De Villiers dominates
27 Nov 2009
AB de Villiers produced a superb innings that led to a comprehensive 112-run win for South Africa over England at Newlands.
De Villiers didn’t hit a six, but he produced virtually every shot in the book on his way to a memorable knock of 121 off only 85 balls, his first century against England in ODIs. The platform was set by Graeme Smith (54) and Hashim Amla (86), while Alviro Petersen and Mark Boucher delivered nice cameos in the final overs.
Chasing a massive target, England were never in it as Wayne Parnell returned from injury to take five wickets. Crucially, Morne Morkel made an impressive return to international cricket, while Paul Collingwood continued his good form and Kevin Pietersen looked dangerous.
South Africa 354-6 in 50 overs
AB de Villiers 121, Hashim Amla 86, Stuart Broad 4-71
England 242 all out in 50 overs
Paul Collingwood 86, Kevin Pietersen 45, Wayne Parnell 5-48, Morne Morkel 3-39
South Africa win by 112 runs
Click here for live scorecard.

70 Comments
27 Nov 2009, 14:48 pm
Thank God Parnell is back. Our bowlers suck nails – bring in CJ de Villiers !!!
27 Nov 2009, 14:53 pm
won the toss that’s a good start
27 Nov 2009, 15:03 pm
@Cheetha Champs: I agree, we need some variety in there. De Villiers looks good, needs to add an extra yard of pace though. An all out tear away of a speed merchant and a spinner who can give it a good rip would be excellent additions too.
27 Nov 2009, 17:43 pm
AB got his ton! Blikseming the poms now.
27 Nov 2009, 17:43 pm
AB = better tham JP in my opinion. JP has troubles with the short ball…. AB is just a legend..
27 Nov 2009, 18:08 pm
WOW!
350 and only 5 comments? Whats wrong with the SAFFA Cricket fans? You dont have to pay for it guys..
Great knock by ABdV but I dont know why Alviro is not trying to hit it? Its last few over guys..
I just love Boucher! What a champ…
27 Nov 2009, 18:18 pm
354/6 after 50 overs.
WELL DONE PROTEAS. That was brilliant. England will never chase that down at night at Newlands. Superb performance from all.
27 Nov 2009, 19:18 pm
What I like in Parnell is his ability to take wickets…
First gone! 9 more to go…
27 Nov 2009, 19:30 pm
Second gone! 8 more to go…
Good to see Morkel performing well!
27 Nov 2009, 19:34 pm
Third gone! 7 more to go…
Fantastic catch by Beefy! What a legend!
Wicket maiden for Parnell…
27 Nov 2009, 19:50 pm
@Jozi: Speed merchant – Steyn. Ripping spinner – vd Merwe.
27 Nov 2009, 20:55 pm
@Harder-Faster: And Duminy gives it a good rip as well.
27 Nov 2009, 20:55 pm
Imagine if Peterson & Trott played for SA :
1. Smith
2. Trott
3. Kallis
4. AB (keeper)
5. K Peterson
6. JP Duminy
7. Albie Morkel
8. Ryan Mclaren
9. Vd Merwe
10. Steyn
11. Langeveldt/Parnell
sorry for Boucher…i like the guy, but to play a extra bowler, AB should keep
27 Nov 2009, 21:16 pm
AB has said he doesnt want to keep but rather focus on his batting. I agree with that
27 Nov 2009, 21:48 pm
@WP_: parnell proves once again he’s better than your white lover-boy mcclaren!
27 Nov 2009, 21:51 pm
sure WP_ …. Boucher is such a good keeper, and a great batter in the last overs, you can’t keep him out of the team …. but if AB can keep, there will be more options. a extra batter or bowler. 50/50 decision
27 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
congrats proteas and congrats once again wayne parnell,5/48, not too bad !you are the man parnell,greatness beckons!
27 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
valkyre??? why bring race into it? Of the 4 top bowlers at the warriors Parnell has the worst record this season(in the games he played) …. **** just be happy for a SA win, why mention white boys etc. Mclaren didn’t do to bad … same with rugby, there is always racial issues, it makes you wish certain fail, just to prove a point.
27 Nov 2009, 21:57 pm
@Valkyrie:
parnell has a lot of talent and potential.
but go easy on the race thing thing – not necessary
27 Nov 2009, 22:05 pm
@Julius: go tell that to your white brothers and sisters!i remember that day here on keo when certain bloggers were very disappointed that parnell was not white but a coloured boy from pe.white people in this country have a problem with colour and cant deal with the fact that black and coloured people are succesful in their so-called god-given sports.
27 Nov 2009, 22:07 pm
@charo: look who’s talking or typing!you are nothing but a ****** hypocrite!practise what you preach first,mate.
27 Nov 2009, 22:10 pm
@Julius: who gives a damn what you wish in any case!
27 Nov 2009, 22:20 pm
@Valkyrie:
why are you still looking at colour?
every other south african is over the moon that the proteas won and wayne parnell did well.
why must you be so bladdy bitter about life?
jeez, you are really a sad individual
27 Nov 2009, 22:30 pm
Every time I hop onto Keo some idiot with only a black and white TV has mistaken the grey shading for a reason to be bitter.
27 Nov 2009, 22:38 pm
@charo: you are the sad individual!earlier on in the week you mentioned your precious white race in response to transie’s post in connection to hougaard when he never mentioned race mate.selective amnesia hey idiot?let me refresh your mind..’is there any white player that’s good enough for you’ when transie in fact mentioned that he considerd sarel pretorius the better scrummie than hougaard!
27 Nov 2009, 22:46 pm
@FrenklyJ: there’s no bitterness mate,go have a look at your own bloody people before you post ****,but i guess it’s just typical of your high and mighty fukkers eager to attack black bloggers but not willing to look at your own kind when they crosses the line.i am not bitter but i will celebrate the achievements of black sportsmen and people in this country no matter what you fukkers think!if you wanna be credible ,speak out against white ***** like charo first then you might be taken seriously.
27 Nov 2009, 22:52 pm
@Valkyrie: I only hop onto blog to see how predictable your responses are. Thank F I can still feel superior because you always respond like the original Pavlov’s dog (‘cept he was brighter, he got a meal and you only keep proving your stupidity – sorry is stupidity a big word for you?)
27 Nov 2009, 22:56 pm
@Valkyrie:
my comment to transie had nothing to do with hougaard or pretorius.
that day he was having a go at various good (in my humble opinion) white players.
not his normal style.
so asked him why.
you, on the other hand, are an out and out racist.
and a poorly educated lowlife as well.
sorry for you-oh
27 Nov 2009, 22:57 pm
Night all, like all sports anticipation is 90% ofsuccess. With Valkyrie I got 99% of what I anticipated in response. Same card (only card- would probably use it to cheat as well) no competition so going to sleep.
27 Nov 2009, 23:11 pm
Valkyrie…. jy is besig om ‘n po3s te wees. Parnell se pa is wit..so hy is wit, nou wat nou. f0k die dag wanneer julle die chip van julle skouer kan afhaal sal dit beter gan in die land. …
27 Nov 2009, 23:17 pm
@Julius: lol.i think you have to do some more investigations your royal racist ****!so you were one of them ,had that feeling but could not put my finger on it.
27 Nov 2009, 23:21 pm
i’m not a racist, i have a coloured tv ….
27 Nov 2009, 23:21 pm
@charo: he never mentioned the word white mate,but you did.do you deny it?we can go back to this weeks posts if it will refresh your memory 100 percent.no buddy you are the racist **** here on this site and the fact that you are sitting in west africa doesn’t make you a well educated and well respected human being you piece of vomit!
27 Nov 2009, 23:24 pm
valkyrie, do me a favour ….. terwyl jou ma buk vir zet, kyk actually die games …. kyk wie perform …. wit of swart, gee credit….
27 Nov 2009, 23:31 pm
@Valkyrie:
your language is abysmal.
how you are still allowed to post is a miracle.
this site needs some serious management otherwise i, and probably a few others, will be out of here.
and leave it to the gutter dross like yourself to carry on.
27 Nov 2009, 23:32 pm
Your the only racist here, buddy. Maybe one day you’ll realise how sad you really are.
27 Nov 2009, 23:36 pm
Great for de Villiers. Man of the series down under and he got his average above forty today. Well done. I’m not at all convinced by Ryan though, Albie and his brother should be in the team no matter what form of cricket we’re playing. Parnell looks a fantastic prospect too.
27 Nov 2009, 23:40 pm
Charo, ja ig is sorely missed. He would ban the jokers on here today. You should pop over to rt once in a while decent bunch. Enjoy your evening.
27 Nov 2009, 23:42 pm
hahaha valkyrie! stupid doos! why bring colour into all time? You are boring!
Parnell coloured? hahahahahaha! Pull the other one. I know the family. Colour is not important but you’re delusional
27 Nov 2009, 23:45 pm
I agree I would rather have Albie in the team than McClaren
I’m also pleased at how well Alviro is doing too. Two good knocks so far from him. Doesnt look like Hersch will get back in anytime soon with Hash playing so superbly too.
28 Nov 2009, 00:10 am
AB was brilliant and Morne Morkel showed why he could one dat be a great bowler.
What happened to Dale Steyn?
28 Nov 2009, 00:26 am
I have no idea what happened to Steyn… We need him for Sunday that’s for sure. But if he is somehow injured then Charl Langes is a great replacement
28 Nov 2009, 06:33 am
@<a href=":
It has been a great batting performance from South African batsmen. Graeme Smith has set the tone trying to dominate the England bowling in the first ten over’s. Amla and Smith batted well in a first two powerplays putting the English bowling under immense pressure. More ….
28 Nov 2009, 12:02 pm
AB de Villiers was at his brilliant best. Just awesome to watch him bat. Superb bowling by Parnell too.
Go Proteas win on Sunday then the series is even, the last game would be very exciting.
28 Nov 2009, 12:05 pm
Great performance last night by the Proteas.
I’m currently reading Graeme Smith’s book: A Captain’s Diary.
In it he says when they toured Pakistan in 2007 he made the call to drop Polly for Steyn and Steyn went on to bowl superbly in that test match.
I must say if he again made the call for Morne Morkel to be included in the side, it was a master stroke.
Morkel troubled the English batsmen with his pace and bounce which slowed the scoring and allowed Parney to strike from the other end.
Variety is very important in cricket and I think the inclusion of Parney and Morkel has a given our side a new lease on life.
We need to win the remaining matches and go on to klap the poms in the tests.
28 Nov 2009, 12:54 pm
@Julius: #13
Trott struggled to make the WP side when he was in SA. He had to go to Boland to play first class cricket on a regular basis. He would have never, as in never, made the Protea side. Don’t let the fact that he now plays for England fools you. It is just an indication of their lack of quality home-grown batsman.
In saying all the above, I’m not saying that Trott is not a good batsman, far from it. We just have other batsman in the country who is better than him.
28 Nov 2009, 13:06 pm
@Valkyrie: You really are a twenty four carat doos. People strive to be perfect in this world, but being a perfect doos is nothing to be proud of. We can all do without your retarded comments.
28 Nov 2009, 13:10 pm
nama
agreed boet, Trott played a bit for WP but as he was still young, he wasnt a regular.
Fact is he wouldnt have made the Proteas at all at any stage. But he’s a decent player.
Something not many people know is, the reason he went to England was not for any cricketing reason but in fact because his parents moved to England and he decided to move to be closer them.
28 Nov 2009, 13:10 pm
The heading should have read: Parnell Pummelled Pommies.
It’s not everyday that a bowler gets five wickets in a one day match. Centuries are far more common. The fact that the adjudicators gave the man of the match award to AB is a travesty keeping that in mind.
It was a brilliant century though.
28 Nov 2009, 13:14 pm
thats not fair. ABs century set up the whole win and gave Parnell the freedom to bowl as aggresively as he did.
So much pressure is taken off a bowler when he’s bowling at a big score
28 Nov 2009, 13:20 pm
Yet another fifty from Amla. Six(6) fifties now to go with one century. He really must learn to convert these fifties inti hundreds.
On another note. It is good to see that all three test matches that were played in the week produced positive results.
28 Nov 2009, 13:26 pm
jozi
Thing is, Steyn played with Pollock with lots of success uniti it was decided that Andre Nel should play instead of Polly (fcken stupid idea!!) and that ended the great all rounders career
28 Nov 2009, 13:27 pm
Loving Hash’s form. Classy performer. Must just learn to convert
28 Nov 2009, 13:32 pm
@WP_: #50
Then again. Smith’s and Amla’s opening partnership allowed AB the freedom to play as well as he did.
No matter how big the score, it is still up to the bowler to put the ball in the right spot. I would suggest that the Aussie bowlers had all the freedom in the world to bowl as aggressively as they wanted to in the 438 game. We both know what the outcome was.
Any time any bowler takes five wickets in an ODI, I feel he should be rewarded if his performance lead to victory for his team.
28 Nov 2009, 13:36 pm
@WP_: #53
Agree. If he keeps getting runs I can’t see Hersh getting a game. Pity really, he’s my favourite batsman.
28 Nov 2009, 13:42 pm
@WP_: To be honest Polly’s bowling had lost a bit of zip and penetration.
When he retired it meant a major shift in the approach and pyschology of the whole team.
Batsmen needed to take more responsibility because the “tail” would be longer and bowlers needed to bowl with controlled aggression.
The more conservative, safety first policy was discarded and a more daring, bold approach was adopted.
I take nothing away from Polly, he served his country well and he was a great team player….dig the oke big time.
28 Nov 2009, 13:46 pm
@Jozi: True enough. A common mistake is for teams not to anticipate the time when their champions are gone. Australia lost a few at once and the step down for the team has been huge.
28 Nov 2009, 13:47 pm
I see that Alviro Petersen is striking it at 96 runs per hundred ball faced at an average of more than 48 in the nine ODI’s he has played so far.
What is the odds that some people will call him a quota if he fails on Sunday? (smilie)
28 Nov 2009, 13:50 pm
@nama1: Guess the same amount of people who still insist the Morne Steyn shouldn`t be in the 10 jersey.
28 Nov 2009, 13:54 pm
@stormer in a teacup: Yeah there were too many living legends in that Aussie team. It’ll take some time for the world to see another team like that.
Succession planning is key and that’s why I feel that we need to start finding a replacement for Bouch.
Nothing personal against him but AB doesn’t want to keep and Bouch is not getting any younger, same goes for Jakes.
28 Nov 2009, 13:57 pm
@nama1: Hondo might be the first one
Aaaah mate it’ll never end, it’s the South African ping pong story.
You’ve just got to remain objective and try not to get too caught up in the emotional kak and drama.
28 Nov 2009, 13:59 pm
@Jozi: True. AB or JP to fill nbr 3 spot for sure with the need for a bowling allrounder a la Pollock at 7. Need to identify the next keeper and start to include him in the squad the way JP was managed. How ready was he when his moment came?
28 Nov 2009, 14:04 pm
@Namakwalanner:
Sit jy in Springbok?
28 Nov 2009, 14:07 pm
@stormer in a teacup: Dead right, that’s one bit our administrators got right. Heino Kuhn is the next keeper in waiting. We’ll have to wait and see if he’s given any opportunities.
I’m not in favour of all rounders in test cricket. I prefer specialists. No. 1 to 6 have your specialist batsmen, 7 is your keeper 8 to 11 are your bowlers.
That’s a recipe that has yielded success for teams like Australia and even us in the last 2 years.
All rounders give you a false sense of security but when it matters most they are seldom consistent with either skill. you only end up getting “bits and pieces” contributions from them.
28 Nov 2009, 14:12 pm
@stormer in a teacup: #62
I think they’re doing it Stormer. That’s why they included Heino Kuhn in the squad albeit just for the 20/20 matches.
28 Nov 2009, 14:19 pm
@Jozi: #64
Only four bowlers?
If you top bowler goes of the boil, like Steyn is at the moment, you’ll have problems bowling out the opposition twice. You need at least one good alrounder to have a good balanced team. SA is lucky to have Kallis. Pollock, when he played, was just a bonus.
28 Nov 2009, 14:28 pm
@nama1: Ok wasn’t thinking straight you’re right reserve the no.6 spot for the all rounder.
28 Nov 2009, 15:17 pm
Wouldnt mind if Daryn Smit took over from Bouch rather than Kuhn.
Smit is just a good keeper as Heino, they have similar abilities with the bat BUT Smit can bowl very handy leg spin. i.e an all rounder and a keeper in one. Then i suppose that AB could keep for a few overs a day, dont think that would affect him too much.
Calling Alviro Petersen a quota would be laughable, he has been so consistent in domestic stuff and he has shown this in the first two odi’s against the poms with a couple of half centuries. He deserves his spot. Which is good, but in some ways is a pity as I’d love to see Hersch back in the starting line up. Love watching him bat. Pure genius.
28 Nov 2009, 15:31 pm
@Jozi: SA has a tradition of all rounders, probably better then most other countries. Allrounders can be deceptive if they are of the neither here nor there variety but if you consider the likes of Kallis, Pollock, Rice Barlow and Proctor these guys are two for the price of one, matchwinners who can step up in both arenas. Our traditional approach of encouraging our most talented players to have a go at everything has stood us in good stead. Players like Albie, who would be unlikely to be selected for one skill alone tend to cloud the issue but a guy like Parnell, who can bat, are a different matter.
28 Nov 2009, 15:54 pm
@stormer in a teacup: Yeah the players you mention are a rare breed. Legends indeed.
The trick is getting it right, I just don’t want to see players like Hall, Kemp, Albie et al tossed into the test arena and shifted around from one batting/bowling position to the next. That approach destroys players.
I prefer a set up where a player is given a clear role and allowed to excel in that specific role.
An all rounder at 6 is a must though as Nama already stated above.