Pining for a platform

South Africa’s dangerous outside backs will never reach their potential unless the problems up front are rectified.

Breakdown blues and a set-piece savaging. South Africa’s shortcomings in these departments were evident in the Leicester match, but only became a real concern when a physical capitulation contributed to defeat against France. A substandard performance against Saracens resulted in another loss, and a lacklustre showing in Udine raised more questions than answers.

Where do the Boks stand as they approach the most important fixture of their European tour?

The usual excuses of fatigue and injuries will be rolled out, but it’s no secret the Test against Italy was supposed to be a dress rehearsal for the big show in Dublin. Going by what we’ve seen in the past four tour matches, can the Boks outmuscle Ireland?

Fatigue and injuries aside, South Africa certainly have the potential. The real question is whether the coaching staff will opt for a pack suited to northern hemisphere conditions; a pack capable of providing a platform for the outside backs to shine.

Fourie du Preez showed his class behind a retreating pack on Saturday, but Morne Steyn, still in his first year of Test rugby, battles under that kind of pressure. It also doesn’t help to receive back-foot ball and shovel it on to a player who struggles to breach the gain line.

Adi Jacobs is not a crash ball player, and often surrenders possession once he’s stopped short of the advantage line. It’s a shame that Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana don’t receive more opportunities. As they showed on Saturday, their finishing ability is world class. One way or another, JP Pietersen also needs to get more involved.

Jacobs is the wrong man to wear the No 12 jersey, but his plight and that of Steyn is partially a result of the pack’s failure to front. The Boks’ protection of the ball at the breakdown has been poor on this tour, as the opposition have committed more men to the rucks and thus prevented South Africa getting clean ball. The Boks have won some terrific turnovers through the sticky-fingered Heinrich Brussow, but they’ve conceded an unacceptable amount of turnovers of their own.

The static display at the breakdown has limited the Bok momentum that was so prominent in the Tri-Nations. The scrum wobbles of the Sanzar tournament have been amplified in European conditions, where there are more scrums than down south.

John Smit has asked that he be judged after two years in the tighthead position. Saturday showed why this is a luxury South Africa cannot afford on the heavier grounds up north. Wian du Preez, Adriaan Strauss and Smit were a distant second to their Italian counterparts, and it’s little surprise that the new combination in the second stanza achieved parity.

Beast Mtawarira is an important player for the Boks as he boasts a tremendous work-rate. In a front row alongside Smit (at hooker) and BJ Botha, he also managed to get one over Martin Castrogiovanni.

The Italians were always going to run out of puff in the final quarter and unfortunately they doesn’t possess much quality in reserve. But the performance of the Bok front row in the dying stages must have been encouraging, and the best thing about a front row that includes Mtawarira, Smit and Botha is the balance. They’re a better scrumming unit and offer good ball-carrying options.

The Bulls didn’t have the strongest scrum in the Super 14 and neither did the Boks in the Tri-Nations. The difference up north is you need a steady scrum if you’re going to gain ground. It also pays to remember that Ireland’s defence will be far sharper than that of the Italians, who fell off many a runner in the wider channels.

If Peter de Villiers does opt for a stronger scrummaging pack, he needs to pick a No 8 capable of exploiting a set-piece advantage. Danie Rossouw did the job for the Boks at the 2007 World Cup, and there’s little doubt he’d do the job in Dublin. For all of Ryan Kankowski’s talents, ball-carrying in the closer channels isn’t one of them.

The availability of Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis will be made public at Monday’s press conference. If Burger is fit, he should start at blindside flank with Rossouw switching to No 8. At hooker, it’s not really much of a choice with Smit an irreplaceable leader, and since Du Plessis is returning from injury, he would be better utilised from the bench.

By Jon Cardinelli

148 Comments

• 1.flanka: Reply to this comment

“Beast Mtawarira is an important player for the Boks as he boasts a tremendous work-rate”

Something which one-eyed bloggers with agendas like Hondo don’t seem to notice…well we saw what the old re-united sharks front row produced….thats got to be the 1,2 and 3 we build on

Smit really needs to get the 2 jersey back and bismarck simply has to wait his turn or convert to utility loose-forward…he’s not THAT indispensible

• 2.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

You need forward DOMINANCE, not forward PARITY.

• 3.flanka: Reply to this comment

Parity comes before dominance, and this front row has potential to dominate considering they’ve scrummed together before and DOMINATED in the super 14

• 4.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Ponder those words: “a retreating pack”.

And it’s only the tiny minnow 6N cellar-dweller Italy you’re up against as “world champions” …

“A retreating pack”???

Sis, man!

• 5.flanka: Reply to this comment

retreating pack against the best tighthead prop in the world with a 32-10 win…not a bad margin compared to a scrappy 20-6 win from the auraless blacks

• 6.klippies101: Reply to this comment

ja bring jdv as centre i was watching him on rugbydump. com he is class

• 7.grant10: Reply to this comment

No one should be indispensable….no one owns the Bok jersey.

Smit must simply never wear a 3 jersey again….that was brutually exposed ad nauseum yesterday….again and again…..so i say it again……J Smit must NEVER play tighthead again!

Wiaan du preez must not he harsgly judged either….i am sure he would have relished the opportunity to play next to Smit at 2 and BJ at 3….

Good to see that a dropping resulted in a far more focussed and commiteed Beast running on to the field.

Not sure what the answer is with Adi at 12…..i was hopelessly wrong…..i thought he would relish the 12 spot…..he hasnt.

Soda, you were right, i owe you a cold one….

• 8.sglazer: Reply to this comment

End of year tours should be used to give up-and-coming Springboks big match experience. Only the leaders in the First XV should go on these tours, to provide a backbone for the newbies.

• 9.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Then we’d be creating platforms for the future of Springbok rugby

• 10.sglazer: Reply to this comment

End of year tours could perform the function of mid-week games from the tours of old. Clarity would be created in the selection process.

• 11.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#5 flanka: Still.. retreating against EIGHT men from Italy..

When the mighty Os du Rand was in the Bok front row, nobody ever retreated from him. All he ever did was staunchly keep up his end of the bargain. Same with other front-row legends like Tiny Neethling or Hempies du Toit or Mof Myburgh or … you name them.

Retreating?

Never.

• 12.klippies101: Reply to this comment

when smit player hooker our srcum was never this poor he is not a prop full stop

• 13.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#12 klippies101: I agree.

• 14.120kg: Reply to this comment

But will PDV make the changes needed. Or will he believe himself? Bod will have so much fun against adi

• 15.klippies101: Reply to this comment

ja adi is creative i feel he has scored alot in the past but ja he cant defend and bod is strong and will run right at him

• 16.David: Reply to this comment

Could somebody, Ryan included, please explain the difference between the NH conditions and New Zealands. This generalised SH harder ground fallacy has been perpetuated for so long that it’s quoted as fact.

• 17.farkeq2: Reply to this comment

We were again put to the sword at scrum time, when will snor stand up to the plate and drop bismark to the bench.we will get that stigma of having a kak scrum, just like the Aussies had, and we know how long that takes to get rid of

• 18.BMM: Reply to this comment

The question that burns my lips is this – is it John Smit that is such a poor prop or is it Bismark that is such a poor scrummager? I will never forget the Tri-Nations a few years ago when JS was still playing hooker – the scrum was seriously solid – he got injured and all of a sudden our scrum got klapped!! I am not a front rower or a forward for that matter but a very good listener to anyone with a view about everything rugby…. what I do hear being touted often is that shortish tightheads (Tom Smith, BJ Botha) can be devastating props against bigger opposition simply because it is easier to get underneath them. This can also be assisted with a big solid scrummaging hooker!! Beast Smit and BJ looked very solid and comfortable as a unit!!! In my view over the last year everytime our front row pops all I see is Bismarks head popping first??? He is a fantastic extra loosie but is it worth compromising our scrum for that? I reckon Smit should hook and Bissie should bench until Smitty is ready to step down – at the moment Smitty is still playing awesome rugby – anyone who does not see that is not watching the game through impartial specs!!

• 19.flanka: Reply to this comment

#18 BMM: i agree 100%

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

#18 BMM: well said!

• 21.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Hookers really don’t have to hook much, these days. The ball gets fed in almost behind their feet. In the modern scrum, the hooker is now merely a scrummager.

• 22.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#18 BMM: I would caution SA against choosing a better scrum over having the best players on the field. Beast, Smit and BDP have been terrific this year around the field and have played a huge part in the Boks most successful season. All three are integral to the effort and you risk losing something by benching one of them and gain not a lot by just having parity at scrum time. If you’re winning, then messing with the formula might not be the brightest move. Good for the coaches to have options and depth tho.

• 23.flanka: Reply to this comment

#22 Big Hit: we’d only be losing BDP to the bench and gaining botha who is just as fantastic in the loose….hardly call it a big change in comparison to the massive difference at scrum time

• 24.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#23 flanka: BDP is the best hooker in the world this year, phenomenal in the loose and brilliant at turnovers for a hooker. BJ not on that level in the loose but he does solidify the scrum. Depends what compromise you want, perhaps something the coaches will look at game by game.

• 25.battlebok: Reply to this comment

I agree that John should not play at no.3 again, but saying that Beast got one over Castro, alongside John and BJ are unfair towards Castro. He was playing 70min of rugby when those two came on. If Beast came on from the start and then won Castro it would have been fair.

• 26.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

Is this BJ Botha the same guy who spent about 60 minutes with his arse up in the air when we played the AB`s in Durban a few years ago? He was absolutely murdered in the scrum. This is all I can remember of him. Hope he has improved.

• 27.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

#25 battlebok: Castro was replaced at halftime and only got back when BJ etc came onto the field. He had at least 15 minutes of rest after the break: it could even be longer. He definitely did not play 70 minutes!#24 Big Hit: Bismarck is a great hooker, but after that rib injury before the semi-finals of the Currie Cup he wasn’t the same. If you have played hooker before, you’ll know that a rib injury is terrible once you start scrumming. If he is not 100% put him on the bench ( at best ) or put Strauss on the bench with JS at 2

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

#22 Big Hit: absolute **** GH….really this is tripe….we cannot play with a retreating scrum….

Seriously expected more from you….that is absolute rubbish.

• 29.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#28 grant10: did you just call me Graham Henry? or was that GH meant to be a BH :)

it’s never been truly retreating save for a couple of times in the second half against Oz when the game was won and once against France.

Test rugby is about winning and losing, if you believe the trade off is worth it fair enough. Personally I don’t ever think BJ can match the performance around the field of the any of the three incumbent front row players.

Mind you when I saw our scrum get beaten yesterday (far worse than the Boks have this year) I sympathised with your point of view, but then we weren’t winning whereas your team generally is when you complain about the scrum.

Don’t get mad tho g10, it’s just rugby discussion bud

• 30.ikantspel: Reply to this comment

15: Morne, 14: JP, 13: J.Fourie, 12: Meisie, 11: Habanero, 10: Pienaar, 9: FdP, 8: Bismark, 7: Schalk, 6: Brussow, 5: Vic, 4: Bakkies, 3: BJ, 2: Smit, 1: Beast. Res: Nokwe, Adi, Kanko, Deysel, Bekker, CJ, Wian

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

#29 Big Hit: I dont want out tighthead running around making a 100 tackles, etc….i want him to be the rock in the scrums….let the bloody loosehead and hooker do the flash….

That has been our problem….3 x flashy and no bloody scrummers!!

Give me BJ or Cj ant day of the week….i see Smit at 3 again i cant watch…its just too damn pathetic and painful.

• 32.grant10: Reply to this comment

#29 Big Hit: GH…sorry…BH

• 33.flanka: Reply to this comment

#25 battlebok: castro had been on the bench for quite some time and only came back on when we had bj, smit and beast….like everyone else has been doing this year he was simply taking advantage of smitty’s vulnerability at 3….once we had (what i believe to be) our best front row he was anonymous and could only try rattle beast with off the ball nonsense

• 34.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

I liked the look of that front row that finished the test. Deysel played well too.

• 35.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Surely there must be no more detractors of Spies’s prfromnces at 8 any more? Not so much for the scrum, but the value he adds to the collisions is ENORMOUS!! We dont go backwards when he is there.

Honestly Kanko looks like he is in over his head. Yes he runs fast against a 2nd tire nation like Italy, but was honeslty nowhee against a decent backline- and nowhere in the tightin either game. And his technique is awful- he loses SOOO much ball in contact.

• 36.williforde: Reply to this comment

I think the most disconcerting thing for anybody to see, is to see your front row pop. What a difference with js, beast & bj! All the mobility around the field.(Bissy).is not
    Worth moving.js from 2 where.he belongs.

• 37.spykerbaard: Reply to this comment

#22 Big Hit:
    #29 Big Hit:

I tend to agree with you BH, tho as a Saffa I cant tell you how good it was to finally see our boys gain parity and then dominate in those last few scrums . . . the whole team got a big boost, just what we all needed.

It’s going to be very interesting to see which players PdV goes with next week (and in what positions).

• 38.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#34 Kietzphat: Ja me too. Enough of teh Smitty experiment- he can share 2 with Bissie to manage him until the next RWC.

And Adi is just not good enough. AWFUL GAME FOR HIM. His passing and distribution have also gone down.

• 39.Just Another Paddy: Reply to this comment

I really can’t call this one…

Our scrum and breakdown play was embarrasing in the ozzies game but we dominated them in the lineout.

These clealry won’t apply against you guys with perhaps the breakdown the only area which will stay the same. We don’t have a fetcher…..

Battles I’m looking forward to:

BOD vrs Fourie

Healy vrs Smith

Kearney vrs DU Preez and Morne…….

• 40.Puma: Reply to this comment

Proteas 27/1 after 5 overs.

#39 Just Another Paddy: Going to be a great game. Really looking forward to it.

Now we need to start with WO and not Adi and the front row of Beast, John and BJ. Deysel to start at 7 and Danie to 8.

We looking much better with those players.

What I would have done for JdV and Frans Steyn to be playing against Ireland too.

• 41.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Nice article Jon,

Essentially, I have been banging on about the same issues as what you are saying.
    First and foremost – you play horses for courses.

In the NH, the game is slightly slower and you need big forwards playing together as big forwards. The game is wet under foot and the breakdown is the biggest battle.
    Because of this, you need a front row that are all playing in the correct positions, and they need to be specialists. I have been crying at length about my dissatisfaction that JS was moved to 3 to accomodate Bissy. Its ludicrous. Bissy has lost his hunger since the JS move, and his efforts were much better coming off the bench.

Combinations are also important. Every scrum we have had this tour that has been battling has seen the wrong players together. Simple.

Loose forwards for NH rugby is the same. We cannot start 1 x tight player and 2 x loose players like we did against France.
    Brussouw hits every ruck and maul and fights for the ball, however, Burger and Kanko think they are centres. We need balance there too. Even the Wallabies get this right. Your loosies can only play loose when the game allows them to do so, and that only happens once the forwards are going forward.

In SH rugby (S14, Tri Nations etc etc) the game is faster and the breakdown contests are not as fierce, or as long as in the North, hence our rucking and mauling seems okay. Thats why guys like Kanko shine there too as the ball is flowing more, and he is more prominent.

Now to the backs, if you pick a kicking flyhalf (which Steyn is), then how can you pick a talented/creative runner (which Adi is) to play alongside him? Morne takes the ball 10/15m behind the advantage line. By this stage, the opposition loosies are up on him and the opposition defense has go forward. If he took the ball flat, that would essentially make the opposition loosies have to retreat backwards before making the tackle. This would put more pressure on the opposition backline, which will result in space. The space which a guys like Adi will run into and start to produce the ball carrying that got him into the side in the first place. Adi is not a poor player, he is also easily good enough to be a Bok (think of his performances last year when we played Harlem Globetrotter rugby), however, he is a victim of a poor selection policy which sees him trying to play a game he is uncomfortable with and not suited to. If you persist with Steyn at 10, you need a crash ball centre who will take the ball forward with 3 defenders on him.

However, what was painfully obvious, was that we have great outside backs who are desperate to see what the ball looks like. The 2 tries in the first half did not come from the half backs of the Boks, but rather from counterattack, and turnover… luckily Steyn did not touch the ball, as he would have kicked it away. (This seemed to be the first half strategy)

Horses for courses… In the North, our team should be: (only considering who is on tour currently, taking into account foreign player selection stance as well)

1) BEAST
    2) SMIT
    3) BOTHA
    4) BOTHA
    5) MATFIELD
    6) BRUSSOUW
    7) DEYSEL
    8) RUSSOUW
    9) FDP
    10) STEYN
    11) HABANA
    12) OLIVIER
    13) FOURIE
    14) PIETERSON
    15) KIRCHNER

For SH games, I would pick:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15 all remain.
    7) Smith
    8) Spies / Burger
    10) Pienaar
    12) De Villiers

I would stop the ban on oversees selection. My bench would include:
    WDP
    BISSY
    BEKKER (as a no 5 lock replacement only – Russouw can cover 4)
    SPIES/BURGER/BRUSSOUW/SMITH will always start with 1 of them on the bench
    FIND A SCRUMMIE

• 42.Puma: Reply to this comment

Proteas 38/2 after 8 overs. We in a bit of trouble now.

Sorry guys no cricket thread here. So just posting this bit of crici news here.

• 43.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#42 Puma: TRying to be relevant??? BTW your man Frans Steyn is playing out of position (12) at Racing… seems like he is being accomodated there too

• 44.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

If the team has a problem with the loosies then how about Ashley Johnson and/or Luke Watson… The best in world being ignored because of politics???… If there is a probelm at 10.. the form player is Earl Rose…Politics?? Pressure from the political right??

• 45.bolandboy: Reply to this comment

#30 ikantspel: if we have learnt anything from John Smit`s endeavours at tight head is that we must not play players out of postion ,this is not school boy rugby …Bismarc to bench or to compete with J.S at hooker, any one suggesting he plays as a loose forward has his head in the clouds

• 46.Puma: Reply to this comment

If Frans Steyn was playing at inside centre against Ireland we would have no worries at all in that channel. With Adi EISH, we going to be in trouble with BOD will own it there.

We have WO and he can play there so why can PdV not see we have a problem there? Otherwise mabe he has a ace up his sleeve and calls Fransie. Also can take the goalkicking if Morne is off form. Then they are playing with different balls up north to what we play in the SH.

• 47.Puma: Reply to this comment

Fransie can play inside centre (12) and FB 15 and he will own both those positions. None of them are out of position for him.

Maybe some don’t know their rugby too well here hey!! :wink:

• 48.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

Wynand olivier has proven himself to be useless against quality opposition… All this talk of him replacing Adi is dumb. Th problem is that Adi is playing between two trojans who grew up undermining black people… its simple, they wont play with him.. Replace JF with Juan De Jongh and Morne with Rose and you will have the most dynamic backline in the history of SA rugby… thats if FDP agrees to be part of that backline.. He will probably opt out.

• 49.grant10: Reply to this comment

#45 bolandboy: amen !!

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

#48 Langenhoven: LOL….

I am sure a lot of that is tongue in cheek?

How you my man….see man u and Chelsea widening the gap??

• 51.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#47 Puma: I know a lot more than those restrained by prejudice… I will always be ahead of them.. ..

Waiting for you to start patronising me

• 52.grant10: Reply to this comment

#48 Langenhoven: Personally never been a fan of WO…a bit 1 dimensional for my liking…Adi has not seemed to enjoy the channel though…..without JDV that cupboard is a bit bare.

Puma has a point with F Steyn there though..

• 53.bolandboy: Reply to this comment

#48 Langenhoven: omg …

• 54.grant10: Reply to this comment

JP Duminy looks so classy….all the time in the world to play his shots…..rate this young oke.

• 55.bolandboy: Reply to this comment

#52 grant10: I thought WO has been great,cant ask more for a 12 ,big strong and I think, despite popular belief his distribution is far superior to Jacobs ,imo Jacobs is a great 13 ,he proved that for the sharks against gwk

• 56.grant10: Reply to this comment

#47 Puma: Puma….i hope you now accept the fact that Smit is not and never will be the answer at 3 ??

• 57.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#50 grant10: I was watching the game (Arsenal) this morning… we were all over them.. It was like the Aussies against Scotland… We had 90% of the game…one of those things… We always believe that we can play without our Russian Maestro…Asharvin. BTW no tongue in cheek.. I can see where the problem is in the team… Its not Talent mate… its attitude… and too many players believe they have a right to be there because rugby is for white people.

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

#55 bolandboy: WO certainly improved and had a fine super 14….

Certainly without JDV he seems to be the best bet replacement…..Juan De jongh is a 13 and needs a super 14 under his belt….as does WP Nel and a few other up and coming players…

I would play WO against Ireland.

• 59.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#52 grant10: FRans Steyn is not doing to well in France mate.. THat is in relation to the Hype… The Sharks did not think he was good enough at FB as well as Racing…. Two unrelated entities came to the same conclusion..

• 60.grant10: Reply to this comment

#57 Langenhoven: The call for Earl at 10 is an interesting one…..and something i would like to see a lot more of….that Earl should of been in that match 22 is a fact…he was the best back on tour imo….

Juan is a very natural 13…..with Morgan Newman at 12 i look forward to seeing how they both develop in the super 14….

I honestly believe….perhaps naively….that the color issues are fast becoming a thing of the past boet….perhaps i am a bit naive…but was at a pub with loads of fans yesterday and really it is about the rugby….race dont seem to come into it…and it was a very ‘mixed’ pub…..

Consensus was around smit to 2 as opposed to any race talk….i think SA is moving forward rapidly….especially the youth.

• 61.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#55 bolandboy: Despite popular belief… you meant despite Reality??… and BTW big and strong is BS.. Hayes Vs Valuev… Aplon vs Matfield.. De Jongh’s try against Sarries as well as his overall ability to drive forward while carrying two or three forwards??

• 62.bolandboy: Reply to this comment

#58 grant10: There is no substitue for experience…I am probably Jean Deysel`s biggest fan ,saying that ,the game against Saracencs he was second in terms of prformance of loosies that night ,a notch behind wikus ,my point is WP Nel needs some more time to hone his talent

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

#59 Langenhoven: fact of the matter is F Steyn moved to France as he wanted to be ‘closer to the actionat 10 or 12′…..

He reckons he is too young to be a 15 so far away from the action. This in an interview on arrival in France.

Personally i would have no hesitation in playing him at 12, especially in the NH where the slower conditions suits the bigger basher at 12….and that boot!!!

Kirchner acquitted himself well….he can push hard to make the jersey his own…

• 64.grant10: Reply to this comment

#62 bolandboy: agree….Deysel was very good yesterday…PDV gonna have a lot to think about when selecting his team

I heard CJ …Schalk and Bissy also fit…

Qusetion mark over FDP though…hand injury.

• 65.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#60 grant10: Race will never be something of the past… I only blog here to expose it.. Its easy to cloud these issues with facades of non-racialism.. We need to look at the choices that people make vigorously interrogate them to understand the underlying reasoning…

Gonna have a chat with my Mom quickly …wil be back

• 66.grant10: Reply to this comment

duminy dropped on 23 by Strauss…luv it!

• 67.grant10: Reply to this comment

#65 Langenhoven: cheers boet

• 68.Kronung: Reply to this comment

#46 Puma: I see one who knows stuff all about rugby and a few other things as well.

• 69.bolandboy: Reply to this comment

#61 Langenhoven: okay,guess we going to have to keep watching to see which player is better at 12 ,my money is on Olivier

• 70.Puma: Reply to this comment

Proteas 87/2 after 20 overs. Amla and JP doing fine but will have to up the run rate.

Wonder why Bosman is not in this odi side? He was sensational in the Pro/20 game the other night.

• 71.RaynoG: Reply to this comment

Another Adi jibe… Big suprise! Quick, put Francois Hougaard in the Test team. It will be over-looked! And lets blame all Morne’s kak on the ball… :-)

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

I still reckon J Smit will go to lions as a hooker with D Muir…..

As a pay off for the Ludick and Alberts debacle….

Watch this space.

• 73.bolandboy: Reply to this comment

btw ,whilst holidaying in Durbs I played touch rugby with a friend and there was a Sharks player there who is moving to the Golden Lions who looks promising …3rd choice scrummy after 2 weeks ,alex de **** ,remember the name

• 74.grant10: Reply to this comment

#73 bolandboy: will watch out for him

• 75.Hier kom die bokke: Reply to this comment

I think PdV needs to start rethinking his overseas policy. We need JdV back, there is no replacement for him. And BJ proved his worth yesterday. We need a specialist tighthead.

Another point, we need to start thinking about a replacement for John.

• 76.grant10: Reply to this comment

#75 Hier kom die bokke: Luke Watson?

Dewalt Potgieter?

V Matfield?

Juan Smith?

• 77.Puma: Reply to this comment

#56 grant10: Grant I never said he was our answer to TH but he had to be in the team. If it was there then it had to be. I had said move Smit back to Hooker or did you forget? We need our captain and you were calling for him to be dropped or just retire.

No mate he has to be in that team. For me anyhow think he is a better hooker than Bissie. When John throws in. I just relax. He scrums better than Bissie too at hooker. Bisie to the bench.

Now hope you can see we need Smitty too as our captain.

100/2 we going at a snails pace here. Need to pick up the run rate Amala and JP.

• 78.Puma: Reply to this comment

#72 grant10: He wont leave the Sharks Grant. Watch this space hehehehe. Plum should make John captain next year too. We had 3 captains in the Sharks this year. Crazy.

John has a magnificent home there. He is not just about to give that up just yet.

• 79.grant10: Reply to this comment

#78 Puma: i am hearing rumours Puma…

• 80.Puma: Reply to this comment

111/3 after 22 overs. Those two just went far, far tooooooooooooo slow. JP out.

Normally at centurion it is great for batting maybe after the rain up there that pitch playing different. Need to pick the pace up a bit. We lose another wicket we will be in a bit of trouble there.

• 81.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#69 bolandboy: THere is recent history that we can look at.. WO has been been given every opportunity to succeed… and has flopped.. Adi has been good enough to brilliant in all the chances that he has been given… THat is the difference… You have too many misconceived notions of superiority mate…

• 82.Puma: Reply to this comment

#79 grant10: Grant…….hahahahahahahahaha. I almost choked on my coffee now……….hehehehe. You looking in your crystal ball again :lol: You hear these rumours or breaking news..hehe. :lol:

Grant I live in the same place as Muir mate. I wont say more. So lets leave it at that… But I am laughing. Is it that friend of yours that has the contacts :lol:

• 83.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

Til later mates

• 84.Puma: Reply to this comment

129/3 after 26 overs.

• 85.nama1: Reply to this comment

#80 Puma:
    Their partnership was 73 runs in 14.5 over at 4.92 runs per over.JP went out with a strike rate of 87 and Amla’s strike rate is 81. This after two wickets fell early on!

You call that SLOW?

• 86.Hier kom die bokke: Reply to this comment

#76 grant10
    I don’t rate Victor as captain – he loses focus when he captains the Boks.
    Dewald might be an option, but I just think Deysel is better at 7.
    Juan is a definite option, but I don’t know how many years he has left.
    What do you think of Brussow as captain?

• 87.Puma: Reply to this comment

135/4 after 29 overs. Hope we don’t start to lose more wickets now.

Would like to have had Bosman playing here today.

#85 nama1: Just look what we done in the Pro/20 240 after 20 overs. We now 135/ after 29 overs.

I know odi and Pro/20 are two different games but we could have gone much quicker than that. If we lose anymore wickets we going to be in big trouble. Not enough on the board at the moment.

• 88.nama1: Reply to this comment

#86 Hier kom die bokke:
    I don’t rate VM as Bok captain either. Good provincial captain maybe but not the right man for the Bok team. Juan Smith gets too emotional and is known to have a go at his team-mates if they mess up. I actually doubt whether he will reach the same heights as before after his enforced lay-off. His body took a lot of punishment the last few years and it may now count against him when he returns. But I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

HB can be an interesting choice. Cheetahs can do him a favour in naming him captain when Juan is not available so that he can hone his leadership abilities.

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

#86 Hier kom die bokke: I think Brussow must be left to do what he does best….not sure if he has captained before?

Would be a great choice but i have no idea about his leadership skills….

I think Dewalt being groomed though…

• 90.Hier kom die bokke: Reply to this comment

Brussow is the only young player in the Bok squad that I see being there for a long time. That’s my reason behind suggesting him. I think he should be given a chance at the Cheetahs, let’s see how he does there.

With Dewald as captain I see another situation where the best player in the position might sit on the bench because of the captain. I believe in picking a team based on merit, and picking a captain from that. Maybe that’s naive, but look at the problems we have now because of our captain.

Another wicket. Now we’re in trouble.

• 91.nama1: Reply to this comment

#87 Puma:
    135 after 29 overs equates to around 260/270 if we don’t lose too many wickets in the next ten overs. Peterson is going great at the moment and should bat through the innings. If he can do that we may end up closer to 300. Very much a winning score I would say.

That 20/20 score was a once in a life time innings. Much like the 438 game. Don’t use it as a yardstick.

• 92.Puma: Reply to this comment

157/5 after 33 overs. We lose anymore wickets that will be us done. Just to little on the board at the moment. Now the batsmen coming in under pressure. To slow from the top order.

• 93.nama1: Reply to this comment

Morkel has about 17 overs to do his thing. Let’s see if he makes use of this opportunity to bat longer. If he can’t come of with the bat against Eng, his place in the team should be in jeopardy because he does not do much with the ball in hand either.

• 94.Puma: Reply to this comment

#91 nama1: Yes Nama, But we are losing too many wickets. When they came into bat we had already lost 2 wickets. Needed to keep their wickets or pick up the run rate.

Now we in trouble with 157/5 after 33 overs. If we lose another wicket we may not get to bat our full overs.

• 95.Puma: Reply to this comment

#91 nama1: Why was Bosman not selected for the odi game? Pro/20 – odi there is a difference but huge. Bosman would be wonderful in the odi game.

• 96.Puma: Reply to this comment

#95 Puma: Sorry meant not huge.

• 97.The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Reply to this comment

Like Skinstad said yesterday,
    Something is very wrong with the scrums these days
    Almost every week and every game one scrum smashes the other
    How are these mismatches possible in test rugby?
    I can’t remember this ever happening before

The players found a way to cheat and the refs are clueless

• 98.Puma: Reply to this comment

#90 Hier kom die bokke: From what I have read here Brussow coming to the Sharks after the S14. Could be a rumour so have no idea just read it here. If it is true, he then needs to captain during the S14. Not sure if he will. Juan will be back by then.

• 99.Puma: Reply to this comment

#97 The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Refs are clueless I think.

• 100.Puma: Reply to this comment

#89 grant10: Potties is a really good captain. Has leadership all written all over him. Think he will captain Boks after 2011.

• 101.nama1: Reply to this comment

#92 Puma:
    Stop it now Puma. Scoring at around 4,5 runs/over after 33 overs is about par for a fifty over match. Already trying to put blame on JP and Amla, are you?

• 102.Puma: Reply to this comment

#101 nama1:Nama, No not trying to put blame on them. JP one of my favourite players. Just think they went a bit slow there.

Would you have had Bosman in the team? I would have. Wonder why they left him out.

• 103.Puma: Reply to this comment

#101 nama1: We just need to not lose anymore wickets and we will land up with a decentt score. They have some great batsmen in their side. Centurion is known for some big scores. With all the rain they had up there maybe it is playing a bit slow there. Have no idea. Will see when they come out to bat.

• 104.Puma: Reply to this comment

typo sorry, meant decent.

• 105.Puma: Reply to this comment

176/6 after 38 overs.

We may not bat out all our overs. Really can not lose any more wickets now.

• 106.nama1: Reply to this comment

Morkel also gone. They should have a rethink about his position in the team when Kallis is back.

• 107.nama1: Reply to this comment

#102 Puma:
    After his batting in the 20/20 match, I would definitely have him in the squad at least. Like Gibbs, I think he still lacks consistency.

My reference to JP and Amla was just tongue in cheek.

Boucher needs to show why people always call him a “fighter”. If he goes early I don’t think we’ll bat out all our overs.

• 108.Puma: Reply to this comment

184/6 after 41 overs.

• 109.Puma: Reply to this comment

#107 nama1: I like Bosman and think he needs a chance in the odi game. Proved it the other night. Was wonderful to watch him play.

Bouch needs to fight here otherwise we may not see out our overs.

Think somehow that pitch playing a bit slow. Will have to see how they do when they come in a bit later.

• 110.cab: Reply to this comment

I this is a reasonably balanced piece with the key bit being:
    “The Bulls didn’t have the strongest scrum in the Super 14 and neither did the Boks in the Tri-Nations. The difference up north…”

However some other things
    - The key is still the collisions and breakdown, but as mentioned we are not as intense or competitive here and have not protected our ball well, as was the hallmark during the rest of the year – this is probably due to the fact they are dead on their feet.

- The NH probably calls for s different pack both in terms of personnel (more rested players) and strategy (preference given to tighter more powerful less mobile players).

- The other reason the Bok backs are not lookinh good is that their fantastic halfback pairing of FdP and Steyn need to vary their play more, almost everthing is a kick, and its gifting possession awey in totally differenty BH conditions. Its also wrong with teh pace we have outwide, on attackj they need to learn to shift the thing quickly and to test the oppo defensively and to run at them, with the occasional kick not the other way around. Also they need to dart and attack the afv line more often – morne’s up and unders are now overdone-

• 111.Puma: Reply to this comment

205/7 after 44 overs.

• 112.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

#110 cab:

I hear you,but remember Tri Nations.

Henry , Deans and Australasia moaning about the kick and chase tactic upon our arrival in Aus for the first away game.

We go over to Perth and smash the Aussies with a running game scoring the only bonus point of the competition for 4 tries. I would look at different gameplans for Northern Hemisphere , you make a valid point…

In my opinion the Springboks should send a Development “b” team to Europe in end of year tours. The European sides mostly send us B Teams in June , why don’t we start doing the same.

• 113.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

in the 2nd minute of the game Parisse bonces Jaque Fourie like a pest! Wow…

• 114.cab: Reply to this comment

As great as FdP is, is he becoming a bit precious, i mean we are calling out for his powerful surging bursts and we hardly see them any more, and when he does get tackled – there s a whole rollabout everytime whuch would make an italian roundballer proud.

Come on FdP, you can develop your game a bit, get tehir quicker and shift it when necessary – he has a great pass too.

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

#112 wp_boytjie:
    yes exactly, perth was great cos we showed we can play the other game, and indeed PdV has brought the offload game to teh boks and it was used in the first hald versus saracens but then back to up&unders in 2nd- i think its a very bad tactic for NH conditions, rather run it, we actually have an incredibly dangerous backline, with pace and power off both wings.

• 116.nama1: Reply to this comment

#109 Puma:
    With Kallis out for the series they may call on Bosman for the last two matches. I think this squad was selected for the first three. However, I’m not 100% sure.

v/d Merwe should now just close his eyes and swing like he did when he made his début last year.

• 117.cab: Reply to this comment

what makes adams so good, is he tracks the ball-carrier and pack so well, and picks its up so neatly and distributes at pacer – in short he keeps the momentum going. FdP can develop develop his game in this respect, he has the pass for it but is arriving too late, kicking too much, and not darting enough – 9n short, he looks tired too and said so befire the tour which does not bode well.

• 118.Puma: Reply to this comment

225/8 after 47 overs. Need to come out and bowl really well to win this one.

• 119.nama1: Reply to this comment

#112 wp_boytjie:
    I think the midweek team was that development B-team that you ask for. You saw what went on here when they lost both there matches. People just don’t want the Boks to lose.

• 120.Puma: Reply to this comment

#116 nama1: If Kallis is out they have to call in Bosman for the next game. I am hoping. He is a superb batsman.

• 121.Puma: Reply to this comment

#117 cab: Adams in injured now Cab, Not sure how serious that injury is.

• 122.nama1: Reply to this comment

#118 Puma:
    Do you have any idea what the average score at Centurion Park is after 50 overs?

• 123.cab: Reply to this comment

#121 Puma:
    FdP stil the best, but adams def adds some zip and a different dimension, francois hougaardt also looked very sharp when coming on yesterday.

• 124.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Careful cab you’ll have the Fdp groupie entourage on your back in no time with such comments, how dare you disdain to criticize the greatest player in the universe.

I reckon if we had perhaps had Pienaar and Adams up against France last week we might have stood a better chance against them than with Fdp and Morne. But then again it would be simply blasphemous to even consider to be thinking like this.

• 125.nama1: Reply to this comment

#120 Puma:
    Kallis is out for the entire one day series with a fractured rib. He may even miss the first test or play just as a batsman. I think it will be between Gibbs and Bosman.

• 126.Puma: Reply to this comment

242/9 after 49 overs. Steyn goes out. At least we may see out our overs. Then hope we bowl really well. May still win this one.

• 127.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

I was really worried about the Boks game… if they lost it really would have killed the party

• 128.Puma: Reply to this comment

#125 nama1: Pity about Kallis but I think they need to give Bosman a chance now. If he can produce the same performance he did the other night. Bowlers will hate to bowl to him…. :D What a Batting performance that was. Hope he gets a chance.

• 129.nama1: Reply to this comment

250/9 after 50 overs.

10 runs short of my minimum prediction. This is very much defendable with our bowling attack. Need to get rid of Trott and KP quickly.

• 130.Puma: Reply to this comment

#129 nama1: Yes we may still win this one. Just need to come out now and bowl well. Need to get KP and Trott quick.

Going now to get some lunch back later nama.

• 131.Puma: Reply to this comment

#129 nama1: We may be 10 or 15 runs short. I am hoping not.

Back later.

• 132.nama1: Reply to this comment

Amla must learn to converts his fifties into hundreds in the one day game. It is his umpteenth fifty now. He is suppose to bat through the innings.

• 133.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

48. Langenhoven
    You are kidding are you not?.Rose is not a fifteen man player
    and should go to sevens rugby.The problem with Adi is that
    he is simply outmuscled by the bigger centres especially
    with slow ball from static play.
    The spectators, and that includes all of us, were advocating
    a faster flowing, more spectacular game, with lost of running,
    big hits, and plenty of tries, because the game became too
    boring for our liking.
    So scrums became just starting points and loose forwards
    auxiliary backs, with locks intermingled.Nobody wanted to do
    the hard yards upfront anymore.
    This type of game is suited to the hard, fast grounds of the
    Southern Hemisphere, but the Boks have always battled even in NZ to perform as well on softer, more soggy grounds.
    So it came as no surprise to me that our forwards struggle
    given the composition of forwards on the softer and heavier
    NH grounds.
    The compositions of our front row was badly exposed and it is
    a blessing in disguise because the next WC will be played
    on similar grounds.
    I think that because the World Cup is in NZ the NH teams
    must fancy their chances of pulling of an upset.
    I think with a year of preparation still ahead PDV should
    now start looking for earnest good solid front rowers
    and a loose forward trio able to scrum before linking
    up with the backs.
    In my opinion a call back to basics might well to prove
    a timely call if the Boks want to defend their
    crown.

• 134.nama1: Reply to this comment

Bye Puma. Enjoy your lunch. Already finished mine.

• 135.Puma: Reply to this comment

#122 nama1: Not sure Nama but think 270 is the norm there. Especially if the weather is good.

So hoping our bowlers come out and fire straight away.

Now busy having lunch mate. Back as soon as the crici starts.

• 136.Puma: Reply to this comment

#134 nama1: Catch up with you when the crici starts nama. Having lunch late just wanted to watch our batsman finish their overs.

• 137.cab: Reply to this comment

#124 skopskiet:
    lol, i dont think its blasphemous, but it needs to be tempered with the very real recognition of just how good FdP is. But yes, i think u are right, insofar as keeping momentum and getting the backline shifting, which is what this article is about, FdP could def learn a thing or two from adams. was watching marshall the other night, and he’s got old, but both he and adams stick like glue to that tacklepoint and out it goes.

• 138.nama1: Reply to this comment

Trott actually has good bowling figures.

Seems as if it was harder to score against the older ball. Steyn and Langes must keep the Englishmen in check in the first 12 overs of their innings and not allow them to get away with a flyer.

• 139.nama1: Reply to this comment

Strauss out. Caught AB bowled Langes.

28/1 after 8 overs.

• 140.flanka: Reply to this comment

#137 cab: young will genia for australia could also show fdp a thing or 2 about quick line delivery

• 141.Puma: Reply to this comment

Missed the first 15 overs. Been out. See England are 56/2 after 16 overs. Nice we have two of their big batsmen out.

• 142.Puma: Reply to this comment

#138 nama1: Nama maybe Trott used to our conditions here. He is from Cape Town now playing for England.

• 143.nama1: Reply to this comment

#142 Puma:
    Yeah, I know. didn’t know that they use him as a part time bowler though.

His brother, Kenny Jackson, played for WP and later captained Boland. I liked his positive approach to batting. He and Gibbs made their debut for WP in the same season.

• 144.Puma: Reply to this comment

#143 nama1: They have too many of our saffas in that team :D Strauss too born in Joburg but he left young about 6 years old. So that does not count much.

We need another wicket soon to put pressure on them.

• 145.Puma: Reply to this comment

Almost got a wicket there. Need to take Trott or Collingwood both very good batsmen. Think we could be 20 runs short here and the sun out and think it is better for batting now. We batted when there was a lot of cloud about there this morning.

• 146.Puma: Reply to this comment

Think England will win this one. Just not getting the wickets here.

• 147.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Jeez, I have never read such kak in my whole life! The Boks have not shown class the whole year & have relied on the forwards all year. The backs have contributed 15% in all our winning matches all year, the only exception being defence.

This is first time the backs have done what they should have been able to do. When the forwards are getting a pasting, it should be for the backs to win the match at times. This is the first time the backs have won a game for us. They were nowhere in France.

It is only when the backs do well that we start expecting so much from them. JC now all of a sudden blames it all on the forwards when they have won almost all the matches single handedly (collectively as an 8) all year long.

• 148.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

112. wp_boytjie:
    In my opinion the Springboks should send a Development “b” team to Europe in end of year tours. The European sides mostly send us B Teams in June , why don’t we start doing the same.
    Agreed.
    Adi has had his time. Short term , I think they should slot Pienaar in the centres. He has kicking but his reading the game and distribution would be ideal.
    Smittie is no prop!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.