digimag-banner

Smit starts at hooker

John Smit will revert to his strongest position this Saturday while the uncapped Dewald Potgieter has been named on the bench.

Smit played down the shift when probed on the matter. On a tour marred by poor scrumming and front-row injuries, the Springboks have lost Gurthro Steenkamp, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis and most recently Adriaan Strauss. Bismarck du Plessis has had a rib concern, while CJ van der Linde has just recovered from a hamstring ailment.

The string of injuries sees Smit reverting to the position where many experts, including former team-mate Os du Randt, feel he’s best.

‘It’s been awhile since I’ve played hooker – I think my last start was in the Super 14. Hopefully it’s just like riding a bicycle,’ Smit told keo.co.za.

‘It’s going to be an epic Test. They’re the Six Nations champions and we’ve enjoyed a good year, so it’s going to be tough.’

Peter de Villiers has also selected BJ Botha at tighthead and Beast Mtawarira at loosehead after this front-row combination impressed in the closing stages of the Italy Test. De Villiers, however, refused to say whether this combination would be retained in future matches.

‘We now have a lot of options and can opt for a horse for courses approach,’ the Bok coach said. ‘The front row we’ve selected is perfect for how we want to play against Ireland.’

Botha (Ulster), Van der Linde (Leinster) and Jean de Villiers (Munster) all play their club rugby in Ireland, and are included despite the policy that frowns on the selection of overseas-based players.

Peter de Villiers said this stance was relaxed given the number of injuries and the fact that the trio were playing in Ireland.

‘We will always look inside our own country first. If we can’t find someone good enough, only then will we look outside.

‘We are fortunate that Jean was here and thought it would be stupid to fly a replacement out from South Africa. He knows the system and it’s not even three months since he last played for South Africa.’

Other changes to the pack see Danie Rossouw shifted to No 8 in place of Ryan Kankowski while Schalk Burger returns from a rib injury. Bakkies Botha is still battling a back injury but is named in the starting side.

De Villiers said the change at No 8 is down to injury and not because of the physicality Rossouw can bring to the contest.

‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’

Wynand Olivier is preferred in the centres with Jean de Villiers warming the bench. De Villiers was a late replacement for injured centre Adi Jacobs.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Dewald Potgieter, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jean de Villiers.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

409 Responses to “Smit starts at hooker”

• 1. my faceReply to this comment :

pdv shows again he isn’t stubborn.

• 2. WP Till I DieReply to this comment :

Good news – pack looks quite strong.

• 3. greenHazeReply to this comment :

At least Smit is back to hooker, and Jean Dragons is on the bench

• 4. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

Poor Ratel will have to play both 6 and 7, untill Deysel comes on to help him!

• 6. ObserverReply to this comment :

good team though, I see no reason for Potgieter to be on the bench instead on kanko. And i’m not a big fan of Dannie the cart horse at 8, but from all accounts the weather is going to suit the cart horse. I have a feeling the 2 back backup might be a little thin. we might see Bekker playing at 13 before the end of the game… ahem i mean intentionally.

• 7. BakmisterReply to this comment :

5-2 split kind of sells the gameplan

• 8. TacitusReply to this comment :

Excellent team.

Finally sanity prevails. What makes this team so great is its bench.

For the first time this year, we have a bench that can actually STRENGTHEN the team in the last 20 minutes.

Imagine if you can bring on Bismark, Jean Deysel, and Jean de Villiers as impact players, rather than having to bring on Ricky january, Chilliboy Rallapele and Adi Jacobs.

Of course, the quota brigade won’t be happy with this team, but it is absolutely the best one available.

What a strong forward bench, in particular.

• 9. PissAntReply to this comment :

Good team

• 10. TacitusReply to this comment :

@Observer:

For one, Potgieter doesn’t cough the ball up each time he is tackled.

• 11. greenHazeReply to this comment :

Was always going to be a tight game, they may have to try and keep the ball a lot more than they have been due to the strong winds that are apparently predicted. So go with the big pack, just make sure they hit the breakdowns better than they have been doing…

• 12. PapooseReply to this comment :

huge amount of respect to PdV
    as i’ve always contended grant10..in Pdv we trust

• 13. greenHazeReply to this comment :

@Tacitus: Good point!!

• 14. PapooseReply to this comment :

@Tacitus: u dont even deserve a informed response
    transformation,please dont fall for it

• 15. SonitoReply to this comment :

What a great bench!! much better!

• 16. TacitusReply to this comment :

Weaknesses are Zane Kirchner, CJ vd Linde and Andries Bekker.

The rest of the 22 are very solid. Definitely the best team available.

• 17. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

G10 will be happy.

The Smit story wont finish here tho. For my money, Bismarck has been the best no2 in the World this year.

Maybe this is Smits personal choice for his retirement match ?

Cant believe how much the Boks, and fans here, rate Roussow. He’s a plodder no less. Surely this was the perfect opportunity to get Potgeiter or Deysel in there, testing them at the coalface. Shuffle the loosies to put Burger at 8 and Potgeiter in to the mix, he looks excellent.

Still cant see the Paddys getting past this Bok team, esp knowing its their final match before hitting the beach. Boks by 9.

• 18. PapooseReply to this comment :

gotto feel for a player like Kanko though

• 19. Craig GoosenReply to this comment :

@Tacitus: Hhahaahah GOOD ONE

A great team from 1-22. I like Danie at 8, he will do the Business on Saturday.

• 20. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Tacitus: Bulls would give there left horn to have CJ in there squad!

• 21. nama1Reply to this comment :

:@ #4 & #8

Why can’t you guys just be positive about the team with remarks like this. I, and I believe many others, would not prefer WO in the team ahead of JdV. The coach had other ideas. Let’s respect them without all this negativity that you portray here.

• 22. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Papoose: yes…i am thrilled with team

• 23. SonitoReply to this comment :

@Papoose:

Why? He had his chance and he played like ****.

• 24. puffReply to this comment :

Interesting front row permutations.
    Bismark and CJ will probably come on for Beast and BJ, with Smit shifting to tighthead.
    Potentially the best front row options the Springboks have going into the next world cup.
    With Strauss, Du Preez, Nel, Blaauw and Van Der Merwe entering the mix more frequently thereafter.

• 25. grant10Reply to this comment :

@WakaNathan: i am ecstatic….and you may be close to the mark with the smit retirement hint….wouldnt surprise me in the least.

• 26. puffReply to this comment :

Let’s see how Wynand Olivier does.
    I think this tour hasn’t been great for Kanko and he may well lose his regular place in the mix to the likes of Deysel or Potgieter.
    The problem is, if WO doesn’t step up, who do the Boks replace him with?
    Bosman?
    Ebershon?
    De Jongh?

• 27. nama1Reply to this comment :

@nama1:
    with=without

• 28. KerneelsReply to this comment :

Great team, best available.

Watch us take the Paddy scrum for a walk, and humiliate the second best lock pair in world rugby at lineout time.

• 29. Breakdown BoyReply to this comment :

@Observer: Danie was our WC rugby final winner, maybe you forgot that he made the most important tackle of the whole world cup! So dont’t dis Danie, he’s a hero.

• 30. dr dreReply to this comment :

@Tacitus: A few too many Bulls players in the backline hey …

Otherwise … all good.

• 31. bananaboyReply to this comment :

@WakaNathan: Waka, Rossouw is an excellent player in those conditions plus he is a great option at the back of the lineout. Means the Paddy;s are going to have to shuffle their lineout around a lot to get decent ball.

• 32. rossoneriReply to this comment :

@nama1: That’s because underneath it all Tacitus is a big fat, KKK, white robe wearing racist who cannot just be happy that SA (the whole of SA, even the one’s Tac wants to whip and burn crosses at), have a great solid team representing them for the fixture against Ireland. He is like those plantation masters back in the day who feel incomplete unless he has used the N – word.

• 33. BakmisterReply to this comment :

Weather report 28/11/09: Cold to very cold day for Ireland with a strong north westerly smack from the springboks, there is a 80% chance that Ireland might not even come close with isolated instances where they will be a thread, 8 inces of irish **** is expected on the field that might make traveling difficult

• 34. grant10Reply to this comment :

Best of luck boks….and Schalk….the bullet proof vest….dont forget…..

Fark me 82000 at Croke Park….Schalk is as brave as Luke facing down the Loftus faithful!!

• 35. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

@grant10:

Sticks out like dogs b*ll*x.

and if it is his retirement match……and you can quote me on this……..(and I’ll ignore that horrendous JUSTICE4 righteous preaching humiliation just this once)…..so if it IS his last match…….then

I really hope he goes out with a win. He deserves it.

and he should. Because he’s no TH-prop (albeit better than you care to admit). And because by shifting him back to no2, replacing the best no2 on the Planet, then that would potentially cause real problems for selections going fwd (and admit that pushing Smit to TH was a mistake in the 1st place).

• 36. nama1Reply to this comment :

@Breakdown Boy: #29
    Danie’s heroics in the WC two years ago will mean nothing come Saturday. Why do you guys keep bringing that up?

• 37. TacitusReply to this comment :

@puff:

If by stepping up you mean stop his opposite number EVERY time with rock solid defense, you won’t be disappointed.

Not even O’ Driscoll will get past him. He is our top defending centre.

If you mean dazzle us with intercepts and solo tries, then probably not. He will carry the ball up strongly many times in the game. Probably get over the advantage line each time, or take two defenders down with him. He might get his arms through the tackle a number of times.

And maybe even hit a clean gap once or twice in the game. Whether they result in tries or not, depends on the situation. In a tight game, they probably won’t.

That’s more than you can ask from a centre at this level of the game.

Wynand will do what he does best. In a tight, physical game, he is the guy you want at number 12. He is no twinkle toes, but he does his job solidly.

• 38. my faceReply to this comment :

I hate that “more to follow…” part cos of :

1 – they might have gotten the team wrong yet again

2 – listen to the k@k remarks again regarding PDV! how he succumed to pressure and ****! mark my words!

• 39. puffReply to this comment :

Mtawarira
    Smit
    Botha
    Botha
    Matfield
    Brussow
    Smith
    Spies

Van Der Merwe
    Du Plessis
    Van Der Linde
    Rossouw
    Bekker
    Burger
    Deysel
    Potgieter

I can live with these forwards being in the Bok mix leading up to and during the RWC 2011.
    Any other country, this list of fourteen players would be a virtual shoo-in.
    But not sunny SA.

• 40. ratelReply to this comment :

Deysel is like the fat chick who you keep telling your friends is hot. When they finally meet her it’s a bitter disappointment.

Deysel is real big and looks like he should make a real impact. Once on the field he’s about as useful as a tub of butter. He loses the ball in the tackle and falls down at the first sign of making contact. They may as well have included Francois Hougaard as a forwards reserve because I think he’s more difficult to pin down.

• 41. cabReply to this comment :

this is the best bok squad that has been fielded on tour.

I still would have preferred Bismarck and Deysel to start, with Schalk only coming on as a replacement for this particular match.

• 42. cabReply to this comment :

if the irish beat this bok team, then they doing bladdy well.

• 43. grant10Reply to this comment :

@WakaNathan: Ja…well lets see….but the sharks going to be an interesting place ….Plumtree will need to juggle carefully.

Just read on Bob Skinstads blogg that both CJ and BJ will come home if Provincial and Bok contracts are negotiated….interesting times…

• 44. dr dreReply to this comment :

My team for 2011 RWC – What you peeps think?

1.BJ Botha
    2.Smit
    3.Beast
    4.Bakkies
    5.Matfield
    6.Brussouw
    7.Burger
    8.Vermeulen
    9.Du Preez
    10.Steyn
    11.Spies
    12.Jean Div
    13.Fourie
    14.Nick Koster
    15.Steyn

16.Bismark
    17.CJ
    18.Bekker
    19.Deysel
    20.Potgieter
    21.Juan de Jongh
    22.Ruaan Pienaar

• 45. grant10Reply to this comment :

@ratel: Harsh….

• 46. PapooseReply to this comment :

@rossoneri: dude forget Tacticus
    dont give him the platform he’s looking for

• 47. grant10Reply to this comment :

@dr dre: your props the wrong way round

• 48. CyborgReply to this comment :

@ratel:
    Couldn’t agree more with you.

Its all borne from the South African obsession with size in its rugby players. Deysel is totally overrated.

• 49. BeertjieReply to this comment :

@dr dre: If you don’t know the differnce between 1 an 3, you should not post teams for everyone to consider.

• 50. Breakdown BoyReply to this comment :

John should take up hooker till the end of the world cup, sub him for Bussi each game at the 65min mark and then use the opportunity to bleed new leaders, like FDP, Smith, Bekker, Spies, Schalk? It won’t help if Matfield is interm captain as he will most likely leave come 2012.

But John should stay till the end of 2011 if we have any chance of the retaining the WC!

• 51. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    are you sure?
    Grantie, in your estimation what is the difference between the LH and TH prop in terms of what they are supposed to do and how?

• 52. dr dreReply to this comment :

@Beertjie: ya .. sorry, typo.

what you think tho?

• 53. CharlesMReply to this comment :

@grant10: Grant, what is Bob’s blog called ?@Cyborg: Although I agree with you to a certain extent ( I prefer Vermeulen ), I think he had quite a good spell in the short time he was on the field against Italy.

• 54. BeertjieReply to this comment :

@dr dre: I saw 1 and 3 mixed up and Nick Koster and then i lost interest. Now it is too much trouble to go back to the previous page.

• 55. Breakdown BoyReply to this comment :

@ratel: I agree, but he aint big, he is lean and muscular, that’s the problem, you need big, like Juan Smith big or D Vermeulen big. I really think Vermeulen deserved to be on this tour, he is a corbon copy of Juan Smith!

• 56. dr dreReply to this comment :

@Beertjie: Nick Koster and Spies would make fantastic wings, both big lads and express pace.

Koster will play wing for Strmrs 2010 and Spies should be hurried back to wing to get in some gametime.

Spies is too dumb for 8th man and too clumsy … would be a great move.
    Imagine fielding 5 loosies ?????

• 57. WP_Reply to this comment :

Well done DIV! Correct selections all round!

Love the team, looking forward to having Jean off the bench for the last half an hour or so! Danie to have a big game at 8. JS at home at 2.

Great side

• 58. Breakdown BoyReply to this comment :

@dr dre: That looks like a ‘whites only’ team boet and OMG Nick Koster are you severly mentally disabled? He has played maybe 2-3 games at wing his whole life? And you also booted two of the best wingers in rugby today for two loosies?

Sorry boet you must be making a joke.

• 59. ufoReply to this comment :

Hey Grant…?

What’s that smell?

The sweet smell of vindication….!! Enjoy…!! :smile:

Good team! Still would’ve preferred Jean to start but I got no complaints at all…

Kudos to Peter De Villiers… YDM!!!

• 60. brains_trustReply to this comment :

all you d!ckheads dissing John Smit – go fark yourselves. John is NOT going to retire, he is going to stay until the 2011 WC and after he’s captained us to another vitory he will hang up his boots.

I can’t believe how fickle you bunch are and that the best captian in the world doesn’t command more respect from you muppits.

! and BTW – GREAT TEAM for SAT !!

• 61. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@Tacitus: Wait for it, big leagues now.

• 62. dr dreReply to this comment :

@ufo: Its not kudos to Helium at all, from the start he could have gotten it right.

Not hard, most of the bloggers here and public would have identified the right way to go with players and selections.

PDV is allowed to make mistake after mistake … yea, he learns from them, but better not to make them in the first place.

• 63. skopskietReply to this comment :

Well u can’t get much stronger than this. This team don’t smash Ireland to smithereens then something seriously wrong in State of Denmark.

• 64. nama1Reply to this comment :

@Tacitus: #37
    We’ve seen him doing it in his previous 26 test matches. You don’t need to convince us. As long as you believe it, all is well.

What about the BB providing 5/7 back line players in the run on team? What has the world come to?

• 65. brains_trustReply to this comment :

I must say well done PDV for starting with Wynand and having JDV on the bench. Rugby is a team sport and it sends the wrong signals to the squad if outside players like JDV jump straight into the starting 15.

well done PDV – good selections all round!!.

• 66. BeertjieReply to this comment :

@dr dre: I’ll rather play Hagana and JPP on the wings. It is a pitty that Mapoe did not tour. Hopefully by 2011 he played himself into the squad.

Spies is fine at 8.

A big consideration is the 8 players on the bench that they want to implement with a compulsary frontrow. This could bring players like Kuun and Ashley Johnson into play, because the can play in the frontrow and are good looseforwards. This then effectively give you six other option for the bench. Then you can pick all your loosies :)

• 67. Andre_WPReply to this comment :

Lekker lekker , nou gaan sluit die jaar of op ‘n hoe noot. Go Bokke !!

• 68. pierreReply to this comment :

@brains_trust: 100% correct. Smit is a better scrumming hooker than Bismarck, anyway.

• 69. cabReply to this comment :

i tip Olivier to play his heart out and surprise a few.
    Hopefully Steyn attacks the adv line a bit more with ball in hand and he and FdP do not hoist everything straight into the air.

• 70. YetiratReply to this comment :

Eish I like that bench…rock solid!

• 71. dr dreReply to this comment :

@Breakdown Boy: Spies was a wing and could do very well there again.

Koster is big and fast and lets watch him at wing next year.

IMO

• 72. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: on Bobs Blog…so take his word for it….he is on tour with the players…

Tightheads the anchor….most physical of the scrumming positions….needs 1 st and foremost to keep his end up….and the scrum solidity normally copmes from that spot….

Massive difference in scrum technique and strength required….Os says he wouldnt of tried 3 because he felt he wasnt strong enough.

• 73. dreusReply to this comment :

great side, should beat any side in the world. front row looks very solid with j s back at hooker.back line could be even better than it is but good to see some players get rewarded for having a good season. dont know much about their no 10 so hopefully we do a ciprianni on him and ruin his career while we re at it. my only worry is that the boys are tired but i think they ll be up for this one.

ps: how can the media call this test tri nation champs vs six nations champs. bit unfair i think seen as though the boks have had a bone smashing season. lets play that comp at the end of the six nations when our boys are fresh.

go bokke forever

• 74. John GaltReply to this comment :

Its a pity Pdv hasnt shown as much continuity of selection with Kankowski as he did when Spies first came back after his ‘lung disease’.

Spies couldnt catch a cold let alone hold onto the pill for months yet he was chosen week after week and has slowly turned into the premier no 8 in SA.
    Come back to SA and actually get some game time kankow, show the S15 what real eighth man play is all about.

• 75. dr dreReply to this comment :

@Beertjie: hah .. I like it.

JPP is uninspiring and not involved enough at all. Habana makes the guy look very very ordinary.

Imagine Koster and Spies as wings though. mmmm

• 76. grant10Reply to this comment :

@CharlesM: superrugby…follow links

• 77. YetiratReply to this comment :

Grant10 will be surprised/happy that Smit is starting at 2.

• 78. ufoReply to this comment :

@dr dre: #62

Your use of that cheesy nickname for PdV says it all…

Thing is bud… that’s my comment and my opinion… and I’ll repeat it too…

Kudos to Peter De Villiers….! YDM!! You De Man!!

Doc… Springbok coaches prior to PdV had a trait of being stubborn and the more the pressure the more stubborn they became…

But you’re right… PdV has made massive mistakes…

It was a mistake to beat the Lions, and Win the 3N, and wipe the ABs 3 zip… serious mistakes that he mustn’t be allowed to get away with…

:shock:

• 79. DawnReply to this comment :

I started at hooker once.

Didn’t last long.

• 80. nama1Reply to this comment :

@brains_trust: #65
    “…it sends the wrong signals to the squad if outside players like JDV jump straight into the starting 15.”

It apparently did not sent out that signal just two weeks ago.

• 81. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    ah i see, its about keeping his end up.
    and this must be why Smit is NEVER EVER a TH…hmmm.
    quite technical.
    Anyway, bladdy strong bok side, if Ireland win here they doing bladdy well.

• 82. grant10Reply to this comment :

@ufo: LOL….Ja…i had a massive side bet with a mate that Smit would not see out season at 3…hence my Death Row chirp earlier….if PDV didnt do the deal i was down a small fortune!!LOL

• 83. grant10Reply to this comment :

@brains_trust: no one is dissing Smit!

• 84. dr dreReply to this comment :

@ufo: I dont have a problem with your opinion at all …

All good dude. Your completely confused and delusional .. but … 100% !

• 85. John GaltReply to this comment :

And could you please actually make a tackle and not be bounced off Schalk.

I’ve never seen so much intent yet so little effect from one person as i did from Burger during the France test.

• 86. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    what you talkin about you said he’d be retired by now…

• 87. ufoReply to this comment :

@Dawn:

can I lure you out of retirement…???

:twisted:

farking smilies…

• 88. brains_trustReply to this comment :

@nama1: who jumped straight into the test 15 on the week of the test?

• 89. dr dreReply to this comment :

@Dawn: You thought it was for weeing out of only?

• 90. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: And i stand by that assertion….the scrum always looked capable of imploding…..

But its an old debate….

• 91. ufoReply to this comment :

@dr dre:

cool Doc…

it’s always always good…

• 92. dr dreReply to this comment :

@ufo: hehe .. all good.

• 93. TacitusReply to this comment :

@John Galt:

If I had to guess, I’d say it’s because Spies doesn’t sport a David Hasselhoff hairstyle and a Rory Kockott attitude.

Or it could be that he saw more potential in Spies than in the Hoff.

Either of those would seem like a reasonable explanation.

If you don’t buy either, go with Jake White’s view which is that Kankowski doesn’t have the upper body strength necessary for test rugby. Now you may or may not like Jake White (I don’t, particularly), but he seemed to be proven right when the French were ripping balls out of Kanko’s understrength arms at will.

• 94. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: If he had stayed at 3 i stand by that too….

And lets not rule out the possibility as yet….a super 14 to get through ….and although i wish him well….Bissy may have other ideas?

• 95. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    90 regso, stand by it, dont wiggle out like before when decrying Smit and then he comes back with yet another worldclass performance.

• 96. CharlesMReply to this comment :

@grant10: Thanks Grant@nama1: I think you’re wrong. 3 injured guys in the front row came back home – yet CJ did not start against France. Strauss and du Preez only started the week after that.

• 97. panniepeetReply to this comment :

After the Tri-Nations there were many on this site calling for Juan Smith’s head… I wonder how many have noticed that he is one of the key players for the Boks and that our pack has been going downhill without him…

• 98. YetiratReply to this comment :

@grant10:

How classic is this given what we both agreed on and spoke about yesterday..???

‘We now have a lot of options and can opt for a horse for courses approach,’ the Bok coach said. ‘The front row we’ve selected is perfect for how we want to play against Ireland.’

• 99. cabReply to this comment :

who knows what happens to scrum on sat, let us see, i think that greenhorn healey is pretty useful and is superb in the tightloose too.

• 100. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: Smit must play TH in the S14. More experience and exposure.

• 101. DawnReply to this comment :

@John Galt:

That was Ras Dumisane’s fault.

• 102. skopskietReply to this comment :

JacoKanko don’t belong in a test side proved it number of times already. Spies vs Jvn I take J.vn everytime too.

Smit at 2 only place for him to be. 3 is one bridge over the horizon

• 103. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@panniepeet: Under-valued player, he brings a hard edge. Mind you Deysel also brings that edge, but lacks Juan’s lineout presence. With Danie at 8, we don’t really need another lineout forward though!!

• 104. ufoReply to this comment :

@grant10: #82

Enjoy your well gotten gains… Good dinner and wine for the Missus is a must!!

• 105. panniepeetReply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Absolutely under-valued – does all the donkey work very cleverly… Others like Danie try hard but, not nearly as good as Juan

• 106. nama1Reply to this comment :

@brains_trust: #88
    My mistake. CJ and Strauss started from the bench. Sorry. I misread your post.

• 107. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: seems the only 1 wiggling here is you Cab?

• 108. TransformationReply to this comment :

no francois steyn!!! Dankie our pdv….

• 109. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@panniepeet: Watch Deysel clean rucks though, up there with Juan and Bakkies. 3rd best in country, above Danie at cleaning. BJ also good at cleaning. Really believe Deysel deserved a chance to start. He has done everything the hard way this tour and grabbed every opportunity. Hope he gets at least 20 mins.

• 110. ufoReply to this comment :

see Dennis Leamy is ruled out…

• 111. westReply to this comment :

Hey guys, just a few intereting stats i copied out of an article in the guardian on the current state of rugby. Its hardcase it just shows how kick dominated rugby is now!! The two top teams in each hemisphere are the ones that hardly pass the ball!!

“South Africa have not complained. they have been the most successful side this year, beating the Lions and then winning the Tri-Nations. Yet in the first Test against the Lions they made 49 passes as a team: the visiting scrum-half, Mike Phillips, gave 76 passes. In the Tri-Nations the Springboks won two matches with only 39% of possession and in one of them, against New Zealand, they made 43 passes in all and their two centres touched the ball eight times compared with their opponents’ 43. The All Blacks’ front row made three times as many passes as South Africa’s three-quarters and full-back combined while in the Six Nations Ireland were bottom in the number of passes made and the rate of passing. The moral is low risk, great reward.”

• 112. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Yetirat: Thats what a lot of us been saying for months now.

Yes, perhaps PDV read the site!LOL

• 113. ufoReply to this comment :

:oops:

didn’t see the other thread… below the “fold”…

• 114. Black and blueReply to this comment :

Unbelievable how some “experts” is running Kankowski into the ground. Was he the only underperformer in the France test? Schalk Burger went flying after two attempted tackles, but not a word about it. What about Potties brilliant performances againts the English club sides? Didn’t even know he was actually on the field. Overrated player! How can he’s selection be justified? And Danie Rossouw had one good pass in the game against Italy, no word about him knocking on. Pure bias from bloggers on this site. Kankowski was performing brilliant when the Sharks dominated and he had go forward ball. That’s when he could be dangerous. But to be retrieving the whole time, there’s no chance of making an impact as a loosie – except if your name starts with an H.

• 115. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): LOL…okay boet

• 116. ufoReply to this comment :

@Black and blue:

simple solution…

Kankowski should change his name to Hyan…!!

• 117. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@Black and blue: Agree 100%. If your name is Schalk or Potgieter you can do no wrong. Kanko needs to work on his tight game. He will improve and be back. Starting trio should have been:
    Ratel, Deysel, Danie with Kanko on bench for when it opens up and Schalk if you want 2 loosies?? Pottie doesn’t deserve his cap. He’s a quota selection.

• 118. grant10Reply to this comment :

@ufo: ja….for sure….thanks spaceman

• 119. grant10Reply to this comment :

@panniepeet: agree…Juan Smith at blindside flank a must….banker in the lineout and brings a hard edge…with Bakkies the 2 are essential.

• 120. JUSMReply to this comment :

@dr dre: you counting habs as a bull?

• 121. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    lol, if u say so grant.

• 122. John GaltReply to this comment :

@Tacitus:

Please, Spies was thrown around like a toddler in a playground when he came back from his injury.
    He could barely hang on to a damn thing.

Added to this, Spies apparently has the mental strength of a 12 year old girl, which certainly doesnt help his team mates when the chips are down during a test match.
    And why have the strength of 10 men in your arms when you have the strenght of french football player in your legs. Cos all you ever see with Spies is him falling over.

• 123. cabReply to this comment :

the best hooker in the world, and quite probably the most destructive player in the tightloose, is now sitting on the bench.

lets hope we dont win the scrums and lose the match.
    or even worse lose the scrums and lose the match.

• 124. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: are you suggesting Smit be dropped then?

• 125. kevin wReply to this comment :

No specialist 8?????????????????????????

Retread Rossouw at 8 backed up by two flanks with 1 cap between them.

Fark me!!!!

• 126. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: Given everyone is fit and on form, I would start Smit at 3 and move him to hooker later if needed. Might seem madness but reasons are:

1. JS normally lags off at 60 minutes. JS will not play whole match at 2, so he has to move to 3 at some point. I would rather have him playing TH when he is in good shape and can scrum better.

2. Insurance. If JS is moved to 3 at end of game and suddenly our scrum comes under pressure we would be powerless to change (no subs, like when Carstens came on!!). With a strong scrumming TH on bench we can always bting him on earlier.

3. Bismarck at his best is awesome in the loose. Most games this is very important so play majority with him starting. If a team is known for its scrumming attack maybe not.

For these reasons and for the simple reason that there are no other THs playing in SA, I would want JS to play TH domestically and improve. We know he is a quality hooker and won’t let us down.

• 127. grant10Reply to this comment :

@kevin w: Dewalt Potgieter played at 8 often for Bulls…and a damn fine 8 too!

• 128. bokke_boReply to this comment :

hey lets all put provincial bias aside, some things are just obvious:
    1. kankowski has found his ceiling as a very good currie cup / s14 player, but no more
    2. john smit may not be the best hooker in the world, but he is not too far off
    3. the impact john smit has as a captain is massive
    4. in the modern squad game of rugby, there is space for the best hooker in the world (Bis) and the best captain in the world, it just strengthen the squad to have an 80 min mix as per the requirements on the day

• 129. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: What idiot would suggest that?

• 130. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): suits me Ratel….Stormers look forward to Smit at 3….far more scared of him as a 2…that i assure you.

• 131. TacitusReply to this comment :

@John Galt:

Glad you got that off your chest.

Now get your boy to hold onto the ball in contact, and maybe he’ll get another shot at a Bok cap in future.

• 132. Black and blueReply to this comment :

Agreed John Galt. Spies got how many chances after missing tackles, knocking on, and not being able to pic up from the bass of the scrum. His work rate improved tremendously but the basic skills of a top-class 8 are still lacking. Kankowski needs to up his work rate, I suspect he’ll never wear the Green and Gold again.

Ratel: 100% with you on this one. Kankowski is the big scapegoat, which is really unfair. Give him a chance when our scrum issues are sorted out. Brussow is such a brilliant player!!!

• 133. kevin wReply to this comment :

@grant10: I’ve watched Dewald Potgieter play since he was about 16 – he is no saviour at 8 in an international test against the 6 Nations Champs!

He might be one day, but he won’t be on Saturday – there is a little thing called experience.

• 134. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: In wet heavy fields? Rag doll approaching.

• 135. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Seems cab not happy….i am trying to get clarity on his position

• 136. cabReply to this comment :

Kanko is a fine selection for our hard NH fields, but against France, Ireland and England in their NH – is a definite no-no.
    The reason why Rossouw played well at 8 vs Italy and has been the pick of the forwards on the 2006 EOY tour is that he suits these conditions.

• 137. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: Boks before domestic always.

• 138. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    you know my position, i support the ou doose, always have.

• 139. John GaltReply to this comment :

@Tacitus:

Always a pleasure shooting the breeze Tac.

Unfortunately i must be offski.

• 140. DawnReply to this comment :

Ou doose?

• 141. cabReply to this comment :

the pack we are selecting on sat is not the most mobile by any stretch, but its a good choice for the NH conditions, they a pack of grizzled vertans tho matfield is prob unlikely to contribute much in the tightloose – he ususally gets thru a helluva lot of tackles if not directing play.

• 142. kevin wReply to this comment :

@cab: sorry talent doesn’t wear a raincoat … same was said about many players like Brent Russell and Butch James. NH doesn’t suit their game.

Kanko was the polyfilla for Spies against the fired up French – Rossouw played against Italy. Fairytales aside – they still kak as an international standard.

• 143. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Black and blue: i been saying all year…the loosies are being unfairly criticised …they are playing behind a weak scrum…very tough….

I agree with a lot what you saying

• 144. grant10Reply to this comment :

@kevin w: okay…i have watched him only this year…impresses me….as does Deysel….

• 145. cabReply to this comment :

@kevin w:
    they’re backs, largely irrelevant in the NH imo, the forwards its an attitude thing as mich as size and kanko is a greyhound not a ploughhorse.

• 146. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: agree…100%…squad was chosen poorly initially…and certainly not with a view to conditions

• 147. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): good man…wish all were like that!

• 148. cabReply to this comment :

its muddy, dirty and farken ugly up north – we need the players to fit – CJ, BJ, Daniesaurus, Bakkies, Deysel, Bismarck, etc – the more the merrier. Its not so much as rugby, as opposed to mud wrestling…

• 149. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: But seriously…do you agree with his switch or would you have kept him at 3?

I am sincerely interested…

• 150. kevin wReply to this comment :

@cab: fair point, i’ll wait and see … but i am a firm believer of talent opposed to conditions – forwards or backs.

• 151. BALLER canREADYReply to this comment :

‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’

“MANAGE”, what a nice way of saying dropped.

• 152. guntherReply to this comment :

Barney has got more chance seeing out 80 at hooker than at 3 which is much more demanding…his lineout throwing is a huge bonus… quite frankly if bismark is upset I don’t care ….

grant have you booked us in at nobu yet…don’t forget to make sure that they have the 95 Dom in stock….

• 153. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    I think its a very difficult decision, but probably the correct one from a rugby purity viewpoint, where our best scrumming TH has been selected.

the interesting thing tho is that the irish this year are not renowkned for their scrum, so of all the games to do it, its a strange one.

I thought they were very brave and even silly to select Smit at 3 to begin with, but in retrospect I believe it was alot smarter decision then i gave them credit for. Bismarck is just so important and Smit binds it together – but that was when foreign-based player could not be selected and no local SA TH’s were putting their hands up either – if they now changing policy and CJ and CJ become available that changes the whole dynamic.

• 154. kevin wReply to this comment :

Danie will be outplayed by Heaslip – he is probaly in the pub already after hearing the announcement that he is up against a veteran retread no 8.

Schalk will have to move to 8 and then either of the replacement loosies will improve their cap quota by 100% while Kanko is saved for the Super 14. Laughable!!

• 155. YetiratReply to this comment :

@cab:

The Paddies play a loose game for a NH side – need some runners too against them to keep em’in check.

• 156. Black and blueReply to this comment :

Grant: We are really blessed with some excellent loosies but there’s no way in hell they can shine with our pack being driven back. Maybe BJ, and Smit back at 2 could change this.
    Just think it would be detrimental to our cause to try and ignore Bismarck’s contrubution this year. Heinrich wasn’t the only one stealing balls, Du Plessis did the same – especially in the Tri Nations.

Why is Teichmann still rated so highly? He was a classic 8, like Morne du Plessis. Potties and Danie do not bring that sort of skill to the table.

• 157. kevin wReply to this comment :

@Black and blue: Last paragraph is spot on! Although Potgieter may be there one day, but not Saturday – it’s a gamble.

• 158. kevin wReply to this comment :

We have Pote Human first choice and Teichmann being saved for the Currie Cup … it’s classic!

• 159. guntherReply to this comment :

@Black and blue:

the loosies on tour have been part of the problem…

• 161. grant10Reply to this comment :

@gunther: Done boet!

• 162. cabReply to this comment :

the best loosetrio on this tour imo is:
    6. Brussow 7. Deysel 8. Burger

• 163. Oubaas2009Reply to this comment :

Well done PDV! Great side from what you have to work with.

My confidence just rose.

• 164. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: cool….ja…i complained bitterley in the beginning and my objections were based on Os initial view.

At least we know if push comes to shove smit can do a hospital job there….Gunthers post hits nail on head for me….

• 165. kevin wReply to this comment :

@cab: and Kankowski on the bench.

Perhaps Snor will introduce Bekker at 8 – boy has got pace nd vision of a loosie and any opposition lineout will be cr@pping themselves with Vic, Bakkies and Bekker lurking!

• 166. Black and blueReply to this comment :

CAB: What has Burger done on this tour?? He was bumped off twice against France and that’s it. I rate him highly as a player, but he’s no 8.

• 167. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Black and blue: interesting perspective….i have felt for Spies and Kanko this year…it hasnt been easy behind that scrum

• 168. skopskietReply to this comment :

ya Brussow Deysel Burger would be the way to go Saturday. Not Roussouw. I reckon we got the whole mix wrong from start.
    Against France should have played it tight and against Irish loosened up. Not other way round.

Also once Bj tires then Cj has to come on not switch Smit to 3. That would be a mistake. When Bis comes on then Smit will have to go to 1 and Cj to 3.

Pdv reckoned he didn’t need depth at 8 because he’s got Spies and Kanko to call on. Now he finds Watson or Jvn or Vermeulen would have all been far better bets than either those two especially in Nh conditions. Shows how quickly prejudicial blindness can bite you in the ***.

• 169. grant10Reply to this comment :

@skopskiet: 100% Skop….my thinking exactly….rather Smit to loosehead….not neccessary to play him at 3 in this set up and bench.

• 170. Black and blueReply to this comment :

That impact was felt at especially 9 and 10 (especially the France game). Both these chaps were outstanding most of the year, but were really having bad days. Morne’s game against Italy (and France) was close to being a shocker.

• 171. cabReply to this comment :

@Black and blue:
    yeah, Burger had the worst game i have seen in a long time against france, but he’s been off for too long, he was not match-sharp and his lack of timing showed, he still is a class player, i think he’s an ideal 8, esp for NH conditions of away games in NZ.

• 172. TransformationReply to this comment :

oh sherbert, there’s no hougaard too! Yippie!!!!!

• 173. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

Very good side!

WO at 12 was the best option. Jean will get a run. Loosies also good. Rossouw at 8 will ensure solid line out ball, and he is the ideal player in a tight, forward orientated game. Best possible frontrow.

To all the guys predicting John’s retirement; he will be the Bok captain in the next WC! Live with it!

• 174. TransformationReply to this comment :

i want the boks to moer these paddys, these are the same okes that said in july that they need to release their most hardened criminals and slap a kit on them & put them on the field with only one instruction – “**** up brian habana”. Let’s see now what they have to say!

They wrote that pdv is “defensive, arrogant & paranoid”!!!!!!

• 175. DavidReply to this comment :

@skopskiet:
    I disagree. The best way to disrupt the Irish backs is by destroying their forwards. Although not a favourite of mine, I reckon Danie’s power at 8 and lineout skill is our best choice in the conditions anticipated. Schalk was always suspect picking up at the back and in these conditions it’s not going to improve.

• 176. cabReply to this comment :

@Transformation:
    apparently SA has the highest number of psychopathic serial killers per capita anywhere in the world, its not even a close run thing. are you think a jail exchange program?

• 177. Brigadier Van ZylReply to this comment :

don’t get what all the drama around Roussow is?
    He had an excellent game last weekend.
    Deysel is way overrated and Potgieter is by far the more dynamic player.
    Kankoski is a little unlucky in my opinion and I do not believe that he has had as bad a tour as many are making out.

1st prize would still be to have Spies availible though.
    could be worse, imagine having watson or even vermulean debuting.

• 178. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

Just want to mention what my thoughts are regarding our centres. I feel that JdV is our best 12, and JF our best 13. I think most will agree with that. WO, in my opinion, is a better 13 than 12. He likes to go on his own, and imo not the best distributer of the ball. I think that he should be back-up for Fourie.

Now for 12. Many people will disagree with me on this one, but I would love to see Ruan Pienaar settling in this position. When Francois Steyn was moved to 12 in 2007, I said that he should play at 15, and Pienaar at 12. Ruan is solid on defence, a great distributer of the ball, and he can kick. He should be back-up for Jean.

My 1st 15 and the players that should be on standby:

15) F.Steyn – Z.Kirchner
    14) JP.Pieterson – Lionel Mapoe
    13) J.Fourie – W.Olivier
    12) J.de Villiers – R.Pienaar
    11) B.Habana – J.Nokwe
    10) M.Steyn – W.De Waal
    9) F.du Preez – H. Adams
    8) P.Spies – D.Potgieter
    7) J.Smith – J.Deysel
    6) H.Brussouw – S.Burger
    5) V.Matfield – A.Bekker
    4) B.Botha – D.Rossouw
    3) BJ.Botha – WP. Nel
    2) J.Smit – B.du Plessis
    1) B.Maretariwa – W.du Preez

• 179. XhosaKidReply to this comment :

The cynic in me, wanted JDV to jump straight into the starting line up ahead of WO, just so that the Blue Bulls players can start sulking and bitching but more importantly just so that WO can feel how its like to be a black player in SA Rugby.

• 180. Oubaas2009Reply to this comment :

to carry on the debate whether we should open up Springbok selection to those playing overseas.

Check out rugby365.com. Found these stats of the French Top 14. Quite hectic! Most clubs only averaging about 50-60% home grown talent. Premiership must be on par or worse I reckon.

Club percentages of French players:

Albi: 35/46 = 76%
    Bayonne: 22/35 = 63%
    Biarritz; 22/38 = 58%
    Bourgoin: 25/40 = 62,5%
    Brive: 14/36 = 39%
    Castres: 28/41 = 68%
    Clermont: 20/37 = 54%
    Montauban: 22/38 = 58%
    Montpellier: 31/45 = 69%
    Racing-Mètro: 13/38 = 34%
    Stade Français: 23/38 = 61%
    Perpignan: 28/40 = 70%
    Toulon: 15/44 = 34%
    Toulouse: 28/39 = 72%

• 181. Oubaas2009Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: Jeepers Johan, the fact that Willem De Waal makes your lists makes me wonder what you have been drinking/smoking/main lining?

• 182. mbaxman93Reply to this comment :

@Oubaas2009:

all currie cup teams

95% south african with the odd zimbabwean,namibian,american :D

• 183. kevin wReply to this comment :

@XhosaKid: and so two wrongs can make a right. That is a mature way of resolving a problem!

Thing is … Wynand would actually accept that Jean is better, and not feel he actually was previously disadvantaged when he wasn’t.

• 184. Oubaas2009Reply to this comment :

@mbaxman93: and don’t forget the Lions. They now have an Egyptian!

• 185. kevin wReply to this comment :

@Oubaas2009: Consider populations, sports prefernces etc. A stat will always just be a … stat! Interpreted to suit the person putting it ot there.

SA probably has more home grown footballers in their premier league than Englan does. Who has a problem?

• 186. PumaReply to this comment :

Good team. Pleased that WO gets in ahead of JdV even if I think JdV is a better player. WO is staying in SA and will be playing rugby here. So that is fair. Just pleased to see JdV as back up there what a relief.

Would have had Burger on the bench and Deysel to start. If Burger gets a yellow and puts pressure on the team we will struggle. Brussow as not as affective with Burger next to him against France. Also think Deysel fetches and will take some load off of Brussow. See Potties on the bench probably there to cover Danie and Deysel to cover Burger.

Pleased that Bakkies made the team and not injured.

Go Bokke.

• 187. PumaReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: 178 – Johan, Good team that and also your 2nd team should probably have been the Dirt Tracker team to travel. We probably would have won both those club games. Will go as far to say we would have won both those club games. Your test side we probably would have beaten France too.

• 188. XhosaKidReply to this comment :

@kevin w: yeah right I’m sure he would…

Anyway, as I had sad, the cynic in me

• 189. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Oubaas2009: Wie anders het ons op loskakel? Daar is ‘n paar jongmanne wat deurkom, maar is hulle reg vir toets rugby? Moet net nie Peter Grant voorstel nie asb!

• 190. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Puma: Puma, you are a Shark man. What do you think of Ruan at 12? I know everyone is shunting the poor guy around, and that he said that he preferres to play 9.

• 191. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@XhosaKid: Kill that cynic in you quickly! It is like a cancer! Get rid of it!

• 192. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: no Joha. Will never work….he is a 9….and doesent want to play 10….mention 12 Ruan will blow a gaskett!

• 193. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

Thank you God.

On Thanksgiving Day we get a great Bok team. Run On & Bench.

• 195. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

don’t choke on your turkey…

• 196. WezwpReply to this comment :

I reckon this will be the last game for Wynand in a springbok jumper. Don’t get me wrong i think the kid is talented.Its just that he had countless opportunities but never grabbed it with both hands(excuse the pun). He simply isn’t international rugby material. Its all fine and good hiding behind a strong bulls foward game plan but he can’t expect Matfield and co to do 50% of his work for him. I feel this is the biggest mistake the sprongbok brains trust has made. This is an important game because the winner here gets team of the year. Our chances of winning just took a major dive………i feel for Kanko though, he is an excellent impact player.

• 197. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: Shunts. Here’s the truth. I dig Thanksgiving – in a totally overblown commercial universe where Halloween is the second biggest retail “holiday”- TG is just a great quiet time. Where I can blog with impunity.

But the bigger thing is this – I truly hate Turkey. Honestly. Overrated.

But I dig a dop.

As you know.

So some good rooi wyn and I am good to go.

And this is a great team, honestly, Boks by 8.

• 198. WezwpReply to this comment :

@puma: ok good enough Wynand stayed in Sa. It’s only because He never got a decent offer from europe. Jean left because the offer was good and because He is the best. Its no need to make emotional decisions. Jean deserved to play this year out because of his loyalty to wp and the stormers this year.

• 199. TransformationReply to this comment :

@XhosaKid: ha ha ha ha ha…well to be fair, i think meisiekind has been a quota before, all of the first 20 oh his Tests.

• 200. wp_boytjieReply to this comment :

Danie at 8. Finally I get what i want

• 201. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: Worth discussing after the game. I think you may just have to eat your words. The Chippendale may have his breakout game.

Ryan is the Ruan Pienaar of looseforwards. Actually that does Ruan an injustice – although being the fastest sideways runner on earth he is not a Springbok quality 8.

• 202. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@grant10: But is he good enough to be in the Bok set-up as a scrummie? He might be our 2nd best 10, but I don’t think he is our 2nd best 9. Look at guys like Adams, Vermaak, Joubert, Hougaard, Rory… Or will he just play of the bench as impact player, or hope that FdP gets injured? I don’t know, I just think 12 will be his best position. Maybe I’m wrong.

• 203. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: Boet, gifted as he is I don’t think he is a 12.

I agree that he is a better 10 than 9.

Where he broke my heart was at 15, where he has every attribute, including great genes, to be world class and he buggered it up.

• 204. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

and pumpkin pie?

• 205. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

its in his head…

• 206. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: a culinary travesty. Almost the worst food on the planet.

• 207. WezwpReply to this comment :

@soda Will you please wake me up when Wynand has his breakout game. He’s good but we need jean there. Wo is very overated in my opinion.

• 208. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Transformation: According to the definition of “quota”, there can be no way that WO could be classified as a “quota” player. There are waaaayyyy to many “white” guys in the Bok side. Should you disagree, feel free to mention it to PdV; he will tune you right!

• 209. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: WEZ – I have had the same opinion, honestly, but I just can’t argue with his S14 and CC form.

And defensively he is pretty much without peer at 12, and I include Frans Steyn there, and Jean obvioulsy very good. WO can moer your underpants off. And I think we need that on Saturday.

• 210. WezwpReply to this comment :

I dont think many of the bloggers see the value of Juan Smith. That guy is a springbok through and through. What i like about him is his very versatile and does everything for you, even steals opposition line out balls.

• 211. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: \

once and never again…

• 212. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: Kills me. The Darryl Cullinan of rugby. Blessed talents.

Ruan is the bunnie of all kicking tees.

• 213. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: So where do you think this leaves him then? Bench?

• 214. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

agreed he is the sort of client a sports psychologist dreams of…

• 215. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: Completely agree. I most underrated Springbok ever. No weaknesses at all. I am glad hes is resting, Schalk should also have been left at home. And Adi – fk up their careers.

Test rugby is so hard you really need to be 100% fit, 95% won’t cut it.

• 216. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

Playing injured fks up their careers.

• 217. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Well said!
    @Wezwp: On that one I have to agree! Juan is a valuable part of our pack. We missed him against France.

• 218. guntherReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie:

it leaves him in pyjamas in a white room clawing the ceiling…

• 219. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: Yes.

Morne is our 10 and FdP our 9.

As a bench player he can play 9,10,15. Hard to beat.

• 220. WezwpReply to this comment :

@soda would you honestly say wynand would fit into the top 5 category in the 2009 s14?……..because i wont, there was way better inside centers. He had a good s14 but it wasnt great. I personally think Zane played a bigger part in the bulls s14 success.

• 221. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: He’s a guy who needs to go to France after 2011, get a life, get a bird, get some respite, and he will come back a rugby genius.

• 222. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

agreed a change of perspective might work wonders..

• 223. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: Disagree again. He was imho the best 12 in the S14. Most of the composite teams had him there too. And that was with JdV playing for the Stormers.

Barnes maybe close (great rugby player).

But Saturday is his time, otherwise I am with you – not a Bok quality. But as I said, I think he’s going to be terrific.

• 224. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

I wish Roy would fix the arrow thingies.

• 225. skopskietReply to this comment :

If you want Pienaar and M. Steyn on the field same time then play M. Steyn at 12 and Pienaar at 10 not the other way around. Otherwise shift M. Steyn to 15.

Wc back line could read something like this

S. Pretorius / Hougaard
    Pienaar / M. Steyn
    Habana / Mapoe
    M. Steyn / De Jongh / WO
    De Jongh / J. Fourie
    J. Fourie / JPP
    Kirchner / Viljoen / F. Steyn

• 226. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

I m taking dogs out for a walk, probably see you all later.

• 227. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: dont try and accomodate players Johan. …thats the cancer in our rugby

• 228. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: WO had a very good S14. I have to say that his form at the Bulls were far better than with the Boks. Some players find the step up from provincial/S14 to test rugby harder than others, for various reasons. Only time will tell if he will make it at test level. Look at a guy like FdP. He was brilliant at the Bulls, but it took him a good 20 tests before he really settled in at the Boks. At one time Ricky was geniunly better than him. Today he is by far the best in the world. As I say, only time will tell.

• 229. lightieReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie:

I think putting Ruan at 12 is a good idea too but not at test level yet. It did wonders for Wilkinson and Carter’s careers at 10.

• 230. nama1Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: #189
    If I remember correctly some bloggers on this site kept going on about how we now have two “world class” fly halves after the Lion’s tour. That was after RP’s performance in the first test and Morne’s performance as his replacement in the second test. Now suddenly the cupboard looks bare again.

That is what happens if you give someone super hero status after only one or two good performances.

Grant 10
    I see on the news that JS says that he thinks it is too early to determine that the experiment (he at TH) is a failure. He foresees that he will play there again and only play hooker on occasions.

• 231. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@grant10: Exactly, that is what I’m trying to say. I think he could be a very good 12, but I dont rate him as one of our 2 best 9’s. If he is willing, and that is vital, he should start at the Sharks at 12, Hernandez at 10, Rory at 9, Jacobs at 13. Not trying to make a place for him in the Bok side, but we are thin at 12. JdV wont be around for long. Ruan is a great player to have on the bench, but it is not good for his career.

• 232. WezwpReply to this comment :

Peter Grant is a better no.12 in my opinion.

• 233. grant10Reply to this comment :

@lightie: i tell you here and now Ruan will hve a heart attack….he only wants 9 ….

• 234. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: He will never attempt it….he will go overseas boet…believe me on this one.

• 235. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Wezwp: agree

• 236. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@lightie: Yip. In the modern game, especially in NZ and Aus, 10 and 12 are virtually the same. Look at Carter/McCallister, and Ghitao/Barnes.

• 237. grant10Reply to this comment :

@nama1: Smit back at 3 and i will have a heart attack!!LOL

• 238. WezwpReply to this comment :

Ruan has the potential to be the worlds best no9. All this moving around is f@cking his head up. Hes not a utility player just simply a no.9

• 239. grant10Reply to this comment :

@nama1: Nama….being a Stormers and WP fan i look forward to Smit at 3 next season….against us….

Idiotic to even think he can play there…..BJ and CJ coming hack….Buys and WP Nel walking the talk….writing is so on the wall…

• 240. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Wezwp: amen!

• 241. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@skopskiet: Why do you prefer Ruan at 10 and Morne at 12? My Bok backline for 2011 will look like this:

15) F.Steyn/Z.Kirchner
    14) JP/Mapoe
    13) Fourie/Olivier
    12) Jean/Pienaar/de Jongh
    11) Habana/Nokwe
    10) Morne/Pienaar
    9) FdP/Hougard

• 242. WezwpReply to this comment :

@soda Barnes was without a doubt the best no.12 in the s14. WO is not even a midfield general how could you say he was better than Nonu,Barnes, etc

• 243. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

I heard that BJ might join the Bulls soon? Is that true?

• 244. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: He was definitly better than Nonu, and by far SA’s best 12.

• 245. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

Over and out! Later!

• 246. WezwpReply to this comment :

If the no12 is no different from the no10, then where does Wynand fit in. He will be a good stop gap replacement on Saturday thats all. Only reason Jean isnt starting is because it will ultimately destroy what he said about selecting overseas players.

• 247. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: Bob skinstad says that BJ and CJ are looking for Provincial contracts …and would come home if they could secure Bok and provincial contracts….both available from May 2010…..so may miss Super 14…..

I guess Muir must be frothing at the mouth….CJ hinted at Cape Town….time will tell….

BJ a real Durban Boy…..DHS, etc….so i think he may head to sharks….depends on Smit to a degree i reckon…and how Sharks gonna use him…

• 248. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Wezwp: imo…..JDV and F Steyn our 2 best 12 s …

• 249. WezwpReply to this comment :

@Grant10 whatever the outcome we could use them both over here in the republic.

• 250. WezwpReply to this comment :

@Grant imo Francois is our best fullback.

• 251. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: Like I’ve said, I think WO is a better 13, he needs a JdV on his inside to create play. Not all 12’s can play 10, and visa versa. But it it helps if you can play both positions.

Examples in SA:

Hennie le Roux
    Henry Honiball
    Michael du Plessis
    Meyer Bosman
    Peter Grant
    Morne Steyn

Just to mention a few.

• 252. WezwpReply to this comment :

Yeah i think he will be excellent at 13.

• 253. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Wezwp: yes….but on the heavy NH fields i wouldnt mind having F Steyn,, also the odd long penalty or drop kick can win a test there

• 254. nama1Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: #228
    They must thank their lucky stars they’re not black otherwise they would never have reached 20 test caps.

• 255. WezwpReply to this comment :

The long penalty yes the long drop kicks no. We all know he only lands 3 out of ten long range drop kicks. Lets leave that to Morné.

• 256. WezwpReply to this comment :

Who is the most capped black players in Sa with exception of Habana and Paulse.?

• 257. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

Big whoop

why’s Jean on the bench?

• 258. TransformationReply to this comment :

@grant10: fransie is having his hair done by those french lasses & eaning his millions, no need to disturb him…plus we won in perth without him.

• 259. WezwpReply to this comment :

Because he wasnt loyal to wp Sarah.

• 260. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@nama1: I was merely responding to the statement that WO was a quota. According to the definition that is. I dont care about colour. Best must play, coaches make mistakes.

• 261. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Wezwp: Ricky, Bolla, Chester I think.

• 262. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

Cheers all!

• 263. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Transformation: Always rated the kid….i know he is an erratic bugger….but hell at 22 he is a legend already……

Cool kid….will come back from France an even better rounded player…Cape Town awaits….

• 264. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: The only reason is because he only joined the team yesterday.

• 266. nama1Reply to this comment :

@grant10: #247
    “and would come home if they could secure Bok and provincial contracts”

If one of their prerequisites for coming back is a Bok contract, they can stay right where they are, thank you.

We’ll nurture these youngsters coming through and in two years time everybody will ask, who the hell are BJ and CJ?

• 267. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@grant10: Agree, apart from the Cape Town thing that is.

• 268. grant10Reply to this comment :

@nama1: obviously its a financial consideration for them as well?

I know CJ was offered one last year ….not sure about BJ…..

Lets see…personally i want the best back in SA if possible….wish a load would come home to strenthen our super 14 squads….i can tell you the lions are awaiting some negotiations…..a lot can happen prior to Jan 13 when the super 14 squads need to be finalised. Personally i reckon some shocks coming!

• 269. skopskietReply to this comment :

my philosophy in rugby is always to get the maximum momentum through the back line in a crisp attack mode game plan. Chuck the kicking game for when you seriously desperate on defense only.
    Last year I would have played Grant at 10 long before Butch James and I would have stuck with January ahead of Fdp and I’m willing to put my head and maybe even something else on the block that we would have done far better in the 3N perhaps even won it instead of coming stone last.

If you want momentum through the backs you need fast crisp service from base of scrum. Someone like Adams or S. Pretorius to get the ball away to fly half at speed. Then you need a fly half hitting that adv line at pace or running a line like Carter does or Giteau / Larkham used to do. Or crash it up like Henry Honiball did or Jdv does.

The silky slick running fly half ala Carter / Larkham is Pienaar. The crash ball bust it up hard running fly half ala Henry Honiball is Peter Grant. The deep in the pocket kick metronome ala Nasty Botha / Andrew Mehrtens / Mauger / Catt is Morne Steyn.

Morne Steyn got far more guts in the tackle and on the crash ball than Pienaar and he’s got a boot to get out of trouble if required. He’d make a far better harder running and safer option on defense than R. Pienaar, also Pienaar is much quicker off the mark and a far more creative intuitive running back.

It stands to perfect reason for me to get the best of both worlds is have M. Steyn at 12 or 15 and Pienaar it 10. Would work a treat and Pienaar would never have the spectre of goal kicking hanging over his head with Steyn on the field.

Jacque Fourie is a hard running finisher for 13 or 14. Juan De Jongh is creative in the gap smelling genre similar to Gerber and Jacobs and a perfect 13 but could very well develop into a good 12 if honed there but would have to learn to distribute more.

A great back line if played consistently and molded into a well drilled team would be

S. Pretorius / Hougaard
    Pienaar
    Habana / Mapoe
    M. Steyn
    De Jongh
    Fourie / JPP
    F. Steyn / Viljoen / Kirchner

I still would always play Pienaar at 10 and M. Steyn 12 and not the other way round for both attacking and defensive reasons.

• 270. SlappesReply to this comment :

Skop, agree fully. I also want Ruan at 10 and believe me PDV will stick with him there. End of the day the Boks call you, you farkin answer the call!

• 271. grant10Reply to this comment :

@skopskiet: Skop…conceptually a Pienaar at 10 and M S at 12 has merit….the fly in the ointment is the players head space…..i assure you that Ruan made it plain to Plumtree it was 9 at Sharks or he wanted out……thats a fact skop…..you can bank that…..

M S has already played at 12 for Bulls….and ….imo….a far better prospect at 12 than Pienaar…..who already has kop issues…..imagine another move for him???

And with the 2 of them at different provinces it makes it even more difficult.

Realistically i just dont see Sharks risking a RP move to 10 after he made his wishes crystal clear.

And would the Bulls be prepared to shunt there idol around to 12? I dont think so.

I know you a huge R P at 10 fan….but Ruans biggest enemy is his own mind Skop….until he can clear the cobwebs he remains a bit of an enigma….

The Saracens 1 st half was a reminder to me of what a talent he is…..but it seems he is headstrong and wants the 9 jersey at all costs, even if it means missing out on the Bok 10 spot.

• 272. SlappesReply to this comment :

Hiyas Grant, the wise one! Hows your fanclub coming along?

• 273. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Slappes: Wise and Grant seldom make the same sentence!!

Going to watch the game sat at Firemans with Justrugby…..pop in for a pint or 3??

• 274. SlappesReply to this comment :

Grant sounds good, just have to sort some biz – will let you know tomorrow. ps you have been making the right calls regarding the boks the WHOLE FARKIN SEASON!

• 275. skopskietReply to this comment :

Pienaar must simply get his No. 9 fragile head sorted. He’s about the 4th or 5th rated scrum half in the country. If I’m Pdv I tell him Ruan my boy its 10 or F’all so get your head around it. The Saracens game plus the first Lions game were swinging along at close to perfection while Adams or Fdp were providing fast efficient service and Pienaar was able to relish the extra time and space. He’s a natural gifted intuitive running back not a scrum half. S. Pretorius is a scrum half, Adams is a scrum half. Vermaak is a scrum half. Hougaard is a scrum half similar to Fdp who is more like a fly half than scrum half but he’s developed his 9 game for our kicking style. Pienaar is a 10. Could play 15 or 12 but don’t have the balls for it. But he can certainly become a great 10 though only a mediocre 9.

• 276. TransformationReply to this comment :

@grant10: all ruan needs is to go to the bush & get circumcised. It worked for gcobani bobo!

• 277. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Slappes: A lot of bloggers been calling for the same changes i have…Soda Joe…Justrugby…Robzim…Skop….

Seems the Cape Town boys got the brains…..Soda must have roots here…LOL

Cool…let me know….will be a jorl….big screens and Bosuns Bitter!!!

Bobs yout aunt!

• 278. tedanicaReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:
    If you mean Ruan’s start in 15 in 3N, I’ve got my own theory why he wasn’t interested to play there. Remember it was taken from Frans his best buddy so Ruan didn,t want his job . To all accounts he even asked himself for not being considered in 15 in the last test in favour for Frans. That’s why Fransie could step in and kicked these missiles . I don’t know if Ruan were equally disinterested in 15 now but we’ll never know as the position was given do Kirchner.
    I do agree Ruan should move overaseas though just now not after world cup. In these cirmcunstances he has no much to lose.

• 279. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Transformation: LOL…

Classic!!!

Fark me …is that the problem…snip that foreskin Ruan…win us the WC again!!!

• 280. nama1Reply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: #260
    I was referring to your post (228) that states that WO has not step up yet and that it took F. du Preez “a good 20 test matches before he really settled in at the Boks.”

I know that you don’t care about colour. Most on this blog don’t.

• 282. HondoReply to this comment :

The odds are 10:11 for Ireland.
    I’ll go with it, although Joh Hayes must be licking his lips

• 283. grant10Reply to this comment :

The way MS gone off the boil…maybe Ruan will be kicking himself! But i have a feeling MS will have a big one Sat…..

I tell you, this is a moer of a Bok lineup….if this was the middle of the season…fark me….Ireland would be dead and buried….

Throw F Steyn, Juan Smith, Spies into that mix….strongest Bok team i have ever seen i reckon….seriously!

• 284. skopskietReply to this comment :

Ruan must stick at fly half and become the player he’s cut out to be. He’ll get all the backing from coach. M. Steyn would work well with him in tandem at 12.
    In no time at all we could develop a back line that could be devastating if we got Morne off fly half where he stifles the momentum and into 12 where he don’t have to think all that much and just run pass tackle or kick in dire circumstances only.
    S. Pretorius
    Pienaar
    Mapoe – Habana
    M. Steyn
    De Jongh
    Fourie – JPP
    Kirchner – Viljoen – F. Steyn

That back line would cook with some serious gas. At pace and momentum to spare.

• 285. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Bloody hell. Against France his service was **** behind a back-pedaling pack but he took his points and was ok in a kak team overall.

Against Italy he did not come to grips with the Mitre ball, but neither did his counterpart. His service was much better.

Morne Steyn has not let the Boks down, and more than once saved our arse.

Off the boil? Have to disagree. At his best – probably not, but his best is fkn good.

• 286. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@skopskiet: Honestly, the team for Saturday right now is pretty much as good as we have. Juan Smith only guy missing.

• 287. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: agree…should have put compared to his walk on water season….quite right….i consider myself reprimanded….he certainly has been a revelation….ice in them\ veins.

• 288. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:
    amen to that nobody likes that mitre ball not even the italian kickers..

• 289. SlappesReply to this comment :

Grant yeah I know the other guys also called it BUT you were going insane! Transformation :lol: uRuan Pienaar!

• 290. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Soda…whats your take on the Smit / Bissy dilemma?

• 291. whateverReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

and Frans at 15………

• 292. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Slappes: only because it was damn pretty obvious….and hell i hate seeing a Bok scrum go in reverse….wont say turbo reverse because Gunther gets upset with me…LOL

• 293. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

and frans steyn!

• 294. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: LOL.

Brussow & M. Steyn changed PdV’s team to be the best in the world.

Re post 286. With F. Steyn at 15 and Juan Smith at 7 and Spies at 8. That’s our best team.

Fok. Spies behind a power pack, eish – dynamite. Glad he’s resting at home.

• 295. grant10Reply to this comment :

i would love to see Spies and Brussow behind a dominant bok scrummaging effort….hell man i reckon that will be a sight to behold!!

• 296. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: I think Biz is jaded. He’s bloody good. He needs a rest.

We have this phobia about losing Smitty, but if deemed essential Smit must play 2, he’s a kak 3.

• 298. whateverReply to this comment :

eish, forgot about Spies. Think Dannie is over the hill now, keeps losing the ball in the tackle…….nice little flick last week-end but thats where it ends for me.

• 299. SlappesReply to this comment :

Morne Steyn was a revelation – farkin icecold, nerves of steel, lethal boot.

• 300. skopskietReply to this comment :

You Oke’s still can’t see the writing on the wall Fdp and M. Steyn is not God’s gift to our back line woes, just prolonging the agony. Far too predictable, far too one dimensional. You want a back line that creates some action then get M. Steyn out of 10. Great Bmt great composure under pressure great courage and stern defensive capacity. Top rate goal kicker 2nd to none, but a stifler of our back line momentum, far too one dimensional to ever be really truly great distributing running 10. I wonder why we always go for this safety first conservative option in our rugby thinking, that alone is the real staller in the development in our game.

• 301. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: huge dilemma at the sharks i tell you….watch this space….kak gonna go down there still…..

• 302. whateverReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

I was prepared to go with PDv on the Smit change to 3, but it’s obvious he has not dominated. Kinda “holding your own…sometimes” is not good enough for a Bok 3. He now needs to battle it out with Bissie for the no 2 berth.

• 303. whateverReply to this comment :

@grant10:

Whats the story Grant?

• 304. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

look at our most successful teams

Piennar & Kitch

Teich & Mallet (until mallet screwed the pooch with bob)

Barney and Jake

and now

Barney and PdV…

• 305. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@whatever: I think we have focused on the front 3 improved scrummaging effort last week.

But Danie at 8 and Deysel at 7 were just as important.

Oom Danie is a great Springbok, biggest heart ever. Won us a World Cup. By himself.

Willem Alberts is the next Danie Roussouw, and every Bok team should have one.

• 306. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@skopskiet: Have a look at S14 Bulls Points For, Bulls Points Against. Your argument is totally flawed.

• 307. SlappesReply to this comment :

Grant you reckon fins gonna fly in the sharktank?

• 308. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@whatever: I agree.

• 309. grant10Reply to this comment :

skop…only way boks would go into a battle without MS would be if F Steyn was at 15…..RP dont like that responsibility at all….oke looks like he is about to burst into tears at the prospect…cat on a hot tin roof….

I am not sure whether F Steyn is first choice kicker in France? Hope so, because he has the ability to be a Bok front line kicker….till then the conservative nature of the SAffas will rule the roost.

• 310. grant10Reply to this comment :

@whatever: no…just speculating….Bissy a handfull….and wont take kindly to sharing the 2 duties….Smit surely cant play 3 at sharks and 2 for Boks?

And a fait accompli that BJ and Cj gonna be back….

Last man standing stuff….competetion is good.

• 311. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: Boet. John Smit is our Greatest Ever Captain. No argument. An all time great rugby player on a global stage.

At hooker.

If deemed indispensable, then play him at 2. That’s Piet Snor’s call. Not 3.

Tighthead we are emerging from our own bums.

WP Nel
    Bj Botha
    Kevin Buys
    CJ V. D Linde

All 4 are significantly better than John. All are Bok material.

• 312. whateverReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

Yeah, great tackle at the WC, but for a big bloke he is too upright and gets knocked back too often for my liking… he blows hot and cold.

• 313. guntherReply to this comment :

@grant10:

test match rugby is conservative…the boks have never been a running team why would we start now..

and if i remember rightly we carved australia to pieces with this “stifled” backline…

• 314. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Slappes: Boet, Speedy is just wishing on a lucky penny.

• 315. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Slappes: Sardines,, Tuna…great whites….kak in the aquarium….watch my man….Tsunami of trouble…watch…

• 316. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@whatever: I think he’s always better than good, and gives everything.

Truthfully I think this may be his last tour.

Alberts should have been on this tour.

• 317. whateverReply to this comment :

Bring back the post ref no Keo!

• 318. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: aye.

• 319. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@whatever: It is DRIVING ME CRAZY!

• 320. whateverReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

Agreed. Then again there were quite a few blokes left behind :)

• 321. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: You wish.

• 322. guntherReply to this comment :

@whatever:

that is a tough concept for soda to understand…

americans never leave a man behind…

• 323. skopskietReply to this comment :

S14 or CC rugby is not international rugby. I take a M. Du Plessis, Carter, Larkham, Lynagh, Honiball type fly half over a Grant Fox, Naas Botha, Andrew Mehrtens, Joel Stransky, Jannie De Beer type fly half any day of the week. But thats just me. I prefer watching creative genius probing space than rigid kicking metronome machines.

• 324. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: Never ever. Only the ones who are too cheap to buy a round.

• 325. grant10Reply to this comment :

@gunther: ja…i agree…i played 10….skop would of hated my style….kicked the **** out the ball….but we won a few we should of lost

On the other hand i slipped more tackles than Naas Botha…..and still get a nervous tic when i hear the name Gert Smal…

• 326. whateverReply to this comment :

@skopskiet:

I would put Lynagh in the latter category!

• 327. SlappesReply to this comment :

@Sodajoe you mean wishing on his lucky 10yr old speedo lovepants?

• 328. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@skopskiet: Skops, no doubt and you are not alone. You like an exciting fluid backline.

I like to win.

And winning ugly is still winning.

Without opening an unnecessary can of worm, I think we have moved forward, even with Morne to a pretty exciting brand of rugby.

• 329. grant10Reply to this comment :

this number stuff is hectic….wtf has happened here…

Roy????

• 330. guntherReply to this comment :

@grant10:

i watched the sa ireland game where we equalled the unbeaten run record under mallet…honiball was awesome we broke the mould with that one…ruan is no honiball…we need to play to ou strengths and ou strengths are no some bastardised multi-phased australian running game..

• 331. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Slappes: It is rumoured that Speedy sacrificed his beloved blue & white speedo on the Weber for a front row. I am eternally grateful. Thank you Speedo10.

(He did say that he was unable to burn the green & gold version, this Rubicon was a little too deep).

• 332. grant10Reply to this comment :

Check the Giteau mess last Sat….again the kicker can win the game…or lose it!

• 333. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: No one would blame you for having a nervous tic from Gert Smal.

Best shortarm punch in the history of boxing.

• 334. guntherReply to this comment :

@grant10:

its the mark of a great team…

one that wins games that it shouldn’t…

• 335. SlappesReply to this comment :

Roy you lazy ****, fix the site.

• 336. grant10Reply to this comment :

@gunther: how great was Bob Skinstad in that game G !!!!

My boy Bob….best loosie i ever seen!

Ja, we are by nature risk averse…and like the contact….Honibal was a helleva strange but effective 10!

• 337. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: i was so desperate after the Italian game i was prepared to sacrifice the blondes dog!!

• 339. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

i met him with his wife a few years back even she had a nervous tic…that guy has got the biggest hands i have ever seen…

along with schalk…

• 340. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: ja…that kiwi Gary Knight i think…..goodnight nurse

• 341. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Honestly – I was up to 3 goats, and it was getting expensive, and the neighbours were looking at me funny.

• 342. guntherReply to this comment :

@grant10:

bob the saddest story in rugby for me …. he could have been the greatest ever…and a nicer guy you couldn’t meet…

• 343. skopskietReply to this comment :

One of our greatest test teams ever had
    Joost 9
    Honiball 10
    P. Roussouw 11
    Le Roux – R. Fleck 12
    A. Snyman 13
    J. Small – B. Paulse 14
    A. Joubert 15

All creative running backs and hardly a kicker in sight.

• 344. nama1Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: #306
    SA scored 4 tries last Saturday. All by back line players. Did MS play a role in any of them?

At the end of the season people will look back and say the Boks scored so many tries by the backs with MS as pivot forgetting about all the tries in which he absolutely played no role. Apart from last weeks four tries I can think of another three out of the top of my head in which he played no role.

This is in no way an effort to put MS down. We should just keep perspective when we start to use things like points for/against to gauge the role of a FH in it.

• 345. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

try renting the goats..

• 346. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Seriously boet. You love Bobby, but Ruben Krugerrand, Morne Dup, Schalk V1, we have had so many better players, he needed to not believe his own hype. And he fkd it up all by himself.

I will give him this – he was potentially unbelievable, and his comeback truly inspirational – quite something. If he had those testicles as a youngster – maybe all time best.

• 347. grant10Reply to this comment :

@gunther: i met him through a mate …he has a holiday house at Onrus…and there kids play together….very quiet and unassuming oke….

It was the Watson debacle so i kept quiet, didnt want to get into a heated debate with someone that size….he was Asst Bok coach then….

• 348. SlappesReply to this comment :

Sodajoe, :lol: Grants rubicon is clifton beach and he crosses it daily , whilst scaring the living **** out of the sunbathers.

• 349. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: LOL

@gunther: Absolutely….a genius…damn that Marshall….sod!!

• 350. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@nama1: Boet a rugby team has 15 players on the field.

Morne Steyn is our 10, an imo our best 10.

And the teams he plays in score plenty of tries, and usually win the trophies.

That’s my argument.

• 351. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

and andre venter…if you could bottle what it is to b a bok…it would have his picture on it…

• 352. skopskietReply to this comment :

Lynagh may have been a kicking fly to an extent but a thinking creative genius putting Campese away with a deft cross kick or Horan – Little away with some clever creative running lines. He may have been a clever kicking strategist but certainly wasn’t one dimensional by any stretch of the imagination.

• 353. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: But how do you give back the burned out carcass?

• 354. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: seriously soda….in 2007 i wasnt on this site yet….but i swear when he made that comeback i had tears in my eyes….what a player …and the guts to come back after 3 years….great stuff.

I saw all those okes you mention….couldnt lace Bobs boots….he glided, was so talented he made the game look easy….the Barry Richards of rugby….!

• 355. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

you need to take out the “all risks” insurance package ….

• 356. guntherReply to this comment :

@grant10:

those other guys walked the walk…bob is about what should have been sadly…

• 357. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: Juan Smith

1. Os
    2. Smit
    3. Bands

4. Matfield
    5. Bakkies

6. Ruben Krugerand
    7. Juan Smith
    8. Teichmann

9. FdP
    10. Honiball

11. Habs
    12. Hennie Le Roux
    13. Jacque Fourie
    14. James Small

15. Jouba

• 359. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: But we would have to score plensch tries coz none of dose fkers can kick!

• 360. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Stood proud, as a man.

Inspirational. I got on the elliptical machine for a week.

• 361. guntherReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

that team would have scored more than a few…

• 362. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@gunther: Imagine lining up with Lem & Hennie opposite you. Those okes could bruise you just by looking.

Need a lot of extra magic water I think.

• 363. whateverReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

Good argument Soda :)

• 364. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Soda….Lions will do some hectic recruiting….expect some big announcements over next month i reckon.

• 365. grant10Reply to this comment :

richard bands just dissapeared…pity.

• 366. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@whatever: Boet I wish I knew which post you were commenting on?

• 367. grant10Reply to this comment :

bloody turks nailed my man u boys last nite….blondes ex rubbing it in ….swine.

• 368. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Yup. Almost building a team from scratch. Going to be tough. Especially with the geniuses in the back office.

Whatever happened to Bands? Great tighthead prop, and as well know fast fkr too.

• 369. grant10Reply to this comment :

Roy….whats the deal with the numbers boet?

Someone out there??

Fix it please.

• 370. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Start supporting the White Rose. Nothing good ever came from the Red Rose – just mercenaries.

• 371. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: will never forget a Bands tackle on Mc Caw at loftus….early in game…all over rover…mc caw off…bulls won!

• 372. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: didnt know who those mercenaries were last nite masquerading as Man U….

• 373. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: In those days I never worried about #3. These past 2 years have been lousy. ‘Til last Saturday.

• 374. grant10Reply to this comment :

Okay gents….chers all

Outta here

• 375. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Leeds Leeds Leeds. Marching On Together. We are on the road back.

• 376. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: amen….best news ever…my kingdom for a 3 has been answered….xmas come early….

PDV …thanks…

• 377. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Night bud. Good chatting. I am going to read a book.

See you all through the window.

• 378. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: would love to have Leeds back in the premier….

• 379. rugbywriterReply to this comment :

My god how is Pienaar still in the team? Call up Brent Russel who is in spectacular form

• 380. PumaReply to this comment :

So you all happy with the team for Saturday?

I would have started with Deysel and Burger on the bench.

Pleased that JdV is back even if he is on the bench. Also pleased to see D. Potgieter making the bench. Deserves to be there too. Just happy to see Bakkies there was worried he may not have made it with that back injury.

Going to be tough. Hope no rain but that wont happen. Looks like rain and plenty wind for the game.

Still Boks will win this one. Boks by 5. If we had started with this team against France think we would have won.

• 381. charoReply to this comment :

watching re-union right now.

they start off by saying all blacks are fatigued despite having a 6 week break before the eoyt.

6 weeks!!!!!

soooo….waka (a.k.a. bullshit bertie 11) is talking ****.

ab’s didn’t have the same workload as the boks before this tour.

the chop has been found out again.

haha

• 382. CoachPeteReply to this comment :

Hi guys I am really worried about the loose forwards
    Brussow (who is a star) is fine but am a worried about Skalk and Danie.
    I am concerend about Brussow battling on his own at the breakdown.
    Anyone else worried?

• 383. CoachPeteReply to this comment :

I would have had Dysel and Potgieter with Brussow starting Danie and Skalk on bench

• 384. Kobus KittyReply to this comment :

@CoachPete:

Not really, although Spies would have been the preferred option Danie suits the wet and miserable weather of the NH. Burger just needs to work on his technique in tackling, he is still everywhere though.

Against the french, you had Botha and Matfield off for most of the game, meaning BEKKER and KANKOWSKI were both standing in the backline doing nothing. Basically 6 Bok forwards against 8 Frenchies.

• 385. whateverReply to this comment :

@charo:

No suprise there. Once a dooooos always a doooos, ne?

• 386. greatest13gerberReply to this comment :

LOL..what load BS!

Kanko was dropped

• 387. icemanReply to this comment :

This a very good team with the best balance I’ve seen in a while.

Watch the scrummaging of the Boks this weekend! I predict a huge difference.

• 388. grant10Reply to this comment :

@CoachPete: me as well Coach….that would have been my combo…

• 389. DavidReply to this comment :

@CoachPete:
    @grant10:
    I think starting with 2 novices in the loose trio would’ve been asking for trouble. Especially in the conditions where experience will be vital.

• 390. bananasReply to this comment :

@skopskiet: Before we dim the lights what was their record like ? Nothing on our current squad let me tell you. Also Joost didnt pass, either broke round the side or kicked ahead.

• 391. justrugbyReply to this comment :

What has Deysel done to warrant all the hype that want people starting him ahead of Schalk ?? Schalk has maybe not been at his best but the guy has 54 test caps to Deysels 1, we are playing Ireland in a huge crunch match, these games require every bit of experience available.

Schalk is better than Deysel in all aspects plus you have the bonus of the experience.

Good for Deysel that he is on the bench, personally I would have preferred a Vermuelen or a Alberts there as I believe they give you more options.

Deysel did not exactly have a stellar year, yes a few very good games, was poor in the latter part of the CC.

I have no major problem with him on the bench, but people calling for him to start ahead of Schalk are either Shark supporters or just don’t like the Schalk, but from a rugby viewpoint I cannot think of any reasoon that he should start ahead of Schalk.

• 392. whateverReply to this comment :

@justrugby:

Yip, fair comment. There is a fair amount of Shark blindness shall we say :)

• 393. bananasReply to this comment :

@CoachPete: Could be the Boks are using the French approach in using bigger fwds to blast the smaller Irish forwards off the ball. I would not have started Shalk and I hope John gives him a good talking to because every Irish player will be giving him some.
    Lets see how we go, Dewald is not a fetcher either but a good mix of both.

• 394. grant10Reply to this comment :

@David: yes…point taken…i would have deliberated long and hard though. Still not convinced Schalk has done enough….but he knows he is under pressure…so lets see.

I would love him to be a success at 7….will assist Stormers as well.

• 395. grant10Reply to this comment :

@justrugby: Hi boet

Fair comment….Schalk will be under pressure to deliver…and may respond as we all know he can….as i said, i would have deliberated long and hard….but the experience factor is a very true reason to select him.

But its delivery time Schalk.

• 396. grant10Reply to this comment :

@justrugby: what time is kick off tomorrow?

• 397. justrugbyReply to this comment :

@grant10:

Bigger issue for me on Sat is WO slotting in with Jaque, if there is any misunderstanding in that midfield we will be exposed, both very good players but have not had the chance to gel an understanding….might bite us in the ***.

• 398. justrugbyReply to this comment :

Listen to Bob on the radio this morning, looks like it will be a dry afternoon at Croke park, cold but dry !!

• 399. justrugbyReply to this comment :

@grant10:

4.30pm

• 400. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

Smitty can’t prop a scrum for toffee.

• 401. grant10Reply to this comment :

@justrugby: @justrugby: @justrugby: Great….hope its dry! Meet at the arms at 3…30?

That midfield will be tested BOD the man!

@TheTackler: No dispute….facts are facts…

• 402. justrugbyReply to this comment :

@grant10:

Cool

• 403. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@justrugby: Heard all about Gin yesterday, at least in one thing we are alike I love Bulldogs Banning him from watching when Playing ENgland was just cruel :)

• 404. justrugbyReply to this comment :

@grant10:

We are up against one of the best centre pairings in the world, by brining Jean in I would have started him, he and Jaque have a record for centre partnerships therefore understand each other. This is a vital aspect !!!

It would be harsh on WO who does deserve a run, but in such a critical game , up against a potent centre pairing I personally would have started with JDEV adn JF.

I just hope that WO has the game of his life as this could make or break him !!

• 405. justrugbyReply to this comment :

@Sharksgirl:

LOL !!! still heartbroken and miss the oke !!

• 406. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

@justrugby: I agree with you on this one!

Sorry didn’t mean to bring back painful memories :(

• 407. StawmReply to this comment :

All those knocking Kanko are partly correct, he is lacking in the upper strength department, but they are also being very short-sighted.

Kanko is still very young and there is no doubting his abundance of talent. He’s proved this many times over. So give him some time to build his strength and watch him become a truly great player.
    He could bulk up very quickly if he goes the ‘juice’ route which is rumoured to be Spies’s method (who knows?), we will have to wait and see.

• 408. Richie_7Reply to this comment :

@justrugby: Can’t be great for WO starting knowing that the slightest mishap will see the coaching staff bring on Jean DV. Hope he plays out of his skin and doesn’t choose to be conservative to prevtn him being subbed

• 409. SpindocReply to this comment :

Peter De Villiers makes such a idiotic comment…”‘We will always look inside our own country first. If we can’t find someone good enough, only then will we look outside.”…the better players are playing overseas so he will not pick the strongest squad….just plain stupid!!!

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator