digimag-banner

De Villiers best bet at 12

Adi Jacobs’ ankle injury could be the good fortune the Springbok backline so desperately need.

The Boks beat the British & Irish Lions 2-1, but the series was not without error. Peter de Villiers came under fire for his suspect use of the Bok bench, and the biggest criticism centred around the subbing of backline kingpin Jean de Villiers.

Instead of swapping one outside centre for another, the Bok coach shifted Jacobs to No 12 and introduced Jaque Fourie at No 13. Jacobs was targeted with the Lions midfield pairing of Jamie Roberts and Brian O’Driscoll attacking his channel. Because Jacobs was driven back so often, the men on his outside, including Fourie, were placed on the back foot. The pressure the Lions exerted on Jacobs enabled the visitors to cut the line out wide.

Peter de Villiers had plans to persist with this combination in the Tri-Nations given Jean de Villiers was set to join Irish club Munster. Jacobs suffered an injury in the build up to the first match against the All Blacks in Bloemfontein, and fortunately, the Jean and Jaque midfield combination was restored. It’s one of the reasons the Bok defence was so impressive during this tournament, as the opponents battled to make substantial ground in De Villiers’ channel.

Since the Stormers centre’s departure, however, the Bok coaching staff has revisited the Jacobs/Fourie midfield combination. Jacobs battled against a French barrage in Toulouse and was part of an awful mix-up that led to an Italian try in Udine.

Before their final fixture against Ireland, the Boks have caught a break. Jacobs is out of the tour with an ankle injury, allowing De Villiers to resume his position.

There will be eyebrows raised if De Villiers is named to start given he hasn’t featured for the Boks since the final Tri-Nations match. But it’s a set-up he understands well, and his experience would be a boost for such a big clash.

You have to feel for Wynand Olivier, who should have been the logical alternative to De Villiers all along. He enjoyed a dream run in the Bulls’ Super 14 campaign playing alongside the halfback pair that have since traded powder blue shirts for those coloured green and gold. As an individual, Olivier was impressive, but as part of that No 9, 10 and 12 triumvirate, he was outstanding.

Olivier lacks the kicking game required of the modern No 12, but it’s his only shortcoming. He showed against Saracens what he’s capable of defensively (Derick Hougaard bears the bruises as testament), and is the ideal kind of player for the Boks’ game plan – which is not unlike the Bulls’ strategy.

Olivier partnered Fourie in the third Test against the Lions. The Test was a disaster in many aspects, but it’s disappointing that this midfield combination wasn’t given more opportunity to develop. Even now with Jacobs out, De Villiers returns, and the big loser is Olivier.

The Irish enjoy a fast-paced game and all first-phase ball would have been directed down Jacobs’ channel with the robust Jamie Heaslip sure to lead the charge. Why? Because they know they’re guaranteed to make ground. Jacobs may affect a tackle, but he’s failed if the opposition gain five to 10 metres in the process.

With De Villiers replacing the injured Jacobs, the Irish will be forced to rethink their tactics. The Boks stand an excellent chance of repelling an Irish surge if De Villiers and Fourie are standing in the centres.

Stopping power is what’s required. The Boks need to slow the Irish down this Saturday; they have to cut down the hosts’ space. A big defensive effort is what will earn a win and render this tour a relative success. In realising that goal, Peter de Villiers needs to pick players that are up to the task.

Olivier has the ability, but if you have Jean De Villiers available, you have to play him. He knows the Irish players well having played against them in the Lions series and at club level for Munster.

It may seem crazy to pluck a player from the international wilderness just two days before kickoff, but given what De Villiers has achieved alongside the incumbent backline players in 2009, you wouldn’t expect them to lack synergy at Croke Park.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

300 Responses to “De Villiers best bet at 12”

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@Objective 101: Okai then you would have to be either a) Brazillian – 5 world cup or
    b) Italian – 4 world cups :)

• 252. TransformationReply to this comment :

@Objective 101: “outdated political beliefs” what he ****? You’re seriously reaching buddy… :D

Back to the topic. tell my why do companies that sponsor & mentor people in different careers tie them down to time-specific contracts after they complete their studies? Saru takes players from Craven Week & puts them is structures, that go through age groups & finally culminate in the Springboks, you here of High Performance Institutions where players are looked after. Now tell me where does the money to develop all these structures come from?

your hyperbole about jails and nonsense won’t impress anyone with a brain. Hasn’t SARU come to the party to add more money to Jaque Fourie & Bryan Habana’s contracts? Is that what you call jailing professionals?

the lack of logic in your arguments really betrays your nic. Objective my @rse. :D

I won’t discuss football with you further, you seem to know nothing.

• 253. guntherReply to this comment :

@David:

yes go figure that special relationship my arse…

• 254. nama1Reply to this comment :

@Objective 101:#250
    Are you getting a bit agitated over there?. No need to. We are just discussing a topic that we have different viewpoints of.

Question is, were you raise in that country?

Your lack of knowledge on the game of football suggest that you are not.

• 255. nama1Reply to this comment :

Bok team against Ireland on Saturday.

The Springbok team is (test caps in brackets):

15 Zane Kirchner (3)
    14 JP Pietersen (32)
    13 Jaque Fourie (53)
    12 Wynand Olivier (26)
    11 Bryan Habana (56)
    10 Morne Steyn (11)
    9 Fourie du Preez (54)
    8 Danie Rossouw (45)
    7 Schalk Burger (54)
    6 Heinrich Brüssow (12)
    5 Victor Matfield (91)
    4 Bakkies Botha (65)
    3 BJ Botha (18)
    2 John Smit (92) – captain
    1 Tendai Mtawarira (21)

Reserves:

16 Bismarck du Plessis (31)
    17 CJ van der Linde (57)
    18 Andries Bekker (2)
    19 Jean Deysel (1)
    20 Dewald Potgieter (uncapped)
    21 Ruan Pienaar (36)
    22 Jean de Villiers (54)

• 256. charoReply to this comment :

@nama1:

good team.

well done to pdv for keeping a sane mind while all those on keo are losing theirs

• 257. WezwpReply to this comment :

Wow ! that’s an extremely strong bench.

• 258. grant10Reply to this comment :

@nama1: officially??

• 259. grant10Reply to this comment :

Redemption…..thanks PDV!

Powerful bench!

Schalk can thank the heavens!!

• 260. WezwpReply to this comment :

Im glad Ruan Pienaar is back in the fold. Still believe in the guy, he has a point to prove.

• 261. bananasReply to this comment :

Is that official ? Shalk extremly lucky to be there. He owes a big one to PdV.

• 262. BakmisterReply to this comment :

@bananas: Should have been Deysel

• 263. sienerReply to this comment :

To everyone asking: Yes it’s official. It’s like that on sarugby.net

I’m sure keo will have an article up in the next hour or so. He’ll probably get the team wrong the first few times though :)

• 265. TransformationReply to this comment :

@Sharksgirl: the football world cup was first played in 1930, and there have been 18 tournaments to date, as sharkgirl said brazil hold 5, italy 4, germany 3 and other countries 2 etc, now which country would our friend Objective be from, that has won the world cup “more times than what (namakwa) cares to think?)

• 266. ashleyReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    noooooooooooooo
    cant be!!

no nervous comments? :shock:

• 267. bananasReply to this comment :

@Bakmister: Boy do we miss Juan !

• 268. Bok fanReply to this comment :

@nama1: Strong side. Boks by 15

• 269. sienerReply to this comment :

This is a very strong team…

I don’t see Ireland having anything to counter that front row.

Behind a strong scrum we can also expect FdP and Steyn to be back to their best.

I also like the 5-2 split on the bench. Between them, Pienaar and JdV we have 9-15 covered, leaving us with 5 forwards who could be used as impact players.

• 270. grant10Reply to this comment :

@ashley: cool team!!

Finally we got a proper front row!

After being flogged half to death on this site finally PDV sees the light!!

I am happy, but Schalk owes PDV a big game now!

• 271. grant10Reply to this comment :

Add F Steyn to 15 and Juan Smith to 7 and i reckon thats the WC cup team….

Sorry, switch JDV and WO around as well….

• 272. nama1Reply to this comment :

WO now has his chance playing with all his tjommies at 8, 9, 10, 11 and 15. Here’s hoping he can make it count.

I doubt it very much however.

I always find it strange that the Bulls who is known for their forward play provide the bulk of the back line players while the Cheetahs who is known for their back line play only provides the front rowers and flankers.

Which one of the two props are going to play a full 80min. or is JS going to TH after 60-65min with CJ at LH and Missie at hooker? Or maybe CJ at TH and JS at hooker?

• 273. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

Why is Schalk there? My word. I would have at best played him off the bench. Also would swop Pottie for Nokwe. he deserves the chance more.

• 274. grant10Reply to this comment :

Lots of balance in the team now…..damn its great to have BJ and CJ back in the mix….and Dewalt Potgieter and Deysel will add hunger and desire in the 2 nd half….

A concerned person is going to be Plumtree….this tour has really changed the whole Bok dynamics….wonder if Bissy through a hissy fit?

Craig Burden should of taken the Lions offer!

This move of Smit back to 2 has really raised a myriad of questions…..

Man, what a day for Bok rugby!

• 275. guntherReply to this comment :

@grant10:

perfec….nice to see pottie getting his chance…

• 276. grant10Reply to this comment :

threw!

• 277. BakmisterReply to this comment :

@bananas: Jaun Smith needs to start playing lock. Spies/Deysel/Brussouw nice young combo

• 278. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: 3N will see Bissie return and Smit shift to 3.

• 279. charoReply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

schalk has over 50 caps – deysel has 1.
    this is a big test – not italy or all blacks.
    you need the experience to start with.
    the lighties can come on later

• 280. grant10Reply to this comment :

@gunther: agree….bloody strong team G….

Your dinner bet safe now….Smitty will see it through to 2011 as hooker…glad for him.

• 282. nama1Reply to this comment :

@nama1: #272
    Missie=Bissie

• 283. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@grant10: I really do not think so. With this new “understanding” with the Unions, the Boks in 2010 can only play 500 mins of rugby and may not play any CC unless it is for testing fitness after injury. THose 500 mins = to either 6 full matches or 8 60 mins, so the hookers will have to rotate, Craig will get his game time and then in CC he will again be first choice. After 2011 I am almost 100% sure John will no longer be part of the equation.

• 284. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: Bru, hold on to your horses. Its just an end of year tour game. Last year Bissie played 2 with JS at TH until the game against England where Smit shifted back to 2. Bissie not 100%, doesn’t make sense to start him and BJ doing well in squad. 3N won’t include CJ or BJ unless they are playing in the country.

• 285. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: Cause there is no better TH playing in SA currently. There is a void. And on best form JS vs Bissie? If BJ returns for WC the choice will be between him or Bissie to start. I would choose to start with BJ on bench as insurance.

• 286. nama1Reply to this comment :

@siener: #263

Did you see that SA RUGBY’s site credit Bekker with only two(2) caps. I maybe imagining it but I swear he has played more test matches than that. I wonder if Keo’s boys will rectify it before they copy and paste.

• 287. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Sharksgirl: yes…that is interesting….is that a directive by SARU?

If so Burden will be okay…i rate him highly by the way!

• 288. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): CJ back in May boet….but i bow to your superior knowledge on the subject.

• 289. guntherReply to this comment :

@grant10:

I don’t think it will be too bad at the sharks yes bismarck has an attitude but he will get playing time and if something should happen to barney he will be right there…

mind you if i were john smit i would decline anthing to eat or drink from bissie and I would say thank you but no if he offered to spot me on the free weights…

• 290. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Even Jannie Dup a better 3 than Smit….but lets leave that chat….

I said to a mate this smit at 3 deal will not see out the season…let me just enjoy my tiny moment in the sun?

• 291. grant10Reply to this comment :

@gunther: Classic!!

• 292. DavidReply to this comment :

What I find interesting is the choice of both Deysel and Pottie on the bench. Looks as if they might move Danie to 4 at some point, and Pottie to 8. Can’t see any other reason for it. At leasy Kankos not in the mix.

• 293. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@grant10: Yes apparently its an agreement that the unions have come to with SARU.

I never used to rate Craig, but this year he has proved me spectacularly wrong, and I am a newly aquired fan of his! Once he gets his throw ins a bit more accurate, we have another brilliant hooker, as fast as a wing :)

• 294. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@gunther: :lol: nor go to close to the pier in Durban with Bissie behind :)

• 295. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@Sharksgirl: to = too :oops:

• 296. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@David: shame poor Kanko :cry: Have to feel for him.

• 297. Bok fanReply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Never mind how Smit has played at 3, Bissie has not taken his opportunity at 2. Both brothers have had a really bad year in my opinion.

I would take Smit at 2 over Bissie anyday especially come world cup time.

If thids tour has proven one thing its that Smit must trim down in the off season and move back to 2

• 298. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

Yeh its pretty sick delighting in Jacobs’ injury. He may be off form at the moment but he’s not stopped trying and at least he has shown his unwavering commitment to the Boks by not losing faith despite many years in the wilderness. Jacobs should be playing at 13 and perhaps should be used as an impact player to get him back in form. I have never ever considered Adi as a quota and I welcomed his inclusion next year. I hope he recovers quickly and can get back into form in the S14.

I feel for Olivier but JdV does seem to bring more to the table and I’ve not seen him pull off such stunning interceptions the way JdV can. Just hope him and Fourie are up for it on Saturday because BOD will be injecting himself with extra steroids for the game.

• 299. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

@Sharksgirl: Yeh he doesn’t exactly get much opportunity.

• 300. sharkfinReply to this comment :

Its unbelievable how much such an experienced team rely on John Smit,like they need daddy to hold their hand,its pathetic.On the other hand,hey,whatever it takes,if daddy holds everyones hands and it works,then why change it? Im just mal for Bissie cos hes the worlds best hooker and awesome at stealing ball too.Hes also lekker lus for anyone which is what we want.Pity they cant just have smit giving a pep talk on the big screen at crucial times in the game.Id feel for the tired Irish when Bissie and Deysel come on.Go Bokke

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator