Bittersweet end for Boks
John Smit and Peter de Villiers believe Test defeats to France and Ireland can’t take the shine off an unforgettable year.
It’s been a record-breaking year for South African rugby. It began with a win for the Bulls in the Super 14 and was followed by success in the British & Irish Lions series. A Tri-Nations crown followed, and it’s little surprise the Springboks have been named the 2009 IRB Team of the Year.
Smit was handed the trophy following his team’s defeat to Ireland. He received the award with a smile, and didn’t look too gutted at the post-match press conference. De Villiers also called for some perspective when probed on a tour scorecard that reads played five, lost four.
‘We didn’t come here not to be successful, but when you look back, you have to admit we’ve had a very good year,’ he told keo.co.za. ‘We won’t allow the results of this tour to affect our mindset. We have to build on what we’ve achieved this year.’
The Bok coach added that the midweek games had provided him with insight into who could feature for the Boks down the line. De Villiers stressed it was important to look even further beyond the 2011 World Cup.
‘The tour was a success even though it’s not the case on the scoreboard. We saw what happened in 2003 and we can’t allow that to happen again. We have to look to what will happen after 2011 as well.’
This was the South Africans’ last fixture in a season that began in early February. Smit, however, said the Boks lost to Ireland because they were inferior on the day, not because they were tired.
‘You can’t blame fatigue. We had to keep the scoreboard ticking. If we had landed our kicks, the Irish would have battled to put pressure on us.
‘In the first half, we created a lot of pressure but we didn’t follow through. We didn’t get our kicks over and the energy we should of gained was transferred to Ireland.
‘We came out in the second half with the same tactics. The message was to up the pace and intensity in the second half. But we just didn’t take our opportunities.’
In Dublin, the Boks bucked the tour trend by outscrumming the opposition but failing in areas like the lineout. Smit’s throw-ins seemed to be on target but Victor Matfield, Andries Bekker and Danie Rossouw were often thwarted by a timely Irish intercept.
Smit admitted former Bok forwards coach Gert Smal may have had something to do with it.
‘We knew Gert would have the lineout well prepared, but our performances at the lineout and in the kicking let us down.
We also gave away too many penalties and Jonny Sexton wasn’t missing too many of them. You can’t win Tests if you give away 10-plus penalties.
‘Looking at the scrums, it is nice to have BJ Botha back. We created a lot of pressure at the scrums. It’s ironic that we did well in that area and then did poorly in the two departments we usually dominate to win Tests.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 28th, 2009 at 8:51 pm
Unforgettable, sure. 4 out of 5 EOYT hidings.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:52 pm
@TheTackler: sorry about your stupid brain
November 28th, 2009 at 8:55 pm
No denying that we finish the season on a dreadful low. How much responsibility will Div take for his lack of game plan the last 5 matches?
November 28th, 2009 at 8:56 pm
How we missed Frans Steyn today. Those long range penalties that Morne missed are his forte – I hope PdV eyes were opened on this tour to pick the best man for the job, regardless in which corner of the world they play.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:57 pm
BULL… the boks completely RUINED their year. This tour was a “holiday”. Not once did these “super boks” look like they came to europe to play rugby. They have totally wrecked their season. What seemed after the trinations to be the “greatest springbok season ever” was relegated to “just another average season” on this tour. Sorry but this is the harsh truth, the Springboks destroyed any honours they thought they have earned earlier. You’re just as good as your last game and these springchickens were **** this entire tour, not even mentioning just today.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:08 pm
@Mephistopheles: Way to have some perspective. So what if we aren’t the BEST SPRINGBOKS EVER!! We had an exceptional season, we won the Lions series and won the 3N, something we’ve only done twice before this year. At the start of the 2009 season (after winning nothing in 2008), if I came to you and said, “You can win the Lions series and 3N this year, but lose 2 EOYT friendly games” would you have rejected this?? I think not.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:08 pm
ag, we lost two out of three TEST matches.
anyone trying to cloud the issue with midweek games is probably a kiwi oe thetackler.
ag shampies
November 28th, 2009 at 9:09 pm
I agree with PDV and JS. Disappointing to lose these games, but already forgotten. I for one wont lose 5 minutes of sleep about this tour. Completely irrelevant. Consider: The Team of the Year, Tri-nations – Champs, B&I Lions – Champs, Super 14 – Champs. Damn good year!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 9:14 pm
@Mephistopheles:
Poppycock.
One can take a group of chaps to the well only so many times. How many key matches have the Bulls players had to get up for this season? Probably more than most players face in four years. The Boks would have put 40 points on Ireland if fresh and firing.
The Boks will be back, but they need to sort out their fitness. Being lazy and relying on the high veldt factor just isn’t good enough for a team with ambitions of world domination.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:17 pm
The Boks played ****. Enough excuses. This definately takes the gloss off the year. The Lions series was won unconvincingly and the tri nations wasn’t a fantastic win. They have been shown up and the coaching staff and the players need to shape up. The tour was an embarrassment and shown us just how naive the coaches are.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:20 pm
2009 Was like a nice meal, but horrible pudding at the end.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:24 pm
2009 was the year where not only one but TWO English cub teams hammered the “world champions”.
And then there’s that elephant in the room called Succession. Succession’s been awfully ignored, hasn’t he?
John Smit won’t be at the 2011 RWC. He’s been recycled into a prop and now the entire scrum is a joke.
Victor Matfield’s peaked in 2009. It’s downhill all the way from here and you’ll be at the bottom of the hill by 2011, Big Vic. Schoolboys will be snaffling your lineouts.
Schalk’s a has-been now already. You haven’t find any real test prop since Os retired at age 65.
And 2011 is still two years away. Can’t just paper over the cracks and hope to fool the new buyer.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:25 pm
8 out of 14 wins is nothing special. In fact, if we had a record like that in the amateur days it would have rated as pathetic and unacceptable. How our standards have dropped.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:28 pm
I doubt PdV’s eyes will ever be opened
November 28th, 2009 at 9:28 pm
Plain and simply we lost this game mainly to a poor game plan and tactics and a few bad ref calls (for both sides) – tiredness and fatigue had 20% (if that) the game plan and tactics were shocking and 80% of the problem. PDV+Co’s game tactics were the same it has been the whole year. Kick and chase,more kick and chase followed up with more kick and chase, oh!…and then we try and run through everyone…and when we saw that Rob Kearney and wingers were actually catching all those high balls and counter attacking and were not like the NZ or Aus back three who did fumble…guess what!! we still thought kick and chase and just hoping that Ireland would fumble or something …The sooner the Boks and SA brains trust get it out of their heads that we cant always win games based just on physicality and the kick and chase. We need to have a better attacking backline. I want to see our centres cutting through the gain line a number of times in a game not just hoping for the intercept. I want to see the wings,fullback involved in a back line move. Im tired of seeing the forwards keeping most of the ball now. I know we didnt have Spies,Bakkies,Smith but lets face it in most of the top 6 rugby nations the forwards are pretty much even,all can scrum,maul,steal ball,tackle,good at the breakdown and all can raise there games when needed and with the training that the top teams have now days its the effectiveness of the backline that makes the difference.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:35 pm
I think Ireland deserves to get the team of the year reward. They haven`t lost the whole year and have played Aus and SA. Surely, giving this reward to SA is actually embarrassing.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:37 pm
I think Ireland deserves to get the team of the year award. They haven`t lost the whole year and have played Aus and SA. Surely, giving this award to SA is actually embarrassing.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:44 pm
+/- year.
Brilliant, while playing Australia and especially New Zealand.
Forgettable while playing in Europe. They have had emphatically destroyed English hoodoo in recent years but now have French AND Irish hoodoo. 3 looses in a row to both.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:44 pm
@TheTackler:
world cup champions
super 14 champions
tri-nations champions
lion slayers.
7’s champs.
i think we’ll sleep ok thanks tickler.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:45 pm
@Springbokvel: Let’s wait till the end of the day. If France win they should get this accolade by beating NZ twice and SA once.
I think ABs will beat them though. They like to beat them in France by plenty.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:49 pm
@Mephistopheles:
cool the hyperbole. these guys been playing non stop for 9 months. i’d rather they take it easy on this meaningless money spinning tour and shape up again in the 3 nations next year.
next world cup is in NZ not europe. and we’ve won 2 on the trot in nz for the 1st time since isolation ended.
in fact i’d like the boks top 15 players to get a break till march/april to fully refresh, otherwise they’ll be burned out come the next world cup.
the fact that it meant so much to the plucky irish and never say die french is nice for them to win. they deserve their victories, but lets get some perspective.
i understand and can forgive the test defeats, but the midweek games were the real embarrassment.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:56 pm
we’re just the shiz
November 28th, 2009 at 9:58 pm
To put matters in perspective, we won when we had to, at times with some luck, but the cracks was starting to show. The Boks sadly has come to the end of a wonderful run, but PdV by insisting to play JS in the frontrow, keeping Ruan and AD in the team is showing some distress managerial skills by also changing his mind about using/not using overseas based players.
The game plan was also predictable. The honey moon is over,sure was a good year but losing to the Irish was very dissapointing. I hope I am so wrong but dont think PdV can repeat this year.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:01 pm
I respect PDV immensely as Bok coach, but I think he’s got to admit that the overseas based Boks offer a lot to the team. Look at the difference BJ Botha made to the Bok scrum. And with CJ on the bench, the Boks have a mobile prop to call on when the opposition gets tired. Another point is Morne Steyn. We have seen and we now know of his prolific boot, but now he needs to work on his distribution, so he does not become another Braam van Straaten, Jannie de Beer or Louis Koen. He needs to emply imagination to the Bok team, and be quick in his distribution. I’m not overly bleak about the Bok team’s tour results. They found weaknesses on which to improve, and they have two years in which to improve on them. PDV must be a little less stringent on his policy on selecting overseas based players, the Boks need to learn the art of maintaining possesion for multiple phases, we need more Flyhalves coming through the system (hope Rassie gives Lionel Cronje a run in the S14), we need to capitalise as much as possible on occupying the opposition team’s territory.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:02 pm
@TheTackler:
Tackler, Saracens is now 50% owned by South Africans – research the board, management and players. So the question is – do these “stakeholders” know something we don’t? or have they seen the light? Creating a South African field in England, with, admittedly, a great deal of success thus far… Maybe the future’s so bright (in Benoni) , they got to wear shades…
November 28th, 2009 at 10:03 pm
@TheTackler:
2009 is the year the boks smashed the ABs 3 times in a row. not to mention we’re gathering the momentum having won 2 on the trot in NZ.
2009 – is undoubtedly the worst season the ABs have had since before SA got readmitted to international rugby. if it was not for Denas aussies being so **** you’d have been further embarrased.
get some perspective tackler. i’d rather be a bok fan than a wannabe AB fan like you.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:06 pm
You are all smoking your bloody socks. I’m not even going to go into this ****. The Boks had an excellent season and if you’re too narrow minded to see it, catch a freakin wake up. We did this year what NO OTHER TEAM EVER has done. We have an exceptional team. Even the oke’s you dispise of. The guys did their best and they are reaping the benefits. The fact that they’re so tired they can’t even open their eyes properly, is not their fault. Use your comments wisely, and before you comment, go to your bedroom, take out your Springbok jersey, look at the Bok and realise that you’re being silly in thinking the Boks have had anything BUT a positive year. Seriously guys, these guys played their arses of for their country. It didn’t end as we’d hoped, but for the love of the Bok on your chest, clap your hands and wish that we can celebrate them the same next year. I’m so sick of this negative shiite. If the guys didn’t achieve anything, then yes, screw ‘em. But they didn’t. And they did it for you. Open your freakin eyes and here’s to soldiering the 3N trophy solid in SA next year.
Kapish.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:17 pm
@Hier kom groot k..: 4 – I agree with you. How we missed Fransie against Ireland was huge.
If we got our kicks over we would have won. 12 points went begging in that game. Had we got those kicks over we would have won.
They got all their points on kicks from penalties. We got the try but still lost. If you don’t get your kicks over it will ALWAYS cost us huge. If we had we would have sat with 22 to their 15. Just show how important kicking at goal can be.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:18 pm
@BiltongBoer:
I agree! The major success of the Boks’s year should be celebrated. Four losses in 11 Tests is still a good return. I’m curious as to how the Bok management will handle the players next year with the World Cup in mind.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:19 pm
The All Blacks won a BI series 3-0, won the world sevens, the 3N and then completed a grand slam EOYT unbeaten in 2006.
Easy peasy lemon squeezy.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:20 pm
Or was it 2007?
November 28th, 2009 at 10:23 pm
@TheTackler: Must be sad not be the best, aye, brov? Idiot.
Boks were the best rugby side this year. anyone who thinks otherwise is a blathering moron. this is a fact.
@TheTackler:
living in the past i see.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:26 pm
@Mbhubesi: The thing is, when you have gold, what do you do?? Do you use it to get the best results now, or do you preserve it and hope for a better rate further down the line. In my opinion the Bok management have performed this year. We have a few stallions starting to age now, but if you look at the Brussouws, the Mapoe’s, the Potgieters, we really don’t have anything to lose or worry about mate!! Be positive, I say, we’re building a successful history here, and I’m feeling priviledged to be experiencing it.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:27 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell: Windhoek Lager for you??
) Someone sees the light!! Good man!
November 28th, 2009 at 10:28 pm
@TheTackler:
didn’t the Abs also win the world cup in 1987?
November 28th, 2009 at 10:29 pm
@munkiboi: What World Cup, dude?!!?!? It wasn’t a World Cup, it was a series between teams.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:32 pm
@Mbhubesi:
we lost 4 from 12. same as ABs. except we handed them 3 of their 4 defeats. they handed us how many….?
we lost 3rd test to lions. one out of 2 in aussie. and then the disappointing end of year tour. but if we’d kicked better we’d have beaten the irish.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:33 pm
@BiltongBoer: Believe you me, if the Boks were there with Naas and Carel du Plessis and Johan Heunis and the like, the history would have been different. And to anyone who wants to comment on this from an apartheid or political point of view…..GO TO BED.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:35 pm
All world cups are a series between teams. 1987 was no different.
SA wasn’t at the previous year’s Olympics either. Or the one thereafter. Nobody even noticed their absence — or presence. Rather like the most recent Olympics where SA was actually there but invisible as NZ far outgunned SA in the gold medal count.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:36 pm
@munkiboi: And your point is??
November 28th, 2009 at 10:37 pm
…a lucky year and now the truth has hit home like a ton of brix.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
@TheTackler: Oh man!! I’m sorry!!! Please forgive my ignorance!!! The Olympics DEFINITELY are the corner stone of all that is rugby!! I beg your forgiveness, oh blind sighted twat.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
@captain fantail: And what is the truth, Ke Mosabe?
November 28th, 2009 at 10:41 pm
@BiltongBoer: You don’t build a “successful history” by losing 4 out of 5 games on your fully-conditioned EOYT — especially when two of those hidings come from mere club B teams. And when you get totally pulverised in the scrums.
That’s an “unsuccessful history”.
Swallow your reality pill asap.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:43 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell: Ireland went through their season unbeaten. SA didn’t. Game over, I’m afraid.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:45 pm
@TheTackler:
Anyway,you guys must not forget,SA have done something that not many teams have dome before and thats taken us Kiwis 3-0 hom and away. Won a tri nations this year which seems to be a cup that they struggle with. But what seems to be the problem is that SA only have 20 players that are of pure class and that work as a team. The rest struggle and have been by the looks of it neglected. Going by the losses to the two provincial teams.
All in all its been a good year for SA,started well but the wheels have seemed to have come off. But nothing to be to worried about at the moment
November 28th, 2009 at 10:48 pm
Fact, you are as good as your last game! SA should not be loosing to France & Ireland point, loosing against club sides is embarrassing!
The wise men could have left their best 15 at home and could have chosen another 22 players that could have done SA proud. Between Free State, WP & Lions a very competitive side could have been chosen. Only then PDV could have said that now he knows who can make the step up to the international level. He knows zip from what they have done know.
Winning also has to do with how hungry you are, I suspect that the players thought that they where on a holiday, the way JS was smiling suggests this to me.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:50 pm
What will the IRB Ranking be?
1. France
2. Ireland
3. Saracans
4. Leicester
5. Boks
6. NZeeland
7. Scotland
8. Australia
9. Wales
10. England
November 28th, 2009 at 10:51 pm
@TheTackler: I take you back to the phrase: ” especially when two of those hidings come from mere club B teams” – it was not the Boks, boet. It was the guys we’re training up to kick your sorry arses in 2 years time….see for the next few years YOU have something to worry about not us. Now go outside and play with your Barbie doll because (seeing that your actually a poofter running from reality) you don’t really deserve better treatment.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:51 pm
Why didn`t Ireland tour the SH this year? Still 9 wins from 10 and a draw. Team of the year for sure. I don`t think we deserve that award to be honest. 8 out of 12 is not great.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:52 pm
@TheTackler: it doesn’t work that way, sorry.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:53 pm
@TheTackler:
Tackler, WHAT IS YOUR POINT!! Is it that the Springboks are the crappest team on the planet?
Please tell us your point …..
The way I read it the Boks had a holiday with a bit of rugby in between. Wives and girlfriends on tour and everything. It has been mission accomplished long ago and it was time for some R&R and to blood a few youngsters.
The rest of the world voted the Boks IRB TEAM of the year ……
SO your point is Tackler??? Oh yes, to highlight what complete idiot you are.
Point taken!
November 28th, 2009 at 10:54 pm
I`ve got an uneasy feeling the tackler will be smiling from here on until after the next RWC.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:55 pm
@Kryger: What’s your address broer? I think we need to organise a braai at your house tomorrow to beat the living **** out of you. Wake the hell up. If you can do a better job – getting these results and having a team named nr 1 in the world, APPLY FOR THE BLOODY JOB!
November 28th, 2009 at 10:56 pm
They were Springboks, wearing Bok jumpers, on a Bok EOYT, dude.
(And they couldn’t even kick the tail off a dead rabbit. Looks at the scoreboard — as Boy Louw would say. Losing 4 out of 5 — jeez! Italy or Japan, with a lucky bounce, could probably do better. )
November 28th, 2009 at 10:57 pm
@The Analyst: You bring the tjop, boet. I bring the Dop. Your house, Kryger?
November 28th, 2009 at 10:58 pm
@TheTackler: And that is why you are hiding in the mountains of New Zealnd. A piece of advice, bro, stay there. You are not worthy.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:13 pm
@BiltongBoer: Easy advice to take because, you see, the next world cup simply comes right here to us! Not only the trophy, but the whole tournament!
You, on the other hand, have to watch it all leave.
I’m in the catbird seat. You’re on the road with your thumb in the air.
I’d rather be me.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:19 pm
@BiltongBoer:
I’m a strong believer of that when you have Gold, you turn it into Platinum! Which is why I’d like to see Morne Steyn improve his distribution, as the Bok backline would have more life with a flyhalf who has as good a boot as Morne Steyn! Otherwise, I’m very proud of the Boks’ achievements this year!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:20 pm
@TheTackler: You know something my friend, my girl’s a Province supporter and this year looked pretty bleak for my Bulls team. So someone told me how awesome would it be if we beat the Province guys at Newlands.
Therefore, we know the game…..we’ll be there. we know what to do to beat “you” in your own garden, so yes, we’ll be there. ;o)
Also, we won the cup in Paris…..what did you walk away with again?? Was 2nd, 3rd, 4th?? Sheehs bru, sorry I can’t remember, fill me in quick?
November 28th, 2009 at 11:22 pm
Its been a good season. Today’s loss won’t get me down ,3 wins against the All Blacks. Australia in Australia , British Lions.
If i had to choose a few games to lose it would have been these.
So ja my 10c , we won the games that mattered most this season so there ain’t no reason to get negative.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
@TheTackler: Dude you are such a Fanny, lets face it! You just can’t face the fact that after a long 2009 in which we dominated not only the Super 14, Lions but also NZ and AUS we are just a bit tired. Plus we toured with a C team as backup…Oh and whey hey in 2005 you beat the Lions too but could not muster enough to win the Tri-nations.
All your comments just smack of Sour Sour Grapes.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
@Mbhubesi: I couldn’t say it any better, mate. Where was Dan Carter this year?? Supposedly the best fly half in the world??
We’re the best. Full Stop. We have things to work on, like man management, but for now…..1!
)
November 28th, 2009 at 11:24 pm
@wp_boytjie: Big cheer for you mate!!
)
November 28th, 2009 at 11:27 pm
Right guys, need to be up and working tomorrow at 05:freakin hours, so I’m greeting you. We are the best!!! Give the Irish the praise they deserve, but then think about the fact that again….we’re the best team in the world.
Good night, and KEEP IT REAL!
)
November 28th, 2009 at 11:29 pm
Tackler is like the abused child who would rather his head smashed by daddy and can then at least say he had a reaction from daddy, this is better than no reaction. The more you guys respond to him the more he will use his shite arguments to work you up.
No other country faces the challenges off the field that SA does. And we KICKED New Zealands *** THREE times this year!!!!!!!!!!
Tackler we KICKED your *** bro
November 28th, 2009 at 11:31 pm
@savethespringbok: Preach it!!!!!!!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:32 pm
Time to think of the memories that counted: we won the BIL and then the 3N, without a real coach. Sorry, he may be a good manager, but the lack of game plan other than kick and chase is so apparent. And to make sure you remember, we KICKED NZ *** Three times in a row!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:35 pm
Fantastic effort by the Abs the boks would have never beaten the Abs in this sort of form, the bok gameplan has now come unstuck it relied on kicking and the other team making mistakes the problem is when the other team doesnt make mistakes…..,
but hey dont worry i am from england where we cant pass, kick or catch or actually play!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:38 pm
@west:
Nah, I think the Boks would have still fronted them. I think its just that France and Ireland specifically save their best performances for the Boks!
November 29th, 2009 at 12:12 am
Well as the saying goes, you are only as good as your
last game.What is surprising to me that the Aussies and
ABS have improved on their earlier performances in the
Tri-Nations and finished stronger while the Boks were fading
away.
although the Boks have beaten the Bil and are Tri-nations
champions much of their success came through phenomenal
kicking performances by Morne Steyn.
Once he went of the boil during the French and Irish tests
the Boks were in trouble as an alternative appeared to be sorely missing.
To see the ABs run in five tries against the French was a real
eye opener in how to take tough defences apart.The Boks must supplement their kicking game with a solid attacking game if they wish to defend their title successfully.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:14 am
@DJuggernaut1:
Mate, why don’t you check your facts before posting. NZ did win the Tri-Nations in 2005, one of the NINE times they have won it. Last time I checked, that leaves Sth Africa a mere SIX titles to go to catch up.
Also, the Tri-Nations country that has played the Lions in ‘01, ‘05 & ‘09 also had the winning Super 14 team as well as won the Tri-Nations. So it would not seem that Sth Africa are anything special in that regard.
Looking at the posts on this page, all I can see are the knuckle-dragging Saffers getting all worked up because people don’t bow down at the feet of the Boks. You only have to look at some of the menacing posts of BILTONGBOER to see that he’s probably a fat Pieter Van Zyl wannabe (in case you can’t remember, he was the fat **** who attacked the referee in 2002)
The fact is, for most of the 13 years since professionalism, Sth Africa have been pretty poor – 49-0 vs Aust, 53-3 vs England, as well as conceding 50 pts to the All Blacks both home and away as examples of the low points. Not really much to crow about.
The Boks did well this year and deserved to be the IRB Team of 2009, but try to remember that what goes around comes around, and that it won’t be long before another team will take their place and be the best team.
It was only 4 years ago that people took for granted that the All Blacks were going to waltz to the World Cup, and that didn’t happen. Once the Sth Africans lose a couple of dominant players like Matfield or Bakkies “The Thug” Botha, things’ll change pretty quickly.
BTW: I’m not a kiwi or Aussie, so feel free to try and rebuff this without the usual bullshit.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:26 am
“It was a big call to favour greenhorn Jonny Sexton over veteran Ronan O’Gara, and it’s a call he may live to regret”
well, sometimes fortune favors the BRAVE
November 29th, 2009 at 12:27 am
@Baruugh: no need to make nasty personal comments mate.are you an oil painting?
November 29th, 2009 at 12:32 am
@Baruugh: historically SA is the 2nd most successful side in the world, soooo…
November 29th, 2009 at 12:34 am
@fantasticbarnsmell: Good on you fantasticbarnsmell, put that ‘hero’ Baruugh back in his place…
November 29th, 2009 at 12:39 am
@fantasticbarnsmell: Second-most?
Doesn’t count.
Has to be first-most for any historian to even bother.
Hitler and Hirohito came second in WW2. Didn’t do them a fat load of good, did it?
November 29th, 2009 at 12:45 am
@TheTackler: any historian would also note that you are a South African, no matter how many times you post anti Springbok / pro Kiwi trash on this forum.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:45 am
@Valkyrie:
Mate, my apologies if I offended the sensibilities of anyone on this site. I assume that you made the same post in respect of BILTONGBOER for post #56, of are you just being selective in dishing out smacks on the wrists for naughty posters like me
@FANTASTICBARNSMELL – re your post #77 – sorry, not sure I understand the significance of that fact. Yes, Sth Africa are historically the 2nd best, but unsure how that equates to my point that the Saffer supporters (I trust no-one is offended by the use of that term) seem to be overly aggressive, precious and arrogant based on one good year of results.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:49 am
@Baruugh: if you head upwards in this very thread you will see plenty of Saffas slating the Springboks…some even coming close to calling the season a failure. at the same time, i do agree that there are plenty of Saffas who become arrogant and somewhat forgetful of the harder years, but then again I think all countries have people like this, not just SA.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:55 am
Guys. I’ve been reading your blogs for a long time now. You are the best team in the world, don’t worry okes but you came up against a team that wanted it more and you couldn’t match it. The end. No problems, you’re still the best team in the world, but please give us Irish some respect. And we are not fecking Poms! Like you, we’re a Republic. Give us that respect. Not British, Irish. We klaped a lot of red shirt okes a while back. Hands up, you guys rock. World cup 2011 here we go
November 29th, 2009 at 1:11 am
@fantasticbarnsmell: Fair point
November 29th, 2009 at 1:25 am
@droptheclaw: not according to the IRB rankings,which are based on a long period of consistancy,not just a one season wonder and i believe the ABs are no1.
November 29th, 2009 at 1:39 am
Dermie, the ABs will always be number one. The real number is dictated by performances in the NH. Both NZ and SA are the best exponents of that, and in their way, the best rugby playing teams in the world. But, as an Irishman, with only a small rugby playing base behind me, I think we have a chance to catch up and emulate you guys. you are stil the benchmark. It is a good thing for us to get close to you. Despite your odd colonial attachments. Live the dream. Go socialist all the way
November 29th, 2009 at 2:05 am
@droptheclaw: Socialist? You’re kidding. NZ is as “socialist” as what the world is overpopulated with long jumping turtles, dude.
November 29th, 2009 at 2:07 am
GO BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE GONNA nail the poms paddy and dragons when they come to our noble shores next summer.
world champions
tri nations champions
lions conquerors
IRB TEam of the year
we are the best team regardless of the this tour
November 29th, 2009 at 2:12 am
TT: It wasn’t my opinion that NZ is or were socialist – apologies around the original spelling – but, a socialism of rugby is not a bad thing. The milk of human kindness and all that. God knows it’d be a nice thing to see the southern and northern hemisphere agree on something. But for a true socialist model, go liberal in Scandinavia and go liberal conserative in South America. But that’s another story.
November 29th, 2009 at 2:39 am
Where was Dan Carter this year? He was injured the 1st half of the trinations, then came back to make Nz more competitive against SA, and to win the Bledisloe, and then go direct the All Mighty All Blacks. to a 100% End of Year Your Record with 0 tries scored by opposition. Question is, where is that story on Keo.co.za?
November 29th, 2009 at 2:48 am
@babubunu: that story will probably be on an NZ rugby site where they write about NZ rugby news and NZ rugby players.
November 29th, 2009 at 2:49 am
@droptheclaw: Bud, your team were great today. Outstanding.
Sexton the find of the year (after Brussow) – just great.
Kearney – super game.
Oh yes – well done Blacks – killed ‘em. Carter beyond brilliant, and Richie as good or better than he’s ever been.
November 29th, 2009 at 2:51 am
@babubunu: I have not seen him play better. His tactical strategic approach has never been questioned, but he has ripped defences apart, and the smile on his face says it all.
November 29th, 2009 at 2:56 am
@droptheclaw: NZ was pretty intensively socialist for a while, there. But the country then went bankrupt and the happy-clappy woollywoofter politicians had to rethink everything and restore the nation to fit in with nature’s laws.
Survival of the fittest. Dog eats dog. Only the strongest survive.
MY kind of no-mercy world!
Tackle or be tackled. The former is preferable.
“I’d rather be a hammer than a nail… yes, I would…”
November 29th, 2009 at 3:25 am
@kwas: #3
Not the “senior players’ game plan any more? Why am I not surprise?
@TheTackler: # 12
Soos altyd OUPA, is jy reg. Jy bly REG. Moenie ophou om REG te wees nie.
@Springbokvel: #13
* out of 12 test matches is a 66% winning ratio for the year. Better than most international teams, I would suggest. Ask Martin or Deans what they think of that winning percentage.
@WP_: #14
You doubt Peter. Period. You will always doubt him. Even if he wins 12 out of 12 in a year.
@Limerickbluebull: #15
When the same gameplan won us the 3nations, you BB fans could not stop talking about how YOU provided the blueprint for the Boks winning performances. Now that the execution of the same game plan was effed up by FdP and MS (BB boys) it is PdV fault. You really must be joking.
@BiltongBoer: #27
So ‘n bek moet jem kry.
@Kryger: #49
“The wise men could have left their best 15 at home…”
And obviously the second best 15 would have won all the test matches.
You must be kidding me!
@BiltongBoer: #56
Gee vir my ook ‘n kans.
@Baruugh: #74
Is djy vannie Kaap?
@fantasticbarnsmell: #77
Who’s the most?
So, the Boks lost against Ireland today and against the French two weeks ago. What is the big deal? We haven’t won against the Irish in our last two efforts before yesterday. We have not beaten France in their own backyard since Percy made his debut as a fullback and James Small broke Danie Gerbers’ try scoring record in the same match in 1997, I think. (correct me if I’m wrong). Is there really a reason to despair?
The Irish deserved to win yesterday. Any FOOL who wants to blame the REF, PDV, the TACKLER or RAS DUMISANI must be fusilated (if there is such a word)
November 29th, 2009 at 3:33 am
@nama1: really? it’s pretty obvious isn’t it?
November 29th, 2009 at 3:39 am
@babubunu: #90
Why must Keo talk about DC on his website? This is a SA websout. Don’t NZ have any?
@TheTackler:
Oupa. I.ve seen on so many occasions where the natives of that country told you to SHUT UP about their history. Why don’t you listen to them?
November 29th, 2009 at 3:47 am
@fantasticbarnsmell: #96
Obviously. If you don’t take World Cups into account.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:02 am
@nama1: Because I’m a grown-up and I can do — and say — what I like.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:10 am
@nama1: this is a rugby site,DC is the best rugby player in the world so why wouldn’t keo talk about him.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:22 am
@dermie: #100
We’ll talk about him when Schalk tackle him moer toe. I’m sure you will read a lot about him on Silverfern after his performance against France last night.
He proved again that his a genius in my view. What SA would give to have a flyhalf like him.
@TheTackler: #99
Ja Oupa. Ek weet jy kan se wat jy wil, maar ek is nie meer so seker of jy kan doen wat jy wil sonder die blou pilletjies nie.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:32 am
Any BB fan ever punting WO for the Boks again, will spent two nights with The Tackler in a telephone booth as punishment.
November 29th, 2009 at 5:01 am
@Springbokvel:
Wow youre abosluuuuuuutely RIGHT !
Why is Ireland NOT IRB Team of the Year ?!
unbeaten ? you cant beat that !
Boks best team my hairy @@@@@@rse. They beat the Lions because the ref didnt RC the Gouger. They beat a DC-less ABs in 2 Tests. They lost to everyone but Italia, FFS, on the EOYT.
that, against Ireland ?
Played 8
Won 7
Drawn 1
Lost 0.
November 29th, 2009 at 5:05 am
@WakaNathan: #103
And their opponents were…?
November 29th, 2009 at 5:08 am
@SodaJoe:
Soda, you truly are a Gentleman.
and its very much appreciated. Sorry about your lot today. Looked like they could steal it at the end there too.
November 29th, 2009 at 5:10 am
@nama1:
what does it matter ? they didnt lose to anyone, and everyone else did.
What betters that ?
November 29th, 2009 at 5:13 am
@TheTackler:
@ 94
son, you keep that up and youre even going to have Kiwi fans.
Im guessing youve been there a while to appreciate those changes to NZ society.
November 29th, 2009 at 5:18 am
@WakaNathan:
Quality of your opponents does matter. If Sa stays undefeated against the likes of Italy, Romenia, Japan, Canada, USA etc you would not feel to happy if they were crowned team of the year, would you?
November 29th, 2009 at 5:22 am
@nama1:
but when your opponents incl Australia, France and Sth Africa – like Ireland – and they remain undefeated, then you pays your respects.
They didnt play ABs but they have my vote.
November 29th, 2009 at 5:27 am
@WakaNathan: #107
Don’t call Tackler “son”. He is nearly seventy years old.
November 29th, 2009 at 5:36 am
@WakaNathan:
Did they play any of them away from home?
November 29th, 2009 at 5:59 am
@nama1:
No way ?!
November 29th, 2009 at 6:16 am
@nama1:
BTW, the Boks had the cushiest itinerary this year – 6/7 consecutive home Tests vs Lions/Blacks/Wallabies ???
oh, lets not forget that its hardest for the Boks to travel anywhere than it is for other countries. Apparently its always further. Or in the wrong direction. Or because Santas reindeer were otherwise busy for the flight. Always something.
November 29th, 2009 at 6:22 am
@WakaNathan:
What are you saying?
Ireland only win the TOP GUNS at home. A few games against the minor league away from home and they deserve to be named team of the year? Sorry, I can’t go along with that. And it has nothing to do with the fact that I am SA.
November 29th, 2009 at 6:27 am
@nama1:
Well it has everything to do with that.
Ireland. Unbeaten in 1 calendar year. Who else can say that ?
Give them the award. They were better than everyone they faced, incl today.
November 29th, 2009 at 6:32 am
@WakaNathan: #113
I know you’re just taking the piss here. Even you can’t believe what you’ve just written here.
“cushiest itinerary this year”… B&I Lions, AB’s, Wallabies in six test in the space of 8 weeks? Yeah! It was a cakewalk.
November 29th, 2009 at 6:57 am
@WakaNathan: #115
Well, if they had toured during their summer and played, lets say a test against NZ, another against Aus and a third one against Arg. and still boast an undefeated record, I would have given them my vote unreservedly.
November 29th, 2009 at 7:20 am
South Africa up to the EOYT was the team that deserved an award for the team of the year. They did it all,lions,tri nations teams. But since the EOYT,losing to two provincial teams and 2 test teams,that sort of ruined it for them in my eyes. Shame really
November 29th, 2009 at 7:22 am
@Hurricane: you sick hurricane? I dont think they deserved it simply for losing to two NH club sides… says a lot when the ABs can go two tours without conceding a try against NH national sides, yet the world champs couldnt even beat club sides…
November 29th, 2009 at 7:25 am
@poppa69:
poppa read again.
I said up to the EOYT they did deserve it. But after that tour in my eyes they dont deserve it
November 29th, 2009 at 7:27 am
Yet, we crunched the All Brags 3 zippo. Strange lot this few AB supporters on here.
November 29th, 2009 at 7:28 am
@Springbokvel: yeah we are, but at least our team can beat NH opposition bwahahaha Ireland, never beayen us EVER, same as Scotland ( beaten SA 4 times) and the overall ledger against you guys is STILL in our favour…
strange lot the majority of SA’s
November 29th, 2009 at 7:28 am
@Springbokvel:
so what?
We didnt lose to two provincial sides.
Read my post again before look even more foolish.
November 29th, 2009 at 7:39 am
3 Zip – try again next year.
November 29th, 2009 at 7:41 am
@Springbokvel:
ok looks like schools out.
November 29th, 2009 at 7:54 am
yeah we are, but at least our team can beat NH opposition bwahahaha Ireland, never beayen us EVER, same as Scotland ( beaten SA 4 times) and the overall ledger against you guys is STILL in our favour…
strange lot the majority of SA’s
ja but u cant beat us
November 29th, 2009 at 8:00 am
@nama1: “Quality of your opponents does matter” – but not at World Cup time remember
November 29th, 2009 at 8:09 am
@klippies101:
I think you have seemed to have forgotten the win loss ratio head to head between NZ and SA. And amazingly you have forgotten the amount of time NZ have annilated SA home and away in the last 15 years through the tri nations tournaments.
Look we can all have i say on what we all believe. I said that SA up to the EOYT deserved of the IRB team of the year,but cos of those losses on that tour i believed they shouldnt be awarded it. But of course some of you South African get all upset at some Kiwi speaking their minds.
November 29th, 2009 at 8:14 am
@vindicated:
November 29th, 2009 at 8:14 am
Apart from saving a bit of face during their EOYT, the AB`s were rather **** this year compared to previous years. NZ rugby achieved very little this year. Lost the Super 14 final (with a nightmare score), beaten easily in the tri-nations (losing 3 zippo to the world champs) and losing out on the 7`s rugby crown. SA have taken all this away from them, so put it in your pipe and smoke it All Brags supporters.
November 29th, 2009 at 8:58 am
@Springbokvel: NZ are re-building – its a cyclical thing – enjoy it now – cause it wont last forever
both NZ and Aussies are looking good going towards 2011 – you take pain on the way (i.e. 49-0) thats just part of the deal
November 29th, 2009 at 10:01 am
Aye, Ab’s looking unbeatable, wanker and the boys full of scorn. Wot’s new. Maybe the Ab’s will get to the 2011 RWC final?
My favoured sport is 2 wheels in the dirt. Chris Birch from NZ smoked the world’s best extreme in enduro riders in the Roof of Africa in Lesotho that finished on Saturday; again – he did it in 2008 too. No choking for him. Big respect. No sneering muppets either – like breath of fresh air.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:15 am
@vindicated: #127
World Cup is a tournament where any of the top teams will play against lesser teams. That’s just the way it is.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:30 am
SodaJoe: Cheers, mate, very good of you to say so. McCaw and Carter looked rather handy against the French, eh? They know what they’re doing, those boys. It’s a pity we didn’t get to see more of them up north – there’s no point playing an England team which is frankly woeful and possibly everything that is wrong about rugby.
TheTackler: Dog eat dog is always good. Love a bit of mongrel, as it were. Mind you, I’d like to see Paul Simon try and be a hammer than a nail….
November 29th, 2009 at 1:00 pm
Hope you guys noticed how the South African players ran straight down the tunnel and refused to clap the Irish team off. Pretty petty I would say. Got their asses handed to them and ran away crying.
November 29th, 2009 at 3:33 pm
“Hope you guys noticed how the South African players ran straight down the tunnel and refused to clap the Irish team off.”
That`s not really common practice in the SH. The players normally just shake hands whilst still on the field and then bugger off. You won`t for instance see this at games between the tri-nations teams. Our provincial teams also don`t do it. Nothing to read in it.
November 29th, 2009 at 6:11 pm
It was a great year, but these losses have definitely taken the shine off, as was always going to be the case.
Take some time off, relax and then focus on 3N again next year, but i think they its now time to select a different touring side that is more rested and will play a different game. In short that are hungry to win, cos we have now lost to france and ireland for about 5 years.
Fatigue is a valid excuse, but only an idiot keeps doing the same thing expecting the same result.
November 29th, 2009 at 8:29 pm
Rugby will always be about getting the right players in the team to execute your game plan. It is actually quite elementary. It is becoming more obvious than ever before that we do not have a coaching staff that knows how to put the pieces together. The moment they are forced to make changes to the side the results become very predictable.
Danie Roussouw cannot play for 80 minutes as a losie. He is a super sub, that is where he must be used. Bekker is not a enforcer lock & never will be! John Smit is not a tight head & needs to get his act together on his through in’s. Peterson will make a very good 7’s player, you cannot play the kick & chase game with him in your side. Wynand will always try and straighten and this leads to crash ball/2nd phase or he breaks the line. You have to have players that will clear out when he does this, with Spies, Deon Stegman, Dewald or Bakkies missing from the team there is no way that the Schalks, Bekkers, Roussouw’s or John Smits is going to do this. That is why SA cannot dominate the collisions.
I agree Heinrich is very skilled at steeling the ball, but his clearing out is not to good & Schalk is Schalk, Danie just does not have the speed & fitness of a Spies to do this.
Even Fourie looked ordinary, he is a very clever player, but he cannot do it on his own. Morne is a very good player and if it was not for him the Springboks would not have been so successful this year, this is a fact. All the Morne bashes on this site please relax, Morne will be playing in a team where the supporters really appreciate his qualities and where the coaching staff actually know how to coach.
I cannot wait to see **** Muir in action with the Lions next year, more of the same stuff for them. Perhaps they should give a S14 side to PDV, just as long as he stays away from the Bulls.
November 29th, 2009 at 10:21 pm
“He received the award with a smile, and didn’t look too gutted at the post-match press conference.”
And that in itself says a lot about his leadership – he must get his min right- you are never ALRIGHT with losing in a bok jersey.
Compaer teh AB’s with the Boks – they had a dtough season- OK they did not play the Lions, but so what? they have been through TWO consecutive NH tours without letting in a try. Those are teh standards that WE should be SETTING, not wishing for. Farking slack-arsed half-professional wankers.
This year end tour did not “take the shine off the boks record” – it chucked it in the mud and JUMPED on it.
The one thiong we did learn from this tour – our defensive coach is not really very good, and our selectors need a bullet- ALL of them.
And that John can’t get his men to play for pride, with pride, when teh chips are down.
We had the chance to reinforce our world dominance, and instead come out wondering if perhaps we should be lucky to be third in the rankings? SIS MAN!
November 29th, 2009 at 10:56 pm
@cab: We are starting to treat losses to Ireland like losses to France- the AB’s have NEVER been beaten by Ireland. That puts things in perspective for you.
@Kryger: Danie Rossouw has neither the heart nor the skills nor the technique to be a bok. He is a replacement enforcer lock at the most (that is not required to do much thinking).
And Schalk does not do enough cleaning to be a 7.
We should have bee trying Vermeulen at 8.
What pisses me off is that the NH sides are less trong than the SH sides, but we are giving them so much respect that we are sticking to our 10 man rugby – which is ironically making us easier to defend against. As soon as there is no variation, there is no keeping them guessing. It becomes easy to defend against. Either we acknowledge our backs as beoing the best in our country and let them do what they can do, or get the backs in that are!!
November 30th, 2009 at 5:37 am
As I say its WaNkanathan with a N. Tosser
The S14 is separate to Internationals and cannot be counted. This year the Kiwis and Aussies were awful. The Lions test were fantastic and some of the best rugby I have ever seen.
Ireland are currently delivering very good rugby but the AB willl roll them in a one off test.
South Africa is hampered by a quota system in Goverment, management and players with some of our best going overseas. With that handicap in mind I do believe we have played beyond our means.
Time for new blood with Smittie first to go. They should have rested and stayed at home, but a European jolly with wives in tow was what this was about.
The kiwis dont go on holiday and always give blood and therefore will always outshine our glory boys.
Whats the use of winning the Trinations and then sitting back at the years end holiday.
November 30th, 2009 at 7:19 am
I thought there was something wrong- now I know, neither our coach nor our captain realise that this tour was a complete waste of time, money and opportunity. We should rather have rested our boks. However snorre didn’t take a real B side to back up the boks he took a development 15 which got their arses kicked and clearly showed the lack of proper planning.
Very few- if any, of the so called second stringers put up their hands or showed us that they are capable of making the cut. Except lets be fair if Straus and Wian du Preez was chosen from the start it would have helped.
Saturday also showed clearly that Smit must shape up or ship out. In first half we scrummed very well (real tight head on field) however the line out throws were extraordinarily bad. Second half we got out scrummed but line outs were good (real hooker on field)
November 30th, 2009 at 7:27 am
To all the All Black supporters
Fiji, Samoa, Tonga etc did very well for you guys-without them you would be nowhere. At least we have only one foreigner in our team.
Your team always do well in the end of the year tour because your players rested all through the super 14 and the tri-nations, and with no world cup in the last 20…. years you should really try and win something of importance.
November 30th, 2009 at 7:35 am
@maatjan:
To the South African who know piss all.
We do alot for Fiji,Tonga and Samoa etc. Something that you dont see and know about obviously.
Your post is full of stupid comments. If this is what you were going for then you have out done yourself
November 30th, 2009 at 7:47 am
I wonder who’s the cancer now that Watson is gone?
November 30th, 2009 at 8:55 am
@Hurricane: Hurricane, you are a **** coming on a SA web site to goad saffa supporters in defeat. Says a lot about the type of person you are. Same goes to Tackler and Poppa69, what else do you expect on here ??
I am continualy amazed at just how petty you lot are. Shame as your team is very good and the players seem decent guys win or lose.
Well played Ireland who out-muscled and out-thought Boks.
November 30th, 2009 at 4:10 pm
@KevinRack:
hey, Kevin, did you know ‘Kevin’ is a typical Aussie males name ?
Which is a coincidence, isnt it. Aussies are w@nkers too. Kevin.