rugby scene and I think they’d be foolish to squander that in the name of development for 2011, the Boks results were up and down for a long time this decade so they should hold onto that successful formula with a tight grip and win as many games as they can and enjoy it. Best way to develop is to win.
Interesting that you place so much emphasis on 2011 that you don’t care so much about Boks being a winning team now and that you were appalled while watching your team win. Many SA fans on here a while after the World Cup said they’d rather dominate in the years in between.
Anyway, if there is an area for the Boks to focus on it is surely the backline and in particular the 10/12/13 channels for they’re as devoid of creativity or attacking intent as England have been this Autumn. So much possession for the SA forwards in the 3N so little reward from their backs in terms of tries and bonus points. A centre combination that works should be the priority.
November 22nd, 2009 at 3:17 pm
#340 Big Hit:
f;ck me – this englishman knows more about bok rugby then 90% of SA fans.
subtlety, try and understand what he is saying.
The Boks coaching staff are well aware Smit is not the best scrumming TH.
As for TightHead, he is good to read, but his is also just an opinion.
To call Sheridan a poor scrummer is plain nonsense to be honest.
As for what happens in 2011, bugger that, focus now on winning test matches.
Our leger is a worry, esp against france who have nearly caught up.
November 22nd, 2009 at 3:21 pm
Smit has done very well imo, and is getting better with each outing, he brings alot besides including mobility and of course his captain and of course allowing the best hooker in the world to play, Bismarck.
There is a reason this has been one of the most succesful bok years, and if you cannot see what the Bok coaches are trying to do you need to stop telling others they cannot see.
i would say one thing tho, perhaps a specialist TH is a must for NH conditions, particularly where our guys are tired. i would say a very different approach should be taken to these tours in general.
November 22nd, 2009 at 3:31 pm
#341 cab: Cab if Boks were able to play France 3 times like we do with our Tri-Nation partners. Maybe who knows we may get 2 wins out of 3. We would never lose all of them.
Also if we got the Italy test first it would have been ideal before playing France.
Remember too. We had 4 players missing against France. JdV, Spies, Fransie and Juan. Can never just lose 4 great players like that and play the same as we did during the 3Nations and Lions Series. Think the players that played in those positions just not the same standard as the ones they replaced.
If only we had tours again. That would be awesome.
November 22nd, 2009 at 3:39 pm
#343 Puma:
we select players and teams to win the 3N, which is really the heart of our season, the bok combination of mobility and power is unmatched, esp at home on our harder faster fields when the players are all primed.
However, these NH EOY tours, require a definite re-think, the players are not only tired, but it probably requires picking a more horses for courses approach.
I think its great BJ is selected since he offers a very different option if the game demands it, always felt BJ is best scrumming TH by some distance, but that is not what Bokke coaches are trying to do. Also BJ has also been in teams whose scrum has been beaten – as the saying goes be careful what you wish for you might just get it.
November 22nd, 2009 at 3:47 pm
#344 cab: You right Cab, Still think we miss those players. The ones now will gel and it takes time.
Enjoyed Deysel coming on yesterday and yes BJ too.