‘Emotional day for Smal’
24 Nov 2009
Eddie Jones believes the technical nous of Ireland’s assistant coaches, Gert Smal and Alan Gaffney, will be a major factor at Croke Park on Saturday.
Smal is no stranger to the Boks, having been their forwards mentor until the end of 2007. He now fulfills the same role with the Irish, and after enjoying World Cup success with his home country, he’s carried that through with Ireland, who won the Six Nations this year.
Smal will come up against the Boks for the first time and his knowledge of one of their greatest assets – the lineout – could be a potential stumbling block for the visitors.
‘Gert’s a meticulous planner,’ Jones told keo.co.za.’ His analysis of the lineout is first class, and he’ll teach that to the Irish players. The Irish pack have always been physical, but he’s given them some added detail.
‘I know he’ll be emotional coaching against the Boks – he’s 100% committed to Ireland, but is a very Bok-orientated guy. He’s also a true professional, so he won’t tell the Irish anything about the Bok players that’s unwarranted.’
The Bok lineout needs to fire if they are to utilise that attacking platform, while Jones believes they should dominate at the breakdown and scrum-time.
‘[Australian fetcher] David Pocock exposed Ireland at the breakdown as he had a free-go. David Wallace, Stephen Ferris and Jamie Heaslip are all ball-carriers, so that’s a potential advantage for Heinrich Brussow, as he won’t really have anyone against him.
‘BJ Botha is the Boks’ strongest tighthead scrummager, and Ireland have one of the weakest European scrums. But the Boks’ biggest Test will come around the paddock in terms of Ireland’s ball movement.’
The hosts rate their chances as they feel they hold sway in the backs. They have world class players in Brian O’Driscoll, Rob Kearney and Tommy Bowe, and Jones believes Gaffney – who he worked with at Saracens – is a man who will know how to exploit any Bok weakness.
The limited Italian centres embarrassed Adi Jacobs for their only try, and O’Driscoll and co will relish going up against a player defending out of his favoured position.
‘They’re an extremely well-coached backline and are tactically sharp,’ said Jones. ‘If Adi plays, they’ll target his outside shoulder, and won’t go outside Jaque Fourie. They’ll be very pin-point in where they attack.
‘Against Australia, they picked out Quade Cooper and put two runners onto him, and O’Driscoll scored. In Ireland’s first-phase plays, the Boks mustn’t over-commit and rush up. They can allow them extra yardage off the first phase so they don’t make a clean break.
‘The whole team mustn’t over-commit to the breakdowns, which the Boks are usually good at. If O’Driscoll gets a sniff of a one on one, he’ll make you pay, so they must have numbers in the defensive line, and spacing must be even.
‘It’s going to be very tight, you can see the Boks are tired – that generally happens to sides after the mental and physical exertion of a Lions series. The Boks might sneak it by three or four points.’
By Grant Ball

334 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
24 Nov 2009, 09:28 am
Imo…..
John Smit should have listened to JWhite…..
24 Nov 2009, 09:28 am
@justrugby: biggest threat in sport is underestimating your opponent and complacency.
Just hope we understand the intensity and desire of the Irish this weekend.
82000 fans….Croke Park….the obvious bad blood….
I am a bit concerned…would feel a lot better with F Steyn, JDV there….
And please let PDV get his selections right!
24 Nov 2009, 09:29 am
@justrugby: only half the French side arrived in NZ early, the others were still playing Top 14 semis. It’s interesting though, but the Boks didn’t look undercooked that night, the French were just savage. Hopefully they stick to the ABs the same way
24 Nov 2009, 09:29 am
@Staal: Agree 100%….and the real dilemma is going to be the Sharks problem.
24 Nov 2009, 09:30 am
@Big Hit: He should switch to loosehead…as he done early in his career.
Never to 3…
24 Nov 2009, 09:31 am
@Big Hit:
Hope so too !!
24 Nov 2009, 09:31 am
@grant10: Grant, this is a huge head ache for Sharks. I am huge fan of Bismarck, I actually believe he offers more than just scrumming, but JS has to be in the team. Bismarck was fine till big boetie came to the SHarks now they act in a gang. It all depends on the contracts which the Dups have signed with the Sharks. I sincerely hope that both Bissie and John remain at the SHarks.
24 Nov 2009, 09:32 am
@Big Hit: Yes….Frogs must take them big mouths out…and hope Wales nail the Aussies too….
Could be a huge NH weekend now that i think about it!
24 Nov 2009, 09:34 am
@Sharksgirl: I have heard from more than 1 person that Bissy is prone to a bit of tantrums….i see trouble brewing….
This whole i want to play with my boet thing is rather difficult to manage.
I will be an interesed observer!
24 Nov 2009, 09:37 am
@Sharksgirl: From a Bulls perspective…..
It’s madness not to play Bissie…..
Honestly, the Bulls don’t rate Smitie even close to Bissie. Bissie is a monster.
Boks are carrying a captain…. and we are struggling … (and it’s going to get worse if we keep this up) …..Sharks will be making a huge mistake to do the same.
Imo….
24 Nov 2009, 09:37 am
@Sharksgirl: Very right SG. John from next year should be made captain at the Sharks. John must start at hooker too. Bissie can be on the bench. If he and his brother have a problem they can go where ever they wish. I rate John at hooker before Bissie anyhow. And BJ way better than JdP.
Maybe Plum can try and buy BJ out that contract too.
24 Nov 2009, 09:38 am
@Sharksgirl:
Hi Sharksgirl
I fully understand and respect your loyalty to the Sharks, if I look at the bigger picture ie WC 2010, maybe it will be better for SA rugby if JS moved to perhaps the Lions, where he can ply his trade as a hooker (sounds like he needs a street corner ..lol), will also alleviate any problems at the Sharks between Smit/Du Plessis bros, thats if any problems actually exist.
Not sure what the solution is !!
24 Nov 2009, 09:39 am
I still have a hunch that Smit may decide to pack it in internationally….just a hunch.
About 6 weeks ago i said Smit should call it a day and go and captain Lions with D muir….
I wonder if it is that far fetched?
24 Nov 2009, 09:39 am
we arrived just before the hamilton game and got the same “disrespect” line thrown at us…..but we all know how that ended.
to lose to france, in france, by just 7 points, is no biggie. well done france, they were more comitted on the day.
fact remains that this year, we lost:
1) dead rubber BIL game
2) an away game in aus (check the stats on how often we win there)
3) an away game in france.
i am not happy about losing any games, but anyone trying to cloud the issue of our tour by bringing in midweek games is either a kiwi or a bok hater.
test rugby is what it is all about when you are talking about the Bokke.
and the bokke havent lost many tests this year.
24 Nov 2009, 09:40 am
@Staal: how are we struggling staal?
24 Nov 2009, 09:41 am
@Puma: Bulls may get BJ first….CJ a possibility too…
Bring our 2 best tightheads home i say.
24 Nov 2009, 09:42 am
Real pity that Boks never kept Smal as their forwad coach. Gary Gold is just not up to it. Still think that Victor was the master mind behind our lineouts even when Smal was coach. Victor will work it out against the Irish.
Our biggest problem is if FdP is injured for this game and also Bakkies. Need those two to start this weekend otherwise don’t see us winning. Also we have to start with WO. Adi’s channel going to be targeted.
Damn what a surprise it would be if JdV was called up and Fransie too. See that Zane also has a injury. Our Boks are like the walking wounded. Need plenty, plenty rest when they come home.
How 9 of these Boks are going to play for the BaaBaa game is just so stupid. Pleased that WP.Nel will play for the Barbarians though. He should have been part of the Dirt Tracker team and should have toured. 10 Saffas in that BaaBaa side.
24 Nov 2009, 09:44 am
this @ sign bullshit is irritating.
Roy, why have you done this man?
does it speed things up or is it because of all the moderated comments ******** up the order?
either way, it does not add to the flow of discussion and makes following conersations difficult.
i vote for the numbers to return.
24 Nov 2009, 09:45 am
@grant10: As long as he comes home. Bulls can have CJ. BJ can come to the Sharks
Anyday…hehe. Don’t rate JdP too much.
24 Nov 2009, 09:46 am
@Staal: Finally!! I really was starting to believe that maybe I didn’t understand Rugby as well as I thought. I honestly rate Bismarck well above JS as hooker, I have majour arguments with many a person on this subject. Bismarck is as you say, a monster even in the scrums. His workrate is high, he poaches ball at will, and his defence is massive. If I was coach, Bissie would be the first player I would choose for my team.
@rangerman: 68 – Ranger agree. Especially if we have to see what post to answer back too. Need the number next to the post back.
@grant10: cj didnt look the business to me grant, and please dont quote the saracens game to me.
he is a walking injury after two games and has far more to show if he wants to replace JS at 3.
24 Nov 2009, 09:47 am
@Puma: ja, cmon bloggers, let roy know what you think.
afterall, ease of use is one of the key elements of a blog, not so?
24 Nov 2009, 09:49 am
@Sharksgirl: For me Bissie in the loose is better than John but scrumming John is way better and also John’s throw-ins are way better and John never knocks the ball on
Bissie cost us by doing that many times in the S14. John is a brilliant captain too. Take your choice. I would have John anytime.
24 Nov 2009, 09:50 am
@Puma: Puma here I disagree with you. I rate JS as a Captain but as Hooker Bissie offers a whole lot more than JS. He is faster, more dynamic, he is strong, poaches ball at will, strong in the tackle, defensively massive, and his workrate is really good. If JS moves to hooker and Bissie leaves Jannie will go too, and at TH we have???? Deon and Patrick? Patrick was not even coping at CC at TH imagine him against the Kiwi sides! Replacement hookers? Craig and youngsters that haven’t even played CC. Nope Bismarck HAS to stay, and his less accomplished brother too!
24 Nov 2009, 09:50 am
@rangerman: @rangerman: Good question.
my opinion is that we are playing with the most experienced Bok team in history…..
I felt that we haveactually lost “ground” in progress although we have won most…. but imo we would have won them anyhow without JS….might ne wrong, but hell that’s my opinion.
I feel that we the gap is narrowing and we have to progress with younger players to 2011.
Look – it’s life….. you get older… the younger guys catch up to you…..it’s like saying JdV will be back for 2011, hell the man will be 31 and the younger guys will be better by then (most probably), so with Vic/BAkkies.
Don’t want to diss JS…. but i can’t see progress in his game. He was a wondefull captain for SA…. but the guy who knows his game the best of all is … imo…. JW… and he told him to go after the BIL.. that says a lot.
Just my opinion…. nothing negative….
24 Nov 2009, 09:51 am
wian du preez got his head shoved up his bum by castro.
anyone care to disagree?
24 Nov 2009, 09:52 am
@rangerman: 64 – Well said Ranger.
Remember we lost 4 players too when we played France. Huge players too.
24 Nov 2009, 09:52 am
when beast came on, he returned the favour to castro.
not so?
24 Nov 2009, 09:53 am
@justrugby: I do agree with you her JR. While I would like to put the Sharks’ interests first the National interest has to come first. And although I choose JS as captain, at Hooker I would far prefer to retain Bismarck. I really rate him much higher than JS. I know to a lot this is like treason, but I honestly prefer Bissie’s game.
24 Nov 2009, 09:54 am
if smit is such a great hooker, why was he moved to tighthead? His captaining abilities aside would john make the all black or wallabie squad on playing ability alone? If not, he is a quota.
24 Nov 2009, 09:56 am
@Sharksgirl: Just give BJ a call, damn he is our best TH and we let him go. JdV is not up to it.
Bissie cost us huge in the S14. Dropped the ball so many times.
I would play John at hooker and leave Bissie on the bench.
We differ there and that is fine. John can scrum better too and he MUST be our captain. None of this bullcrap with J. Muller being captain.
24 Nov 2009, 09:57 am
@rangerman: the smit at 3 will be stopped….accept it…move on….its just not an option Rangerman….surely you accept that now?
24 Nov 2009, 09:57 am
@rangerman: Yes he did Ranger and with John at Hooker and BJ at TH our scrum was working very well.
24 Nov 2009, 10:00 am
This Bok team can really give it to the Paddys on the weekend.
15. Cruise Van Deventer
14. Boeing Stappelberg
13 Mooiskoot De Villiers
12. Posduifie Botha
11. Blits De Witt
10. Vet Tekkies Du Plooy
9. Kookwater Brand
8. Bees Van der Watt
7. Stoeier Rautenbach
6. Fanie “Fetcher” Fourie
5. Langes Bestbier
4. Warmklap Basson
3. Grootdruk Hendriks
2. Tai Geldenhuys
1. Eish Nyati
16. Kanonkop Van der Walt
17. Bulhond Buys
18. Renoster Ellis
19. Tenk Swiegers
20. Dagwood De Lange
21. Bliksem Van Breda
22. Yster Moolman
*You will see that Vuishou Visser was not considered due to a banning for “vuil” play. Got a good Number 1 on merit boeties and sustas!
@Staal: actually, last year we played without JS after that thorn fellow followed ancient all black traditions of taking out the MVP of a touring side.
we all know how that ended dont we?
yes, boks fell to the basement of the 3n.
fast forward to 2009. we won the BIL series with JS at TH. we then went on to make a CLEAN SWEEP of NZ. thats right, 3 nil.
the last time we won 3 in a row was in the 1960′s i think.
if JS had retired, like JW suggested, would we have completed that clean sweep?
hmmm……..
we can debate it ad nauseum here, but fortunately we dont make the decisions. those are left up to the 3 men who ensured Bok rugby had its best year ever in 2009.
since when does losing 1 test, to france in france, mean that we are on a downward spiral?
the answer is simply: since we have set such high standards by winning everything else we possibly can win in rugby in 2009.
i will be happy if JS reverts to hooker for the ireland game DUE TO INJURY OF BISMARK AND ADRIAAN. but i expect to see him back at TH next year after a nice rest and woe betides the players who underestimate this man.
he will only get better, mark my words.
Our biggest problem this week is Adi’s channel. We going to get a massive klap there.
Surprise them PdV start with Frans Steyn there
Huge big and can TACKLE. Just give him a call. BOD will **** if he saw Fransie at inside centre.
Adi will cost us there.
Also just hope FdP and Bakkies can start without those two we going to be in the poo.
@Sharksgirl: its not treason….only if i say it is it treason.
24 Nov 2009, 10:01 am
@Puma: Puma we agree to disagree
I agree I believe that the captaincy affected Muller’s game negatively anyway. If JOhn is there he should be captain, he is calmer so can keep the youngsters under control, pretty much like Stephan in the back. What worries me though is this absolute reliance on JS as captain. What are we going to do once John retires? We need to find a good replacement that can learn from John – and not Stephan he will retire before John!
@Staal: actually, last year we played without JS after that thorn fellow followed ancient all black traditions of taking out the MVP of a touring side.
fast forward to 2009. we won the BIL series with JS at TH. we then went on to make a CLEAN SWEEP of NZ. thats right, 3 nil.
the last time we won 3 in a row was in the 1960’s i think.
hmmm……..
we can debate it @d nauseum here, but fortunately we dont make the decisions. those are left up to the 3 men who ensured Bok rugby had its best year ever in 2009.
since when does losing 1 test, to france in france, mean that we are on a downward spiral?
the answer is simply: since we have set such high standards by winning everything else we possibly can win in rugby in 2009.
i will be happy if JS reverts to hooker for the ireland game DUE TO INJURY OF BISMARK AND ADRI@AN. but i expect to see him back at TH next year after a nice rest and woe betide the players who underestimate this man.
he will only get better, mark my words.
@The Jinxta: 85
Howzit Jinxie.
24 Nov 2009, 10:02 am
I want our props to grow beards, grow hair , have tatoos, look mean, look scary, eat a kilo of garlic before the game and stink !!!!!!
Our boys look to clean cut !!!!!
@Puma: F Steyn at 12 gets my vote…he will not take kak from BOD
Sorry was meant to add, it would be great if BJ came back to Durbs though!
24 Nov 2009, 10:03 am
@Puma:
Good thanks. I’m just in a crazy frame of mind.
Dig my team??
@grant10: no grant, i dont.
it wasnt JS going backwards against the french mate. it was wian.
but luckily for both of us, it is PdV who makes the decisions. lets see how things pan out shall we?
@The Jinxta: Eish Nyati ….
24 Nov 2009, 10:04 am
@Sharksgirl: Have no idea who will captain Sharks in the future. Rory
He will klap them all
Serious have no idea.
the last time we won 3 in a row was in the 1960’s i think.
hmmm……..
we can debate it endlessly here, but fortunately we dont make the decisions. those are left up to the 3 men who ensured Bok rugby had its best year ever in 2009.
@justrugby: LOL
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All