Smit starts at hooker
John Smit will revert to his strongest position this Saturday while the uncapped Dewald Potgieter has been named on the bench.
Smit played down the shift when probed on the matter. On a tour marred by poor scrumming and front-row injuries, the Springboks have lost Gurthro Steenkamp, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis and most recently Adriaan Strauss. Bismarck du Plessis has had a rib concern, while CJ van der Linde has just recovered from a hamstring ailment.
The string of injuries sees Smit reverting to the position where many experts, including former team-mate Os du Randt, feel he’s best.
‘It’s been awhile since I’ve played hooker – I think my last start was in the Super 14. Hopefully it’s just like riding a bicycle,’ Smit told keo.co.za.
‘It’s going to be an epic Test. They’re the Six Nations champions and we’ve enjoyed a good year, so it’s going to be tough.’
Peter de Villiers has also selected BJ Botha at tighthead and Beast Mtawarira at loosehead after this front-row combination impressed in the closing stages of the Italy Test. De Villiers, however, refused to say whether this combination would be retained in future matches.
‘We now have a lot of options and can opt for a horse for courses approach,’ the Bok coach said. ‘The front row we’ve selected is perfect for how we want to play against Ireland.’
Botha (Ulster), Van der Linde (Leinster) and Jean de Villiers (Munster) all play their club rugby in Ireland, and are included despite the policy that frowns on the selection of overseas-based players.
Peter de Villiers said this stance was relaxed given the number of injuries and the fact that the trio were playing in Ireland.
‘We will always look inside our own country first. If we can’t find someone good enough, only then will we look outside.
‘We are fortunate that Jean was here and thought it would be stupid to fly a replacement out from South Africa. He knows the system and it’s not even three months since he last played for South Africa.’
Other changes to the pack see Danie Rossouw shifted to No 8 in place of Ryan Kankowski while Schalk Burger returns from a rib injury. Bakkies Botha is still battling a back injury but is named in the starting side.
De Villiers said the change at No 8 is down to injury and not because of the physicality Rossouw can bring to the contest.
‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’
Wynand Olivier is preferred in the centres with Jean de Villiers warming the bench. De Villiers was a late replacement for injured centre Adi Jacobs.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Dewald Potgieter, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jean de Villiers.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 26th, 2009 at 4:44 pm
‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’
“MANAGE”, what a nice way of saying dropped.
November 26th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
Barney has got more chance seeing out 80 at hooker than at 3 which is much more demanding…his lineout throwing is a huge bonus… quite frankly if bismark is upset I don’t care ….
grant have you booked us in at nobu yet…don’t forget to make sure that they have the 95 Dom in stock….
November 26th, 2009 at 4:47 pm
@grant10:
I think its a very difficult decision, but probably the correct one from a rugby purity viewpoint, where our best scrumming TH has been selected.
the interesting thing tho is that the irish this year are not renowkned for their scrum, so of all the games to do it, its a strange one.
I thought they were very brave and even silly to select Smit at 3 to begin with, but in retrospect I believe it was alot smarter decision then i gave them credit for. Bismarck is just so important and Smit binds it together – but that was when foreign-based player could not be selected and no local SA TH’s were putting their hands up either – if they now changing policy and CJ and CJ become available that changes the whole dynamic.
November 26th, 2009 at 4:48 pm
Danie will be outplayed by Heaslip – he is probaly in the pub already after hearing the announcement that he is up against a veteran retread no 8.
Schalk will have to move to 8 and then either of the replacement loosies will improve their cap quota by 100% while Kanko is saved for the Super 14. Laughable!!
November 26th, 2009 at 4:48 pm
@cab:
The Paddies play a loose game for a NH side – need some runners too against them to keep em’in check.
November 26th, 2009 at 4:50 pm
Grant: We are really blessed with some excellent loosies but there’s no way in hell they can shine with our pack being driven back. Maybe BJ, and Smit back at 2 could change this.
Just think it would be detrimental to our cause to try and ignore Bismarck’s contrubution this year. Heinrich wasn’t the only one stealing balls, Du Plessis did the same – especially in the Tri Nations.
Why is Teichmann still rated so highly? He was a classic 8, like Morne du Plessis. Potties and Danie do not bring that sort of skill to the table.
November 26th, 2009 at 4:53 pm
@Black and blue: Last paragraph is spot on! Although Potgieter may be there one day, but not Saturday – it’s a gamble.
November 26th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
We have Pote Human first choice and Teichmann being saved for the Currie Cup … it’s classic!
November 26th, 2009 at 4:57 pm
@Black and blue:
the loosies on tour have been part of the problem…
@kevin w:
@gunther: Done boet!
November 26th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
the best loosetrio on this tour imo is:
6. Brussow 7. Deysel 8. Burger
November 26th, 2009 at 5:00 pm
Well done PDV! Great side from what you have to work with.
My confidence just rose.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
@cab: cool….ja…i complained bitterley in the beginning and my objections were based on Os initial view.
At least we know if push comes to shove smit can do a hospital job there….Gunthers post hits nail on head for me….
November 26th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
@cab: and Kankowski on the bench.
Perhaps Snor will introduce Bekker at 8 – boy has got pace nd vision of a loosie and any opposition lineout will be cr@pping themselves with Vic, Bakkies and Bekker lurking!
November 26th, 2009 at 5:03 pm
CAB: What has Burger done on this tour?? He was bumped off twice against France and that’s it. I rate him highly as a player, but he’s no 8.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:04 pm
@Black and blue: interesting perspective….i have felt for Spies and Kanko this year…it hasnt been easy behind that scrum
November 26th, 2009 at 5:08 pm
ya Brussow Deysel Burger would be the way to go Saturday. Not Roussouw. I reckon we got the whole mix wrong from start.
Against France should have played it tight and against Irish loosened up. Not other way round.
Also once Bj tires then Cj has to come on not switch Smit to 3. That would be a mistake. When Bis comes on then Smit will have to go to 1 and Cj to 3.
Pdv reckoned he didn’t need depth at 8 because he’s got Spies and Kanko to call on. Now he finds Watson or Jvn or Vermeulen would have all been far better bets than either those two especially in Nh conditions. Shows how quickly prejudicial blindness can bite you in the ***.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:11 pm
@skopskiet: 100% Skop….my thinking exactly….rather Smit to loosehead….not neccessary to play him at 3 in this set up and bench.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:11 pm
That impact was felt at especially 9 and 10 (especially the France game). Both these chaps were outstanding most of the year, but were really having bad days. Morne’s game against Italy (and France) was close to being a shocker.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:13 pm
@Black and blue:
yeah, Burger had the worst game i have seen in a long time against france, but he’s been off for too long, he was not match-sharp and his lack of timing showed, he still is a class player, i think he’s an ideal 8, esp for NH conditions of away games in NZ.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:14 pm
oh sherbert, there’s no hougaard too! Yippie!!!!!
November 26th, 2009 at 5:15 pm
Very good side!
WO at 12 was the best option. Jean will get a run. Loosies also good. Rossouw at 8 will ensure solid line out ball, and he is the ideal player in a tight, forward orientated game. Best possible frontrow.
To all the guys predicting John’s retirement; he will be the Bok captain in the next WC! Live with it!
November 26th, 2009 at 5:31 pm
i want the boks to moer these paddys, these are the same okes that said in july that they need to release their most hardened criminals and slap a kit on them & put them on the field with only one instruction – “**** up brian habana”. Let’s see now what they have to say!
They wrote that pdv is “defensive, arrogant & paranoid”!!!!!!
November 26th, 2009 at 5:34 pm
@skopskiet:
I disagree. The best way to disrupt the Irish backs is by destroying their forwards. Although not a favourite of mine, I reckon Danie’s power at 8 and lineout skill is our best choice in the conditions anticipated. Schalk was always suspect picking up at the back and in these conditions it’s not going to improve.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:36 pm
@Transformation:
apparently SA has the highest number of psychopathic serial killers per capita anywhere in the world, its not even a close run thing. are you think a jail exchange program?
November 26th, 2009 at 5:37 pm
don’t get what all the drama around Roussow is?
He had an excellent game last weekend.
Deysel is way overrated and Potgieter is by far the more dynamic player.
Kankoski is a little unlucky in my opinion and I do not believe that he has had as bad a tour as many are making out.
1st prize would still be to have Spies availible though.
could be worse, imagine having watson or even vermulean debuting.
November 26th, 2009 at 5:49 pm
Just want to mention what my thoughts are regarding our centres. I feel that JdV is our best 12, and JF our best 13. I think most will agree with that. WO, in my opinion, is a better 13 than 12. He likes to go on his own, and imo not the best distributer of the ball. I think that he should be back-up for Fourie.
Now for 12. Many people will disagree with me on this one, but I would love to see Ruan Pienaar settling in this position. When Francois Steyn was moved to 12 in 2007, I said that he should play at 15, and Pienaar at 12. Ruan is solid on defence, a great distributer of the ball, and he can kick. He should be back-up for Jean.
My 1st 15 and the players that should be on standby:
15) F.Steyn – Z.Kirchner
P.Spies – D.Potgieter
14) JP.Pieterson – Lionel Mapoe
13) J.Fourie – W.Olivier
12) J.de Villiers – R.Pienaar
11) B.Habana – J.Nokwe
10) M.Steyn – W.De Waal
9) F.du Preez – H. Adams
7) J.Smith – J.Deysel
6) H.Brussouw – S.Burger
5) V.Matfield – A.Bekker
4) B.Botha – D.Rossouw
3) BJ.Botha – WP. Nel
2) J.Smit – B.du Plessis
1) B.Maretariwa – W.du Preez
November 26th, 2009 at 5:55 pm
The cynic in me, wanted JDV to jump straight into the starting line up ahead of WO, just so that the Blue Bulls players can start sulking and bitching but more importantly just so that WO can feel how its like to be a black player in SA Rugby.
November 26th, 2009 at 6:01 pm
to carry on the debate whether we should open up Springbok selection to those playing overseas.
Check out rugby365.com. Found these stats of the French Top 14. Quite hectic! Most clubs only averaging about 50-60% home grown talent. Premiership must be on par or worse I reckon.
Club percentages of French players:
Albi: 35/46 = 76%
Bayonne: 22/35 = 63%
Biarritz; 22/38 = 58%
Bourgoin: 25/40 = 62,5%
Brive: 14/36 = 39%
Castres: 28/41 = 68%
Clermont: 20/37 = 54%
Montauban: 22/38 = 58%
Montpellier: 31/45 = 69%
Racing-Mètro: 13/38 = 34%
Stade Français: 23/38 = 61%
Perpignan: 28/40 = 70%
Toulon: 15/44 = 34%
Toulouse: 28/39 = 72%
November 26th, 2009 at 6:03 pm
@Johan Fourie: Jeepers Johan, the fact that Willem De Waal makes your lists makes me wonder what you have been drinking/smoking/main lining?
November 26th, 2009 at 6:03 pm
@Oubaas2009:
all currie cup teams
95% south african with the odd zimbabwean,namibian,american
November 26th, 2009 at 6:05 pm
@XhosaKid: and so two wrongs can make a right. That is a mature way of resolving a problem!
Thing is … Wynand would actually accept that Jean is better, and not feel he actually was previously disadvantaged when he wasn’t.
November 26th, 2009 at 6:07 pm
@mbaxman93: and don’t forget the Lions. They now have an Egyptian!
November 26th, 2009 at 6:08 pm
@Oubaas2009: Consider populations, sports prefernces etc. A stat will always just be a … stat! Interpreted to suit the person putting it ot there.
SA probably has more home grown footballers in their premier league than Englan does. Who has a problem?
November 26th, 2009 at 6:16 pm
Good team. Pleased that WO gets in ahead of JdV even if I think JdV is a better player. WO is staying in SA and will be playing rugby here. So that is fair. Just pleased to see JdV as back up there what a relief.
Would have had Burger on the bench and Deysel to start. If Burger gets a yellow and puts pressure on the team we will struggle. Brussow as not as affective with Burger next to him against France. Also think Deysel fetches and will take some load off of Brussow. See Potties on the bench probably there to cover Danie and Deysel to cover Burger.
Pleased that Bakkies made the team and not injured.
Go Bokke.
November 26th, 2009 at 6:22 pm
@Johan Fourie: 178 – Johan, Good team that and also your 2nd team should probably have been the Dirt Tracker team to travel. We probably would have won both those club games. Will go as far to say we would have won both those club games. Your test side we probably would have beaten France too.
November 26th, 2009 at 6:35 pm
@kevin w: yeah right I’m sure he would…
Anyway, as I had sad, the cynic in me
November 26th, 2009 at 6:42 pm
@Oubaas2009: Wie anders het ons op loskakel? Daar is ‘n paar jongmanne wat deurkom, maar is hulle reg vir toets rugby? Moet net nie Peter Grant voorstel nie asb!
November 26th, 2009 at 6:52 pm
@Puma: Puma, you are a Shark man. What do you think of Ruan at 12? I know everyone is shunting the poor guy around, and that he said that he preferres to play 9.
November 26th, 2009 at 6:55 pm
@XhosaKid: Kill that cynic in you quickly! It is like a cancer! Get rid of it!
November 26th, 2009 at 7:06 pm
@Johan Fourie: no Joha. Will never work….he is a 9….and doesent want to play 10….mention 12 Ruan will blow a gaskett!
November 26th, 2009 at 7:08 pm
Thank you God.
On Thanksgiving Day we get a great Bok team. Run On & Bench.
November 26th, 2009 at 7:12 pm
@SodaJoe: LOL
November 26th, 2009 at 7:14 pm
@SodaJoe:
don’t choke on your turkey…
November 26th, 2009 at 7:20 pm
I reckon this will be the last game for Wynand in a springbok jumper. Don’t get me wrong i think the kid is talented.Its just that he had countless opportunities but never grabbed it with both hands(excuse the pun). He simply isn’t international rugby material. Its all fine and good hiding behind a strong bulls foward game plan but he can’t expect Matfield and co to do 50% of his work for him. I feel this is the biggest mistake the sprongbok brains trust has made. This is an important game because the winner here gets team of the year. Our chances of winning just took a major dive………i feel for Kanko though, he is an excellent impact player.
November 26th, 2009 at 7:23 pm
@gunther: Shunts. Here’s the truth. I dig Thanksgiving – in a totally overblown commercial universe where Halloween is the second biggest retail “holiday”- TG is just a great quiet time. Where I can blog with impunity.
But the bigger thing is this – I truly hate Turkey. Honestly. Overrated.
But I dig a dop.
As you know.
So some good rooi wyn and I am good to go.
And this is a great team, honestly, Boks by 8.
November 26th, 2009 at 7:24 pm
@puma: ok good enough Wynand stayed in Sa. It’s only because He never got a decent offer from europe. Jean left because the offer was good and because He is the best. Its no need to make emotional decisions. Jean deserved to play this year out because of his loyalty to wp and the stormers this year.
November 26th, 2009 at 7:26 pm
@XhosaKid: ha ha ha ha ha…well to be fair, i think meisiekind has been a quota before, all of the first 20 oh his Tests.
November 26th, 2009 at 7:26 pm
Danie at 8. Finally I get what i want