Ricky out on loan
25 Nov 2009
In an attempt to spark some form, Western Province have allowed Ricky Januarie to spend two weeks at the Ospreys.
Januarie has had a disappointing season, which has seen him drop in form as he warmed the bench for most of the season with Fourie du Preez holding monopoly on the Springbok No 9 jersey. He also lost his first-choice place at Western Province to Dewaldt Duvenage.
According to Die Burger, the scrumhalf will join the Welsh club in December to give him some valuable game time before next year’s Super 14.
At the Ospreys, Januarie will play alongside the likes of Shane Williams, Tommy Bowe, Gavin Henson, James Hook and Jerry Collins.

50 Comments
25 Nov 2009, 08:14 am
Eish – he should be made a Weigh-Less Dragon!
25 Nov 2009, 08:16 am
ay januarie …isnt he doing time in palmsmoor?
with the talent and depth at nine of the below mentioned, i do not think he should ever come back after that 2 week rendevous
Kockett
sarel pretorius
vermaak
mcleod
hougaard
adams
25 Nov 2009, 08:16 am
i wonder if this will force him to lose weight?
25 Nov 2009, 08:19 am
Poor Wales.
Blooming uncultured cullart going there.
The place will never be the same again.
25 Nov 2009, 08:23 am
Glad to see WP rugby is firstly thinking ahead and secondly so is Ricky !! In previous years even when he was in top shape he would look way out of it come Jan due to the off Season celebrations.
Hopefully next season will see the return of Ricky Januarie , WP rugby and SA rugby can only benefit.
25 Nov 2009, 08:26 am
Good on Ricky….didnt spot him training on the Clifton steps today!!
An in form Januarie is a big asset….but he has to get top fit.
25 Nov 2009, 08:27 am
Looked like a different player in 2004 Trinations clips!
25 Nov 2009, 08:34 am
we really have to school our players ,especially our non white players,(im non white so dont judge people) on how to be proffessional. too many former juniour stars are now either hanging around in the club scene,no pun intended or they have given the game up because of not following a strict lifestyle of proffesionalism. they get caught up in the hype of booze,girls,clubs etc. wasted talent.
25 Nov 2009, 08:41 am
Dont they want to make it a permanent deal?
25 Nov 2009, 08:47 am
@chucky:
Kockott is overrated, Heinie Adams only has a good pass and little else, Francois Hougaard has played more as a winger than as a scrummie for the Bulls and his rubbish performance against Saracens shows that and Charl Mcleod lacks experience and is not in Ricky’s class.
That leaves Sarel (who has little Super 14 experience) and Vermaak from your list. Ricky still has a role to play in my view.
25 Nov 2009, 08:49 am
If it’s , then I wonder why,
Welsh rugby never been short of quality scrumhalves, and that was even before Gareth Eduards.
sound a Mike Tyson-Don King swindle to me
25 Nov 2009, 08:49 am
grant10: Look out for Flo
25 Nov 2009, 08:52 am
@Cyborg: i agree…but do you think ricky is an option for the future? do u think he will be at the 2011 RWC?
Personally i dont. so i think we need to groom Vermaak,kockett and hougaard. sarel pretorius good but i dont think he is in the mould of bn a long term prospect at 9 for SA.
PERSONALLY i would move ruan back to 9 for the long term.he played his best rugby there which saw him bn awarded Bok colours in 2006
25 Nov 2009, 08:52 am
@Cyborg:
You are entitled for your opinion, I just wonder if you’ll take a wager on it though?
25 Nov 2009, 08:54 am
@SpringbokSarah: saw him….great shape…and P Grant.
25 Nov 2009, 08:56 am
@grant10:
did you scream? Drop anything that you were carrying? Scream “we need to win the Super 14!”?
25 Nov 2009, 08:59 am
@SpringbokSarah: Flo’s new twitter status: Oh my hat! That wasn’t for ants! Boys just pulling into Caprice for a little recovery. Ha!
25 Nov 2009, 09:03 am
grant it was a whole bunch of em, Flo Bash, JD, Dewaldt, Anton & JJ
you should of ran after them and got some autographs!
25 Nov 2009, 09:09 am
@SpringbokSarah: Blurted out….’hey…its the stormer boys!!….and said howzit to P Grant!!
Recognized Flo, Peter and JD Moller….oand Duvenhage i think….
Rest were heads down and concentrating on avoiding the dog and the steps!!
25 Nov 2009, 09:11 am
@SpringbokSarah: They were flying up the steps! Damn i am not totally unfit but reckon i would have done a hammie!
May have stayed woth Moller…..but even then risked a heart attack!!LOL
25 Nov 2009, 09:13 am
@grant10: roflmao… don’t worry I’m worse 1st time I meet Conrad “oh my word, you’re Conrad Jantjes! Do you know who you are?”
25 Nov 2009, 09:15 am
@grant10: roflmao. Used to see Tondi at the gym… used to hate running next to him… I am fit… but damn I looked like a tortoise next to him
25 Nov 2009, 09:16 am
@SpringbokSarah: Got back after walk and the blonde says to me…
Who was making a such a noise on the steps?
…i said the bloody stormers….she was out like a shot…sadly they had left….would have invited the boys in for Oros!
25 Nov 2009, 09:18 am
@SpringbokSarah: ja…i used to go to the Constantia gym often…but used to run next to F Pienaar,Mallet occassionally and Dale Santon, once Jaque Kallis….
Those youngsters too strong i tell you!
I hear Ross Skeate is doing fantastically overseas?
25 Nov 2009, 09:20 am
@grant10: he is hey! They’re actually winning!
25 Nov 2009, 09:23 am
@SpringbokSarah: also heard the English and French are showing interest….seems we need to get him home before he forgets he is a saffa!
25 Nov 2009, 09:23 am
@grant10: “the blonde”good groef I would klap my bf if I ever heard him refer to me as the brunette
haha well they’re at Caprice… send Flo a message, he’d come
25 Nov 2009, 09:25 am
@SpringbokSarah: well the blonde is now actually a brunette….
anyway…i thought they would go to Caprice….should of popped in for coffee….could of chatted to the guys…Perer Grant and Flo are 2 cool dudes….
25 Nov 2009, 09:31 am
@SpringbokSarah: groef = grief
btw why can’t I see the “reply” arrow?
@grant10: I’m sure the lovely lady had a name
ha ha all of the are…
cheers time to get ready for school!
25 Nov 2009, 09:35 am
#9:WP
Dont they want to make it a permanent deal?
I don’t think they would want a permanent deal. Mike Phillips is out for 3 months, I think they are looking for short term cover.
I don’t think the Ospreys want another Phillips-Mrashall problem.
25 Nov 2009, 09:35 am
@SpringbokSarah: cheers
25 Nov 2009, 10:01 am
Ricky must piss off. got done for drink driving and got so fat he could not pick up the ball.
Sarel Pretorius is by far one of the best scrummies to come out of RSA. Wrong colour though! Hougaard and Vermaak next.
25 Nov 2009, 10:20 am
He needs more than two weeks.
25 Nov 2009, 10:32 am
@Hondo:
A wager on what? In any case, I simply cannot take your opinions seriously because they are almost exclusively jaundiced against players of colour.
25 Nov 2009, 11:49 am
Maybe Shane Williams can give him a tip on how to stay thin past the age of 25. LOL
25 Nov 2009, 11:55 am
Ross Skeate never impressed me one bit, does not compare to Bekker at all, we need another Bakkies or Danie!
25 Nov 2009, 12:37 pm
@chucky:
Clearly you know nothing about rugby.
Ricki has proved time and again that he is talented enough to play at the highest level and perform when it matters most.
If he retains last years form he will definitely play for the Boks again.
25 Nov 2009, 12:40 pm
@wpw:
‘regains last years form’
25 Nov 2009, 14:01 pm
@wpw: 2005 Form
25 Nov 2009, 14:23 pm
i’d bulk him up and put him at No3 hehehe
25 Nov 2009, 15:34 pm
@Bongani:
MA MAN!!
25 Nov 2009, 17:33 pm
He is on loan for 2 months not 2 weeks. He needs all the time he can get.
25 Nov 2009, 17:35 pm
Not sure if the extra grace period will help this loan that went delinquent because of the accrued interest around the middle!
25 Nov 2009, 17:38 pm
shame poor Ricky
25 Nov 2009, 17:44 pm
Can’t do Rowdy any harm, but 2 weeks doesn’t seem like a long time to me.
25 Nov 2009, 18:15 pm
@Stormer23: have to admit 2months sounds a lot better than 2weeks because ricky needs some serious game time.is he guaranteed a start?
25 Nov 2009, 23:34 pm
ricky is going to miss his papsak!
those irish wount take his lazy attitude they are going to drill him at fitness sessions!
25 Nov 2009, 23:37 pm
@groenie:
ospreys is a welsh team mate
26 Nov 2009, 03:21 am
@charo:
really, oh now Ricky is in for it, see that mountain, “ja”
see the sheep on the mountain? “ja”
You got 10 minutes to bring me that sheep! Run
26 Nov 2009, 10:50 am
Sorry, left my glasses at home. Is it the Ospreys or Paulmoor?! Must give Sideshow Erasmus some credit, he found a way to get rid of his ****!