digimag-banner

Pining for a platform

South Africa’s dangerous outside backs will never reach their potential unless the problems up front are rectified.

Breakdown blues and a set-piece savaging. South Africa’s shortcomings in these departments were evident in the Leicester match, but only became a real concern when a physical capitulation contributed to defeat against France. A substandard performance against Saracens resulted in another loss, and a lacklustre showing in Udine raised more questions than answers.

Where do the Boks stand as they approach the most important fixture of their European tour?

The usual excuses of fatigue and injuries will be rolled out, but it’s no secret the Test against Italy was supposed to be a dress rehearsal for the big show in Dublin. Going by what we’ve seen in the past four tour matches, can the Boks outmuscle Ireland?

Fatigue and injuries aside, South Africa certainly have the potential. The real question is whether the coaching staff will opt for a pack suited to northern hemisphere conditions; a pack capable of providing a platform for the outside backs to shine.

Fourie du Preez showed his class behind a retreating pack on Saturday, but Morne Steyn, still in his first year of Test rugby, battles under that kind of pressure. It also doesn’t help to receive back-foot ball and shovel it on to a player who struggles to breach the gain line.

Adi Jacobs is not a crash ball player, and often surrenders possession once he’s stopped short of the advantage line. It’s a shame that Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana don’t receive more opportunities. As they showed on Saturday, their finishing ability is world class. One way or another, JP Pietersen also needs to get more involved.

Jacobs is the wrong man to wear the No 12 jersey, but his plight and that of Steyn is partially a result of the pack’s failure to front. The Boks’ protection of the ball at the breakdown has been poor on this tour, as the opposition have committed more men to the rucks and thus prevented South Africa getting clean ball. The Boks have won some terrific turnovers through the sticky-fingered Heinrich Brussow, but they’ve conceded an unacceptable amount of turnovers of their own.

The static display at the breakdown has limited the Bok momentum that was so prominent in the Tri-Nations. The scrum wobbles of the Sanzar tournament have been amplified in European conditions, where there are more scrums than down south.

John Smit has asked that he be judged after two years in the tighthead position. Saturday showed why this is a luxury South Africa cannot afford on the heavier grounds up north. Wian du Preez, Adriaan Strauss and Smit were a distant second to their Italian counterparts, and it’s little surprise that the new combination in the second stanza achieved parity.

Beast Mtawarira is an important player for the Boks as he boasts a tremendous work-rate. In a front row alongside Smit (at hooker) and BJ Botha, he also managed to get one over Martin Castrogiovanni.

The Italians were always going to run out of puff in the final quarter and unfortunately they doesn’t possess much quality in reserve. But the performance of the Bok front row in the dying stages must have been encouraging, and the best thing about a front row that includes Mtawarira, Smit and Botha is the balance. They’re a better scrumming unit and offer good ball-carrying options.

The Bulls didn’t have the strongest scrum in the Super 14 and neither did the Boks in the Tri-Nations. The difference up north is you need a steady scrum if you’re going to gain ground. It also pays to remember that Ireland’s defence will be far sharper than that of the Italians, who fell off many a runner in the wider channels.

If Peter de Villiers does opt for a stronger scrummaging pack, he needs to pick a No 8 capable of exploiting a set-piece advantage. Danie Rossouw did the job for the Boks at the 2007 World Cup, and there’s little doubt he’d do the job in Dublin. For all of Ryan Kankowski’s talents, ball-carrying in the closer channels isn’t one of them.

The availability of Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis will be made public at Monday’s press conference. If Burger is fit, he should start at blindside flank with Rossouw switching to No 8. At hooker, it’s not really much of a choice with Smit an irreplaceable leader, and since Du Plessis is returning from injury, he would be better utilised from the bench.

By Jon Cardinelli

148 Responses to “Pining for a platform”

• 51. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#47 Puma: I know a lot more than those restrained by prejudice… I will always be ahead of them.. ..

Waiting for you to start patronising me

• 52. grant10Reply to this comment :

#48 Langenhoven: Personally never been a fan of WO…a bit 1 dimensional for my liking…Adi has not seemed to enjoy the channel though…..without JDV that cupboard is a bit bare.

Puma has a point with F Steyn there though..

• 54. grant10Reply to this comment :

JP Duminy looks so classy….all the time in the world to play his shots…..rate this young oke.

• 55. bolandboyReply to this comment :

#52 grant10: I thought WO has been great,cant ask more for a 12 ,big strong and I think, despite popular belief his distribution is far superior to Jacobs ,imo Jacobs is a great 13 ,he proved that for the sharks against gwk

• 56. grant10Reply to this comment :

#47 Puma: Puma….i hope you now accept the fact that Smit is not and never will be the answer at 3 ??

• 57. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#50 grant10: I was watching the game (Arsenal) this morning… we were all over them.. It was like the Aussies against Scotland… We had 90% of the game…one of those things… We always believe that we can play without our Russian Maestro…Asharvin. BTW no tongue in cheek.. I can see where the problem is in the team… Its not Talent mate… its attitude… and too many players believe they have a right to be there because rugby is for white people.

• 58. grant10Reply to this comment :

#55 bolandboy: WO certainly improved and had a fine super 14….

Certainly without JDV he seems to be the best bet replacement…..Juan De jongh is a 13 and needs a super 14 under his belt….as does WP Nel and a few other up and coming players…

I would play WO against Ireland.

• 59. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#52 grant10: FRans Steyn is not doing to well in France mate.. THat is in relation to the Hype… The Sharks did not think he was good enough at FB as well as Racing…. Two unrelated entities came to the same conclusion..

• 60. grant10Reply to this comment :

#57 Langenhoven: The call for Earl at 10 is an interesting one…..and something i would like to see a lot more of….that Earl should of been in that match 22 is a fact…he was the best back on tour imo….

Juan is a very natural 13…..with Morgan Newman at 12 i look forward to seeing how they both develop in the super 14….

I honestly believe….perhaps naively….that the color issues are fast becoming a thing of the past boet….perhaps i am a bit naive…but was at a pub with loads of fans yesterday and really it is about the rugby….race dont seem to come into it…and it was a very ‘mixed’ pub…..

Consensus was around smit to 2 as opposed to any race talk….i think SA is moving forward rapidly….especially the youth.

• 61. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#55 bolandboy: Despite popular belief… you meant despite Reality??… and BTW big and strong is BS.. Hayes Vs Valuev… Aplon vs Matfield.. De Jongh’s try against Sarries as well as his overall ability to drive forward while carrying two or three forwards??

• 62. bolandboyReply to this comment :

#58 grant10: There is no substitue for experience…I am probably Jean Deysel`s biggest fan ,saying that ,the game against Saracencs he was second in terms of prformance of loosies that night ,a notch behind wikus ,my point is WP Nel needs some more time to hone his talent

• 63. grant10Reply to this comment :

#59 Langenhoven: fact of the matter is F Steyn moved to France as he wanted to be ‘closer to the actionat 10 or 12′…..

He reckons he is too young to be a 15 so far away from the action. This in an interview on arrival in France.

Personally i would have no hesitation in playing him at 12, especially in the NH where the slower conditions suits the bigger basher at 12….and that boot!!!

Kirchner acquitted himself well….he can push hard to make the jersey his own…

• 64. grant10Reply to this comment :

#62 bolandboy: agree….Deysel was very good yesterday…PDV gonna have a lot to think about when selecting his team

I heard CJ …Schalk and Bissy also fit…

Qusetion mark over FDP though…hand injury.

• 65. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#60 grant10: Race will never be something of the past… I only blog here to expose it.. Its easy to cloud these issues with facades of non-racialism.. We need to look at the choices that people make vigorously interrogate them to understand the underlying reasoning…

Gonna have a chat with my Mom quickly …wil be back

• 66. grant10Reply to this comment :

duminy dropped on 23 by Strauss…luv it!

• 67. grant10Reply to this comment :

#65 Langenhoven: cheers boet

• 68. KronungReply to this comment :

#46 Puma: I see one who knows stuff all about rugby and a few other things as well.

• 69. bolandboyReply to this comment :

#61 Langenhoven: okay,guess we going to have to keep watching to see which player is better at 12 ,my money is on Olivier

• 70. PumaReply to this comment :

Proteas 87/2 after 20 overs. Amla and JP doing fine but will have to up the run rate.

Wonder why Bosman is not in this odi side? He was sensational in the Pro/20 game the other night.

• 71. RaynoGReply to this comment :

Another Adi jibe… Big suprise! Quick, put Francois Hougaard in the Test team. It will be over-looked! And lets blame all Morne’s kak on the ball… :-)

• 72. grant10Reply to this comment :

I still reckon J Smit will go to lions as a hooker with D Muir…..

As a pay off for the Ludick and Alberts debacle….

Watch this space.

• 73. bolandboyReply to this comment :

btw ,whilst holidaying in Durbs I played touch rugby with a friend and there was a Sharks player there who is moving to the Golden Lions who looks promising …3rd choice scrummy after 2 weeks ,alex de **** ,remember the name

• 74. grant10Reply to this comment :

#73 bolandboy: will watch out for him

• 75. Hier kom die bokkeReply to this comment :

I think PdV needs to start rethinking his overseas policy. We need JdV back, there is no replacement for him. And BJ proved his worth yesterday. We need a specialist tighthead.

Another point, we need to start thinking about a replacement for John.

• 76. grant10Reply to this comment :

#75 Hier kom die bokke: Luke Watson?

Dewalt Potgieter?

V Matfield?

Juan Smith?

• 77. PumaReply to this comment :

#56 grant10: Grant I never said he was our answer to TH but he had to be in the team. If it was there then it had to be. I had said move Smit back to Hooker or did you forget? We need our captain and you were calling for him to be dropped or just retire.

No mate he has to be in that team. For me anyhow think he is a better hooker than Bissie. When John throws in. I just relax. He scrums better than Bissie too at hooker. Bisie to the bench.

Now hope you can see we need Smitty too as our captain.

100/2 we going at a snails pace here. Need to pick up the run rate Amala and JP.

• 78. PumaReply to this comment :

#72 grant10: He wont leave the Sharks Grant. Watch this space hehehehe. Plum should make John captain next year too. We had 3 captains in the Sharks this year. Crazy.

John has a magnificent home there. He is not just about to give that up just yet.

• 79. grant10Reply to this comment :

#78 Puma: i am hearing rumours Puma…

• 80. PumaReply to this comment :

111/3 after 22 overs. Those two just went far, far tooooooooooooo slow. JP out.

Normally at centurion it is great for batting maybe after the rain up there that pitch playing different. Need to pick the pace up a bit. We lose another wicket we will be in a bit of trouble there.

• 81. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#69 bolandboy: THere is recent history that we can look at.. WO has been been given every opportunity to succeed… and has flopped.. Adi has been good enough to brilliant in all the chances that he has been given… THat is the difference… You have too many misconceived notions of superiority mate…

• 82. PumaReply to this comment :

#79 grant10: Grant…….hahahahahahahahaha. I almost choked on my coffee now……….hehehehe. You looking in your crystal ball again :lol: You hear these rumours or breaking news..hehe. :lol:

Grant I live in the same place as Muir mate. I wont say more. So lets leave it at that… But I am laughing. Is it that friend of yours that has the contacts :lol:

• 83. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

Til later mates

• 84. PumaReply to this comment :

129/3 after 26 overs.

• 85. nama1Reply to this comment :

#80 Puma:
    Their partnership was 73 runs in 14.5 over at 4.92 runs per over.JP went out with a strike rate of 87 and Amla’s strike rate is 81. This after two wickets fell early on!

You call that SLOW?

• 86. Hier kom die bokkeReply to this comment :

#76 grant10
    I don’t rate Victor as captain – he loses focus when he captains the Boks.
    Dewald might be an option, but I just think Deysel is better at 7.
    Juan is a definite option, but I don’t know how many years he has left.
    What do you think of Brussow as captain?

• 87. PumaReply to this comment :

135/4 after 29 overs. Hope we don’t start to lose more wickets now.

Would like to have had Bosman playing here today.

#85 nama1: Just look what we done in the Pro/20 240 after 20 overs. We now 135/ after 29 overs.

I know odi and Pro/20 are two different games but we could have gone much quicker than that. If we lose anymore wickets we going to be in big trouble. Not enough on the board at the moment.

• 88. nama1Reply to this comment :

#86 Hier kom die bokke:
    I don’t rate VM as Bok captain either. Good provincial captain maybe but not the right man for the Bok team. Juan Smith gets too emotional and is known to have a go at his team-mates if they mess up. I actually doubt whether he will reach the same heights as before after his enforced lay-off. His body took a lot of punishment the last few years and it may now count against him when he returns. But I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

HB can be an interesting choice. Cheetahs can do him a favour in naming him captain when Juan is not available so that he can hone his leadership abilities.

• 89. grant10Reply to this comment :

#86 Hier kom die bokke: I think Brussow must be left to do what he does best….not sure if he has captained before?

Would be a great choice but i have no idea about his leadership skills….

I think Dewalt being groomed though…

• 90. Hier kom die bokkeReply to this comment :

Brussow is the only young player in the Bok squad that I see being there for a long time. That’s my reason behind suggesting him. I think he should be given a chance at the Cheetahs, let’s see how he does there.

With Dewald as captain I see another situation where the best player in the position might sit on the bench because of the captain. I believe in picking a team based on merit, and picking a captain from that. Maybe that’s naive, but look at the problems we have now because of our captain.

Another wicket. Now we’re in trouble.

• 91. nama1Reply to this comment :

#87 Puma:
    135 after 29 overs equates to around 260/270 if we don’t lose too many wickets in the next ten overs. Peterson is going great at the moment and should bat through the innings. If he can do that we may end up closer to 300. Very much a winning score I would say.

That 20/20 score was a once in a life time innings. Much like the 438 game. Don’t use it as a yardstick.

• 92. PumaReply to this comment :

157/5 after 33 overs. We lose anymore wickets that will be us done. Just to little on the board at the moment. Now the batsmen coming in under pressure. To slow from the top order.

• 93. nama1Reply to this comment :

Morkel has about 17 overs to do his thing. Let’s see if he makes use of this opportunity to bat longer. If he can’t come of with the bat against Eng, his place in the team should be in jeopardy because he does not do much with the ball in hand either.

• 94. PumaReply to this comment :

#91 nama1: Yes Nama, But we are losing too many wickets. When they came into bat we had already lost 2 wickets. Needed to keep their wickets or pick up the run rate.

Now we in trouble with 157/5 after 33 overs. If we lose another wicket we may not get to bat our full overs.

• 95. PumaReply to this comment :

#91 nama1: Why was Bosman not selected for the odi game? Pro/20 – odi there is a difference but huge. Bosman would be wonderful in the odi game.

• 96. PumaReply to this comment :

#95 Puma: Sorry meant not huge.

• 97. The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_MachineReply to this comment :

Like Skinstad said yesterday,
    Something is very wrong with the scrums these days
    Almost every week and every game one scrum smashes the other
    How are these mismatches possible in test rugby?
    I can’t remember this ever happening before

The players found a way to cheat and the refs are clueless

• 98. PumaReply to this comment :

#90 Hier kom die bokke: From what I have read here Brussow coming to the Sharks after the S14. Could be a rumour so have no idea just read it here. If it is true, he then needs to captain during the S14. Not sure if he will. Juan will be back by then.

• 100. PumaReply to this comment :

#89 grant10: Potties is a really good captain. Has leadership all written all over him. Think he will captain Boks after 2011.

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator