Preview: Ireland vs Springboks
Keo.co.za analyses the key match-ups and picks a winner at Croke Park.
The Boks began the week as underdogs but then Ireland coach Declan Kidney did a curious thing. It was a big call to favour greenhorn Jonny Sexton over veteran Ronan O’Gara, and it’s a call he may live to regret.
Sexton’s celebrated as a playmaker while O’Gara’s at his best when his boot does the talking. His accurate goal-kicking under pressure would’ve been invaluable in such a close contest, and his tactical kicking could’ve been decisive in the big battle for territory.
Forget the woulds and the coulds, because ROG’s contribution will be limited to the second half. As it stands, the Boks will target Sexton, as the one-cap wonder is the least experienced player in an otherwise star-studded backline.
South Africa will look to Fourie du Preez and Morne Steyn for territorial dominance, but if they’re going to play the game in Irish territory the visiting forwards need to front. There are a few factors that suggest the Boks may win the forward battle for the first time on their five-game tour.
Beast Mtawarira, John Smit and BJ Botha finished in the front row against Italy as the Bok scrum produced an encouraging performance in the final stages. Botha will target Cian Healy, who was the weak link against Australia. Healy delivered a memorable showing in the loose, but was hammered in the scrums. In striving for front-foot ball, the Boks will be gunning for the Irish loosehead.
Victor Matfield had the better of the British & Irish Lions at the lineout earlier this year, and this dominance is set to continue. Paul O’Connell is no world-beater while it’s a mystery to everybody including the local reporters how Donncha O’Callaghan still commands a starting place.
The Boks also have Smit back at hooker, so the South African captain will resume his World Cup-winning lineout partnership with Matfield, Bakkies Botha and Danie Rossouw at the tail. Andries Bekker has enjoyed a great tour thus far, and will ensure this dominance continues when he joins the fray.
Peter de Villiers has finally chopped No 8 Ryan Kankowski in favour of the more powerful and physical Rossouw. The Bulls utility forward packed at No 8 during the Boks’ World Cup campaign, and proved a nightmare for defenders around the fringes and off the back of the scrum. If the Bok scrum gets the upper hand, this belligerent Bull will keep the visitors moving forward.
De Villiers has also got the balance of the back row right in selecting Rossouw, Schalk Burger and Heinrich Brussow. The Lions paid the price for not fielding a fetcher in the first two Tests, and Ireland have similarly opted for three ball-carrying back-rowers. South Africa have a ball-stealing specialist in Brussow and in Burger another player capable of disrupting the opposition at the breakdown. It’s a crucial partnership, and one that will slow and render the dangerous Irish attack impotent.
Defence is going to be so crucial with the Irish boasting line-breakers of Brian O’Driscoll’s quality. Adi Jacobs’ injury was a godsend for the Boks who will now field a midfield combination capable of repelling such a surge. Jean de Villiers should also make his mark in the second half, and despite the long season and talk of fatigue, the Boks have the bench to maintain an 80-minute effort.
Ireland are at home and have the brisk and blustery conditions in their favour, but the recent events could work to the Boks’ advantage. Most view the French defeat as a wake-up call, while some of the players have spoken off the record about the Irish scalp as one the Boks desperately want to capture. It would be a fitting end to a magnificent year.
It’s going to be an absorbing clash between two sides with contrasting styles, but you can’t help but feel the Boks have one match-winning performance left in them.
Prediction: Boks by 5
Ireland – 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (c), 12 Paddy Wallace, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Tomas O’Leary, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 David Wallace, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Paul O’Connell, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 John Hayes, 2 Jerry Flannery, 1 Cian Healy.
Subs: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Tony Buckley, 18 Leo Cullen, 19 Sean O’Brien, 20 Peter Stringer, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Gordon D’Arcy.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Dewald Potgieter, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jean de Villiers.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 27th, 2009 at 5:26 am
Bok dragons by 1!
November 27th, 2009 at 5:28 am
Two very good teams. Both champions of their respected hemispheres. Its gonna be a cracker.
I still feel C.J. VanDerLinde should start before Mtawarira. Also why not play Jean Deysel at 8 which is his original position he played at the Lions before moving to Kankowski land ^^
In my opinion Potgietor is a surprise selection on the bench.
November 27th, 2009 at 5:44 am
The winner will be whichever team is able to maintain their intensity in the last 20 minutes.
I’m encouraged in that we finally have a bench with quality options throughout, which will be essential in this regard.
It seems like the minds are willing and lets just hope the bodies follow.
November 27th, 2009 at 5:53 am
@Karma-zaf: Nothing wrong with this side, Potgieter definitely deserves to be there. He has proven himself over and over.
A few surprises on the Irish side I must admit. That number 20-22 isn’t in the starting line up remains a mystery to me, but it might play in favour of the Boks.
That said, I don’t see the Boks winning this game. Not wanting to be negative, but the Irish just have something else at home. Thank feathers the game is not a Landsdown Road, that would’ve been a disaster. It’s like the Bulls playing at Loftus.
Well, I’m having a beer so long!!
)
November 27th, 2009 at 6:50 am
the best lineup PDV has put out this year.
Maku, Chillyboy, Devon selections a joke
November 27th, 2009 at 6:53 am
Do the Boks have one more game in them this year? It is debatable. I think the move of JS to hooker is good for now, but I guess the majority of people will question whether it is the best thing for the Boks in the long run (as in till 2011)
I’m a massive JS fan, so for me it’s pretty simple. Bismarck, wait your turn on the bench and PdV go and find us some props my friend.
November 27th, 2009 at 6:57 am
@Karma-zaf: Isn’t Beast a loose-head and CJ a tight-head?
November 27th, 2009 at 7:00 am
go bokke!!!!
November 27th, 2009 at 7:10 am
at the beginign of the week I was worried but now I feel we can win this last one. Come JS do you thing rally the troops. Also need our centres to prove my theroy that BOD is way overated! Boks by 7 at least. We will be too physical for them. This is one of the most physical packs we can put on the filed. PDV obviously beleives that we need to outmuscle them. I agree
can’t wait
November 27th, 2009 at 7:22 am
in PdV we trust!!
November 27th, 2009 at 7:22 am
Only thing I am worried about is the ref.
November 27th, 2009 at 7:29 am
Thats almost a perfect team, only way it could have been better was if Deysel was starting, we had a decent fullback and Pienaar wasn´t there.
November 27th, 2009 at 7:30 am
Just hope Bakkies’ back holds out for at least 60 mins as we’ll be in serious kak with Victor and Andries at lock for any length of time.
November 27th, 2009 at 7:51 am
Keo clan still rejoicing in Adi Jacobs’ injury, what a same…Stuff that, I had the oppertunity to see Jacobs lastnite at our club’s pre-season training session, what a moment, so much kuddo’s for a player that does not forget his roots
November 27th, 2009 at 7:54 am
Beast looked very up for it when he came on last week. Couldnt quite make out what he said to Castro tho!
November 27th, 2009 at 7:57 am
@Charlie: Agree with you, now lets see what a guy who took 26 tests to make any impact at Green and gold level can do in his 27th attempt
Then I read on the Sharksworld that they (Sharks fans) whant Bissie to leave!! Its a Brad Barritt, Frans Steyn situation, let them go and then gnashing of teeth when you realise that the players you are left with are nowhere near the class you allowed to leave
November 27th, 2009 at 8:02 am
@Lions_Soutie: Beast is a very good player and he does not mind putting in the hard work. He was really exhausted and that is why he had a bit of a dip in form towards the end of this season. He will be up for this game! Oh but then the masses here will say its because John will be scrummaging all on his own at hooker and holding Beast and BJ up
November 27th, 2009 at 8:03 am
@kesbok:
I don’t know what your theory about BOD is based on, but it’s contrary to what the rest of the worlds pundits believe.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:12 am
Good team, if we can dominate scrums then is all over as the boks don’t lack anything in this team bar a great boot at the back. If Smith, Spies, F Steyn were playing then I would say it was a done deal that SA would win as there would just be to much for the Irish.
Bok advantages:
Lineout, kicking (SH & FH), rucks (Brussouw)
Irish advantages:
Backline, fielding kicks (Kearney), kicking from the back (Kearney)
To be decided on the field:
Scrums, tackle point dominance and decisions of the ref.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:17 am
is it not wonderful to see the hunted become the hunter!
Now we can target opposition scrums….instead of everytime a ref called a scrum i had to reach for a calmette….or a beer!!
November 27th, 2009 at 8:18 am
@Karma-zaf:
Springboks aren’t just the champions of the South, they are Champions of the World. We must not forget that. When it comes down to it, we win those big competitions while Ireland don’t even make the quarters, hey.
Our bench is much stronger than the Tri-nations bench, but our starting 15 is weakened by the losses of all world class players in Frans, Juan, Spies. Jdv not starting also weakens.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:24 am
83000 shouting the combined Irish provinces anthem should be quite something. Hope our boys will be up for it!
November 27th, 2009 at 8:25 am
@grant10:
November 27th, 2009 at 8:28 am
@greatest13gerber:
Man, waar val jy uit, my ou vriend.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:31 am
Breaking news
Bakkies couldnt train and is still in doubt for game.
A Bekker will move to lock off bench….and Kanko will be put in reserves…if Bakkies cant make it.
Damn
November 27th, 2009 at 8:35 am
Need Bakkies for this one!
November 27th, 2009 at 8:36 am
@grant10:
Where do you hear these things? where is your source?
November 27th, 2009 at 8:39 am
@grant10: I’m afraid the Bok’s chances have taken a major turn for the worse with that news.
Especially when you consider Bissy is out as well, we’re going to be well short of mongrel.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:41 am
@grant10: @Kobus Kitty: news 24
November 27th, 2009 at 8:42 am
@WestAussieBok: lets hope he will be ok….back problem,and he couldnt train Thursday.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:43 am
@Sharksgirl: how do u make that devil sign?
November 27th, 2009 at 8:44 am
have heard rumours that bakkies injury isnt entirely healed
nt likely to make it passed 50 minutes
November 27th, 2009 at 8:47 am
@Papoose: You put : then in write evil and close with : no spaces in between and all in lower case
“Champions of the World”? Bowled out by not one but two English CLUB teams?
Puh-leeze! Chumpions, more likely.
I hope for a win , but these guys are realy tired. Hope we can finish the year on a high ! Go bokke !
@grant10: u r the one my friend
the hunted have become the hunters!!!!
November 27th, 2009 at 8:49 am
November 27th, 2009 at 8:50 am
@TheTackler:
And what are the All Blacks then? 3-0
November 27th, 2009 at 8:51 am
@grant10:
You must have a different version to the one I’m looking at, I can’t find any mention.
Besides, it doesn’t make sense to add another loosie to replace Bekker on the bench, only if Danie moved to lock to replace Bakkies.
Not saying I don’t believe you, but the whole thing seems a bit strange.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:52 am
@TheTackler: concern yourself with the Frogs perhaps??
November 27th, 2009 at 8:53 am
@David: just read it….i went through a few sites…will check again David..
November 27th, 2009 at 8:55 am
@Papoose:
November 27th, 2009 at 8:55 am
news 24…’Smit its like riding a bike’
JJ Haarmse column David
November 27th, 2009 at 8:57 am
@grant10: i dont see anything there
news24
November 27th, 2009 at 8:57 am
@TheTackler: pls go away
we dont need ur ilk here as we’re trying to have rugby discussions
November 27th, 2009 at 9:00 am
@Papoose: see post 43 boet
November 27th, 2009 at 9:00 am
@grant10: i see it now
but that story is from last night
we’ll just have to wait and see
November 27th, 2009 at 9:02 am
@grant10: 3 loosies on the bench is just stupid. I mean I know Danie will move to cover lock – instead of Kanko? Schalk instead Deysel. So who will Potgieter come on for? Brussow will be a huge asset and normally lasts the full 80. Potgieter should have never been selected. Blue eyed blue bull over-rated by our “3rd force” chumps leading SA rugby behind the scenes! The fact that Kanko is being considered shows you how political his choice was. Kind of like Maku and Chilliboy. Whenever the 1st line goes back-up comes in and leap frogs them. Pottie is a quota selection.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:03 am
@Papoose:
You know I do not believe that the Tackler is even in NZ, I am sure he is sitting somewhere in Onderbroekiespruit causing kak, because what else is there to do ?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:04 am
@grant10:
Thanks. It still seems strange to include Kanko, unless they’d intend moving Danie to lock at some stage, or start him on the bench. The only other reason I can think of is that either Schalk is’nt really fit and they want extra loosie cover when he’s replaced earlier than usual or they intend moving Schalk to 6 at some point and need extra bench cover if he gets injured. All in all a strange decision if true.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:05 am
@tackler lol, have u been watching rigby this year?
@kesbok: Yoh, you din’t know what you talking about. Have you bothered to watch BoD?
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
I’d play him ahead of Deysel any day of the week !!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:08 am
@Kobus Kitty: The ABs didn’t lose to any old slap-and-tickle, bit-of-a-giggle midweek club B team. They lost 3x to the world champions. No shame in that, is there?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:09 am
@Francois Pienaar: Eleanor?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:11 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Hey….thats the post 2011 Bok captain you slandering there.
Great player Dewalt….in my book a gifted 7 or 8….
Deysel is playing well too…..
But Dewalt is superb….The Crown Price.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:12 am
@TheTackler: Don’t you mean the world “chumpions”?
@justrugby: Of course you would. Wet soggy conditions of the NH. He is a rag doll.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:13 am
@Sonito:
Think we all are. Finally we get a good team selected and we have a rubbish ref for this game. Just have to hope.
@TheTackler:
You contradict yourself so many times its ridiculous. Go into your “paddock” and do what you do best to sheep.
@David: yeah….leave Brussow for 80….he can steal a vital ball in the 79th minute with the boks ahead by 1 point!!!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:14 am
@TheTackler: Grudging admiration from the Tackler…you getting soft boet?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:15 am
pdv has told dewalt to bulk up, he rates him higher than deysel but deysel shows more brute the moment, if dewalt can add that to his game, bob’ s your aunt…
November 27th, 2009 at 9:16 am
@grant10: Well you give the current captain such a tough time! Lol. No ways Ratel should be groomed for captaincy post 2011. Intelligent chap and deals with the press well. Leads from the front too. Pottie as discussed is nowhere near the best 7 or 8 in the country. Quota of note, the possible selection of 3 loosie on bench, just highlights this. If the game is close and no real injuries in last 20. Pottie will remain justly uncapped.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:18 am
all you bloggers calling for deysel rather than schalk should remember one thing.
this is a big test match.
it is not italy or all blacks.
we need experience first.
the lighties can come on later
November 27th, 2009 at 9:18 am
@Transformation: If only it was that easy. Look at the body shape between Deysel and Pottie.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:20 am
@charo:
Now here is a sensible blogger, who sees green and gold first…..the way it should be !!!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:20 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): i never ever gave smitty a hard time….i gave a hooker unfairly pushed to tighthead a hard time because he couldnt hold up the scrum!
Smit at 2 i support 1000000%%%
Big difference.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:21 am
@Papoose: Thought as much. Was worried about that. Should NEVER play with a back injury NEVER. Not even a slight niggle there. It could cost us huge if that becomes a very serious injury after this game. We need Bakkies for 2010 and 2011.
Bakkies if you injured mate. Take care of your back first before the team. I will become life long pain if you don’t. We need Bakkies for 2010 and 2011. LOOK after him. Don’t play him with a back injury it will be the most stupid thing to do. Even if we have to lose. Save Bakkies back and our enforcer for the big games next year and the world cup 2011.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:22 am
I menat It.
@Transformation:
Agree !!!
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): with the amount of rotation that will be done leading up to 2011 i believe Dewalt will play at 8 for boks occassionally….perhaps even captain the Boks too….
All conjecture….as i say…time will tell….
He is a lot better than what you ate saying though….
lol ratel
loo pottie is a very good player but he reminds me a little of keegan daniel
huge talent and both punch way above their weight
pottie better defender and keegan has talents like a backline player etc
but when its a huge pack you playing against you need the rossouws , alberts , deysels smiths etc
to me you should have a combo od deysel brussow and alberts up north
down in sa spies would replace alberts
of course smith could also replace deysel
one thing for sure though is SA| has great loose forwards
November 27th, 2009 at 9:23 am
69 – sorry not a good morning this..hehe. menat = meant
November 27th, 2009 at 9:23 am
@charo: We’ve got 633 caps in the starting 15, surely we can leave 54 of them on the bench and play a form youngster?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:25 am
if pottie bulked up he wont be the same player
again same as keegan daniel , they get around with speed and play with a lot of heart
fact is deysel is a 7 and pottie more a 8
and also nowhere has pdv said he rates pottie higher then deysel
November 27th, 2009 at 9:26 am
@sharks_lover: We do have great loose forwards. In this game I would have started with Deysel.
How fit is Burger? Also gives away far too many panalties and the Irish are just waiting for him.
Now read that Bakkies may not start. If he has a back injury he must just rather look after if even if it means we lose our enforcer for this game. Too much to risk playing with a back injury. Should have had Sykes to take over from Bakkies and not Bekker. Although Bekker has being playing really well on this tour.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:26 am
Deysel’s time will come. Let Schalk play for now.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:27 am
@justrugby: he is actually such a nuisance and even by putting this down we are giving him the airtime he desperately wants
we should just ignore him
November 27th, 2009 at 9:27 am
ratel i tend to agree with charo
let burger hit them hard and make them sore , then deysel to hit the nails into the coffen with pottie commin on at 8thman and running some amock
November 27th, 2009 at 9:28 am
@grant10: Yup, probably – just like Chilli a quota bok captain!
By the way I support JS no matter what. Bulls used to say he should be dropped for Gary Botha, now people criticise him at TH. The man is a legend and MUST remain on the field, where-ever till 2011. Then he can retire like you say he should. When Bissie up his form (best hooker in the world), people will question him at hooker again. He’ll switch to TH and I’ll still support him.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:28 am
@Puma: gm puma bro
schalk will be fine puma , that oke has hardly ever had a bad game in a bok jersey
deysel is learning a lot from his time now with the boks
November 27th, 2009 at 9:29 am
The Boks are in a great place right now; being able to debate close to ten 10 GREAT loose forwards. On the day any one of those gents could get a man of the match award and turn a game on its head. The envy of the world right now
November 27th, 2009 at 9:29 am
@Puma:
I was also not convinced that Bakkies would make it, I said as much to G10, what worried me was that if Bakkies could not make it and they left JS at 3, we would struggle.
The fact that they have Smittie at 2 and BJ at 3 , gives us the option of allowing Bakkies not to play and rather let him sort his back out.
Last week when BJ came on, Vic and Andries were the lock combination and we did alright.
I agree with you ,don’t risk a long term injury Bakkies !!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:30 am
@sharks_lover: Potties is there to cover for Danie for sure. Just think Burger will cost us. Has to be very disciplined for this game. Well at least Deysel is on the bench. Great player to have there. Also pleased we have JdV on the bench too.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:30 am
@Sonito: #11
We have not lost a test with that ref…yet.
Ireland 21- 34 Boks
November 27th, 2009 at 9:31 am
Quick question; why are some of the top guys agreeing to play a Barbarians game? Surely the risk of injury and the already mentioned fatigue issue should have seen these guys rather going home and getting some rest before starting off with their respective S14 unions?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:32 am
@sharks_lover:
I am impressed with the level headed thinking !!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:33 am
@Puma Think Burger will get a bit of a boo’ing at Croke part for his part in the eye gouging incident during the B&I Lions tour?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:33 am
The more worrying issue is: who do we replace Bakkies with?
That man’s frame can only take so much rugby still.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:34 am
@Transformation: where do u guys get all this inside info from?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:34 am
@WP Till I Die: Not necessarily, he’s not the darling of SA rugby like Pottie. He has had to do everything the hard way (not even selected in original 37!). We have great loosies and with Juan Smith returning and if Vermuelen returns to form not to mention Burger, Deysel may never get a chance to start again. He deserves to be given his oppertunity. He has outplayed SB consistently for 18 months.
@sharks_lover: Ya like Burger made the Frenchies sore? All I saw of him was bouncing off tackles and losing possession. The only person he made sore was Ratel when he tried to rip his head-off at a maul, must be eyeing his 6 jersey. Don’t even talk about that ridiculous off-side.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:35 am
@Transformation: where do u guys get all this inside info from?@charo: hahha
i love how you say its not Italy or the All Blacks
hahahaha
LMAO
tackler must be the moer in
November 27th, 2009 at 9:35 am
@justrugby: I know all about back problems JR. Nothing worse pain wise. Just not worth it to play this game. We need Bakkies and he must rest that back. Otherwise it will be life long pain. We need him for the bigger games next year and world cup.
Just knew he would not be ready for this game. When they had his name announced yesterday just thought to myself hope he is not going to play with a back injury even just a niggle could cause serious problems later in life. Not worth it.
We have enough cover like you say.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:36 am
Watch this space boys, Rossouw to have a BIG game. Up north on the heavy playing fields he is a great 8th man (WC final and his try scoring tackle?)
November 27th, 2009 at 9:37 am
@Richie_7: Try SAVING tackle*
November 27th, 2009 at 9:37 am
I watched Boots ‘n All last night and the interview with Pdivvy and Jon Smit concerned me quite a lot. The body language from Smitty was atrocious. He really looked like a little kid who had been told he wasn’t getting an ice cream and when Jon Robbie had the temerity to probe his switch back to hooker I thought he was gonna blow big time.
I think Jon and Pieter have had a lovers quarrel and it wouldn’t surprise me if we hear something very soon.
Of course it couldve just been the Brandy!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:38 am
@Richie_7: Should have started with Deysel. I know I would have. Burger going to be a marke man not just with the players but the ref. Deysel is a superb blindside. Now hoping he does get a chance to come on. Think Potties is on the bench to cover Danie and Deysel to cover for Burger. Well that is my feeling. Not sure.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:38 am
@sharks_lover: Schalk has started 3 games this year. 2 of them have been unadulterated shockers!!! Lions 2nd test and France.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:40 am
@Puma:
How’s your back, I remember you debating whether to have an op or not. I will always look to avoid the knife, sometimes only solution though.
Anyway I hope you are pain free !!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:40 am
@sharks_lover: lol
how parochial of you…pipe down ol’ snorre! Dewalt is the future…
November 27th, 2009 at 9:41 am
Guys I am teeing it up at Mowbray in a while, need to go get things done ………
May the boys make us all proud !!!!!!!
G10 see you at 3.30pm tomorrow !!!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:41 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): i dont share the blind loyalty you do….its pro sport….loyalty selection makes one weak….
Smit has all the attributes to fight off the contenders at hooker
At tighthead he is up a river with no paddle.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:42 am
@DEE DAH: Dee Dah there was a time delay there. You could hardly see their faces. So not sure about that. Could hardly hear them speak because of that.
@justrugby: heeeeehaaaaaaaaa
Enjoy champion!
@grant10: There are no contenders at 3 in SA.
@Papoose:
It’s called an open secret…
November 27th, 2009 at 9:43 am
Boks will klap the Irish by 12.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:46 am
@justrugby: No was going for a spinal block a week ago, but my surgeon changed his mind and said he was going in to just kill off 3 nerves there. I just had other thoughts and never went back
My GP had something similar done and he can not feel his legs now. Will just wait until next year and live with this pain. I have had it for so long another month to see another surgeon in Joburg will be fine.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:47 am
Play Danie at 4 and bring back Kanko at 8…. keep Deysel and Pottie on the bench with Bekker.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:48 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): ****….WP Nel….Buys….and CJ and BJ will be back by May nest year….
November 27th, 2009 at 9:51 am
beautiful day here in Clifton…..ideal for newlands cricket
November 27th, 2009 at 9:51 am
@DEE DAH: #96
Hopefully it’s just the brandy that made you see things that’s not there.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:52 am
@Papoose:
papoose #92
ja, that was a stinky sardine left in the water in case a few kiwi blaasoppies were swimming around..lol
November 27th, 2009 at 9:52 am
@Papoose: you need to lace yourself with Twitter Pap…plus DP is a “friend” on Facebook
November 27th, 2009 at 9:53 am
PDV is the Boks Boss….no one else…
About time he started stamping his authority.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:53 am
Saturday is not going to be pretty. It’s going to be attritional, forward-dominated, bash ‘em up rugby.
Typical Springbok rugby.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:55 am
@DEE DAH: Very interesting insights there
trouble could be brewing
hey
saw heini adams in Pta yesterday
had a cast on..had an interesting chat abt the tour and dirt tracker games
November 27th, 2009 at 9:58 am
@grant10: Well that is good news. Now hope we win the toss. Those that bat first there have a better chance to win.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:59 am
@bananas: that move would be an insult to bekker
they played well last 20mins against Italy without bakkies and that front row
lets nt worry too much
Bokke by 8
November 27th, 2009 at 10:00 am
@nama1:
November 27th, 2009 at 10:00 am
@grant10:
@grant10 115
is tht response in connection to the boots and all interview?
November 27th, 2009 at 10:05 am
@Puma: yes….i amy go for the 1 st innings….got a dinner at 7 so might pop out just for 1 st knock…
November 27th, 2009 at 10:05 am
@Papoose: yes….never saw it….did you?
If so what is your impression?
November 27th, 2009 at 10:06 am
Would like to see some tries by the backs from set piece play.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:06 am
@WP Till I Die: going to the Firemans to watch??
November 27th, 2009 at 10:10 am
@grant10: Hope we in the toss.
@grant10: Grant I saw it and it was such a bad feed. You could hardly see their faces and could hardly hear them speak. They I think could not hear what was said from Randburg. So nothing much into that interview. They looked uncomfortable because they could not hear much. Some questions had to be repeated to John and PdV. Think that is it. Nothing happening there. Bad feed not able to hear and guys in the studio could not hear either very well or see them. The feed to them was jumping about all the time so you could hard see or hear the. That is my take. They had a laugh at one stage between each other. Just a bad feed mate.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:12 am
@Puma: thanks Puma
November 27th, 2009 at 10:12 am
@winger: Wont see much of that I think in the weather they going to play in. Rain and very strong winds predicted.
We just need to win by one even if it is a boring kicking game I don’t care just win it.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:13 am
@grant10: Well that was my take on it.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:15 am
i reckon D Muir must be having lots of clandestine meetings on this tour….Lions need players!!
November 27th, 2009 at 10:18 am
@grant10:
At Synergy music festival this weekend…
November 27th, 2009 at 10:19 am
@grant10: He will be for sure.
Actually would like to see a strong Lions side again. SA needs all their S14 sides to be strong. Better for Bok rugby in the end.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:20 am
@WP Till I Die: cool!!
November 27th, 2009 at 10:21 am
@Puma: agree
November 27th, 2009 at 10:26 am
@Puma
Also true. I reckon long-distance territorial kicks will have to be spot on. It will also be crucial to slow down Irish recycle at the breakdown.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:36 am
@winger: Agree. We do have Brussow there but for me I would have had Deysel too. Burger must just not give away any penalties or get a yellow. That will put us on the back foot. Think he will be marked from the start. By players and ref.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:39 am
Just reading on News24. They calling this a “mini world cup” Why?
Is it because they are 6 nations champs and us Tri-Nations champs? Must be, but really a to go as far as calling it a mini world is a laugh actually. It is just another test.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:41 am
Brussow has to play for 80min. Potgieter and Deysel can add a lot of value in cleaning rucks and as ball carriers in these weather conditions. They both have good work rates.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:43 am
@Puma: And the fact that we actually are THE WORLD CHAMPIONS. Stupid Irish journos!!
November 27th, 2009 at 10:44 am
Tomorrow is going to be brutal, that is for sure.
I expect a lot of niggle.
November 27th, 2009 at 10:45 am
I see there is yet another Irish priest *** scandal…
November 27th, 2009 at 10:54 am
@Kritik: 139 – Exactly. Such so stupid to bill it like that. Maybe playing mind games with us. Putting pressure on the Boks who knows. For us it is just another test.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:02 am
If there is any bad blood,itl be because of Paddy o Brien and his chommie RoG.The boks will have one foot on the plane(its a new-age rugby playing phenomenon,even on such short tours,bring back the bloody ships I say)but obviously cos BJ is there we will be going forward,FACT.Whether we drive the ball up at 4km/hr or 2 doesnt really bother me,if anything Id prefer the 2 option,cos Ill be savouring the destruction.Go Bokke
November 27th, 2009 at 11:06 am
Very conservative score prediction.
I reckon the Boks are up for this one and it’ll be a hiding. Let’s shut those Irish whingers up once and for all.
Go Bokke!!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:09 am
@WP Till I Die:
Babes
What has happened in your life that a music festival takes precedence over two brilliant international rugby test matches.
Pray tell.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:11 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @Transformation: @Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
You must be either a very bitter person or a total idiot- and then again you might just be one of those blindly loyal fools who can’t see his arse from his elbow. Take the Italy game. He made two tackles, missed four, made two attempts at winning ball in the tackle, pulled off two cleans. To his credit he won a penalty with one of his attempted steals and made one yard if that in the carry. But that was it in 30 minutes.
Yes it was his debut, but he was hardly showering himself in glory. Now most of us around here would accept that for starters, but you make it seem asif he was Superman, the Incredible Hulk and the Fantastic Seven all rolled-into one.
Now the honest truth is this: Looking to the future, if Deysel picks up 1 kg he will be overweight, while Dewald could comfortably add 6 to 8 kgs to his frame without making a dent in his speed. Deysel is two years older than Pottie, which is a huge window at that age, and as it is Pottie already has the jump on him in every department except bulk, and he has a much higher workrate. Now if you were Snorre what would you do?
For your info, Pottie is on the bench according to PdV because Kanko is experiencing headaches due to a bump on the head. If Bakkies can’t play due to his back and Kanko is then brought in as cover for him in spite of his headaches, then surely PdV will only expose Kanko to having to play if it really necessary, and play Pottie as was his original plan. So stop arguing like a child and get past your bias.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:16 am
@catleya: Who are the fantastic Seven?
I’ve heard of the Fanatstic Four & the Magnificent Seven.
Cowboys with super powers perhaps?
November 27th, 2009 at 11:16 am
@Dawn:
I’ll still be watching the rugby!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:20 am
Bakkies didn’t train yesterday because he looked out of his hotel room saw it was raining and threw a paddy……!!!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:21 am
The Irish man survived but Bakkies tweaked his back again!!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:25 am
Quiet here, I will go and read John Smits “Twitter”…….
Will tell you if there are any ‘juicy’ bits!!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:26 am
@carol: Morning Carol, Why you at home at this hour?
If Bakkies still has that back injury he must not play rather rest it. Danie will have to move to 4 and maybe Burger to 8 and Deysel to 7. Or Potties to 8 and Deysel on bench to cover for Burger. We have enough cover on the bench we should be fine but will miss our enforcer for sure.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:30 am
@catleya: But then we all know you view every game through blue tinted glasses. Deysel made an impact when he came on and it was immediately evident. Having said that I would also play him off the bench, you need experience on the parck. Potgieter was anonymous in the Saracens and Leicester games, his work rate is good granted but then so is that of Jacques Botes and Keegan Daniel yet they are not on tour.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:33 am
Are SA/Ire and AB/Eng at the same time?
Do I have to PVR?
November 27th, 2009 at 11:34 am
@Sharksgirl: Not to mention in both games against the Sharks in CC.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:36 am
@Puma: Hi Puma – Bit of overtime to use up….!!
I bet Bakkies will play and think I have got two months to get my back sorted!!
He is probably swallowing Nurofens as we speak!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:37 am
@Dawn: The all blacks are playing France, not England, and no. The matches are not at the same time. Boks play at 14H30, Aussies//Wales at 17H10 I think and the All Blacks at 19H15 I think.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:37 am
Hi Dawn, hate to tell you – If you were hoping to see AB v England you missed it!! Last weekend…..
It is France v AB on Saturday!!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:38 am
@rossoneri: That was quick!!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:45 am
I hope Healy really steps up in the Scrum this Sat otherwise we’re going to get mullered, saying that Healy has faced Botha many times in the past. In fact Botha said Healy gave him his hardest game last season. I also have no idea how Sexton will handle this game but I suppose that’s why I love this game.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:47 am
If Bakkies can’t start, I’d rather move Pakslae Russouw to lock, Move Schalk to no 8, Move Deysel to 7 and Bring Kanko onto the bench…
November 27th, 2009 at 11:51 am
@carol: Thank you.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:51 am
Sheesh!
Honest mistake!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:57 am
@Dawn: I think your mind was on ‘higher’ matters!!
November 27th, 2009 at 11:57 am
@Dawn: What did you think of John Smit this morning on Blitz in the extra extra extra Large tights.
November 27th, 2009 at 12:00 pm
@Kietzphat: #161
Bekker was very good during the tour. He deserves to start in place of Bakkies if Bakkies can’t play.
November 27th, 2009 at 12:05 pm
@justrugby: I wonder if Deysel is another Sharks player to get dcked around by the Bok management just like Kanko. Watch him leave for overseas next year. Thanks PdV!
November 27th, 2009 at 12:09 pm
Boks by 5. Brave call by Keo. Going to be a miracle if we come out with a victory. The Irish are desperate to prove something after the Lions tour and they will play their hearts out. Watch for lots of off the ball stuff. I’d be amazed if there isn’t any bad blood after this game regardless of the result. Not meaning to be negative but can see another embarrassment for the Boks on the horizon. I hope I’m wrong!
November 27th, 2009 at 12:24 pm
-http://www.sportsmarketingsurveys.co.za/genericsurvey.aspx?id=61
November 27th, 2009 at 12:26 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Kanko hasn’t been messed around, he’s just been **** in every game he’s played for the boks. He has his opportunity and didn’t seize it, if he leaves it’s no real loss, except for the sharks.
November 27th, 2009 at 12:33 pm
@Dawn: spending to many hours in harrington street again?
November 27th, 2009 at 12:44 pm
@Charlie: Hey Charlie, what does not forgetting your roots, in the case of Adi Jacobs, have to do with either missing tackles or, more often, not staying in your channel and leaving a gap the size of the QEII to sail through?
November 27th, 2009 at 12:49 pm
@Valkyrie:
I know no such place.
November 27th, 2009 at 12:50 pm
@goyougoodthing2: Charlie don’t fall for it. Let this oke carry on with his nonsense, if BOD runs rings around anyone or falls off a tackle like Schalk against the Frogs then he will have nothing bad to say. He will just look for the good things these guys did…dont even know why I am bothering…ezilayti maziyokunya!!
November 27th, 2009 at 1:26 pm
Anyone know who’s reffing this game?
November 27th, 2009 at 1:31 pm
@Yetirat: I think its Nigel owen
November 27th, 2009 at 1:36 pm
@Sharksgirl:
Oh dear…
I’m not a homophobe and I don’t hate everything in the Northen Hemisphere but Nigel Owens is definitely not going to help our cause on Saturday. He can be very pedantic at times.
November 27th, 2009 at 1:50 pm
PEOPLE LISTEN TO ME FOR I BRING A GREAT PROPHECY….
1.) After the Fiji game I sat watching this Sexton play. I watched many of his moves, frame by frame.
I realise his weakness.
He is not so strong going backwards.
IT IS UP TO OUR LOOSIE BOYS TO SMASH HIM FASTER.
LIKE A JACKAL CATCHES A DOVE WE MUST BE FASTER.
2.) We have the right team now. Our wonderful coach never makes a mistake when the big game comes. We as the public must do more to support our coach Pete. He is brilliant.
3.) Never mind the conditions. We must run and run hard at the Irishmen. All year they have been playing fat men . They must know our name.
4.) Pienaar ahead of Rose on the bench is a great injustice .
November 27th, 2009 at 1:53 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Kanko has not delivered this tour, he has had long enough. Time for Alberts ..
November 27th, 2009 at 1:59 pm
@bananas: Yes sir. Kanko is only good for super 14 . No pedigree for internationals. Alberts will be our Chabal.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:07 pm
@Sharksgirl: And so us as Pottie fans must simply sit and listen to the rattlenakes ranting and raving without so much as a word? Get a life and take off them black and white Raybans of yours, mrs D.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:16 pm
@catleya: Actually that is NOT what I am saying at ALL! Actually while I am not exactly a Pottie fan, I recognise that one day he will be a great! What I WAS trying to say was that unlike your statement Deysel did make an impact when he came on, suddenly the Boks were breaking the advantage line and getting go forward ball. THis was also Deysel’s first outing at test level. Pottie did not have as grand a first outing in green and gold, as you were suggesting in your post, that is ALL I was trying to say. Not that Pottie is not a good player. What I am saying is you should be careful not to look at EVERY player that is NOT wearing Blue as not quite good enough. Had you been arguing Pottie/Spies vs Kanko, as much as my heart would be sore and I would want to bite my tongue I would have agreed with you. So maybe we should both take our provincial glasses off.
And since you know who I am, are you who I suspect you are? Don’t whant to write it publicly incase you do not whant to.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:20 pm
@Sharksgirl: was meant to add that the last bit about Botes and Keegan was just a knee jerck reaction to your post, this was then meant to be followed by the bit about the taking off of provincial glasses. I type faster than my brain thinks
November 27th, 2009 at 2:23 pm
I seriously doubt there will be any untoward stuff in this game. Lots of BS from the hacks in IRE and SA. If there will be blood it’ll be from hard play from both teams. I fully expect no shenanigans.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:23 pm
Hi to all you bulls fans and non bulls fans out there i have been offline for a while due to some technical problems,but they are sorted out now,firstly i want to congratulate everyone at loftus for a job well done for the bulls to win the super14 for a second time was brilliant,but to win the currie cup as well in the same season and become the FIRST SA TEAM to do so was the icing on cake for all bulls fans,to describe that feeling only BULLS fans will know how SWEET the taste of victory is that is something all you non bulls losers have never tasted and maybe never will,but the BULLS have done it and that can NEVER be taken away from them,onto the boks tomorrow i hope they play good rugby and win well and they now have a chance that bunny jacobs and giraffe beker are not playing as they are bloody useless.Who is going to replace matfield and botha when they retire beker and hargreaves i think not and as for jacobs he is a just a joke.MEI BLOED IS BLOU.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:25 pm
@catleya: Pottie has enough fans in high places. He’s got SARU to fight his battles.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:25 pm
@Sharksgirl: No I’m not what you think I am. So let’s agree to disagree.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:26 pm
@catleya: BTW Stegman deserves to be on that bench MUCH more than Pottie. No provincialism, just over-ratednism.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:29 pm
@blueboy:
And your Brain is non-existent!
Bekker has had a coming of age tour thus far. he has arguably out played the MAN himself Vic
November 27th, 2009 at 2:29 pm
@blueboy: Bekker’s stakes are rising. He will one day fill Victor’s size 16s.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:30 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Probably because they, unlike you, can see what they have in him. And in any case, I’m actually being silly even acknowledging you by my responses because who cares what you think. I certainly don’t. As for Sharksgirl, she came up for you and if she can’t take the heat she should stay out of the kitchen. Seems all you Sharks okes suddenly have an axe to grind with Pottie. He must be chaffing some touchy souls up the wrong way.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:31 pm
@rugbygenius:
Sorry but for me Albert is a Lock. He is to slow and not creative enough to be a great 8th man. Vermeulen will be a great back-up to Spies!
November 27th, 2009 at 2:32 pm
Have to point out that Dewald Potgieter is being groomed as the next captain. And far from anonymous on the field. I don’t think so, he has a high work rate, but it is expected that sharks supporters have a disdained view of bulls players
November 27th, 2009 at 2:33 pm
@catleya: Ya, I’m against quotas in sport. Players should have to EARN their jersey.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:34 pm
Im a province man, and i will admit Pottie has impressed me throughout the year, but he has not had the greatest of end of year tours! Just my 2c worth.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:34 pm
@rossoneri: ur times are GMT
in SA we are GMT +2 hrs
November 27th, 2009 at 2:35 pm
@Partizan: Not at all. Spies is a maturing into a great 8th man and Stegman deserves to be back-up 6. The only problem I have is with Pottie himself, he’s a good player who gives his all, but hardly the best we have to choose from.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:37 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
If Stegman is the next best after Brussouw then SA is definately lacking in the No 6 department!!!!
November 27th, 2009 at 2:37 pm
@Cereal Killa 77: He’s more suited to harder fields, but even at home the bok 7 jersey should be kept away from that guy. We have brilliant 7s in this country, its just unlucky for him.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:39 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: ur blind sharks loyalty is clouding ur judgement
some players just dont step up when given the opportunity
i dont think we’ve seen a forward play that badly in a bok jersey,against france, in like forever
u cant blame PdV for that
November 27th, 2009 at 2:40 pm
@catleya: I think you misread my post. You called me by my name so I have an idea of WHO you may be, so was just asking you whether you are that Bulls suporter who used to on ocasion blog on the Sharks site, and with whom I used to on ocasion exchange emails. I was not calling you names, just don’t know if that person is you whether you would appreciate me putting that name on this forum. I was not trying to call you names or insinuate anything else.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:42 pm
@Cereal Killa 77: Whateva, the guy has had 2 good seasons. Did you watch the final of the CC? If Pottie wants to make the boks he should convert himself to a fetcher. I would still prefer Stegman though.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:43 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
I can kinda agree. He is not GREAT in any 1 position, but very good in all 3. Good benchwarmer i guess then.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:43 pm
@Papoose: Schalk also had a nightmare.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:44 pm
@Cereal Killa 77: Ya exactly. Great 6,7 and 8 at provincial level, but nowhere near Bok level in any of them.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:46 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Did you ever stop to think that that guy was down to play 7 with Brussow and was called on to move to cover six at number 99. ait is a totally different game, especially from a timing point of view. Instead of aqcknowledgingh that the guy has great allround cappabilities as a loosie you choose to slate him .
Our problem seems to be this- there is the Sharks way and the rest of the world and if you don’t conform to the Sharks way you get slated. I know Brussow is a Cheetah, but your heart is eating **** to lure him there.
November 27th, 2009 at 2:46 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Just proving the point that we are in serious need of some more fetchers in this country!
Stegman is a really poor mans Brussouw! Doesnt get trhough half as much work as the brussel sprout. defense not in the same league and with ball in hand is nowhere near brussouw!!!
November 27th, 2009 at 2:48 pm
@catleya:
Actually there seems to be a WP way a Bulls way aa Sharks way a Free State way and well i guess a Griquas way!!
November 27th, 2009 at 2:49 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Agreed he is not Bok starting material……..YET!
November 27th, 2009 at 3:02 pm
@catleya: In the midweek game Deysel wore the 6 jersey, Pottie the 7. So surely Deysel could cover 6, also Schalk could move to 6 too? Not sure what you are on about. I rate Stegman and he is BB. I also think Botes and Daniel are not in the same league. Again, I fail to see your point about being a shark. I have a problem with the fact that some players just seem to walk into the national set-up, in this case because he interviews well, while others have to sweat blood to get in and have to utilise every opportunity, cause one bad game will be their end (ie Morne Steyn, Ratel and Deysel). Kanko blew his numerous chances and must now prove himself again in the S14.
November 27th, 2009 at 3:11 pm
Nobody argues that Brussow is special, but the the time will come when the opposition will realize that to counter him is not that difficult. They will start to focus on playing him off his feet as he arrives at the ruck, which will negate his fetching abilities to a large extent. Once this happens consistently, what will happen next? Are you gonna turn on him? It is better to find a foil for him to play from- to create variation in our loose playing style, not to place one guy on a pedestal and base everything on him. What if he gets injured. Does that mean we have to reinvent the wheel in a week.
No, it is far better to create variation and diversity in our playing patterns. You don’t do that by having a lot of Brussow clones or a lot of big bungling loosies who all try to carry the ball that yard too far and lose it in the process. Why not carry as far as you can, control it, retain it, set up again and play from there.
November 27th, 2009 at 3:20 pm
@catleya: Stegman should be getting groomed for when Ratel gets injured. Not sure, quality fetchers are that easy to negate. Anyway any player that requires special attention opens the game up for our devastating ball carriers of which Pottie is not one.
November 27th, 2009 at 3:21 pm
My 2 cents worth on the loosies….
6…Fetchers….IN ORDER….Brussow….Watson….Steggmann
7 Juan Smith…Deysel…Schalk
8 Spies….Dewalt Kanko.
For me DEwalt is the most dynamic, all rounded loose forward in the country…wish he was a WP 8 th man with Watson gone….
Imo he iis a very ,very good 7…but his skill set is s o awesome it lends to an 8 th man.
Deysels bulk makes , perhaps, for a stronger ball cerrier, although in the SH conditions i may still prefer Dewalt.
Dewalt will leead the senior Boks next year, Smit will be rested at times, as well Matfield.
Personally Deysel and Dewalt 2 good players….
But overall Dewalt has a wider range of attributes.
PS
Schalk is never ever never a 6!!!!
Dammit …thats like calling Smit a world class 3,,,,,
it simply is not true!
November 27th, 2009 at 3:25 pm
@grant10: Ya, I would go along with that, although where do you rate Vermuelen and Alberts in all that.
November 27th, 2009 at 3:27 pm
Just had a damn good laugh at the “over to Hugh” interview with PDV on news24. He asks Pieter about the team spirit and he replies “these boys are tight man, like brothers from different mothers. All for one and none for Luke Watson”. Thats hard on LW I know but a bloody funny chirp. He also refers to Schalk “i’m looking for my goggles” Burger.
November 27th, 2009 at 3:28 pm
@grant10:
Would have Vermeulen somewhere in that mix also
When Schalk came onto the scene he was devistating at the breakdown, for a good couple of years. He was a true (SA) #6. He seems to have lost his effectivness (doesnt get the turnovers he used to)and teams have worked him out….just like they might do with Brussel Sprout over the coming years.
Schalk has a bit of a problem now as he is not specialising in any particular position.
In otherwords he is in the same boat as Dewalt. Very good in any of the positions but truely great in none!!
November 27th, 2009 at 3:28 pm
Why is EVERYONE BEING SO TECHNICAL TODAY !!!!!!!!!
It’s FRIDAY FFS!
November 27th, 2009 at 3:30 pm
@grant10:
“6…Fetchers….IN ORDER….Brussow….Watson….Steggmann
7 Juan Smith…Deysel…Schalk
8 Spies….Dewalt Kanko.
Agree 100% with you here.
November 27th, 2009 at 3:31 pm
@Dawn:
lol, yeah i guess you right
So we gonna bliksem them 2morrow, celebrate with a couple/10 cold ones and a lekka steak and boerie
November 27th, 2009 at 3:36 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): let them have a big super 14 next year….again a horses for courses….conditions very nb….Kanko and Spies i may not play in NH on a wet track….
Lots of very good talent!!
November 27th, 2009 at 3:38 pm
off to cricket…cheers!
November 27th, 2009 at 3:47 pm
@Cereal Killa 77: Schalk broke his neck. Not the same player. Still good. **** he is a legend, most would have NEVER returned. A true warrior. Time for the new boys though.
November 27th, 2009 at 4:09 pm
Bakkies OUT!!!!!!!? Withdrawn….
November 27th, 2009 at 4:16 pm
@Bellboy: Says who? where?
November 27th, 2009 at 4:21 pm
Me- here….
On Die Burger website- of all places!
November 27th, 2009 at 4:25 pm
@Bellboy: Of all places? My china, you will find that Die Burger is the most rugby-focussed and on the spot paper in SA (and I dont read it)
I will go check it out… if so… then Russouw at 4, Burger at 8, Dewalt at 7, Deysel on bench?
November 27th, 2009 at 4:37 pm
@Bellboy: Then Burger to 8, Deysel to 7 and Danie to 4. Deysel proved himself last week. Need to start with what we know against Ireland. Potties on the bench.
That is if Bakkies is out. Thought with a back injury he would never make it.
November 27th, 2009 at 4:41 pm
Sorry boys- I think ‘lang gat’ Andries slots in next to VM
November 27th, 2009 at 4:47 pm
@Puma: no….A Bekker in…F Hougaard to bench
November 27th, 2009 at 4:48 pm
@Bellboy: Bugger. He has played well though but I would have had Danie go to 4.
November 27th, 2009 at 4:50 pm
BOKS 27
IRELAND 15
November 27th, 2009 at 4:51 pm
@grant10: Bekker has played well but he is more like Victor. Then our scrum is sorted so maybe it will be fine. I would have had Danie go to 4 and moved Burger to 8 and bring on Deysel for 7.
Still a good team. Bakkies is a huge loss though. Reminds me of when we lost Burger before he hurt that neck. Felt like you lost about 3 players. The same with Bakkies when he does not play. I know he only plays for about 65 min but he is a huge player in our team. Damn.
Then that back is far more important and he must get that injury sorted out first. Don’t take a chance with a back injury.
November 27th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
@Puma: huge blow puma
November 27th, 2009 at 5:14 pm
@grant10: Big blow. Not sure why F. Hougaard is on the bench though? Who is he going to cover for? Maybe if we lose a wing. Or scrummie and Ruan to cover for FH.
November 27th, 2009 at 5:19 pm
@Puma: Hougaard seems to be a golden boy there?
Havent seen much of him so cant comment….i know Justrugby rates him….and i listen when he talks….he knows his stuff!
November 27th, 2009 at 5:59 pm
@grant10: He was not that great when we played against Sarries. Then he is very young so let us see.
We should still beat them but with Bakkies there you kinda feel safe.
November 27th, 2009 at 6:44 pm
Ratel – with reference to your statement that Pottie has only had two good years – halo, the guy is only 22 years old.
How many loosies can claim that at 22? Maybe Schalk, Luke and Spies…if that!
Maybe I should pick my team of current U/25 players who I believe will be in the Bok frame post 2011 and see what you think of that:
1. Coenie Oosthuizen – Cheetahs
2. Adriaan Strauss – Cheetahs
3. WP Nel – Cheetahs
4. Steven Sykes – Sharks
5. Andries Bekker – W.P.
6. Heinrich Brussow – Cheetahs
7. Pierre Spies – Blue Bulls
8. Dewald Potgieter – Blue Bulls
9. Francois Hougard – Blue Bulls
10. Morne Steyn – Blue Bulls
11. Lwazi Mvovo – Sharks
12. Lionel Mapoe – Cheetahs
13. Juan de Jongh – W.P.
14. Chris Jordaan – Sharks
15. Patrick Lambie – Sharks
16. Kyle Cooper – Sharks
17. Patrick Celliers – Sharks
18. Heinke van der Merwe – Lions
19. Alistair Hargreaves – Sharks
20. Wilhelm Steenkamp – Blue Bulls
21. Gerhard Mostert – Sharks
22. Flip van der Merwe – Blue Bulls
23. Duanne Vermeulen – W.P.
24. Willem Alberts – Sharks
25. Biscuit van Deventer – Lions
26. Johan Wessels – Cheetahs
27. Derek Minnie – Lions
28. CJ Stander – Blue Bulls
29. Nick Koster – W.P.
30. Jano Vermaak – Lions
31. Wilton Petersen – Cheetahs
32. Robert Ebersohn – Cheetahs
33. Lionel Cronje – W.P.
34. Stephan Dippenaar – Blue Bulls
35. Earl Snyman – Cheetahs
36. JPP – Sharks
37. Francois Steyn – Sharks
That’s 8 Blue Bulls, 9 Cheetahs, 5 W.P.,4 Lions and 11 Sharks out of 37 players who I rate to have a shot at carrying the Bok standard forward post 20011. Note, I’m not saying they are the only ones- these are the guys I rate currently, and I put JPP and FS last because FS is playing in France and JPP’s form has me worried.
November 27th, 2009 at 6:51 pm
@Puma 108
Before you think of the knife, check out alternatives to that. I been practising and teaching Bikram yoga for 8 years, completely fixed both knee reconstructions, back, shoulder and wrist. The heat and stretch will definitely help. Goodluck!
Boks by 12!
November 27th, 2009 at 7:11 pm
@catleya:
I’d also include Sarel Potgieter and Viljoen from Griquas in that list.
Why Mapoe at 12, BTW?
November 27th, 2009 at 7:13 pm
Sorry, Sarel Pretorius.
November 27th, 2009 at 7:27 pm
@David:
I just reckon he has everything to make a sublime 12. Big, strong, aggressive, good defence, good hands. Will probably have to work on kicking game, but that’ll be the least of his concerns. We need a nice strong 12 and I just like the look of this guy. Played there myself so I have a fair idea of what is required.
November 27th, 2009 at 7:43 pm
Green army are going down tomorrow!!
Gonna be there to watch them cry. They aren’t even in our league when both teams are at their best! Tomorrow may be close, but we know!
November 27th, 2009 at 7:50 pm
@catleya:
What about about his distribution and timing? I’ve only ever seen on a few occassions at wing, so find it difficult to comment. What is obvious, is that we’re desperately short of 12s.
November 27th, 2009 at 7:57 pm
O’Driscoll will be O ****
November 27th, 2009 at 8:11 pm
They say 12’s are made not born. Your question about distribution and timing is a good one and from what I’ve seen he’ll do just fine, plus remember he is playing 7’s, so I’m hoping he’ll hone those skills even further over there.
I like a big strong 12 for the loosies to play from occassionally to keep the opponents honest, but with a really strong passing game to play out wide as well, allowing the 13 to drift wider on the pass to give him a chance to run around his opponent on the outside or at least get in there, get his hands through and play the wing or fullback coming in. And I believe this bloke is capable of that.
Of course, when he really goes hard and straight, the opponents are gonna have to park a Bell dumper in his way, especially if he can cultivate a little inside shimmy.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:33 pm
What time (what day is kick off) and Big Hit or anybody….do you have the ‘justintv’ link yet for the game.
Am in Hawaii so need some help/answers. cheers !!
November 27th, 2009 at 8:40 pm
It’s on Setanta. 8:30 CST time in USA.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:41 pm
@catleya:
Interesting, and I agree with your points about what is needed from a 12, although they’ve come in many guises and combos. BOD at 13, made Roberts look great, which has been shown in Roberts rather one dimensional performances for Wales, this year.
Anyway, I need to go, my wife is getting restless about me sitting at my computer. I’ll watch out for Mapoes’ potential as a 12.
Cheers.
November 27th, 2009 at 8:42 pm
Think outside the box for NZ 2011:
Groom Bekker at 8, FduP at 12, Ruan at 9, Deysel at 1, and Mapoe at 15.
November 27th, 2009 at 9:09 pm
Bokke to win by 6!
November 27th, 2009 at 9:16 pm
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Dewald Potgieter, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jean de Villiers.
What does Transformation think of the lily white bench?
November 27th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
@haribaldi:
I dont see it on the Setanta schedule for USA
Is that saturaday live or Sunday delayed?
Go Bokke
November 27th, 2009 at 9:19 pm
@kwas:
At least some of them have a tan unlike the paddy’s bench
November 27th, 2009 at 9:27 pm
Boks starting 15 is fine except a few worries
I think front row should be better, but I do see Bismark coming in soon
I am a bit worried about the loose forwards but is a heavy but maybe fne for the conditions they could expect.
I would like to see Skalk get back to his old self (minus the yellow cards)
I am happy that WO is at 12 he deserves it and his defence is good (needed in this game) It would have been harsh to put JDV starting at 12 ahead of WO We need confidence in our back up players , plus he knows most of his bulls teammates.
I worry about Zane @15 with difficult conditions
He needs JP and Habana’s help here.
Should be a good game hope it’s dry
November 27th, 2009 at 9:46 pm
This debate about 12 and 13
JDV is the best 12. WO is best back up based on his current form.
JF is our best 13, on current form Adi is as good but added with injury problmes his form as dropped
Future star Eberson
November 27th, 2009 at 10:02 pm
@CoachPete:
Howzit Coach…. long time.
Best of luck guys.
To all the SA fellas who have made the trip… see you there.
Hope you all enjoy your stay and have a ball.
Hope it’s a hard clean and skillful game.
Win lose or draw let’s all hit the tiles afterwards and have a good chin wag
November 27th, 2009 at 10:03 pm
@CoachPete:
yep…. totally agreed, takes me a month in the sun just to go white
November 27th, 2009 at 10:22 pm
Hey Flame top
Long time no see
How the babies
Yeah both very good teams
I agree with Sexton choice I say slect form players
His all round game is better and his kicking is pretty good
I think things will be even in scrums Linouts may go boks way, breakdown maybe even, and backs well even too.
I guess it may come downto kicks at goal
November 27th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
@CoachPete:
Baby no. 2.. 1 week old!
Yep Sexton is the right choice whether he plays well or not.
He’ll learn from the experience.
SA will win scrums, hopefully by not too much.
Lineouts will go mostly as per thrower in.
Boks will win breakdown, up to Ireland to keep the ball alive.
Ire backs will cause havoc with decent possession.
Key to the game will be “will they get it?”
SA need to roll the mauls, pick and go all day with big forwards.
The kick chase tactic will lose the match for the Boks
November 27th, 2009 at 10:46 pm
@Flametop:
Yup
Smit and Bismark’s throw in are usually great.
Yes with rolling mauls
If we do kick then good kicks hopfully
Kicking on a blustery wet day makes good sense, and if Boks have more ball you may see some of those long rolling kicks with wind and some up and unders and a some grubbers which are difficult to handle in the wet.
Should be good If on a neutral ground I give boks edge but its in Ireland and well anyones game.
Whats the weather going to be like Flametop?
November 27th, 2009 at 10:48 pm
@Flametop: Disagree with Irish backline causing havoc, Springboks defence has always been awesome. J Fourie is great on defence, WO is exceptionally strong (but probably not up to JdV standard yet. Morne Steyn and Fourie dP have proved to be good defensive partnership. On attack the above are good. ODriscoll is best in the world (maybe challenged by JdV) but is going to struggle without quality ball and thrives on structured play rather than broken play that ‘Boks prefer with kicking game. I say ‘Boks by 15 points or more
November 27th, 2009 at 10:50 pm
Cheers I am off
Go Bokke
November 27th, 2009 at 11:25 pm
Hi – SOS – does anyone know where this is showing in UK?
November 27th, 2009 at 11:29 pm
Oh yay, Bakkies Botha is out of the game. Now we get the Lanky wing that does NOTHING in the starting 15. Oh, yay.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:34 pm
They need to put Danie at lock with Deysel at 8 or something, we can’t have this lanky wing playing lock for us. He rarely hits the break downs and when he does he does nothing. Weak in the scrums too.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:50 pm
@Kobus Kitty:
The “lanky wing” is not Baxxies but he offers something else.
For example:
There will be much more pressure on their lineouts.
He carries the ball better than Baxxies
He makes more tackles than Baxxies
The “lanky wing” will be OK, don’t worry.
SA will win easily.
November 27th, 2009 at 11:56 pm
i feel sorry for the wallabies ,they got that SH hating moron wayne barnes as referee for tomorrows game vs the welsh
November 28th, 2009 at 12:06 am
Bekker a better lock than Bakkies and against France Bakkies should have just stayed off after they roughed him up. The bully got some his own medicine and since then he’s never been the same. I say its over cadova for Baxxies the bully Bekker is better all the way round and had a far better impact than him on this tour so far.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:31 am
@skopskiet:
thems fightin’ words, Skop.
Must say, Bekker looked great in full flight for that disallowed try vs Sarries. Showed real footballers instinct to get outside the man and head for the corner. Very coordinated for such a huge man, what do you feed em down there ?
November 28th, 2009 at 12:54 am
@skopskiet:
I suppose you’re the type of fan that would be very impressed with Bekker have a sprint down the wing against Saracens.
Botha is one of two the best locks, ever (the other being Matfield). And he forms the best Lock pairing, ever.
Massive, massive loss to the Springboks.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:04 am
bekker is a far better lock than bakkies’got moered by the french’botha.if he starts playing rugby instead of maiming players he might be considerd as great but he’s time unfortunately has gone.the boks should be glad they have lock that will become greater than matfield and botha!
November 28th, 2009 at 1:07 am
@Valkyrie:
Thats disgusting. Bekker is 3rd rate rubbish.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:19 am
@Kobus Kitty:what’s disgusting?..the fact that the thug got his own medicine back.i absolutely thank the french for destroying his self-believe.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:35 am
@Valkyrie:
Opening seconds of the France v Boks game, Botha was involved in a maul – a Frenchman (I think it was the same guy who had his breastbone broken by Botha) was coming in from the side and started collapsing it illegally, Botha grabbed him by the neck area, wrenched him down to the floor walked over him like dirt.
So I’m sure a blood bin won’t affect his self-belief, VALKYRIE.
You must be a WP supporter. Tell me when the Boks play the All Blacks, do you cheer for the All Blacks?
November 28th, 2009 at 2:08 am
@Kobus Kitty: why should i cheer for the all blacks?explain please.
November 28th, 2009 at 3:54 am
Bakki Botha is out injured, that already changed the UK odds from a 12:10 to 10:11.
Also Bekker moved to lock in the line up while Hougaard is on the bench, the Boks are now with 4 forwards, 3 backs on the bench.
The Boks persumed weaker and still have the Beast and Kirshner among the run ons, a huge handicap.
The referee Owen just been flattened by Mujati 5 weeks ago, it may affect his biases since Mujati got away with the lightest of punishments in the IRB book.
prediction:
Ireland by 3 to 10 points
November 28th, 2009 at 4:41 am
@Hondo:
Beast is not a handicap to the team. I’d have him over any prop in the world.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:41 am
@Kobus Kitty:
You are entitled for your opinion of course, so what’s your prediction?
I thought The Beast was BADLY exposed against France?
And there was a good reason why the Boks management played him for only 8 minutes against Italy?
November 28th, 2009 at 10:19 am
To the writers at Keo…. up your game.
All the comments about the Irish media are rubbish
Here’s some good analysis from Brendan Cole at RTE.
While I don’t agree with all of it- it’s balanced reporting showing up both sides strengths and weaknesses.
Guinness November Series: Ireland v South Africa
Friday, 27 November 2009 17:39
by Brendan Cole
Ireland take on the World Champions in what may come to be seen as the ‘end of the beginning’ of head coach Declan Kidney’s gradual reshaping of the team.
For obvious reasons, the selection of Jonathan Sexton ahead of Ronan O’Gara has dominated the headlines and it is by far the most important change. But the Leinster out-half’s inclusion is part of a full picture that also includes Keith Earls on the wing and Paddy Wallace at inside centre. That pair have been picked despite the availability of Shane Horgan and Gordon D’Arcy, both of whom are fully fit, capable replacements with the proverbial ‘bags of experience’.
Peter Stringer’s return to the bench also hints that Kidney hopes to get the ball as quickly to his main strike weapons in dangerous areas – a constellation working around Brian O’Driscoll at outside centre. Among the many subplots to this game is that the removal of the long-standing need to protect the defensively frail O’Gara may spell the beginning of a new challenge for Tomás O’Leary. The importance of his ‘insurance tackling’ out wide may decline slightly as among a number of the exciting possibilities heralded by Sexton’s inclusion is that Ireland may be able to replicate the superb linespeed of the current Leinster defence.
But the most exciting development is that this Irish backline has collectively got more speed and passing ability than arguably any selection of the last 20 years or more.
Sexton opens up new dimensions for Ireland
Declan Kidney and Jonathan SextonBut the crucial change is at out-half where Sexton offers sound passing and kicking basics but also a personal breaking threat, and the speed to pass and then wrap around his centres and involve himself in the wider channels. Back play revolves around the extra man and essentially, there are two new threats for the South African defence to contend with in that regard.
The capacity for speedier delivery to the wide areas should also improve Rob Kearney’s chances of making the type of slashing breaks perfected by Lee Byrne of Wales, which benefited hugely from the distribution of Gavin Henson. Add in Wallace’s strength at operating close to a defence and checking it, O’Driscoll’s full complement of attacking skills, and the speed of the wings and Ireland are potentially a very potent mix. All in all, it bodes well for the continued second flowering of the Ireland captain’s incredible career.
Obviously, South Africa will have a lot to say about whether the remodelled Ireland backline will have a chance to really show what it can do. The Springbok forward pack, epitomised by the combination of huge weight and even bigger work ethic of Bakkies Botha and Victor Matfield’s touches of class in the second row, will represent a massive challenge for the Irish eight.
Paul O’Connell is the obvious focal point for resistance and if they do end up coping with South Africa in the tight Ireland will almost certainly have the Munster captain’s leadership to thank. That said, he will have to be careful not take on too much as he was a magnet for South African turnover efforts when charging up off static ball during the Lions Tests this summer. Cian Healy and the back-row trio of David Wallace, Jamie Heaslip and Stephen Ferris will also need eye catching games with ball in hand if Ireland are to even approach parity.
Brussow and Burger – particular threat
Schalk BurgerAside from the collective work ethic, the South African wing forwards are a particular threat. ‘Fetcher’ Heinrich Brussow will marshal the inside channels making any effort at crashing simple ball up ‘one out’ from the ruck fraught with danger, while Schalk Burger is likely to patrol the outside corridors with menace as he did for the Boks against the Lions this summer.
Ireland need to find it in them to tame that pair and win enough quick, effective ruck ball to make them a viable attacking force over multiple phases. The Lions showed it is possible. Even so, doing it this weekend represents a massive challenge.
Aside from the breakdown, the scrum is the other major area of concern. John Smit’s move to hooker may be influential, while Botha’s massive power in the locking position in particular presents a huge test to any opposition eight. It is true to say that John Hayes matched Tendai Mtawirara in the third test, but the caveat is that Botha was absent for that game. Fingers crossed.
In the lineout, the talismanic combination of Hayes, Jerry Flannery and O’Connell should be enough for Ireland to win 80% or so despite Matfield’s athleticism and intelligent reading, and the entire Springbok unit’s cohesion. On the other hand, Smit’s throwing in may turn out to be slightly fallible if Ireland can get men in the air on their ball.
Kick and chase key for Boks
Brian Haban and Morne Steyn – chasing and kickingSecond only to prioritising forward domination, the South African kick and chase – territory – game is an essential part of their plan. Morne Steyn is not a running threat but Rob Kearney, Tommy Bowe and Keith Earls will be severely tested by both his and Fourie Du Preez’ kicking. After Kearney’s superb displays in the summer, South Africa may well opt to look to the Irish wings, and the relatively inexperienced Earls in particular, for weakness. A pack can only stand so much pressure and Ireland need their back three and half-backs to play as clean a match as possible in the ping pong in order to avoid undue stress up front.
In terms of the Boks’ attack, the centre pair of Wynand Olivier and Jaques Fourie play a fairly basic style and the major threat is the opportunism of Bryan Habana and Fourie Du Preez, both of whom can change a situation in an instant. Full-back Zane Kirchner has a zip about him but in truth, South Africa pass the ball so infrequently that their wide threat will only come into play if Ireland are well and truly crushed up front. The hope is that the men in green will cope up front and that good game management and the effective defensive system will limit the chances for the two key strike men.
Typically, the referee is factored in at this point though given this November’s events, he could easily have gone in at the top. In truth, Ireland couldn’t have asked for better with Nigel Owens, the best in the business, taking charge.
Owens typically gives the attacker the benefit of both the doubt and an extra second while allowing a vigorous contest for the ball and if Ireland can provide the numbers and momentum to throw attacking ruckers past the ball, they should survive. As with Cullen, Sean O’Brien, an excellent breakdown forward, could turn out to be an important player.
This is a key match in the early part of Kidney’s reign; one in which victory would cement the gains of the past year. On the other hand, a bad defeat would represent a significant setback and mean something of a return to the drawing board. Virtually all of Kidney’s cards are on the table. The Boks’ form has been mediocre of late and some key personnel are missing but they can be expected to raise their game with needle in the match-up and the carrot of beating the Grand Slam champions on offer.
This time, Ireland are primed to make a statement of intent.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:50 pm
@Kobus Kitty: For crying out loud, quit your whining woman.