digimag-banner

Smit starts at hooker

John Smit will revert to his strongest position this Saturday while the uncapped Dewald Potgieter has been named on the bench.

Smit played down the shift when probed on the matter. On a tour marred by poor scrumming and front-row injuries, the Springboks have lost Gurthro Steenkamp, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis and most recently Adriaan Strauss. Bismarck du Plessis has had a rib concern, while CJ van der Linde has just recovered from a hamstring ailment.

The string of injuries sees Smit reverting to the position where many experts, including former team-mate Os du Randt, feel he’s best.

‘It’s been awhile since I’ve played hooker – I think my last start was in the Super 14. Hopefully it’s just like riding a bicycle,’ Smit told keo.co.za.

‘It’s going to be an epic Test. They’re the Six Nations champions and we’ve enjoyed a good year, so it’s going to be tough.’

Peter de Villiers has also selected BJ Botha at tighthead and Beast Mtawarira at loosehead after this front-row combination impressed in the closing stages of the Italy Test. De Villiers, however, refused to say whether this combination would be retained in future matches.

‘We now have a lot of options and can opt for a horse for courses approach,’ the Bok coach said. ‘The front row we’ve selected is perfect for how we want to play against Ireland.’

Botha (Ulster), Van der Linde (Leinster) and Jean de Villiers (Munster) all play their club rugby in Ireland, and are included despite the policy that frowns on the selection of overseas-based players.

Peter de Villiers said this stance was relaxed given the number of injuries and the fact that the trio were playing in Ireland.

‘We will always look inside our own country first. If we can’t find someone good enough, only then will we look outside.

‘We are fortunate that Jean was here and thought it would be stupid to fly a replacement out from South Africa. He knows the system and it’s not even three months since he last played for South Africa.’

Other changes to the pack see Danie Rossouw shifted to No 8 in place of Ryan Kankowski while Schalk Burger returns from a rib injury. Bakkies Botha is still battling a back injury but is named in the starting side.

De Villiers said the change at No 8 is down to injury and not because of the physicality Rossouw can bring to the contest.

‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’

Wynand Olivier is preferred in the centres with Jean de Villiers warming the bench. De Villiers was a late replacement for injured centre Adi Jacobs.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Dewald Potgieter, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jean de Villiers.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

409 Responses to “Smit starts at hooker”

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 101. DawnReply to this comment :

@John Galt:

That was Ras Dumisane’s fault.

• 102. skopskietReply to this comment :

JacoKanko don’t belong in a test side proved it number of times already. Spies vs Jvn I take J.vn everytime too.

Smit at 2 only place for him to be. 3 is one bridge over the horizon

• 103. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@panniepeet: Under-valued player, he brings a hard edge. Mind you Deysel also brings that edge, but lacks Juan’s lineout presence. With Danie at 8, we don’t really need another lineout forward though!!

• 104. ufoReply to this comment :

@grant10: #82

Enjoy your well gotten gains… Good dinner and wine for the Missus is a must!!

• 105. panniepeetReply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Absolutely under-valued – does all the donkey work very cleverly… Others like Danie try hard but, not nearly as good as Juan

• 106. nama1Reply to this comment :

@brains_trust: #88
    My mistake. CJ and Strauss started from the bench. Sorry. I misread your post.

• 107. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: seems the only 1 wiggling here is you Cab?

• 108. TransformationReply to this comment :

no francois steyn!!! Dankie our pdv….

• 109. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@panniepeet: Watch Deysel clean rucks though, up there with Juan and Bakkies. 3rd best in country, above Danie at cleaning. BJ also good at cleaning. Really believe Deysel deserved a chance to start. He has done everything the hard way this tour and grabbed every opportunity. Hope he gets at least 20 mins.

• 110. ufoReply to this comment :

see Dennis Leamy is ruled out…

• 111. westReply to this comment :

Hey guys, just a few intereting stats i copied out of an article in the guardian on the current state of rugby. Its hardcase it just shows how kick dominated rugby is now!! The two top teams in each hemisphere are the ones that hardly pass the ball!!

“South Africa have not complained. they have been the most successful side this year, beating the Lions and then winning the Tri-Nations. Yet in the first Test against the Lions they made 49 passes as a team: the visiting scrum-half, Mike Phillips, gave 76 passes. In the Tri-Nations the Springboks won two matches with only 39% of possession and in one of them, against New Zealand, they made 43 passes in all and their two centres touched the ball eight times compared with their opponents’ 43. The All Blacks’ front row made three times as many passes as South Africa’s three-quarters and full-back combined while in the Six Nations Ireland were bottom in the number of passes made and the rate of passing. The moral is low risk, great reward.”

• 112. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Yetirat: Thats what a lot of us been saying for months now.

Yes, perhaps PDV read the site!LOL

• 113. ufoReply to this comment :

:oops:

didn’t see the other thread… below the “fold”…

• 114. Black and blueReply to this comment :

Unbelievable how some “experts” is running Kankowski into the ground. Was he the only underperformer in the France test? Schalk Burger went flying after two attempted tackles, but not a word about it. What about Potties brilliant performances againts the English club sides? Didn’t even know he was actually on the field. Overrated player! How can he’s selection be justified? And Danie Rossouw had one good pass in the game against Italy, no word about him knocking on. Pure bias from bloggers on this site. Kankowski was performing brilliant when the Sharks dominated and he had go forward ball. That’s when he could be dangerous. But to be retrieving the whole time, there’s no chance of making an impact as a loosie – except if your name starts with an H.

• 115. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): LOL…okay boet

• 116. ufoReply to this comment :

@Black and blue:

simple solution…

Kankowski should change his name to Hyan…!!

• 117. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@Black and blue: Agree 100%. If your name is Schalk or Potgieter you can do no wrong. Kanko needs to work on his tight game. He will improve and be back. Starting trio should have been:
    Ratel, Deysel, Danie with Kanko on bench for when it opens up and Schalk if you want 2 loosies?? Pottie doesn’t deserve his cap. He’s a quota selection.

• 118. grant10Reply to this comment :

@ufo: ja….for sure….thanks spaceman

• 119. grant10Reply to this comment :

@panniepeet: agree…Juan Smith at blindside flank a must….banker in the lineout and brings a hard edge…with Bakkies the 2 are essential.

• 120. JUSMReply to this comment :

@dr dre: you counting habs as a bull?

• 121. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    lol, if u say so grant.

• 122. John GaltReply to this comment :

@Tacitus:

Please, Spies was thrown around like a toddler in a playground when he came back from his injury.
    He could barely hang on to a damn thing.

Added to this, Spies apparently has the mental strength of a 12 year old girl, which certainly doesnt help his team mates when the chips are down during a test match.
    And why have the strength of 10 men in your arms when you have the strenght of french football player in your legs. Cos all you ever see with Spies is him falling over.

• 123. cabReply to this comment :

the best hooker in the world, and quite probably the most destructive player in the tightloose, is now sitting on the bench.

lets hope we dont win the scrums and lose the match.
    or even worse lose the scrums and lose the match.

• 124. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: are you suggesting Smit be dropped then?

• 125. kevin wReply to this comment :

No specialist 8?????????????????????????

Retread Rossouw at 8 backed up by two flanks with 1 cap between them.

Fark me!!!!

• 126. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: Given everyone is fit and on form, I would start Smit at 3 and move him to hooker later if needed. Might seem madness but reasons are:

1. JS normally lags off at 60 minutes. JS will not play whole match at 2, so he has to move to 3 at some point. I would rather have him playing TH when he is in good shape and can scrum better.

2. Insurance. If JS is moved to 3 at end of game and suddenly our scrum comes under pressure we would be powerless to change (no subs, like when Carstens came on!!). With a strong scrumming TH on bench we can always bting him on earlier.

3. Bismarck at his best is awesome in the loose. Most games this is very important so play majority with him starting. If a team is known for its scrumming attack maybe not.

For these reasons and for the simple reason that there are no other THs playing in SA, I would want JS to play TH domestically and improve. We know he is a quality hooker and won’t let us down.

• 127. grant10Reply to this comment :

@kevin w: Dewalt Potgieter played at 8 often for Bulls…and a damn fine 8 too!

• 128. bokke_boReply to this comment :

hey lets all put provincial bias aside, some things are just obvious:
    1. kankowski has found his ceiling as a very good currie cup / s14 player, but no more
    2. john smit may not be the best hooker in the world, but he is not too far off
    3. the impact john smit has as a captain is massive
    4. in the modern squad game of rugby, there is space for the best hooker in the world (Bis) and the best captain in the world, it just strengthen the squad to have an 80 min mix as per the requirements on the day

• 129. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: What idiot would suggest that?

• 130. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): suits me Ratel….Stormers look forward to Smit at 3….far more scared of him as a 2…that i assure you.

• 131. TacitusReply to this comment :

@John Galt:

Glad you got that off your chest.

Now get your boy to hold onto the ball in contact, and maybe he’ll get another shot at a Bok cap in future.

• 132. Black and blueReply to this comment :

Agreed John Galt. Spies got how many chances after missing tackles, knocking on, and not being able to pic up from the bass of the scrum. His work rate improved tremendously but the basic skills of a top-class 8 are still lacking. Kankowski needs to up his work rate, I suspect he’ll never wear the Green and Gold again.

Ratel: 100% with you on this one. Kankowski is the big scapegoat, which is really unfair. Give him a chance when our scrum issues are sorted out. Brussow is such a brilliant player!!!

• 133. kevin wReply to this comment :

@grant10: I’ve watched Dewald Potgieter play since he was about 16 – he is no saviour at 8 in an international test against the 6 Nations Champs!

He might be one day, but he won’t be on Saturday – there is a little thing called experience.

• 134. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: In wet heavy fields? Rag doll approaching.

• 135. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Seems cab not happy….i am trying to get clarity on his position

• 136. cabReply to this comment :

Kanko is a fine selection for our hard NH fields, but against France, Ireland and England in their NH – is a definite no-no.
    The reason why Rossouw played well at 8 vs Italy and has been the pick of the forwards on the 2006 EOY tour is that he suits these conditions.

• 137. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

@grant10: Boks before domestic always.

• 138. cabReply to this comment :

@grant10:
    you know my position, i support the ou doose, always have.

• 139. John GaltReply to this comment :

@Tacitus:

Always a pleasure shooting the breeze Tac.

Unfortunately i must be offski.

• 140. DawnReply to this comment :

Ou doose?

• 141. cabReply to this comment :

the pack we are selecting on sat is not the most mobile by any stretch, but its a good choice for the NH conditions, they a pack of grizzled vertans tho matfield is prob unlikely to contribute much in the tightloose – he ususally gets thru a helluva lot of tackles if not directing play.

• 142. kevin wReply to this comment :

@cab: sorry talent doesn’t wear a raincoat … same was said about many players like Brent Russell and Butch James. NH doesn’t suit their game.

Kanko was the polyfilla for Spies against the fired up French – Rossouw played against Italy. Fairytales aside – they still kak as an international standard.

• 143. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Black and blue: i been saying all year…the loosies are being unfairly criticised …they are playing behind a weak scrum…very tough….

I agree with a lot what you saying

• 144. grant10Reply to this comment :

@kevin w: okay…i have watched him only this year…impresses me….as does Deysel….

• 145. cabReply to this comment :

@kevin w:
    they’re backs, largely irrelevant in the NH imo, the forwards its an attitude thing as mich as size and kanko is a greyhound not a ploughhorse.

• 146. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: agree…100%…squad was chosen poorly initially…and certainly not with a view to conditions

• 147. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): good man…wish all were like that!

• 148. cabReply to this comment :

its muddy, dirty and farken ugly up north – we need the players to fit – CJ, BJ, Daniesaurus, Bakkies, Deysel, Bismarck, etc – the more the merrier. Its not so much as rugby, as opposed to mud wrestling…

• 149. grant10Reply to this comment :

@cab: But seriously…do you agree with his switch or would you have kept him at 3?

I am sincerely interested…

• 150. kevin wReply to this comment :

@cab: fair point, i’ll wait and see … but i am a firm believer of talent opposed to conditions – forwards or backs.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator