Smit starts at hooker
John Smit will revert to his strongest position this Saturday while the uncapped Dewald Potgieter has been named on the bench.
Smit played down the shift when probed on the matter. On a tour marred by poor scrumming and front-row injuries, the Springboks have lost Gurthro Steenkamp, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis and most recently Adriaan Strauss. Bismarck du Plessis has had a rib concern, while CJ van der Linde has just recovered from a hamstring ailment.
The string of injuries sees Smit reverting to the position where many experts, including former team-mate Os du Randt, feel he’s best.
‘It’s been awhile since I’ve played hooker – I think my last start was in the Super 14. Hopefully it’s just like riding a bicycle,’ Smit told keo.co.za.
‘It’s going to be an epic Test. They’re the Six Nations champions and we’ve enjoyed a good year, so it’s going to be tough.’
Peter de Villiers has also selected BJ Botha at tighthead and Beast Mtawarira at loosehead after this front-row combination impressed in the closing stages of the Italy Test. De Villiers, however, refused to say whether this combination would be retained in future matches.
‘We now have a lot of options and can opt for a horse for courses approach,’ the Bok coach said. ‘The front row we’ve selected is perfect for how we want to play against Ireland.’
Botha (Ulster), Van der Linde (Leinster) and Jean de Villiers (Munster) all play their club rugby in Ireland, and are included despite the policy that frowns on the selection of overseas-based players.
Peter de Villiers said this stance was relaxed given the number of injuries and the fact that the trio were playing in Ireland.
‘We will always look inside our own country first. If we can’t find someone good enough, only then will we look outside.
‘We are fortunate that Jean was here and thought it would be stupid to fly a replacement out from South Africa. He knows the system and it’s not even three months since he last played for South Africa.’
Other changes to the pack see Danie Rossouw shifted to No 8 in place of Ryan Kankowski while Schalk Burger returns from a rib injury. Bakkies Botha is still battling a back injury but is named in the starting side.
De Villiers said the change at No 8 is down to injury and not because of the physicality Rossouw can bring to the contest.
‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’
Wynand Olivier is preferred in the centres with Jean de Villiers warming the bench. De Villiers was a late replacement for injured centre Adi Jacobs.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Dewald Potgieter, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jean de Villiers.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 26th, 2009 at 8:12 pm
@Wezwp: Like I’ve said, I think WO is a better 13, he needs a JdV on his inside to create play. Not all 12’s can play 10, and visa versa. But it it helps if you can play both positions.
Examples in SA:
Hennie le Roux
Henry Honiball
Michael du Plessis
Meyer Bosman
Peter Grant
Morne Steyn
Just to mention a few.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:14 pm
Yeah i think he will be excellent at 13.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:15 pm
@Wezwp: yes….but on the heavy NH fields i wouldnt mind having F Steyn,, also the odd long penalty or drop kick can win a test there
November 26th, 2009 at 8:15 pm
@Johan Fourie: #228
They must thank their lucky stars they’re not black otherwise they would never have reached 20 test caps.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:17 pm
The long penalty yes the long drop kicks no. We all know he only lands 3 out of ten long range drop kicks. Lets leave that to Morné.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:20 pm
Who is the most capped black players in Sa with exception of Habana and Paulse.?
November 26th, 2009 at 8:21 pm
Big whoop
why’s Jean on the bench?
November 26th, 2009 at 8:22 pm
@grant10: fransie is having his hair done by those french lasses & eaning his millions, no need to disturb him…plus we won in perth without him.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:22 pm
Because he wasnt loyal to wp Sarah.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:23 pm
@nama1: I was merely responding to the statement that WO was a quota. According to the definition that is. I dont care about colour. Best must play, coaches make mistakes.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:23 pm
@Wezwp: Ricky, Bolla, Chester I think.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:24 pm
Cheers all!
November 26th, 2009 at 8:25 pm
@Transformation: Always rated the kid….i know he is an erratic bugger….but hell at 22 he is a legend already……
Cool kid….will come back from France an even better rounded player…Cape Town awaits….
@SpringbokSarah: The only reason is because he only joined the team yesterday.
@Johan Fourie: cheers
November 26th, 2009 at 8:26 pm
@grant10: #247
“and would come home if they could secure Bok and provincial contracts”
If one of their prerequisites for coming back is a Bok contract, they can stay right where they are, thank you.
We’ll nurture these youngsters coming through and in two years time everybody will ask, who the hell are BJ and CJ?
November 26th, 2009 at 8:26 pm
@grant10: Agree, apart from the Cape Town thing that is.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:29 pm
@nama1: obviously its a financial consideration for them as well?
I know CJ was offered one last year ….not sure about BJ…..
Lets see…personally i want the best back in SA if possible….wish a load would come home to strenthen our super 14 squads….i can tell you the lions are awaiting some negotiations…..a lot can happen prior to Jan 13 when the super 14 squads need to be finalised. Personally i reckon some shocks coming!
November 26th, 2009 at 8:33 pm
my philosophy in rugby is always to get the maximum momentum through the back line in a crisp attack mode game plan. Chuck the kicking game for when you seriously desperate on defense only.
Last year I would have played Grant at 10 long before Butch James and I would have stuck with January ahead of Fdp and I’m willing to put my head and maybe even something else on the block that we would have done far better in the 3N perhaps even won it instead of coming stone last.
If you want momentum through the backs you need fast crisp service from base of scrum. Someone like Adams or S. Pretorius to get the ball away to fly half at speed. Then you need a fly half hitting that adv line at pace or running a line like Carter does or Giteau / Larkham used to do. Or crash it up like Henry Honiball did or Jdv does.
The silky slick running fly half ala Carter / Larkham is Pienaar. The crash ball bust it up hard running fly half ala Henry Honiball is Peter Grant. The deep in the pocket kick metronome ala Nasty Botha / Andrew Mehrtens / Mauger / Catt is Morne Steyn.
Morne Steyn got far more guts in the tackle and on the crash ball than Pienaar and he’s got a boot to get out of trouble if required. He’d make a far better harder running and safer option on defense than R. Pienaar, also Pienaar is much quicker off the mark and a far more creative intuitive running back.
It stands to perfect reason for me to get the best of both worlds is have M. Steyn at 12 or 15 and Pienaar it 10. Would work a treat and Pienaar would never have the spectre of goal kicking hanging over his head with Steyn on the field.
Jacque Fourie is a hard running finisher for 13 or 14. Juan De Jongh is creative in the gap smelling genre similar to Gerber and Jacobs and a perfect 13 but could very well develop into a good 12 if honed there but would have to learn to distribute more.
A great back line if played consistently and molded into a well drilled team would be
S. Pretorius / Hougaard
Pienaar
Habana / Mapoe
M. Steyn
De Jongh
Fourie / JPP
F. Steyn / Viljoen / Kirchner
I still would always play Pienaar at 10 and M. Steyn 12 and not the other way round for both attacking and defensive reasons.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:43 pm
Skop, agree fully. I also want Ruan at 10 and believe me PDV will stick with him there. End of the day the Boks call you, you farkin answer the call!
November 26th, 2009 at 8:43 pm
@skopskiet: Skop…conceptually a Pienaar at 10 and M S at 12 has merit….the fly in the ointment is the players head space…..i assure you that Ruan made it plain to Plumtree it was 9 at Sharks or he wanted out……thats a fact skop…..you can bank that…..
M S has already played at 12 for Bulls….and ….imo….a far better prospect at 12 than Pienaar…..who already has kop issues…..imagine another move for him???
And with the 2 of them at different provinces it makes it even more difficult.
Realistically i just dont see Sharks risking a RP move to 10 after he made his wishes crystal clear.
And would the Bulls be prepared to shunt there idol around to 12? I dont think so.
I know you a huge R P at 10 fan….but Ruans biggest enemy is his own mind Skop….until he can clear the cobwebs he remains a bit of an enigma….
The Saracens 1 st half was a reminder to me of what a talent he is…..but it seems he is headstrong and wants the 9 jersey at all costs, even if it means missing out on the Bok 10 spot.
November 26th, 2009 at 8:48 pm
Hiyas Grant, the wise one! Hows your fanclub coming along?
November 26th, 2009 at 8:54 pm
@Slappes: Wise and Grant seldom make the same sentence!!
Going to watch the game sat at Firemans with Justrugby…..pop in for a pint or 3??
November 26th, 2009 at 8:59 pm
Grant sounds good, just have to sort some biz – will let you know tomorrow. ps you have been making the right calls regarding the boks the WHOLE FARKIN SEASON!
November 26th, 2009 at 8:59 pm
Pienaar must simply get his No. 9 fragile head sorted. He’s about the 4th or 5th rated scrum half in the country. If I’m Pdv I tell him Ruan my boy its 10 or F’all so get your head around it. The Saracens game plus the first Lions game were swinging along at close to perfection while Adams or Fdp were providing fast efficient service and Pienaar was able to relish the extra time and space. He’s a natural gifted intuitive running back not a scrum half. S. Pretorius is a scrum half, Adams is a scrum half. Vermaak is a scrum half. Hougaard is a scrum half similar to Fdp who is more like a fly half than scrum half but he’s developed his 9 game for our kicking style. Pienaar is a 10. Could play 15 or 12 but don’t have the balls for it. But he can certainly become a great 10 though only a mediocre 9.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:01 pm
@grant10: all ruan needs is to go to the bush & get circumcised. It worked for gcobani bobo!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:03 pm
@Slappes: A lot of bloggers been calling for the same changes i have…Soda Joe…Justrugby…Robzim…Skop….
Seems the Cape Town boys got the brains…..Soda must have roots here…LOL
Cool…let me know….will be a jorl….big screens and Bosuns Bitter!!!
Bobs yout aunt!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:04 pm
@SodaJoe:
If you mean Ruan’s start in 15 in 3N, I’ve got my own theory why he wasn’t interested to play there. Remember it was taken from Frans his best buddy so Ruan didn,t want his job . To all accounts he even asked himself for not being considered in 15 in the last test in favour for Frans. That’s why Fransie could step in and kicked these missiles . I don’t know if Ruan were equally disinterested in 15 now but we’ll never know as the position was given do Kirchner.
I do agree Ruan should move overaseas though just now not after world cup. In these cirmcunstances he has no much to lose.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:04 pm
@Transformation: LOL…
Classic!!!
Fark me …is that the problem…snip that foreskin Ruan…win us the WC again!!!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:05 pm
@Johan Fourie: #260
I was referring to your post (228) that states that WO has not step up yet and that it took F. du Preez “a good 20 test matches before he really settled in at the Boks.”
I know that you don’t care about colour. Most on this blog don’t.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:06 pm
@skopskiet: aye
November 26th, 2009 at 9:07 pm
The odds are 10:11 for Ireland.
I’ll go with it, although Joh Hayes must be licking his lips
November 26th, 2009 at 9:08 pm
The way MS gone off the boil…maybe Ruan will be kicking himself! But i have a feeling MS will have a big one Sat…..
I tell you, this is a moer of a Bok lineup….if this was the middle of the season…fark me….Ireland would be dead and buried….
Throw F Steyn, Juan Smith, Spies into that mix….strongest Bok team i have ever seen i reckon….seriously!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:11 pm
Ruan must stick at fly half and become the player he’s cut out to be. He’ll get all the backing from coach. M. Steyn would work well with him in tandem at 12.
In no time at all we could develop a back line that could be devastating if we got Morne off fly half where he stifles the momentum and into 12 where he don’t have to think all that much and just run pass tackle or kick in dire circumstances only.
S. Pretorius
Pienaar
Mapoe – Habana
M. Steyn
De Jongh
Fourie – JPP
Kirchner – Viljoen – F. Steyn
That back line would cook with some serious gas. At pace and momentum to spare.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:12 pm
@grant10: Bloody hell. Against France his service was **** behind a back-pedaling pack but he took his points and was ok in a kak team overall.
Against Italy he did not come to grips with the Mitre ball, but neither did his counterpart. His service was much better.
Morne Steyn has not let the Boks down, and more than once saved our arse.
Off the boil? Have to disagree. At his best – probably not, but his best is fkn good.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:14 pm
@skopskiet: Honestly, the team for Saturday right now is pretty much as good as we have. Juan Smith only guy missing.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:17 pm
@SodaJoe: agree…should have put compared to his walk on water season….quite right….i consider myself reprimanded….he certainly has been a revelation….ice in them\ veins.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:17 pm
@SodaJoe:
amen to that nobody likes that mitre ball not even the italian kickers..
November 26th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
Grant yeah I know the other guys also called it BUT you were going insane! Transformation
uRuan Pienaar!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
@SodaJoe: Soda…whats your take on the Smit / Bissy dilemma?
November 26th, 2009 at 9:20 pm
@SodaJoe:
and Frans at 15………
@Slappes: only because it was damn pretty obvious….and hell i hate seeing a Bok scrum go in reverse….wont say turbo reverse because Gunther gets upset with me…LOL
@SodaJoe:
and frans steyn!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:21 pm
@grant10: LOL.
Brussow & M. Steyn changed PdV’s team to be the best in the world.
Re post 286. With F. Steyn at 15 and Juan Smith at 7 and Spies at 8. That’s our best team.
Fok. Spies behind a power pack, eish – dynamite. Glad he’s resting at home.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:22 pm
i would love to see Spies and Brussow behind a dominant bok scrummaging effort….hell man i reckon that will be a sight to behold!!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:23 pm
@grant10: I think Biz is jaded. He’s bloody good. He needs a rest.
We have this phobia about losing Smitty, but if deemed essential Smit must play 2, he’s a kak 3.
@gunther: @whatever: snap.
eish, forgot about Spies. Think Dannie is over the hill now, keeps losing the ball in the tackle…….nice little flick last week-end but thats where it ends for me.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:24 pm
Morne Steyn was a revelation – farkin icecold, nerves of steel, lethal boot.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:26 pm
You Oke’s still can’t see the writing on the wall Fdp and M. Steyn is not God’s gift to our back line woes, just prolonging the agony. Far too predictable, far too one dimensional. You want a back line that creates some action then get M. Steyn out of 10. Great Bmt great composure under pressure great courage and stern defensive capacity. Top rate goal kicker 2nd to none, but a stifler of our back line momentum, far too one dimensional to ever be really truly great distributing running 10. I wonder why we always go for this safety first conservative option in our rugby thinking, that alone is the real staller in the development in our game.