Smit set for No 2 jersey?
22 Nov 2009
Peter de Villiers has hinted John Smit could return to hooker against Ireland next Saturday.
The Springbok captain has made the move to tighthead with mixed results, but in the last quarter of their win against Italy, Smit packed down in his favoured hooker position. With a specialist tighthead and the other positions in the front-row filled by players playing in their preferred positions, it was no surprise that the South African scrum looked at its strongest this year.
It would be the logical decision to start Smit at No 2 with Bismarck du Plessis returning from injury off the bench, and the Bok coach suggested this could be the case.
‘Maybe next week I’ll use John [Smit] and Bismarck [du Plessis] as hookers against Ireland,’ said De Villiers.
‘It’s a nice problem to have, knowing that we can change things around,’ he said in reference to their front-row options now that Botha and fellow overseas tighthead CJ van der Linde are in the squad. ‘I will have to make some important decisions in this regard.’
De Villiers also admitted he was worried about the Bok scrum in the build-up to the Italy Test, and he conceded they looked strongest in the final 20 minutes.
‘I was a bit afraid coming into this game that psychologically [last week's scrummaging problems] would give more to the players than anything else. I know the ability of our scrums, I know that our players are world class, I know they can stand up for themselves under all circumstances and I think the last 20 minutes instilled that kind of confidence that we tried to bring to them in practice.’
The Boks reverted to a physical pack in the closing stages that has the ability to dominate Ireland at Croke Park next week. The Irish struggled against Australia at scrum-time last week, and if the Boks select their best unit, they could use it to disrupt the hosts’ dangerous backline and loose forwards.
‘Our boys regrouped pretty well and again we fell back on that experience of battling behind the things that worked for us,’ said Smit. ‘We stuck to a lot of those things that worked for us today and it ended up becoming a good result.’
In other team news, worryingly Fourie du Preez is reportedly in danger of missing the final tour match with a hand injury. News will be released at Monday’s press conference, but if he is injured, out of form Ruan Pienaar or Francois Hougaard could start at scrumhalf.

215 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
22 Nov 2009, 21:51 pm
#95 allamapstieks: Bissy is a great player….not sure i would agree that he is a better scrummaging hooker than Smit though?
Best scrums i saw from Boks in last 10 years was the Wales to Sa tour in 2007….Beast….smit and BJ….
But Smit will need to show he is the best at 2 ….lets wait and see…perhaps PDV decides to keep him at 3…
22 Nov 2009, 21:53 pm
#97 Shakes: okay….get your point…
#95 allamapstieks: #95 allamapstieks:
mate, they never shared the no 2 berth at rwc2007.
bissie was clearly the reserve.
bissie seems to pop a lot in scrums – experts are saying this is because he extends a little too far forward on the hit.
at rwc2007, in the final, we never budged against england despite having cj at 3.
do you think bissie could move to 3? of course not. so how can he be a stronger scrumming 2 than js?
i think bj is going to start at 3 versus ireland…so we going to be right into it.
22 Nov 2009, 21:54 pm
BJ did a good job of scrumming but again conceded a penalty
22 Nov 2009, 21:55 pm
#101 grant10: You can only compare like for like. Put Bissie in that front row and then compare.
PDV is no fool.
It was obvious, with JS back at 2, the Italian scrum was in full retreat just like Al Alamein.
BJ, or any real number 3, will only make this bok team even more formdidable.
Being spoilt for choice with 3 great number 2′s does not mean putting one at number 3 is the right choice. It worked so so, I mean we won despite being under pressure in the scrums. Imagine with this important aspect locked up, and this attacking 15 man game we will truelly dominate.
I predict a comfortable win over the Irish, as long as we play 15 man game behind JS at 2 and BJ at 3.
Go boks.
#99 cab: the 60 minutes were a low point of Bok scrumming….ever.
Damn it was poor…thank heavens it took 20 minutes for the 1 st scrum…..
Smit will add to the front row….Bob reckons at the practice session on thurs Smit at 2 with Bj was awesome….
22 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
#104 cab: Yes he will start at 3 and John will be hooking again
I still feel that we are not comparing like for like
BJ came on at the end, will he still be as effective if he started the game?
22 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
#101 grant10: G10 JS is definitely the best scrummager of our hookers with Strauss 2nd. It is BDP achilles heel.
22 Nov 2009, 21:57 pm
#106 allamapstieks: agree boet…
22 Nov 2009, 21:57 pm
#110 Shakes: Tiaan Liebenberg is a better scrummager than Strauss
22 Nov 2009, 21:58 pm
#107 uncleben: We also need to drop Adi now, this has been entertained for too long
22 Nov 2009, 21:59 pm
#103 charo:
“at rwc2007, in the final, we never budged against england despite having cj at 3.
do you think bissie could move to 3? of course not. so how can he be a stronger scrumming 2 than js?”
John Smit could not move to 3. That much is clear.
To make your deductions based on England circa 2007 WP final is not best I’d say. Besides, who was the tighthead?
22 Nov 2009, 21:59 pm
#107 uncleben: Your para 3….VIVA….
Exactly…well said young man….
No ‘accomodation ‘ selections….
Saw a blogger yesterday say smit to 2 and Bissy to flank!!!
WTF…i almost had a heart attack!
22 Nov 2009, 22:00 pm
#109 JL1: would he be worse???
#112 JL1: I actually don’t think so and I support WP/Stormers. Anyway I confine it to the boys on tour.
#110 Shakes: ja…i agree..
22 Nov 2009, 22:01 pm
Anyway menere. It’s been nice chatting. Have a good week. I feel positive about the Ireland game.
It will be Beast/Smit/BJ, probably the best scrumming frontrow in SA, and i still so ireland are will outscrum them, and this from the weakest irish frontrow in a long time which even oz got the better of….but we wait and see now.
#113 JL1: i thought Adi would do well at 12…i was sadly wrong…that channel is hectic, very physical….Adi needs a break…
22 Nov 2009, 22:02 pm
#116 grant10: Most probably not, he is after all a specialist tighthead and a short irritating one at that that, so he should be able to hold his own
So what do we do with beast? Replace him with CJ?
22 Nov 2009, 22:03 pm
#119 allamapstieks: cheers
22 Nov 2009, 22:03 pm
#113 JL1:
boet, you going to have bullshit bertie al over you like a bad rash
22 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
watch it very carefully, cos there might be some open mouths and some big excuses being fretted over to save face and big words….kyk net.
22 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
#121 grant10: He is defensive liability as the FH, Centers and every man and his dog attacks that channel
Oh if we could have Frans Steyn and JDV back, some players will never be of international quality
22 Nov 2009, 22:05 pm
Cheers everyone but as a final thought. Seeing that we using some overseas boys if I had one wish I would get JVN at 8 for this game. Goodnite
22 Nov 2009, 22:05 pm
#124 charo: I do not care, he was shoved away like a school boy when he tried to tackle
Do you agree that he should stay at 12?
22 Nov 2009, 22:06 pm
#122 JL1: Wouldnt be my call …CJ a specialist tighthead at Leinster….i dont like the ‘utility’ type selections….
No…Wiaan at 1…Beast on bench….or vice versa…..lets be frank….if adi makes way for WO…then Beast will start…transformation issues, etc.
22 Nov 2009, 22:08 pm
#126 JL1: i think either of F Steyn or JDV would be a most welcome addition to that channel come Sat….BOD will be chomping at the bit….i sense a rather long afternoon for the boks….
22 Nov 2009, 22:09 pm
#127 Shakes: cheers Shakes
#129 grant10: We still need to find soem tightheads and centers and fullbacks and another Bakkies
The selectors messed up on this tour and PDV just followed
#114 allamapstieks:
already said cj was the 3????
22 Nov 2009, 22:10 pm
#130 grant10: I know his family (BOD), cannot stand him though. He reckons he is above the game
22 Nov 2009, 22:11 pm
#134 JL1: i heard he has an ego the size of texas…well lets hope J Fourie and Co can do the job….must admit i am wary of this game…..
22 Nov 2009, 22:13 pm
#128 JL1:
no i don’t think adi should be 12.
in fact, if pdv feels he needs to play adi, then jf should play 12 and adi 13
22 Nov 2009, 22:14 pm
#134 JL1:
yeah seems that way, but he is bladdy good.
22 Nov 2009, 22:14 pm
#132 JL1: I still reckon we open this game up professionally and cancel the non selection of saffas overseas….we not stopping the okes from leaving anyway….
As you say….locks….tightheads…etc are required…Juandre Kruger….cj….vbj….JVN….loads and loads of talent there…perhaps we need to take the plunge?
22 Nov 2009, 22:20 pm
the heat is on Deans….another loss and who knows what may happen….
22 Nov 2009, 22:21 pm
best hooker’s in country after JS is Liebenberg then Bismark and Strauss. The Wc front row should go Heinke / Du Preez / Blaauw, Liebenberg/Smit/Bismark, WP Nel/ BJ or K. Buys.
22 Nov 2009, 22:21 pm
Cab…will let you know if i hear any more ‘gossip’
Outta here
22 Nov 2009, 22:25 pm
yep, liebenberg is next best after bismarck and smit.
22 Nov 2009, 22:26 pm
#141 grant10:
lol, ok – just no more thumb suck.
i’m still waiting for smit;s ‘honorable’ resignation…
22 Nov 2009, 22:29 pm
#143 cab: May still happen…Just read news 24….fark me the Irish are beating the war drums….hectically!!!
Schalk must wear a bullet proof vest….the Croke Park gonna be insane…..oh hell….
22 Nov 2009, 22:32 pm
#144 grant10:
yeah, its one game i dont think schalj should play or if he does so to come in last 20, i think it should be brussow, deysel and rossouw with schalk and potgieter off bench.
22 Nov 2009, 22:33 pm
#143 cab: cabby hiyas mate , hope you are well
firstly smitty will not be leaving the sharks and nor will the dup brothers
i know this not only from what was said in the press but from the mouth of smitties best friend, name shall not be divulged in here
re BJ i cant say , but he did say once that he would never be able to play for another province in SA but the sharks , but who knows , maybe **** muir will convince him
smitty however is signed with the sharks till end 2010 , 2011 is world cup and as i know it thats when the boots get hung up
Bismark is the liability at scrum time. Visagie pretty much confirmed it. Smit made way to 3 to accomodate Bismark which was the fly in the ointment all along. Nobody could undertame why but this has been the flaw. Bismark is a weak scrummager stands too tall. Strauss not much stronger. So Smit is best hooker for strong scrum, then Liebenberg, then Strauss Maku whoever. But if we want strength and solidity up front it has to be Du Preez, Blaauw, Heinke at LH, Smit, Liebenberg at Hooker, and WP Nel, K. Buys or perhaps Kruger at TH.
#145 cab: Ja….especially if he is not 100 % fit….
Have to get the selection right….this not for the faint hearted…what a season finale!
22 Nov 2009, 22:35 pm
#144 grant10:
thats their best hope for this game..to try and turn it into a war and hope our disciplne lets us down…
22 Nov 2009, 22:37 pm
u have got to see this
h t t p : / /jokes24.co.za/pictures/more/45158_Contributed-by-SSPG13LRugbyPeter-de-Villierss-Christmas-card-to-the-Australian–English–New-Zealand-Rugby-Unions.htm?z=da46ba49172af7a3b5e3e08907724089&?CATEGBORY=pictures
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All