De Villiers best bet at 12
26 Nov 2009
Adi Jacobs’ ankle injury could be the good fortune the Springbok backline so desperately need.
The Boks beat the British & Irish Lions 2-1, but the series was not without error. Peter de Villiers came under fire for his suspect use of the Bok bench, and the biggest criticism centred around the subbing of backline kingpin Jean de Villiers.
Instead of swapping one outside centre for another, the Bok coach shifted Jacobs to No 12 and introduced Jaque Fourie at No 13. Jacobs was targeted with the Lions midfield pairing of Jamie Roberts and Brian O’Driscoll attacking his channel. Because Jacobs was driven back so often, the men on his outside, including Fourie, were placed on the back foot. The pressure the Lions exerted on Jacobs enabled the visitors to cut the line out wide.
Peter de Villiers had plans to persist with this combination in the Tri-Nations given Jean de Villiers was set to join Irish club Munster. Jacobs suffered an injury in the build up to the first match against the All Blacks in Bloemfontein, and fortunately, the Jean and Jaque midfield combination was restored. It’s one of the reasons the Bok defence was so impressive during this tournament, as the opponents battled to make substantial ground in De Villiers’ channel.
Since the Stormers centre’s departure, however, the Bok coaching staff has revisited the Jacobs/Fourie midfield combination. Jacobs battled against a French barrage in Toulouse and was part of an awful mix-up that led to an Italian try in Udine.
Before their final fixture against Ireland, the Boks have caught a break. Jacobs is out of the tour with an ankle injury, allowing De Villiers to resume his position.
There will be eyebrows raised if De Villiers is named to start given he hasn’t featured for the Boks since the final Tri-Nations match. But it’s a set-up he understands well, and his experience would be a boost for such a big clash.
You have to feel for Wynand Olivier, who should have been the logical alternative to De Villiers all along. He enjoyed a dream run in the Bulls’ Super 14 campaign playing alongside the halfback pair that have since traded powder blue shirts for those coloured green and gold. As an individual, Olivier was impressive, but as part of that No 9, 10 and 12 triumvirate, he was outstanding.
Olivier lacks the kicking game required of the modern No 12, but it’s his only shortcoming. He showed against Saracens what he’s capable of defensively (Derick Hougaard bears the bruises as testament), and is the ideal kind of player for the Boks’ game plan – which is not unlike the Bulls’ strategy.
Olivier partnered Fourie in the third Test against the Lions. The Test was a disaster in many aspects, but it’s disappointing that this midfield combination wasn’t given more opportunity to develop. Even now with Jacobs out, De Villiers returns, and the big loser is Olivier.
The Irish enjoy a fast-paced game and all first-phase ball would have been directed down Jacobs’ channel with the robust Jamie Heaslip sure to lead the charge. Why? Because they know they’re guaranteed to make ground. Jacobs may affect a tackle, but he’s failed if the opposition gain five to 10 metres in the process.
With De Villiers replacing the injured Jacobs, the Irish will be forced to rethink their tactics. The Boks stand an excellent chance of repelling an Irish surge if De Villiers and Fourie are standing in the centres.
Stopping power is what’s required. The Boks need to slow the Irish down this Saturday; they have to cut down the hosts’ space. A big defensive effort is what will earn a win and render this tour a relative success. In realising that goal, Peter de Villiers needs to pick players that are up to the task.
Olivier has the ability, but if you have Jean De Villiers available, you have to play him. He knows the Irish players well having played against them in the Lions series and at club level for Munster.
It may seem crazy to pluck a player from the international wilderness just two days before kickoff, but given what De Villiers has achieved alongside the incumbent backline players in 2009, you wouldn’t expect them to lack synergy at Croke Park.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

300 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
26 Nov 2009, 12:20 pm
The only sides that don’t select players playing overseas are New Zealand, South Africa and Australia (I stand under correction) and they happen to be the top 3 in the World consistantly over the last 5 years. Can’t be such a bad thing!
26 Nov 2009, 12:22 pm
going back to the post by JC. I wish writers like Keo, JC etc would not comment on things they know nothing about.
I mean their takes on who can scrum and who can’t. Who can play 12 and who can’t are not worth the paper they are written on.
Enjoy the articles where like yesterday they get Os to comment on scrumming. Or get Honiball to comment on defence.
Come on guys stick to reporting the facts and not your kak opinions.
26 Nov 2009, 12:23 pm
You know, I don’t normally like to say this sort of thing, because it so often comes back to bite you, but I really, really, really hope the boks are able to pick themselves up one last time this year and give the Irish an absolute snotting. I’m talking a humiliating, crushing on their home ground.
They have become the most mouthy, arrogant, dirty buggers of the NH and all because they won a 6 nations and feel they came close in the Lions series.
Like I say, it’s unlikely, but man I would love to shut them up convincingly.
26 Nov 2009, 12:24 pm
I’m personally so glad Jacobs is gone home, he must stay there.
26 Nov 2009, 12:24 pm
@nama1: I am sorry but your argument makes no sense at all. Gate income is not even 5% of incoem from these competitions.
As I said, look at soccer, they have sponsors, full stadiums (down to the second league) why? Because every second kid in the township wants to play soccer (not rugby) so he can try out for man united or chelsea. It is the lure of playing overseas that motivates them. My understanding is that the more people play a sport the betteer the pool of players is. Once again how does soccer manage and we are afraid that rugby will not.
Incidentally both magners and heineken and rench league play to full stadiums., all the time, unlike our cc and even s14 matches so that myth is aeasily debunked. It is called marketing and has nothing to do with how good your players are, it si about giving the public what they want to see (look at our local soccer!).
26 Nov 2009, 12:25 pm
@nama1: You dare
26 Nov 2009, 12:26 pm
@ufo:
Give me one instance of how, losing our top players overseas can benefit us? It would be a disaster for the game financially. Remember that SARU pockets the bulk of the income from the S14, not the Franchises.
Then look at the present composition of the Bok team. Rugby is far more of a team game than soccer and trying to throw player from different clubs together for a couple of weeks training is not the same as fielding known and tested combinations.
I hear the word, “professional” game thrown around a lot here, but only in the context of the players earnings, not the game itself.
26 Nov 2009, 12:28 pm
@Pearl Rose: 17
And who was the man of the match dummy?
26 Nov 2009, 12:28 pm
@Bakmister:
Bakmister I am the same, I blow a fuse when they lose and the very next day I am back in my black and white and Sharkie goes back up on my car window
The Sharks need head doctors, and here I blame Plum as he has publicly stated he does not believe in them. I also agree with him when he sais that this season the lack of depth meant that the “team chose itself” which lead to senior players believing in their right to the jersey rather than performing,in the semi, yes the Cheetahs played very well, but Not one of our “Stars” could be said to have had a game to remember! maybe now with them having to compete for the honour of wearing the Jersey may have the “stars” a little more focused with youngsters and new acquisitions breathing down their necks for the jersey.
26 Nov 2009, 12:30 pm
@Objective 101: Unfortunately SA didnt win the confed cup. In fact, Clive “the dog” Barker was promptly sacked after a poor showing in the 1997 showpiece. looking at their performance back then – i will gladly swap it for today’s. They drew with the mighty Czech Republic and lost in the final minutes against Uruaguay.
26 Nov 2009, 12:33 pm
@Oubaas2009: Some french players may question you on that and it may very well be that in the 5 years the best sides will all be from the NH filled with players from countries like SA etc.
Your argument is flawed, Brazil the best soccer nation has 11 out of their starting players playing overseas. Rugby must learn.
26 Nov 2009, 12:35 pm
@David: Grow up rugby has been a professional game for the last 20 years.
You are protecting what cannot be protected.
26 Nov 2009, 12:35 pm
@Objective 101:
Where do you get your figures for soccer from? Apart from the Pirates/Chiefs derby and a few finals attendances are rather dismal. Here’re the average figures with stadium, capacity, average figure and attendance percentage. Only the Lions are worst.
KAIZER CHIEFS – ORLANDO STADIUM (40 000) 21 200 53%
ORLANDO PIRATES – ORLANDO STADIUM (40 000) 14 000 36%
MAMELODI SUNDOWNS – SUPER STADIUM (28 900) 7 500 26%
BLOEMFONTEIN CELTIC – SEISA RAMABODU (20 000) 17 000 85%
SUPERSPORT UNITED – SUPER STADIUM (29 800) 7 200 25%
MP BLACK ACES – PUMA STADIUM (15 000) ????? ??%
AJAX CAPE TOWN – NEWLANDS (51 100) 7 700 15%
AMAZULU – CHATSWORTH STADIUM (35 000) 5 200 15%
MARITZBURG – WOODBURN STADIUM (11 000) 5 600 51%
PLATINUM STARS – ROYAL BA***ENG (42 000) 4 700 11%
MOROKA SWALLOWS – DOBSONVILLE (24 000) 5 600 23%
SANTOS – COETZENBURG STADIUM (8 000) 1 900 23%
WITS UNIVERSITY – BIDVEST STADIUM (5 000) 3 200 63%
FREE STATE STARS – GOBLE PARK (20 000) 3 500 18%
GOLDEN ARROWS – CHATSWORTH STADIUM (35 000) 3 600 10%
JOMO COSMOS – RAND STADIUM (25 000) 1 600 7%
26 Nov 2009, 12:36 pm
@ufo: the number 1 ranked country/team in the world has 95% of all their players playing @ home! Torres, Fabregas & i thing Guiza are playing elsewhere!
How many german squad members play outside the Bundesliga?
26 Nov 2009, 12:36 pm
2 hours to Bok team announcement….now i know what it feels like to be on Death Row…
26 Nov 2009, 12:38 pm
I reckon there are currently at least 6 or 7 players in Europe that could make the Bok team….on merit….
26 Nov 2009, 12:41 pm
David… #207
“Give me one instance of how, losing our top players overseas can benefit us?”
oh this is so easy… Jean de Villiers…??? Selecting him will benefit us this weekend…
seriously David…
101 makes an excellent point… you’re worried about devaling local rugby but at the moment most of the yeams play to half-full stadiums…
the CC semi between the cheetahs and sharks… with all their Boks… at the tank… had over 20 000 empty seats!!
but you’ve still not given me a single example of overseas-based players hurting a national sporting code…
also your statement that “Rugby is far more of a team game than soccer ” really is ridiculous… teamwork is vital in top flight football with one-touch passing etc… it is not going to work if players don’t gel as a team and know where each other are and what they’re going to do…
26 Nov 2009, 12:45 pm
Franss SteyN
Luke Watson
BJ
CJ
JDV
Juandre Kruger
Joe Van Niekerk
B Russell
M Joubert
Antonie Claasen
B Barritt
m claasen
B James
F rautenbach
Gerhard Vosloo
sowerby
R Skeate
p burger
And so many more!
I just rate we open it up…..seriously.
26 Nov 2009, 12:46 pm
@Objective 101:
You miss my point entirely. If “professionalism” allows players to go where the money is, then the national unions can also do what they feel is necessary to protect their own interests.
There’s already been an almighty scrap between the RFU and the clubs regarding release of players, and the ECB is doing it’s best to have the Kolpak ruling rescinded to cut down on the number of foreign players.
This isn’t just an SA problem confined to rugby, it’s one that national sports bodies worldwide are concerned about for varying reasons.
@Transformation: Spain? I doubt they’l get through to the finals. How many used to play overseas and are now back because of teh lure of greater cash? There are more than 2 spaniards playing in the UK.
I would agree with the germans but that’s because nobody wants them anyway an most of them are from Poland.
What about Brazil. For every argument there is a counter argument. What is common though is the fact is that the players are free to play where they want and they stil get selected to play for their country.
SARU had a policy of not selecting players playing overseas and now what? It just shows the maturity and insight of those who made it.
Thing is when you apply draconian type rules……they dont work….
26 Nov 2009, 12:49 pm
@Transformation:
but they do pick players who play in other leagues if they’re good enough… right? right.
I’ll repeat… I have not said our young players should go and learn in an inferior league… we’re talking about our experienced players being lost to local rugby… I’m confident we will produce young players who step up to the mark and become great players…
again… how is this bad…?
look guys… you have to get used to the fact the SMit and Victor and Bakkies and JEan and Fourie (x2) etc are going to get older and retire one day… What then…???
Anyone who says a wider player base from which to select their replacements is not a good thing is just being dof… seriously…
Now please give me one example of foreign based players being bad for a national sporting code…???
26 Nov 2009, 12:49 pm
Damn difficult to stop a Tsunami…..you can try…and drown….
Or face reality , get on your surfboard and enjoy the ride…..
Night follows day, professionalism has created the monster….embrace it…or accept mediocrity…like having to play hookers at prop because ‘thats the best we got in SA’….
26 Nov 2009, 12:51 pm
UFO winning this debate 6 love…..keeps on returning serves straight back at the incoming players feet….
Game …set …match….
I am with the spaceman on this one.
26 Nov 2009, 12:55 pm
@ufo: #173
There was a time when 14 provincial teams competed in our CC.
Bigger pool I would suggest. Can’t however confirm that the quality of players were much better because of it. You consistently hear talks now of reducing the CC teams to 6 in order to enhance the quality. Obviously you believe differently.
@ufo: #177
Younger guys coming into the system and playing against mediocre opposition, will not develop to become the best. You have to play against the best to improve and ultimately become “great players of the future”. I refer you to your post 161 regarding Argie rugby players and African soccer players.
@Objective 101: #205
I really don’t know how you can use local football as an example to back up your view if you admit that you only watch it “in passing”.
26 Nov 2009, 12:57 pm
@grant10:
for the last time barritis not eligible to play for the boks!
26 Nov 2009, 12:59 pm
@grant10:
Thanks bud… you’re too kind…!!
Not running away guys… but am going to be late for a lunch appointment… didn’t want to leave earlier and appear to be doing the chicken run…
but gotta go now…
all’s good…
flame away…!!
26 Nov 2009, 13:00 pm
@gunther: Sorry…[ wishful thinking ]
26 Nov 2009, 13:01 pm
@Sharksgirl: Head doctors and a backline coach!! Maybe we should wait until the AB win the world cup or the proteas win anything for that matter then we will have a blue print on how to do it. But untill then it is cheers for the beers and some great sports on saturdays
26 Nov 2009, 13:02 pm
beach walk for an hour….function last nute so a hangover to work off….
Team announcement got me all apprehensive here….worried about the Irish….
26 Nov 2009, 13:02 pm
Okay what are we debating here?
26 Nov 2009, 13:03 pm
@Bakmister: forget headdoctors….
Find a tighthead.
26 Nov 2009, 13:03 pm
@Objective 101: #211
“Brazil the best soccer nation has 11 out of their starting players playing overseas. Rugby must learn.”
Now that you we know that, why don’t you inform us how that situation affected the Brazilian domestic league.
Maybe rugby has already learn not to make the same mistakes that countries made in terms of their soccer.
Another example of how detrimental it is to your local league if you allow you top players to go overseas is the Dutch football league. There was a time when teams like Ajax Amsterdam ruled Europe. Nowadays they are lucky if the make it past the first round.
26 Nov 2009, 13:04 pm
@Bakmister:
26 Nov 2009, 13:08 pm
@nama1: Why is it good for cricket, soccer, athletics, swimming, tennis and every other sport either than rugby?
I think it isyoru slfish way fo looking at the sport rather than what is good for those who get crucnhed week in week out for your viewing benefit. Sports can do without adminstrators who make the stupid rules but not without the sportsmen and women. So why not let them decide what is good for them.
Anyway your argument is flawed if you look at how many so called pariah players playng overseas have been selected to play for a team that supposedly is not allowed to field players playing overseas. Follow the tsunami adn ride the wave rather than rsist it otherwise you are going to get flattened.
By teh way have you played in the french or magners league or the heinieken cup to say they are of a lower standard?
26 Nov 2009, 13:15 pm
@nama1: The Brazilian domestic league is as strong as it has always been, bd that is where player like Kaka first learnt to ply their trade. Once again you logic is flawed.
As for Holland maybe their players are not so got ever thought of that perhaps as the answer?
26 Nov 2009, 13:18 pm
The allowing of overseas based players presents a two-fold problem.
Firstly no matter what players say, they move overseas for money, end of story.
The reason they are in demand is also simple, supply and demand. They are in demand and attract sponsors and fans to leagues and teams which means money for the clubs they go play for.
But this could also well affect the country they are leaving – we are already seeing it in NZ (who has low player numbers) and Australia (low player numbers and rugby competing with other codes).
Interest wanes, sponsors are less interested and slowly but surely stadiums get emptier, sponsors get less, and local unions make less money.
The less money they make the less they can afford to develop future stars and attract a new breed or generation of crowds.
The ultimate prize for any sportsmen is to represent his country in the elite sporting events in the world, the Olympics and World Cup or World Champs tournaments.
Money is important as it is your career, but the ultimate goal is to participate for your country at these events.
We are already seeing sponsors putting pressure on SA Rugby and unions to include overplayed Boks in CC games because of the value they inject in the competition which they sponsor.
If we lift these ‘bans’ on international players or players based overseas we will lose our assets. That is a simple business calculation.
With less money the game will ultimately suffer as so many mentioned, rugby is a professional sport now, or business.
I agree with the limits placed on picking international based players. There is not a total ban, but first option will always go to a locally based player.
It is the same in the business world.
When a position in the company becomes available, it is advertised internally first before going to the outside.
26 Nov 2009, 13:21 pm
@grant10: We ask struali for a tight head, but being a bit east rand he didnt undstand the native tung to lekker and got us tight “arse” coach instead
26 Nov 2009, 13:24 pm
It has been a good and healthy debate today and I am impressed with PdV … still dont like or rate DMuir but cant have it all.
I for one would love to get inside the heads of the oppo and gauge reactions to the Boks selections …. as was said earlier this year the only team that can beat the boks is … the boks. Do the French go yip Jacobs at 12, Smit at 3, Kanko at 8 ? Because you change those names to JdV, BJ and Danie and it would change my mindest.France played bloody well tho in fairness.
Well we are in NH and we should think in terms of the SQUAD not the XV,as we have learnt success in NH does not come based on a team chosen for hard fields of SA and with RWC in NZ guess we better get used to it.
26 Nov 2009, 13:24 pm
@Objective 101: #235
“Why is it good for cricket, soccer, athletics, swimming, tennis and every other sport either than rugby?”
I’ve already explain this to UFO in an earlier post.
“By teh way have you played in the french or magners league or the heinieken cup to say they are of a lower standard?”
Now you getting childish. If you read my post again you’ll see that I see “according to some”.
I hope you won’t take this the wrong way but, are you drunk?
26 Nov 2009, 13:29 pm
@nama1: NO I am not, why are you?
26 Nov 2009, 13:30 pm
@PissAnt:
Pissant just brought in the Thanksgiving Day turkey.
Well articulated post.
There’s a lot of flippers, doosras, reverse swing and the like in this rugby player debate.
A question of balance né…
26 Nov 2009, 13:30 pm
@ufo:saru is protecting the value of it’s product, people moan about the brain drain in south africa all the time & it has been quantified as to how it influences our economy, now if you want them to ignore that to satisfy a few then say it maybe a cashless saru seems like an attractive proposition to you. Every market has its regulations, not everyone likes the regulators but that is the nature of the beast!
@Objective 101:spain are the current european champions, they just beat argentina last week, barcelona are the champions of european club football, if you believe they won’t make it to the finals then you might as well tell all the bok supporters crowing about RWC 07, tri-nations ’09 & S14 in ’09 to shut up, their team will be no-where come RWC ’11…basically your assertion is baseless dude!
26 Nov 2009, 13:46 pm
@Transformation: So you believe that tying people down is the way to go. Why not chain all doctors, engineers, accountants etc. and keep in a stockade then lead them out during the day to work and put them back in jail at night. Great good it has done countries like Cuba.
As much as I do not want to see a poor S14 or CC or TN I also understand that maybe the players are the ones who should chose given they get bashed day in and day out. Your selfish belief that to have a strong country you need to tie everyone down and force them to stay and work in labour camps is probably indicative of your own outdated political beliefs. At this stage only or money is tied down but hopefully one of these days that will also be freed. I support freedom of choice and hopefully oen day soemoe with enough balls and money wil have thsi matter resolved at CC level then all sporting codes will have to toe the line.
26 Nov 2009, 13:47 pm
@Objective 101: #236
“The Brazilian domestic league is as strong as it has always been,”
And that is obviously the reason why Brazilian spectators are voting with their feet and the attendance of local matches have dropped significantly.
I don’t think so. People don’t attend the matches because the likes of Kaka, Ronaldinho, Dida and all the other -inho’s and one-name-players are not there.
Stop talking about soccer. you know that don’t watch and you don’t care for it.
You were slurring a bit in your post 235.
26 Nov 2009, 13:48 pm
The Nazi’s tied down most of their people who swore allegiance to Hitler and Germany’s economy isn’t doing to bad. They left well ahead of Britain.
26 Nov 2009, 13:52 pm
I think saru is following the Nazi blue print. Only the strong aryans get selected to play for the Boks.
26 Nov 2009, 13:58 pm
@Objective 101:
Who’s being tied down? The players are given a choice. If you want to play for SA on a regular basis you need to compete for that place in the S14. What’s wrong with that?
26 Nov 2009, 14:01 pm
@Wezwp:
Yeah, Britain finished paying off their war debt to the USA only last year. Germany, by comparison, was the recipient of masses of American funding after the war, to rebuild their economy.
26 Nov 2009, 14:03 pm
@nama1: Bud I was born in a country that has won more world cups than you care to think where we start to play soccer at three. As things stand I prefer to play and watch rugby as I prefer a more physical game. But as presumably you are a south african please do not patronise me on a game you are likely to know a lot less.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All