Smit starts at hooker
John Smit will revert to his strongest position this Saturday while the uncapped Dewald Potgieter has been named on the bench.
Smit played down the shift when probed on the matter. On a tour marred by poor scrumming and front-row injuries, the Springboks have lost Gurthro Steenkamp, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis and most recently Adriaan Strauss. Bismarck du Plessis has had a rib concern, while CJ van der Linde has just recovered from a hamstring ailment.
The string of injuries sees Smit reverting to the position where many experts, including former team-mate Os du Randt, feel he’s best.
‘It’s been awhile since I’ve played hooker – I think my last start was in the Super 14. Hopefully it’s just like riding a bicycle,’ Smit told keo.co.za.
‘It’s going to be an epic Test. They’re the Six Nations champions and we’ve enjoyed a good year, so it’s going to be tough.’
Peter de Villiers has also selected BJ Botha at tighthead and Beast Mtawarira at loosehead after this front-row combination impressed in the closing stages of the Italy Test. De Villiers, however, refused to say whether this combination would be retained in future matches.
‘We now have a lot of options and can opt for a horse for courses approach,’ the Bok coach said. ‘The front row we’ve selected is perfect for how we want to play against Ireland.’
Botha (Ulster), Van der Linde (Leinster) and Jean de Villiers (Munster) all play their club rugby in Ireland, and are included despite the policy that frowns on the selection of overseas-based players.
Peter de Villiers said this stance was relaxed given the number of injuries and the fact that the trio were playing in Ireland.
‘We will always look inside our own country first. If we can’t find someone good enough, only then will we look outside.
‘We are fortunate that Jean was here and thought it would be stupid to fly a replacement out from South Africa. He knows the system and it’s not even three months since he last played for South Africa.’
Other changes to the pack see Danie Rossouw shifted to No 8 in place of Ryan Kankowski while Schalk Burger returns from a rib injury. Bakkies Botha is still battling a back injury but is named in the starting side.
De Villiers said the change at No 8 is down to injury and not because of the physicality Rossouw can bring to the contest.
‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’
Wynand Olivier is preferred in the centres with Jean de Villiers warming the bench. De Villiers was a late replacement for injured centre Adi Jacobs.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Dewald Potgieter, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jean de Villiers.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 26th, 2009 at 9:55 pm
@SodaJoe:
and andre venter…if you could bottle what it is to b a bok…it would have his picture on it…
November 26th, 2009 at 9:55 pm
Lynagh may have been a kicking fly to an extent but a thinking creative genius putting Campese away with a deft cross kick or Horan – Little away with some clever creative running lines. He may have been a clever kicking strategist but certainly wasn’t one dimensional by any stretch of the imagination.
November 26th, 2009 at 9:57 pm
@gunther: But how do you give back the burned out carcass?
November 26th, 2009 at 9:58 pm
@SodaJoe: seriously soda….in 2007 i wasnt on this site yet….but i swear when he made that comeback i had tears in my eyes….what a player …and the guts to come back after 3 years….great stuff.
I saw all those okes you mention….couldnt lace Bobs boots….he glided, was so talented he made the game look easy….the Barry Richards of rugby….!
November 26th, 2009 at 9:58 pm
@SodaJoe:
you need to take out the “all risks” insurance package ….
November 26th, 2009 at 10:00 pm
@grant10:
those other guys walked the walk…bob is about what should have been sadly…
November 26th, 2009 at 10:01 pm
@gunther: Juan Smith
1. Os
2. Smit
3. Bands
4. Matfield
5. Bakkies
6. Ruben Krugerand
7. Juan Smith
8. Teichmann
9. FdP
10. Honiball
11. Habs
12. Hennie Le Roux
13. Jacque Fourie
14. James Small
15. Jouba
November 26th, 2009 at 10:02 pm
@gunther: aye
November 26th, 2009 at 10:03 pm
@SodaJoe: But we would have to score plensch tries coz none of dose fkers can kick!
November 26th, 2009 at 10:04 pm
@grant10: Stood proud, as a man.
Inspirational. I got on the elliptical machine for a week.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:04 pm
@SodaJoe:
that team would have scored more than a few…
November 26th, 2009 at 10:07 pm
@gunther: Imagine lining up with Lem & Hennie opposite you. Those okes could bruise you just by looking.
Need a lot of extra magic water I think.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:09 pm
@SodaJoe:
Good argument Soda
November 26th, 2009 at 10:10 pm
@SodaJoe: Soda….Lions will do some hectic recruiting….expect some big announcements over next month i reckon.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:11 pm
richard bands just dissapeared…pity.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:12 pm
@whatever: Boet I wish I knew which post you were commenting on?
November 26th, 2009 at 10:13 pm
bloody turks nailed my man u boys last nite….blondes ex rubbing it in ….swine.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:13 pm
@grant10: Yup. Almost building a team from scratch. Going to be tough. Especially with the geniuses in the back office.
Whatever happened to Bands? Great tighthead prop, and as well know fast fkr too.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:14 pm
Roy….whats the deal with the numbers boet?
Someone out there??
Fix it please.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:14 pm
@grant10: Start supporting the White Rose. Nothing good ever came from the Red Rose – just mercenaries.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:15 pm
@SodaJoe: will never forget a Bands tackle on Mc Caw at loftus….early in game…all over rover…mc caw off…bulls won!
November 26th, 2009 at 10:16 pm
@SodaJoe: didnt know who those mercenaries were last nite masquerading as Man U….
November 26th, 2009 at 10:16 pm
@grant10: In those days I never worried about #3. These past 2 years have been lousy. ‘Til last Saturday.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:17 pm
Okay gents….chers all
Outta here
November 26th, 2009 at 10:17 pm
@grant10: Leeds Leeds Leeds. Marching On Together. We are on the road back.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:18 pm
@SodaJoe: amen….best news ever…my kingdom for a 3 has been answered….xmas come early….
PDV …thanks…
November 26th, 2009 at 10:18 pm
@grant10: Night bud. Good chatting. I am going to read a book.
See you all through the window.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:19 pm
@SodaJoe: would love to have Leeds back in the premier….
November 26th, 2009 at 10:19 pm
My god how is Pienaar still in the team? Call up Brent Russel who is in spectacular form
November 26th, 2009 at 10:21 pm
So you all happy with the team for Saturday?
I would have started with Deysel and Burger on the bench.
Pleased that JdV is back even if he is on the bench. Also pleased to see D. Potgieter making the bench. Deserves to be there too. Just happy to see Bakkies there was worried he may not have made it with that back injury.
Going to be tough. Hope no rain but that wont happen. Looks like rain and plenty wind for the game.
Still Boks will win this one. Boks by 5. If we had started with this team against France think we would have won.
November 26th, 2009 at 10:46 pm
watching re-union right now.
they start off by saying all blacks are fatigued despite having a 6 week break before the eoyt.
6 weeks!!!!!
soooo….waka (a.k.a. bullshit bertie 11) is talking ****.
ab’s didn’t have the same workload as the boks before this tour.
the chop has been found out again.
haha
November 27th, 2009 at 3:24 am
Hi guys I am really worried about the loose forwards
Brussow (who is a star) is fine but am a worried about Skalk and Danie.
I am concerend about Brussow battling on his own at the breakdown.
Anyone else worried?
November 27th, 2009 at 3:26 am
I would have had Dysel and Potgieter with Brussow starting Danie and Skalk on bench
November 27th, 2009 at 5:23 am
@CoachPete:
Not really, although Spies would have been the preferred option Danie suits the wet and miserable weather of the NH. Burger just needs to work on his technique in tackling, he is still everywhere though.
Against the french, you had Botha and Matfield off for most of the game, meaning BEKKER and KANKOWSKI were both standing in the backline doing nothing. Basically 6 Bok forwards against 8 Frenchies.
November 27th, 2009 at 5:37 am
@charo:
No suprise there. Once a dooooos always a doooos, ne?
November 27th, 2009 at 6:27 am
‘Kanko got a bump against Italy and we’ve decided to manage him,’ said De Villiers, even though Kankowski trained with the Boks on Thursday. ‘It’s going to be a tough Super 14 so we have to think of the player as well.’
LOL..what load BS!
Kanko was dropped
November 27th, 2009 at 7:30 am
This a very good team with the best balance I’ve seen in a while.
Watch the scrummaging of the Boks this weekend! I predict a huge difference.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:24 am
@CoachPete: me as well Coach….that would have been my combo…
November 27th, 2009 at 8:29 am
@CoachPete:
@grant10:
I think starting with 2 novices in the loose trio would’ve been asking for trouble. Especially in the conditions where experience will be vital.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:35 am
@skopskiet: Before we dim the lights what was their record like ? Nothing on our current squad let me tell you. Also Joost didnt pass, either broke round the side or kicked ahead.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:36 am
What has Deysel done to warrant all the hype that want people starting him ahead of Schalk ?? Schalk has maybe not been at his best but the guy has 54 test caps to Deysels 1, we are playing Ireland in a huge crunch match, these games require every bit of experience available.
Schalk is better than Deysel in all aspects plus you have the bonus of the experience.
Good for Deysel that he is on the bench, personally I would have preferred a Vermuelen or a Alberts there as I believe they give you more options.
Deysel did not exactly have a stellar year, yes a few very good games, was poor in the latter part of the CC.
I have no major problem with him on the bench, but people calling for him to start ahead of Schalk are either Shark supporters or just don’t like the Schalk, but from a rugby viewpoint I cannot think of any reasoon that he should start ahead of Schalk.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:41 am
@justrugby:
Yip, fair comment. There is a fair amount of Shark blindness shall we say
November 27th, 2009 at 8:44 am
@CoachPete: Could be the Boks are using the French approach in using bigger fwds to blast the smaller Irish forwards off the ball. I would not have started Shalk and I hope John gives him a good talking to because every Irish player will be giving him some.
Lets see how we go, Dewald is not a fetcher either but a good mix of both.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:46 am
@David: yes…point taken…i would have deliberated long and hard though. Still not convinced Schalk has done enough….but he knows he is under pressure…so lets see.
I would love him to be a success at 7….will assist Stormers as well.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:49 am
@justrugby: Hi boet
Fair comment….Schalk will be under pressure to deliver…and may respond as we all know he can….as i said, i would have deliberated long and hard….but the experience factor is a very true reason to select him.
But its delivery time Schalk.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:50 am
@justrugby: what time is kick off tomorrow?
November 27th, 2009 at 8:56 am
@grant10:
Bigger issue for me on Sat is WO slotting in with Jaque, if there is any misunderstanding in that midfield we will be exposed, both very good players but have not had the chance to gel an understanding….might bite us in the ***.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:57 am
Listen to Bob on the radio this morning, looks like it will be a dry afternoon at Croke park, cold but dry !!
November 27th, 2009 at 8:59 am
@grant10:
4.30pm
November 27th, 2009 at 9:03 am
Smitty can’t prop a scrum for toffee.