‘Emotional day for Smal’
24 Nov 2009
Eddie Jones believes the technical nous of Ireland’s assistant coaches, Gert Smal and Alan Gaffney, will be a major factor at Croke Park on Saturday.
Smal is no stranger to the Boks, having been their forwards mentor until the end of 2007. He now fulfills the same role with the Irish, and after enjoying World Cup success with his home country, he’s carried that through with Ireland, who won the Six Nations this year.
Smal will come up against the Boks for the first time and his knowledge of one of their greatest assets – the lineout – could be a potential stumbling block for the visitors.
‘Gert’s a meticulous planner,’ Jones told keo.co.za.’ His analysis of the lineout is first class, and he’ll teach that to the Irish players. The Irish pack have always been physical, but he’s given them some added detail.
‘I know he’ll be emotional coaching against the Boks – he’s 100% committed to Ireland, but is a very Bok-orientated guy. He’s also a true professional, so he won’t tell the Irish anything about the Bok players that’s unwarranted.’
The Bok lineout needs to fire if they are to utilise that attacking platform, while Jones believes they should dominate at the breakdown and scrum-time.
‘[Australian fetcher] David Pocock exposed Ireland at the breakdown as he had a free-go. David Wallace, Stephen Ferris and Jamie Heaslip are all ball-carriers, so that’s a potential advantage for Heinrich Brussow, as he won’t really have anyone against him.
‘BJ Botha is the Boks’ strongest tighthead scrummager, and Ireland have one of the weakest European scrums. But the Boks’ biggest Test will come around the paddock in terms of Ireland’s ball movement.’
The hosts rate their chances as they feel they hold sway in the backs. They have world class players in Brian O’Driscoll, Rob Kearney and Tommy Bowe, and Jones believes Gaffney – who he worked with at Saracens – is a man who will know how to exploit any Bok weakness.
The limited Italian centres embarrassed Adi Jacobs for their only try, and O’Driscoll and co will relish going up against a player defending out of his favoured position.
‘They’re an extremely well-coached backline and are tactically sharp,’ said Jones. ‘If Adi plays, they’ll target his outside shoulder, and won’t go outside Jaque Fourie. They’ll be very pin-point in where they attack.
‘Against Australia, they picked out Quade Cooper and put two runners onto him, and O’Driscoll scored. In Ireland’s first-phase plays, the Boks mustn’t over-commit and rush up. They can allow them extra yardage off the first phase so they don’t make a clean break.
‘The whole team mustn’t over-commit to the breakdowns, which the Boks are usually good at. If O’Driscoll gets a sniff of a one on one, he’ll make you pay, so they must have numbers in the defensive line, and spacing must be even.
‘It’s going to be very tight, you can see the Boks are tired – that generally happens to sides after the mental and physical exertion of a Lions series. The Boks might sneak it by three or four points.’
By Grant Ball

334 Comments
24 Nov 2009, 05:38 am
Tired Dragons………….
24 Nov 2009, 05:38 am
Emotional Dragonz!
24 Nov 2009, 05:40 am
ya beat me
apparently the Boks have had to change all their lineout codes because they were still using the Smal’s from back in the day
24 Nov 2009, 05:48 am
@Big Hit: Like they going to pick the Afrikaans calls in a packed cheering stadium anyway.
Centres have to be Olivier and Fourie for this game. GFullback is a major concern for the Boks and where they can be exploited badly.
24 Nov 2009, 05:59 am
The boys need some serious R&R. Kick back and catch some gamma rays instead of playing these meaningless games. Noakes was spot on!
24 Nov 2009, 06:04 am
Matfield has grown immensely since Small 2007, so I doubt it’ll make much difference. He calls and plays what he sees, not what Gary Gold tells him to.
Personally, I think it’s a crime that he wasn’t nominated for POTY. If anyone dominated a position and had a major influence on all the tests he played, it was Victor. I reckon he was the one player, out of all the nominees, who single handedly, actually destroyed his opponents in the lineouts.
24 Nov 2009, 06:05 am
Sorry, Smal.
24 Nov 2009, 06:08 am
@David:
Damn, it’s too early for me. I meant that he destroyed the opposition in the area he was responsible for, which nobody else managed.
24 Nov 2009, 06:33 am
Matfield pre-08 isnt the same Matfield of today. Goodluck figuring out our lineout. Brussouw will have a fild day
Horses for courses, lets have Meisiekind start, to see what he can produce!
24 Nov 2009, 07:14 am
So Eddie reckons BJ better than CJ?
Interesting.
24 Nov 2009, 07:20 am
yes, adi jacobs is the only springbok to be “embarassed” by the opposition this year.
24 Nov 2009, 07:21 am
@grant10: Not really.
24 Nov 2009, 07:23 am
Where’s Eddie working at the moment? Just Winning Ways? The Sharks should get him as an advisor.
24 Nov 2009, 07:33 am
I actually think we may need Kanko at 8. His speed will really help in cover defence.
24 Nov 2009, 07:37 am
Smal did some good work towards the end, you should have seen how we took apart the English maul with ferocious defense in the WC final.
24 Nov 2009, 07:38 am
@Sonito: kanko was k@k against france, he was prancing around like the powderpuff that he is. the irish will want to get physical with the boks & kanko shrivels in such encounters.
24 Nov 2009, 07:59 am
@Transformation:
Yeah but the Irish are going to attack us in the backs. I don’t want dinosaur Rossouw trying to get across in cover defence.
24 Nov 2009, 07:59 am
@Transformation: Ireland don’t have the forwards to get physical with the Boks, if they want to win they’re going to have to play some rugby out the backline.
24 Nov 2009, 08:01 am
@Transformation: Got a feeling the game will be more open than the French game – the Irish do like to spread it wide , this could allow Kanko the chance to move – if it is tight , Kanko will be kak
24 Nov 2009, 08:02 am
Chilliboy op today on foot….out for at least 3 months
24 Nov 2009, 08:03 am
Heyneke Meyer to be officially unveiles as Bullds D O R today at Loftus press conference
24 Nov 2009, 08:23 am
@grant10: and some news for Sharks fans as well:
““Lions’ Willem Alberts and Louis Ludik get warm welcome from Plumtree
Two of the Golden Lions’ most talented rugby players, massive number eight Willem Alberts and fullback/wing Louis Ludik, have linked up with the Sharks and yesterday attended their first training session in Durban.
Their arrival was welcomed by Sharks coach John Plumtree, who said he was “excited to have them in what should be a very strong squad”.
The two will join another Lions forward, the two-metre tall, 120kg lock Gerhard Mostert, who was signed by the Sharks late in the Currie Cup season.
The 25 year old Alberts, at 1.92 metres and 116kg is one of the biggest loose forwards in world rugby, and he will provide Plumtree with options to both number eight Ryan Kankowksi and bullocking flank Jean Deysel.
The fleet-footed Ludik, who just turned 23, enjoyed an excellent Super 14 with the Lions this year, but a serious Knee ligament injury against the British and Irish Lions at Ellis Park ended his seson and prevented him representing the Emerging Springboks against the tourists.”
This was in today’s Witness.
24 Nov 2009, 08:27 am
@Sharksgirl: lol sharksgirl i just wrote an article for RT about this , but there is some bad news too
24 Nov 2009, 08:30 am
@Big Hit: @Sonito: fair enough, but the name kankowski is not synonynous with crunching tackles. Either way PdV will give him chance after chance of that i’m certain.
24 Nov 2009, 08:32 am
@grant10: this oke is cursed
honestly he needs to go home, to his grandmothers home, and they must slaughter a WHOLE cow
else he’ll never get rid of this injury hodoo
so sad
he needs to forget international rugby for 2010 and focus on being injury free
24 Nov 2009, 08:33 am
News is PTA is that the Bulls and the Lions are chasing the signatures of Carl Hayman and King Carlos for next year’s Super 14…
24 Nov 2009, 08:35 am
@sharks_lover: Oh no whats the bad news Sharks_L? Oh and sorry Good morning to you!
24 Nov 2009, 08:39 am
@Sharksgirl: good morning dear hope you are well
it is reported hernandez has a back problem and ruan has to go for a knee op , neither is certain to start the super 14
thus du monds cheetah journey has been put on hold
24 Nov 2009, 08:40 am
both not serious but like with ruans knee op they not sure how fast he will mend as the op is still to be done when he returns from europe
24 Nov 2009, 08:42 am
@Papoose: ja….get fit and play more CC….needs to play.
His confidence must be shattered
24 Nov 2009, 08:42 am
@sharks_lover: Oh great
another seaso without a flyhalf
Ruan at least we have good cover in McLeod and Cockott but at 10? Dumond against Carter? I am starting to think this Hernandez expense was really not worth it
24 Nov 2009, 08:43 am
@Sharksgirl: Wow….so its happeneing….check the We Talk Rugby site about J Smit to 2 at Lions….very interesting!
24 Nov 2009, 08:43 am
15 – Zane Kirchner (Jaque Fourie if injured).
14 – JP Pietersen
13 – Jaque Fourie (Adi if Kirchner injured)
12 – Wynand Olivier
11 – Brian Habana
10 – Morne Steyn
9 – Fourie Du Preez (Ruan Pienaar if injured)
8 – Danie Rossouw
7 – Jean Deysel
6 – Heinrich Brussouw
5 – Victor Matfield
4 – Bakkies Botha (Bekker if injured)
3 – Beast Mtawarira
2 – John Smit
1 – BJ Botha
Bench:
Juan de Jongh
Wian du Preez
Kanko
24 Nov 2009, 08:45 am
@Tjorra Nagel: lions have failed in there bid….Bulls with Hayman at 3 will be a scary prospect!
24 Nov 2009, 08:45 am
@sharks_lover: bad news that….
24 Nov 2009, 08:46 am
@Papoose: your props the wrong way around
24 Nov 2009, 08:54 am
hehehehehehehehehe …. die dinge gebeur hier in die stilligheid in S14 wêreld….
24 Nov 2009, 08:56 am
@Staal: lots happening behind the scenes i am sure…..
24 Nov 2009, 08:57 am
@Staal: any snippets of news you can share Staal??
24 Nov 2009, 09:02 am
@grant10: Al wat ek huidiglik kan sê…. Heynecke slaap nie………
24 Nov 2009, 09:08 am
@grant10: Earlier this year i posted that the Bulls are at the crossroads for various reasons regarding the current Bulls structures/teams.
This was discussed very early this year…….
To be the best they will have to adjust and i believe they took the correct dicisions regarding certain players and the current structures….. time will tell but honestly…. imo.. they are making the correct changes….
Bulls can maybe still be a force in 2 years time without there current Boks… time will tell….
24 Nov 2009, 09:10 am
@grant10: Grant its not factually correct.
1. The youngsters gone to Pumas have gone on a loan basis, so will eventually come back to the Sharks with game time under their belt. Which they would not have got at the Sharks.
2. I do not believe that assertion that the Sharks had turned John away via another player? Its not the way the Sharks operate. Lots may be pointed against the Sharks but they are a very professional outfit. What that article implies is something more in keeping with the previous GLRU set up rather than the Sharks.
When John was coming back the Sharks made it clear that they could not afford the huge salary bill that John came with and that they had to first sort out their contractual obligations to Bismarck. This was all done publicly not behind closed doors.
3. The move to TH was not initiated by the SHarks but by the SB! The Sharks were requested to comply in this by the SB, which the Sharks did to a degree. In Fact check team sheets in S14 John was rotated at hooker with Bismarck.
4. When it was not sure whether the Sharks would sign John back, John went public that his loyalties were to the SHarks and that if the Sharks would not sign him he would rather go back to France than play for another SA team. So I honestly believe that he will be back at the Sharks till he retires. Hopefully I am not proven wrong
5. I am of the opinion that John will again be rotating with Bissie at Hooker. Lets see what happens in 2010 S14.
24 Nov 2009, 09:11 am
@grant10: good morning grant , yes it is
24 Nov 2009, 09:13 am
@Sharksgirl: Smit should stay at tighthead for the Sharks, the Sharks front row did well in the Super 14 and he’s shown he can move to hooker seamlessly when he needs to. Only reason to change it is if BJ Botha returns.
24 Nov 2009, 09:16 am
@Staal: certainly the Bulls appear to be a step ahead when it comes to overall structure and forward planning…i think the HM appointment a masterstroke.
24 Nov 2009, 09:20 am
@Sharksgirl: ja…but it wouldnt surprise me if the lions dont try and do a deal with the sharks…bearing in mind the Ludick and Alberts affair….As you say, all conjecture….so lets see….
Also know that the 2 Du Plessis brothers are a bit ‘difficult’….not sure how Bissy may react if he is dropped to bok bench and smit moves to 2 at sharks….it may lead to an interesting environment, especially as i know Bissy can lose his rag a bit.
Time will tell….but interesting times…
24 Nov 2009, 09:22 am
@Big Hit: Smit can go play tighthead in France.
In SA we need him at 2…
24 Nov 2009, 09:22 am
@Big Hit: You are right, I think they will do something similar to this year’s S14 where JS is rotated. Some games he played TH and other games he played Hooker. How long is BJ’s contract in Ireland?
Just hope this madness at the SHarks ends, and they make JS captain!
24 Nov 2009, 09:24 am
Read an interesting article about how the French players saw the Boks build up to the French game, and why the French reckon the Boks underestimated them.
Fistly the arriving 2 days before they thought was a bit insulting, they reckon when they went to NZ and won, they arrived 15 days before.
Secondly they reckon when the boks arrived it was raining and they (Boks) did not train.
Thirdly The Boks went out Wed night and ate at some fancy resturant, Jiglo I think.
The French players were watching the Boks every move and in the change rooms it was getting drilled into them that the Boks were (in their minds) showing disrespect and underestimating them, this provided them with additional feul to go and prove a point.
Maybe we got it wrong ?? The boys were also given the week off prior to the arrival, so perhaps we were undercooked !!
24 Nov 2009, 09:26 am
@Sharksgirl: BJ signed for 3 years, same as CJ but they’re are probably get-out clauses in both.
@grant10: well he’s shown he can switch with ease, even mid-game so as far as the Boks are concerned it’s no biggie.
24 Nov 2009, 09:28 am
Imo…..
John Smit should have listened to JWhite…..
24 Nov 2009, 09:28 am
@justrugby: biggest threat in sport is underestimating your opponent and complacency.
Just hope we understand the intensity and desire of the Irish this weekend.
82000 fans….Croke Park….the obvious bad blood….
I am a bit concerned…would feel a lot better with F Steyn, JDV there….
And please let PDV get his selections right!
24 Nov 2009, 09:29 am
@justrugby: only half the French side arrived in NZ early, the others were still playing Top 14 semis. It’s interesting though, but the Boks didn’t look undercooked that night, the French were just savage. Hopefully they stick to the ABs the same way
24 Nov 2009, 09:29 am
@Staal: Agree 100%….and the real dilemma is going to be the Sharks problem.
24 Nov 2009, 09:30 am
@Big Hit: He should switch to loosehead…as he done early in his career.
Never to 3…
24 Nov 2009, 09:31 am
@Big Hit:
Hope so too !!
24 Nov 2009, 09:31 am
@grant10: Grant, this is a huge head ache for Sharks. I am huge fan of Bismarck, I actually believe he offers more than just scrumming, but JS has to be in the team. Bismarck was fine till big boetie came to the SHarks now they act in a gang. It all depends on the contracts which the Dups have signed with the Sharks. I sincerely hope that both Bissie and John remain at the SHarks.
24 Nov 2009, 09:32 am
@Big Hit: Yes….Frogs must take them big mouths out…and hope Wales nail the Aussies too….
Could be a huge NH weekend now that i think about it!
24 Nov 2009, 09:34 am
@Sharksgirl: I have heard from more than 1 person that Bissy is prone to a bit of tantrums….i see trouble brewing….
This whole i want to play with my boet thing is rather difficult to manage.
I will be an interesed observer!
24 Nov 2009, 09:37 am
@Sharksgirl: From a Bulls perspective…..
It’s madness not to play Bissie…..
Honestly, the Bulls don’t rate Smitie even close to Bissie. Bissie is a monster.
Boks are carrying a captain…. and we are struggling … (and it’s going to get worse if we keep this up) …..Sharks will be making a huge mistake to do the same.
Imo….
24 Nov 2009, 09:37 am
@Sharksgirl: Very right SG. John from next year should be made captain at the Sharks. John must start at hooker too. Bissie can be on the bench. If he and his brother have a problem they can go where ever they wish. I rate John at hooker before Bissie anyhow. And BJ way better than JdP.
Maybe Plum can try and buy BJ out that contract too.
24 Nov 2009, 09:38 am
@Sharksgirl:
Hi Sharksgirl
I fully understand and respect your loyalty to the Sharks, if I look at the bigger picture ie WC 2010, maybe it will be better for SA rugby if JS moved to perhaps the Lions, where he can ply his trade as a hooker (sounds like he needs a street corner ..lol), will also alleviate any problems at the Sharks between Smit/Du Plessis bros, thats if any problems actually exist.
Not sure what the solution is !!
24 Nov 2009, 09:39 am
I still have a hunch that Smit may decide to pack it in internationally….just a hunch.
About 6 weeks ago i said Smit should call it a day and go and captain Lions with D muir….
I wonder if it is that far fetched?
24 Nov 2009, 09:39 am
we arrived just before the hamilton game and got the same “disrespect” line thrown at us…..but we all know how that ended.
to lose to france, in france, by just 7 points, is no biggie. well done france, they were more comitted on the day.
fact remains that this year, we lost:
1) dead rubber BIL game
2) an away game in aus (check the stats on how often we win there)
3) an away game in france.
i am not happy about losing any games, but anyone trying to cloud the issue of our tour by bringing in midweek games is either a kiwi or a bok hater.
test rugby is what it is all about when you are talking about the Bokke.
and the bokke havent lost many tests this year.
24 Nov 2009, 09:40 am
@Staal: how are we struggling staal?
24 Nov 2009, 09:41 am
@Puma: Bulls may get BJ first….CJ a possibility too…
Bring our 2 best tightheads home i say.
24 Nov 2009, 09:42 am
Real pity that Boks never kept Smal as their forwad coach. Gary Gold is just not up to it. Still think that Victor was the master mind behind our lineouts even when Smal was coach. Victor will work it out against the Irish.
Our biggest problem is if FdP is injured for this game and also Bakkies. Need those two to start this weekend otherwise don’t see us winning. Also we have to start with WO. Adi’s channel going to be targeted.
Damn what a surprise it would be if JdV was called up and Fransie too. See that Zane also has a injury. Our Boks are like the walking wounded. Need plenty, plenty rest when they come home.
How 9 of these Boks are going to play for the BaaBaa game is just so stupid. Pleased that WP.Nel will play for the Barbarians though. He should have been part of the Dirt Tracker team and should have toured. 10 Saffas in that BaaBaa side.
24 Nov 2009, 09:44 am
this @ sign bullshit is irritating.
Roy, why have you done this man?
does it speed things up or is it because of all the moderated comments ******** up the order?
either way, it does not add to the flow of discussion and makes following conersations difficult.
i vote for the numbers to return.
24 Nov 2009, 09:45 am
@grant10: As long as he comes home. Bulls can have CJ. BJ can come to the Sharks
Anyday…hehe. Don’t rate JdP too much.
24 Nov 2009, 09:46 am
@Staal: Finally!! I really was starting to believe that maybe I didn’t understand Rugby as well as I thought. I honestly rate Bismarck well above JS as hooker, I have majour arguments with many a person on this subject. Bismarck is as you say, a monster even in the scrums. His workrate is high, he poaches ball at will, and his defence is massive. If I was coach, Bissie would be the first player I would choose for my team.
@rangerman: 68 – Ranger agree. Especially if we have to see what post to answer back too. Need the number next to the post back.
@grant10: cj didnt look the business to me grant, and please dont quote the saracens game to me.
he is a walking injury after two games and has far more to show if he wants to replace JS at 3.
24 Nov 2009, 09:47 am
@Puma: ja, cmon bloggers, let roy know what you think.
afterall, ease of use is one of the key elements of a blog, not so?
24 Nov 2009, 09:49 am
@Sharksgirl: For me Bissie in the loose is better than John but scrumming John is way better and also John’s throw-ins are way better and John never knocks the ball on
Bissie cost us by doing that many times in the S14. John is a brilliant captain too. Take your choice. I would have John anytime.
24 Nov 2009, 09:50 am
@Puma: Puma here I disagree with you. I rate JS as a Captain but as Hooker Bissie offers a whole lot more than JS. He is faster, more dynamic, he is strong, poaches ball at will, strong in the tackle, defensively massive, and his workrate is really good. If JS moves to hooker and Bissie leaves Jannie will go too, and at TH we have???? Deon and Patrick? Patrick was not even coping at CC at TH imagine him against the Kiwi sides! Replacement hookers? Craig and youngsters that haven’t even played CC. Nope Bismarck HAS to stay, and his less accomplished brother too!
24 Nov 2009, 09:50 am
@rangerman: @rangerman: Good question.
my opinion is that we are playing with the most experienced Bok team in history…..
I felt that we haveactually lost “ground” in progress although we have won most…. but imo we would have won them anyhow without JS….might ne wrong, but hell that’s my opinion.
I feel that we the gap is narrowing and we have to progress with younger players to 2011.
Look – it’s life….. you get older… the younger guys catch up to you…..it’s like saying JdV will be back for 2011, hell the man will be 31 and the younger guys will be better by then (most probably), so with Vic/BAkkies.
Don’t want to diss JS…. but i can’t see progress in his game. He was a wondefull captain for SA…. but the guy who knows his game the best of all is … imo…. JW… and he told him to go after the BIL.. that says a lot.
Just my opinion…. nothing negative….
24 Nov 2009, 09:51 am
wian du preez got his head shoved up his bum by castro.
anyone care to disagree?
24 Nov 2009, 09:52 am
@rangerman: 64 – Well said Ranger.
Remember we lost 4 players too when we played France. Huge players too.
24 Nov 2009, 09:52 am
when beast came on, he returned the favour to castro.
not so?
24 Nov 2009, 09:53 am
@justrugby: I do agree with you her JR. While I would like to put the Sharks’ interests first the National interest has to come first. And although I choose JS as captain, at Hooker I would far prefer to retain Bismarck. I really rate him much higher than JS. I know to a lot this is like treason, but I honestly prefer Bissie’s game.
24 Nov 2009, 09:54 am
if smit is such a great hooker, why was he moved to tighthead? His captaining abilities aside would john make the all black or wallabie squad on playing ability alone? If not, he is a quota.
24 Nov 2009, 09:56 am
@Sharksgirl: Just give BJ a call, damn he is our best TH and we let him go. JdV is not up to it.
Bissie cost us huge in the S14. Dropped the ball so many times.
I would play John at hooker and leave Bissie on the bench.
We differ there and that is fine. John can scrum better too and he MUST be our captain. None of this bullcrap with J. Muller being captain.
24 Nov 2009, 09:57 am
@rangerman: the smit at 3 will be stopped….accept it…move on….its just not an option Rangerman….surely you accept that now?
24 Nov 2009, 09:57 am
@rangerman: Yes he did Ranger and with John at Hooker and BJ at TH our scrum was working very well.
24 Nov 2009, 10:00 am
This Bok team can really give it to the Paddys on the weekend.
15. Cruise Van Deventer
14. Boeing Stappelberg
13 Mooiskoot De Villiers
12. Posduifie Botha
11. Blits De Witt
10. Vet Tekkies Du Plooy
9. Kookwater Brand
8. Bees Van der Watt
7. Stoeier Rautenbach
6. Fanie “Fetcher” Fourie
5. Langes Bestbier
4. Warmklap Basson
3. Grootdruk Hendriks
2. Tai Geldenhuys
1. Eish Nyati
16. Kanonkop Van der Walt
17. Bulhond Buys
18. Renoster Ellis
19. Tenk Swiegers
20. Dagwood De Lange
21. Bliksem Van Breda
22. Yster Moolman
*You will see that Vuishou Visser was not considered due to a banning for “vuil” play. Got a good Number 1 on merit boeties and sustas!
@Staal: actually, last year we played without JS after that thorn fellow followed ancient all black traditions of taking out the MVP of a touring side.
we all know how that ended dont we?
yes, boks fell to the basement of the 3n.
fast forward to 2009. we won the BIL series with JS at TH. we then went on to make a CLEAN SWEEP of NZ. thats right, 3 nil.
the last time we won 3 in a row was in the 1960′s i think.
if JS had retired, like JW suggested, would we have completed that clean sweep?
hmmm……..
we can debate it ad nauseum here, but fortunately we dont make the decisions. those are left up to the 3 men who ensured Bok rugby had its best year ever in 2009.
since when does losing 1 test, to france in france, mean that we are on a downward spiral?
the answer is simply: since we have set such high standards by winning everything else we possibly can win in rugby in 2009.
i will be happy if JS reverts to hooker for the ireland game DUE TO INJURY OF BISMARK AND ADRIAAN. but i expect to see him back at TH next year after a nice rest and woe betides the players who underestimate this man.
he will only get better, mark my words.
Our biggest problem this week is Adi’s channel. We going to get a massive klap there.
Surprise them PdV start with Frans Steyn there
Huge big and can TACKLE. Just give him a call. BOD will **** if he saw Fransie at inside centre.
Adi will cost us there.
Also just hope FdP and Bakkies can start without those two we going to be in the poo.
@Sharksgirl: its not treason….only if i say it is it treason.
24 Nov 2009, 10:01 am
@Puma: Puma we agree to disagree
I agree I believe that the captaincy affected Muller’s game negatively anyway. If JOhn is there he should be captain, he is calmer so can keep the youngsters under control, pretty much like Stephan in the back. What worries me though is this absolute reliance on JS as captain. What are we going to do once John retires? We need to find a good replacement that can learn from John – and not Stephan he will retire before John!
@Staal: actually, last year we played without JS after that thorn fellow followed ancient all black traditions of taking out the MVP of a touring side.
fast forward to 2009. we won the BIL series with JS at TH. we then went on to make a CLEAN SWEEP of NZ. thats right, 3 nil.
the last time we won 3 in a row was in the 1960’s i think.
hmmm……..
we can debate it @d nauseum here, but fortunately we dont make the decisions. those are left up to the 3 men who ensured Bok rugby had its best year ever in 2009.
since when does losing 1 test, to france in france, mean that we are on a downward spiral?
the answer is simply: since we have set such high standards by winning everything else we possibly can win in rugby in 2009.
i will be happy if JS reverts to hooker for the ireland game DUE TO INJURY OF BISMARK AND ADRI@AN. but i expect to see him back at TH next year after a nice rest and woe betide the players who underestimate this man.
@The Jinxta: 85
Howzit Jinxie.
24 Nov 2009, 10:02 am
I want our props to grow beards, grow hair , have tatoos, look mean, look scary, eat a kilo of garlic before the game and stink !!!!!!
Our boys look to clean cut !!!!!
@Puma: F Steyn at 12 gets my vote…he will not take kak from BOD
Sorry was meant to add, it would be great if BJ came back to Durbs though!
24 Nov 2009, 10:03 am
@Puma:
Good thanks. I’m just in a crazy frame of mind.
Dig my team??
@grant10: no grant, i dont.
it wasnt JS going backwards against the french mate. it was wian.
but luckily for both of us, it is PdV who makes the decisions. lets see how things pan out shall we?
@The Jinxta: Eish Nyati ….
24 Nov 2009, 10:04 am
@Sharksgirl: Have no idea who will captain Sharks in the future. Rory
He will klap them all
Serious have no idea.
hmmm……..
we can debate it endlessly here, but fortunately we dont make the decisions. those are left up to the 3 men who ensured Bok rugby had its best year ever in 2009.
@justrugby: LOL
24 Nov 2009, 10:05 am
@The Jinxta: Yes sure do Jinxie
Just pleased they not going to start this week
@Staal: actually, last year we played without JS after that thorn fellow followed ancient kiwi traditions of taking out the MVP of a touring side.
hmmm……..
we can debate it endlessly here, but fortunately we dont make the decisions. those are left up to the 3 men who ensured Bok rugby had its best year ever in 2009.
@Staal:
Lekker né…
24 Nov 2009, 10:06 am
@grant10:
@Puma: On this point we definitely agree!!!
24 Nov 2009, 10:07 am
@Staal: actually, last year we played without JS after that thornthug fellow followed ancient all black traditions of taking out the MVP of a touring side.
yes, boks fell to the bottom of the 3n.
fast forward to 2009. we won the BIL’s series with John at TH. we then went on to make a CLEAN SWEEP of NZ. thats right, 3 nil.
the last time we won 3 in a row against the kiwis was in the 1960’s i think.
if JS had retired, like Jake suggested, would we have completed that clean sweep?
hmmm……..
@grant10: 91 – Yes, Can you see the their faces if it was a surprise. Thinking Adi going to start and there is Fransie…hehehehehe. Big strong no fear.
Damn what a loss. Always say it. How did we lose such a magnificent talent so young.
i will be happy if JS reverts to hooker for the ireland game DUE TO INJURY OF BISMARK AND ADRI@AN. but i expect to see him back at TH next year after a nice rest and woe betide the players who underestimate this man.
24 Nov 2009, 10:09 am
@rangerman: Ranger the test we lost against the Ozzies was also as a result of jet lag I believe (now i’ve opened a can of worms). The lads had difficulty adjusting to the timezone in the week between the 2 tests and that affected their performance in Brisbane.
24 Nov 2009, 10:10 am
@rangerman: 101. Spot on Ranger. Agree with you.
Think the last time we beat the ABs 3 times in a row is 1957. I could be wrong but it was sooooooooooooooooo long time back. Far to long to wait. We need to be doing it more often.
24 Nov 2009, 10:11 am
@rangerman: ja…okay
24 Nov 2009, 10:11 am
@grant10:
I wonder if the du plessis brothers have signed their contracts?
24 Nov 2009, 10:12 am
@Puma:
It was in 1949. True…
francois steyn is over-rated!
@rangerman: how did smitty do against the italians in the 1 st hour?
24 Nov 2009, 10:14 am
@rangerman: Losing to France was no disgrace they a good team. Our players too are tired and never had a warm up game. Should have played Italy first would have been a better way to start eoyt. Also remember. No – JdV, Fransie, Spies and Juan. If you lose 4 great players it does make a difference to the team.
ABs just lose McCaw and they not the same or not the same without Carter. We lost 4. That was huge.
24 Nov 2009, 10:14 am
@rangerman: Those suggesting that JS should have retired are talking through their proverbials. Every single great team has had the 1 distinguishing factor of having an outstanding leader , think of Fitzy (AB’s), Johnson (England), Gregan (Oz – not that they were as good). Had John retired there is no doubt in my mind that we would have never won the BIL series and the 3N’s but then G10 will tell you that LW would have saved the day.
24 Nov 2009, 10:15 am
@gunther: Gunther it was news a few weeks back already!!! Where have you been
The Dups have renewed their contract with the Sharks till the end of 2010 or 2011. Oh boy now I cannot remember
24 Nov 2009, 10:15 am
@bananaboy:
I think we were thumped by a better team on the day.
After that defeat much melktert was delivered from SA and that seemed to gee the boys up to klap the AB’s in Hamilton.
Melktert works wonders!
24 Nov 2009, 10:16 am
@The Jinxta: Could be Jinxie. I just know it was way, way back. Before my time.
24 Nov 2009, 10:17 am
@Transformation:
Like his Howitzer kicking??
24 Nov 2009, 10:18 am
@Puma: Talking of Mc Caw, see the ABs are acting responsibly and he has been given an extended holiday to rest and will miss the first 4 weeks of S14. We should do that with John and Matfield if we whant them to play in 2011. Just a thought.
24 Nov 2009, 10:18 am
Bulls will buy Bissie – but hy laaik die see nou te veel.
Vrystaters vergaap hul mos aan so baie water!
24 Nov 2009, 10:19 am
@Puma:
Facts. We beat NZ 4-0 in that 1949 series at home.
24 Nov 2009, 10:20 am
@rangerman:
As I said previously………..if a blind man does not want to see he will remain in the darkness !!!!
On Sat with JS at TH and with Bakkies behind him he was drilled , don’t try and deflect the problem to Wian !!
In the second half and when the changes were made with Smittie to hooker and BJ to TH we had two beanpole locks on , ie Vic and Andries , yet we with these to poor scrumming locks (in alot of bloggers minds) we held our own and even started dominating. This is because a specialist TH was doing his job.
It tells me that JS as a TH is simply not the answer, at hooker he adds value, at TH he is a liability.
But remain in the darkness blindman…..I mean Rangerman !!
24 Nov 2009, 10:21 am
@Staal:
having a warm sea has its advantages
@Sharksgirl:
have they acutally signed …. i know they gave their “commitment”….
@The Jinxta: 60m goal kicks don’t a fullback make!
@bananaboy: Great post bananaboy. Remember Fitzie was captain of the AB’s first test series win here in SA 1996 and Fitizie was 34 then. (I think) I know John will 33 in 2011. Why can we not have him still be our captain until the next wc?
Without your captain the ship sinks.
After 2011 we will groom a new captain. Think it will be Potties. We can not just throw in a new captain now. Not ever.
John also played the full 80min on Saturday. He has a huge heart and love for the Boks. Will do anything for the team. Play him at TH he goes there. Play him at LH he goes there. Play him at Hooker he goes there. Not many will put up with that but he does. Respect to John.
@bananaboy: could be man. i do agree that JS did struggle against that little barrel from aus but that was the only pack who managed it imo, both for the tahs and wallabies.
i am not blind, but i do truly believe that bismark is being popped first every time and either beast is not strong enough or the combo of two tall players (JS and the bizness) is not working.
i would like to see beast, adriaan and JS as the front row.
24 Nov 2009, 10:24 am
@The Jinxta: Yes, my father used to tell me about that. I was not born then. When was it that we beat them on their soil. We did beat them in all tests at one stage. Will have to google it.
24 Nov 2009, 10:24 am
@Puma: BJ…CJ….F steyn…..
Biggest losses in SA rugby history
24 Nov 2009, 10:25 am
@The Jinxta:
that is not an argument you are going to win…
24 Nov 2009, 10:26 am
@gunther: they have G..
24 Nov 2009, 10:26 am
@grant10:
Luke ??
24 Nov 2009, 10:28 am
@grant10: i thought JS wasnt the problem, as i have already stated grant.
bismark popped out and castro murdered wian.
@Puma: @bananaboy: seems we are on the same page then guys. nice one.
@justrugby:
bilndman!
so i guess you didnt see the addition of deysel who actually got involved in the 8 man shove then?
lmao, you guys are just so intent on pushing your point that you are uninterested in anything anyone else has to say. tahts fine with me man, if results arent your thing then you and grant just continue to ignore the great year the boks have had and tinker away with your imaginary team.
me? i will continue with my “blind” support of the team that just keeps on delivering.
24 Nov 2009, 10:29 am
@Transformation:
To say he is overrated is a bit over the top. Yes, he may not be Christian Cullen or Mathew Burke or Andre Joubert or H.O. De Villiers but he still adds value and is a very young dude still learning his trade. He needs to sharpen his attacking skills…joining the line etc. But then how many times did Monty join the line? Very little.
Who would you prefer at 15??
24 Nov 2009, 10:29 am
@Sharksgirl: Well just go and see who is playing in the BaaBaas game. We have 9 of our Boks that will play in that game. So damn stupid. We are going to play Ireland with the walking wounded. How they will mangage a another game that means nothing is crazy. They all should just get on the plane and come home after the Ireland game. Yes most should be rested fore the first 3 S14 games. That wont happen though. Unions will want their Boks to play.
These players wont last long if we keep playing them into the ground. ABs know they want McCaw to captain them in the WC 2011 and looking after him. We should be doing the same for our Captain and senior players.
Just pleased that WP. Nel is going to play in that BaaBaa game. He deserved to be on tour with the Dirt Trackers and never got a chance then. So he will get a chance to play in this game. Feel good for him.
24 Nov 2009, 10:30 am
typo meant manage
24 Nov 2009, 10:31 am
@rangerman:
We rejoice in the winning as much if not more than you, we ha€ve had a phenomenal year………but let it not plaster problems which are there, which if fixed can make us even better !!!
That’s all we are trying to say !!
24 Nov 2009, 10:32 am
@Puma:
Go to genslin dot us and check the Springbok Hall of Fame.
All the Boks scores and teams throughout Bok history.
An Ex Saffa living in the USA.
24 Nov 2009, 10:33 am
@grant10: again with cj?
who proved exactly what in his test vs france? that he cant scrum just as many on this site told you?
lmao! wian got murdered vs the italians but no mention is made of that because he was part of “the fs front row that murdered everyone in the cc” (without playing ANY test rugby in the calender year mind you, but OBVIOUSLY cc is just as taxing as test rugby
).
no man, you guys must seriously get a bit real. if you want to push your point of view, all well and good. i have made my points that wian and cj both got killed at LH and you havent even bothered to reply with a counter argument, just “JS is not a 3″ and i have said that Bismark got popped first in EVERY scrum (which by the way, is a consequence of the LH not supporting him properly) but again, JS JS JS………….
pointless.
24 Nov 2009, 10:35 am
Everyone seems to think i have a personal issue with Smit. Snide remarks amongst bloggers….G10 this….G10 that.
FFS i am right here….ask me directly Banana boy if you have anything to say? Thats just manners?
On Smit i have been clear and consistent…never ever a tighthead. The Italians surely the last straw.
For me personally….i believe Smit has enough attributes and gas in the tank to cut it at hooker ….it will cause troubles at the Tank…rest assured ….
Bissy to come on for last 30 minutes….Beast to start at 1…then Smit can cover for Beast….where it is a lot less difficult.
BJ or CJ at 3….perhaps WP nel if he shapes in super 14….
Horses for courses….
I would like Smit to be given the opportunity at hooker to show his value….
Thats my stance Bananaboy…you can cut out the snide remarks now please…this is an adult discussion…not a fight.
@gunther:
Is it about WINNING the argument? Nah…
@gunther: Gunther here is the article from Sharksrugby shortened of course ” …the Du Plessis brothers had verbally agreed to renew their Sharks contracts… they have now finally signed said contracts and will definitely be staying with the Sharks for the next two years.
Coach John Plumtree, speaking to the Daily News’ Craig Lewis, was clearly quite pleased that the matter is now settled. “I knew they would sign. They are absolutely world-class players and I’m really keen on carrying on working with them and taking their games to an even higher level. I have a very good relationship with them so it’s absolutely fantastic news.”
Plumtree reckons that although both players are already world class, they still have a fair bit to learn. Jannie, in particular, looks set for an expanded role in the squad as he learns to cover loosehead prop in addition to his accustomed position on the other side of the scrum. Sharksworld has been lead to believe that one of Jannie’s major sticking points was having to compete with the Bok captain for gametime and should he be able to spend some time at loosehead, all of the Sharks’ front row resources could benefit from a reduced workload.
This was posted on 27.10.2009
24 Nov 2009, 10:36 am
@justrugby: ja, better…like the 3n 2008?
what a great year for bok rugby that was!
24 Nov 2009, 10:37 am
@The Jinxta:
Vuishou Visser…lol
kaas van tonder, ertjies bezuidenhout, mof myburgh…some great ones.
24 Nov 2009, 10:38 am
@The Jinxta: Will do so Jinxie.
24 Nov 2009, 10:38 am
@justrugby: and Luke!!
24 Nov 2009, 10:40 am
@rangerman: rangerman…..leave it alone….best we dont discuss this anymore.
24 Nov 2009, 10:41 am
@justrugby:
what happened in the game against leicester when the same prop casto was propping against wian, and smit was not playing?
far as i recall the Bok pack against leicester were doing the foxtrot so quickly backward that fred astaire would’ve been proud.
@grant10: dont get all defensive grant.
you have banged your drum and even started throwing names around on sat, including mine, when clearly i was not here.
you are actually being a little childish about it mate.
many people simply dont agree with you and your trademark “turbo reverse” and “never a 3″ stetements simply lack any depth of argument or analysis.
please tell me honestly that you think it was JS that was getting murdered in the first hour vs the italians?
not wian. cant be. he is from the “fs front row”.
and in the dirt tracker games, guthro and JdP and cj did so well. cj was soooo dominant vs the frogs that he got injured.
amusingly, the only guy who hasnt been injured by a NH front row is……….you guessed it…….JS
@The Jinxta: spot on, you know exactly why this guys is not the best 15 in the country! Louis Ludik shades him, and joe pietersen is not that far behind, frans just has a huge boot, no consistency in his tactical kcking, he’ll kick one touch finder & the butcher 2 over the deadball zone & another 3 on the full losing us valuable metres. He is over-rated!
24 Nov 2009, 10:42 am
@The Jinxta:
then rather call it a debate…. nobody wins an argument!
@Sharksgirl: oops sorry mixed up again the article I copied was from Sharksworld not Sharksrugby
@rangerman: cj is now being measured as a loosehead?
24 Nov 2009, 10:43 am
@grant10: hey, dont now tell me to leave something alone when you have constantly brought it up.
counter argue, show me stats, proof, incidents.
this is not a fight and i havent really insulted you have i?
24 Nov 2009, 10:44 am
@grant10: G10 Can’t you take a joke. Something is happening to your sense of humour. Believe me it was intended to be neither snide nor sarcastic, but it seems to have hit a mark. Justrugby makes a similar comment re: Luke and you have nothing to say. It was just a tease about your believe that Luke will be the next captain (read the context). By the way I have nothing against Luke.
Wonder who is acting childishly now?
@gunther:
There you go mate. The way to go.
@rangerman: okay…you 100% correct…i agree Smit is the answer at 3.
24 Nov 2009, 10:45 am
sorry no wian was in the saracens scrum that foxtrotted backward, it was Gurthro against Leicester – point is Smit was not the TH in either and those scrums were highly mobile – backward.
24 Nov 2009, 10:46 am
@bananaboy: okay…sorry…
Yes…i enjoy Luke…great capt and player.
24 Nov 2009, 10:47 am
@grant10: cj has played LH AND TH for both the boks and for freestate grant. in fact, its always been one of his major plusses, his versatility.
if the TH side is the anchor of the scrum, and he got killed at loosehead, would he have been better at TH?
what about wian? or guthro? these players were murdered and so was cj.
are you disputing these facts?
@rangerman:
Geez that win in Dunedin almost made up for the dissapointment of finishing last, remember it was PDEV first year in charge and there was always going to be a settling down process !!
That huge win against the Aussies was also pretty special.
The point i am trying to make , no matter how successful we have been we need to continue to look to be better otherwise what’s the point ??
Hard calls need to be made, sentimentality should play no part !!!
Cab…Rangerman…Smit at 3 …i agree…
Lets leave it now.
@Sharksgirl:
thanks for that! jon smit also contracted until end 2010… interesting times ahead…
24 Nov 2009, 10:48 am
@grant10: well hallelulja!
i am going to start a facebook page called “JS is the greatest EVERYTHING”
want to join?
24 Nov 2009, 10:49 am
@rangerman: seems a lot of looseheads being murdered…luckily we got a great 3 in Smit…so no worries..
@The Jinxta: 136 – Jinxie, Thanks just looked at it. We won a lot in the early years. Really had the Abs number then.
By thwe way G10 you dont score points for saying all along that JS is not a TH. Everyone knows that. The fact that the coach has played him there for what he offers as a skipper and that the hope is that he develops into a good TH (2 year plan i recall) is what it is all about. To say that it isn’t going to work or hasn’t worked in a year when we beat all and sundry with the right combinations is daft. I hear your argument about JS and you are right (about him not being a TH yet ) but lets put it into the context of what has been achieved with him playing in that position so far.
24 Nov 2009, 10:50 am
ppl are bandying about names like WP Nel and Kevin Buys and Wickus Blaauw, who look to be outstanding prospects, but please name me a single occasion when any of the Freestate, Lions or WP got a shove on any of the foreign S14 packs – its never happened – and all of sudden these guys are so much better than Smit – please.
@rangerman:
@rangerman: i will be there…Smit for 3 …end of debate!
24 Nov 2009, 10:52 am
@bananaboy: agree….keep him at 3….lets make sure he is a great 3 come 2011…..why not?
Go for it i say!
24 Nov 2009, 10:52 am
our CC is papsleg in the scrum.
24 Nov 2009, 10:53 am
By the way did you guys see that article in news24 with the title “Boks have a Prop(er) problem” in which PDV intimates that he has a luxurious problem with regard to choices for the front row. Who knows the experiment of playing JS there for a while could be a huge blessing in disguise.
24 Nov 2009, 10:53 am
@justrugby: why on earth are you so set on fixing something that isnt broken?
i hear everyone saying “the boks are tired, they need rest”, “bakkies must be rested, vic too” etc etc etc.
funny thing is that in JS’s FIRST YEAR as an international TH, no one is willing or able to face the facts that he may also be exhausted?
as far as i recall, our scrum absolutely DESTROYED the frogs in the first half FROM the TH side! the same happened vs the all blacks in hamilton didnt it?
is it completely unreasonable to think that they maybe just ran out of steam?
“bakkies was trotting to rucks because he was so tired”
maybe thats why he couldnt get the shove on behind JS?
24 Nov 2009, 10:55 am
@gunther: for some perculiar reason I have a similar feeling that John intends to retire from International Rugby before WC. Just comments that he has made. When asked if he will go to WC he did not answer with outright yes, he hesitated and stated that he would take it one day at a time etc. As you say interesting times indeed.
Apparently the Sharks have signed Maties centre Jean Stemmet. Apparently he has represented Western Province at virtually every age-group level and was one of the top try scorers in the Varsity Cup competition this year. He should be linking up with the Sharks squad next week.
Finally news out of the Sharks camp!
24 Nov 2009, 10:55 am
@grant10: i just dont feel you are taking this very seriously grant
24 Nov 2009, 10:57 am
@Sharksgirl: dammit…that is a good youngster!!
24 Nov 2009, 10:58 am
@rangerman: no…same old ..same old…my feelings are clear…so are yours…its all good boet…
anyway, JR and Grant, i could be wrong but all i ask is that we all give JS a bit of time to develope in the role that he has bravely accepted.
if we were being snotted by all and sundry then by all means, abandon the experiment, but surely he has earned that right by leading us to a winning year?
Bear in mind also Smit playing TH at the senior level is not a south african invention either, it was in his year at france, they played ladesma at 2 and Smit at 3, and Smit stood up against the world’s best in foreign conditions and in a competition with far more physical scrums than the pap CC.
24 Nov 2009, 10:59 am
@grant10: ok, gotta go.
cheers all, have a good one!
24 Nov 2009, 11:00 am
@rangerman:
Everybody but JS is the problem………somebody give me a name of a good shrink !!!!!! GEEEZ !!!!
24 Nov 2009, 11:01 am
@cab:
He did not stand up…..he was poor and was ofeten left out of the starting line up !!
24 Nov 2009, 11:01 am
@grant10: Glad to hear it! I never watched the varsity cup. So very happy to hear that, as Centre is where the Sharks have/had me very worried!
24 Nov 2009, 11:02 am
I just love PDV’s response to the Irish Media – see below. This guy is not stupid and played it very well.
Johannesburg – Springbok coach Peter de Villiers suggested that the Irish players probably didn’t like South African beer as the controversy over the refusal by British & Irish Lions players to share drinks with the Springboks earlier this year became a hot topic of debate.
Bok skipper John Smit revealed in his newly released autobiography that an invitation to the Lions to share drinks after the first two Tests was declined.
De Villiers was asked whether it had ensured that there was bad blood between the teams prior to Saturday’s match against Ireland at Croke Park. He downplayed the situation.
“The bad blood thing is something you guys [the UK and Irish media] came up with,” De Villiers said at a news conference. “We extend an invitation to every team after a game to come join us in the dressing room for a beer. The Lions never accepted. Maybe they don’t like South African beer.
“There was nothing extraordinary that happened on the field that would warrant this ‘bad blood’ thing. Most reports have been overhyped. The media over here (in Ireland and Britain) are just looking for things to pick at.”
There was also a suggestion that the match would be especially physical, but De Villiers again dismissed those claims.
“The physical thing is something that’s also blown out of proportion,” De Villiers. “You show me a rugby game that’s not physical. If you took physicality out of it, what would the game be?
“If anyone loses they are going to be disappointed, and they’re going to feel great if they win. We don’t all have the same mental approach though, and so some people will move on right away after a loss, while some may take two or three days to recover.”
@rangerman:
And he can lead us to glory at 2011…..but as a hooker !!!
@rangerman: JS is the greatest Bok captain imo…and a very brave soldier.
24 Nov 2009, 11:03 am
@justrugby:
did you actually watch those games he played at TH for clermont?
I did, and he played well, he did not moan, he accepted the role and looked good.
24 Nov 2009, 11:05 am
@Sharksgirl:
Just leave Johan Sadie alone !!
24 Nov 2009, 11:06 am
@Sharksgirl:
he doesn’t commit because he doesn’t want to put pressure on the coach to pick him if injuries and form become an issue even plumtree has said that barney wants to make the next world cup…actually its perfect by giving the brothers du plessis more game time smittie can be be rested nicely, personally I think him, bakkies, matfield and du preez should not play the first 5 rounds of the super 14….
24 Nov 2009, 11:07 am
i dont give a **** about his ‘honour’, his soldierly attitude or his warrior ancestry – smit is playing good rugby and we have just finished a fantastic season – and the genius around these parts want to change it simply because if they chant the mantra ‘smit is never a 3′ enough times it will make it so.
well it won’t, as ranger correctly points out, if the Boks were losing then sure make a plan – but the fact is a loss to france could have happened with ****** the combined might of cobus visagie and domkrag erasmus in the frontrow.
24 Nov 2009, 11:07 am
@cab:
I watched them boet and beg to differ, always looked as though he was struggling !! The commentators often reffered to this fact…..that TH not his foavoured posistion etc etc
24 Nov 2009, 11:08 am
@justrugby:
Why can’t they bulid a spell check into this thing !!
24 Nov 2009, 11:09 am
i dont give a continental about his ‘honour’, his ‘soldierly’ abilties or his ‘warrior’ status – smit is playing good rugby and we have just finished a fantastic season – and some around these parts reckon that repeating the absolute mantra ’smit is never a 3? enough times will make it so.
well it won’t, as ranger correctly points out, if the Boks were losing then sure make a plan – but the fact is a loss to france could have happened with the fokkin combined might of cobus visagie and domkrag erasmus in the frontrow.
24 Nov 2009, 11:10 am
@justrugby:
you get the top 14 in sa?
24 Nov 2009, 11:10 am
@gunther: agree…we dont rest our assets we will be in deep trouble
24 Nov 2009, 11:11 am
@gunther: Agree Gunther, Smitty, Victor, Bakkies, FdP and Habs too should be rested in the first few round of the S14. All those players have been playing non stop rugby since S14 started. Need to look after them for the next world cup.
24 Nov 2009, 11:12 am
@cab: Yip !!
24 Nov 2009, 11:12 am
Smit is a great 3 …x 1000…
Happy cab?
Or doesent it really make it so??
24 Nov 2009, 11:13 am
my next headline…setting the intent here….
CJ signs for Stormers!!!
Cmon Rassie…
24 Nov 2009, 11:15 am
@grant10:
197, what?! now he is a great 3, thought you said you would never say it.
look the point is a simple one, which is that I do not think Smit is a great scrumming TH by any chance, but as far as general play goes and in the tightloose, there’s not another TH that can touch him. He’s been in outstanding form, crashing over for tries, cleaning rucks, making tackles, managing refs and generally making a huge nuissance of himself. Take all of that away and while we might have a scrum that is better, we might also have a losing Bok team and then all the genia will go:
‘Oh farkk, now what?’
24 Nov 2009, 11:17 am
@cab: my point is and remains a 3 has to first and foremost be chosen on scrum ability.
24 Nov 2009, 11:19 am
@gunther: Agreed, that is what the ABs are doing with Mc Caw, I think its a marvelous idea. In a snippet from an interview with John that I read on Sharkworld, apparently the Unions and Saru have come up with a plan to rest the SB. Lets see how it will go this season. Personally I hope you are right and that he sees us through to WC.
24 Nov 2009, 11:20 am
@grant10:
yeah, your point has been noted ad nauseum.
I too would love to see a Bok scrum that is not mangled, but if it means playing smarter winning rugby where the terrible twins, aka Bismarck and Smit, rove over the field and destroy teams for intensity – then i know where the smart money is.
the point is that its not as clearcut as everyone makes out.
24 Nov 2009, 11:22 am
@cab:
But then again……maybe not !!!, maybe Smittie at 2 doing all those things and allowing us a solid scrum……maybe we would be better ……not ??
24 Nov 2009, 11:23 am
@cab: Smit at 2….Bissy for 30 minutes….
IMO thats the only choice.
But i agree…this debate is tired….lets see how the dice rolls.
24 Nov 2009, 11:23 am
Props have come along way from the amatuer era – Flippie Van der Merwe and Guy Kebble would come nowehere near an international scrum today – in fact why did JW not pick Cobus Visagie whose been by far the most dominant scrummaging TH in NH conditions over the years?
24 Nov 2009, 11:25 am
the only thing that clouds the clearcut issue is Smitty is a great captain….if it was purely rugby…Smit vs Bissy….
24 Nov 2009, 11:25 am
England have Julian White who is an absolute behemoth in the scrums – but no modern team would select him other than in maybe NH conditions – can you image white on the SH fields? he’d have a coronary.
24 Nov 2009, 11:26 am
@cab: personality issues…same reason he wouldnt pick LW and sent Matfield home.
JW …lets not go there….less i say the better.
@grant10: The Book has soured me on him.
@Puma:
Glad to be of help. It’s very informative.
Must get back to work now.
CAB…hello there. Posduifie Botha wants to know if he can cabin at your plek in Paris for a week.
24 Nov 2009, 11:27 am
Should John Smit be moved back to hooker?
Yes 1346 93% of all votes
No 104 7% of all votes
Total Votes: 1450
Started: November 21, 2009
Back to Vote Screen
Seems you out of sinc Cab…..this is also my last post on this point !!!
24 Nov 2009, 11:29 am
@grant10:
but thats not clearcut at all, just last week you were up in arms over what a twatty watty captain he was for his book…and that is not the way ‘honorable’ fellas behave and so on and so forth – some of which i happen to agree with – but i’m never quite sure wtf your position on smit is, its anuthing but clearcut.
24 Nov 2009, 11:30 am
no contest….imo..
@The Jinxta:
he’s welcome to, but better be before the end of year, cos i’m out.
@cab: surely you not comparing Flippie and Guy with BJ AND CJ??
@grant10: You can have CJ Grant as long as Sharks get BJ back
24 Nov 2009, 11:32 am
@rossoneri: havent read yet…excerpts put me off…especially the Luke stab!
Will wait for library,,,,decided not to spend cash on a book that has a dig at LW…
24 Nov 2009, 11:33 am
@The Jinxta: Thanks Jinxie. Was good to look at and go down memory lane.
24 Nov 2009, 11:34 am
@cab: i think he is a great captain.
I think he is a great 2
i think he is a terrible 3
i think he was a dood to have a dig at LW.
That clwear enough?
As justrugby has just said…thats my last comment too…
24 Nov 2009, 11:35 am
dood is doos
24 Nov 2009, 11:36 am
@justrugby:
no doubt i am out of sink – but if SA public opinion slelected rugby teams we’d still be in the strauli era. south africans are mad, they want to change a losing team, but also a winning team as well – not right in the kop. the average age of this team is 27 and they are being billed as over the hill, where apparently the youngsters must come through.
why, i ask? why must the youngsters come thru if we are winning?
its what happened to england after their RWC, they lose a few games and all the older players were chucked out for the next generation and they got smashed and they still gettting smashed and they in total dissarray. Alot of those players like Worsely, White, Vickery, Grewcock, Dayglo etc should have been retained.
24 Nov 2009, 11:36 am
@Puma: deal….BJ looks fit and in fine form….great 20 min…i reckon he will head back to Sharks…so does Bob Skinstad
24 Nov 2009, 11:38 am
@cab: i doubt whether Justrugby is advocating mass change?
24 Nov 2009, 11:40 am
@grant10: Its a good book Grant. The Luke thing is only a page and nothing you have not read. He does not really diss Luke just talks about the team spirit. The whole books is rugby mostly and really good.
24 Nov 2009, 11:40 am
@justrugby: Herd Mentality.
Lots of people “voted” for Lehman Stocks before a big disaster. The people that voted here are doing so with emotions and not with a clinical knowledge of whats best for the team. Come on, stop shooting down John Smit.
24 Nov 2009, 11:42 am
@Puma: Will read it….just wont buy it.
@grant10: Well he was on Holiday there. So who knows. I would have BJ back in a second. Great rugby player.
Remember he only left because he never got selected by PdV for the Boks. Now after getting a call up he will have other thoughts and may come home. Hoping back to Shark country.
@Heavens Game: No one is dissing Smit…
24 Nov 2009, 11:43 am
@Puma: no…he left in 2007….
24 Nov 2009, 11:43 am
@grant10:
Definetely not, but we must continue to tweek and improve where needed. never ever said wholesale changes and never ever said JS has not got a role to play.
The side will simply be better served with JS at hooker. And that tweek will have a massive positive ripple effect.
24 Nov 2009, 11:44 am
@grant10: Many must have it so get it from a mate. Some great reading there especially about the Lions. Very good book if you enjoy rugga. It is mostly about rugby does not diss anyone.
24 Nov 2009, 11:45 am
@justrugby: i agree….
@Puma: ja…i will make a plan…
24 Nov 2009, 11:45 am
@grant10: You sure Grant? Was it not mid last year? Think he left then. I could be wrong though.
24 Nov 2009, 11:47 am
By all means, lets watch WP Nel and Kevin Buys closely, since I am looking forward to seeting the Cheetahs destroy all and sundry in the S14. I would love nothing more. If we had a TH like Carl Hayman or a LH like Benn Robinson – how fantastic. Hell Os and Ollie have been banging on about Wian, Coonie Oosthuizen and WP Nel for a while now, and who knows better than them right?
yip i want to see this mighty cheetahs scrum – this same cheetahs team who all but lost all of their first 5 matches in the CC.
24 Nov 2009, 11:48 am
@Puma: after the wales tour to sa in 2007…i was very the moer in at the time…he…smit and beast had looked great in scrums vs 6 nations champs….
I said then it was a disgrace that he and CJ were leaving…
Only bigger disgrace the F Steyn move!!!!
@grant10:
read the book first…thats my last comment!
@Heavens Game:
You have it wrong on all counts !! I think you are giving no repect to some very knowledgeable bloggers……herd mentality …..geez !!!
24 Nov 2009, 11:49 am
@cab: buys is the lions 3 …
24 Nov 2009, 11:50 am
@gunther: i will …promise.
@grant10:
yes i know, thanks.
@grant10: If that is true I will buy you a beer! Always rated BJ!
24 Nov 2009, 11:51 am
Okay to break the ice almost died now, well crapped myself just about…….heheheh. Bloody hell a monster of a cat was sitting right here on my desk in the study. Damn for a moment thought it was a ******, but no ******* here in Joburg. I am in Joburg this week. Finally got the cat out. Big and fat must have weighed about 30kg..haha.
24 Nov 2009, 11:51 am
@justrugby: you need to take about 1000 off for g10′s multiple voting
24 Nov 2009, 11:53 am
@Puma: can it scrum??
24 Nov 2009, 11:54 am
@Sharksgirl: cold windhoek please…from the very back of the fridge!
@Big Hit:
he does that for idols too…
@rossoneri: Which Book
JW’s or Smit’s?
24 Nov 2009, 11:55 am
@grant10: Just thought he left about May last year. I was wrong sorry.
Biggest loss was Fransie. Saru or Sharks or any other union should have kept him here at all costs. Massive loss. Should still have been playing FB for Boks. Would have been awesome there by the time 2011 wc comes.
Those monster kicks against the ABs in NZ this year. Were brilliant. Just has no fear either will tackle anyone and takes about 4 to bring him down.
Would loved to have seen him on this eoyt tour.
24 Nov 2009, 11:55 am
@Big Hit: LOL….not guilty
24 Nov 2009, 11:56 am
@Puma: u finshed it already
got my copy on the wknd
@gunther: go Jason!!!LOL
@grant10:
No but it can climb……hehehe. Must have climed through the window. Massive bloody cat.
24 Nov 2009, 11:57 am
@Puma: F Steyn is the 1 st player i would have on my teamsheet….
24 Nov 2009, 11:57 am
@Papoose: Finished on Saturday. Got it in the morning. I read fast
24 Nov 2009, 11:58 am
@Big Hit: hahhaa
yeah
Grant def must’ve played a huge part in the voting
@Puma: YESSSSSSSSSSS
OKE
Even though you might be paranoid…..
it’s not to say they are not watching you!!!!!
@grant10: Will keep one ready just for you!!!
@Puma:
That’s very funny
24 Nov 2009, 11:59 am
got a lunch appointment….cheers chaps…nice debate….
Let the dices fall
Outta here
24 Nov 2009, 11:59 am
@grant10: Mine too Grant. Huge loss. Big strong with no fear. Carries the ball up well. Tackles well and that huge boot. Only 22 and gone from SA rugby. Crazy.
24 Nov 2009, 12:00 pm
So is the Heyneke Meyer story not true or old news?
Why is there nothing about it on KEO?
24 Nov 2009, 12:02 pm
@Staal:
lol, ek sien jy is ook maar vir n nuwe TH, maar jy het dit voorgestel in ‘n baie ordentlike manier, miskien is jy reg …
24 Nov 2009, 12:03 pm
@grant10: I think he will win IRB player of the year. The IRB always make the strangest sellections.
24 Nov 2009, 12:04 pm
@justrugby:
Huge fright seeing it in the study…hehe. Get ******* often in my home in Umhlanga. Naughty buggers but love them okes.
24 Nov 2009, 12:05 pm
Okay cheers all out of here now.
Hope FdP and Bakkies get over their injuries by Thursday.
24 Nov 2009, 12:06 pm
@cab: hehehehe – ja die mense raak kwaad hier – n ou moet maar versigtig wees…
24 Nov 2009, 12:10 pm
cheers Puma
@Staal:
@Puma:
LOl….I know all about the ******* in Durbs…..my mom in a retirement village in Toti, always complaining about the ******* causing havoc.
24 Nov 2009, 12:12 pm
By the way we haven’t heard much about Fransie’s exploits in France yet. Is he resting, injured or just not making an impression?
24 Nov 2009, 12:13 pm
@justrugby: At least someone in the family has brains, living in the susnhine coast.
24 Nov 2009, 12:21 pm
@bananaboy:
Lived there for 6 years, matriculated there ….but born and bred in CT……no comparision really
24 Nov 2009, 12:35 pm
Frans Steyn= Sa’s best Fullback. Also does a great job at wing or 12. We all know that. But PDv won’t pick him whilst he’s overseas unless forced to. So it’s a pity, but hey. Same for Jean.
John Smit= NOT Sa’s best no 3. We all know that too. But we all know he’s an amazing Captain, does some great work around the pitch and is very obviously the glue that holds everything together. I’d pick him at 2 personally, but the Bissie has done some amazing stuff this year. If we want to play Bissie then John’s your number 3.
None of this should really be up for debate should it??
24 Nov 2009, 12:41 pm
well i think we may have some luck and have adi injured as he has not lived up to the good form of last year and his tackling has been bad at the mo, i think that he has probally past his prime now
24 Nov 2009, 12:44 pm
what time is the game on sat?
24 Nov 2009, 12:45 pm
@rossoneri: why were you put off, are you also a luke watson worshipper?
24 Nov 2009, 12:45 pm
how many props have played for the boks this year? must be some sort of record….
24 Nov 2009, 12:47 pm
‘The nominees were selected by the IRB Awards independent panel of judges, comprising former internationals with over 500 Test caps between them. Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphaël Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustin Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga, Paul Wallace and convenor John Eales watched over 60 hours of action from 46 matches, awarding points to the three players they thought stood out in each match’
do you think Tana voted for BOD?
24 Nov 2009, 12:48 pm
Does anyone know who is reffing this game??
Geez, Eddie Jones has become Mr “Rent a quote”
24 Nov 2009, 12:52 pm
@BuckT: Must be – especially in the last 3 weeks – so many different combinations – when is the team for Saturday going to be announced – expect a different front row again , hopefully Beast , Smit , Botha ?
24 Nov 2009, 13:01 pm
@Cheetha Champs:
thats what happen you don’t have a proper job… he is the julius malema of rugby…
24 Nov 2009, 13:01 pm
@stew: i would like to see them start, bismark not been himself, would do well to come off the bench, but Ireland isn’t a scrumming force themselves, so i think smit would be ok…
24 Nov 2009, 13:08 pm
PDivvy at his best:
“They are a good bunch of players. The Irish team were camouflaged in red jerseys in South Africa and we all know it. I think this Irish team can be, at times, much better than the Lions were because of the fact they play together so much more and they have the stuff that you have to build on a Lions tour.”
When the press conference ended, De Villiers was last seen huddled over a laptop enjoying what seemed his first viewing of the Lions DVD. A smile spread across his face as he listened to Shaun Edwards and Ian McGeechan give their team talk before the second Test..
anyone seen the dvd?
24 Nov 2009, 13:11 pm
are the boks playing in their away(white) jersey on sat?
wonder what the win/loss ratio is with that outfit?
24 Nov 2009, 13:11 pm
@BuckT: Where is it available ?
24 Nov 2009, 13:15 pm
@stew: maybe at sourgrapes.com
24 Nov 2009, 13:25 pm
@BuckT: so THAT’S why BoD forgave him recently
@BuckT: I’ve got it. I can just imagine PDV bouncing up and down with excitement watching
24 Nov 2009, 13:30 pm
@Staal:
this is too good
24 Nov 2009, 13:35 pm
Heineke Meyer appointed DOR of the BULLS….HIE HAAAAAAA !!!
24 Nov 2009, 13:36 pm
@Big Hit: one for the christmas stocking then! not sure my daughter will enjoy it yet, but i will keep it in a safe place…
what are jonny’s chances of making the next world cup? if he does I am giving up drinking the next day!
24 Nov 2009, 13:41 pm
@BuckT: which one? I reckon he’ll be there in 2011 and 2015
24 Nov 2009, 13:48 pm
@Pearl Rose: No. But I’m certainly not a John Smit, “stab your players in the back” whorshippper either.
24 Nov 2009, 13:50 pm
@BuckT: Are you superstitious?
24 Nov 2009, 14:09 pm
@rossoneri: so you are a jonh smit hater?
24 Nov 2009, 14:36 pm
@Pearl Rose:
just a hater…
24 Nov 2009, 14:39 pm
@BuckT:
Actually the home team would actually change strip. I don’t think we have lost in white?
24 Nov 2009, 14:39 pm
jake never agreed or condoned john smit being switched to tighthead, he believed it was direspectful to our captain.
24 Nov 2009, 14:44 pm
I will remember Gert Smal for his tenacity in trying just about every single human being on the face of the earth at No 3 whilst at the Boks.
He even wanted to give me a go but I declined.
All this when the best tighthead in SA rugby was in his prime dominating most opponents in the UK. See props in their prime roughly 30-34 yrs.
24 Nov 2009, 14:46 pm
Have to say this, get it off my chest.
Where were these greedy black men when Mandela spent 27 yrs in jail? Waiting in the wings?
These guys are making their predecessors look good here man!
24 Nov 2009, 15:04 pm
@Sheriff: willem bantom, what greedy black men are you talking about? are you yourself not a black man?
24 Nov 2009, 15:19 pm
Best team to beat Ireland (given that Fransie and Jean not there):
Terblanche
Mapoe
Fourie
Grant
Habana
Steyn
du Preez
Watson
Burger
Brussow
Matfield (c)
J. Botha
B.J. Botha
B. du Plessis
W. du Preez
24 Nov 2009, 15:33 pm
Just came back from RSA…eish our country is a beautiful one! I’ll be seriously looking into moving back in the near future.
24 Nov 2009, 15:38 pm
@haribaldi: ur a nutcase mate.
24 Nov 2009, 15:45 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: hey crouchy good to see you back, hope you’re far much more relaxed now.
24 Nov 2009, 15:45 pm
Deysel must start on Saturday. We need a hard nut flanker in the form of Juan Smith and Deysel fits this bill perfectly. BJ is another essential. Frans Steyn should also be called up as it doesn’t look like Kirchner will be fit to play. Not sure about who should play 8. Perhaps put Ashley Johnson there as he loves the physicality.
Not holding much hope for this game. The Boks are exhausted after a very long season and the Irish are going to up for it as they’re the ones eyeing this up as a grudge match. The cheap shots are going to come in thick and fast. Watch BOD attempt to injure Habana again. I can just imagine the sort of kak they’ll come out with if they win. The Irish will be claiming they’re the best in the world and the RWC counts for nothing. Typical NH reaction to one-off victories.
The Boks must murder the French when they tour next year. They’ve insulted our country with that anthem debacle and we should be eyeing each test as a grudge match. I also think that we should refuse to play the French anthem at every match as respite for being so disrespectful to South Africa.
24 Nov 2009, 15:51 pm
@Pearl Rose: LOL I’ve always been relaxed Pearly boy! Don’t confuse passion with anger. I was pretty busy in RSA and didn’t have much access hence my absence. I was deep in KZN during the French match. Maputaland is such a stunning part of the country. Trying to decide if its worth visiting for 2010.
24 Nov 2009, 16:01 pm
@305 ye wha???? Aye we’re gonna claim we’re the best in the world if we win….aye, spot on big fella, spot on.
As for the Anthem debacle……the SA embassy in Paris picked that clown to sing the anthem, as is the tradition for visiting teams to France.
24 Nov 2009, 16:29 pm
“they’re the ones eyeing this up as a grudge match.”
Why would the Irish players be eyeing it up as a grudge match? The only people who have a grudge are keo.co.za commenters – nobody else has a problem.
24 Nov 2009, 16:29 pm
@Smiffywan:
actually you are wrong – the french asked the sa embassy for a list of sa artists who would be in france at the …. he was the only one so they passed his name along. the french decided to use him… thus he was not “picked” by the sa embassy at all…
24 Nov 2009, 16:55 pm
@Pearl Rose:
Just read the newspapers Pil.
Its all there.
24 Nov 2009, 17:31 pm
@Smiffywan:aye smiffy don’t come here & be chop mate, the french rugby union were given a list of south african musician who live in paris & they decided to choose the weed head.
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: it’s lekker that you came home, i hope you got laid too, you know those kzn women are los!
24 Nov 2009, 17:33 pm
Pil Im back here quickly.
I did not answer your other question. The “black” one.
Pil, Im afraid that if we show them a pic of me and ask them the word “black” would be the furthest thing from their minds.
So no, Im not black.
So am I white? No, Im not white.
One would have expected whites to say something about Apartheid, yet very very few did.
Same today. Very few blacks are prepared to talk about the corruption, greed and racism of the largely black govt.
Ironically if you do they say “he’s a racist”; see they want to manipulate us with this “political correctness”
It is for that reason that NR Mandela said when still in office, we need a moral regeneration. I just hope and pray the old man does not read the newspapers every day as he used to.
24 Nov 2009, 17:42 pm
@Sheriff: why would you insist on calling me Pil when you know what my nic is Sherrif?
24 Nov 2009, 17:44 pm
@Pearl Rose:
Because.
24 Nov 2009, 17:50 pm
@Sheriff: have you been to IOL, News24 & Timeslive? Black people are certainly talking about the corruption on those websites because i would assume it affects them directly when someone decides to help themselves to money allocated for services. Have you not read about service delivery protests that often turn violent in this country? Who is protesting there, is it not black men?
What exactly do you want them so say, that will appease you specifically?
Are you after personal acknowledgement?
24 Nov 2009, 18:05 pm
@Pearl Rose:
Yeah, concerns are raised, here and there.
Its almost like this when a average coach takes over from a bad coach. People keep thinking “at least its not the bad one”
More must be done tho.
Xenophobia and violent protests a direct result of the govt lack of delivery.
These impatient greedy racists must learn that there are no shortcuts in life. If you want to be sustainable you have to do things properly.
24 Nov 2009, 18:17 pm
@Sheriff:
sheriff for president!!!
24 Nov 2009, 18:25 pm
@Sheriff: i thought you said very few black men are prepared to talk about the corruption etc, where do these protesting masses come from? Or are you referring to your own black friends?
24 Nov 2009, 21:18 pm
@Pearl Rose: Lol Pearl actually I know a chick in Durban who wanted me to come see her but I only had a day in Durbs…sucks only being allowed 2 weeks off work…next time round
24 Nov 2009, 21:21 pm
@Sheriff: Yeh these protests and backlash against immigrants will continue as long as the govt ignore the dire need to improve service delivery but its also the fault of companies that exploit the desperation of immigrants for work and pay them less than local South Africans. No smoke without fire…
24 Nov 2009, 21:33 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: crouchy, sherrif has no interest in the real reasons or factors that cause these problems, all he wants is that his middle class black friends & colleagues admit & conceed that the anc government is corrupt, racist etc and only then will he be happy.
The fact that there are black “whistle-blowers” that expose graft at the landbank and in other departments is irrelevant to him.
As far as he is concerned the concept of “moral regeneration” was conceptualised by nelson mandela.
24 Nov 2009, 21:54 pm
@Pearl Rose: Its no different from the apartheid government which was also corrupt, racist and morally degenerate but at least now every race can vote and move freely throughout the country.
Once we can get to a point where democracy in South Africa is truly competitive i.e. ANC are not guaranteed a victory then we would’ve made huge progress.
To label the entire ANC as racist is a bit much. Zuma clearly isn’t a racist but why he chooses to court a jumped-up little upstart like Malema is beyond me.
24 Nov 2009, 23:27 pm
@charo:
24 Nov 2009, 23:28 pm
@Pearl Rose:
Pill, were talking passed each other.
24 Nov 2009, 23:40 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
You make it sound like I dont understand the mind of the oppressors.
Trust me, I understand it better than what Im prepared to elaborate on this blog.
But I feel for the black man. They must learn from J*ws and simply get better than the rest. Thats the only leigitimate response to when being oppressed. This greedy bunch is playing straight into their hands of their former oppressors.
They are being given rope to hand themselves.
The temptation is big to want to go from 0 to 100. But they must build incrementally. Make sacrifices, invest in education, infrastructure and the like. Reward performance.
The basics.
Maybe Nelson Mandela fought in vain. The freedom is too much, too quickly.
if we apply these principles in sport then it will not be necessary for Chili to find himself in that position. Chili will simply become the No 1 hooker and even captain.
24 Nov 2009, 23:44 pm
@Pearl Rose:
SA needs a cullert president.
It seems that we are the only ones naive enough to believe in the future of SA.
1st thing I’ll do is to invest millions into expanding the Kaapse Klopse
24 Nov 2009, 23:51 pm
Can anyone help? I need to buy tickets to a one of St.Eve Hofmeyr’s concerts.
Take it eezy fellas.
25 Nov 2009, 02:54 am
@BALLER canREADY:
What do you know?
You couldn’t last 3 seconds in my world.
25 Nov 2009, 07:45 am
Ag not this race kak again – wot does Zuma think about JS at tighthead? Should Breyten Paulse stand for Parly and would he be left wing or right wing?
Further back – CAB is the voice of reason. I do not believe that SA has no tightheads so please don’t push for some weepee lighty (gwant10) as SA’s saviour at tighthead. he will get murdered as we are getting done by hype, illegal tactics (French & Eyeties – boring and wheeling etc etc), mediocre coaching and kak refereeing. NOT THE PLAYERS!
The forking answer is straightforward. Intensive scrum coaching (not half an hour with Pieter de villiers – employ him full time & Os too; this is an emergency). Counter the hype – do an AB with selective overhead camera shots of the Frogs & Eyeties and the kak refereeing. Use SA’s world position to get power in the IRB; throw out biased twats like Paddy the AB bumchum. Get a decent press officer/secretary/liaison whatever to present the SA side.
Will any of these happen; maybe 1 out of 10, sadly.